(2008/04) April 2008

wow...so many post....

Re: porridge...
<font color="0000ff">must not give overnight porridge to babies...will induce lots of wind</font>

Re:weight
gosh...my ger is not gaining much weight...only a few hundred grams per month and her last weight is only 6.6kg...
so headache... feeding time also stress for me...

maomi,
yr mum is so so understanding.. my mil ever commented why my boy so difficult to take care, unlike all his sons..

charismama,
yeah, my boy still hv night feed, on good day, only 1 feed at 12+ else will be an additional feed around 3+

maro,

ya, i tink my mum is really great, never realised until nowadays. i feel bad for being mean to her sometimes (esp last time when younger!), and it's like she took care of me, now still have to help me take care of my baby..no rest yet! and she really does her best taking care of my boy..does a better job than me, whatever will i do without her..

my boy also still have nite feeds sometimes, depending.

maomi,

ya. all babies not easy to take care. but my mil always say my "hands" with babies not good. if she take care will be different.
quite sad right. I put in so much effort she never appreciate. my son crawl at 6 months. my 10months nephew cannot crawl yet. she just say cos my son is skinny so easier. sigh. her other 2 grandsons are the best. mine no matter wat also lose cos she is not e one taking care. then tell my son he is so poor thing cos i'm strict. why psycho my son like tat. sigh. dun care la. as long as we parents love him good enough already.

charismama,

julian's last feed at 730 then night feed at 4am. I tried to feed him at 12 but he still wake up at 4. so I gave up.

Charismama, night feed meaning in e middle of the night?
My girl's last feed will be at 10pm. Then she'll go to sleep until 7am.

Maro, i guess u just have to explain to your MIL that every baby is different lo.

Amy, the clips and the holder is sooooo preettyyy !!!!!!!!!
Zhiyan's such a lucky girl!!

Lynn, your gal doesnt fancy e taggies ah? My girl is now glued to her taggies. We bring it along everytime she takes car rides to keep her occupied. She enjoys twirling e ribbons just before she sleeps at night.
I'm also thinking of making another one for her.
Thinking of making a pillowcase with taggies... hee ...
You want to make bean sprout pillow?
I had my go at it before she was born. hate e picking of e "shells".

semi solid meals
after reading all the post, i was more relieved. i also have prob feeding my son. now he oni on 2 semisolid meals a day and the rest are on milk. but the 2 semisolid meal (1 cereal and 1 porridge) and 1 fruit puree, he also don finish. sometimes oni a few mouthful. i don dare to force him to eat more. once he starts whining i will stop oredi.

nite feeds
my boy still wakes up at least twice for milk leh...

charismama
my boy still on night feeds. 10.30pm last scheduled feed, then he usually wakes up around 4-5am for another feed. lately the quantity for these 2 feeds have varied though, from 2 to 4 oz, not sure why, maybe going through another adjustment phase.

amy and lynn
very nice handiwork!!

julesmum
i guess u just have to be thankful that you are staying apart from ur ILs. let them talk, stick and stones~ *patpat*

oh so many picky eaters! my boy also takes poorly to solids. i am disappointed &amp; took me some time to get over it becoz hb and i are such gluttons!

luckily my MIL is v patient, slowly coax him to eat. he needs "live entertainment" with his meals. he prefers rice cereal with fruit, and certain fresh fruits.

we have always added rice cereal to his milk feeds, together with his solids feeding sessions. i believe it has helped his weight gain tremendously.

isist true bb by end of 7th mth must have 3 sessions of solid food? mine only so far take 2x..1x porridge, 1x cereal.

can i join in the group? my baby Sara is 7mths now. as i was reading through all the posts, i find many situations similar to wat i m facing with my girl too....

i m also very concerned with my girl's weight. when she went for 6mth check up, her height was 70cm (97 percentile) and weight was only 7.17kg (50 percentile). the doctor commented that she's too light for her height.... so i'm trying hard to 'fatten' her up.... from 4mth to 6mth, her weight only increase by 600g.

she drinks around 650-700ml milk, eats 1 meal of cereal (5 scoops), 1 meal of porridge (1 small bowl) and sometimes 1 meal of porridge/potato/pumpkin/cereal. is this enough for her? i'm very worried tat she doesn't drink enough milk cos my mum says milk contains all the nutrients that babies need so must drink more.... i have a hard time getting her to drink...

me too, my boi din gain much of weight, last chk up at 6 month, 8.3, now 1 month later,8.4 only..

here is my boi feeding schedule:

wake up 8am:140ml milk
11am: cereal(3scoop yu ren sheng cao mi si shen fen), but usually din finish one..follow by milk, c how much he can drink

2pm: 140ml milk

5pm:4 scoop cereal follow by remaining milk abt 80ml

8pm last feed, 150ml milk

i seldom feed him fruit, if i feed i will add into cereal, coz i don have time to feed him 3 solod, he need alot of attention one, once i put him to high chair, and i go to make cereal, he will cry, so difficult for me to make food for him..

initially i started porridge for him, but these 2 days, he is having flu, so i stop porridge, give him 2 cereal..

is my boi eat too little of solid n milk??

