(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

that's TERRIBLE!!!!!
heartless.
this kind ought to be WHIPPED.
Can't imagine if i was your aunt and it happened to my boy. I may lose control on the spot and make her pay for her deeds.
GOSH!

i heard of some maid story oso leh i heard my aunt say her frd's maid butter the baby and gonna bring him to the oven .....
lucky she is back in time to save the baby

hi ladies...wahhhhh, sooo many postings liao. I havent been chking the forum cos am very lethargic and jus feel like sleeping all the time. Find myself with no energy at all...just wan to rot at home. Jus feel like ignoring absolutely everything.

Valencia..i have PM u on my shop details.

Icy, now my hubby has negotiated for them to let him be on 3 weeks leave for my delivery. I will also be coming back for my monthly checkup with them paying our airtix.
Keeping my fingers crossed now that when it's time for me to deliver, the baby wont come out too early. But all these are really unpredictable lah.

Mei..my gynae is Dr Chua Yang..not Yong.

Maids ah...really scared of getting one. Before we knew of our impending posting to HK, we were also thinking of getting one...but sigh...now that we're going HK, hubby said must get one in HK too. I have heard of too much horror stories of their lies and scheming ways, really feel reluctant to get one...

oh my God! Should lock her inside and give her dog food!!!!

Beware of maid who appears to be nice to your kid too. My previous maid looks ok towards my son. Will play with and smile at him. But when we were out, i noticed her face was completely blanked when there were other kids around. Some were really cute but she had no reaction at all!! That was when i realised this maid doesn't like children.

Bringing maid to mum or IL's place also got to be cautious. We found a letter written by my previous maid to MOM which she haven't send out yet. She actually complained that we brought her to my mum's and IL's place to do house chores! Well, what's wrong with mopping floor after my mum cooks and what's wrong with washing our plates after dinner! most of the time she sat on sofa and sleep! I'm really angry to think abt her!

After hiring my current maid in Jakarta, I seriously doubt I would wanna hire another one here in Singapore, I would be looking after bb by myself. Sometimes to train them makes me wanna puke blood.

My maid is supposedly very experience, come highly recommended but still managed to make me so upset that sometimes I think do myself will be faster.

In jakarta, when you get the local maids, they may be maids, but they have different training, so those that you hire to do housechores and cooking actually do not know how to look after children and those that you hire to look after children do not cook and do housechores. Thats why I agree that sometimes you need to think of them as untrain and train yourself all over again.

My friends with children in Jakarta, end up having to hire maids to cook and do housechores and nannies to look after the children. Just in case you gals are looking to hire Indonesians. Sometimes, the young ones may not know how to look after your babies, so be more watchful.

G'day ladies!
Wah so many posting today abt maids.
I have no experience on hiring maids but i do heard of horrible incidents in Taiwan abt maid abuse baby. When the Mdm is out or noboady at home, she throw the baby onto the mattress & shake the baby till baby passout. Some maids oso use plastic bags & put in on the baby's head...these news were featured on the cable TV. The hse owner use videocam to tape down all the maid doings for evidence. So scary & cold-blooded.

On of my neighbour complaint to me about her filipina maid. Although she can cook, look after baby, cooking not so fantastic, they still find her ok la but aft employing her for about 3mths plus, some nasty habits began to show... she try to steal medicated plaster & hsehold necessity. Apart from that, she oso stole my neighbour's sex toy!!! A vibrator!! Arhhhh can u imagine??so er xin... & my neighbour terminated her due to misconduct.

Wow, hear from your accounts, I abit scare to even think of having one. Tough having to do training and look after kid.

Shooting star, I am in novena too!
Juz added you on msn

can we eat dessert..dao suan (little yellow beans with you tiao)? I just bought for mid noon snacks break.

can, why not. Eat, drink and be merry

everytime i sneeze, my lower abs will cramp up. After i "Ah-choo", i will say "OUCH".

yummymama & Joyce,
Duphaston is quite similar to Utrogestan = Progesterone pills. Like 'an tai' pills to stablise pregnancy during 1st trimester esp if u have spotting or threaten miscarriage.

