(2008/04) April 2008

Hi Chewy,
sorry.. after the hubby looked at LNT website he decided to give it a miss too.. he prefers something more like a gym for baby to climb and run around, etc.. doubt baby will sit still long enough for these lessons.. let us know how it goes tho! we'll prob go for JWT trial..

Little Neuro Tree Trial class (3 trial classes @ $75, U.P is $150)
On 28th Jun, Sun, 2pm-3pm

Min 2 babies, Max 6 babies
Outlet: Paradiz Centre/ PoMO
1. Chewy
2. Scubababe

cloudme, MMR was only introduced in SG in 1990, so unlikely we took this jab. I took Measles when born (post 1976) and I still remember taking the queueing up to take the Rubella jab in Pri 6..
http://www.nir.hpb.gov.sg/nir/sv/eservices/eservicesv?ACTION=DISPLAY_VIEW_FAQ_BY_CATEGORY&CATEGORY_ID=IDAR#121

Only Diphtheria and Measles are compulsory, although there are many others that fall under the 'should' take vaccinations as in the schedule.

Personally, just to be cautious, I will stay away from MMR jab, last time ADHD, Autism etc was very uncommon, now very very common in schools, esp hearing from my fren teaching in pri school. Of cos it may have to do with diet, with all the GM foods we consume, but just wan to play it safe..

Hmmm... I am bringing my boy for mmr jab tmr at 15mths... Now I am reconsidering.... Any of u bring yr kid to jab mmr Liao? Any after effect?

Kea, yes the health booklet has MMR, as it is one of the 'highly recommended' jabs. In fact, it is given routinely if you do not question it or voice your objection.

As for MMR booster jab in Pri sch, parents can refuse the jab. Remember that only Diphtheria and Measles are required by LAW, the rest is just what is given routinely and almost taken as complusory in many clinics and polyclinics. For me I'll just be more cautious and refuse the jab. Call me kiasi but when I see the kids with ADHD and Autism in my class, I feel so so sorry for them and their parents. So anything to avoid this I will.

Again, the spike in the cases of Autsim in the late 1990s more be due to more than the introduction of MMR (could also be due to diet and genetically modified foods/growth hormones in meat/produce etc nobody knows for sure right), but the worry for MMR is that it contains thimerosal (mercury) as a preservative.

You can always read up more on vaccines on the internet, many articles on how vaccines may do more harm than good, not just for the MMR, which is quite specific.

Kea, yes the MMR and Austism link is not proven, but like I said, I just prefer to be more cautious lor. Just wanted to let mummies here know we have alternatives if we're not comfortable with the MMR instead of going with the usual recommendation/pressure to give the jab.

lynn,jgal;

i didn't go into history of the jabs...

so our generation we didn't have the jabs...keep thinking we have the jabs...
thanks for the info given...

btw,jgal...
why u mention the upbringing of kids and starting a debut?
when i am just questioning on the MMR jabs?
its unrelevant to the que loh...and not impt in the 1st place...
why would i wanna bother with the upbringing???

chewy - ok let me know

cloudme - i bought from ntuc finest at bukit timah plazaa

Jgal - i give sambuccol to leo on a daily basis to improve immunity. i find it very sweet though & am wondering if that's good for him?

when is JWT trail? My gym at GWC almost the same as JWT

anyone keen to try the music trail for my gym at great world city?

Cote Gr: Hahaha babe, no worries!

<font color="119911">FYI-LNT
We had a review with the director and the each session there's more then 10 activities. It includes:
1. Flashcard of pictures &amp; dots
2. Songs &amp; dance
3. Breathing &amp; blowing (exercising of babies' jaws)
4. Language exposure (Eng, Chse &amp; Jap- hence the trial in 3 sessions, so as to cover the 3 lang)
5. Puzzles
6. Games</font>

It does look like it's sitting down type.. hahaha. But there's activities too so the kids do get some movement but unlike the gracekids one :D Maybe once we attended the trial we can update you. My HB &amp; I plan to have Elliot to attend one gym &amp; one learning "extra-curricular activity". Hence, playgym on wkend, class on wkday. :p Wkday is good also for me so I can be abit more relieved from squeezing of brain juices with wat activities to do with him.

cloudme : maybe i am sensitive.. but i said what i said because there are some bu liao ppl that rebut me whatever i post anything. Be it raffles hospital queue and the information abt tv-watching.

At the same time, they would rather keep their useful info to themselves. This really pisses me off. If you dun want to share, then discredit ppl that do !!!! Frankly, we are all adults we can make our own judgment and do our own research. I share despite all these nonsense is that I really really dun wish to see any babies in here to be affected. Or preggy mum (friend or foe) to be affected.

