(2007/11) November MTBs

sabrina,
my elder gal is also very choosy in food, i gave up cooking for her on weekends as majority end u in the dustbin!
Only my mother manage to feed her porridge (1 time a day) on weekdays...
other times she survive on milk (NAN and Pediasure)...

plim:: according to the bag's instructions it says can up to 4 hrs. but i also find that it cannot keep cold things cold or hot things hot as it claimed. wonder if we should use those heat/ice packs? put inside the bag?

Plim, the Avent cooler bag is nt good enough. i think at most 2hrs. did u put the blue gel pk inside? if no then should last only 2 hrs.problem is the Avent bag is so slim, dun think can fit the gel pk.i using FTG. suppose to be good for 8hrs..but the sales person said depends on weather (in car, outdoors etc) maybe abt 6hrs only.

sometimes i think bk quite troublesome to BF if nt doing latching...either have to rush home to pump and feed or have to bring lotsa barang, ice pk, btl, pump etc...hiaz...i really hope i can still latch when time comes..

cindy, S@L,
yes, i put in the blue gel pack (2 of them) with the bottle... but just that after 1+, 2 hrs, it din felt as cold as i tot it shld be...

was telling my hb abt FTG, he said mayb better to get FTG as that one can prob last longer hours... anyone knows if getting directly from the shops is cheaper or there are some offers for FTG going on somewhere?

S@L,
ya lor, latching straight wld be best, but i hv never successfully latch both my gals and wld find it quite awkward to do so (in public), even if i am able to do so... hehe... so far still ok with pumping, just that hv to lug all the barang barang ard... that's why i'm getting a manual pump to serve me for those times when i'm outside for longer period of times but dun wan to miss any pumping session...

oh, also, if i put outside, and i put the EBM in the FTG or avent bag, when i go home, can i still freeze the EBM that i pumped? or it shld be consumed within 48 hrs?

Re:Advent teats.
i've recently switched my gal to size 2 as she takes ages finishing up her 100mls FM using size 1.
Realised that with size 2, she cut down half the time gulping down her milk. however, the side effect is that it seems there will be lots of bubbles during consumption and at the end of the feed, the bottle is covered (almost 1 quarter) with foam... wondering if this is normal?
can any1 advise??

my bb gal just hit 4kg leh, even smaller size that most of your babies.

Sabrina

Its just a top, not skirt. I'm using cloth diaper at home and that's the wrap for the diaper.

S@L, yes, I'm interested in leapfrog books too.

S@L,

Lifes better now on total FM my gal sleeps better she can sleep from 9pm to 9am in between she will wake up for milk (11pm,3am,7am) then go back n sleep again. So i can have my beauty sleep oso. N daytime i have more energy to attend to my son.

plim:: freeze must be those pumped out fresh ones, if i am not wrong. hehe

s@l:: yes doing total BF is really troublesome if not doing direct latching. yesterday i went out for 4 hours and already feel like rocks. -.-

kittybride:: those bubbles, i also have even when i use size 1 ley. i think that's the way with bottle feeding.

Oh mummies, you all still wearing mittens and booties for your bb?

Cindy,

i stopped letting her wear mittens when she's 1mth old. cos she will put her mittens in her mouth then rub her face in e end will cause her face to have pimples. She not wearing anymore her face very clear n smooth.

rast: me too...

adeline:: me still wearing ley, cause he will rub his hands all over his face and will have red marks all over. So scared he'll scratch his face. So still wearing. sighs.

hi cindy,

thx for info, at least now i'm not so worried liao.

Re: Mittens & Botties
yup, still wearing them for BB coz her nails grow very fast and lately she likes to scratch her face a lot when sleeping or drinking...

RE: Heat rash
my bb seems to have tonnes of heat rash across her brows and quite a few on her cheeks... have cleaned them with warm water few times a day yet it has not subsided. the other time i used the prickly heat ointment, end up it was a tad too strong, my bb's skin was super dry and coarse like... now yet clear up n a bit rough. so sad!
any other soltions?

