(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

clover,
i signed up some time ago. didn't get the canvas bag.

what's tim shop?

xy,
the children's clothes sure ex wan right? oh, me not into baking. hee...

pauline,
ok, i keep u updated on any promotion at LNT.

bx.. maybe my fil see me.. scared.. dun want my ger to be like me?? :p

Re: LNT
I also sigining up next term but what is this 50% off thingy?? Can ge 50% off fees?? Wah.. that is attractive..

Just to share.. u can go todaymotherhood and sign up to be a member and they can waive the membership fee.. but not sure if its for all branches.. caus ei am going to dhoby ghaut one..ISobellies.. wanna join me at dhoby ghaut?? Most prob.. sun 3.30 pm slot.

Bx.. in ur opinion.. how do u think ashlyn has benefited?

Re: Childcare at 18 months
Anyone of u confirm sending ur kids to childcare even though u have in laws/ family members to help u take care of kids. I am just wondering when i shld start gwen on sch.. i want to find those 2 x per week one but i have no transport to send her and the centres are not near my in law place.. so unless i send full day then i can send her in the morning.But dunno when is a good time to start them on sch.Anyone 2nd time/ 3rd time mummies can share more?

genice,
that time the parkway branch offered 50% off the next term's fee if u refered a friend to sign up at their branch. note: it's next's term fee not current term fee.

IMO, i think she picked up some skills like actions in songs which i seldom got time to teach her at home. she learnt to tap on the pictures instead of grabbing the pictures which she did at the beginning of the term. she could also sit to listen to teacher's instructions (except for flashcards which she cannot pay attention to) unlike previously keep moving about. she does well in the memory game. so far if i dun rbr wrongly she chose 8 or 9 out of 10 times the correct picture card when the teacher ask the kids to choose which card she flashed.

other than that, I thought she enjoyed herself, so just continue lor.

Pauline,
I bought the cooling pad (cushion size) from Big bookshop ($5+) and Japan Home ($2). The one from Japan Home is not as thick. After a few years, will need to change as the liquid will leak.

Reena, I see, okie, will look out for mine. The saleslady said will only leak if I puncture it with sharp object. Wait and see lar. :p

Reena, your 3 darlings so cute. 2 gals, 1 boy, I like.

Bx, jia you jia you! Babydust to you! Maybe you'll get another Feb2010 baby? hee hee.

xy
thanks for the link to the recipe.

reena
wah... they are so cute!!! which one looks like you?

bx
jia you!!!

genice
if there is someone reliable to help you taking care of the kids, i think you don't need to send the kids to the childcare. if you want to let your gal learn something, you can try those saturday/sunday class like GUG or Julia gabriel, kindermusik, etc.

i let my gal go to 2-hr daily playgroup when she's 2 yr old, it's really painful to see her crying everyday when we said bye bye to her. then after my boy was born, we stopped her playgroup for few months as we don't have the time to bring her to the class. when she reached 3 yo, we brought her to another playgroup. she's able to blend into the class very soon. i can really see the difference of sending kids to school unaccompanied between younger and older age.

so, depend on your gal's characteristic and what you want for your gal, then plan for it.

Reena.. picture perfect!! Haha.. ur picture seems like an advertisment to Promote Family life.. but must put a smile on ur boy :p How old are ur kids. Ur ger seems to be > 5? Can c ur ger likes her meimei hor... so sweet..

Bx.. not bad!! Great improvement for ashlynn.. gwen still grabs both flashcards if i try to flash to her.. sigh.. now she is into beating people.. dunno why.. her sayang.. suddenly x 10 times in force.. very painful.. She will start to wave her hand and beat pp if we dun give her something... dangerous ger ...

hi genice and mummies,

my son also started beating things and people when things doesn't go his way !!! he doesn't like to stay at home and wants to go out all the time, especially so after his afternoon nap. if we don't bring him out, he'll beat the person who's carrying him

i read from babycenter, one of the ways is to hold his hand and say "gentle" and hold his hand to *pat pat* person.

any other methods you gals have ?

Re: Childcare at 18 months
I'm sending my son to childcare in september, halfday morning cos my bbsitter has to take care of my #2 as well. I can only take 8 weeks of ML then gotta return back to work liao.

Hopefully, he'll learn some things. I'm also prepared to take leave in case he falls sick.

Joeey, I've been doing that to my gal, teaching her to sayang and stroke instead of beating. Hehe, you mean it's from babycentre.