I have been taking Utrogestan fr week 5 onwards. Another 1 wk plus i can stop medication when proceed 2nd tri.

Share my emergency experience happened last Saturday. I had dinner with my HB at boat quay about 20:30. Suddenly I felt some fluid coming out, first I thought it might be urine, then when I rushed to toilet, I noticed it was blood. I WAS BLEEDING!

I already passed my first 3 months, so I didnt expect bleeding would happen at all. We paid bill and tried to catch a taxe. It took about 20mins there. CRAZY!

We arrived TMC and all treatrooms were occupied. I had to wait another 30mins. Luckily bleeding stopped, or not I might alrealy die because of lack of blood. We went to treatroom until another woman came out, then nurse asked a lot of questions, and said: now I am going to call your OG!!! he would arrive in 30-45 mins.@!!!

At last, OG arrived, used ultrasound to check baby and found he/she was fine. my cervic vain has broken because of hard work, pressure or some other reasons. he gave me two days MC and some medicines. Nurse said it is so common that 2 in 5 pregnant women would have same experience. GOD!

Totally cost 320, EXPENSIVE! I better choose date to have emergency!

anbrasia,
sound so scary experience. I will panic too if i were in yr shoes. Hopefully none of us will experience "vaginal cervical vein". Is this really commom cos i never hear b4..Mm...

anbrasia,
I never heard of this too. Thank God you're fine. Yeah. though after 1st tri, you never know what can happen... all of us got to take care yah.

Steph,
you make me want to eat dao suan also... but i lazy to walk to market leh...

woah, maid talks.. i also have doubts abt getting one.. since living with mil, we dun really need.. i am the kind of person who anyhow leave my things everywhere, it is hard to change the lifestyle and kind of have to restrict ur freedom if u had maid at home.

mylife,
woah, ur package is good. pay u airtix very mth to checkup.. so ur 3 weeks leave is for before ur delivery. yah we have to pray hard bb dun come out too suddenly..

will u be working in hk? if not, maybe u can take care of ur own bb then let part time maid come clean maybe2-3x daily.. then at least u have some pivacy somewhere.

ambrasia take care ....

heehee my colleague bought tao suan oso .... hahahah but i no craving .....

i have expensive lunch again today ....

ambrasia take care ....

heehee my colleague bought tao suan oso .... hahahah but i no craving .....

i have expensive lunch again today ....

qing2,
i was just abt to ask u whatz for lunch? ex journey 4 lunch or ex food..hehehe

my office got snacks vending machine. got tibits, crackers, chocolate bars, cashew nuts, cup noodles at half price. 50% subsidize by company. So if hungry need a bite, can always go there.

Here is my advice to if u are craving for durians, dun take too much! I ate durians for 2 days continously. And i and i am down with bad flu, cough, fever and sore throat! Till today i have recovered yet. Have seen doctr a few times since monday. The amount of medication i take is scary....

gosh, i have never heard of that too. anbrasia, do take care... don't stress urself out too much.

does any one know what fish we can eat? heard that the high mercury content in fishes are quite damaging to the foetus. seems like we can safely eat salmon, tuna and pomfret. as for all the other fishes, i'm so confused with the names. As i don't know the translations of the ang moh names to the chinese names and vice-versa. Read from some where that it is not advisable for preggy women to eat fish more than 1-2 times a week. And i alwayz thought that fish is good for yer.

fishia, thanks for providing the link. will check it out.

anyway, i m not sure about her education level. she can serves the boss very well but not the madam.it's so frustrating!

oh i thought they said tuna and salmon is ok, as they have minimal mercury content as compared to other fishes. so confusing....

i have been coughing a lot as well.. and have to hold my tummy every time i cough. I have finished up my medication and since resorted to drinking herbal drinks from the chinese medical hall to relieve my coughing. It seems to be working a bit better than the doctor's medicine which i was taking previously.

Hi shooting stars,
I found the answer on babycentre.