RE: Clearing BB's nose
any1 have any idea how to clean the dried up discharge from BB's nose? i dun wan2 use the cotton bud coz it seems to be pushing the dried mucus even further... how to clear??

hehe kittybride:: Re nose:: i use cottonbuds. that's only when i really SEE somethings that's just at the brim of the nose. if not i will just leave it and bear with the 'noise' when he breathes. Cause i also don't want to push the things further. but what i saw my gynae do was to turn the cottonbud, the 'stuffs' gets stuck to the cotton bud very easily! guess it comes with experience. haha.

kittybride,
i use pincers bought from Pigeon. but u need practice for this.

Gemini19/ sabrina, can u give me the orders by 4pm? i need to order today cost stocks running low. base on 1.5 for exchange rate first will adjus when bill comes. email me ok?

Hi Plim and mummies,

regarding cooler packs.

I am using avent bottles etc. however has the Medela ice pack from my sis. I realised the avent one is just too small and cant keep the bottles cold in the cooler bag.

i am using medela carrier bag and medela ice packs but avent bottles and VIA cups. the medela ice packs looked more 'solid'... and bigger than the avent ones and of course can keep the EBM cold though i might have bring out the milk for more than 3 hours.

The avent slim carrier i havent really tried it though i have that. i tink i wil probably use it to transport milk for immediate consumption type. or as a sling bag for bottles. not so much cooler or warmer bag. too small for the ice packs etc.

Kittybride, its normal to have the bubbles when u changed the teats size from a smaller hole to a bigger one coz the flow will be faster and if the baby suck faster... The air bubbles will be even more.

Hi Lazykat, plim,

My baby is now only 3.65 kg at 1 mth old. He's put on exactly 1kg from birth weight. Dr seems quite happy w his weight gain. But compared to the other babies here like very little.

S@L,
Thanks for explaining how to nurse in public. Hopefully I can switch to that soon so no need to lug bottles of EBM around.

Which FTG is most suitable for carrying EBM for extended periods pls?

kittybride,
i used small size pigeon teat for my bb, i dun see bubble lei..but i checked the packing it stated small size for bb 2-3mths or under and medium size for 2-3mths to 7mths. but i only see a bit of bubble appeared on the teat that is only when he almost finished his milk.

hi all mummies, have u all start taking cold drinks? i'm asking this cos this sunday i'm going to attend a christmas party and they only serve cold drinks.

S@L,
Can i check if u whether the LittleTouch™ LeapPad® Learning System operates on battery? U will also need separate cartridges for different stories is it? I have never come across this item so very blur.. hehe

RE: Bubbles with larger teats
mommies, thx to all for your feedback.
by the way, for those using avent teats, are we suppose to change the size every month?

Eg, now my gal is almost 6wks liao, so switched to size 2. So when she's going into her 3rd month, I hv to switch to size 3, rite? Sori, FTM a bit blur...

RE: Clear BB's Nose,
Cindy: mayb i will try wif cotton bud... the other day i use the corner of her hankie to 'dig' out those near the rim. can see a lot inside but too deep liao, can't do anything.

i pity my gal coz at nite can hear her 'snoring' and weird noises; n she kept using her hands to rub her face & nose, like she having a hard time breathing like dat... poor thg!!!

Twiggy,
dun worry abt BB's wt; my gal oso very small & feather-wt type; she's 3.8kg during last chk up (a wk ago). So long BB's drinking enuf and growing n PD's ok, then shd be ok liao

Beloved Daughter,

I heard from another mommy to use Guiness Stout to bath BB so that BB will grow up 'stronger' lor. Din knw can use it to clear heat rash oso... wat exactly ur CL said abt it ah?

I thk i need to bath my BB with stout liao coz she really timid, every bath time cry cry cry... and she know very well when bath time coming; once we take off her clothes, she started to frown liao.. then start her crying engine... sigh, very pek chek sometimes!

