(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

hi andrea, i give my kid yogurt.

stroller
shld i get a stroller since i hv the pouch, sling n the carrier? the old stroller we got, i feel its not v safe, coz the safety button is not working safely.

kindie
i have signed up A for pre-n starting next jan. however hb n i are discussing abt primary school now. we will enrol A3 n A4 into St Andrew's coz hb's an old boy. No PV work! Yay!!! but we will like to move closer to St Andrew's village otherwise traffic is a killer. Hence, maybe will enrol A3 into Ascension kindie depending on the availability of the housing.

My qn is... am I too late already?

Andrea,
For constipation, it may not necessarily mean the child is not eating enough fruits and veggies. Try giving her more fluid, either water or juice. FM is not considered as it may cause the child to be more constipated.
I'm lucky DD1 eats lots of fruits and veggies so when DS2 and DD3 came along, they just follow suite. You should see the amount of fruits they eat each day, before I'm even done slicing the fruits, they are like vultures lurking around, preying for fruits. Anyway, take DD3 for eg, when I first intro dragonfruit to her, she grimaced at first bite. I continued to offer the same fruit on a few other occassions and she's eating dragonfruit now. Don't give up but rem not to force.

blueginger/Andrea,
I give my kids yogurt on a regular basic, and occassionally Yakult. Scotts emulsion orange flavour is sweeter and not as fishy but I personally prefer the original flavour.

Clover,
If you don't feel safe, it's better to get a new stroller. But then again, if you can train A3 to walk more, then you basically don't need another gadget. Sling for A4 and A3 can walk :p If need be, your husband can carry A3 in the carrier right?

SAJS is near Potong Pasir right? The traffic condition is definitely a killer!

clover
it's only late if they don't have space? e.g. for SJCK if the rest want to send our kiddos there i think we can wait long long liao.

we haven't even really thought of pri sch yet...cos not v sure if we'll still be staying in the same place then, and for another 6 years.

andrea, yea steam the broccoli (it will be good if u like raw, then dont steam too long), blend it into soup stock. usualy it's not very creamy because you dont add cream into it. if you want creamy type, can add cream. if not, cook the soup stock with lentils or chickpeas, then all blend together, will get the creamy texture too.
never tried delifrance one before leh hehe.

tongtong,
I like creamy soup and I usually add potato instead of cream for the creamy texture. Will try it with lentils or chickpeas next time. I suppose you are using dried chickpeas and not canned ones?

Andrea,
Does your girl like soup? Sometimes I just cook clear veggie soup, ie no meat added. My kids love it too.

helo mummies - pocket burnt a hole sending 2 to the pd today, hopefully they recover soon. Nose drops, mucous suction and saline spray was given to #2. By the way, i would like to seek advise how u prepare bb for sleep for night? Do you rock him/her to sleep, or just kiss goodnight,put him down and let him sleep on its own? Right now, #2 is crying away while i try to let him fall asleep on his own, without me rocking n patting him to sleep...we did that for #1, found it a bad habit..so i wonder what i am doing to #2 now is ok - how long should i let them cry?

bx - not too sure if #2 gained too much? PD commented he's doing well..i tink 1.1 isn't too little also ba..diff bb diff requirement?
..but on the other hand, maybe FM more fattening since i feed him 1 FM in the night.

Pauline - want to ask u, what was ur itinerary in Penang..tinking to go yr end to visit my aunt, but with 2 kids in tow..i wonder how i should manage the tour. Is taxi easily available? cos i used to go Penang when i was younger, but taxi wasn't common then..very hard to get ard without car.

By the way, for you gals who travel with young tots, how do u sterilise ur bottles/pumps when overseas?

Iso - Is baby A recovering well?
Still require medication ah?

Reena - want to ask u for tips to bake a good chiffon cake..sigh..i tried ur earl grey chiffon,mine was a flop...1 failure factor was i didn't follow ur sequence properly..haha..i tink another was how my egg white was whisked. How do i know my egg white is ok or not?

ql,
to help with the mucous, you may want to try the nose sucker thing - but the one where you can help to suck the mucous out of baby's nose since they don't know how to blow yet. i know it sounds yuckie, pigeon has one i think and my friend said it's more effective then the normal sucker by air.

Qingling, I got no itinerary, free and easy is best with kids. But yes, taxis are readily available. At the airport, just need to buy a taxi coupon from the airport taxi booth, it's fixed price depends on where is your hotel. Queue and pass the coupon to your taxi driver and you are off. For G hotel, there is free shuttle to Batu Ferringhi beach at 8pm but we never made use of it cos we are still having dinner with the kids at that time. :p I bring bottle detergent then use a lock & lock box and scald the pump parts and bottle inside then pour out the water.

