2007 Buangkok Mom??

Alas, wasted! As we hv yet been to the park.

can go on ur own. I also never been. thought the activities were interesting but missed the age group criteria.

kids nowadays, br up in HDB environment, must bring them out to enjoy the beauty of nature

mummies, duno if i'm being KS. But i realised tht 5 kiddos out of 8 in sr's wkend GUG class are able to write along dotted lines (ABCs) and can identify their ABCs .. my sr is not even 1 step in ..
nxt yr when she starts N2, will she b expected to noe these huh? when is the normal age they would pick these up huh? sr is 28mths now...

Slimz,
Not to worry my gal oso havent pick up on ABC. Can sing e ABC song but ask her to pick out any alpabeths still cannot. I went to popular n bought some assements books will teach her every evening. With practice she will be able to pick up. Normally they will teach e kids when they starts nursery. But is best that we do some revision at home. Cannot rely everything on e school they got 15 kids u think everybody will pay attention? I dun think so.

More impt to sustain their interest at this stage. Continue ur routine. Read more stories, draw more pictures, sing more songs. Dun burnout b4 starting nursery...

kids nowadays like so stressful hor.. the education system in sg is so shiong..

slimz.. u dun worry la.. my ayden also can't pick out any alphabets lor.. goodness.. always sing from A to G.. then tell me no more.. sweat man.. I more worried than you leh.. at least urs can recite A-Z liao..

Every child develop differently so no point to compare. Some learn their alphabets earlier, some read earlier, some play more than others. De walked later but as a result can do puzzles at 2yo. Mei started walking at 1yo but still can't put tog a simple puzzle. Give them time

May, I received e registration form for my son yesterday. And will get e form for amber too. Confirm gg to let her go PCF nursery next year less hassle for me oso can fetch both together. Tested out today they are quite cooperative together no fighting over toys cos amber sick so no school. They having excursion to zoo next wed should be fun.

Any recommendation for piano teacher in SK?
Thinking of switching Jx to individual lessons, as he had completed his 2yrs of foundation course in Yamaha & seems eager for more. Hubby & I r not v comfortable w his new teacher in the advance course so r now looking at alternatives.

Hi Slimz,
Agreed w Wan. It boils down to what the kids had been exposed to & w practice, they can do it quite well. For e.g we were v surprised & tickled when Jb was able to rattle off a Tang poem abt Geese that Jx was trying to recall, as he just learnt in sch that day. Turned out that Jb's chinese teacher had been teaching them that particular poem for awhile & Jb had kept mum at home till he heard Jx & cheekily decided to "show off".
I hv yet to give Jb any assessment bk except some colouring sheets, as I think his sch is quite on the ball w numbers & languages already.

Hi Adeline,
I called PCF ard 4pm to enquire abt registration & it rang v long till i almost gave up b4 a chinese speaking "auntie" told me that the form for Nursery is not ready until May. SMS me if u hv more news ok?

ya adeline! pls.. sms or call mi once u got news abt the registration form for nursery k.. vamiga.. u also keep mi updated can??

Now pcf is only giving out forms to extg students n sibling priority. Deadline is 30apr. Guess they will consolidate b4 they know how many vacancies they have left or how many nursery classes they want to start

got to decide soon. 8 or 9am?

Vamiga n may, will let u Noe 1st hand.
Wan, for me I will take e 9am one so I got time for breakfast with hubby n marketing then send amber to class then go home do household chores. Will not be too rush for me.

Thanks Adeline!

I'm trying to psycho JB to the change of sch & he is looking forward to wearing uniform in new sch. His current sch's uniform for N2 onwards is orangey & doesn't look v nice & costs $40/set!!

Hi May,
So exciting!

Let's keep each other posted. Anything on its notice board or any banner? I seldom go over there these days, must ask hubby to look out 4 banner.
hehehehee...:b

Hi Wan,
Throw an 8-9 dice?
hahahaa.. :b
Mayb will b easier 4 ur in-law to bring both kids home since ur working hours r quite flexible?
Btw, r the different levels sharing the same entrance since it's actually 1 big classroom?