What foods should I stay away from during pregnancy?
The main concern during pregnancy is seafood but you don't need to swear it off completely only certain kinds are troublesome. Raw seafood such as sushi or oysters may harbor bacteria that can harm your baby. In addition, some fish contain methyl mercury, a metal believed to be harmful in high doses to the growing brains of fetuses and young children. As a result, the Food and Drug Administration recommends pregnant women limit themselves to no more than 6 ounces (about one serving) a week of albacore or "white" tuna and tuna steak, or 12 ounces (about two servings) a week of canned "light" tuna and other cooked fish. But some experts think this threshold is too high. They recommend limiting your weekly tuna consumption to no more than 4 to 6 ounces no matter which type you're eating. The FDA also advises completely avoiding shark, swordfish, king mackerel, and tilefish (also called golden or white snapper) because these fish are higher up the food chain and contain high levels of mercury.

Others foods to be cautious about include unpasteurized milk or soft cheeses, pate, raw or undercooked meat and poultry, deli meats, and foods that contain raw eggs (Caesar salad dressing, hollandaise sauce, cookie batter) because they may contain harmful bacteria.

What drinks should I avoid?
Alcohol is the main offender during pregnancy. It quickly travels from your bloodstream to your baby and the effects of even one drink a day can be devastating. There's no known safe amount of alcohol during pregnancy, so it's best to avoid it completely. The other drinks to steer clear of are unpasteurized juice and milk, and eggnogs. There's a slight risk that these beverages contain E. coli or other bacteria that could harm you and your baby.

While you may have heard that caffeine is another big no-no during pregnancy, it's actually okay in moderation. After years of controversy, most researchers now believe that, although caffeine does cross the placenta, moderate amounts (less than 300 milligrams a day) won't harm your baby. That's about what you'd get from two to three 5-ounce cups of coffee a day.

http://www.babycenter.com/mybabycenter/111.html

fishia, me too. tend to be forgetful.. sometimes, never take the pill for 2 days. i only take folic acid now.

i think balance n nutritious diet is more important.

re: fish
no need to guess.. the answer is out there.

http://www.epa.gov/waterscience/fishadvice/advice.html

Fish and shellfish are an important part of a healthy diet. Fish and shellfish contain high-quality protein and other essential nutrients, are low in saturated fat, and contain omega-3 fatty acids. A well-balanced diet that includes a variety of fish and shellfish can contribute to heart health and children's proper growth and development. So, women and young children in particular should include fish or shellfish in their diets due to the many nutritional benefits.

However, nearly all fish and shellfish contain traces of mercury. For most people, the risk from mercury by eating fish and shellfish is not a health concern. Yet, some fish and shellfish contain higher levels of mercury that may harm an unborn baby or young child's developing nervous system. The risks from mercury in fish and shellfish depend on the amount of fish and shellfish eaten and the levels of mercury in the fish and shellfish. Therefore, the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) are advising women who may become pregnant, pregnant women, nursing mothers, and young children to avoid some types of fish and eat fish and shellfish that are lower in mercury.

By following these 3 recommendations for selecting and eating fish or shellfish, women and young children will receive the benefits of eating fish and shellfish and be confident that they have reduced their exposure to the harmful effects of mercury.

Do not eat Shark, Swordfish, King Mackerel, or Tilefish because they contain high levels of mercury.
Eat up to 12 ounces (2 average meals) a week of a variety of fish and shellfish that are lower in mercury.
Five of the most commonly eaten fish that are low in mercury are shrimp, canned light tuna, salmon, pollock, and catfish.
Another commonly eaten fish, albacore ("white") tuna has more mercury than canned light tuna. So, when choosing your two meals of fish and shellfish, you may eat up to 6 ounces (one average meal) of albacore tuna per week.
Check local advisories about the safety of fish caught by family and friends in your local lakes, rivers, and coastal areas. If no advice is available, eat up to 6 ounces (one average meal) per week of fish you catch from local waters, but don't consume any other fish during that week.