Twiggy, i m using the 2-can capacity for the FTG cos its small enough for my use. there are many models u can choose from. u can go to Vivo selfix store for the entire collection except Pigeon FTG.

Ueno, yes i think it operates on battery. i jus submitted my orders cos already reached the max amt to avoid GST. if the orders goes thru (cos is my 1st time ordering) then i prob will organise another spree then inform u ok?

One of Nov mum mentioned about red & itchy rashes on her tummy. May I know what to apply ?
Rash appears on my tummy (on top of the stretch mark and protruding out) 2 days ago. It's very itchy. I have seen GP today and he gives me cream to apply. However, it has no improvement on me.

hi all mommies...

how many of you are 2nd time moms? I have a 18 mths old 'baby' and a 7 wks old newborn.. hehe.. so tough now my little one only want to carry to sleep, will cry until whole face red red if i put him down. Sometimes he wake up hourly to feed at night. feel so tired... wake up early still have to entertain my cranky big boy who also refuse to eat much these days... How did you all cope huh? Feel so exhausted and feel like long time never see the world liao, stuck inside here....

i just realise my baby is a super big eater
someone wrote this before... kg x 120ml = ml required per day
my baby is 4.88kg at 1 mth old exactly (tat's exactly 1 week ago)
4.88kg x 120ml = ard 600ml
my baby takes 100ml every 2 hrs... even at night!
so tat's (12 x 100=) 1200ml ... tat's double his expected drinking volume!

can mummies pls share with me me how u make ur babies sleep longer at night? or even thru the nite? i still have to wake up every 2 hrs to feed my baby... so tired!

catherine:
my boy also takes 100ML. If he sleeps and sound asleep, can last 3-4 plus hours. Got one night, lasted him almost 6 hrs (I was so amazed and happy). If he doesn't sleep, he gets hungry ard 2hrs. Apparently, my friends (who are mothers) say he is feeding quite a lot for a 5 weeks old baby. But I thought this is normal. There are some bb here feeding 120ML right?

Oh, and the sleeping position. Not sure if you tried laying him down on his tummy. My boy sleeps better and longer this way. But do start this only in the day where there are adults to check on him.

S@L:
I finally succeeded in the order. Think leapfrog website doesn't accept Amex. Took my UOB master instead. Still sending it to cgw. Hopefully everything wil go through.

Re: freezing BM
Anyone using the special containers dokie has discussed earlier? I want to start freezing soon. Any recommendations or feedback?

Hi Rast,

i just ended my 32 day confinement last saturday.in fact during confinement i have been taking cold drinks occassionally. like coke, orange juice. i personally feel it has no side effect on me (yet).. but not too sure if it's going to affect the quality of BM.

rast, after i ended my confinement (28 days), already started taking cold drinks liao... shldn't be a problem if u think ur body can take it bah...

hi pig07,
i tot during confinement we r not suppose to take cold drinks? i'm now 50days from the day of delivery, i wonder is it ok to take cold drinks from now.

tinkabel,
u refering to the milk trays dokie mentioned previously? i actually bought the milk tray from dokie also... personally, after trying out i find it too much of a hassle for taking out the sticks and putting them into a ziploc bag but it does give good one once sticks serving...
i have used it once and decided to give up using it...

now i'm using milk bags to store the milk, to me i find it much more convenient and easy to handle...

Mrs T,
I guess you're not the only one experiencing it. My 21 mth old DD also refuses to eat. Give her good n delicious porridge also refuse to open her mouth. As if there's gold inside her mouth!! I've given up forcing her to eat. Now i let her eat whatever she wants, whenever she wants as long as she takes her milk. That's most important!

My baby too needs to be carried before falling asleep. And she will cry her heads off before falling into her slumber. Is it the "trend" of babies nowadays coz it seems that almost every other mummy is having the same problem? What i'm worried now is when i return to work in a mth's time....

rast,
I do take cold stuff sometimes like fruit juices, cordial drinks and ice-cream
. But i realise when i take cold things my tummy seems bloated unlike when i take hot drinks.

