(2007/11) November MTBs

Sal,
Haha..for me, I think i chose 2 pics without my face cos' I think my tummy looks better (sexy and glossy..haha!)than my face. I think each pregnancy is diff, so will keep the pic to remind myself that is the tummy when having no.1, then if no. 2 comes by, go take again, maybe can spot the difference :p Ermm..no la..I'm not desperate to have no. 2 yet..juz a thought only..keke.

Kaye:: think we must back 2 pajamas in, bedroom slippers, socks (for use in delivery room in case feet gets cold), maternity pads, nursing bras, nursing pads, undies, some basic toiletries and the clothes you are going to wear home hahaha.

Was thinking, the undies, can we bring disposable ones? Hmmm. so if any stain then can just throw, cause the hospital course told me to pack cotton undies.

ya the loopy pads, i don't feel safe wearing it ahhahah!!

have u girls bought the cupboards for your baby's room? there is a beautiful cupboard in ikea alexandra ASif section going at S$200 instead of $339. its not a display piece lah, but the drawer colour inside at the bottom is brown instead of white. anyway since its inside, nobody can see.

this is the link to the cupboard. its PINK.. so mummies with girls, take a look. i wanted to buy but i already have my cupboard..

http://ikeaeu2.ecweb.is/08/MSG/
pg79, under the Mammut series..the pink cupboard at the bottom.

its just sooo cute....

Poissons, wah u know only aft the shoot when i looked at the pics then i realise i have some stretch marks...at home cant really see cos of the angle and lighting....i felt so shocked!

Did u ask Maryann to touch up the linea negra? i did cos wan to keep a 'perfect' image of a preggy tummy..hahah..she did say tt some prefer not to touch up cos they feel its more natural...

Mummies, how many sets of bedding do we need to buy? I got two so far, is it enough or do we require more in case more changes needed?

S@L,
i also have stretch marks lah.. no matter how faithfully i applied the oil everday twice.. it still appeared..sigh sigh...

twiggy, i have 4 sets of bedsheets. i will put a piece of waterproof protector underneath the bedsheet...

went for my check up this morning.
BB wt is about 1.6kg @ 33wks... i feel is more on the under-wt range though doc says still still ok; n BB wt will 'bloom' once i pass the 35wks. hopefully it really happens lor, HB kept nagging i not eating enuf nutritious food... admit i seldom drink tonic or chicken essence (yucky smell!) thk no choice have to buck up liao.

and my placenta prob still persist, nw is 8mm from opening, which she said is consider high risk and even suggest is best if i be admitted today and rest till delivery! wah piang... i told her not possible... (cos hor, my work yet hand over, my bb room yet done, hospital bag yet pack bb clothes yet wash, etc etc etc...)

will go back for check up 2 wks later; if no improvement, i will hv to be prepared should any time there's a single sign of bloody show - i hv to go immediately for C-Sect. a bit sad lah, coz was hoping for natural birth...

despite all these, the one and only thg that keep me feeling happy is to be able to see my BB's face in 4D today!! she was smiling and even winking! looks very much like daddy; with chubby cheeks, round chin, big mouth (mommy's got tiny mouth, kee kee) and unfortunately daddy's big nose! wahaha... :p

now back home, got some of the bb stuffs delivered. started to wash 1st batch of BB clothings liao. this evening will have to pack my hospital bag, and get my HB to set up BB's bed liao!

oh ya, congrats to Alicia & bb boy! wonder who's next!

Cindy, thanks for the packing list!

My Mum just called me today. She went back to her hometown in Msia to buy a special type of ginger for my confinement. And she has many advisors there...

Her advisors told her that for our confinement, we dun have to buy the special herbs for bathing and that we can just used ginger boiled water to bath.

Also, her advisors told her that its common for newborns to have jaundice after 2-3 days. It has nothing to do with us mummies....
And her advisors even told her to buy a special herbs for the newborn to be used in the bathing water!

Kitty, dun worry too much abt your work... Work is never ending! I m sure your colleagues and bosses will get it done one!

kaye,
actually for bathing, can also use dried pomelo skin and lemongrass boiled in water. i thot it will be quite a hassle, so bought the da feng cao instead.