Your no. 2 is due in Sept? Mine is in early Dec so I still have some time to put her in playgroup, hopefully she'll adjust. If not, I'm also thinking of putting her in LNT weekly classes. See how. 2 hr playgroup is definiely cheaper.

bx,
Can jia you now, just in time for #2 next year ;-)

No wonder I find you familiar, can't quite recall where I've seen you.. then I read your blog and you say you frequent Han's. That strikes a bell. Small world...

Pauline,
It won't leak so fast, will be over time. I think it's because of the pressure resting on it, then causing it to leak gradually.

sunny,
Alot of pple say my girls look like me and the boy like daddy.

Schools for toddlers,
DD1 started playgroup at around 24 months. I like the school as it's Montessori teaching and it's a mixed age group class, 3 hours 5 days week. This means she gets to interact with children of different age group. But with DS2, he only started former school this year ie Nursery. I had wanted to send him to school earlier but I do not have the bandwidth to do so. Although I'll very much prefer them to go to a childcare, I don't think I can afford the time ferrying them to and fro. It is very time consuming for me.

Be warned that for children starting school, they are exposing to alot more viruses and will be more incline to fall sick. Generally from what I've heard, they only spend 1 week in school and the balance 3 weeks at home, recuperating from common flu/cough/fever.

Genice,
My boy is generally a very smiley boy, just that this pic he was abit dreamy :p And it's so difficult to capture pics of the 3 together, looking good. I also want to capture my dog in it but he's always not interested as he doesn't like to go near the kids. Hahaha

My kids are all 3 years apart, 2002, 2005 and 2008

Beating/Biting,
Mine doesn't beat but bites if she's angry with her gor gor. I realised she only bites him, don't know why...

Here's sharing another one of my favourite pic
2605177.jpg

The girls playing together
2605178.jpg
2605179.jpg

Pauline,
Try to put your girl in playgroup either before bb comes or much later. You don't want her to associate the bb's arrival with her departure from home ie going to school. JMHO

Reena, yup, I already planned to put her in playgroup or LNT starting Aug when she turns 18 mths. Now, too early to put her cos she's only 17 months. But with the H1N1, I do wonder if it's a good time for her to start school. :p

xy, i loved yr girl's hair the last time i saw her. i think she's very pretty

bx, there's this ameyoko st near ueno, they sell lots of sporting goods like Adidas jackets at very cheap prices... i got a simple one at $8 and a nice leathery one at only $30+. there are outlets there too. my sis went to the coach outlet, though i'm not sure where it is.

clover, i signed up 2 mths ago, no freebies leh

re: childcare

i'm looking at sending jerome to a childcare too cos my maid has gotta look after the younger one. Also i want jerome to learn more, cos i find no matter how i preach, the maid doesn't seem very enthusiastic to "teach" him. but then also worried about the viruses, which i've heard is reali common to fall ill. and also Jerome doesn't eat many things, so also worried about his diet. what is LNT?

xy,
For the bread blade, oil it first before you attach it to the pan. It'll be easier to remove the blade. I've not tried any peanut butter bread but I do have a recipe on hand. You keen?

princess,
You also seeing Dr Ho? My kids were seeing her during infancy but I switched later as the q is super duper long. Yes, I must say she's very experience.

BTW, who's your gynae? Dr Ho was recommended by my gynae, Dr Heng TL.

hi pauline, my #2 due in august, then gotta go back to work in end september. my bb sitter is afraid she can't cope with 2 so no choice have to put #1 to childcare.

reena, i like your pic that has your DS2 and DD3 playing together ! i usually see brother and brother / sister and sister photos. Your children are close to one another

childcare is 1 week school 3 weeks sick ?? oh dear ...

Pauline, LNT got pre-school?
is so, veri near to my workplace leh.

actually, me hinking of gg mindchamps pre-school which is just below my office.
but heard ex....
still shortlisting.

reena,
saw yr blog...
maybe u can start a baking/cooking class for us?

bread
Last night i finally get to make a loaf coz hb made 4 dud loaves. I'm using gold medal unbleached bread flour n found the result coarser but taste better. It has a subtle sweeter taste, smells better n dun hv the "flour" taste.

Thanks for your advice re A's cough. She's getting better but still a lot of phlegm. But no longer suffering from violent coughing and puking.

june,
hope jerome recovers really quickly. v heartpain to see little ones ill. is he back at home already?