Vamiga, my dice say 9am. De told me mei is naughty n his sch will not accept her to study there. Mei seems quite ready for school but I'm keeping my fingers crossed for this milestone

pcf has 3 entrances for diff classrm. Middle door is not sheltered. If it rain, can still linked to the other classrms. Nursery is usu middle or nearer 277b if they have 2 classes at the same timeslot. Extreme left is K2. Sometimes they go to principle's rm side for meals or other activities as I always see them queuing up, singing ABC songs while changing classrooms

They have a extended integrated enrichment for 12 to 3pm heard that many parents complain too ex $300 a month. so the school ask mcys for subsidys so now still pending.
May, if they decrease e amount maybe u can opt for that next year so Ayden will be in school from 9 to 3pm. Better for u rite.

Adeline, u mean mcys grant for working mum? I tot it only applies to full day childcare. Even half day childcare, grant is halved. CDA will deplete super fast after mei start nursery next year!

adeline.. ya.. 12 - 3 better lor..but got vacancy for him anot.. till a problem leh..

i've signed megan up for classes at GUG on mon and wed... hope she will like it.. else waste money laio..

Wan, so sorry never state is for PCF. E extended enrichment for PCF. They raise it to e mcys to ask for subsidys so those interested will benefit.
May, she learn to walk already? Is best if she can if not will be wasting money. Last time I let amber attend Julia Gabriel when she knows how to walk. If not can't really enjoy e class alot of activities cannot do. U Noe my 1st skool have 5 cases of hfmd. 4 from ayden class. Dunnoe wat they r doing always have so many cases once 1 start.

Adeline, I doubt subsidies apply as it is not childcare

btw, de complaining pcf only serve 4 biscuits for teabreak on mon n thu. Not enuf for a growing boy. Poor tin. Some of his classmates bring their own bread. Does nursery have this problem?

adeline.. ya.. so many cases... so fed up.. i kiasu.. i keep ayden at home for the time being..the other time, ayden got it... so terrible.. feel so heartache...

Wan,
Same applies to nursery heard from my son he ate biscuits for some days. He oso ask me to bring some bread for him. Think not filling enough to just eat biscuits. Dunnoe wat happen to e school maybe e auntie quit?

May,
Im very scare oso now thinking of changing her school. Still sourcing around. Maybe will change both of them together. Found PCF is not sufficient enough for primary preparation. Heard from one of e grandpa of a kid in K2 that she still dunnoe how to write. Think is a headache if that applies to my son. Hehe since my hubby can afford will look around for a better school.

Adeline, auntie Susan still around right? Mb cut cost?

I dun believe pcf can't prepare children for P1. K2 still can't write? I went to see K2 works last yr after meeting teacher. Quite impressed with composition n stories by K2 kids. With some coaching n reinforcement at home, they r good to go P1.

I'm abit worried abt Chinese word recognition only but i'm sure he can pick it up by next yr

Vamiga, I'm signing de for music+maths trial with June at tampines http://www.music-at-colourfulclouds.com/

I find it different from commercial music courses eg. Yamaha. I wanted to teach him piano myself but I found that I have limited time n resources. Reading n Art n craft ardy take up most of my time with them after work n wkend. I will find out more after trial in May n let u know

adeline... ayden likes teacher jo and im happy that she's quite a nice teacher.. but the frequent hfmd is scaring me.. realli dun knw how... u sourcing for childcare for both of them?? let mi know! i can consider too... so u might not put amber in pcf?

Hi Adeline & May,
HFMD can happen in any sch but tend to spread faster in childcare bcos the kids spend more time eating, z & playing together, & usually handled by same teacher when go to toilet/bathe as a class.
So if u r switching sch, u might 1 2 consider a non-childcare environment where it might be easier to break the chain.

As for PCF's std, just to share what Jx's various PCF teachers been telling me: PCF caters to mass mkt & thus, to an average child's abilities. So if a kid finds its syllabus easy, then challenged him w literatures, art,music, maths, science etc after sch hours to enrich him. If a kid can't catch up w his class then coach him more & let him spend more time & effort honing the basic skills at home.

Some of my friends' kids in branded pre-sch were taught complicated multiplication & division during 2nd half of K2 while PCF only taught simple but similar concepts like skip-counting & grouping in 2's & 3's that won't stress the kids/parents. P1 will only touches on these concepts ard Term 3.

Actually pri sch is not as demanding as it is rumoured to be, esp w no exam in most P1 these days.

Hi Wan,
Thanks for the link. Sounds interesting but Tampines is abit far for us as a long term commitment.
I'd managed to contacted Jx's previous yamaha teacher staying in SK, so he will be starting weekday 1-to-1 lesson w her soon, instead of going for another 2yrs of advance course w Yamaha. He is pretty excited abt it, esp w the thought of getting a piano.
I think we shld b ready to commit if everything works out well after 1-2mth.

