(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

Panda club

Hubby and I rejoined Panda Club last few nights.. Little Ryan got up at wee hours crying and crying.. didn't know what he wanted.. Gave up and let him latch on.. Saturday took him for the last jab and asked PD.. PD said can start cereals on him 2 weeks later

Hmm, going to wean him off BM... think I'm gonna miss the breastfeeding days

Hey mothers who let babies latch on all the time, how to resume pumping? Yesterday I tried but hardly any milk leh... why har?

Belle,
my gynae dr mary yang has thrus nite clinic at bedok @ princess theatre there. I think it's under eastshore hospital. you can call up for appt

hahaa so cute one, i din know until today got that myth. tink hor i'd want #2 to come by after shawn passes 2yrs old. next year planning to go kaikai to EU and also to attend a wedding there. so cannot get preggie so soon.. keep fingers n toes crossed

belle,
ya.. me manage to grab hold of 1 pink 1.... wa... i so envy u... me gotto try harder to get preggie again... haha

yeah, today finally the last dose of 6 in 1 for my boy. Brave boy, never cry..haha..DAddy so proud of him. ANyway now he is 8.1kg and 69.5 cm!

Belle,

Ya maybe false alarm,. i also missed my menses last mth but luckily its only late for 1 week.. Give me a big scare too.. so now I ban my hubby, no precaution, dun do! hehe

lynzi,
I am not on anything except natural withdrawal. I know dangerous though... kenna 3rd one HAHAHA, I will kill him! My #1 already got 1 full wardrobe of clothes... #2 got to wear #1's. Hahaha, was wondering if got daughter, siao liao!

belle,
Don't worry, might be false alarm like Constance had mention. You know, one of my friend said that if you think you all made a mistake, go to your gynae immediately, he can prescribe a drug for your menses to come earlier... so that the sperm will not meet the egg. BUT if kenna liao, this drug cannot help liao.

Went to Carrefour at Suntec, they have got this organic dept. Bought a bottle of Organic Brown Rice Powder at $24(600g), bloody hell don't know why so expensive. Saw a normal organic brown rice grains at $7.50(750g). Was wondering which to buy, then bought the $24. Cos me still hasn't buy the grain grinder.

Below are the photo of the brown rice powder;

1446029.jpg

1446030.jpg

1446031.jpg

1446032.jpg

Still got award winning for their quality

2nd one now???????!!!!!!!!!!!!
bu ke neng! dun scare mi! i think my hubby will faint cos i always want to zzzzzzzz during pregnancy. plus... dunno if 2nd will also get neonatal lupus or not. so better think twice b4 trying.

belle, dun panic first. quick go and buy a test kit! let us know sooooon!

phy, i din let sumana latch on all the time but i read that you have to "power pump" to get the milk. i think it means trying to pump every 3-4 hours initially.

do ur bbs have 'sweaty' limbs?........my boy's palms and soles seems to always be wet and cold......not sure if its normal....

Anyone interested to do some temp work for 2 to 3 months e.g. doing some data entry work in a hosp office environment? Let me know. You can sms me at 98581609. Thanks.

This person doesn't need to type very fast but need to be careful in entering the data.

belle
get a test kit and check, may not be positive.

actually, i'm now in 2 minds whether wanna get preg or not coz planning a couple of trips overseas in aug and dec. but also hoping to have ox and/or tiger bb.

Hehehe, finally got my First Foods book, nt bad leh, simple and easy to understand. hehee! Now can alternate between First Foods and Super Baby Book, whoohooo!

belle, get test kit to check, hopefully it's a false alarm,

Si Sen Brown Rice

Hi Hi
need adivse from mummies pls!!!
i planning to start bb on solid. is it must start w rice cereal then brown rice?
or can start brown rice immediately?
saw some si(4) sen(2) brown rice (some w ikan bilis!!) in the supermarket that day.
anyone try it on bb? good?
or should we buy our own brown rice and grind?
hope some mummies can reply to me. thank u v muchi!!

keki
i heard from my colleagues to start w/o the ikan bilis one first. that si sen brown rice have that w/o ikan bilis. I started my boy on that but after 2 days, he has some rashes on his eye brow so maybe he is allergy to that (if you see the ingredients, there are a lot of different components in there) after that I switch to rice cereal & he is ok. you need to trial & error.

