(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

tongtong,

i also had similar experience last two weeks when i went for detailed scan. about 2weeks before the scan when we book the appt, he said he was gg take leave and keep me company the whole day (morning scan, afternoon bb shopping and night go out). hence i took leave and cancelled my dinner appoinment with friends.

2 days before the scan, i still reminded him to take leave and he said "ok, ok.."

on the actual day, he told me in the morning that he didn't take leave (thou he will acompany me for the scan) so need to return to work in afternoon and his buddies already 'booked' him for the night.

i gave him a BLACK face (and was going to cry but i ren)!in the end he went back office to work a while n we met again late afternoon and met up with his friends together at night.

thanks dorothy! hmm i was just thinking if i can be lazy and just let bb drink out of the liner/plastic bag using milk bottle as "shape holder". but if we need to warm the milk in the liner/plastic bag, doesn't sound too advisable hor?

hi artemis,
thanks - will check out at mothercare the next time i'm there.

hi piglettail,
9 pieces sounds ok to me. the body suits are very worthwhile buys. and you are buying in staggered sizing so definitely not overbuying. the front button t-shirt tops can be found in a number of stores - i think the brands are jinggle, richi (not sure of exact spelling), pigeon etc price wise it's about $5-6 a piece.

just to share - for 0 to 3 months size, i have 7 sets short sleeved (for day) and 5 sets long sleeve (for night). got to cater for some buffer cos friends say quite common to change baby 3 to 4 times in a day, so don't need to keep washing.

piglettail, cant lah....u have to pour the milk back in the milk bottle then warm it before giving to bb...

some ppl use containers to store breast milk... so the choice is yours...

i guess all hubbies are the same cos mine also did this to me on their bday.. tues(16/10) was my hubby n gal's birthday.... so i decided to take go on leave to celebrate but in the end, he(my hubby) played me out.... he went back to work in the afternoon!!!

hi dorothy,
so the milk liners are disposable right?

re hubbies
hee hee...mine also the same. not very gan cheong type (never talk to my baby, only once in a while will sayang my tummy)

hi all...

thanks for your tip garfield! i'll send you my purchase info by email later today.

dorothy..hehhe..oh no now my lazy streak is 'exposed'.

pig out session
24/10/07
melt???
1. dorothy
2. cheryl
3. garfield
4. piglettail
5. blueginger
6. linda? (tbc)
7. Artemis
8. moi_dar

who else

garfield,
storage of breast milk.
can also use bottles as well...
a few way loh... but go for the cheapest....

Hi dor, have you tried the playtex liners before? are they thick enough that they don't break when frozen? am looking at the gerber seal and go liners leh... thicker.. coz last time i used the playtex ones, they burst! so heartpain to throw away the BM i gave them to my mum and she used it as mask :D

hi, mummies. Thanks for your comments. Agree that cot will have more mileage. I don't have much space in my bedroom. Was prepared to put a small cot in the corner of my bedroom (may move the dressing table if necessary). I prefer to put the cot beside my bed for easy BF, but width of small cot is 66cm, so it will either block my toilet door or my wardrobe door. The BB will sleep with CL for the first month and in my room until I stop BF. That's why when I saw this co-sleeper which my cousin bought (I think from Mums & babes), I wondered if I should get it. Problem is I'll need a bigger cot when baby gets bigger and I need a cot for in laws place as well. One way is to buy a cheap ikea cot when bb is bigger but don't know whether it can fit standard mattress cos safety mattrress also not cheap. Sigh, very confused now also. :p

patsy, i never used this before cos the previous time is i used glass bottles(given to me from hospital)... n i end up have to sterilise them also, wash them... cos i also super clumsy... i broke some... so in the end i think disposable better... on top of that, i took up a huge space from my freezer.....my friend was using this... so far so good....

garfield, latch on directly... cheapest...but veri tiring... cos your princess might want u to latch on for comfort too!!!

hi garfield,

I have emailed you...only problem is my email was returned the first time. Let me know if you are able to receieve my email ok?

hi kitsune,
maybe you can check out artemis's suggestion at mothercare. put the cradle on your bed. and it's a lot cheaper for the same duration of use.

haha dor...ya latch on directly cheaper. but this mummy lazy mah. thinking hubby can wake up to prepare EBM for baby for night feeds hee hee =P

got your email piglettail!! will let you know once i process it together with andrea's.

Hi, Garfield

Thought of it but I have a queen size bed due to size of my bedroom and husband turns a lot. Don't think safe to put a cradle on the bed. Just went to Ikea just now. The cheap $78 cot is out of stock and the salesman said it won't be in stock for at least 2 months. :/

i finally have time to login this forum. yeah!!!
some updates from my maternity shopping just now. Bought 3 tops and 2 pants at Marton-Bell just now. They are having sales, quite a number of items are having more than 50% discount. Total cost me only $133. very happy.

re: baby kicking
i only feel the kicking on my right side too. the movement not very frequent also.

re: cot
i saw an advertisement about multi-functional cot bed, can convert into normal single bed when bb is older. looks interesting..
you can get some information from here:
http://www.mishkaandmaven.com

re: storing breastmilk
i was thinking to start collecting glass bottle from bird's nest and chicken essence (with reusable cap) to store the breast milk. not sure will it be ok or not. cos don't know if the reusable cap can withstand low temperature in the freezer or not. furthermore, afraid will take up too much of the space (as if my supply will be a lot :p ). what do you think?

cheryl,
my baby kicks everywhere these days. When it first started, it was just on the left side. Maybe ur baby will start to kick all over the place when he is slightly older too.