Re pre-school,
I'm also planning to send A when she turns 18 to 20 months. Will start with 2 or 3 x mornings a week. Eventually move to 5x mornings. No plans for full day unless my mom decides not to look after her anymore.

I have shortlisted Brighton Montessori at Fort Road so far (cos this sucker mummy loves the old colonial bungalow building with huge shady trees around).

Actually, I'm not that particular about the school, but more particular about the teachers. So I intend to bring my little energizer bunny when I view the schools and see how they handle and manage her. That will probably be the deciding factor.

Of course, the other important thing to me is cleanliness hehe

Reena,
Your kids are gorgeous =) You are amazing lah, 3 kids with no maid and can cook up such yummy meals. You remind me of another Feb mummy Berry. Belong to the "super mummy" category!

princess
hmm i not v sure leh, but i can ask the next time i see her...

all this talk about playgroup and CC i find quite exciting for our bbs, i'm quite enthusiastic to have him join some classes because he always has so much fun. for me i think i will have to do CC for a few days a week until #2 comes - whenever that is :D

iso,
same here! i think going for some classes is good to expose them and help learn social skills. maybe we can share and post our feedback on CCs that we visit?

Dor, LNT (Little Neuro Tree) no pre school, it's those 'mind opening' enrichment class but I'm considering it as an option cos not sure if RaeAnne will take to daily playgroup at 18mths. :p

June, glad to hear that Jerome is getting better. I wanted to see Dr Ho but the queue is very long and somemore must queue outside the shop, so hot. So I stuck with Dr Lee from Tampines Round market. Her opening hours are also better for me cos open on Sat and some Sundays.

Gar, glad to know that Ariel's cough is better. Is work still as busy? Seldom see you online nowadays.

gar
great idea! we might not be looking in the same area, but we could pick up pointers on what to look out for, tips, etc.

actually since i might be looking at the end of the year, when they'll be almost 3, i'm also wondering if i should just go straight to N1... so many decisions!!

LNT
mummies who went, what is the Preview Talk har? just an intro is it? not a trial class? i rather just go for the trial than waste time at a intro talk :D

pauline,
ya lor, busy busy leh. dunno why also. every night i log into my coy network after she sleeps at around 9pm, and don't see anyone else working. so demoralizing

btw, i think good idea to let RaeAnne start with few times a week to ease her in. i plan to do that too. let us know more about the LNT one after you do your reccee ok?

iso,
can can! for starters, here is a list of info from MCYS website http://www.childcarelink.gov.sg/ccls/home/publications.jsp#Parents

Gar, I see, no wonder. Poor gal, you started your travelling yet or is your company holding off due to h1n1? But so good, Ariel sleeps at 9pm. RaeAnne is pushing to 11pm nowadays. Sigh.

My cousin did that to her boy who just turned 18mths in June but she said very confusing for her son leh. Cos somedays need to go school, some days no need. So, it's like fighting a new battle every few days. Sigh, I also don't know which school of thought is right.

LNT
Bx is bringing Ashlynn for first class on Fri so I'm waiting to find out more from her. I attended the trial at PP before, it's not bad but quite exp, I think it was $300 per month. :p Plus hubby said he's not free on Saturdays to bring us to PP so I gave up the idea, if need to go cab to and fro PP, it's even more exp. :p

Hi, Xiaoyun

Emma's library borrow receipt? My gal? Haha....

---Fever
My gal is having high fever since Sunday morning; It's been 5 month since last time she fell sick....., and she never had high fever up to 39.4C before...just fever, no cough, no sneeze,no others.... can play and eat.....

Every day I take 1/2 day leave to accompany her; another 1/2 day rush back to do some work....

If she can't recover before Sat, we need to delay our Sat flight .....

Hi, Garfield
Hehe... I also login in, do some work after my gal is asleep. And most of my colleauges do this.

kitsune
i think consistency is probably better for the kids, and also wonder whether some days here and some days there would be disruptive. maybe it also depends on the bb's character? for us, i was thinking that a few days in CC (if/when he goes) and other days with grandparents would be like the best of both worlds...

at the moment E either stays at home with my ILs or goes to my mum's place, and the days aren't consistent, depends on my parents and our schedule, but luckily so far he seems ok with anything. i think either side he gets to play a lot so he's ok either way!

joeey,
my gal likes to go out recently too.

there was once she tried to beat - unintentionally. i taught her to sayang and she sayang from then on.
then hb jokingly teach her to beat mummy, kenna scolded by me.

