(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Mei Lu, brown discharge should be spotting. I've heard from the nurse that some women spot throughout their pregnancy. But if continue to spot, better check with your gynae and see what he/she says.

helo everyone...
i just found out last sunday from a home test kit that i pregnant... this is my first pregnancy.
i think i'm abt 5 week, went to see the gyn on monday... he scanned and can't see anything. he ask me to go back to him this fri...
me & my hubby getting a bit worry...
is it normal to not see anything at this moment?

kitsune
gosh u're right abt the waiting time! It was horrible...
I remembered her clinic coz my sch was opposite.. since it was around for so many years, i thought shld be v established, & my ex-colleague also went to her.
Who knows... cannot make prior appt?!?! We wanted Saturday morning, so arrived 30min before clinic opened, and we were #5 in the queue!! No seats outside.. all the preggie moms were standing around.. no aircon, next to drain, carbon monoxide from traffic!!! Finally the clinic opened... waited for another 2-3hr b4 my turn! Hey, we were #5 in the queue ley. *gosh* Super boring, super cramped waiting area.. stuffy too! I had to go outside so many times to take a breather. Consultation was so rushed, coz at wk5 can only see sac. I had loads of qstns, but she seemed eager for us to leave. I couldn't remember abt the cash part.. coz by the time we came to that, we CONFIRMED were NOT coming back here to waste our time waiting waiting. 2-3 wks later for my 2nd scan, i took my $$ to another younger, kinder doc who listened & answered my qstns warmly & patiently.

tinkerbell,

Not to worry, week 5 still early so cannot see anything, best time is to see ard week 7-8 or onwards, at least can see sac & hear baby heartbeat

mei,
brown discharge is cfm spotting. i got it last preg n tis preg mine is fresh blood colour
tell yr gynae abt it as u will b prescribe some hormone tablets (an tai). dun wori too much abt it too.
tinkerbell,
welcome. it is quite normal not to see anything now unless gynae do a vaginal scan.

Golden pig, which younger gynae did you go to in the end? I first saw Dr Esther Ng with my colleague, who was her patient and my colleague introduced me to the dr so the dr was quite nice to me lar. But yah, I really hating the waiting area. Long cushioned bench seats against the wall and the passageway is so narrow. Like "mian bi si guo". :p

kitsune
yes i remember the waiting area.. it was terrible! I asked for recommendations from others, and my ex-boss recommended Yvonne Soong from TMC. But for my #2, i'm bringing my $$ elsewhere again

mylvera,

so this fri if still can't see anything thru the scan on the stomach... i should ask the gynae to do a vaginal scan? will sure to see something?
sorry for all the questions... it's my first pregnancy... so many questions and ???

tinkerbell,
dun wori so much. i personally dun like v scan .. cos pain/uncomfortable mah. hahaha
but u can try tis lor ... go with a fuller bladder, it mite help. 1st preg shd ask qns but shd target at gynae cos they are the one who really can "calm" us. we are here to give our own experience but we are not professional lor. haha hope i din deter u fr asking qns here... we will still try help ans yr qns if possible.

Hi, tinker_bell. It's my first pregnancy too. +ve last Friday. My cousin went for her scan at 6 weeks, gynae did a transvaginal scan, can see the sac. At least your gynae tried to scan for you, my gynae doesn't want to do scan for me when I saw her yesterday. But never mind, I'm going to gynae hop until I get my scan. hee hee.

mei,
dun feel sad or wori now lah. my son already coming to 11 mths liao ... healthy oso mah.
i heard spotting is quite common cos it is the implantation stage now
jz ask yr gynae n dun wori too much. doesnt mean spotting = unhealthy preg or miscarriage. but neither can we disregard spotting.

mylvera,
ya, i dun think i will like it too...
i dun enjoy my pap smear test

okie... i will bomb the gynae with all my questions this fri
thanks...

Ya, Golden Pig. My cousin who is expecting no. 2, also recommended TMC but hers is male gynae, can't remember the name. But I stay at Tampines and TMC is really out of the way for me. Also heard the carpark charges very expensive.

kitsune
we park @ private estate next to TMC and take a walk to the hosp. hahahaha.

if u're at TP, then ESH is nearest for u la.. unless u wanna consider CGH. Anyways, my ex-colleague was due to deliver @ ESH, contractions quite bad liao, but they tell her no bed for her. *shocked* Coz hosp small ma. Can't remember if it was no bed @ Delivery ward or no bed @ normal ward.

Golden Pig, yup. ESH was my first choice orginally, heard it's small but cosy and confinement food is good. But, cannot claim and having a baby already so much expenses, thinking of employing CL too, so need to explore cheaper options at KKH. If really don't like, then go back private gynae lor.

Tinkerbell, I'm seeing Dr Judy Wong, KKH at TPS next Wed.