I may not post abt feeling sorry abt the little charmaine or other sad stories.. because i get quite emotional when i cant do much to help the situation. I did share to some mummies here .. there is one little gal here that i care the most beside little Constance. And i will do my best help her and her mother.. No matter if they appreciate it or not.

leo's mum,
thanks for the info...
hmmm, bt timah finest...
if i happen to be there, will check it out...
cos so far from my place(bedok) unless i happen to be at my mum's place CCK...

chewy : I also thinking of sending ju to LNT on weekday. I'll still continue with his kindermusik cos he enjoys it.
maybe we can arrangement LNT together.

Jgal - so poor thing hor pity u and u are so nice that you like to share things but u always kana bombarded, maybe u wan to reflect the way u post and write on forum.

jules mum: babe, I yet to try kindermusik. Have you been to the trial at LNT yet?

Xiaozhu! You are back! Hug hug! Hahahaha... waiting for you! Sure, join us this sunday then. Cya!

<font color="119911">Little Neuro Tree Trial class (3 trial classes @ $75, U.P is $150)
On 28th Jun, Sun, 2pm-3pm

Min 2 babies, Max 6 babies
Outlet: Paradiz Centre (PoMO)
1. Chewy
2. Scubababe
3. XiaoZhu
6.</font>

This is a discussion forum. I think when any mummies here post a topic, it is open for discussion amongst us so we all learn. Afterall most of us here r first time mummies with minimal experience. When someone wants to post a statement, i think the minimal thing to do is to be responsible for what you want to say and be objective. If you want to post, then be prepared that there are opposing views that in my humble opinion is about being objective. As per the sharing of information... As i have said earlier, most of us are first time mummies, we are here to share experiences so that does not make anyone of us better than the other. So unless one has done plenty of research and can be 100% sure that she is not misleading others otherwise i dun think its a good idea to be posing conclusive statements. So unless you have the professional qualifications or else, dun try to be the in house mod or in house PD and try to tell the rest what to do.

Jules' Mum: so jealous! i also want to play mj! my game got cancelled this week... sigh.. hopefully can play next week!

Chewy: my hubby decided to go gymboree this weekend in the end. haha! have you guys been there?? heard there's a new setup this week. excited!

chewy... i tried kindermusic and actualli my boy is having classes every weekend lar..just started....

hmmm...my feedback is the songs are nice but maybe my boy started wanting to walk...so in class very restless... so hopefully next few lessons he be better ba...

\then gymboree also not bad....coz can run about and i love the part on the parachute and the teacher blowing bubbles and the kids stare and try to track the bubbles...its fun lar.. (but my hb say waste money...anyway... hb always say such classes waste money...lol)

both also not bad... maybe u go for trial class?

jules...ur kindermusic is which day ah? mine sunday 3pm...

jab... i be letting my son take the chickenpox jab...n think the 15th month jab(measles or wat) together...coz my pd got a new product which is the above 2 in 1 lor..hehee... cheaper also..

lynn...so meaning the 15th mth jab not complusory?? i blurr liao

cote gr : i haven.t played since i delivered leh. Hehe. hands so itchy. hope i win. haha

choc : ju's class on monday 230. I can't choose weekend class cos of family commitments. my parents will scream lo. btw don't worry about them walking about. they will still absorb. ju used to be so guai. just sit there let me guide him. now he'll walk around esp seeing other kids touching this and tat. currently e class he's in are all his age so e teacher actually does activities tat allow them to move about. I do see tat kindermusik benefits ju. e music helps him to calm down when he's feeling frustrated. he responds to song and dance quite well too. choc, hang in there.

Cote gr: Heehee babe, yes HB &amp; I went for the trial at Gymboree at harbourfront when he was 6mths old. We were not very impressed as compared to The Little Gym at Forum. The instructors were rattling the programmes with low enthusiasm. Programmes wise, pretty similiar with TLG, except Gymboree has a big see-saw. Maybe TLG has but din see it in trial. They both have more physically activities like moving around with a colourful parachute which Elliot loved and moving up cushioned platforms. OH babe, wat's MJ?? I only know Michael Jackson lah.... :p

Choc: Shall try kindermusik! Saw the website.. looks interesting but why the different themes like musik adventures, musik box .. so which one r u in? Jule's mum: which ones hv u singed up?

chewy : mj is mahjong. Regarding kindermusik, julian is doing village. it has 8 different themes. 8 weeks each theme. at 18 months he will be doing our time. (unless I find something else that interest me) I see most babies like e parachute. ju got no feeling to it. from e first time he see it he dun feel excited already.

anyone heard of musicgarten and magic fiddlers?

morning!!

chewy,...mine also village(i tink so...coz last sunday first lesson.)...every new term everyone the same theme...
can go try!! gymboree u also can go for trial...its fun.. hoohh

jules..how about julia gabriel? i heard its good...maybe can try too?

good morning,

choc : JG 2 times a week I cannot afford e time leh. I'm not willing to forgo e music class.
I see ju so responsive I very happy. Hehe. next week he's doing a new theme. so looking forward.