june,
when did you see her? the marche gathering?
thanks for your compliment.
she takes after her mummy who's face will always be very round if the hair is short. she's now has a face look like bread absorbs too much water. :p

good that jerome is recovering. you take care of yourself also, ok?

reena,
i tried to move the dough away to remove the blade, didn't know that the dough is so soft and didn't remove the blade successfully.
my bread became out of shape.

do you take out the dough then roll it, shape it then put it back again?

i've the peanut butter recipe too. but i no longer trust the ang mo recipe, find that their bread always not soft enough for me.
the recipe you have is an ang mo one or asian one? if asian one, i am keen.

i heard about the 17 hour bread. it's leceh for me to transfer the dough from breadmachine to fridge then take out. so, i only try the speed 2 hour sponge-dough method.
last night tried to combine the water-roux(tang zhong) and sponge-dough method, but failed. bread is still edible, but not soft.
you may wish to get some inspiration from this:
http://blog.xuite.net/jane7443/bake/14251221
i think this blogger graduated from some bakery course, she has a very detailed discussion on the bread that she made.

clover,
betty crocker gold medal flour is coarser and taste better? i don't see a difference maybe because i always use different recipe.
i just open a packet of Red Man brand as it's much cheaper $1.80/kg.

tubao,
yes, it's your Emma. :p

hello ladies,

see that a lot of you are talking about pre-school and cc... initially i needed to send C to cc when he turns 18mth but then my parents told me that they want to come back and look after him until at least he can talk so that sort of buy me some time and make me feel so relief! so i would probably get him to go for enrichment classes but you gals gave me a good idea in sending to cc 2-3 days a wk? but i'll play by ear to see if C is ready for it...

june,
hope jerome will recover soon! is it a confirmed case of kawasaki? read a bit about the disease as one of my colleague's daughter also got it last year, from internet it seems that kids usually recover after 7 days? only thing is that hte medication is quite costly....'

re:swine flu,
my building got 2 ocnfirmed cases, both from my company and now some of the team members are evacuated, people are also starting to wear masks... haiz... need to maintain extra hygiene until all cleared.

tute,
H1N1 is so close to us. makes me wonder if we should still bring the little one out during weekends.
ambulance came to my company a few times in this week due to the suspected case.

XY
scare of H1N1 too... haiz.
but hor, we went to work as well.. we are oso quite exposed to outside. we nvr knw who are the one who have it..

cheryl,
ya. we've got to work. at least it's a controlled environment at work for me as my company make it a point that everyone need to measure their own temperature before come here to work.
the more worrying is for the little one as their immunity is lower.

Xiaoyun

I think I will still continue to bring Julian out. Even got H1N1 life still must go on and it is also hard to avoid. But sometimes the media exaggerating the whole thing.

I have 2 colleague they recently went to US and Japan but did not quarantine and come to work. They mention that the ppl there still go out and life still goes on, no one bothers. Just tat media exaggerating the whole thing.

presch: I am also considering sending Amanda to half day childcare/playgroup but hard to find a convenient and yet *good* ones for my MIL to bring and fetch easily....

Swine Flu: Its true out media reports aggressively. My friends in USA and UK told me everything was as per normal there and its not reported everyday. In fact, they got more scared reading our media news ahahha

XY, me making chicken stock now using the slow cooker. Will see if it tastes nicer like you said.

Iso, ya, I agree lor. Esp when the kid doesn't even like playgroup in the first place. Taking her in and out will make it even harder to get her to go after her 'off' day. :p

June: hope your boy gets well soon.

A fren's nephew gotten it and his bill came up to like $8k

Iso : i think u can skip the preview talk. Its boring to me. ahah attending lessons are better.

xiaoyun
me too still bring kids out on weekend. though i must say that the number of h1n1 cases have increased by alot. hubby said h1n1 not as bad as SARS.

reena
re: formula milk
both my mum and me tried giving my boy formula milk. he rejected both of us. so far, we mixed fm with ebm. he takes. my ebm is running out liao. so hopefully he'll guai guai take 100% fm, else will be no milk for him loh.

nice pics of your kids. envious that your older kids sayang their little sister. my girl terrorise over her brother. :p

june
hope jerome gets well soon!

Hi, Xiao yun

---Library receipt
Haha.....

I went to Isetan last Friday, couldn't find garlic chopper you mentioned. The one sales girl recommended is very bulky. Which brand you buy?

Hi, Reena
Your children are so cheerful and happy!

Hi, BX
Jia you on 2nd one!