(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

jass mei
hope it won't be too busy :S or else i'll just have to find another job, heehee. got different priorities now

diaper changes
i dun fight bb anymore, i just let him crawl or stand while holding on to the cot's rails or put his hands on something since he likes to stand so much, then i'll put on the diapers. heh..

dor
so cute, he cling on to your chair and keeping an eye on what u eating for dinner? hee. u not afraid he fall backwards?

Jeannie, Bx, think I'm bringing RaeAnne to Shanghai too. Since got free tickets from lucky draw, will go visit my cousin who's working at Shanghai. Thought of leaving her behind cos this time only 2 of us, but if I leave her behind, will miss her terribly and think won't enjoy my holiday.

Isobellies, I got a Mama & Papa high chair, pre loved but quite good, find the texture quite cooling actually.
http://anewpiggy.blogspot.com/2008/08/object-permanence-high-chair.html

kitsune
ooh, nice! now in my place got 2 high chairs, also got a chicco hook on one which seemed like a good idea but is actually less mobile then expected. but MIL prefer to not use high hair at all

holiday
think at this age (or older) they can enjoy a holiday more, only thing is they are getting so heavy! my friends recently went to tokyo and brought their 15month old bb and carried her around in bb bjorn, can't imagine how heavy that must be!!!

Iso, the high chair is at my ILs place, and they use it everyday cos FIl can't sit on the floor or squat (got knee problem) and he's the one feeding her solids all the time. ;) Wien hubby and I feed on weekends, we use the walker. Hee.

Hi Eliaw/Crystal, thanks I got yr transfers

Dor, I got ur sms but sorry no time to reply today cos i was running ard outside. Definitely will pass u the recommendations.

Hol with baby
Since we talking abt it, K only been to Bangkok so far because I went for work. So I dragged hb and her with me.

Bkk is not a place to bring your stroller. You can only use it in the shopping malls. If you need to go ard using the BTS or underground, get in and out of taxis, I really won't recommend it. Moreover, the taxis there use LPG tanks at the back, so there's no space for stroller anyway.

Jass
ur way of using Endo sounds good. must go and teach the helper.

today K rejected porridge again. sigh. according to MIL, she refused to eat the pumpkin porridge, plain oso dun wan, with meat added oso dun wan. i really dunno what to do. But barley cereal she will tolerate.

Should I be stressing so much abt the solids? She never eat solids, then that means she should up milk intake right? But her milk intake is still the same as when she is 5 mths old. Worse still, she used to sleep thru but now she will wake up at 4 or 5 am hungry because obviously the total caloric intake for the day is not enough. Nowadays she seems to be rjecting her dream feed too..

Help....I'm out of ideas.......

Goodbb,
Techno XT (very old model). Bought in 2005 for my #1. Can adjust to 3 level..but I think new models can adjust to 4 level.

Generally, I find Maclaren sturdy albeit on the heavy side. Don't have the frills like Japanese models.

Stroller is a must when going for holiday with BB. ha..ha..No strength to carry them as they grow older.

Hi Bkkgal,
thx for the link to the pics. All well taken plus cute captions. Really enjoyed it!

My son also rejects porridge these days. But i jus let him be cos i feel there are some "eating days" and some "non-eating days". Or i try to be a little more creative n feed him other stuffs other than porridge. Like 2day i fed him wid tofu and sweet potato puree. mayb i am jus a "chin chai" mummy but i find as long he is happy and growing ok, it shd be alright. But having said that, my son i thk quite small size....hmmmmm

Hi casa,
welcome back! I knw how u feel as a SAHM cos' m one myself. It feels like all of the sudden my "portfolio" has increased fm jus bank loans to being a Minister of Home Affairs, Minister of Environment(cum maid), Minister of Finance, AVA etc etc. I must admit that it does at times get overwhelming. But I am sure things wld get easier esp when ur kid grows older. If u wanna chat sometime, feel free to PM me ya?

Hi Artemis,
How's Danica doing ?? All recovered???

Yep, my HT loot to be collected fm ur sis pls. And wld that be together wid my 1 tube of desitin as well?

sunny,

yes i do boil the rice at least 5 mins or so (rice soak at least 1 hr). usually i steam the veggies then add 2gether wif the rice into the food jar. 2 hrs later, oni like wat stephie mentioned, teochew porridge style.

tis wkend i will soak the rice longer and do the same procedure but instead of 2hrs, will put into the jar for longer hrs. C if it works.

blackbatz,

i aso using maclaren xt (new model) 4 my gal. i like it alot. but 1 ting is 2 heavy. I cant carry my gal in it whenever there is no lift.

so far mummies, hv u tried bringing ur babies out alone. without ur hbs?

lately i got the urge 2 do tat. but scare leh.... keke...

re battling wif bb during diaper change.

i aso hv tis pro! sweat like mad after change.

i give my gal HER toys no use. she oni wan the "Ru Yi" oil.

re SAHM.

it's very different when there are parents or PILs 2 help as compared to alone handling bb.

i wonder if it is due 2 most parents/PILs more experienced, so we tend 2 be more fang xin and can relax abit.

