(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

Anyone tried ordering cakes from Melrose? Is the cake nice?

I now planning for my gal 1st month celebration. Wow my guest list has a total of 100 plus guests (including relatives). i'm so shocked wonder how to entertain all guests on that day.

Joanne,
I had about that number of pple during my gal's 1st month celebration last weekend. Had 2 separate sessions. Heehee...the relatives will be able to self-entertain one lah. But it was still tiring after the whole thing...

missylan,
when yr bb can do it?
mine is when he abt 2wks but cant last long...
I like to put him lay on his tummy, see when he can start crawling forward. Its also a way of stopping him to cry so much.
I quite mean hor...
So far, he can only move fr left to right still cant go forward.

Hi Joanne/ CSI Fan
I had 2 separate sessions for my no 2 full mth also cos invited ard the same no of pple.

For my bb's celebration last sunday, hb decided not to invite his colleagues. So we managed to squeeze all our friends into one session. But we miscalculated... Only catered food for the adults, didn't take into consideration that our friends' kids/ bbies are all starting to eat solids already. Total 23 kids not counted! ended up the dishes are enuff, but fried rice, noodles and drinks not sufficient. At one point, dats' more than 50 pple in my 5 rm flat. Stressed manz..

Then at the end of the day, when we were tidying my son's room (which was like a war zone that day), we found alot of broken toys. Hehe the kids must have a hell lot of fun.

Joanne,
i had my full mth cake fr Melrose... they are good. delivery on time and very presentable... taste wise... feedback was cake was ok-nice and the angku were delicious... i myself din try cus i was still confined to confinement food...

Thanks Constance & Mongs for sharing your similar experience. Why are the mothers like dat?

Something else just happened. We were all in the living room (hb, me and FIL who came by to visit his grandson,) and my mum took baby and went off to feed him in his room (sat on the floor). We always feed him in the living room (on the sofa), so why must she take him away and feed him in 'secrecy'? I really don't know what she's trying to do.

Many times I tell myself that it's my post-natal hormones at work that's why I'm sensitive. But the insensitive comments and even stranger actions as demonstrated by my mum are beyond logical explanation!

I really felt like telling her to go home. My confinement can end here and now, no need her to be here to stress me out already.

Valeriet
I think mayb cos your mum doesn't wwant your FIL to comment about her way of feeding bb. Dat's why she bring bb to his room.

when u clean bb's bottom after they poo and wee, do u just use wet wipes? Any other cheaper ways of cleaning? Find myself using a lot of wipes. Already used up 4 big packs of Pigeon wet wipes. Wonder if there's any way to save on this?

Valeriet,
I understand what u r going through. I'm also facing something similar. My Mil will carry my son the very moment he cries. Told her a few times to try to ignore him first. But she doesnt listen. I know she just cant' stand my son's crying. Will do any thing to stop the crying. My son is now so addicted to the pacifier all thanks to her too. We bought it and used it as a last resort. Initially baby rejects it. She jumps on the opportunity that we start using it and pops it into his mouth each time she carries him (not even when crying). Even if he throw out, she will squeeze it in again. I'm home alone with her most of the time cos hubby only comes back late in evening. I can't tell her off too cos afterall we still leave under the same house. This is just 2 incidents. There are too many to quote here. Just trying to close 1 eye and "ren".

eve,
i went to hougang polyclinic... all immunisation @ polyclinic no need queue up.. they got a no for u to call to arrange for appointment...

slimz,
yes, they do monthly chk up... the dr would b e one doing it...

valerit,
think they r all e same... my MIL also commented dat i didnt give enulf milk to my ger... so, gave her a bit more n my ger in e end vomit all out... den, my ger has e habit after her feeds to carry her a while b4 putting her down o she will vomit but my MIL likes to finish feeding n putting her down. resulting in vomit den she will scold my ger saying she is dirty ger...

cloverluv,
me after 1 mth+ le, still having a bit of lochia...

anyone did their pap smear yet? any idea y we gotto do this test post delivery?

my baby gal, Ezanne.....
+++ jpeg +++ 1200727 +++ 1 day old ++++++ jpeg +++ 1200741 +++ 6 day old ++++++ jpeg +++ 1200753 +++ 2 weeks old ++++++ jpeg +++ 1200785 +++ 3 weeks old +++

missylan
very steady le your kiddo

chane
yu have to click on the upload attachment button below the msg box then you select your file and upload can le.

previously when i wake up in the morning my breasts feel full...but nowadays not anymore...does it mean i'm having less supply?
and lately i also feel this stinging feeling on my breast,near the armpit when i feed my baby...any idea what is it?