China seafood was in the news last week.. US included some on its banned food list, but Sgp's Food authority says all imports fr China are safe.

hi shorty,
no wonder u MIA for a while...take care & speedy recovery!

shooting star,
always have a balanced of all food category. Certain food (eg, durian, cold/gassy drinks, coffee, prune juice, papaya etc...) take in moderation! I took tuna sandwich from Delifrance once in a blue moon, no prob. Sardines & salmon (well cooked) shld be okay to consume but not everyday...MODERATE is the word.

joyce, about part time cleaner.. u can check with the maid agency n they will recommend u. i used to have one but she stopped cos we moved out. the new place is quite far for her. my Hb's friend hired one from china. it's much cheaper as compared to local cleaner.
by the way, where do u live?

Does shark fins count ? Oh dear, i took lor mee wif fried shark meat last week at Tiong Bahru Market leh ? Die liao

steph hahaha .... today got one coach send me out for lunch so is ok is expensive food i bought so much food .... bring back liao dun feel like eating muahahhaah waste money leh ....

How about cockles (hump), la la, chut chut, gong gong...all belong to shellfish type...can eat? All these used to be my favourite!

Steph77,

I am still on MC! After te medication i just feel very sleepy! That's y didn't come online. Monday i just went for my gynea check up, i am in 12weeks already seems fast ar.... The BB is turning 360 degrees and also waved at us! Its so cute though i still can't feel its movement now. By the way u are at how many weeks already?

i have read thru all that before... but i still find it kinda hard asking some sellers what fish they are selling. some give u smart-a** comments that the fish they are selling "swims in the water"... and some chinese names i don't understand, don't quite know if they are the equivalent of the high mercury fishes. and the fish names here could vary from the fish names we see in overseas websites.

little bit nvrmind la
it's not as tho u're overdosing by having sharks fin for b'fast lunch & dinner & all your tea breaks.

hey shorty
your advice would be appropriate for anyone who eats durians, not limited to preggies huh...

Anbrasia,
this is my first time heard about that. thank god, everything is fine now. ladies, take care every now and then ya..

shooting star
rule of thumb - those fish that eat other fish (ie high up in food chain) contain highest mercury levels coz it's all accumulated from their food.

So i guess small tiny fish like ikan bilis is ok. hahahahaha.

steph
all these shellfish need to be well cooked..
and u sure u're immunised against Hep A hor..

take care anbrasia..glad that you are fine now.

Erm, on the fish topic, so ultimately is it ok to eat tuna? U know those canned type they sell. I mix it with mayonnaise to eat with my bread too leh...now a bit worried. Is the intake of 1 can or less too much?? I didn't ask my gynae this as did not occur to me..

shorty,
me now beginning of week11. Last week scan, baby din not wave at me leh...not very active, can only see side profile, tiny little hands & legs.

yummymama, really?!? that's gd but i got no craving for dao suan. i bought just to curb the feeling of vomit. normally i eat not b'cos i hungry but i feel like vomiting so i must eat sumthing to curb vomit feel. Now, i am munching a pack of Lay's chips!

ok thanks all! Yeah, ikan billis should be ok for sure.... wahahahahah!! Think i will stick to those fish that i've been eating... which is very limited coz my knowledge of the chinese names of fishes are really very limited. Haven't had much fish and chicken lately. Chicken, coz due to my cough. Yeah, i agree eating in moderation and having a balance diet is the key...

goldenpig,
5yrs ago, i went for the Hep B jab & hope until now i am still immunised against Hep B. I never immunised against Hep A leh, how huh? Izit going to affect baby?

shorty u take care ya .....

I have very bad cough before i discover i am preggie ... heehee cough till chest pain

shooting star, ok, so we sama sama then.

shorty..ya take care..i had a bad case of cold too with so much phlegm ard Week 9....
Btw, you can feel ur baby's movement already? How nice. haha.. Can only see it in ultrasound that day....

Qing qing,

I cough till my stomach muscles are all painful and throat also swollen liao. Been taking alot of medication daily till i am phobia with tthe medication!!!

btw, heartburn & chest pain is diff right? How to detect heartburn ? what is the symptoms or how it feels like?

Recently when i sit on the floor & bent my body to cut my toenails, i felt very uncomfortable breathing...maybe b'cos of the tummy! Do u encounter the same experience?