2007 Buangkok Mom??

vamiga,
9am have 2 nursery classes. 8am only 1 class. I think they adjust based on registration turnout.

not I worry le. my colleague whose son in P1 scare me. he says they have difficult spelling and tingxie/ hanyu pinyin. I'm pro Chinese reading, not hanyu pinyin. that's the way I was taught. hanyu pinyin only comes in P3 during our era. I want to teach him correct 笔画but I find it difficult to teach a left-hander...

slimz,
I can't commit cos gg cruise. go ahead w/out me. boohoo...

Hi Wan,
Thanks for the info. Think i shld get hubby to camp overnight for registration?
hahahahaa...:b

Don't worry too much abt P1. There is alot of pressure from eager parents & enrichment centres to "equip" pre-sch kids for P1 but I find that as long as reading skills & behavioural/attitude guidelines r in place, the kids shld not hv much problem for P1, unless they r expected to know their stuff BEFORE being taught in sch!

However, English is v v imp, as it is the teaching medium for most subjects (esp Maths) & also affects the kids' ease of integration into a new & more independent (demanding) environment. Chinese can still be revised at a reasonable pace (once every 2-3 weeks in our case), by following the syllabus.

Jx din't go for any HYPY prep course but is doing ok so far. Just received the Term 2 spelling/dictation & Ting xie lists, still look qute easy even tho his sch teaches Higher Chinese.

I always remind him that HYPY is just a reading aids (& not a v good 1 too!) so still hv to try to recognise the words.
I'll probably face ur problem when it's time to teach Jb chinese stroke as he is a right-hander & Jx & I r left.

However, I was not into holding Jx's hand to guide his strokes even when he started writing then. Preferred to let him trace basic strokes & later on, just free hand. Just need to guide him on key pts like which stroke is longer/shorter than the other & where is the relative start/end pt of key strokes in each character. The character will turn out v nice when he comprehends the requirement.

vamiga, jenius same mgmt as tots. they merged..but jenius oni has one outlet at kovan in a landed ppty.. according to my hb who been there, there's a big humpty dumpty sitting on the wall, quite visible de...

gosh, all the chinese topics u girls are discussing.. IS KILLING ME!
my chinese sucks BIG BIG time! goodness, i'm pretty sure i will not b the one teaching sr on chinese... ohh.. major headache when i tink of it ..
wan, i noe abt ur cruise trip .. my ah lao needed to travel, cant commit on the cruise, else we would ve gone for it too.. booo =(

vamiga, no probs abt the easter tingy.. i'm still tinking abt it oso.. haa.. its jux me wanna do easter crafts wif sr and tot would b fun if ther are mates to do tgr (^o^)

Hi Slimz,
So u confirmed Jenius?

U still hv time to brush up ur Chinese.

Parents' attitude towards a subject is key to kids' learning attitude, so quickly sweep away all the negativities!
hahahaaa....
Think of it as revising ur Chinese w SR.

I v scared to do craft w the kids, v messy! Even play dough. Was toying to bring them to play it on the stone table downstairs. :b
Anyway, Jb has quite alot of crafts sessions in sch, so we just focus on reading/drawing/colouring w him at home most of the time. hehehee...

vamiga,

I'm not sure abt the queuing up part. I rem we went to the hougang branch to register before the actual registration at buangkok new branch. were there a queue? mb adeline can advise...

Hi wan,

I believe my girl will be a tomboy like mummy and moreover she had 2 brothers. I never wear skirts only during schooldays and my wedding day. I forever my hair is short since I was born. Haha, tomboy is strong and independent.

Hi Wan

Actually was looking for CC for my 2boys lo, happen to pass the PAP notice board den saw tis small small notice say Sparkletots might open @ 270, hope its a miracle for me coz bn searching CC v long liao

Hi May

Nw enrol my big boy @ 275A Tots Hse, so saw many parents bring kids to Faith wor

ger11,

better register sparkletots early as I saw in KSP forum there is ardy long waiting list. so u r planning to work? how is tots house?