Steffi,
yes.... sweat at every fold of skin, especially behind the neck, palms, feet, back of knee/elbow. drink milk while latcing on oso sweat like mad in aircon room. yup, mine oso cold cold damp damp on palms and soles

cocoangel
thanks for the mushroom float pic, nice nice! i cant hv so many float liao lah... hb will kill me..

beng ma
wat first foods book??

keki
shd start with normal rice cereal first, cos brown rice is less easily digestible..once bbs are accustomed to it, then switch to brown rice. brown rice with si shen is gd, will actually improve bb's appetite.

jeelomeelo: but when not latching on, will your bb's palm and feet be sweaty as well? mine is like practically sweating thru out..hubby a bit concern lor

for me, i started with si sen brown rice..cos the sin seh said bb will hv very good appetite...fed her for a week (2 times per day), then monitored her poo..poo'ed like every 2 days and hard...too heaty...so i switched to organic rice cereal...poo'ed everyday and not hard...now still on rice cereal...

tried to give her carrot puree, she didnt like...today just started to give her apples & banana puree...give weird expression though...managed to finish the whole thing...but still hv to monitor her poo these few days...

Steffi,

Yeah, my boy also have cold hands anf feets. and he sweats alot at the back of his head. Me asked my PD yesterday liao, he says its normal and will go aweay ard 18 mths.. Not to worry!

phy, i wun mind another meet up. just text e the day and time. :p oh yes, i see all the babies here bak bak one lei. Ryan dun even look like he's 5mths old!! maybe he is tall.

missylan, cos its ORGANICS mah.. haha.. all organics foodss are supposed to be more ex. plus, like u said its award winning pdt. LOL!!

sweaty palm, i tink its normal.. my cousin baby also has that.. tot her feeet are cold but she told me its sweaty. cannot wear socks too often else the smell very pang!

Slimz,
Don't worry... my boy notti lah.. ur gal shd be kwai kwai one. And maybe it's just me. I guess I'm just not cut out to be a SAHM... hehe

First Foods
I bought that book too... very good. the recipe very easy to follow. Anyone who wants to buy, join as online Borders members. They often send e-coupon giving discounts. I got mine with 30% discount.

keki,
i m feedin my baby brown rice with ikan. but i think brown rice very heaty.... my gal poo poo is very dry and hard. so i alternate her with plain rice and feed her alot of water and juices. now she is back to normal poo... but her poo is very stinko.

how many teaspoon of cereal u feed ur bb? i have not feed her by spoon yet, jus thru bottle with ebm.

any mummies start with porridge liao?

baby's coming to 6 mths and hubby has already asking me when am I fertile again..since 2 mths ago.
aiyo, body needs to rest rite? but again at my age, I'm considered 'overage'(gao ling chan fu) already.

thanks for all mummies' replies.

seem like brown rice can be quite heaty for bb. better start mine w rice cereal first

i am taking care of bb myself. sometimes v stress esp cos my nephew is only 10 days older than my bb. my mil always compare them... sigh...
anyway, guess my bb is kind of 'slow' too.
she is 5mth 1 wk old liao but so far only manage to flip twice. Till now she will cry for our help to flip her when she wakes up. but my nephew can flip at 3 mth!! wanted to start my bb on solild only when she turns 6 mth but my mil keep nagging...said nephew already started when 4 mth..blah blah blah..maybe that's why my bb no strength to flip etc...

its really not good to have a bb so close to my bb's age. too many comparison.

anyone w bb my age still cant flip?

pretty
u already feeding your bb twice a day? tot we can only feed them once a day. my bb is 5mth 1wk old. yours? how long after u started your bb w solid b4 u feed her fruits? did u hand made or buy those henize bottles? sorry. i first time mum. so very blur.

happi
i have not started her on solid yet. plan to feed her using spoon cos pd said so...

drinking water

did mummies here catch last sat news on channel 8?
it mentioned that it is not advisable to feed bb below 6 mth water. actually that's what my pd said too.

wat do u gals think?
should we continue to feed bb water?
or if we start them on solid, can feed water?
any max amount to feed?

Beng ma,
I think I have this book too though the cover seems abit different, i bought it last year heee... its local version right?

