(2007/11) November MTBs

tinkabel,
welcome back..
me on maternity leave but i am in the dont know what time is what already stage. my little boy wakes up so often at night. i also forgot that u are back. now Night is day and Day is night..

catch soon

Grace: Aiyo...hang in there babe. Trying feeding more for the last feed so that baby can last thru the night?

Tinkabel: Welcome back! =) Let me know if you have any plans. I've just gotten approval to work from home on Tues and Fri so maybe can squeeze in lunch with you gals. heehee.

Potty Training: Ethan is potty trained during the day. We had some difficulties cos he wasn't accustomed to the big potty, so there was one episode where he wet his pants outside cos of his refusal and we had to make him wear diapers with no pants. He was so embarassed that he wanted to learn how to sit on the "big" potty. Now my hubby and I have trained him to either sit on the big potty or stand and pee. =)

Night time control is still not possible as their bladders are not mature enough to retain the urine so they will still wet themselves. Girls may show some improvement on this vs. boys as their bladders mature earlier. For us, we will continue to wear diapers for Ethan till he wakes up with a dry diaper.

thanks michviv.

SURVEY girls...

hahah

DO you feel number 1 is more difficult or number 2 is more diffult? I am trying to see if its gender influenced..

--> me, i feel number 2 ( boy)

Hi Tinkabel, welcome back! I'm quite busy at wk recently but will try to meet up if schedule permits.

Potty Training: E has gone diaperless in the day for v.long but i think it'll take some time for him to go w/o diaper at night coz he is still on night feed when he sleeps with my MIL during wkdays. But whenever he sleeps with us, he can drop his night feed. So, i dun think he'll wake up with an empty diaper unless he totally drop his night feed.

Grace: Cant hlp u in the survey since i only have 1. But both my sis who have 1 boy & 1 gal, they both think that gals are easier. But my colig who has a boy + gal twin, the boy is definitely easier to care for, so it all depends. Gd luck ya.

Michviv, I hv tank up so much on my boy that I worry he might be overfed!! Oops.. Let's see when he can sleep thru the nite.. So far the longest record is 5hrs plus but at the wrong timing!

Tinkabel, zy is still sick but if she is well enuf to go back to cc next wk then I will try to join u gers too.

Grace, actually I think abt the same for my case but Maybe slightly more fussy during daytime.. could be cos he sleeps well at night. He can sleep fr 8pm+ thru next morning 8am+ waking up for feeds only.. my boy is a big drinker for sure so he is drinking much more than zy! Growth spurts also very early n true enuf he grows very fast n looks more like a 3mth old than a 1+ mth bb.. In fact he move liao turn here n there n fell down oredi
but nothing happens.. Phew! Shld be better after 2 mths.. Now I still hv to figure out how to stretch his feed fr 11+ thru 6am else I hv been waking up at 3-4am. Hang in there! At least u still hv a maid, now we r contemplating to move into mil place or rent since proprty px so high now or get a maid but current place not ideal for live in maid... Sigh..

lazykat,
wah so nice that he can sleep well at night. mine is opposite, fussy at nite. then of cos he got lousy nose like the father and sister so his milk intake not so good. hopefully he will grow out of it soon. oh dear abt the fall, so fast he can turn. i dont think u should move into MIL house, haha thats a nono zone for me. heehee

Cactus:Well done E! =) Going diaperless in the day is already a very significant milestone. Going diaperless at night would be very challenging even without the night feed. So for now, we are KIV-ing this for Ethan. Let him enjoy his milk as long as he can.

lazykat: 5hrs is great! hehe. ZH really looks like his Daddy! =) Evan weighed 8.3kg at 4 months. Will weigh him on National Day to see how much more weight he will put on. Ethan was 10kg at 5 months but I don't think he can beat that. haha.

Grace: To answer your survey, my 2nd one is definitely easier than 1st. But alot depends on the nature of the child. hang in there babe!

grace:: Trishelle is more difficult to handle!! Travis is my angel. Other than being naughty here and there and asking for toys, he's really good.