jasmine,
I think it's good advice to tell your MIL that your girl should be allowed to digest the milk semi upright so it's good practice to sit her up for a while after her feed even after she has burped. that is what my CL told me and I have been doing that. sometimes, she may burp 2 times and she sleep better after that.

dinut,
ya, think likelihood is that your supply is reducing because you didn't pump out so your body is producing less since they recognise that your baby doesn't need the extra supply.
I started pumping 2 weeks ago at 7am at one breast while baby feed on the other. since the let down is there, the breast can be emptied quickly. now I switch the pumping of one breast to the 4am feed and sometimes still pump at 7am since baby will be very sleepy at both 4am and 7am feed. Now I can yield about 200ml extra a day for storage.
Maybe you want to pump when she is not drinking. can store the extra. if you want to BF for long, these extra will be useful after they wean to solids (will still need milk to mix with cereal on top of the daily milk intake) and during the growth spurts at 3 mth.

dinut,
I think the stinging feeling is the let-down that you are experiencing. if you observe that your baby is swallowing and gulping in slow rhythmic motion (not those quick suckling) after the stinging feeling, then most likely, the let-down is there and the milk is flowing rapidly. u can also observe this when you pump, though the let-down may come slower when you pump. when there is letdown while pumping, u will be able to see a few jets of milk spraying out.

Clarene at Day 1 -21 Dec 07

1201179.jpg

Clarene at Day 17 - 6 Jan 07 (her cheeks are fuller and has more flesh, their appearance change very quickly and every angle is different)

1201180.jpg

thanks mongs! will try to pump more...i was happy that few days ago got lotsa milk when i pumped then suddenly now supply seemed to diminish overnight.
mummies who have brought your dear babies for rotavirus jab...can advise what kind of reaction on baby? any fever? i'm thinking to bring baby along on a trip over CNY weekend but afraid he'll be too cranky as i plan to go for the jab on monday just before CNY.

dinut.. me did the same as mongs too.. how many days post delivery are you? I am into my 3weeks... now my milk more establish. which mean it make just enough for 3 - 4 hours feeding. and the surprise thing is , although the breast is soft, the milk is there when baby latches on. you will know if after you have feed your baby for about 20 - 30mins.. and baby is satisfied and can sleep at least for 2 hours .. means your milk is good enough for your baby.
and I agree you must pump if your baby not taking. this stimulate the brain to still produce milk at the usual timing.

deerdeer,
i'm going into my 3rd week post delivery too (2 weeks n 5 days today)...these past few days my baby has been demanding his feed very frequently,as soon as 1 hr after the last feed! is he undergoing a growth spurt? that's why i'm getting concerned as well about my supply...scared he doesn't get enough,but so far his poo n pee still ok,indicates he's getting enough.
another thing i'm also concerned about is that he doesn't nurse for very long.10 minutes is the longest he's been on one breast so far and often refuse another breast so i alternate each feed.
is it just the way he feeds (ie fast) or must him latch on for at least 20 mins each time?

actualy no time limit on the bf.. but .. should nurse on one breast for about 20mins cause the richer milk is behind.. baby need to suck longer to get the milk and this milk make them fuller.
for my baby.. once she has her fill, she will detach herself from my breast.
ya I experience this also, every hrly feed. drive me crazy. so I reckon my milk is not enough ..so I give her a little supplement.. so she is happy. I know bf mother will say do not supplement.. but I dont see anything wrong if we supplement a feed or two, it keep the baby happy for a few hours at least.. cause she is fuller, she sleep better . and we can catch some sleep and let the milk supply increase. you know what I mean?

jasmine, i be doing pap smear plus checkup this sat. Was postponed due to my lochia the other time. I guess the gynae want to do papsmear / checkup to ensure that there is no infection, womb/perineal heal properly?

yesterday my CL just left, she left in the morning, and in the afternoon, i was already in tears...cos cant stand bb crying, felt a sense of lost and scared not able to cope properly...though maid is helping out, but i really feel at a lost...i really scared i am getting into depression...my crying is non-stop. anyone hv the same experience?