Any tips/recommendation for buying a 2nd-hand piano?

vamiga..

im afraid ayden is not learning much.. afterall, i feel tat childcare is more like a babysitting centre.. not tat he didn't learn anything... but i feel that it's not sufficient enough to prepare him for sch next time...

once megan goes to childcare too, i probably will wan to work again... so i hope to find a good sch which my kids can learn and also happy in.. tis way, at least i wont hav to be soo worried for them... sigh..being a mom is so difficult..

Wan,
ok after wat u said I'm less worried but after he done his worksheet n I read story to him nothing much to do so he will tend to watch tv I ONI let him watch educational show. Then I can do own things. Found one cc that provides enrichment in e afternoon everyday Monday to Friday n e fee is inclusive of everything. Is a new centre at hougang green but is fully air con.
May,
u interested? $800 before subsidy. They open on may. Got promotion 1st 3 mths disc $150 then next 3 mths disc $50. They provide transport oso.

Vamiga, glad to hear that P1 is not so stressful. I heard from colleague that must prepare child for spelling n tingxie.I find phonics make spelling easier for kids but I'm struggling to teach him Chinese word. Step by step la. Dun wan to kill his passion for reading

Wan,
ok will look it up. Thanks. Anyway not gg to change him will look out for better programs to occupy his time. Im not good in art n crafts so cant do much there. Y not let him try Berries? Is fun n on e other hand they learn oso. Both my kids like it alot there. Every nite my son will ask me to read chinese story to him. Ah ya they went to zoo today. he very excited wake up super early 6am. k1 not gg?
May,
So scary got 2 more cases in playgroup class. U better dun let ayden go. Now spreading very fast.
Vamiga,
So headache when comes to Jun n dec school holiday. now u dun have maid how u cope? Still got time to do housechores? Especially school holiday how ah. My ah lao work very pack so basically im doing everything at home n taking care of kids.

adeline can give more details abt the new cc at HGgreen? we r deciding between a cc or a plygrp nxt yr for sr while we plan for #2 ...
TIA ^^

Hohoho gg to plan for 2nd one? hehe
E new cc is at hougang green #02 Learning Kidz. From wat i noe is e same management as e learning kidz at kovan. E curruculum is quite good everything is in so u dun need to crack ur head n solve for other enrichment. They got gym, music, art n craft, computer, phonics, cooking, optional swimming. In e morning have lesson like english, maths n chinese. E place is huge. Each individual classroom is very big. n teacher to student ratio small oso. They got promotion if u enrol now. May to Jul is $150 off. Aug to Oct is $50 off no need to pay registration fee. $800 before subsidys. They got a big indoor playgroung. n a gym room oso. They r fully air con. U should go down n have a look. I quite like it but now Hfmd spreading very fast so hesitanting to change cc for my gal. U staying near there?

Adeline,

I'm really not keen to shuttle my kids from 1 enrichment to another. just want to spend our limited bonding time reading, drawing, laughing, doing silly things...gg to sign up for the music+maths trial. that should be the max I'll go. dun want them to grow up and rem their mum as their chauffuer.

yes, saw the bus blocking the carpark entrance, so guess must be field trip. de told me K1 will be going too, but haven't confirm when. how much to pay? Any parents tag along?

slimz,

jia you! must be tough when ur hb fly in & out so often. go for honeymoon again la

childcare with enrichment included sounds like a good deal. I heard from cherie hearts mummies that their fees keep increasing and $800+ do not include enrichment eg. computer. must build up sr's immunity b4 starting childcare

adeline.. $800 before subsidy.. sounds cheap since got so much enrichment... if let him go there.. then wont hav to bring him around for enrichment liao leh...
amber still in sch now ah? i very scare leh... the hfmd so scary...

Wan,
$15 each. I neber accompany him wants to let him try it out independently. Hopefully dun rain.
May,
Ya, very scary rite! Thats y my hubby said wait for awhile more see how. I think PCF should be safer rite since is oni half day n no naping in e school. Less contact.

slimz.. im going to take a look at the learning kidz tml... the enrichment included sounds so enticing..wahaha.. haven't go down see only already gian gian laio..hoho

may u gg today? wat time? go tgr? heee.. pm-ed u

i took leave tday wanting to bring sr to another cc sch we QC awhile ago, not near us, nearer to my mum's schhse by the gdn @ philip ave (got sch bus, the main reason y i wan..haa)

ade, i'm stying 277b same blk as May =D

slimz!! gian gian hor!? yesterday i went to little skool house at tampines... the environment very good leh!! $715 after subsidies... the teacher who talked to mi seems nice too..

but my neighbour and i saw a kid bleeding from the nose..dun knw wat happened.. the principal and the rest of the teachers face so tense..