4 me, i hv no 1 2 help me xcept bb sitter (during daytime wkdays oni). I'm talking abt experience. of cos hb does help. but it's very different when u hv some1 u trust and who is experienced 2 teach/assist/guide u.

when i (no experience) hv 2 handle my gal alone, it gets really stressful initially.

so i really envy those mummies who hv their parents/PILs 2 help out.

esther
ya, try again. if still not up to the texture that you want, when you feed your gal, you might wanna mesh the porridge like how you do the puree.

indeed, i consider myself very lucky to have my in laws to help up in taking care of my kids. i never feel that i was making a right choice to buy a flat near their place until my kids were born. with them to take care of my kids, i can be sured that they are properly taken care of and in fact, during working hour, i seldom call back and check how they are doing at my IL's place. and some more my IL is not those old generations who will pamper kids with sweets, ice cream and chocolate. and they are willing to listen to our advices (get from the book) to take care of my kids e.g. no salt, no oil till 2 yr old.

your bb sitter no good?

1. jas + hb + bb + maid (lunch – bee hoon, potato salad, chicken nuggets, chicken wings, fruit puree for bb)
2. jeannie+ hb+ bb (after lunch, try to come)
3. bx + hb + bb (after lunch)
4. bkkgal + hb + bb (after lunch)
5. cheryl + hb + bb (lunch - Old Chang Kee)
6. garfield
7. esther + hb + bb (after lunch)
8. isobellies + bb (lunch / lunch)
9. qingling + bb (after lunch)
10. apple79 + hb + bb(lunch)
11. abcdisney (lunch - will pack some finger food)
12. stephie + hb + gal + bb (lunch - rojak)
13. tute + hb + bb (after lunch)
14. Yen + bb (lunch – Otah)
15. Artemis + HB + Danica + maid (after lunch)

Sorry hubby have plans for the weekend.

Lezy,
How to collect the socks from you?

Maclaren
i got my maclaren triumph from baby hyperstore at $149. Able to recline lower to similiar position as quest. I love it! Good investment.

bx/jeannie
err bunsen burner for electricity experiment? Shld give him then also include fire extinguisher as well. hahhahaha.... maybe his house use candle instead of electricity.

Seems like all the babies like some "action" during the diaper changing time. Usually after i bathe my girl, it will be my turn to take a bath becos I will either be wet (from the splashing of water from the bath tub) or I will be sweating!

Bkkgal:- Maybe she don't like porridge? I have a fren whose son is 1.5 yrs now and taking mainly fruits and vege puree instead of porridge cos he simply don't like.

Hmmm for my girl, she is taking porridge once a day only, usually one small full bowl and those sticky thick kind. I am surprised she can swallow that with no teeth. (MIL say its easier to feed when the porridge is thicker............)
In addition she is drinking abt 180ML of milk 4 times a day = 720ml.
My husband say we are feeding her too much!

sunny,

my bb sitter is very gd! she is very experienced. there was 1 time where i tot i might need 2 move back 2 my own home, i was super sad! becos i wanted my bb sitter 2 continue 2 tk care of my gal. but then if i move back 2 my own home. nt possible 2 let her continue. but lucky things sort out. keke...

bx, yen,

my gal aso EAT the container till shiok shiok. if i take away frm her, she will cry. if give back her, still "angry" wif me. my hb say her so "xiao qi" haha...

apple79,

last time i used 2 sweat alot after bathing my gal. (tat time still breastfeeding), strangely after stop bf, dun sweat liao. keke... but do sweat when having a diaper changing battle wif my gal lor. haha..

the milk intake of ur bb ok! hw i wish my gal can drink tat much. but 2 bad. last sat oni 370ml! wif 2 solids. in average her milk intake oni 500ml or so.

sunny,

gd tat ur ILs do listen and r those modern type.
things do get much easier frm there. at least can communicate.

i do knw some ILs help but in their OWN way.

apple
agree that it's easier to feed when porridge is thicker. even for cereal, easier and less messy when it's thicker. my boy likes his porridge/cereal to be thicker too. if too watery, he'll pui out or eat very slowly.

