(2008/04) April 2008

Diva and mummies

thanks for your concern
Dana's fever is fully gone (for good, I hope) but she still has flu (mucus yet to be cleared). Last week has been tortuous for her and for us with sleepless nights and super irritable bb. Hope the coming week will be better. On a sidenote, we started 'sleep training' our princess y'day using Gina Ford's controlled crying method.

We had to implement it as her bedtime has become a tussle of will with us despite having a set of bedtime routines since birth (wipe down, storytime, patting with singing and lights off etc). Last night being the 1st night of 'sleep training', she cried for half an hour before succumbing to exhaustion. This afternoon also same thing. Tonight seems to be better, took only 15mins. Hope she can get the idea and fall asleep easily on her own soon, without the tears!

Just curious, do other bbs also have problems falling asleep at night too? Before we implemented this sleep training routine, hubby kept saying perhaps Dana has 'sleeping disorders' as it's so difficult putting her to bed! Sometimes she struggle so much that we are driven to our wits' end but hopefully with this sleep training, she'll form good sleeping habits

jasmine- wow everyone here so quick.. know double stroller means new bb. if u hv not told me, i cannot catch the clue. by the way, i saw one mummy using one double stroller yestersay is a v compact one.. but cannot peep the brand. its one in front and one behind. the big brother is sleeping soundly. v strudy. should consider something like this cos can go through escalator and mrt.

Zishumo- yr boy so good still enjoying it. my boy cannot hold his attention for more than 5 mins for all his toys.. he have 3 boxes of toys but he is still v restless.

always ready for action, crawling around and now want to stand.

any babies like mine.. by the way any babies fairness go away. my boy no longer fair, his natural skin tone is showing. he used to be like me, now he is 2 tone darker. brown like his dad.

Jas
Congrats!!! Ya, is quite stressful to hv 2 bbs so close in age but is oso very exciting. Me 2 kind of miss the whole process of pregnancy, hehehe.......

thanks vonn

hahah ya all caught on very fast

also have not told my parent coz i dont know how to break the news.... my dad has been saying.... 'don have second one yet ah... we need to catch our breath.. running after this one very tiring. :p

angel

my boy still 'resist' sleep. but is much better.
re falling sick... as said by my pd, babies after 6 mths, have lost their antibodies from us given through pregnancy. that is why can expect them to fall ill more often but that is the only way they can build up their own immunity. :p

hope dana gets well soon.
*hugz*

thanks JrRain. hehe me miss that too. but sort of miss the first pregnancy as i had so much time to read to baby and just spend time talking to baby. now have to run after my boy don even have time to do reading at night as he would rather play with me before he sleeps.

Angel
Happy to learn that Dana is well

I shd try again on the cio method to get shevon to slp too. She can slp on her own at times bu turning her head left rt many times since borth n we know she is slping soon. However most of e time, she will cry, want carry, want bf, want play till she' happy then she slp. She still slp like 12am or 1am almost every nite. At times, i just lose my patience n let her cio or ask hb to take over. Not easy to take care of shevon definitely. Hope she can slp on her own soon.

Jasmine
Congrats, u r the 1st apr mummy to have another bb soon. Yippey! Din catch the clue until Tsukushi hinted to all of us
Very excited for u. I cant wait to join u but i think i m also a bit out of breath now taking the very active shevon. I feel so exhausted, tiring etc n wonder if i can cope. U take care yah. Let us know if u need any additional help
Update us on ur new darling k

Angel,

I used controlled crying method on Julian when he was 2 months old. I am really glad I did that but of cos the 3 days was so torturing for Julian, my hubby and me. The result...Julian's able to play and sleep on his own now. During bedtime, I'll put him on the cot and leave the room. He will sleep within 10 min. I had some problem when he first started to roll over. I had to hold him down for awhile to remind him it's sleeping time. Now I've given up pinning him down. He will roll or crawl abit, to get himself tired and sleep shortly after. Even if he wakes up in the middle of the night or after milk, he will go back to sleep quite easily. I think it's really great if baby can self soothe.

1 weird sleeping habit he developed from this is, he likes to be left alone and hates to be carried when he is falling asleep.

Jia You, Angel. Dana will be able to sleep on her own soon.

Jasmine,

Congrates! It's so exciting! I miss being pregnant too. My mum kept telling me not to have no. 2 so soon too. But, I'm sure they just say only la. They will still be happy.

Angel,

Great to hear that Dana's fever is gone, I hope for a full recovery soon.
Happy baby, happier parents

Ethan doesn't have problems falling asleep at night. Hubby and I are very thankful that he's actually very easy when it comes to sleep. For us, the key is being tired enough. If Ethan is tired enough, he'll fall asleep within a few minutes of lying down in his crib.
If he's not really sleepy yet, then he'll flip and find ways to entertain himself. Or just roll over and suck on his paci till he falls asleep.
He'll call for us if he wants company and we'll just play with him to tire him out, then we pop him in the crib and he's out like a light.
Sometimes I'll carry him cuz he sleeps faster that way, other times he wants to fall asleep on his own.
He doesn't actually cry unless he's had a bad dream, he's not a crier in that sense.