PANTIES:

Alamak..i kept wanting to reply but kpt forgetting!!! now that tong mention then i remember!

I bought Ruth's from John Little. Those are like 5/6 in a pack, in those big 'sales racks' with all folded clothes.

Ruth still wearing Mamy Poko L size, but if Pampers Easy-up is between L and XL. Drypers size L. Also still wearing her 1-2 y.o pants (look like 3/4s now isntead of pants though) but she also wearing 4 yo pants (cuz of her height i guess).

I bought from JL that time about 5-6 bucks for 5 pieces i think.

reena, when he's with me, he knows he has to walk more but when hb is around, he will ask for bao bao all the time. lazy bugger. lol

iso, SJCK is too far n costly for me. i'm happy with a private kindie in my district, nearer n cheaper. for us, we prefer missionary school and there's not any in our area. i stay in amk n nearest is kuo chuan presb in bishan. if my no.2 is girl, then will consider that school, coz it's a mixed school. if u r not too particular about school, then i supp u can relax. my friend's kid is 5 this yr and she found herself too late for PV work in the school she likes.

genice,
hope you feel better today?
is that the hormone change that make you feel upset about G's 'distant' from you? take care...

qingling,
take care yourself too..

re: photoshoot
i am interested in a photoshoot session. not specially for kids.
just family photo - include PIL, my parents, hb + 2 kids.
where's the best deal?
dun tell me something like Serangoon Broadway -- seems too formal liao. :p

re: T2 stage
C behaves better recently - hope she stays this way.
last time when she's about 2 yo+, she's like a terror. cry for every small little things.
now she's more vocal and understand more. when she's not feeling happy and i manage to interpret what's in her mind and say it out, she will stop her crying and nod her head.

instead of the usual 'don't want', she now says more to 'yes'.

re: panty
thanks feedback from piglet, tute, tong and lezy.
long time didnt' got shopping centre liao. thought i can get it in the neighborhood.
tong, my town dun have jusco. only parkson, the store... saw only the 3-4 yo @ parkson.

re: constipation
andrea,
perhaps you need to supplement with pre/probiotics to H.
that really helps - at least for me.

C's favorite fruit is banana (but it's constipating), sometimes papaya. yesterday took some grapes - spit out the skin.
she used to like apple, but now no more.
for veg - now, answer is NO.

watched some tv program few days ago, it says that the soup boil with white fungus + red dates + lotus seeds can help to soften the stools. maybe you can try as a dessert for her?
oh ya.. sweet potato also helps.

re: immunity
reena,
yes. bf helps. i can see my gal recover/seldom fall sick when she's on bm. even the first 2 months in CC.
after i stop, her flu symptoms/cough all shows up.
so now, the supplements i gave are:
colostrum (daily)
sambucol (occasionally)
cod liver oil (occasionally)
multivit (occasionally - when she's not eating well)
acidophilus (occasionally)
echinacea (when she start showing flu symptoms)

as she's still having slight dry cough every other day, i boil lotus roots/huai shan/nan xing bei xing/black bean soups for her.
intend to supplement her with walnut/black sesame powder in her diet. but dun know how/when to give.
my gal prefers clear soup. once i mashed up the green bean and sweet potato in her soup, she rejects it right away. >.<

Reena,
I start to disbelieve in BM to boost immunity cos I bf Channet for more than a year, still she fell sick easily. Waste my effort.

XY,
counting down. Just bear for a while.

Iso,
In the middle of the night mayb abt 3am, usu the letdown is more.

QL,
I sent my girls to a normal gp. They gave the medications without the pd consultation fees.

bluegin,
you will see significant impact of bm on immunity while they are still on it.
after which, the effect start to die off.
however, i still can see that C is stronger than her friends in CC as well as compared with my nieces/nephew who are not on BM.

you sent both to GP? even before they reach 2 yo?
i am a bit kiasi when she's before 2yo. after that, go GP for small problem. if problem still persists, then go to PD.
but i feel GP is more 'gan gan lai' on prescribing the medicine. always give antibiotics.

iso,
regarding the ss.
i read somewhere that more ss during midnight. if you are looking for more hind milk, it's during noon time.

