(2007/11) November MTBs

poissons,
i think my toes are too swollen to cross leh

wah!!!

then i guess some of us (definitely me!!) will be measuring weight every morning.... hmm....
did i record a weight stagnant these 2 days ha?
haha...

tinkabel,
I think even though we dun gain weight, our bb ultimately will. I'll be visiting Dr Chan tmr, let me check with him ok? My sis is one good example, she only gained 8kg throughout her pregnancy, her bb turned out to be 3.5kg. There are also some cases where the mummy gained so much, but bb still small. So it all depends on our body system.

As for concentrated birdnest, I'm taking the Lo Hang Kah ones, and it also states that no preservatives and the expiry date is like quite quick, must consume within a mth or less. Shld be quite safe bah. Many of my gfs also took this brand, bbs turn out to be swee swee.

Catherine,
Haha..you very funny leh
Does soaking your feet in hot/warm water helps with the water retention?

Poissons:
Oh, din know there'll be chance where our wt will be stagnant/lose wt. That's something really nice. Kee kee...

My colleague advised me yest that nearing our EDD (2wks before) we shld eat black fungus (hei mu er). Can cook it with chicken, yummy...Apparently, she told me Hei mu er can help "push out the placenta" after delivery. Another colleague said there shld be some truth in it coz hei mu er is supposed to be gd in "cleansing" esp after menses. Not sure how true, poissons, can ask yr advisor (mum)?

Cactus, my Mum told me that the white & black fungus is good for our body even before pregnancy. Reason y, i dunno... But, i do like to eat them!

Talking about wedding bands, even though i put on 17kg... I m lucky that i m still be able to wear them. Its only my engagement ring that i have problem wearing it!

Poissons, soaking our feet in warm water does make us feel better but i dunno whether can reduce the water retention!

Most imptly, is to reduce the intake of salt to prevent water retention!

K@ye, u put on 17Kg. U started very low right?
I don recall u are the heavy weight..hee..
I should be around 17kg at delivery becos now already 15Kg.

K@ye, u put on 17Kg. U started very low right?
I don recall u are the heavy weight..hee..
I should be around 17kg at delivery becos now already 15Kg.

mandy, catherine and beloved daughter:: yes me also stopped wearing my wedding band long time ago. sigh, will we be able to fit back in? So sad i really like my wedding band. HAHAH!

I hope to have stagnant weight gain soon. now already 33 wks and i think i already gained about 15kg. OMG, anymore i think will be very hard to lose after that. hahaa.

Are all of you doing fulltime breastfeeding? or breastmilk by day and FMilk by night? i haven't really decided. hehe...

Really getting quite scared as time draws closer. the pain especially!

<font color="0000ff">Hi Pig07, elita, Tweetie and winwin,

GOOD NEWS!! My supplier has agreed to lower down the minimum order to 30pcs now!!!!! We are almost half way thru! Left about 15 slots to close the BP. Come on....</font>

Dokie, i started at 55kg and now 72kg... Heng heng got another 4 weeks more to go! I dunno how much weight will i gain in these 4 weeks!

Before i was pregnant, most ppl dun believe i m that heavy. I guess i belong to those who has heavy bones but are not tall type of ppl bah...

Gals, just want to check, does Mt A get back to you after you fax the admission form? we faxed it like last week but not response till now...

Went for my week 34 checkup just now, baby still small but gain 400g since last check up and i gain another 2 kg. My gyane mentioned water level is good so probably its becos of the gene the baby is small.

But just for ease of mind, we are going for dropplor test to check baby blood flow.
but if the flow is no good, probably have to induced me in a few weeks time... *scary*

And we were told that baby already turned but its still early to judge yet.

Pray that he can get more weight in the remaining weeks...

Vivian: I received my Mt A admission form abt 2 weeks ago. That is abt 1-2weeks after i confirm with my gynae to register for me. I din fax in myself, my gynae's nurse did the registration for me. Anyway, i've got 2 sets of form coz i also went for the Mt A tour last wk. It's the same admission form. Or perhaps u can give Mt A a call to check on the status. They shld be very eager to mail it to u.

A weight gain of 400g on yr bb is not bad right? How to check bb's blood flow? Anyway, u're already in yr 34th wk, another 3 more wks and bb is consider full term lei, so no worries, ya. Jia you and keep us update.

I dun hv e habit of wearing rings thus nw tat i m experiencing water retention, nt an issue. Except tat e pain is unbearable when i use my hands to staple documents. As for my legs, also bloated. Evry morning when i woke up, legs & hands most painful at tat moment.