Sal,
Nope, I didn't ask Maryann to touch up my linea negra, cos' mine not very obvious, faint line only..juz abit hairy :p Told her to touch up my eye bags instead..haha.

so happy for Alicia... thank god mother and baby both are fine

I just went for checkup at TMC today on baby's blood flow. I was relieved the blood flow was ok. My boy was kicking and kicking during the scan... the lady commented that my baby still very active... i told her maybe still a lot of space for him to move about lor. haha
The only thing is that my placenta is still low.

Guess its my hubby gene... small baby. as long as he is healthy that's all i ask for

i tot we aint suppose to bath during Confinement?
it's after 1 week then we can bath right?

Hiya ladies,

I've just got my computer back after getting it fixed!! Having withdrawel symptoms from lack of internet access!! Can't believe I am soo dependant on the internet nowadays!!

I went for my 34wk gynea check up and found out I have an infection called Lancefield Group B Streptococcus. It is some kind of bacterial infection in the vaginal area. My gynea has told me that I will need a course of antibiotics and then I will have to be induced. That means that I will be having my baby at 37wks. It is quite worrying because I've read up on this and it can lead to all sort of illness on the newborn if you are still infected during delivery. Group B is the most common strain for newborn and pregnant women, it is also life threatening. I am quite upset after doing my research about it, my gynea didn't go into detail and I had no idea it was soo serious. I wish she'd taken the time to explain to me fully what it was I had. At least she could assure me that everything was done to ensure that my baby will be ok. I am now at my wits end, my next visit is in 2 wks time when I will be given the course of antibiotics. But in the meantime I am given nothing. I'm worried that the infection would travel to the baby!! I'm sure my gynea knows what she is doing, and to her it is part and parcel of her everyday job, but for me, and any mother to be, we need reassurance, and all the information we can get to put our mind at rest.
I hope all goes well for me, but I am terribly nervous now. This strain of group B can be caught anywhere, from unhygenic toilet seats, shared towels, intercourse or any other direct contact with your vagina.
I never sit on public toilets, and I never share towels with anyone. We haven't had intercourse since we found out of my pregnancy. So my mind is working overtime trying to remember how or when I could have caught this bacteria!!

Take care of yourself mommies,
Don't take anything for granted.

Hi Grace,
I had been eyeing on tat cupboard for a long time! Juz too bad my hb wans me 2 get smething which is below $200 and i got one at Ikea for $189 which is nt bad too. Was displayed at children's section as well. If onli....haiz.
i nwadys dun apply stretchmark cream alredi. So lazy n troublesme. Bt hvent develop stretchmarks yet.

Hi Kittybride,
Initially my hb also scolded mi hw cme i dun eat mre nutritious food tats y tummy small. i replied tat i had tried my best. Its nt easy leh! Big tummy cld also mean alot of aminotic fluid too..U muz rest mre since placentra is still low, dun walk or exert too much strength ok?? U reali cant take ML or hospitalisation leave nw? Try 2 handovr ur wrk asap ok? (same for Vivian - rest mre).

Hi Huimin,
So gd u can rest at hm! bt was wondering hw cme doc din grant u till delivery day? U can consider going to Baby kingdom, Baby Hypermart, kiddy palace or even dept stores 2 buy bb cotbed. Depending on ur budget.

Hi Cindy,
U can consider 2 buy COTTON disposable panties at NTUC (diff range like lowcut/highcut). Hope tis helps.

Tweety, may i know what made ur gynae check for the infection? I m worried cos those 'reasons' that will cause Strp B i have done!
I hope everything is fine.

Hope everything is well and fine for you too! Dun worry till the next appt and see what gyane says.

Poissons, oh lucky u...my linea negra travel all the way up till my chest! Have to touch up la otherwise will remain in my 'memory'.... I also ask to touch up the stretch marks

Congrats 2 Alicia! 1st mum 2 pop. She muz share w us her bb's pic & share her birth experience.

Tis mrn i got e shock of my life when i woke up..my right hand was so stiffed til i cant bend my fingers. Veri bad water retention! After tat no choice bt 2 wash up n force them 2 bend then subsided. Also experienced slight tummy cramps (duno is it stomach discomfort or nt bt it subsided after tat as well. Hope its false alarm.

Hi Tweety,
I was diagnoised w yeast infection at vagina area when doc did a test 4 mi three wks ago. Is it ok? Coz i said i dun hv side effects like itchiness thus also dun realise. He said it was ok.