Trishelle is hooooorrendous! hahha! sleep also must wake up cry. go everyway must follow me. MUST HOLD HAND too. And very TEH ley! BTH sometimes! hehe but i love dressing her!

Cindy: Hmmm...u changed yr tag line? Thot u always mention Trishelle the angel and Travis the monster? No longer the same now? I think she is more girley lah, likes to teh. Cute mah, i like. (Ha...coz i dun have)

i have two boys so cant really help in the survey, but i think boys are more difficult... like my #2 sleeps a total of 2 hrs max day time, and sleeps at maybe 8.30 - 9.30pm till 6am then if i transfer him to sarong, he'll zz till 7 or 8am?

but noth my boys are like this... i never get to look panda-less... hahaha... but they are fun to be with and after 2 boys, I'm finally enjoying dressing my boys, though my hubby controls, as he doesnt want them to dress too much.

I'm leaving on 25th August. I'm so lost as to what to pack.... so many stuff... also dunno how to start. But the company has movers who will come in to do the packing. I just need to sort out what I want and dun want... sounds easy right? But it's tough for me... ahhaha..

Sorry girls, supposed to arrange for lunch but yet I have been so busy since I am back. Although on leave but still working as I have transactions going on, sigh...

Smilemum: Hahaha sounds like me when i moved to Shanghai. I tink we had about 20+ boxes when we moved there. I think if we ever moved back to sg, I think we might have 50. haaha, with all the kids' toys and our winter clothings, boots etc. definitely not looking forward to that, that's y i never shifted at all whilst in SH, else I have to pack and unpack.

Cindy: I second u. Think the girl more difficult. Always want Mummy to carry, others carry, she keep whining and pushing them away.

Grace: Hang in there. I understand what u are going through. It has been very trying for me for the past year (Shannon's turning one in another 1 week plus) with her falling sick so often during the winter months and my work getting so busy & having to juggle between 2 kids and work. Sometimes I wonder where I get the strength to carry on.

Michviv, cactus: With regards to potty training, I was proud of Matt that during our flight back, he touch down in Singapore with a dry diaper. but Daddy been bringing him out and lazy Daddy says cannot find toilet, ask him pee in diapers. As a child who is only 2-3 years old, how can he distinguish? Now I tell him go toilet, he tell me pee in diaper. I am so mad with my hubby. It took us almost one mth to train him just before we returned to Sg and now within a few days, he lost it again. He is going back to school, starting nursery after our summer vacation. I wanted him to be toilet trained already. Sigh....

Tinkabel: *Sayang* Daddies are always like that, Mummies set the rules and Daddies break the rules! But once he've done it, it shldnt be too difficult to train him again.Jia you!

Grace: Wow, yr boy is so handsome and alert at 7 weeks! Really yan dao lei! So, u're half way thru' yr ML?

Grace, Alwyn & Ash look alike in the shen qing....

*muaks*

6mths of ML!! So shiok!!!

Ueno, how is it going for you?

Cactus, E's bruise all gone liao?

catusnah,
thanks ah.. no no as per ueno, i have 22 weeks then i took some annual leave too..
going back to work early dec.
can catch up with you girls soon once baby more settled.

ueno,
he does have the boy look. but Ash also got boy look last time hahah..
how are u feeling.. all ready?? another 3 months rite..

kaye,
yah, they look quite the same when Ash was little.. will see when they grow up.
Travis and Trishelle also look so ALIKE..

K@ye: Thanks for asking. The bruise is more than 3/4 gone, surprisingly. But can still see the scratches on his face, hopefully it doesnt leave any scar. Tsk tsk tsk...

Grace: Is yr boy following Spore time or still in USA time zone? Yr helper can take care of bb/Ash? I thought Ash's eyes were bigger when she was at Alwyn's stage, no? Ya, Cindy's kids look really alike but of course in their own boy/girl look. I think yr Alw also another charmer in the making. *Whistle*

Ueno: Hw are u? Hw's Leroy doing?

catusnah,
my boy ah follow his own time. i tried gina ford but its not working still. cos he eats SMALL meals so feeds every 1.5hrs to 2 hrs. hardly last 3hrs. And mayb cos his nose is not the best, so have to do with smaller meals at the moment.
yes, helper help take care at night otherwise i will faint. i tried doing it, end up i hardly slept. Cos hor he bf, will bf 5-10mins only.

as for eyes bigger, ashlyn has rounder eyes..haha.
my charmer boy is a grumpy boy, hardly smiles. this photo i have to ah gu ah gu him and he is fully feed.