Amy, the clips are so cute! where did you buy the bare clips?

I was thinking of DIY-ing clip holder too but then need to buy paints and stuff so gave it up. Seldom do studee with paint and glue-gun so dun have these. Maybe I should start ah?

Hi Piggy mummy,

My gal everyday only takes about the max 500ml of milk and 2 x cereals. I used the milk powder scoop to scoop the cereals... each time only 5 scoops.

Mummies- How much of cereals should we give our babies ah?

My gal's weight only 7.7kg and she is 71 cm tall. Think she oso on light side.

piggy mummy

My boy is about the same weight as yours and feeding amt is also about the same. But PD says is ok as long as he is still gaining weight. 8+ kg at 7mth month is quite a good weight already.

You just monitor and see if he gains weight during next 1-2 weeks. If still worried, better see a PD.

my son's feeding schedule:

7.45am- breakfast- 200ml of milk
10 am - mid morning snack, fruit puree (apple, pear or papaya)+ 20 ml of fruit juice
12.30 pm - lunch + 20ml of water
4pm - tea - 220ml of milk
7pm - dinner + 20ml of water
10pm -supper -220ml of milk

Usually for lunch and dinner , I will try to give a different menu of fish porridge, pumpkin/brocolli, sweet potato/brocolli or potato/fish/carrot, or avocado/banana with cereal.

He is currently 73cm and weighs about 9kg.

Lynn - hw come now then do beanspout pillow, tot its more for younger babies haha.

Adel milk &amp; cereal ok wat, how come you keep complaining? My ger sometimes not even 600ml of milk lei.

haha...lynn...better don't let your daughter see your postings here in the future...wait she think how come u keep complaining about her...hehe

koori, Adel refuses to drink milk while awake leh, can only drink when she's asleep. so like if i wanna go out with her alone cannot, must wait for hubby to go out together (he drives, i dun) so that can feed her in the car cos she'll wake up if it's noisy.. at home feed her also stressed, dunno when the phone will ring or who will walk past my door and my dog will bark. sigh..

last week i just tried feeding her when she's awake. she smile smile and drink only 10-20 ml even for her first feed of the day.

Adel's still using her beansprout pillow leh, cos she's such a light sleeper. I find that she sleeps better with it over her chest?

lynn and all the rest with feeding probs

i can attest to all the issues, have the same prob with my boy. will not even complete 300mls of milk i a day leh. then his intake not even at the recommended range. weight he is only putting on a few 100gs each time we see the dr leh. his weight have not yet hit 9kg yet. so i tried to make his cereal/ porridge thicker so that at least his intake is more but the fluids are still at 400mls only.

lynn, I met a friend last week. her daughter, now 1 yr old, is also like adel. I was telling her how difficult it is to feed julian cos his intake is low and have to be entertained. then she told me about her gal. her gal also can only drink milk when sleeping. she mentioned tat her daughter's rejecting solids too. so she just let her eat what she wants.

julian's got into this routine where he will only take cereal 1st thing in e morning. he was crying cos hungry but rejected milk. not even a sip.

we weighed julian yesterday. haven't weighed him for awhile hoping he will cross e 7kg mark but he didn't.
he's at 6.7kg.

now tat we intro solid, we really dunno how full he is. so we will wait for him to cry before making milk.

piggy mummy,
ur boy is of a good wt

There is a period that Charis only gained 100g of wt in 7weeks. Now she weighs 7.4kg, only a 500g increased after another 7 weeks, but doc din mentioned she is light weight. Told him about Charis show no interest with food, he say it is normal. He told me that his fren bb only start to eat food at 18MO. Now is the period that babies are curious about their surrounding, hence they tend to play more and no interest to feed. They will drink when they are hungry, so far this theory apply to charis. but as a 1st time mother, I tend to worry if she is getting enough nutrients when she dun really eat.