Reena, yea use potato for the thick texture is good too! I use lentil and chickpeas becuase they are nutritious, yea the canned one is seasonned, i dont like it. I use dried chickpeas, but you got to soak overnight to sprout it, more nutrients this way.

blueginger, it doesnt matter if Channet falls sick easily, but it's matter of how quick she can recover, ie depends on how strong is her immunity. I still believe that BM is the best and can provide a certain extent of immunity to kids below 1yo. after 1yo, must rely on her diet, living habit and environment liao, while bm is still a strong supplement

XY,
OIC. In this case will let Shenon drink bm longer. Ya. We went to the famous pd near my place and she was not recovered, so we went to a GP nearby. They gave the same medicine again. Nope. So far both of them have not take any antibotic yet. If conditions, still persist, go to polyclinic to ask for a referral letter to hospital.

Weather is cooling today, Shenon sleeping from 930am still have not wake up. My time is mine.

bluegin, the antibodies in bm is good till 6m, after that it drops significantly. That's wat my pd told me. I believe our body will always provide the right amt of nutrient for our baby.

xiaoyun
i think it depends on the GP, not all will prescribe antibiotic freely. my regular GP does not prescribe antibiotic from the onset which is what i like (cos i'm someone who is anti-antibiotic).

Stephie - after 1 yrs, use boil water is ok..i was tink if below 6-7 months advisable to do that too?

Bluegin - i dun have good experience with GP for kids so far (maybe ard my neighbourhood i haven't found a reliable one). Their medication can be too strong (or dosage too much), after i bring their medicine to PD for a review when its not effective after taking for 3-4 days..so now i rather bring them straight to the GP.

re: bm
refresher information.
http://www.breastfeedingbasics.com/html/Benefits.shtml

clover,
i thought there's also antibody after 6 months, but only the nutritient of the bm is not enough that's why need to supplement with solid.

Bluegin,
whenever C fall sick, i would think that luckily she's breastfeed for nearly 2 yrs. if not, she will be more sick than that. :p

Stephie,
me too also anti-antibiotic person.

btw, ur hb went for reservist last week too?
is next year his last year of reservist? did he say how many weeks for next year?
my hb told me it might be 3 weeks leh..

Thanks xy, feeling better already, guess have to spend more time w her.

Winnie, I think we are all experiencing the same phase, they got a lot of mood swings n constantly testing their limits, I have started to use cane on g but shr not very scared also. She is a very stubborn ger. Got any changed to ur scerile recently or anyone new in sch? I think we have to be prepared to tahan this period.hope it will end soon.

Re:photoshoot
bx I haven got the photos, just some random ones that I took on my fb.

Goodbb, I got my package from dreamgarden at the biz thread, promotion px of 128 plus another tot 158 but the promotion has ended so pricing different now.

Xy, u can go to biz thread n c some are very nice, not the serangoon broadway kind lah, that one too formal

Re: kindy
Winnie, sjck is st James church.

Clover who is A3 n A4 ? I thot u only have 2 kids what. Btw ascension is affilated to st Andrews? Anyway, sjck is not too ex that's why I sent my kids there, nursery n kinder abt 760 per 10 wks which is abt 300 per mnth, I think acceptable for me. I can't afford more than 500 per mth for each kid. 1000 /mth i feel is too much for me to accept for kindy edu.somemore next time if they gona take enrichment class like music or dancing, will cost more $$. so sjck is a good n relatively cheap option plus convenient for us.

Re: pri sch
haven thot abt it but most likely will not be nanyang even though my in laws stay walking distance from there. Too difficult to get in n I scared too many rich n famous pp in there.heard zoe tay boy in nanyang kindy now, prob she will find ways to go nanyang too. Will think abt it in another 2 yrs c our status n situation at that time.

Ql, aiyoh poor thing hope the 2 hs will get better soon.

xy, still hv antibodies aft 6m but lesser when compare to b4 the 6m mark. Didnt read the link. I tot start on solid when 6m coz that's when the digestive tracts r more mature?

Genice, we all have names starting with A. Hb's A1 n i'm A2, so on n so forth.

The last i hear abt the term fee for st james is abt 1k. Did u add in the misc fees that they charge? I checked out marymount kindie, n the fee all inclusive is 900+. Whew too siong for us. Not sure abt the affiliation of ascension to st andrew's. Will check it out

ql,
I used boiled water to rinse the pump and bottles from the begin. No problem.
You stay Jurong right? I go to Frontier CLinic GP. OK yo.

qingling,
To bake a chiffon cake, your egg whites must be whipped to stiff peak. Impt thing is not to overwhip the egg white, else the mixture will curdle and it will be difficult to mix in the yolk mixture.