Grace,cactus n Kaye,
we r doing well! Leroy is looking forward to his didi. I'm just worried abt how is he going to cope w me staying at the hospital. Cos when I was 9 wks pregnant I had some bleeding n I stayed overnight at the hospital. Poor boy woke up n can't find mummy cried buckets n refused to goto school. Since birth we have never been apart. So worried abt how daddy n Leroy willcope during that 2-3 days.according to Edd is 12 wks left but Leroy was premature so doc told me to give myself 8 wks or less. Hope to make it to 37 wks if possible.

Grace,
I can imagine yr pain.. my boy is a milk guzzler if not surpassing his sis but finally more or less stabilizing n kinda follow GF routine. In fact we started to make him sleep thru the nite even earlier than the recommended 10 wks cos hubby n me do nite shifts till we turn purple.. Plus a sticky n sickly Zee Yann.

Ueno,
3 mths time will pass before u realize it - I think sibling rivalry will be worse to handle in time to come cos mommy attention has to be divided but it's part n parcel of their growing up phase. I am sure Leroy will be a gd gor gor eventually.

Grace: Alwyn is so cute! I hope he gets into a routine soon.

Haha...since we are sharing photos, here is one of Evan at Polliwogs. Since he can't play yet, Daddy made him pose for photos. I love his "muscles". hehe. This was at 3-4 months old I think
4372692.jpg

lazykat: How is the sibling rivalry. For me, its off and on. But for us, it really works if we shower Ethan with alot of personal attention.

Ueno: I can understand how you feel. For Ethan, he will cry buckets too when he finds me missing. But we managed the situation by telling him what to expect in advance. In the end, no tears. =)

Michviv,
i noticed that he handles situations better if I let him know in advance too. So I've been preparing him for D day. Praying that everything will go well n good luck to daddy! hee..

Hi all, been MIAing.

Grace, Alwyn looks just like you, definitely have ur nice eyes.

Michviv, I like Evan's muscle too! So power, haha!

Toilet Training:
Ash is getting lazy, she pee in the pants before telling us most times. Have to constantly ask her if she wants to pee but she will always tell us "no". However when we sit her her the potty, she will pee. When it come to big business, she will tell us immed. Such double standard!

We are bringing Ash to HK Disneyland for her BD in Nov. That girl is looking forward to it, she wants to see Buzz thr

She became a terror after I spent 1 week away fr her in July. Even the principal complained abt her temper. Dunno how to discipline her. Anyone use the cane yet?

Michviv, I wanna pinch him!! He also resembles kor kor!!

missA, i hv been using cane liao.... But i will refrain from using it too much... N when it gets too much for me, i just put her in the "dark room"...

On toilet training, mabbe u can try this with Ash. Claire has her occassional misses n i will say this to her, "Big gals dun pee in the pants and when they wet their pants. It s so shameful." n i will ask her, "Do u wanna pee in ur pants again?" She will shake her head n say, "Shame shame."

On the pee timing, sometimes Claire also dun want to pee even though she has... So, usually we will time like 30-45 mins apart n depending on how much liquid tt she has drunk.

lazykat,
i so wish Alwyn is a guzzler!!

michviv,
i also like his muscles...hopefully alwyn gets some too..heehee

missA,
thanks.. hopefully the HORRIBLE threes that is coming soon will be mild...

Michviv,
Ewan is chubby indeed ;) - yes I agree the sibling rivalry is much under control once I took back the role as main caregiver for Zee Yann, ie bathe, sleep wif her.. But sometimes if I hv to handle my fussing boy n she is not engrossed in any activity.. She may surprise me wif "I want bao bao" n I can't possibly be carrying both rite so I say let's all hug n bao bao together! And she likes to mimic bb actions so sometimes it's hard to ascertain if it's an act or really attention seeking but usually if we entertain n play along wif her she will be fine. She can be very sweet to didi by trying to pat pat him (but can't get her strength right at times n get scolded by daddy.. Ha) or wanna carry him n before she fell very sick, keep kissing didi.