CSI,
I ve already plan his bday...but its in my mind lah...
wanted to ve a simple celebration unlike full mth.
Initially wanted to just celebrate with us & our parents...
then now chg idea, maybe add some of our close relatives...

keki,
I heard my bb sitter said abt the news too...but I never watch the news...
Why are bb not allowed to drink water?

keki,

babies grow and learn at different pace... so dun stress out over such comparisons. moreover, maybe bb boys are bigger so they learn faster.

u can start ur bb with rice cereal once a day first... see wat's ehr reaction to new food. better to feed in the morning. i m feeding twice cereal now. feed her fruits from heinz. i may wanna try to made some food soon... jus wanna try out cos i bought baby cudes...

are u feeding ur baby formulae or bm? if on bm, it's not necessary to feed water. formala more heaty so must feed some water. i m trying to feed baby with spoon soon. but the cereal abit watery leh.

i m oso 1st time mummy... i will prepare about 40ml (20ml juice + 20ml water), sometimes she can finish all.

i read from one of those baby care books, that feeding baby with too much water will (a) alter their blood sodium levels (how much is too much that would result in the alteration, I have no idea); (b) spoil their appetite and hence, they will not want to drink their milk.

I didn't watch the news. What did the news say?

oh, I pureed apples over the weekend. So fun! hahaha. messy, but fun. and it actually taste quite nice lorh...hehs.

Phy, there's a BP for baby cubes by LJP...dun think it's closed yet.

cocoangel,
ahh...ok, so my hb not alone in planning early. hahaha. Dunno leh. I have no idea how to celebrate. Plus that time of the year is wet season. Also, dunno if my gal would understand that it's her bdae that day. hahaha.

phy, zu,
Me, too, ok to meet up again. My elder girl so happy whenever I tell her we gonna go meet some mummies n their babies n kids. Sms me.

keki,
I started my gal wz rice cereal (mix wz her milk). After a few days, then I introduced si sen brown rice cereal (same thing, mix wz her milk). She eats brown rice cereal for lunch and rice cereal for dinner. I usually would give her some water in between. Then I let her finished the remaining amt of milk after she finished her cereal. Will only introduce other food (carrot, sweet potato, fruits, etc) after she turned 6mth (1st week of Jun) cos I read to start those only when baby between 6-8mths.

missylan,
If #3 girl, I can pass you a lot of stuff (I got 2 princesses). We want to close shop liao.

CSI_fan,
Wah, your hb plans so much ahead hor. My hb prefers quiet affair, so for both kids, we din celebrate full month, 1st birthday... We usually just have dinner with parents and get a cake. Anyway, my elder girl's birthday is always very near CNY, so its reunion dinner cum birthday gathering (all of my hb's brothers' bday are in Jan, he's the only odd one out).

My bb usually does not poo everyday, but for the past week, she has been diligently pooing every morning at 7am. Yesterday, she poos 2-3 times. She was a little cranky, keep waking up from her nap after 30mins or 1hr and I had to keep carrying her. Last nite, she woke up ard 3am, then din go back to sleep after her milk. She was rolling around the bed and talking til dunno what time, she finally fell asleep herself. Today, me not enuf sleep, zombie, gonna skip housework n cooking today. This morning, she poos 2 times liao. Feeding wise, she's ok. No fever. Wondering if its teething or diarrhoea.

hehehe i'm celebrating shawn's 1yrold bday at sentosa coz my good friend getting married that day in sentosa!

shawn's doesn't like water le, he smirks his face.. so basically i am still not successful introducing water to him..

jeelo u celebrating shawn's bday on the day itself? jr got the same bday too. It's on Fri leh. Now I thinking which day to celebrate. I also wanna plan early.. but hb bo chap. Hummpf!

hen, easy, come come, i give u the receipe from first foods, ahaha! cos i had the book delivered to my office hehe

Sweet Potato Puree (makes 3/ cup)

Wash, then cut the sweet potato into medium-size pieces.
Steam for 10-15 min or until cooked through and tender.
Drain and allow the sweet potato to cool slightly. Scoop out the sweet potato flesh from the skin. Discard the skin.
Use a hand held blender or food processor to make a smooth puree.
Serve immediately.

Spinah Puree (high in calcuim, iron and zinc

Cut off and discard the spinah roots. Wash the spinach well, then drain.
Bring some water to the boil in a pot. Add the spinach and cook for 12 minutes. Drain and allow the spinach to cool.
Serve immediately.

Carrot Puree

Peel and wash the carrots, then cut them into medium-size pieces.
Steam the carrots for 10-15min, or until cooked through and tender. Drain and allow the carrots to cool slightly.
Serve immediately.