Dana will learn, not to worry. She's already gone from 30 mins to 15 mins, it's only a matter of time

Angel: Glad to know Dana's recovering, hope she be fine soon. You must hv a hard time... everytime our darlings fall sick we feel so heart pain for them.

Zishumo: How's hillard? Hope thgs hv improved for him. Read that teething can cause loose stools but not sure how long these loose stools last. Any mum experience the same thg as her?

Jasmine: COngrats AGAIN! hahahaha... u are quick babe! I miss my preggies too! A year ago we were all happily enjoying our cravings with our little bump :p

RE: bb slping habits
I am trouble putting Elliot back to cot since these 2 months he's be sharing bed with us!!! The moment we trf him after he sleeps. he screams with angst. We tried the controlled crying method a few nights ago but it din work as he cried non stop VIOLENTLY with kickings and coughings for at least half hour. THAT drove daddy crazy and he felt so heartpain..so we never succeed.... it almost become MY PROBLEM for all Elliot's slping problem.

ANyone 's baby still need to latch on to sleep? Elliot totally reject bottle at night. & only with my boobs & presence then he would Zzzz. GOsh.. my boobs r overworked....

chewy, simp

yaps i think so too... hahah and i was always the one to tell my friends that no. 2 will only come after 5 yrs hahah
now look at me got to eat my words.

my boy is still latch on to sleep. though there are times when he do fall asleep on his own. think i got to just last this out
he is still a bf baby. though he is now taking 3 - 4 full meals a day (6 - 7oz per meal) the first meal is normally latch on and his last feed is also latch on.

<font color="aa00aa">Good morning, mummies</font>

So much action over the weekend! Hee..hee..:p

Jasmine,
CONGRATULATIONS!!!

My mum has been urging me to hv a second one, easier so can take care both babies together, one time 'sin ku'.. but i'm really tired and scared cos current one is a terror! :p

calamari,
if i remember correctly, Jasmine's baby is a leap year baby (Feb)!

Re: Sleeping
Read the Gina Ford's book but never practice on Davien, dont think we can stand his crying.. Same as Chewy's Elliot, he'll cry violently when up at night.. cant even stand for 5 minutes, normally milk will put him back to sleep again..
Yesterday nite was worse, woke up and keep on grabbing and pulling both his ears, refuse to drink or sleep.. me and hubby were tortured for a few hrs before he fell asleep again.

Any babies like to pull/ grab their ears? any reasons for that?

Chewy,
Voted for Elliot!

Kayla is finally recovering from her stomach flu. It was tough for the whole family as her stomach flu has spread to the rest of us... MIL, SIL (whom is preggie), nephew, maid and me all down with stomach flu. All of us vomitted and had diahorrea. Terrible! But we are thankful for all who prayed for us...

Jasmine, congrats to you! Its nice being preggie again! Me hope to try for #2 next year March. Kekeke... now too near and i wanna spend more time wif kayla first. Think i better ask hubby to start using protection. LOL!

Re: Sleeping
Kayla cant sleep thru the nite, last nite was the worst! She woke up every 1.5hrly to suckle. She is still a latch on baby to sleep kind. Very tiring on my end. Hubby and I tried to let her cry to sleep but same as Chewy and Maro's baby, she'll cry violently and rub her face, eyes so violently that I will give up (she got eczema and her mouth is already so red, rubbing is worse and I just dun want it to look like sausages) Haiz...

jasmine, congrats! so exciting! another lil bundle of joy to cuddle in your arms again..make me tempted to have another one soon also..haha..but not yet..current one is quite abit to handle!

maro n jaspire, my boy also like to pull ears, rub face, scratch himself, etc, coz he has eczema. but if really excessive ear "action" possibility of ear infection, which is common in babies. take note!

maomi..
ear infection.. oh my, okie, will check, thanks..

re:similac folow-on
Buy a Similac® Follow-On 900g and get a free Brainy Baby® VCD promotion in major stores islandwide, while stocks last!

anyone knows where to get this? tried cold storage and ntuc but dont hv the free VCD leh, any mummies manage to get anywhere? :p

Jasmine - congras! Didn't manage to catch your hint on Sat... ahhahaa.. me blur blur as Ernest was a handful on Sat

Angel - glad Dana is getting better.

Maro - my boy scratch his ears, eyes and mouth when sleepy. And we jus let him be...

Maro: pulling of ears is also a sign of teething. if not it cld be ear infection. better check out with ur PD is ur bb keeps pulling or putting his finger into his ear.

Chewy
Voted!

Slping
My bb also latch 1st thing in the morning n last thing b4 her slp. Haiz not easy...