Hi May

Mean call soarkletots cn reserve slots?? KSP = ?? (sorry huh hehe) yup, planning to wk lo, 275 tots hse is ok, i can see my boy is enjoying the class, and he's learning too.

wah.. u all v fast leh...

slimz/wan.. my hair hor.. fake one la.. i put extention for new yr ma.. but cant bear to take it out liao.. hb also prefer mi wif this long hair.. keke

Adeline.. im bringing ayden for assessment tml.. i hope he will learn more from there.. ayden still dun knw abc lor.. grrr.. always show no interest when i try to teach him.. haiz.. plus bz wif megan now.. headache leh...

vamiga.. 1st come 1st serve ah.. wat if cant get then how.. means ayden no sch to attend ah..

btw, any1 knows if cherie hearts has Nursery to k2? was tinking if reali cant get PCF at my hse downstairs, shld i enrol him there.. and let him take sch bus..

May,

No wonder. I suaku dunno hair extension look so real n nice. Ya long hair does suit u

Cherie hearts at anchorvale? Heard a few mums say ex n ask them pay extra for classes too. Price keeps gg up until boi tahan. Dunno true or not. There is another new branch at hougang, think vamiga mentioned few thread back

u haven't decided betwn Full day childcare or pcf nursery? I tot he's at first skool now? No nd withdraw 1st until after reg confirm

Vamiga n May,
No need to panic actually i register my son in e afternoon session cos morning one was full on NOV09. Then on his orientation days i found he not suitable in e afternoon class so i ask e principal whether any vancsncy in e morning. So lucky someone changing school thats y he can change. Is by luck one if not he will still be in e afternoon class.

May,
Where u bringing him? Kovan? I wait until next yr then register amber cos can feel that she learns alot over there. She can sing ABC song n read 1 to 10. VEry good in replying me in a sentence like 4 to 5 words. Think basically girls are much faster.

Ger11,
Yes, e sparkle pcf childcare is opening ard Jul. Fee is quite cheap n they got additional curriculum which is include in e fee which is gym. quite worth it.

Can i join in on the pcf topic?? I'm staying in SK, next to Buangkok MRT

Thot of registering my boy in pcf nursery (N1) next year, but as a first time mommy here, so abit blur on registration. Anyone got gd recommendation for me??? And what should i enquire huh?? Sry for my stoopid qns ;p

may, i tink long hair suits u better too =D
dun worry abt ayden not knowing ABCs, my sr oso duno and i just found a way to teach her, thru her GUG zoophonics .. initially i ve difficulties teaching her coz she mastered all the 26 thru zoophonics and she seems confused when i intro the name of the alphabets to her instead of the sounds. but yday i found a way to link both tgr for her le .. hope she can pick up den

vamiga, i haven cfm with jenius yet .. still pondering.. plus HB out of town now n den, hard to discuss matters.. urgh
i really dread chinese.. dat day went to HG mall, there's popluar booths at the event hall, wanted get sr some chinese acty books. I see the words i oredi gave up, wondering how am i gg to teach her those.

welcome nez.
is ur son enrolled in any playgroup this year? if not, just bring him walk walk around pcf to get him familiarise with the environment including the playground. registration is only in may. u can call to enquire but I'm also not sure what u r keen to ask.

slimz, may,
u may want to do some alphabet crafts with them at home to reinforce the alphabet learning even if they attend enrichment classes. http://familycrafts.about.com/od/alphabetactivities/Alphabet_Crafts_and_Activities.htm
I teach them the ABC song since they r born. they can sing the song b4 they really understand the alphabets.