pretty,
it's your hormones. I have been thru that during my first pregnancy and I know the sense of loss kind of feeling. I have that feeling for quite some time into the 2nd month. I also burst into tears very easily. it will clear up after a while. my mood began to stabilise after the 2nd mth. likelihood is also that your baby is a little fussier than normal baby. One thing is that your baby knows if you are confident or not so you must be firm when you handle the baby. if you also feel very "man zhang", your baby will also be "man zhang". be confident and remember that as mummies, we have the instinct to provide for the babies and we will do well. always remember that tomorrow will be a better day. I kept telling myself that when I was feeling down. since you have a maid, let her change baby diapers and do those minor things. you can also let her carry your baby for a while while sitting down if you trust her.
come to the forum to ask for advice and keep communicating with others. I find that because we stay at home for a long time, our mood can be affected. bring the baby out for a walk. I think that will be very good for both of you. most babies quiet down in a good environment.

dinut,
10min is really quite short but is his suction very strong? some babies after a few months, learnt the art of sucking and is fully awake when sucking, can get his fill within 10mins but for a nearly 3 weeks old baby, I think he is probably not hungry enough or has a small stomach. I dun think it's growth spurt. normally for growth spurts, babies nurse long and frequent. your baby only suck for 10mins. it's alright, u can starting "training" your baby to go for longer interval at a later stage in the 2nd mth. the training will be such that you give water bw feeds and stick to schedule for feed, such as 3 hrly. ur baby will then be trained to drink to his fill when it's feeding time. but need to make sure that your supply has stabilised and is actually sufficient for the baby.

Eve
I empathise with you. At least, my mum will not be around after my baby's full month, whereas for you, MIL's staying together. I guess we all just have to endure, endure, endure.

Thanks all for listening :)

Nepia
Can I ask if Nepia is bulky? Is it more like Mamypoko or Pampers NB in terms of thickness?

I'm thinking of ordering Nepia but worried that I won't like it and have to go through with 4 big packs.

Valeriet,
Yes.. u r lucky as yr mum will only be around for a while. Actually my MIL is a nice person. Just that the way we do things and expectations are different. Just a few days ago, I realise that the bottles that she helped me to wash are not thoroughly clean. Can still feel the oily residue in it. I wonder if she uses detergent. No choice lor... now i got to monitor every bottle that is put into the steriliser. And she puts the pacificer that was dropped onto the floor back into my baby's mouth....

Pretty,
Me too feel a bit sad every morning whenever i see my husband goes to work. And having to pacify my boy to sleep the whole day is very demoralising. He simply just want to be carried to sleep all the while. But i keep telling myself got to think positive. Hoping for the day he will be more "dong shi". At least coming to this forum helps me to relieve a bit of stress.

Are there any mummies who r intending to put their babies in infant care? What r ur opinions?

Eve
Ditto regarding oily bottles. My mum insists that there's no need to wash with detergent. She says oily better than having detergent residue. *faint* Like you, while I sometimes close one eye to it, I will try to inspect the bottles that she washes to make sure that they are at least 'passable'. So far, my baby's stomach still quite strong ... hee (I'm trying to think positive and make a joke out it it here)

tks mongs and eve..think without this website and you gals, i will go crazy...btw, any of you on total FM?? if i give 80ml of FM, she wakes up every 2-2&1/2 hours, is this consider sufficient? when should i increase more?

steffietan, my facebook address is [email protected] Annie Lim.

eve n valeriet,
though neither my mom or MIL stay with me (nt even during confinement),it's irritating enough when they're around for a visit...n nt only them,sometime my dad n FIL also join in.
their do's and don'ts are worse than when i was pregnant!

mongs,
his suction is strong and after each feed he always seems contented that's why i never worry.but now at the rate that he's going,i'm seriously considering to see a lactation consultant! especially nowadays he's always crancky in the afternoon to evening for 5-7 hrs don't know what he wants,scared got something to do with not enough BM or things like that.
i thought of giving him EBM with bottle but many say better not introduce til at least 4 wks,even 6 wks...so i'm confused!
on top of worrying about my BM,i also dun know what to do when baby's cranky and refuse to be put down...it's impossible to carry him for 7 hrs but people also say so many things...better not use sling-lah,better not use pacifier-lah...poor baby (n me!).

hi dinut, that's the problem with listening to what other people says...they really know how to talk...i was scolded by my auntie for patting bb on backside, for swinging her too much, for carrying her too much, for alot of other stuff i do...but without all these stuff that i am doing, what methods to use to stop her from being cranky and crying? tell me lah?? as if just let her cry in her cot and do nothing is the best way...really fedup with these comments...that's why i stop answering call, stop visiting them, just coop at home most of the time...people like us who are "new" mothers, have a lot to learn, either they teach us the "how-to" way, if not, stop fussing around and telling us the "not-to"...

pretty
that's true... without all these, what methods to use to stop her from being cranky and crying? Wonder if there's any professional help that we can get regarding such cranky behaviour... just like we see lactation consultant 4 bf matters.

steffietan
me too. i am still trying to figure out how to create photo album. Didn't want to ask my hubby lest he laugh at me again.