Hi Ladies! was so busy with meetings thru' out the day and din manage to post anything on forum... just ate a full slab of ribs at Tony Romas... a whole corn and a baked potato... feel like a glutton!!! I ate as much as this amg moh man double my size sitting at the next table. Hehehe...

I think i prefer a fixed allowance from hubby, of course will propose a comfortable sum like my last drawn paycheck to live decently. Esle, if unlimited, will be a problem cos i dun want to be questioned for every withdrawal i make from the joint a/c. Dun wanna be answerable to any "audit checks" from hubby... with fixed allowance, money will be wholly mine to spend... so got pros and cons... of course unlimited will be better but those beautiful things behind the window displays also unlimited... hehehe

so far, nobody seems to offer any suggestions on what to bring into labour ward leh to pass time... so far, one nurse say i crazy when i ask if gameboy helps... she say "you will have no mood to play games."... faint.... just wondering if giving birth is like taking a really long time to shit... so must pass time rite... sigh... do we really need to focus our whole attention on shitting if it takes 8 to 12 hours??

I am also pretty lucky not to have any stretchmarks. Been faithfully applying the stretchmark oil every morning and it really helps!

S@L.
Gynea did a swab test on me because I had had some bleeding so we were trying to find out the cause.

Lynda,
This is not a yeast infection, it is a bacterial infection. However, it does feel like a normal yeast infection, like slight discharge. I don't feel any different, but if the baby passes through the infected vagina during delivery, they will get the infection which can cause brain damage, meningitis.
Thats all i know.
you can read more on this website;
www.dhpe.org/infect/strepb/html

HI ladies

Anyone experience any slight discharge, like water type of discharge? Hope its nothing wrong...abit worried now.

Erika, i always have this type of discharge. If u re worried, u hv to raise ur concern to ur gynae.

So happy, i went to Tangs just now to get my skincare & realised i got the wrong type. Nvm, will call them tmr and check whether can swap!

Hi Tweety,
Ya, i do noe e difference as both infection can easily pass 2 baby during normal vagina delivery. I heard tat strep B infection usuali treated w antibotics immediately 2 stop e bacteria fr spreading. Do try to consult for 2nd opinion if possible. As 4 my yeast infection, also starting 2 feel worried coz it is said tat antifungal treatments may nt be effective. Maybe eat yogurt or drink yakult can help abit?

Lynda,
Dr Ang didn't do test on my during my last night visit leh. When did he do on you? or may be he is too busy to think about my overweight baby.

All mummies,
All the while, he was saying my baby is big at my pregnancy week. Now, WW35 3.5kg. He keeps on scan till the lowest is 3.1kg. So my EDD has moved from 9 Nov to 30 Oct. My next visit will be next week to access again on my baby weight as he says may need to have C-section. I cry about this last night. I am so scared for being cut, no doubt baby's is most important.
I am a big size mummy. Don't know why my pelvis is not big.
Should I opts for natural even is Dr says I should be "cut"?

SuperhappyMu, dun cry! Keep ur options open for the way of delivery....

Mabbe discuss with ur gynae and see what he has to say... coz he only says.. May hv to c-section...

Tweety, read your reply. Bleeding caused u to check.

SuperhappyMu, your baby is big...3.5Kg
My 34th weeks check up is due next Friday, I have to let her know whether to go for C sec or natural. My greatest fear is if I opt for natural, I cant deliver, it would be emergency c section...donno how to decide too.

SuperhappyMum, you definately have the choice to try and go thru natural first...I m sure ur gynae will advise you whether later if natural labour is unsuccessful. I was induced for 20hrs for my 1st bb and cervix failed to dilate and stayed stagnant at 2cm. It was Gynae who asked if i wanted to wait another 24hrs to see how, but did warn tt the fluid level has dropped. I jus went ahead with C-sect cos didnt want any complications/ regrets if anything happen to bb due to my stubborness. Its a very fast proceedure, and do opt for Epidural instead of GA so that you can witness the birth of your bb

Still, I wish you all the best and can deliver your bb naturally!