tanks for the link wan, will chk that out..
sr can sing alot of songs including the ABC .. hee.. siao mummy even taught her happy BD in korean ..haa.. to sing for daddy's BD in 2 weeks time =P

wow, u know korean? I only know basic jap. but can't recall much. hope my kids can pick up 3rd language and bring me to japan when I'm old

no i dun .. haa.. i googled for the youtube video n the romanised lyrics ... =D

may may may.. i ve been forgetting to update u on that BD venue tingy, until i saw the BD fotos on fb! paiseh =(

adeline.. u mean amber learnt alot from our first skool?! tats gd! i registered him in I.can.read in kovan, starting in apr.. sunday noon.. well.. at least i can get to hav a nice lunch wif hb and megan while ayden is in the class.. lol

Slimz.. u know korean ah.. power leh u..

i like tis long hair now.. guess i'll jus keep it till my hair is long enuff.. hiao mummy leh mi.. hb buay tahan mi.. say i waste money.. but it makes mi not so "yellow" ma.. horrr??

welcome! nez!!

May,
Yes, thats rite.. Can sing mandarin song n english song not very acurate but can understand wats she's singing. My son on e Tuesday afternoon class. Weekday is cheaper. Heard that maybe they gg to extend to nursery class. If yes i will let her stay for one more year cos all her friends are there k1 then change to PCF. Next year nursery cheaper.
Just back from sentosa with son n hubby. So tired now.

ehh... mummies, i duno abt u .. haa.. but i'm veri mixed up over who's kid is in where n wat age.. haa...
adeline, so ur kids r with first skool and wat's that tues aft class? first skool dun ve K1? else y u wan to chnge amber to PCF in k1?

adeline.. ya.. ayden also.. can sing songs but not accurate...

how u know first skool going to extend to nusery huh??? if so, i also wan to put him there longer lor...

shiok le.. go sentosa..hw's it? fun??

Slimz
currently my first skool at 269 only till playgroup
no nursery class so if they continue nursery class that's
good dun think there's space for k1 that's y k1 have
to go pcf or other cc.
May
heard from one of e teacher but still pending so hopefully
they extend to nursery. Sentosa is fun alot of new things
there u should go try it. We just brought my son there amber in cc so is easier to handle.

May, adeline,

what is "can sing, but not accurate"? Come on, this is the cutest phase! Learning to pronounce new words. We have lotsa fun trying to understand what meimei was singing. Will ask de to help. So much surprises everyday. Will miss this phase after they can speak well.

Sentosa? Resort world? So jealous everyone else is gg. R the new facilities family/ children friendly? How much is average spending for family of 4?

adeline.. i hope there's nursery too leh.. tis way, ayden can be with megan longer.. i jus asked the teacher abt the vacancy for megan.. sheez.. already wait list till dec lor...gonna send in the application form soon..

wan.. yeah.. i know its cute! my hb will look at mi and ask mi for help when he cant make out wat ayden is singing.. lousy hb.. lol..

i wan to go sentosa also leh.. but hb now wrking ofc hour liao.. means only weekend then can bring mi there.. which also means.. it's gonna b v crowded + tiring coz lugging 2 kids along.. aiyo.. tink better not liao.. haizz

haa.. wan i agree .. sr is picking up a korean fast piece and haa.. she is more accurate than me =P
i oso wanna noe abt the resort world.. aiyah but HB wont b back til end of the mth . .. so sianz

Never went to e resort world e universal studio will be opening today tics already sold out from e net. We spent about $200 just e 3 of us so if 4 then should be more. Go on weekdays better not so crowded. Not encouragig to bring kids younger then 4 cos most of e rides n games have height limit must be 90cm tall.

We went resort today...animal resort. Free n near n not crowded. No nd to join e crowd at resort world (sour grapes ranting). Rain somemore on universal studio opening day. Where got fun? Hahaha

Hello gals!
Wah! Our thread so happening while I'm gone!

Just back fr a driving trip to Kuantan. Our 2nd visit in 3.5yrs & still enjoy the fantastic beach as much, despite w 2kids in tow during the 7hr drive on small road this time ard.