You can check out my pics here http://blessedhomemaker.blogspot.com/2009/04/lemon-strawberry-yogurt-cranberries.html

Holiday
We are finally going on a short holiday to Malacca. Our last trip was when I was still preg with DD3 to Melbourne. Altho it's only Msia this time, I'm still excited as it's only the 5 of us, no additional help. Just hope the kids will enjoy themselves.

XY,
I thought most family portraits are formal?

Rgdg the lotus roots/huai shan/nan xing bei xing/black bean soups, you mean you put all these ingredients together to cook? I've not tried such combination. Good for cough? I cook nanxing beixing soup/drink quite often.

blueginger,
I don't doubt breastfeeding when a child falls sick. To me, I'll think that if my child was not breastfed, he/she may catch the virus more easily and takes a longer time to recover.

tongtong,
We love chickpeas, I always steam and eat them as snack. Will try to add them into my soups next time.

Sterilising,
For DD1 and DS2, I stopped sterilising once they start on solids cos I can't sterilise the utensils. What's more they are so mobile at that age, already stuffing whatever they can find into their mouth. Finds it meaningless to sterilise.

morning ladies!

need some advice. might be going melbourne for 4d 3n in early aug. baby will only be 2 mth plus and i dun intend to stop bf. for those who have travelled, what is the process for expressing and storing like? e.g. pump and store in hotel freezer?

meanwhile, i try to build up my stock of FBM and stop giving ashlynn my ebm so that ashton will still have breastmilk when i'm away. if necessary, then i'll supplement with FM.

Qingling,
thk it shd b fine too. Brgt shawn for hotel stay when he was 7mths. Also rinse with boiling water. Thk it depends on ur comfort level.

reena,
no, i dun add all ingredient in 1 soup. i think the taste will be weird when all put into 1. :p
mostly like:
soup 1: huai shan + yu zhu
soup 2: black bean + lotus root + red dates (i replaced peanut with black bean cos afraid peanut is heaty)
soup 3: nanxing beixing + yu zhu + dried wolfberries
etc

all add in bak kut.
now C is having cough, mil said better not to put chicken bone.

re: family portrait
ya loh. they all looks formal. i just don't like leh.
if really can't find, then separate into 2 sessions.
1 - family portrait for the elderly
2 - family photo with 4 of us only.

bx,
i have the hessitation to go holiday without #2 because of the bf part too.
interested to know how to freeze the bm and ship them back singapore.
if can't do that, i got to shelf the plan.

Clover, u r right! Their 1st yr eg pre nursery 3 yr old is 1 term-10wks abt 1000 which is abt 400 plus per mth. I haven add in bus trp fees for next yr. HENG , only 1 yr more expensive. Nit sure what other classes they have,hopefully will not cross 500 per kid.

O... Wow so many As in the family!

Re: sterilize
ql, I also sterilize w boiling water but I buy mineral water to use cause went genting that time when g was 8 mths. I brought tablets but they smell too bad so I din use. Agree w Stephie depends on ur comfort level, personally I think it's fine. Even now , sometimes when I lazy, I Also use hot water to rinse k's milk bottle before putting in ebm.

re:travel
bx, I store in hotel freezer if I pump in room but if I am outside, we finish e bm together me n Hubby. Hehe.. That time too much milk so some we add to coffee otherwise I get my Hubby to drink just like that. 

Put e frozen bags onto ur fridge to go n trp to airport lor, can check whether can store in cabin freezer but I din cause short flight from Taipei. The milk defroze a bit but still ok.

Hotel fridge may not be able to freeze, we actually froze it in 1 restaurant which was under reno, it's a small hotel so no prob. Check w the conceirge.

Bx good for u, got long break in national day hols ya? I am also planning but dun know where to go cos local hotel stay n bintan all turned out to be almost $500. Exp. :p

As for freezing ebm, I dun think it will be a big problem if u r bringing both kids cos for me, i gave the pumped ebm to mix with no. 1's fm. So only brought back 1 bottle of ebm in the end. l brought a small cooler bag n 2 ice packs. Can ask hotel conceirge to help u freeze the ice packs the night before if your room has no freezer.