Slimz
u went to school Hse by e garden already? My son was there last time. How u found e management? Is teacher agnes still there.? They have internal conflicts between e staff. Other then that is ok.

Hi May,
There will b quantum leaps in kids' development, so just hv to nurture them & wait patiently for the breakthroughs.

Anyway, he still hv years b4 formal sch. Childhood is priceless. I find that by just limiting tv time, & exposing them more to nature & reading is good enough to widen their general knowledge.

Hi Wan,
Jx had spelling & tingxie every wk from 2nd half of K1-K2 in PCF, & the words r pretty tough too. e.g. crab in chinese, which he can't even rem how to write now.
*sigh*
Now his P1's tingxie is slowing migrating fr HYPY to Chinese characters this term & it's only once every 2-3 wks. The spelling list is easier than his K1's too. If that was not over-prepared for P1, what is?

Now MOE is talking of lowering the "barrier" of learning Chinese further by not letting it have an equal weightage in PSLE results as other subjects. Might as well just scrape the Chinese exam or let Chinese b an opt-in subject lah.

Hi Adeline,
Jb's sch still on during June & Dec sch hols, so i hv no problem w just Jx at home. In fact, he can help me w MORE housework other than folding clothes!
hahahaha.. :b

We ate out most of last Dec when I had to bring him to swim lessons Tue-Thurs for 4 wks tho. Take it as a break 4 myself too.

Now that I no maid 1yr le, will b asking my previous cleaning co. to spring clean 4 me periodically. My hubby's idea lah, when i asked him to help me take down all the curtains to dry clean last wk.
hahaha...:b

Y don't u get some weekly part-time help if housework is too much? I find them v useful for major chores when I didn't hv maid when Jx was 2-4yo. Mine just took 3-4 pax 1hr to settle everything, including ironing.

Hi Slimz,
Jia you!!

Vamiga,

I lost touch with Pri school edu system in sg since long long time ago when we had streaming at P3 then P4 or later. I dun really know what is higher chinese (similar to CL1 of my time?) or otherwise. by the time De takes PSLE, I bet the system will change again. For me, Chinese is not for academic purpose. Chinese must know Chinese.

nan chiau seems not as scary as I thought...

Hi Wan,
Don't worry, u will know when De's time comes. Definitely more changes in the pipelines.
Good or bad, we just hv to teach our kids to beat or at the v least, survive the system. :b

Nan Chiau teaches higher chinese to all students but exam only the core Chinese syllabus. (The difference is only 1-2 pages more per chapter for an additional section which is not difficult lah.) Can't comment on pri sch's CL1 as I only took Higher Chinese when in sec sch. Actually, i din't know NC teaches higher chinese until orientation day!
hahahaa...a bonus! :b

I like the way Jx's teacher takes chinese seriously by going thru a weekly chinese supplementary magazine in class after allocating time for the kids to do the exercises either at home or in class. She also goes thru the Di4 zi gui1 & Tang poems in class after the kids learn them during assembly. On the sch level, the kids hv a term of Chinese Speech & Drama 1st, followed by the English this term. I think this is deliberately done, to instil interest in Chinese for most of the kids from the v beginning.
There r many impromptu practise papers to test the kids' understanding in core subjects yet the homework load is reasonable & skewed towards weekends.
So far, I hv no complaint abt the sch.

Tempted? :b

My time also CL1 at sec sch. Pri sch only recent years bah. I can't choose NC cos IL still need to look after nephew at buangkok. 1st choice still north vista

slimz.. how's the sch u saw??

adeline.. hb dun like the cc in hg green leh....
i dun knw how leh.. shld i jus let him continue at 1st skool since teacher said quite high chance tat the branch will have nursery??

i tink i will still register for pcf.. jus in case i change my mind... sigh.. when is it ah.. like sooo long.. the pcf at my mum plc already taking in registeration liao leh

gals.. quite some time ago, there's a leaflet on race car bed, train bed, etc.. do u all know where is the place? I misplaced the leaflet.. i wan to buy for my kids.. appreciate any help hor!? thanks gals... muack