Just want to rant...

Re: Breast milk quality
Sometimes i don't understand the elders. It's seemed so difficult to appease them especially when it comes to breastfeeding...What do they want from us? As if we, as mothers, never tired our best.
I'm feeling kind of #@#$%^!! with my MIL. She always has something to comment abt me breastfeeding my baby and it has never been encouraging from Day 1.At first, when my baby always seemed hungry, she blamed it on the amount of BM that i produced. "Not enough!" After showing the amount that i can pump out at one sitting and proving her wrong, now she blames it on the quality of my BM, saying it's "too watery" and that's why my baby always wants feeding.

Hello! Haven't she heard of growth spurts and a big eater baby???? @#$%^&!!!!
kao_angry.gif

This is the kind of things that gets you down and start doubting whether what you're doing is right...

Catherine,
The calculation is for FM intake. Not BM. BM is much more easily digestible so not surprising tha the volume intake will be much more.

catherine:: my boy will usuallly know how to take much more at the last feed to last him longer. like last night, he'll feed for pretty long, around 8 all the way to 10, on and off, and then he'll sleep and the next time he woke up was at 2am. after that he wakes up every 2 hourly. hahah but at least got some beauty sleep from 10 to 2. So maybe you can try to give you bb a little more to last him longer? mine was direct latching so i don't know how much he took.

tinkabel and s@l:: do let me know if you all ordering any more things from leapfrog! i want! hahas.

Sabrina, what u mentioned sounds too familiar to me. I blamed my failure to do TBF partly on my MIL & mum when i had my son. the comments were exactly the same. being a 1st time mum i believed what they said n supplemented fM thihnkin i really had no milk. that lessen the demand for milk cos bb is satisfied aft FM..thus BM ss dwindled.

Second time preg, i made it very clear to my mum i m determined to BF so asked her to keep her comments to herslf. As for MIL, she dare nt comment aft she saw the amt i could pump out. sometimes Mischa will demand for milk every 1-1.5hr n my mum will say " she is still hungry la, the BM not enough'. I will jus shoot bk that 'yes, cos BM is easily digested thus hv to feed more-period'.I hv come to a pt whereby ignorant ppl who comment on my BM i wil shoot bk cos they duuno the hard work tt BF mummies but in.

S@L,
No prob, it's not urgent..I juz thot the postman ran away with my Desitin cream..hehe.

Catherine,
I think the tips Tinkabel shared were very good. I feed my boy 120ml in the day and 130ml in the night and it do last him longer. I also let him sleep tummy down during the day and night and he can sleep thru between 3 to 4 hrs after feed, compared to last time where he wakes up every 2hourly.

Sigh..now that I have to handle the boy alone, I realise that my milk supply has decreased! SO sad..

poissons:
Good to hear that my tips work for your boy too. As for the milk supply, if your hubby is around, get him to take care of your bb, so that you can express milk in peace. Stress can affect the amount of milk supply also.

Cindy:
Sure. Let me make sure this shipment goes through 1st, then I can take orders for another spree. My sis thinks I am super free. But then I tell her, although I am very bz taking care of bb, I need some sanity time, and shopping helps. but now cannot go shopping, so have to do online shopping.

plim:
Yah I am thinking of freezing the milk into cubes. But like you say, really too much work. But the milk bags are going to cost quite a bit in the long run. Sigh, no best answer. I will try the cubes method 1st.

Re: Clearing dirt in nose
I use the baby size cotton bud and soften it by wetting it. Then usually helps to stick the dirt out. So far so good. I dont do it every day, just when I see quite a bit, just in case, too much digging will hurt bb.

Hi, anyone of u here are followers of the Gina Ford method? a few of my frens swear by it and urge me to read the book and give it a try. I m quite an anti-routine person and didnt enforce any routine for my son. But i m seriously considering a routine for Mischa especially since she feeds on demand sometimes.