(2007/11) November MTBs

On my way home from church, I was sharing with my hubby that a few of my forum friends had expressed decision to stop bf soon. But we don face a such decision among church friends.Most of our church friends bf for at least a year.
He concluded that there is a need for strong support for bf to last.
Actually we should feel free to ring up one another should we have any difficulty in our bf journey.

This is one channel we can help one another in our motherhood journey.

Elaine, good to poo. many people donno that the more we poo, the better. We are clearing toxic from our bodies.

Plim, don store so long. For me , I give my elder son fresh BM . I only started to clear frozen milk when it is 2 weeks old. This means I don store my milk. I give my elder son every day 3 feeds. When my frozen milk is 2 weeks old, I pump and store and give the 2 weeks frozen milk to my elder son. :p

Can check with mommies normally hw much EBM do u pump a day? I dunno if I have a lot or its normal. My little princess is 5 wks old and since day 6 onwards, I have been pumping abt 1.5l to 2l a day. After confinement, amt is reduced to 1.4l to 1.6l a day.

Right nw, my gal drinks only abt 100-120ml per feed for 8 to 9 feeds a day and I juz keep freezing the remaning. She doesn't seem to hv growth spurts yet but I jus worried if my frozen EBM is gg to be spoilt v soon coz I juz can't seem to clear off the excess stock.

Waah! this thread so active, I have to read the archives already.

Twiggy, don't be disheartened. Sometimes we have to do what's best for us and our babies. For me, I've decided to stop BFing totally. It's not the ideal decision, but it's the best (and painful) decision to me. Right now, I'm trying to gradually reduce my BM supply.

Therefore, I have these to let go.
1) Gerber Breast Therapy Warm/Cold Pack (Brand New)
2) Playtex milkbags (2 boxes)
3) Lasinoh milkbags (2 boxes)

If any of you mummies are interested, let me know before i put them up in the WTS section.

Tweetie,
You have got a lot of supply. I only pump about 800ML to 1.2L a day. Maybe cos I am lazy and pump only at 4-5 hours interval. But I dun dare to pump so much cos my boy only feeding about 100ML a feed and 8 times. and then I am going back to Shanghai. Any frozen milk then will have to be discarded. Sigh, then go over must start building up supply all over again.

Hi mummies, I am a Sep07 mummy. Am letting go a full set of lightly used Ameda Lactaline Dual Breast Pump, with a pair of new Lilypadz Breast Pad thrown in at S$200. Interested mummies, pls PM me for more details or e-mail me at [email protected]. thanks

sabrina:: how are you reducing your milk supply gradually? decreasing the no. of times u pump? u're solely doing pumping eh?

Cindy, yup, i'm reducing the number of times that i'm pumping. So now i pump 4 times a day instead of 3 hrly.. struggling with engorgement now
. Yah, i was pumping exclusively before.

sabrina:: why wanna stop BF? hehe just curious. ya, i'm not doing direct latching but so what i do is just replace one feed a day with FM. hope it works.

hi plim,
is not too late to do massage now, in fact it is more important to get a good massage therapist to help u get rid of the wind. if not, then u can try drink ginger honey, u can get it from NTUC super market.

Plim, my gal spit out all her milk almost after every loud burp. So no worries, as long as the baby is gaining weight... No cause for concern.

My baby is going to hit 2 months and yet he is drinking only about 100 ml day time and at night is even worst, he wake up cry and i'll feed him about 100 ml but he can only drink 60ml or sometimes 40 ml. Then will wake hourly to cry. Very tiring.. Any moms encounter this problem? I dunno if its because his teat is too slow thats why he suck until doze off or he not hungry at all. I'm now using Avent teat 2. Mommies using AVent bottles, what size teat are you using now?

Mrs T:: i'm still using size1 hahaha!!

i think my situation is same as yours. he will drink in batches and wake up but mine is 2hrly for night time.. hmm. day time i latch on so i dn't know how much he takes.

rast,
do u a good massage therapist to recommend?
what is the brand of the ginger honey that i can find in NTUC? in what form does this drink come in?

k@ye,
i can 'feel' that she's gaining weight... (haven't weighed her for a while but can 'feel' the weight :p )
sigh... it's so scary when i try to burp her when i'm outside... every burp i hv to be careful that she doesn't spit up on herself or me! hehe

Cindy, I'm not stopping bf immediately per say.

I actually went back to work last week to attend some year-end meetings. And I find that it's not conducive to express at my workplc. For 3 days, I had to pump in the toilet while at work only after I was seriously engorged. So last week was really terrible coz I was constantly battling with engorgement. I couldn't carry any of my kids coz of my sore breasts. My mum who is taking care of my kids is very pro BF. While i was at work, she diligently thawed and fed my baby with EBM. But i could see that lesser time was focused on my elder gal coz my mum had to feed the baby almost every 2 hours.. draining lah. Made me think again if this is what i really want when i start work fully in a few weeks time...