Superhappymum,
Gynae did a swap of my vagina discharge n sent 2 lab for e microbiology test to detect whether got clue cells, trichomonas vaginalis, culture for Strep Grp B and yeasts. He did it when i complained of lower pelvic pain. I aint sure whether it is a usual practise 4 gynaes to do such tests on evry preg mums. Apparently doesnt seems so. U posted e msg so early in e morning! U din sleep well beco u felt quite upset? Its incredible tat ur bb had grown so big suddenly...veri envious. Mine is still moderate weight. Wat abt ur 1st child? Was it so huge when u gave birth? Usuali Dr Ang dun encourage c-sect bt if reali hv 2 do it, tink as long bb is healthy, its a relief alredi. Bt 3.5kg at 35wks is quite huge. At tis rate, by 37wk, it might be more than 4kg! 40wk will be 5kg? Can share ur diet w us? Mine is small.

On thu early morn ard 4plus am, i had a short menses-like cramps. So i ignore. Tis early morn ard 4am, i beginning to hv such cramps again and e pain came and paused and then again and lasted for abt 1hr (if nt wrong) then i dozed off. Almost wanted 2 call gynae bt i endured. Luckily clinic is opened on sat thus i went straight there w/o appmt n see doc. Although there were so many ppl there, i was given priority 2 see doc 1st. He checked my bb's condition (ok), n checked whether i was dilated or nt (nt yet). Then gave me injection 2 strengthen e bb's organs at my buttock area. After tat, the clinic asst monitored my bb's heartbeat for 20mins. During e process (as i was lying dwn), my bb kept moving vigorously, made me so painful w its movemts. Ovrall at least tis made me felt assured tat tis are false contractions n hopefully i wun give birth so soon. I better speed up to prepare 4 e arrival of bb juz in case. Any1 experienced such b4? Gynae said if contractions lasted mre than 3-4hrs, then its for real. So far no spotting yet.

Dear all mummies,

I went to see doc, thurs afternoon. Doc said my bb is a bit small. At 36wks onli 2.3kg+... oso want me to go to TMC to check bb blood flow and heart beat.. hopefully get a good result.. kinda worried.. scared...

it sadden me to know baby onli gain 350gr in 4wks (32wks-36wks)

last time, baby gained 800gr in 3wks (29wks-32wks)

when i asked him what to eat to get the bb bigger.. he said bb small is got something to do with the placenta so need to check for blood flow. i think perhaps bcoz tis few weeks i sleep on my back most of the time that's y the blood circulation from the placenta was blocked

went to tmc yday morning, sonographer said blood flow is ok but the water bag level reduced..
at nite, when saw doc, he said need to monitor.. if keep reducing then i have to deliver early.. arrr..
(i haven't get everything ready yet.. must do faster)
ah.. bb now 2.5kgs.. still underweight i guess.. but doc never comment abt the weight..

tis tue, doc send for me again.. see how..

tks for listening..

tweety, if you are worried, maybe u can bring forward your gynae appointment. dun have to wait till two weeks later. Bring forward the visits and verify the info you read on the website with gynae. thanks for the reminder too...will def be careful , esp when using public toilets.

eufrasia, actually babies born from 34-37 weeks are usually ok. Another 500 grams and your baby will be in the 3kg range :p Cheer up and keep us updated.

I got a list of things to bring to the hospital from a website, hope it will be useful to all:

For Mom

2-3 pairs of warm socks (to wear in the delivery room)
1 extra pack of pads (most hospital provide only one pack and will charge you if you get more. It is not necessary to get maternity pads; just get pads used for heavy flow. If you want to get maternity pads, buy them from the Hospital pharmacy, Cold storage or the bigger NUTC FairPrice outlets might have them but quite hard to find. The Hospital Pharmacy is your best place to look for these items.
Disposable underwear. (4-5 sets)
Discman with your favorite CD (of course music that will help you relax)
One presentable robe (For you to look presentable to your visitors or when checking on your baby in the nursery)
Massage oil (recommended in most childbirth classes)
Two sets of nightgown (one that opens in the front if you are planning on breastfeeding and preferable thick enough because you are not likely to be wearing bras. Have seen some nice ones at Robinsons (Karmy brand) and Metro. If you dont mind spending, more, Victoria s Secret has nice nightwear too)
One set of clothing for happy trip home (clothing with plenty of room will be the most comfortable, breastfeeding dresses will be good for moms who have gone through natural or caesarian birth)
Cosmetics
Toothbrush, toothpaste, floss
No Deodorant. Preferably not, as you will musk your natural scent from your baby. Studies have shown that traces of deodorants can be found in the breast tissues.
Slippers
Handphone and charger
Breastfeeding pillow to assist you during breastfeeding, but I find it rather unnecessary as newborn are pretty light.
Breast pump to help stimulate milk production ASAP as babies tend to be sleepy during the first few days after birth.
Inflatable ring or Boppy pillow to ease episiotomy wound.
Nursing pillow to make positioning of babies easier especially if you have a c-section.
For Dad