<font color="aa00aa">Good morning, mummies :p)</font>

Hearing all the woes regarding feeding bb, glad i'm not alone. my boy milk intake since born nv exceed 700ml daily. i'm also worried abt his weight, but his last check at 6 mth+ was 8.1kg. guess it's a good weight in comparison.

charismama,
yeah, read that too. lots of advice regarding bb waking up for night feed eg: feed them with water, ignoring them, continue to let them cry till tired! have tried feeding water but not work out well. i cant stand to let him cry at night so continue to feed him milk since his daytime intake is not a lot.. and guess wat, my mil says we're spoiling him, shd just let him cry..

araid22, Julian will still cry for milk when hungry? I was telling my hubby long time never hear Adel's hunger cry. When we're out and hear other babies' hunger cries we both say we miss it. I said should have videotaped her drinking milm with her eyes open when she was younger. Now dun get to see it anymore

Adel's always very interested in what we eat but not in her own food. So I'll pretend to eat her food or feed my hubby her food then she'll take a few mouthfuls. Mealtimes like circus like that -_-

Adel started to wake up a 4 plus every morning, but not due to hunger. More like very unsettled and needs to be patted back to sleep etc. Really afraid it'll become a bad habit, but if we ignore and continue to sleep she'll cry very badly and be wide awake and won't fall back to sleep after that. How?

Night feed: my son's last feed will be at 10-11pm...drink 150ml the most, then he will wake up for another feed at 4am for another feed of 150ml.Yesterday was night mare, his last feed at 8.30pm and he had his another feed at 1am and 4am...crying for milk..

Maro,
How to let bb just cry n ignore?I think i will go crazy 1st :p
for me,if issac still cries after i feed water,i will give him milk lo...keke

mifi..
same.. same.. water 1st does not work, then milk.
precisely, my mil likes to quote that others (1 of my neighbour) did that and now her girl can sleep thru the nite. i buay tahan question her back if she can tahan my boy's cries which is notorious! hehe.. think the whole flat can hear then she kept quiet! haha.. :p

Maro..
Ya la..all babies different mah.how to compare?.ignore ur MIL and feed davien when he's hungry lor.They are still growing so if they wan to drink more milk..the happier I am..

lynn,

i feel tat he cry for milk after taking neobiotics. before taking, he can dun drink for 11 hours! i think neobiotics makes him hungry. wat I do now is I will not feed him on my own. wait for him to cry lor. if I feed him he on my own timing he will cry, spit out and pretend to vomit. haha or push away e bottle. by e way u still want e goat's milk? julian dun like happy bellies, like organix.

araid22, thanks i got the goat's milk samples from the company already. you're feeding Julian goat's milk?

Adel is already on probiotics, i feel it has helped her skin and her bowel movements. dunno abt her appetite cos still feed while sleeping. how long before Julain will cry for milk now? wondering if i should wait and see how long Adel can go without milk too..

where to find organix cereals? only saw their biscuits in cold storage..

Hi Lynn, just saw your taggies! Its beautiful!

Re: Night feeds
Kayla still wakes up ard 3/4 times a nite and it is only since last week till now that she is waking up so many times. Previously she will wake up only 2x a nite. Not sure how to make her sleep through. Its really tiring me out.

Baby's weight:
Kayla is not gaining much weight as well. She is now 7mths and 1wk old and her weight is ard 7.2kg oni.
she is not really taking much cereal. She doesnt seem to like cereal leh. How ah?

besides feeding woes, any babies dont nap long?

my boy nowadays dont seem to nap very long. the longest is 2hrs (on a good day), otherwise either 1hr or half hr &amp; 2 naps a day nia.

jasmine my boi oso... 1 mth oso donno got gain 100g or not. at 6 mth he abt 7.8kg at 7 mth still at 7.8kg and now i measure like haven hit the 8kg mark... prob retaining at 7.8 or 7.9kg. how to fatten him up? his growth like very slow... lenthwise oso like 1 mth abt 1 cm like tat

my boi cereal oni abt 1 1/2 tb spoon those metal kind and he cannot finish.
how ahhh how to make him eat more?

Lynn,

Adel is taking Reutefene right? Julian was taking that. My friends kept telling me take probiotics will make baby hungry faster but Julian didn't but poo and ezcema was very much better. I was lazy to go back to clinic to get Reutefene so went to pharmacy to get neobiotics. (the only probiotics in pharmacy for babies) Surprisingly after taking it, his drinking improve but still won't cry for milk cos we will see schedule and feed. Then my PD advise me to let him regulate so don't feed until he is hungry. I was worried. I told him if i dun feed, he will not get hungry. He assured me Julian will be able to regulate. So, I told my maid, don't feed until he is hungry. 1st few days intake really very low but the pd said as long as take 1/2 of wat he take can already. So, now we listen to his cry. He will have a different cry when he wants milk now. He is drinking more during each feed now too.