So now, I have stop pumping at 3hrly interval.. dragging it to only 4 times a day. I will try to feed my baby with whatever amt of BM i can afford to express for the sake of providing whatever antibodies she needs. Have started my baby on FM... sad lor coz my bm supply quite ok. giving it another mth or 2 before i completely stop.

yah sabrina,
agree with in a sense. the task of having to pump milk at work sometimes just don't work. What if u have an urgent meeting to attend or a meeting that drags or u go out to a client's place? Engorgment will always be on your mind. Last Sat, I packed everything to go my mum's place for the day. guess what. I forgot the most impt thing. the adaptor for my electronic pump. Latching can't clear all the milk. in the end, I had to go home to my IL's place to fetch it again. Haiz... So troublesome. then go out, cannot go too long, breast will be damn pain...

yes i agree with you sabrina and tinkabel. it's really tiring and sian to have ROCKS. can't shop too long, can't this ca't that. very restrictive. big sacrifice on our part.
i'm also a little sad cause bm supply is okay but nevertheless, still must stop. HAah. yes i am also giving it another 1 to 2 months for it to completely stop BM.

Mrs T, dun worry my gal at 7 weeks now also dun take more than 100ml when i give her EBM. i m using Avent btl but becos for BF bb, they recommend to use #1 teat so tt the flow nt too fast and they willing to transit betwn latching and btl. if u feeding FM or only btl feed, no latch i think u can proceed to #2 teat if ur bb seems impatient becos of the flow. aft 3rd mth can jus buy variable flow teat so tt u dun have to keep buying teats.

Cindy,tinkabel,sabrina,me too agree totally with the 'inconvenience' or rather restrictions of BF be it btl or latch. we constantly have to deal with engorgement if we have the supply. unlike when i had my son, i NEVER had engorgement, but that equals to me nt having much SS. so have bM also worry, not enough BM also worry...sigh...

I guess these are the BIG sacrifices for choosing to continue to BF. we have to be 'watching the clock' and time ourselves to be hm to pump/ feedif we go out without bb. or we hv to lug pumps outside when we shop. otherwise the best alternative is to be hm mostly and nurse bb.

Although with so much inconvenience, i guess i will still try to hang on till my last drop of ss...or when my ss really dwindle alot till it doesnt justify the time to pump them out...

Hi Mrs T and Cindy, Just to let you know, My boy is also like that, worse he does it during the day sometimes as well, sometimes, 80 or 60ml. then wakes 2-2.5hrs later feeling hungry sigh... Dunno when this routine will stop. He just passed 7 wks.

<font size="+2"><font color="ff6000">H</font></font><font size="+2"><font color="0000ff">A</font></font><font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">P</font></font><font size="+2"><font color="119911">P</font></font><font size="+2"><font color="aa00aa">Y</font></font> <font size="+2"><font color="ff6000">N</font></font><font size="+2"><font color="0000ff">E</font></font><font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">W</font></font> <font size="+2"><font color="119911">Y</font></font><font size="+2"><font color="aa00aa">E</font></font><font size="+2"><font color="ff6000">A</font></font><font size="+2"><font color="0000ff">R</font></font> <font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">!</font></font><font size="+2"><font color="119911">!</font></font><font size="+2"><font color="aa00aa">!</font></font> TO ALL THE MUMMIES AND BABIES HERE!!! Hope everyone have a HEALTHY, WEALTHY and HAPPY 2008!!!

today bb gabrielle is crappy again... after shower had 2oz of FM then play on her own frm 7 pluz to 11am then another feed of EBM of 3 n 1/2oz then cant get to slp... she seemed tired but din get to slp... even the 3pm feed she onli drank 1 n 1/2 oz of FM and still din get to slp till she drank 4oz of EBM at 5pm n managed to slp... wonder wat time will she wake up later... she is one of those who is hard to b awake once slp n hard to get her to slp...
my relative who lived near door make a remark that the way i handle her slping n feeding is haywire... make mi depress... i tried to wake her up for feed but she dun wake up wan... soooo depresss... i felt like im not a gd mum...
then she kept wnaing mi to put her on sarong to slp which i dun like n she said i stubbon... she said itz bb preference nt mine... haiz...

Elaine,
Dun say that you're not a good mum, we're all not perfect and are here learning to be good mums. My boy is quite a headache lately too, previously he will sleep from 7pm to 10pm then wake up for milk and then sleep till abt 3am for his other feed, but for these 2 nights, his routine suddenly changed and he will start to get cranky from 7pm till 10pm and hubby and I have to take turns to coax him (cuddle, rock in our hands, pat him, etc..) then he will get into deep sleep. It's always a challenge to put him to sleep and we feel kinda phobic towards his cries but have to keep on reminding ourselves that this is just a passing phase and will be over soon.