RE: Moodswings
Thankfully i dun get that. Didn't really have PMS before pregnancy too, so maybe that is why. I read that mommies with prior PMS are more prone to pregnancy moodswings.

when should we be all ready for the baby's arrival? ie clothes, bath-tub, cot etc? I'm trying to decide on when to start searching for cots/strollers etc. And are 5 sets of NB clothes enough? That's all I bought.

Hi all!!! Thank you for all your well wishes!

Got the job! In fact went down and started work today. They increased my pay as well... cos it's not really an entry level job. Only knocked off at 9pm today.

The sales was really good! More than 80% off for most items but super crowded. shirts going for 3 for 90 only! There is handbag, shoes, shirt, belt, cuff links....etc Really worth doing down if your hubby likes Raoul stuff. But i must warn you, it's going to be super crowded!

Need to sleep soon. Still gotta work tomorrow! Thank you once again ppl!

re: moodswings
i dun really get moodswings, but cry easily. before pregnant, i cry quite easily, now even worse. but after a while im fine again.

moi dar
congrats for getting the job and pay increase. can save more money for bb..

fairfield,
ideal timing is 7th mth pregnancy i think. after 7th can really buy and keep. also can start washing bb new clothes w bb detergent. now if got sales can start buying too. esp items like breast pump, steriliser, cots and stroller. but make sure your frind or relative will not buy the same thing for u.
remmber to get hanky and towel. abt 8-9mth can start buying bb toiletries.
being superstitious, i think only can set up bb cot when u are abt to due. haha
guess 5 sets is good enough, mainly use for the 1st mth, after which will be gifts from friends and relative.

Fairfield, I kiasu. Bought nearly everything except baby cot, car seat and baby bathtub etc. My latest buy is a bumper playmat that's good to prevent accidental falls from bed or crawling babies. Thought it's too early to buy but the lady organising the BP is going to deliver soon so next BP won't be so fast and her price is cheaper than the other supplier so buy first lar. haha.

http://anewpiggy.blogspot.com

Hezzz... I am new here... Just happen to come across this forum today...

Really excited about the conversation and outings you all had

I am 6 mth pregnant (just reached)... First time mummy... Quite excited but lost at the same time...

hi ladies.. my stomach itching really badly today
seems like i'm sensitive to the clarins tonic oil. was previously using the palmers coco butter, then when i got back from bali 2 days ago, bought the clarins tonice oil from airport..and started using it.. and yesterday right side of tummy started to itch. this morning the rash has spread to other parts of tummy
had to go see gynae to get medication for it .. sob.. i actually like the smell and texture of the tonic oil better than the palmers cocoa butter.. and i already tried a sample of it before buying.. no problem then leh.. so was very surprised by the allergic reaction
hope the rashes will go away soon..

Very sad to login and read about Patsy.

I am also a coming Feb mum, but I have no access to internet on weekday at work.

Take care...

just saw the post from xiaoyun.. very sad to see the news ... hope patsy is coping alright... pls do send my condolences if anyone of you visiting.. but personally i do agree with cheryl that this may not be best time for her to be seeing pregnant ladies leh..

Hi everyone, am doing ok, still a bit tired. Trying to accept what happened is the hardest specially coz my Sabie's birthday is on the 25th. It's hard to understand the things that have happened but I just have to pour out my troubles to the Lord so he can carry my troubles for me.

While I would love to meet all of you, but in light of all that has happened to me it might be best for us to wait.. more because of the chinese superstitious beliefs. it's not often one can lose 2 kids in 6 months

hi patsy,

just posted my post before yours was uploaded on my pc.

do take good care of your health and remember you have a group of friends here for you...

Hi Patsy,

My deepest condolences.
Do take care and rest well.

Re: Metro sale

There was not a lot of attractive items on sale. But I managed to get the Capella stroller and infant car seat. I visited Metro Woodlands so not sure about other Metros.

dear Patsy,

my deepest condolences.. pls pls be strong and take good care of yourself. your children will always be there in your heart.
hugz hugz

re: metro sale
ya.. agree w artemis, there are not a lot of items for sales. but i got myslf a avent manual breast pump and food warmer for $105. not bad deal i think.
if u guys interested, takashimaya is having 20% sales for some bb stuff like avent, pigeon, medela etc...

Patsy, I don't know what to say....except that God knows and He is with you. Our prayers are with you and your family. Take care.

Patsy,
My deepest condolences. Take care of yourself and be strong.

Last weekend is tough for me too. First, I received news of my retrenchment last friday on my 1st year anniversary. Then, sean's news. Sunday, Taiwan uncle passed away. Feeling so down over weekend.

Hi girls, finally the forum is back on line!

Please don't be sad for me, I have accepted that things happen for a reason, and i just have to rely on the grace of the Lord to overcome this latest heartache.

i also don't want you all to be affected by this please... be happy mummy to be's!!! your baby's can feel your anxieties, ok?

After my mini confinement let's all plan to meet up, ok?

Hi Pasty,

It's is comforting to know, God is always with you. You are in my prayers.

Bad news. Due to my new job, I won't be able to make it for dinner this wednesday. Alot of back log to clear... Very busy from the first day of work. Didn't even have time to go to the loo!

Anyway, you ladies have fun and update me on the forum yah.