Does any1 of u still will work fr hm even if u r on maternity lve? Beco certain tasks need u 2 settle by urself? As 4 me, i probably dun need coz i gonna hv backup & my senior colleague shd cope w e temp staff. If they hv any problems, i wun care coz i had taught my senior colleague many times & she shd be experienced enu 2 cope right? Beco when i ard, she always took advantage of me althou i helped her so much. Took me for granted.

Hi alien,

Yes, yes... I m looking fwd to getting it asap before bb pops.

Got a question to ask since we are approaching the last hurdle soon. During delivery, is it a procedure that we will be shaved off at the lower part bare and clean? I heard but not sure and pai seh to ask the doctor also. If really muz shave, I rather go wax it 2 wks prior to delivery coz cant stand the aftergrowth. Any idea?

poissons,
i do soak my feet in warm water (my dear hubby prepare for me) & it feels good after the soak but i dunno if it helps in water retention. my feet & toes still look the same

tweetie,
at the doctor's talk during my childbirth course, the doctor advised us NOT to shave/wax but to give tat area a trim instead coz infection might occur.
shaving is only neccessary for c-section and it will be done only at the area where the cut is going to be made

hi beloved_daughter: i not taking mt a. taking tmc instead.

today wake up a bit giddy. on mc...

lynda: we were asked to occasionally check email when we are on maternity... must bring laptop back before deliver lor.

RE: swollen legs

hi mummies,just a suggestion. After you bath, put on some cream on ur feet and gently rub/massage for awhile...(just very light, dont do like foot massage)...after ur light massage, u should see ur feet not so swollen...i have been doing it lately and it works on me...hope it works on you gals as well...

hi Beloved daughter / Vivian,
once i confirmed with gynae on the hospital, mount A did send me the admission form which i have filled up and send back to them. after which i dont have any reply from them since.

vivian,
good news that baby is putting on weight. jia you!

mandy,
hope u feeling better today..rest more and drink more water lah.

I believe waxing is up to you...although some gyneas don't advocate it (they only advise to trim), I think the choice is yours.

ultimately, it depends if you are very 'hairy' or not... cos if you are..your gynea might suggest that you get a saloon/professional to trim 'down there'...

I think I'll also be waxing (cos I dont want them to shave me at the hospital!) but not 100%.... cos can do brazilian wax XX, which involves some waxing and some trimming as well...

dear mommies, I have also received the mt A form and faxed but till now, no response, guess we don't worry for now ba.

Ya i was thinking about the area too, i heard only when episitomy (no idea how to spell hahaha) is needed then they will shave off the part for you to clean it. if not, if it's just trimming, how to do ourselves? now the big bulge is blocking my vision down there. muahahaha.

Waxing, isn't it very painful?

mandy please take care!

Skin is usually more sensitive during preggy. I m tinkg of gg Strip to do waxing but not 100% as botanist said. But i know its gonna b painful since skin is stretched and becomes thinner.

Ya lor, how to trim, cant even c wat down there also.

For NUH, they practise episiotomy, so i reckon they will shave.

Hehe, i had gone for brazilian waxing 3-4 months ago....

Was thinking of doing it before my D-day... coz its more hygenic whether during delivery or confinement.

RE: Waxing/Shaving

my friend confirmed with me that its truth about shaving...she say not neccessary to shave all...but make it short wor....she say use a mirror to help u if you cant see...or else nurse will do for u....

for mummies who never wax before...not very advisable to go wax now..coz our skin is more sensitive now and you wun want any infection to skin there at this stage...

Hi Alien,

Great. Hopefully we can meet the target of 30 pieces soonest.

Went for my 34th week check up yesterday. Put on 1.6kg for the past 3 weeks and 900grams goes to baby. Doc told me baby's weight is 2.6kg. Slightly big cos by 34 weeks is around 2.4kg. I worry if too big will be hard to deliver also. Couldnt believe my ears when he said 2.6kg. So far i gained 7.6kg.. and 6 more weeks to go. Hope wont gain more than 10kg overall.

tweetie

when do you plan to visit strip? I want to visit them soon - sort of a test run before I do a final 'trimming' before delivery! haha...

heard that if its your first time there, can inform them so they are aware... after all, our skin could be sensitive now! Dont want any infections etc... that's why want to test out one time now first, then if all goes well, if necessary will visit strip again for final trimming!

botanist, you're gg to strip for trimming? or waxing?
how much does it cost ya know?

and winwin, thank you for the tip. But actually trim already also very fast will grow longer le. unless you trip it until like super short?

pig:: so jealous of you. I already gained 2x the amt of yours. HAHAHAHA!!!

Cindy

argg..yes..trim till very short hehe...but dun touch the root part...so wont affect ur skin...think trim now and then again nearer to ur EDD...should be alrite liao....