Just wanna tell you that you're not alone, so hang on there and cheer up ok!

Hi Elaine,

Yes.. it could be just a passing phase. SOme old people will tell you it's like that they get cranky at certain time of the day.. so just hang on there.

Actually, if your baby's weight is fine, and growing well, there is no need to wake her up for milk in middle of the night if she is sound asleep though it could be her milk time. According to PD, they claimed that sleep is better than milk for baby (referring to night time). Sleep is more impt. But tis is provided that the baby is growing well and weight is fine.

Cheer up.

HAPPY 2008 TO ALL MUMMIES.

Olive, I used it during my first preganancy. Stop using it now because I don have a microwave.
I find it useful because simply put in microwave for 15s and u can put it on your breast to open up the ducts. It is hassle free.

Gals, anyone bought the organic mothermilk tea?
Does it taste good?
I recalled there was a spree on some mother milk tea by S@L?
I bought a box just now. Not sure whether good or not.

I feel very sianz because 8 weeks had passed.Going back to work soon!
I am really afraid not able to cope with office workload, 2 children etc.
Anyone gone back to work and struggling?

dokie,
I am drinking Mother's milk tea from S@L spree. It taste good (peppermint, as I like peppermint). I prefer drinking it than taking Fenugreek capsule. However, I don't find it helpful though. My ss still low
but I have learned to take it easy and be a happy mum. Feed whatever I have to baby

HAPPY NEW YEAR to all mummies and babies. Hope all babies are healthy and "guai guai" in year 2008 and mummies can successfully slim down to pre-pregnancy figure (is that great ? )

hi, it's been a long night. My bb woke up quite a number of times for feeds during the night, that I am so zonked out. I have been feeding Matt 100ML of BM since he is 1 mth old, now close to 7 weeks. He takes 100ML every 2-4 hrs in the day, depending on whether he is asleep or not. Then in the night, he only wakes up once for a feed, usually night feed can last 3-5 hrs. But yesterday afternn onwards, he's been feeding almost every 2 hrs even though he is sleeping. He actually woke up 2am, 4am and 6am for feeds. Gosh, I am so tired. Wonder is this the growth spurts we are talking abt? But it comes so suddenly without warning. Anyone can advise?

Happy 2008!

Dokie, i m going back to work in the mid of this month! I m also feeling a bit stressed... Dunno whether i can cope also! But, yours is more challenging, with 2 kids in tow!

Hi Tinkabel,

My fren used to feed her son 90ml 2hourly when he was 1 month old. Her PD advised her to give 120ml at 3hourly instead.

Would it help if you increase his milk slightly? with that maybe he can tahan longer and you dont have to be so tired to be feeding so often? Of course provided he can finish all the milk at 3 hourly interval.

happy new year mommies!!

i wish you all the best in career and family and everything!! muacks.

Hope all the bbies will be guai guai ting hua!!

dokie:: i'm still doing duty!!! SIGH!!!

Tinkabel,
My boy is already drinking 150ml, maybe you should also increase Matt's intake (since our boys share the same birthdate)? Also notice that my boy is experiencing growth spurt too, cos' usually with 150ml, it can last him a good 3 to 4 hrs, but since yday, it only last him for 2 to 2.5hrs. I dun wish to overfeed him, so sometimes will just feed him with water first. Btw, have you booked Matt's next appt (3rd month's jab)? It's in Feb but I have yet to decide the date.

pig07, poissons,
yah Already increased his intake today but just dun want to overfeed him cos he seems to get chubbier, even though always hungry. Also, at th 1st mth, he actually put on abt 1.5 kg as opposed to the average 1 kg that babies put on on a monthly basis. So I didn't want to increase his intake too fast. But the growth spurt come so suddenly without warning. I just got up from a nap, and again awoken by bb cos need to feed. So zonked out from yesterday, cos matt's routine was pretty ok last few weeks and only needed to wake up once a night for feed, then suddenly yesterday nite woke up so many times.

As for the PD appt, I fixed it on 12 Feb 905AM. Cos we are leaving back to SH on 18 Feb. Sigh... So fast, by then Matt's already 3 months and I have been back in Singapore for 4 months already. Time flies... Now got to start to get ready his stuff in SH.

dokie, pig07, SuperHappyMum
I am going back to work tomolo!! took 8 weeks first and spread out the last 4 weeks over half a yr....been handling some works from home actually...lucky my mum is taking care my bb so i dont have much worry...

Superhappymum, noted. Anyway I bought it with the intention of taking it as an alternative beverage. I am glad is peppermint because I like peppermint too.