MissA, k@ye,
I dunno wat to expect of terrible 3 but Zee Yann is also harder to reason n easier to melt down n we r also losing our patience wif her. I dun dare to get cane cos I am afraid we might lose it n whack too hard n regret later.. already daddy hit her butt a few times n he regretted each time

Grace,
hope yr gd days arrive soon.. We hv no helper n PIL hv to take care of niece so we r really exhausted, ESP when zee yann was sick n at home whole day for more than a wk..

lazykat,
totally agree with u that they dont know how to control their strength...my girl quite rough.

yeh, i totally understand. Ashlyn was sick just after Alwyn's 1 mth old. It was SUPER tiring.

have u decide on maid or not?

Kat, i also heartpain whenever i used the cane on her.. but no choice... actually, most of the time, i whacked the floor to give her the sound effect... :p

Actually, i see you ladies having no 2.. I also want.. but i freaked out when i tot of hiring a maid.. n my hubby not keen on moving to Bedok.. haiz.. i also the sianz..

lazykat, zh has a high forehead, will grow up very smart

it'll be hard to use cane when we're out. She drives us crazy every time she pass by the m&m slot machine and she'll insisted buying the choc. She refused to move and will cry and stick by the machine.

Grace,
he was born on 7 June, his weight was at 90th percentile at 2 mths lor.. But he is drinking lesser now so weight increase shld not be that much. Shld be still 6kg+ now

missA,
very high hor.. ESP in this pic I realize gotta wait till his hair grow longer

lazykat: ZH is so cute! Can see the resemblance with his 姐姐. I notice that he has to put up with ZY's pink car seat. haha.

The other day, I was reading a bible story to Ethan about David. I told him David is a boy and he told me "No Mummy, David is a girl!" I said "Why do you say so?" He said "Cos he is wearing pink!" haha. I had a hard time convincing him that its red and since he wears red shoes, why can't David wear red too?

k@ye: Maids can be a rather tricky issue and its like a lucky draw. But for us, we definitely can't live without one. Our helper is a god-send!

Now I'm using a new approach to discipline cos Ethan seems to accept the soft approach better and we have totally eliminated the crying. Before that, he was crying everytime he didn't get his way. Smack him also no use in decreasing the crying. Can go on for half an hour to an hour...I nearly went bonkers! Now whether he misbehaves, I tell him to stand in front of me, I will kneel down or sit down to look him in the eye and I say "I want to talk to you" and he gets the idea that its important to listen to us. But must give and take sometimes.

Michviv,
luckily ZY din put up strong protest when didi sits in "her carseat".. but she kept saying her blue booster seat is "not nice"... haha

ZY too - soft approach works better but ultimately when she doesnt get her way then we juz hv to be firm, dun give in no matter how hard they cry. After she calms down then we will reason and explain again.

Kat, he is so cute n sitting in the pink carseat!! :p

Michviv, i will first use reasoning but if it fails.. Cane will come in... Problem with Claire is she refused to tell us what s wrong... n that's her personality... Some relatives are concerned tt she might have autism.

Kaye,
why suspect autism leh? I read that some preschoolers fun verbalize their emotions ESP if they hv been told cannot hv negative feelings etc.. So I told zee yann it's normal to feel upset or angry on unhappy n now dunno real anot she willsay I am upset.... autism more like they dun make eye contacts n dun really talk - as tho in their own world n dun like to interact (but some shy kids also exhibit such behaviour ah)

Kat, coz some of her behaviour exhibit that... but i m not worried coz its her personality... but well meaning relatives are worried for me..

In Claire case, i think she rather use crying to exhibit her emotions...

Lazykat,
ZH looks so chub! Actually i find feeding boy easier, Garreth was also a milk monster and we had no probs feeding him. For Gilda, that xiao jie will only drink depending on her milk..aye..made my mil so stressed looking after her.