TMC has great soups.. yum yum yum

if u're civil servant, KKH is the best choice in terms of $$$$. How much can u claim ah?

Hi, can claim 90% for consultations and ward charges I think cos I only show staff pass. But some cannot claim at all, like lactation consultation, antenatal programme etc.

wow that's a lot liao ley. but i know of a friend civil servant who chose to deliver @ Mt A. Guess she doesn't need the extra $$$

harlo gd aftnoon ladies, wa... took me a while to catch up the thread.

hi tinker_bell, congrats!

Hi Mei, dun worry...i have spotting...brownish discharge last week for 2 days & slight cramps. After seeing gynae, he gave me pills to take cos he say my womb & placenta not stable to support pregnancy. Now, i am ok already. At the moment, like what golden pig recommend...dun move so much, rest & sit down.

gd afternoon ladies...yawnz..just had lunch. Seems like each day, each week symptoms are a bit different..is it like that for all of u?

Starting to have slight insommia..tend to wake up a few times at night..plus have dreams...last night had some mild cramp again too...so much so that I decided to sleep early but yet still tired coz wake up in the night!!

So glad tomorrow is a public holiday...

hammies, I same as u last night...dunno wat happen...

Civil service
Think not much discount if you want to choose your gynae and stay higher class wards. That's y I also go private.

CL
Anyone started hunt for CL? Where to find good ones?

Hi, I wanted to start looking for CL but still pantang leh. Haven't even told my parents in law yet so don't know if they have any comments if I hire CL cos they stay very nearby. Think I'll tell them this Friday.

Good afternoon ladies,

Today I went for my 2nd checkup and did a vaginal scan. I got a pic of the foetus in a small sac and heard some heartbeat. It's so amazing when i heard it. I'm in my 6th week so i think can go for scan le. Make sure your gynae gave u the pic...

Am given another one week leave to rest again. After that, my condition shld be more stable to go back work. I also still hv some brown discharge and my cramps is no more that intense as last week after taking the Duphaston. Have to take another one mth of that med to stablise the womb. Well, my gynae told me to go back see him in another 4 weeks time. Thank God everything seems fine.

hihi!

Taken ur lunch or coming tea break?

Mei: i oso hav spotting last fri.. in e morning was fresh blood then brown spotting in e afternoon so quickly requested to see gynae.. actually my appt was dis wed not last fri.
he gav mi some "an tai" med and told mi no GSS shopping for mi at e time being..
very miracle becos aft u took e med then next day no more spotting..

tinkerbell:
kao_welcome.gif

shorty,
dun scare me leh hahah till now 1 week aft taking e medication i still got spotting on/off. i told myself .. dun overexert myself but i din do much recently (esp this week). go home eat n lie on bed liao haha my previous preg oso got spotting but tat was brown discharge not fresh blood type (tho very little but is making me worried alittle). *pray hard bb ok* haha shdnt be a prob i tink ... but my hubby angry w me cos i still insist i hv to go to my cousin wedding tmr :p

Mylvera,

I didn't scare you. I also have spotting in the initial stage. That is wad the Doctor told me. And i was give injection and pill-duphaston to eat. After rest recover already.

Hi Ladies..
i'm a feb'06 mummy..and now i'm expecting my #2! fast ya..just went to gyn..should be about 6weeks pregnant..
so here i am in this thread.. =p

Hi Ladies..
i'm a feb'07 mummy..and now i'm expecting my #2! fast ya..just went to gyn..should be about 6weeks pregnant..
so here i am in this thread.. =p

thanks for all the warm welcome

today my back started to ache... i have no MS... just feel rather tired recently. anyone have back ache already?

hi rachel...
welcome

did you do the scan yet?

tinkerbell, me had it on wk 4
much better liao after much rest during wkends.

Rachel, congrats! maybe urs is a jan bb??

me also have spotting on last fri nite...then gt worried. went to see gynae on sat. gynae did the scan then given me "an tai" medicine for me to eat.....n told me no GSS...but me din listen, at nite went out to my frends' dinner gathering, then at nite, the spotting turn from brown to red. becme more panicked for not listening to gynae's advice. rest the whole day on sun. nw no more spotting....ya lor, the "an tai" medicine nd to eat till when??

feeling so down now. i have a family trip coming up and everything already paid for. pls dun tell me i cannot go....

Hi ladies!!!! I am back!!!! ..... I went gynae today ...... did an ultrasound only manage to see the waterbag cannot see baby lata gynae did a vaginal scan for me ..... saw the baby hehehe he is hiding in a corner and can see the heartbeat!!!!

mei dun worry .... i am sure u be alright *hugz*

i never go in full bladder :p kekekeke

rachel congrats ....

gynae told me EDD is 22 jan kekeke the one i had b4 is from the net i calculate