Help! My bb suddenly becomes a fussy eater.. or rather. fussy drinker! He dun like to drink his Similac milk now.. keep making noises while drinking even though he's hungry. Check his diapers no poo also. But drink my expressed bm he's ok... drinks much faster. Any idea what I can do? Have to change formula? He was ok with his Similac earlier on..
Then now my bm supply also getting low.. dunno how. Hai..

pretty,
Hmm... though I am experienced, this NB is my #2 I do felt "helpless" when my CL left. Thinking "nightmare has began", "can I cope?", "what if #2 is not as easy as my #1?", "will I lose my temper?" and so on. Think very natural lah. Very lucky that you got helper, then I got none in a new house alone with #1. Don't worry, just tell yourself that you can do it and your mother nature will kick in. =) I will nap when bb naps, if not tired I will watch TV, surf net. Try to catch a nap even for a 30mins like what I did before I log in here.

Valeriet,
Nepia is bulky YET soft. It feels airy rather than solid type of bulkiness. To me, I prefer Nepia for day use cos it suits my NB's thigh(now he is wearing size M due to his thick thighs). MP is thicker and more solid. Like when carrying NB, you will feel the MP's diaper yet Nepia is softer. Aiyoh, dunno how to describe! Night time I use Pampers cos best urine absorbent. =)

Nepia no more sale liao, just went to NTUC back to $16.90.

constance:

i just learnt tt! haa..here are e steps:

a) click on PHOTOS seen on the top left hand

b) then click on CREATE A PHOTO ALBUM on top right hand

c) NAME your album and click on CREATE ALBUM

d) do not need to install Control Active X, instead, click on TRY THE SIMPLE UPLOADER

d) start uploading ur pix!

i find tt facebook is good in a way as it is able to handle large images w/o hvg to compress them. i'm gettg addicted to it..just e photo album part at least.

hv fun!

pretty,
Since my #1 was 4th month old, my MIL came to stay with me and she will return home every Friday and come again every Monday.

Currently, MIL taking care of #1, he is easy cos he is 3 years old liao. Got a helper also assist on housechores only. Like now you are alone with maid and NB. You can go out to makan lor... at least got some time out. How I manage maid? I don't know how I manage her cos she is quite automatic. If maid is really stupid, teach so many times still forget or what, change her, don't keep on repeating cos you need the strength to take care of NB. Ah boh, later you got to take care of the maid too. You cannot take risk. You know some good agencies, they really provide programme/lessons to their maid. My previous agency like shit lah, maid come knew nuts! Maybe you can teach yr maid those basic housechores like if bb puke milk, she will need to wash off the puke immediately later then wash with other bb clothes. She will need to prepare bb's bath tub, shampoo, wash cloth for you etc. Like you can teach her what you need a helper to do. Sterilize bottles, basic hygience(cannot touch teat etc)...
Communication is important, if she is from Indo, ask her to get a Malay-English dictionary or you can surf online English-Malay dictionary. If really got communication problem, you can try to translate online.

jas,
haizzz..oni saw ur reply rdg the polyclinic jabs now.. ve oredi brot my bb 2 SBCC 4 jab tis morning...
ultra ex.. total bill = 80bucks
hepB 2nd dose = $30
consultation $45..and my PD din do the one mth assessment..was done by the nurse..
feel cheated

Today I'm a bit down
Don't know why...juz feel so sad looking at my bb's ever increasing ance on his face... bought aloe vera gel to apply but no use.. his scalp also has some yellow pus-like pimples... wonder what those are.. tempted to take him to see PD but Hubby super busy at work... come home late and always tell me he has headache... Haiz...

Next 2 weeks he has to go for reservice and my MIL is going back.. Wonder how to cope alone... pretty scared.

Think my milk supply dwindling.. I let BB latch on during day time and night only gives him once or twice FM... Then when I pump just now, only yield miserable 50ml from both breasts... somemore now one breast got block ducts..

Seriously contemplating seeing lactation consultion to help open up more 'eyes'...I read in the TMC book that each nipple has about 15 to 25 openings... yet when I pump, only see like 7 or 8 with milk flowing out...

Any advice on the 'eyes' matter? Thanks

hi phy,

me too wanna see lactation consultation cos my supply is miserable also plus the "eye" u mentioning i think mine even less than yours plus blocked ducts. Wonder if go to parentcraft or KKH leh, any mummies can advise?