Snacks or sandwich (keep food on hand so the "labor coach" won't have to leave your bedside.)
Vending machine money. Coins. $1, 50 cents, 20 cents.
Books or CD's to help Mom relax.
Camera and extra film. Or with digital, plenty of megabyte space. Make sure your camera is fully charged.
Camcorder and batteries
Phone list to call to announce the birth of baby to one and all.
Baby car seat for trip home. (compulsory in Singapore )
Original Marriage certificate to register name of baby. You can either register your babys name at the hospital or at Immgration and Custom Authority(ICA). Birth should be registered within 14 days from the date of birth, including Sundays and public holidays. If registration is done after 42 days, a letter of explanation stating the reason for late registration must be submitted for the Registrar/Registrar General's approval. After approval has been given, the birth will be registered and the birth certificate will be issued. Such cases can only be registered at ICA.Visit the ICA's website for more information on how to register your baby.
Admission form (good to bring this form everywhere you go after 36 weeks gestation as you might deliver anytime).
In the meantime, think of a good name.
For Baby

Newborn clothing (1 set for going home as hospitals will provide clothing only during the stay, see shopping list for baby)
One Receiving blanket (for going home. Metro Orchard have a good selection of affordable and nice receiving blankets)
Extra diapers (hospitals will provide one pack of diaper, so you can bring yours if you want)
One set of anti scratch mittens (for going home as they will be tightly swaddled during the hospital)
Cans or bottles of infant formula if you intend to bottle-feed so your baby can start with the brand you prefer as soon as possible.

one questions for experienced mummies...or anyone who knows... do we use normal towels for swaddling newborns? Or do we use swaddling cloth ?? Am quite blur...

My MIL kept asking me to buy lots of towels cos she says will need for swaddling baby.

Hi yami,
For swaddling newborns at hm, my colleagues & SIL told mi tat normal cloth nappies will do beco its nt so thick yet comfy. At nite if on aircon, use blanket 2 cover bb. For goin out 2 look presentable, buy nice baby blanket patterns at dept stores or those selling bb's stuffs.

Hi Yami,

I had bought like 2 swaddling clothes (it comes in sizes S,M,L)..from Robinsons and Mums and Babes.. around $20plus per piece.

At the same time, i also bought this Pigeon brand cloth ($7++ if i remember correctly). It has no name to it. But usually placed next to Pigeon brand Bath Towel. It has the 'Little Coro' picture. And is cotton. This Pigeon on is good as it's not too thick nor thin. And the size is good enough for swaddling. In future, you could also use it as small blanket. We used that for my nephews and this time i got it for my own baby.

Nappy served the same purpose also. However the Pigeon brand swaddling cloth seemed to be slightly bigger hence easier to 'wrap' the baby and can tucked the cloth more securely.

wowow yami:: thank you for the list!! hehee i will feel motivated and go according to your list hahahha!!!

tweety:: please take goood care of yourself. don't worry now as bb will feel it. hugs.

Lynda,
nope I wasn't at the delivery room at all. I was in my ward thruout the 20hrs (forgot to mention 2 pills over the 20hrs were inserted to induce my labour). I only feel a slight backache but no pain at all. Was bored and had to walk up and down the ward for labour to come. Until now i cannot describe what labour pain is like.

as we are all going to pop soon, would like to know if anyone is keen/ serious in BF? I am placing orders for some items from Drugstore.com and am keen to get the Organic Mother's milk tea.

http://www.drugstore.com/search/search_results.asp?N=0&Ntx=mode%2Bmatchallpartial&Ntk=All&srchtree=1&Ntt=organic+mothers+milk&Go.x=0&Go.y=0

This tea is to aid in lactation cos i had a struggle with BF for my 1st bb. But i need to buy more items so that the shipping charges is more worth it.

some other items you can keep stocks would be Desitin Cream, 1st teeth toothpaste. I am open to take in any other products and will work out the shipping charges accordingly (to the weight/ bulkyness of the item)

Pls note tt i am not making any $$ from this, but need to collate orders so that shipping is more worth it.

