(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

Hi nans,

Our bbs share the same christian name.

Unice,
the test is not painful.. i wasn't ready that time so was surprise and feel a bit pain..
he only put in a swab into ur vagina to collect little liquid (i guess)..
just try to relax n have a deep breath..

Aria jo,
haha.. yeah.. the bill thing oso one of my concerns.. so glad u discourage me to gor for c-sec..

abt the drip, hope doc will put me on the drip during labour to avoid any risks..

Zhen zhen,
jiayou.. keep trying to BF ur priceless gal

Sharon Yeo,
it seems that you take the labour very easy.. hopefully I oso dun feel the pain till the 6cm dilatation and onwards as I plan not to take epi.. hee...

eufrasia, thanks for encouragement. i'm going to try my best!

have any of you heard of this herb called fenugreek? my aunt, who's a lactation consultant, says it can help milk production. i'm willing to try anything, so sent my hb to buy today. hope it works!

eufrasia,

hmm pain la but i find it like 2/10 so ok for me hmm only after birth deni feel pain lor so this time round really much better den 1st child

Vicki

No NO NO man i am in TMC and DR is Joycelyn Wong
But i dun like the labour ward.

unice

no la i want to get bb out by 11/09 cos i dun want 12/09 ... 13/09 is ok for me keke

Like i always say giving birth is FUN lor really right see haha

annie & gingerleaf..oic, so u also use 'M' size.. i using nuk & pigeon bottle but i not using the nuk teats, all pigeon teats...tink 30min also quite so slow lor... but cant do anything leh.. my bb throw out milk whole of last nite (not 'er ni'), then i asked my nanny for help, she asked me to apply 'ru yi oil' cos may b got wind in tummy (cos tis few days brought bb for suntank, tink 'too sexy' liao, got wind gone into stomache!!)... today brought bb to polyclinic jaudice test, lucky his level dropped fm 210 to 162, doc said progressing well..nxt week need to test again, hiaz..

gingerleaf...izzit? ru yi got 2 type? didnt notice until u point out... mine is two oranges..

totoro & zhenzhen.. me too hving prblm w latching & supply, v little pump 10-20ml only each time... i also dun hv much time to pump cos every few days hv to bring bb for jaudice test, my mum also anti-BF cos she said v messy & diff to stop nxt time..then still got to 'entertain' her & CL's communication prblm.... i keep telling myself i done my best alr if not i'll go 'ki kiao'...

nans.. congrats..hv a good confinement..

sharon..thks 4 sharing your 'interesting' birth story!!

eufrasia.. dun worry so much, adhere to your gynae's advice is more impt..

Hi graduated mums and mums-to-be,
hve been busy clearg work & only recently start to surf this thread again. feeling a bit nervous abt going thru labor pain. waiting for the big day to arrive.
is very inspiring to view bb pic online. hope i gather enuff courage for natural birth.

zhen zhen,

If I managed to latch her, I also realized that if I talk or read a book, she will "guai guai" continue to suck. But so far, I try latching on 2 times and realized that for some reason, she just refused to suck the left side. Not sure why?
BTW, any mummies feeling itchness on your breast, right outside the areola area? I'm not sure whether was it due to my skin being allergy to the plastic!!

Sharon,
Your birth story really sounds that the whole process is really easy and yes, you can still think of the date and the time .... ha ha
For me, when I am just 2 cm dilated, I already feel the pain like siao and asked for epid. After that it was a blessing and I must say the process of the epid was painless and not so scary that I have thought! Maybe I am lucky to get one skillful one to do the job!

Junnie,
Did you need to get a referral to go to polyclinic for the jaundice test? Any idea whether the sengkang one have such test and what's the process like if I want to bring bb down? Do you have to wait very long for the Q?

Any mummies bringing their bb for regular check-up? My PD did not say anything after the new born check-up and just say that to come back to her if we want her to do the injection! So hb and I was thinking, then how do we know whether bb is growing well?? Even mummy already have regular appt with gynae but bb don't have!
Anyone have any PD to recommend or you just went back to the one that was assigned by your gynae or hospital?

junnie, regarding bf, I guess we just have to do our best and pump as much as possible loh. I realized that if I don't pump, the breast would feel uncomfortable and I'm afraid to have blocked ducts cos heard that it would be very painful. hence, die die also must massage and pump whenever there is time!!

Congrats to Dodo!!
Her baby boy Anderson was delivered via emergency C-section last night at 23hrs plus. baby weighs 3.295kg, 50cm long ang 36cm head circumference....

another graduated mummy liao!!!!

garden_dreamz, left both of us liao...
must enjoy our short-term tai tai life now to the fullest ....

Congrats dodo!!!!
She got her wedding anniversay baby!!!! Feel so happy for her!
Unice and garden_dreamz, left u 2 nia, hehe. Nervous or not?

So happy now, when I saw dodo name appear on my phone, I knew she must have popped!

Yeah, today got good sun. Gotta bring lyn down to suntan later. Then today gg to do her birth cert at the hospital, then can go town shopping! YAY!

<font face="Book Antiqua"><font color="0000ff">Helping San to post.