I bought Organix at cold storage, gutrie house. You stay in sembawang? I work in sembawang. Let me know if u wanna try. I can help you get. I've also tried Heinz and bellamy. He's ok with it but dun fancy it.

Julian also likes our food but of cos we don't feed him. We always put him on the highchair when we have our meals. He will move his mouth like wanna eat. So, i'll trick him with his food lor. Like you, I pretend to eat his food then he will eat.

Julian's still on isomil. Wanna change to cow's milk but scared leh. Scared his reflux and ezcema problems. PD advise me to try 1 feed at a time during 8th month. Don't intend to give him goat's milk. Heard the taste is not nice. Mummies, I have samples. Anyone wants?

Just heard from my dad's friend that boys shouldn't take too much soy milk cos it has estrogen (female homones). Dunno how true. More reason for me to switch to cow'milk.

Jamie,

My boy don't sleep long. Like yours, 2 hours on good day, and at little as 10 mins on bad days. And yes, he only naps 2 x a day.

Jules' Mum
It is true that soya contains something similar to estrogen (female hormones), tt's y guys are not recommended to drink too much soya drink in a day. Not such if soy milk is the same.

Hi all, saw this from parents.com

Until recently your baby may have been sleeping beautifully through the night. Now all of a sudden she's waking up and crying for you. Sound familiar? This is common among 8-month-olds, and it's partly because she's so excited about her developing skills like crawling and standing -- and wants to practice them all the time. Don't worry, your baby will get over this night-waking stage, but you can speed things along by not making these 5 bedtime mistakes (like rushing to rock her back to sleep).

http://www.parents.com/baby/sleep/basics/5-baby-bedtime-mistakes-to-avoid/?sssdmh=dm17.349343&amp;esrc=nwaspo&amp;email=1779589107

so busy!

mummies with boys here, do you experience the problem of your baby scratching or grabbing the groin area when exposed? eg, during changing/bathing? mine started doing this lately, am afraid there is some infection there. it's rather red, but duno if its due to him scratching, that's why. the way he grabs at it, i feel so painful for him!

any ideas?

Had read the so many post rdgs to wgt. Just to share, My boy turning 7mth tmr 10.2kg since wgt last for rotavirus vaccine last sat. Many ppl say he chubby! My inlaw just start feeding my porridge.. But dun seems to be succesful.. He sort of reject.. haiz.. Guess he prefer happybellies brown rice ceceal tat i purchase from spree here..

Maomi,
Yup Yup .. share the same sentiment!! my boy doing tat! Not much of reddness BUT kind of puzzle.. !!

maro...i will not let my boy cry and dun feed him milk lor... i rather do same as u..feed him milk and have peace for 3hours!haahaaa

Maomi,

Ethan doesn't scratch or grab himself, guess he's not quite aware of his penis yet!
I'm guessing here but could it be that your son's groin area is not clean? Do you clean under the foreskin?
I don't as our PD says it's not necessary but every baby is different. I do check occasionally to make sure it's clean though.

How about applying diaper cream on the redness? It should be soothing and calming if the area is inflamed.
Can you call your PD for a quick consult on the phone before going down?

Winter and Jaime,

Julian's sleep also max 2hr and minimum 10 min. On average, 1hr 20 min. He needs 3 naps leh. He used to stay awake between naps for about 2 hrs. Recently, became 3-4 hrs. So, his 3rd nap becomes very late. About 6pm. I'll wake him up 30 min later so that he can go to bed at 8. If I dun wake him up, he will prob sleep till morning 4am and wanna play. He used to sleep at 630pm. I changed to 8 last month cos 630 too early la.

Soy milk.
Winter, Thanks for the info. I think it applies to Soy milk too.
Will speak to my PD soon regarding the change of formula. I was still joking with my dad's friend... no wonder Julian looks little bit like gal esp the complexion. Haha.

Charismama,

Maybe... I know my friend's kids kept complaining hungry after taking probiotics. Last time Julian will drink only 2-3 oz then sleep again. Now, he will actually finish his 180ml. Last time I can give him pacifier and he will continue sleeping. Now, he will continue to make noise till he gets his milk at 3am.