In fact, they kept each other company at the beach & kids club while we adults R&R.

Jb v garang, loved jumping into the pool standing up, again & again. Faint. Think can sign him up for swimming lesson together w Jx soon.

Welcome Nez!
U looking for PCF Nursery 1?
Buangkok PCF only has N2 onwards leh.

hi Slimz,
Next time SR can watch K-drama w ya.
hahahaa...

HI Vamiga,

Ya lor...looking for N1 next yr ley, seems like nt many plcs in SK hv it rite? Headache! If cant find then may skip n wait for N2 or watsoever lor

nez, u mean ur boy is born in 08 ah? This pcf dun have little steps programme. Can go playgroup at tots house?

vamiga.. ur jb v garang leh.. lol.. if its my ayden.. i tink i sure v kanjiong one.. scary lor..

btw, gals.. does ur kids slp on their own or with u? lately, i put ayden next door to slp on his own.. while meimei slp with us still.. he's taking it ok so far.. jus sometimes wan mi or hb to accompany him to slp.. but usually i jus acompany awhile and tell him good nite, kiss him and went off.. feeling guilty now.. like feel so bad leaving him alone to sleep.. yet if i don't, slight sound from him will wake meimei up.. haizz

Hi May,

Jb is v sporty & fearless since young.
Good & bad lah. Gives us lots of heart attacks!!

6.5yo Jx was still v scared to jump into pool just like that when his swim coach challenged him to do it at 16th lesson. Till now, he still must sit at the edge to drop into water after much hesitation.
Typical eg. of each kids r different.

Both my boys sleep alone in their own room since confinement nanny left.
1st 2yrs r in babycot, usually w door closed as they were lighter sleepers then. Now Jb is in toddler bed & Jx has his own sport car bed since giving up the toddler bed to convert back into cot when Jb was born. I use a baby monitor till they know how to open bedroom doors on their own. My door is always closed as we need the air-con to z.

1st few mths, I'm more kan cheong, always check on them, esp w Jx, but once get used to it, all r ok lah. There's also no worry abt transiting them to their own rooms when they r much older (& more resistant). Jx's P1 classmate still insist to return to sleep w his parents & 2 younger sisters after 1st few nites in his brand new bunk bed in his own rm.

Jb been trying his luck to bunk in w us in the middle of the nite recently but each time, we will persuade him to return to his own bed till it's daylight. Both boys will snuggle w us for awhile then. Great way to wake up!

hahahaa...

Hi Nez,

Ya, not many N1, unless based in childcare. However, I think there is Little Steps (same as N1) in Blk 232 PCF. Convenient 4 ya?

Jb has been w Kindertots at Fernvale Pt since 19mo (exactly 1 yr ago!) & I'm able to customise his sch hours to suit my needs.
There is a free shuttle service by the "mall" & paid sch bus service is also avail.
Here's his sch blog:
http://www.kindertots.blogspot.com/

vamiga, my sr oso veri onzzz abt swim leh. jux last fri evening i brot her to my sis's condo for a dip. she slide down the pool slide, head went underwater, came up cough cough (drank some water).. looked at me & smile!
we ve intention let her take up swimming classes coz both of us enjoy swimming, wanna make it a family hobby =P

my sr is still zz-ing with us leh.. sometimes on the mattress next to our bed, sometimes on our bed and at times chase daddy off the bed de...
tink we really ve to start training her le.. hmmmm

Hi Slimz,
So u r the runner or the pom-pom gal?
heheehe.. :b

Just back fr Genting this mon & the kids had great fun at the theme park as usual. Lucky we still need not pay for Jb's admission even tho he is brushing against the parks' 90cm ht limit.
Again, he v garang. Insisted on getting up onto some solo vertical cowboy rides when he saw Jx in the Q. My heart was in my mouth. Let me upload the video clip onto facebk.