sunny
you are v lucky that your ILs abide by your rule. my girl is spoilt by my uncle whose buys her all the unhealthy snacks

1. jas + hb + bb + maid (lunch – bee hoon, potato salad, chicken nuggets, chicken wings, fruit puree for bb)
2. jeannie+ hb+ bb (after lunch, try to come)
3. bx + hb + bb (after lunch)
4. bkkgal + hb + bb (after lunch)
5. cheryl + hb + bb (lunch - Old Chang Kee)
6. garfield
7. esther + hb + bb (after lunch)
8. isobellies + bb (lunch / lunch)
9. qingling + bb (after lunch)
10. apple79 + hb + bb(lunch)
11. abcdisney (lunch - will pack some finger food)
12. stephie + hb + gal + bb (lunch - rojak)
13. tute + hb + bb (after lunch)
14. Yen + bb (lunch – Otah)
15. Artemis + HB + Danica + maid (after lunch)
16. Lezy + hb + ruth (maybe abit late, about 2pm perhaps)

YAY my hubby nodded his head. He doesn't quite enjoy such gatherings la so lucky he finish his marking n busy period or else surely no go.

I will bring the Clippies - PLUS some extra designs in case some of u wanna buy on the spot.

As for the EMMA Socks, crossing our fingers that the stock will arrive by Friday cuz it has been mailed out from the factory already. If can, i'll bring 1-2 sets and see if any of you wanna get some 'extras'. But we need to buy as a set for your info so everyone will have to take a different colour.

I am happy to report that the rashes on Danica are all gone.
So I am confirm going to jass1408's playdate on Saturday. Please let me know if you want to collect your loot there so that I may set the stuff aside.

bkkgal:
my boy still hates porridge. but after i tried out crystal's way of adding some cereal into the porridge, he is now able to eat 4 tbsp of porridge. haha i consider that a sucess liao.

you know huh, usually when i eat dinner my boy will give me a greedy look and try to grab what i'm eating, so i'll give him some plain rice & he'll be happy. yesterday i was eating the remainder of his porridge and when he wanna grab my food i gave him a bit. he gave mi a 'duh' look and do the boo boo thingy. hahahah so funny.

abcdinsey:
are you coming w ur hubby and 2 bb on sat for lunch?

re: diaper change:
now that i have switch matthew back to nappy, position the new nappy properly, remove his nappy when he is standing position and quickly put him on matthress to wrap him up again. he can be distracted for a while if we let him play w the lotion bottle / new diaper / ru yee you container / baby wipe packaging. he even attempted to 'eat' the talc powder cover. sigh...

jass
the adding of cereal works hor. but this week i started off her again without the cereal because she gt bad constipation. 3 days din poo and she force until so xin ku till it comes out but with the help of taking barley for 2 consective days. my mom says one day eat twice cereal very heaty so this wk we din put cereal into the porridge. then surprisingly she took it. but yest she reject again!!! so we fed her during the time we have our dinner, then she took it eagerly. i told her if you not going to eat, we going to eat liao. then she took it fast fast. i tink it probably works too if she eat with us cuz she saw all of us eating tgt, prob makes her feel big girl liao. keke.

artemis:
yeah.. gald to hear that bb danica has recovered. smiley and active liao hor..

re: thick porridge
yup thick ones is easier to feed
but my maid made it so thick that i wonder how is matt going to swallow. but then he can finish 4 tbsp so i monitor 1st lor.

re: IL
yup, i'm v grateful tat my MIl (& sometimes PIL) will come to my house on weekday by 6.30am and help to 'eye power' on the maid till when we reach home.. usually abt 7.30pm... sometimes we'll reach home abt 10+. they are very wei da. hee and MIl let me decide on how to bring up my baby w/o much interference (prob coz she dun have exp w baby coz her 3 kids are brought up by her MIL).

re: toilet train
wondering how do we start toilet training bb? can exp mummy pls share some tips and steps.

crystal:
yeah works leh.. so happy hor.. hahah although he still dun really like it. dun care lah.. try lor. he gotta get used to it ma.

jass
yah lor. still need to keep trying. i think now we will feed her at the same time when we having our dinner. it works for yesterday. so we'll see if it works for today.

envy envy. your mil and fil so good. !!!!

Bkk - maybe give her cereals first 1 meal, then porridge 1 meal? i think during the initial stage when they are not used to solid food, this is quite normal..so dun stress too much. or give her some fruit pruree to make her eat? i sometimes mixed sweet potatoes or banana into her cereals.

Lezy - great to hear u will be coming (not becos of the clippies k..:p), the last time ruth was sleeping at Jeannie's gathering, heh, din manage to play with her.