Mummies:
just went Oct thread to see see look look, realised alot mummies pop liao....wonder when our turn hehe...
To all early nov mummies:
are you excited??? pack bag already?? hehe

Cindy,

I think i will opt for the brazilian xx... which involves some waxing but also trimming so i wont be totally 'bare' down there... Its $25. U can check out www.strip.com.sg to see the other 'options'

There's just no way I will be able to trim myself! haha... wait cannot see properly then cut myself, jia lat!! I think I will make appointment soon lah, must make sure got time to do test run first...

just wondering if any of you feel that u are burping more than usual.i have started burping alot more since last week. i have this burping problem in my first trimester and now it is back...have totally cut off all carbonated drinks but i am still burping.. even at night when i sleep too! its irritating me, any help/suggestions to stop it?

btw, on the triming problem, i sit on a stool in front of the mirror and dustbin and trim slowly loh..hehehhe

i was surfing and saw the ju ju be bag diaper bag and it looks cute, i know there is a bulk purchase previously but its over... anyone bought the bag?

Hi Cindy,

There is nothing to be envious lo. We have several more weeks to go before the big D-day..

My fren whom put on 20kg thruout her pregnancy managed to lose all back except for 5kg (her daughter is 2 yr old now).

So I am also hoping we will all manage to regain our pre-pregnancy figure. I am still thinking if ever i can weigh lighter than my pre-pregnancy weight if i breast feed. Heee Heeee...

Did you all buy nursing tops for those who plan to BF? I noticed they're quite expensive when I checked out Thyme. Wondering if I can do without. Some more the designs not that great.

Bugis Seiyu having sale and most of their baby stuff 20% off. Worth checking out! They have lots of clothes too. So tempted to buy more.... :p

winwin,
yah i saw quite a few Oct mothers popping already. some of them have Children's Day baby! so nice! altho my EDD is 12Nov but i already feel excited! I haven packed my bag yet! =P haven even started to wash BB clothes =P

twiggy,
i din get nursing bras yet as advised by other MTBs here. i was told our breasts going to much bigger nearer EDD. so best to get 2 weeks b4 EDD. at the TMC childbirth course, MRs Wong also told us to get nursing bras only AFTER delivery. i intend to get 2 to standby 2 weeks b4 EDD, then after delivery can ask my mother to get for me. From other MTBs, u can get cheap nursing bras $9.90 from Impressions (Taka) or Eternity (BHG). I haven check them out yet.

HI Twiggy,
I just bought 2 nursing bras from OG. Very cheap and comfy @$17.90 for 2. You can go and check it out. There is also bras at $9.90 , not sure if its almost similar to that of Impressions (Taka) , but I have only bought 2 so far.

Grace, yes I find myself burping more these days too...hate it, but kind of use to it already. Think best is not to eat too fast or slurp your drink too fast as you burp more. Other than that, I don't really know what helps. Hang in there. For me, the most irritating part of my pregnancy is my rash...its like covering almost all of my chest and my tummy and really itchy..now seems to like spread upwards to my neck..really hope my face will be spared. Haven't been able to sleep much due to the itch also

For those who want to buy nursing bras, can get from Impression of BHG (formaerly known as Seiyu), got 9.90 (Special offer price) without pad or you can buy 12.90, with pad, better quality, and now with 20% discount, you just need to pay abt S$10.32.

I bought 1 size bigger just in case my breast become bigger after delivery and I think we still at least 1 during our hospital stay.

Hi Catherine,

I am like you. EDD 12Nov. Todate I have not packed my bag and also not wash the baby clothings. all the baby stuff are stacked in the room. Keep thinking there is sufficient time. But seems like we are left with 6 weeks only and that is if we deliver on EDD. Goodness me. Think I better dont dilly dally anymore..Ha ha...

Went for my checkup this morning. BB weighs 2kg at 32 wks & 4 days. For me, I only gained 0.1kg since the last checkup 4 wks ago, total weight gain till date is 9kg. Seems like my weight gain is getting stagnant..opsy!

And goodie! BB has already turned head down, gynae said his head is a little big while his limbs are average, keke..i'm having a humpty dumpty :p Also confirmed again that it's a boy cos we saw his birdie and testicles from the 3D scan..haha!

The down side was my BP a little on the high side and gynae wants to close monitor me..sigh, got the bad genes from my mummy
Hoping that everything will turn out fine and can keep bb till full term.

Also went to buy some more infant clothings from the wholesaler at Queen Street. Fwah, they have so many varieties and are cheap too! There were some chinese medical halls nearby, so I popped by one and bought the herbs (da feng cao)for bathing during confinement. Today's quite a fruitful day

Cactusnah,
I'm going to my advisor's place for dinner later, will check with her on the back fungus and update you.