K@ye, sianz, New year bomb by my boss. my leave until 18th Feb has been rejected. I have to return on 28th Jan which is very very soon.
I havent step into the gym yet. Still round round...then have to spend time with my children.
I better seize every moment from now on.

Cindy, i tot u following gina's book?

winwin, I also took 8 weeks but my last 4 weeks I had kept it for future use because I need to utilise my leave first.
Since kena recalled back early, I will go for vacation in april/may 08 to motivate myself to return on 28th Jan

Just returned from east coast park. I put my baby in a sling. even though he is in the sling, I am dead tired now.

dokie:: i am trying to follow but he still wakes up 2 hourly at night! don't know why! sighs... u rest well lahs.

Hi Olive, Pig07,
Sorry to hear you're having the dreaded blocked ducts and engorgement too.
I plan to continue for as long as I can. I'm now pumping every 5 hours instead of 4 so it's less tiring and I can sleep a little bit more. I pump about 180-200 ml each time and it's just enough for baby but I do give him one formula feed for the last feed at night. Hoping I can continue this for as long as possible. As someone said, it's quite "sian" to have to time everything you do according to "pumping intervals". Like now, I have to make sure I rush home for my pumping times otherwise I get engorgement and very hard to get the milk out.

Olivetree,
I'm also using the Ameda and it doesnt help very much now. Wondering if it's the pump. Are you thinking of trying another pump?

Sabrina,
How do you gradually stop milk supply pls? Do you still empty your breasts at every pump?

Dokie,
You are very rihgt that BFing mums need emotional support. It's very hard to continue with support from family and friends, and like in my case, this forum.

Anyone knows if we can see any doctor for breast problems like mastitis / blocked ducts / or must see gyne?

how to increase the feed ino order that bb can slp longer at nite... currently feeding on 90ml then but gave her 110ml but she wun b able to finish... shez too hard to noe,... duno wat she wan...

Hi Twiggy,

the mum having blocked ducts and engorgement is not me.

Sorry if i have confused you in any way.

Hi Tinkabel,

Oh ok, right now I m deciding if I should reduce the frequency I pump as I pump abt 5 times a day at 4 hr interval.

Sigh, gg bk to work soon in Feb and if bb takes so little, I might juz gradually reduce my frequency to 4 times coz I dun tink my EBM can last so long. Hv been storing abt 100 packs for the past 5 wks.

Hubby juz bought a freezer solely for storing EBM, so nw for 1/1/08 batch, can store for up to 6mths.

Ya, I agree its so tiring to pump n i feel so drained from pumping everytime, sometimes juz feel so depressed coz no more freedom.

Dokie, originally my boss wanted me to go back to work in Dec but my colleagues stopped her from doing that.

I wanted to reserve my last 4 weeks of leave but knowing the bad habits of my boss &amp; co. I got no choice but take them all in order to prevent them from being "eaten" up.

Poissons, wow ur bb is taking alot considering he is born much later than my Mischa. IMO, its difficult to'force' bb to drink more so tt they can sleep longer. I make it a point to feed Mischa EBM every night before sleep so tt i 'know' how much she is taking and hope it can last her thru the night. currently she is only taking 80-100ml thru btl and cannot take in anymore cos i tried. i top up another 1-2oz or latch her with my full breasts, the min she finishes, will throw up the 'top up feed'. its like the 100ml already reach her brim....hahaha...he still wakes in the night sometimes for 2-3 times but goes bk to sleep right aftr so im still ok.

Dokie, u still wake to pump milk in the night? i dun le.,,,very lazy cos each time i finish feeding her cant wait to fall bk onto my pillow, totally no energy/mood to pump the milk out, so usaully i will be very engorged when i wake up or aft the last midnight feed. I wonder if this will cause supply to dip soon?

Superhappymum/dokie, ya me too find the tea nice. i take it as a aftnoon tea when i feel like having something hot cos quite sick of milo all the time. actually i do find the tea useful. its probably good for maintaing supply, rather than improving supply.

plim,
where is ur work place? i bought it at tanjong pagar NTUC.
my massage therapist i find her not bad, but the price is quite high($70per session). i did mention about her massage service in the previous thread, she is the one that massage my tummy and the water jus come out from my tummy. beside that, she also help me to loosen all my fingers, cos during pregnacy my fingers r very tense and stiff.
usually after the massage she will give u jamu pills to take too.

rast,
my workplace is in yishun... far away from tanjong pagar... u hv the brand of the ginger honey that u bought? shld b avail in all NTUCs right? it comes in like a drink on it's own or need to make with water one?

oh, ya, i rem. u mentioned abt water coming out from ur tummy... hehe... so u find her massage effective? can u pm me her details? dun mind paying $70 if it is helpful...

plim,
i will continue her massage service after my 10 session post-natal package, cos i find her really not bad. but this time i will sign the slimming and shaping package hee...cos i very vain mah.