Jass - i have the playmat, but dun have the hands to bring along..cos hubby not going..hmm....

food - i can try making some tiramisu...if i find some time on friday k..dun hiam if not nice k..but i quite like it myself..haha..otherwise i try to bring something else..keke

bkkgal:
for me, i mix quite a lot of puree into cereal / porridge. eg last night menu is porridge w tofu, a bit of pea, a bit of pumpkin & a bit of potato. today will be porridge (w stock) w ikan bilis powder, heng cai, sweet potato

for cereal, i'll mix in fruit puree like apple puree (w or w/o cinnamon powder)or avocado & peach.. think matt prefers cereal coz overall will be sweeter w puree

Esther:- I sweat most time bathing her leh. Maybe too fat liao ahha. I also feel she drink okie leh not too much. Even thought of adding one more fruit puree feed in between her milk feeding time. Dunno why her daddy is always scared that she eat too much. Probaby afraid that she will become too round like her mummy haha. (Cos her thigh look like lotus roots now)

Re: thick porridge :-intially i was worried my gal will choke. So i try eating them myself to see if it can be swallowed easily.

Stephie:-I am also scared next time when my girl is older, my mil will feed her unhealthy snack cos i have seen her feeding another relative's child that time when she was looking after her. (haizz think just close one eye cos nevertheless i am grateful for her for helping me look after my girl)

Lezy:- I want the socks. I don't own any yet! My husband will faint again cos even gathering also can shop. haha.

qingling: no prob... not convenient nvm lor.. we can squeeze hee.. ya v hard to bring bb out. bb heavy, the diaper bag oso heavy. frankly, really salute u mummies who can bring bb out alone. i have not muster up enough courage to try. haa~

cheryl: hahah its ok

Hi qingling,

Yes, your shields are here but due to the way the stuff was packed, the box tore. I hope that is fine with you. Not sure why they packed heavy stuff on top and light stuff below.

RE : Amounts to be transferred for sprees

<table border=1><tr><td>Drugstore Spree </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nick</TD><TD>Shipping </TD></TR><TR><TD>Crystal</TD><TD>9.48 </TD></TR><TR><TD>tute</TD><TD>3.55</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ViNE_Gal</TD><TD>2.00</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>BabyCenter Toys Spree </TD></TR><TR><TD>Artemis</TD><TD>94.94 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Crystal</TD><TD>19.08 (Item cost + shipping) </TD></TR><TR><TD>qingling</TD><TD>1.95 </TD></TR><TR><TD>lezy</TD><TD>27.48</td></tr></table>

think i better sms you guys now before i forget... my memory have not recover since pregnancy days.

apple:
lotus roots so nice... my bb lose some fats and we miss it... tummy round round now.. but when he sit down we cannot see '3 layer fats' hubby ask me to feed him more

Hi lezy,

Yeah the shipping cost for the brightlings builder alone is $25.24.
So about S$40.03 in total. Not sure if still considered cheap.

apple,

lotus roots gd! bb r cuter when they r chubby leh. me and hb wanted our gal 2 drink more leh. she always has the habit of leaving @ least 50ml or 20ml minimum of milk behind.

esther, stephie
ya, v lucky to have IL who can listen to our views. for other people, they knows that we are strict in giving food to our kids, so, they would not simply offer food to my gal. there was once, my relative wanted to feed my gal snacks, got lectured by my hb. :p

Hi emoments,

My collection points are : <ul>[*]Harbourfront Centre outside Level 2 KFC (weekdays only 12:40 to 12:50 p.m. or 5:40 to 5:50 p.m.) <LI>Sengkang outside M1 shop (weekdays 6:40 to 6:50 p.m.) <LI>Punggol MRT (weekdays 6:40 to 6:50 p.m.) <LI>My home at Punggol (weekdays after 9 p.m. or weekends upon request)[/list]Please let me know your preference.

Hi leila,

You are not going to the playdate at jass1408's? Okay, I will drop off your HT stuff with the Desitin cream at my sister's after the event.

artemis..
i think it's on the expensive side..cuz i recall xiaoyun or someone saying total cost was S$26. Our $40 is abit dismal (not blaming u). dunno why they pack like that!

i'm looking at SG prices now...apparently retails about 59.90 so maybe still ok for us at 40. I saw someone selling at ebay for $28 (starting bid).

sigh.

APple,
oops..looks like hubbies will give me 'killer look' when i bring out the clips and socks.

jass
me too dun hv bumper mat to offer.

artemis
glad that danica is ok liao. u must be so happy. yup, me gg to jass place (unless hubby last min kana asked to go back to office), so gotta telong you to bring my HT stuff. tks much.