Hello....m feeling so dead now,...Sigh....yesterday had some trauma with #1.after medicine went to sleep..#2 can't stop crying..so I brought #2 to another rm.hub was still working. 10plus..#1 work up shivering and was looking blue...panic big time...call neighbour up to take care of #2.me n maid rushed #1 to kkh,meet hub there..fever spiked t 40.4..then fit started ard 12mid night..super panic...then the nurse grabbed #1 fro me..started oxygen mask..poke left right hand for blood...blah..check ecg blood pressure..heart rate..at least 4-5 nurse n a doc attending...my tears was out by then...super panic..luckily fit stop in 2 mins..but she was super drowsy after that...keep spending her until fever went down to 38....Sigh...finally doc said ok to go home by 3plus am...feeling dead n super engorged by then...super big sigh...now luckily have mum n mil over to help out..#2 running nose also not recovering..zzz

Reena,
Someone told me must use cake flour for Chiffon cake otherwise it is not fluffy, spongy. Is it true?

I cannot tell the difference b/w baby who drinks full FM and one who drinks BM cos both my bb BM. but seem like not effective. My colleague bf her 5yo son. When he join the school also fell sick all the times.

genice,
hb confirm wun drink my bm. i also wun drink. hee. find it quite smelly.

pauline,
hb going there for work, i'm tagging along. will bring #1. not bringing #2 coz still very small.

thought of pumping and bringing back so that ashton got milk when we come back in case he dun wanna latch.

wow, u planning for another trip?

ql, oh my gosh! So traumatic. Wish i can prov some help to u. Did the kkh doc say wat's wrong with #1?

Genice, wat do u mean only 1 yr more expensive? I know sjck has many enrichment classes, available. How abt someone to ferry the kids to n fro fr sch, to save on bus fee? I will ferry A3 to sch coz i cant bear to have him wake up early to take the sch bus. sch starts at 8:30am but he has to be downstairs by 7:30am n the sch is in amk district...

tong,clover-Tks..now at least both zz..doc says throat infection..Sigh..duno why it became so serious..the fit was really a huge scare for me esp when it happen when I was hugging her. Lucky was in hospital when it happen..else I really am at a loss..my heart nearly drop..pumping now..will try to catch a wink..

ql,
oh dear... sounds horrible, you must be very frightened! could the fit be because of fever is too high? in indon old culture, ppl say need to give bitter coffee (plain with no milk) to babies in order to prevent them to have a fit during high fever... i'm not sure how true this is, but i practice this, not too much though, just about 1 teaspoon occasionally. Hope both H recovers soon...

QL!
WAH! Throat infection can cause a fit!?!?!?

Very scary!!!! I think *I* would turn BLUE with fright too!!!!!

Hope they will recover soon!! You must try to rest and eat well too - so you can look after them!

Bx, if not bringing Ashton n u want to bring all the ebm back, then i think u can hand carry a big white styrofoam box, bring ice bricks then get hotel concierge to help u freeze as u pump. Best to check with airline if they can allow u to hand carry n whether u can borrow their freezer when on board aircraft. My birthday is on 7 aug so thinking of short trip or hotel stay. Hee.

Ql, I hear your story also panic, hope both your kids get better soon. Jia you!

Xy, your heartburn better today? Try to take small meals n less soupy stuff or spicy stuff cos heartburn/regurgitation will be worse. As for photoshoot, u want to try bambini, can shoot at home with ils, they will bring backdrop or casual setting, less formal.

re: sterilise
i use sterilise tablet in office when bb < 6 month old.
don't like the smell, switch to hot water when bb > 6 month old.

btw, even when bb is young, i dun sterilise bottle &amp; teat after each feed. only sterilise once a day and rinse with hot water every time before use.
that's what my MIL did and i just follow cos she's the one that feeding bottle - don't want to add more stress to her.
so far so good - at least C didn't have any diarrhea. :p

qingling,
wow. that's really scary.
what's Heidi's temperature when she starts shivering and turn blue?
my friend's daughter had fit due to high fever too - can't remember the age, but i know very young. after that, doc requested follow up check up as he said she will be more likely to have fit again because she got the history.
must be very careful now.
but you have to take care of yourself too.

pauline,
not much heartburn today.

not sure if drinking the raspberry leaf tea helps. i felt better after drinking it yesterday.

lezy-heh,its the throat infection to high fever then to fit.. I tink even if second time..i will still panic...now I forgotten what the doc tell me to do if a fit occurs..need to go n find out now..Sigh..the doc says this kind of fit usually will not hinder development but will occur for kids up till 6yrs old...so imagine I have 4 more yrs to worry for #1...hopefully #2 will not have such occurrence..now then I know my hub also has 1 time fit during childhood when he has high fever..doc says could be inherited