Anyone interested can email/ PM your orders. I will close orders once we hit US$200 to avoid GST.

http://www.drugstore.com/

hi yami,

I will be calling my gynea first thing monday morning and I will probably go to see her. She did mention (very off-handedly) that some mothers opt for C-section to avoid the birth canal altogether. I will see how my consultation goes and if I feel its the best choice to make I will probably opt for C-section too. I hope I won't have to make that choice. My appointment in 2 wks is for my course of antibiotics. This is so that by the time I finish the course of medication I would be 37wks and it would be deemed 'safe' to induce the baby.

Oh, and thanks for you list, very useful indeed.

S@L:: i think i am interested in the milk tea too! worrying i might have probs with BF too and i really want to BF. Roughly how much would we have to buy? ^^ And the desitin cream, what does it do ? I've heard of it but forgot what it's for already.

Gimme your email. muahahhaa...

Tweety: I had my appt this morning with my gynae and i asked him abt the strep B test coz i read it from other thread. He said the test is usually conducted in 35-36 wk. He said the test is required coz long time ago many babies were given birth with neumonia, so the fingers were all pointed to the nurses who took care of the babies then. However, aft thorough check, the nurses were not the cause of the infected babies, then they realised it was passed on from the mum via the birth canal. hence, making the test compulsory.

He mentioned that the infection wont cause any harm to the mummy but will affect the bb. He also mentioned that a course of antibiotics will cure the problem.

Agree to the suggestion that u find out more and discuss yr concern with yr gynae soon, else u'll be worried. Take care and keep us update.

Went for my 32wk check up this morning. Gd news is bb's head is now in the down south position. His weight is 2.2kg, total wt gain for last 3 weeks is 1.3kg, bb put on 700grams and mummy put on 600grams. Next appt still in 3 wks time, when i'll be doing the strep B test. Anyone done the test before? How is it done? Painful?

Oh ya, i went to John Little (MS) yesterday and managed to get 2 Karmy pyjamas. They've got more range there though the price is higher than in giant ($17.90), but they're having 20% discount now till 07/10/07. Very comfy.

Dokie: I bght it at John Little (Marina Square), it's at the lingerie dep. Think i only saw 2 designs in Giant (one stripes and the other floral), also think the ones in Giant is bigger in size (though all are stated Free Size). I bought a rather plain design in beige and the other one is pink stripes. Both are collared and have pockets. There are other designs too, like moon ones, floral, rendeer, lace + ribbon (this one the material really really comfy to touch, but unlike those sexy Vic secret's lace, i find it a bit too old, dun like the color also-green), so din opt for this. They've diff material, some not as comfy, but i shld say most of them are of gd cottony material. Feels even more comfy aft washing with softener.

thanks ladies on the tip on swaddling cloth. will prob use towel/nappy cloth plus one or two nice ones for outdoor use. :p

cindy, destini cream is to prevent diaper rash. highly recomended in this forum. My cousin got some for me too.

anyone knows where to get two piece sleepwear. I got a karmy pj from marina john little as well, but i actually prefer two piece pj.

S@L, you tried the tea before? or did someone recommended it to you? I am interested also, but not too sure my MIL will grumble abt me drinking other stuff. She quite strict with my 'confinement diet'. I also interested in getting first teeth toothpaste. :p

one more qns, can newborn babies sleep in aircon room? i cant sleep without aircon nowadays...but am worried that it may be too cold for baby.

Hi Cactusnah,
The strep B test is slightly painful coz e gynae will wear gloves n insert his fingers into ur vagina canal to take sample of e discharge? Its juz awhile so bear w it. Anyway, tis is consider mild as compared to real delivery....jus "ren".

Yami: I've got another set of 2pcs pj from Women's secret. But many commented dress pj will be better & convenient coz nurse need to check wound/ change pad for u. so wont be that troublesome and awkward having to pull yr pants down.