Oh, I also received my hospital admission letter from the nurse today, was told to do my pre-admission myself during the next visit, which is 2 wks time. It's getting more and more exciting..hehe..

Hi Catherine / Erika / Koala,
Thanks. I bought 2 nursing bras oredi. Ooops... hope my boobs dont get any bigger. I was refering to nursing tops, those ones you can wear and breastfeed easily. Usually has a lobang at the side or something where you can slip one breast out easily to feed. Must buy or not?

poissons:
my check up also in two weeks time leh...on thurs 230 slot...may get to see u??? hehe

so envy...u never gain weigh and bb gaining...i hope i dont gain anymore weigh also haiz...

I din burp alot but these few days find my stomach extremely tight, even before meal. AFter meal worst, like exploding!

I also havent start washing bb's clothes yet. Will do so when my domestic helper comes on 1st Nov. Else nothing much for her to do before i pop.

Btw, according to MOM law, we supposed to have 2 days childcare leave right? However, as our EDD is in Nov, most likely our 2 days CCL will be forfeited since it'll cross over to next yr after our ML? I asked my HR she said i can claim together with my ML. I act blur la, wanna quickly plan. Any one knows?

Poissons:

Congrats! Yr bb has turned. Happy for u. I'll be going for my check up this Sat, hopefully bb turns down also. Yest was touching my stomach and thot i felt bb's head 45 degree down (not sure la), then i push push and jumpjump asking bb to move head down, said to him "come, mummy help u". My HB had a scare and ask me dun anyhow jump. Ha..

Okie, u've got "ai xing" dinner today huh. U ask yr "advisor" if u can rem la. Enjoy yr dinner. Rem to eat more.

Gals, I am dying of fatigue. Goodnesss me , spent the whole day to pack store room, study room and baby room. I am really too aggressive . Now I am feeling exhausted , acheing in the tailbone. But I am glad I managed to finish. Just do a bit of touch up next week when helper returns.

Vivian glad your baby is growing. Stick to the diet and see.
Did u get dr xen?

dokie, i gg to get it this saturday... but i am taking spirilina currently. abt 20 tablets per day. ya i am glad that baby gaining weight but still below average... i am going for dropplor test tml at TMC... hope the blood flow is ok.... pray pray pray.

i am also feeling extremely tired... once i face the computer for 5 min, i am "fishing" already...

and my water rentention is really terrible. My 2 feets look like 2 swollen dinosaur feet...

Just to share with you that I experienced pre-term labour this week. If you do feel there's some menstrual cramps like symptoms coupled with some spotting, please see the gynae immediately.

After diagnosis, I had mild contractions. Baby is still small at 1.9kg at 34 weeks so doctor had to keep the baby inside as long as possible. So i had to take the anti-contraction pills and 2 injections to strengthen baby's lungs. Then, i am given hospitalisation leave to stay at home.

Please do take care of yourself.

Hi Mandy, please help to update my details:

I am having a girl. EDD is now revised to 11 Nov.

PS: my nick is hanimin

Ya, its veri tiring 2 tidy and arrange things 2 get ready for bb's arrival. Especially nw tummy big big n so inconvenient. Worse thing is tat i gota shift alot of stuffs to my mum's plc temporary. After 1mth, gota shift em back. Very troublesme bt no choice. Most husbands r nt capable of helping us out. So if theres a domestic maid, at least nt so bad? As e D-day is arriving, i reali nt sure wat 2 expect for e nxt few wks/days. Gotta take things easy?

For nursing tops, try to buy 1 or 2 first? Sme mums may seldom use so dun buy too many yet.

For pubic hair, i juz roughly trim them short w/o looking in e mirror. By touching u can feel the length alredi?

gals, just a note from my friend who just deliver in sept, she said it is recommended to bring nipple cream and best to get silicone shield just in case your nipple crack or bleed when baby latch and bite till bleed...

Hi Huimin,
So currently u be staying at hm for the nxt few wks? Mus rest well! Bt ur D-day is approaching soon so juz hang on abit more. Did ur gynae explain y u have early contractions w spotting?

I am starting to pack hospital bag and wonder what i should bring to distract myself during labour... some pple say magazines, CDs etc. what about you girls? any good ideas on what to bring to make the time spent inside labour ward more bearable? I am also worried that hubby may become bored... and become a nuisance... e.g. "keep asking when is baby coming out..." already warn him not to do that...

I feel very very pregnant now... previously can still walk around with ease but now i feel clumsy and wobbily... and can't walk for long... i miss those days when i am light and free and able to play sports... but now i feel like a big gunny sack of rice... paiseh if i sound like i am grumpling... but really need to air a bit...

Anyone asking for a pressie from Hubby?