I am interested in signing my 14 month girl in a class. She has never attended any trial or lesson anywhere, unlike many of the babies here... But I'm not sure which class to enrol her in so need some advice here.

My girl likes music, movement and is hyperactive. She likes to flip story books sometimes will sit to listen to stories. So I m looking for a class that can teach her words, music, dance/movement and if possible, gym too.

I've went to Baby Jumper Gym but not very impressed. I am considering zoo-phonics but they only have classes for 18 months and above.

Do you people have any recommendation? Preferably in the west side cos this lazy mummy don't like to travel too far... =P

Nobody going for Julia Gabriel? I am still queueing for Dec's 18 months and above class. Have been on waiting list for 2 months liao.

chewy: TLG at Forum for this age group now is more physical. Gym stuff. Trying to walk on beams, doing somersaults at the bars, hahaha..My girl is addicted to the class. Now at semester break, she keeps 'singing' the Big Birds class song. Glad class is resuming tomorrow

lovemum: wah u mia so long. Never see u...how have u been?

Cote gr: I agree with chewy that Gymboree is not very impressive. The accent of the filipino instructors is too strong and they don't sound confident enough and one of them kept giggling during the trial class I went when my daughter was 5 months old. That was at the Harbourfront branch. Not sure about the rest of the other branches.

i just double check with the GP and my gynea abt MMR jab whether it will affect me if i jab my gal.

According to the GP, the one that is dangerous to mummies may be rubella. And my blood test during my first preg show that i have antibodies towards it.. so it shld be quite safe for my gal to jab. :) *relieved* but then again..Gynea say nothing to worry about. I'm still at the cross-road of whether or not to get my gal to have mmr.. cos' the last outbreak in singapore of measle is quite recent, 2004. If more and more kids are opting out of mmr, the risk of a outbreak is higher..... i will probably vaccinate my gal with individual jab and space out the jabs.. And feed her with lots of detoxing food such as miso and brown rice. :) in between.

Chewy: Thanks for helping to coordinate. Xav's back from his 3D2N stay @ TMC chalet ! hahaha ..

Wun be able to make it for tomorrow's trial. Most probably join u guys for the second trial. But if hubby says sign him up straight for the class, then we will go go straight for the new term. Let you know again

na_na: Nice meeting you @ the clinic !! hahaha .. You're good heh. Can recognise me despite never meet before!

chewy, jaime, leo mum : if u interested I can help u arrange trial at kindermusik. my son's lesson on monday 230. u may wanna trial on tat day. I'll check other time slots on monday and get back to u.

xav mum : good to know xav's feeling better. take care.

Xav's mummy,

Can la, won't missed out pretty babe de hahahaha :D

Glad to hear Xav is recovering, hope he will fully recover soon!

if anyone is organising kindermusik trial do pm me hor... me seldom come in oredi. too busy wif roaming ivan.

calamari wats the itinerary at julia gabriel?

wat is lnt? do wat wan? got any webby to refer to?

Yay prawnie, X's back! Can't wait to see him next month

mushloom: My daughter's on the waiting list for Dec's PlayClub bilingual class at JG. Details below extracted from their web site.

PlayClub/华语游戏俱乐部 (English/ Mandarin). 18 months - 3 ½ years
Fostering self-control and autonomy
PlayClub is a stimulating learning environment that is highly enjoyable, with a curriculum structured around letters of the alphabet and key Mandarin words, numbers, shapes and colours – all organised in interesting child-centred themes and translated through activities such as indoor and outdoor play, music, art and craft, hands-on pre-science activities, stories, speech, drama and snack.

xavier's mum: Yay! CHeers for Xav! How's he? He must be sian of "wheels on the bus"... hahaha. Hope u &amp; HB rest well. It's been hard on u two. Abt the trial, aiya, wat r frens for, no prob for the coordination :D

na_na &amp; jule's mum: Hahaha.. so funny u 2!

Jule's mum: Babe, how much is the trial class? How long is it? Thanks for offering to arrange heehee

Calamari: I was hoping to have a trial at GB first but they had to wait soooo long... then not confirmed when Elliot reach 18 mths can hv a vacancy so we try others first.. heeehee Eh, I think you know by 18mths things will change for us liao.. :p

Oh wow! TLG so physical now??!!! Hahaha I saw once for the older kids like 3-4, like Gymnastics man! I scare scare .... in case Elliot does the same at home * faint * He just broke my Bourgie lamp loh...

<font color="0000ff">calamari</font>
JG waiting list always very long so decide to give it a miss.

<font color="ff0000">prawnie</font>
speedy recovery for Xav!!

<font color="119911">jule's mum</font>
thanks for offering but i cant make it on mondays, otherwise would hv join u.

chewy : I can't remember how much is e trial. will check when I go home tonight. if I'm not wrong it's less than 30. the lesson is 45 min.

jaime, are u keen on other days? they have class almost everyday. I'll check with them tomorrow what are e slots available for e other days.