Pulling of ears
Yes, bb does that quite often since she was very small. Din know y until cheesycake tell us
I din know it is a sign of teething hahaha. I only know when she teeth, temp is higher kekeke now i know another symptom.

2nd bb
Hahaha oh yes Jasmine' bb is from feb
We r waiting for the next 1st apr mummy to announce her preggie news. Let's see who's it
Jiayou mummies!

By Winter: The order has arrived The shipping cost is S$4.20 (US$2.74*1.53) per pack.
Please transfer the $$ to POSB Savings 102-18206-5
Exchange Rate : US$1 : S$1.53 (the rate that they deducted from my CR recently)

1) beans: 9Oz Pack of 2 * 3 (paid)- sent u an e-mail
2) maomi: 9Oz Pack of 2 * 2 (S$8.40)
3) na_na: 9oz Pack of 2 * 1 (paid)
4) Lynn_: 9oz Pack of 2 * 1 ($3.75) - 1979769428
5) Cherishbebe: 9oz Pack of 2 * 1 (paid)
6) Joellez: 9oz Pack of 2 * 1 paid)
7) Maro: 9oz Pack of 2 * 1 (paid)
8)goodbbb: 9oz Pack of 2 * 1 (S$4.20)

To Account POSB Savings
102-18206-5 winter
Amount S$3.75
Transaction Reference 1979769428

Hi Maro

Buy a Similac® Follow-On 900g and get a free Brainy Baby® VCD promotion in major stores islandwide, while stocks last!

---> my sis juz bought 3 tins at NTUC Jurong Point. They are placed at the promotion corner and not at the regular shelves.

cyl, have emailed you.

Hi mummies, I have a question which I hav not exactly found a solution to.

When you bring your baby out and you have to feed them their semi solids, eg cereal, puree or porridge, how do you do it? How do you keep the food warm, or how do you warm it up? How about the utensils' hygiene, etc?

I have been wondering coz if bring baby out, how to feed him!

Kindly share your experience and enlighten me, this blur mummy. =)

maomi
i feed cereal to boy outside occassionally

i put 3tsp cereal into small tupperwear container, keep in a secured plastic bag in case of spills. when it's time for feed, i warm up ebm (either from venue or bring my own hot water flask and insulated travel mug), pour into cereal, mix, and feed. when finish, wipe off container &amp; spoon, keep in baggie, bring home to wash.

for porridge, i have a tiger food flask. which i m still waiting to use!

Maomi
I used thermo lunch box(3 compartment) to store my fruit puree n hot stuff. I also use thermos foogo jar together w lunch box outside. I use lunch box to contain the food from foogo jar to feed bb. So that the rest not eaten r still kept hot in the foogo series. can also put teething biscuits in the lunch box. For traveling i use thermos shuttle chef to handle both lunch n dinner porridge. Take e portion onto the lunch box/foogo jar n feed bb. Now i feel, taking bb out really take up all the spaces in the big bag, fee like traveling every time.

hi simp,

yah! barang barang all bring outside.

i am looking to invest in all these thermal stuff. yours sound like they are very useful. can share wat brand, where to buy &amp; hw much? =/

yaps my boy is leap year baby.

heheh but then if i were to count back the dates and check when is the 2nd conception then it would be around now for you all as my boy is a month to 2 months earlier then you alls . :p
must start with family planning as it seems that we are super fertile now so if you all want to start preventing then now is the time to put it in force otherwise would be like me.... :s
heheh. :p

oh there is a bp for the foogo food flask if you are interested, the bp price is 28.8 but i got a futher 5% as i have ordered other things from this person that amounted to more then 100sgd. the bp is under angelbliss, giftforsomeone.com

please help, my son reduce milk intake for past few days, yesterday only took about 300ml for whole day with 1/2 bowl porridge only
what shall i do? today my hubby only manage to give him 3 bottle about 300ml until now...

maomi

sorry i can't remember price anymore >.< bought from taka, came with FOC small hot water flask, which sealed the deal. the cost did not break the bank.

i don't see why you can't store porridge in hot water flask! ;) if you have a separate bowl, you can just pour the porridge out into the bowl and feed. of course best that the flask has a big open mouth, not the spout type. u may also need a flask that is wide enough for you to reach in with brush to clean it...

jasmine: congrats! ha you are the first amg us to get preggie again! Are you on TBF? so it is really NOT true that if you breastfeed you cannot get pregnant

chewy: voted! I have to latch Byron to sleep at night too. In fact i latch him all the time now coz i cannot pump anything out, dunno if its the pump, the funnel thing or juz my breasts no milk. And Byron is only starting to accept abit of FM.

mummies that are breastfeeding, any of you haven got your period? i still haven got mine leh...

charismama

no he is well...my fren said is wind...but he never make noise leh just then he dun want to drink milk...water still ok..i will bring him see pd if today he still never drink more then 500ml.
porridge is very filling right? can last for hours? i suspect he want eat solid food then drink milk...wanna faint liao