Here's her latest pic, she turned 4 month old just yday!

4401081.jpg

About Horrible 3, Garreth had been super naughty a couple of weeks back and I scolded and whacked him almost everyday. That was horrible and I actually broke down after I hit him once so hard. After that incident I told myself to learn to be more PATIENT and try to use love (soft approach) on him instead. So far so good, it's been a week since I scolded/beat him and I'm happier

Been awhile since I login here and last week, I can't seem to to find this Nov thread.

Saw all the little cute babies from Grace, kat, michviv and poisson! All so cute, remind me of my boy when he was a baby!

Poisson: guess it's normal. I also scolded and whacked my boy but of cos I felt upset too. Keep telling myself to be more patient. :)

Mine also sometimes refused to say what he want properly and resort to throw tantrums. I will try to stay firm and let him cry. He normally will tell me what he actually wants after he calm down.

Aiyooooooo....*Ang gu gu* all the babies here are so cute and chubby!

Grace: Let's hope yr yan dao drinks more milk at one go and stretch his feeds so u can have better rest. Jia you jia you!

Ueno: Soon it'll be yr turn.Yes, i'm sure L will make a gd brother but u've to be extra sensitive towards his feelings when didi is born since all along he has yr full attention as his sole caregiver.

K@ye: Nah, i've seen C a few times. She def doesnt look like an autism kid else she wouldnt be holding E's hand when they were at Sentosa. Hiak hiak hiak...

Lazykat: For the past few months, E also likes to pretend and behaves like a baby. But we're not sure if he is pretending to be bb so that he can ask us to carry him (coz we've been complaining that he is too heavy to be carried and he'll tell us that bb cant walk and needs to be carried). He is also drinking lotsa milk, sometimes as much as 420-480ml before he sleeps and he said bb needs milk to grow! But one thing's for sure is that he really loves babies and he is very gentle when he plays and talks to bb:)

Anger Management: E has high self esteem, he cannot take it if we scold him and ask him to apologize in front of others. Nothing gets into his mind when he feels threatened. He'll not say sorry no matter how we scold/beat him. So what we do is to leave him alone and bring him bk to what happened earlier, explain to him nicely and he willingly admit his mistake.

k@ye, Claire is def a bright girl. I'm sure se's grow up juz like you.

A has alittle incident on Monday, she climb up the bed half asleep and hit mouth againt the side of the bed. She was bleeding profusely and we realise there's a slit on her left upper lip. With so much blood, she just continue to sleep while we fuss over her. Luckily she was ok when she woke up and in high spirit as she has a school outing to watch a play. Any cream that we shd apply to make her lips heal faster?

Cactusnah,
E is so sweet... now ZY also very loving towards her bro but still gotta make sure her pat pat doesnt turn into full strength ones and kiss on arm not mouth!

MissA,
the last 2 times ZY hurt her lips n bleed, we juz wash the lips clean n din apply anything - will be ok after a few days.

Sigh... yesterday I encourage my ger to run.. n she actually tripped n toppled over the hard concrete floor!! Hurt her left cheek and right leg suffer fr abrasions too.. luckily din hurt head or anywhere else.. I juz wash and apply some cream. This morning seem better liao tho become bruised.

cactus: My Matt is different. He sometimes fight with Mei mei for toys and leave mei mei crying sometimes (btw she now self-defensed already and bite him back with her 4 little teeth). Then we always make him say sorry but after a while, he forgets again. Sigh...

Matt just started nursery at a Singapore International School. Today's his 3rd day so far. So far so good. The teacher was funny. She calls him the road-runner, cos Matt always runs and runs really fast. She said it's a gd chance to train herself up. She tried to get him to return a small toy car he took from the cupboard by saying she will give him a bigger one, he said "No, I want the small one!" It's so hilarious.

Shannon has just turned one last week. Now starting to take steps, which I think if following Matt's development, she prob would be able to walk by 13 months.

Here's a photo of my two kiddies...

4415756.jpg
4415757.jpg

Cactus & MissA, thanks...

Tinkabel, both of them 's hair are a lot n thick too! I think during summer, sure perspire alot?
*muaks*