Her princess arrived yesterday night ard 8pm!!</font></font>

congrats to Dodo!!! from now onwards, she will also have a double celebration on that day already!

unice,
haha... u first to post the info up this time! :D now left the 2 of us only.. wonder who's next?

gingerleaf,
ya lor... rather nervous n anxious but try not to think about it. n enjoying the peace n serenity first! heehee...

went to c gynae yesterday, not yet dilated so she say mayb around 20+ then come out, but if i wan it to come earlier then walk around more.

hey, not bad we have 2 mummies so far with 10/10 babies, so happy for them!

congratulations to all mommies who have delivered!

zhen zhen, yup, i've tried fenugeek. but tt was when my gal is ard 1 year old. it doesn't work for everyone. for me, it doesn't increase the qty but i notice milk flow is faster.

to increase milk supply u can latch on yr bb as often as possible and pump aft every feed which means ard 7 to 8 times a day. there r techniques to pumping, the important thing is to elicit letdowns. u can do so by massaging yr breasts before pumping, thinking of yr bb and also the pump tt u r using.... yr aunt will probably have given u the same advice ;p can also try papaya and fish soup.

wow gingerleaf, today can go shopping liao!!
wear warm clothes hor...dun catch cold

garden_dreamz, ya lor, left both of us...have u done ur strep B test? i doing mine on monday...
i kept on having cramps in the morning.cramp till leg feel very suan....now still stomach pain
but dont think its the real contractions cos mb awhile more will be ok liao...

hello ppl... I have popped! Baby is 3 weeks early... Delivered Baby Xavier on 6 Oct at 9.01am at TMC. When I reach the hospital at 7+, I am already 4cm dilated. Within the next half hour, am already 8cm dilated. Start feeling the "cramps" on friday night but didnt think much of it.. Who knows.. Baby Xavier is anxious to come and meet us!

He has jaundice, so I stayed with him at the hospital for 2 more days... Janudice dropped from 17.6 to 14 on 4th day and to 11.5 on 5th day. I cannot tahan liao, so I insist to bring baby back home. This morning hubby brought him downstairs for morning sun... Poor hubby..

totoro_bb,

i had to bring my bb down to Poly for Jaundice checkup (every 3 days 1 time) - we went 4 times altogether.

The initial visit was via a referral letter from KK ( i delieverd in KK). Subsequently, the poly doctor requested for follow up. He mentioned that we hve to go back until bb jaundice goes down to less than 100 (finally he hit 89 yesteday).

Anywas, apparently, at poly (we went to Bukit Merah poly), the bbs r queued together with the elderly (to make q move faster - instead of general public)

To me, i think the q now (in 2007) is much slower than previously (in 2004). My older kid also kenna go to Poly for jaundice (n that time, the q for bb is specifically for bbs only). Now must share with elderly (and they say its faster.. hmmm).

Anywas, go Poly, got to be abit more careful... alot of sick pple around (my aunt helped by bringing bb out of Poly and waiting somewhere else until our turn is up). Tot more dangerous and easier for him to catch virus if we sat in Poly itself amidst all the sick ppl - so my aunt decided tht bb shouldnt be inside there for too long a time.

congrat frostyfiona, do rest well. your actual edd is 2 days earlier than me and now u have popped early. hope i will pop early too.hehe

hi mummies! thanks for all e best wishes!! =D
i m back home yesterday le but no time to go online.. busy adjusting to baby and even forgot to wish my mum happy bday.. keke.. so bad of me!

DODO, CONGRATULATIONS on ur 10/10 baby! am sooooooo happy for you! rest well n keep us updated ya??

unice & garden_dreamz, jiayou!! pinky, gingerleaf, dodo & i will wait for u to join e hungry babies' club! keke!

Frostyfiona,
ur cramps are on n off ? or kept on cramping? can share how u know its real contractions ? thnks..

Hippo u r back!!!

haha hungry babies club...haha...
so now latch on is good liao?

post pict of ur cuties sooon k all mummies tt popped recently...let us drool

hi unice!! haha! i tell u.. my bb is a screamer.. ha! terrible leh.. am still trying to resize my pic.. will post later.. gotta go! talk to u once i get it done.. sorie dear!

unice...

contraction pain macham like very bad menses cramp that re-occur every 5-10 mins and refuses to go away.

Congrats to all wow so many mum popping...

JEDDIE, FIFI, DODO, FROSTYFIONA... an many more

rest well & enjoy yr bb keke

no time to log in as my CL falls sick on her 3rd day here! She starts to have itchy throat then slowly cough and sneeze 3 days later.. Me and hubby so scared she sick and pass to baby and she claim she is not sick.. Had to call agency in the middle of the night to change CL.. That night take care of baby myself so stress! didn't sleep whole night cause baby keep waking up...Luckily agency manage to get CL to come next day noon..Finally everything settled..Had a really panicky day manz..

Congrats Hippo, san, dodo, frostyfiona!.. Post pics here soon k!

Junnie,
good to know lance jaundice went down.. Jerric's juandice went down abit today.. from 240 to 231.. doc says it's going downwards but still need to go again next tues to check.. Sigh.. worried man..

congrats to all the new mommies!! every day seeing more on more postings of new arrivals and cute bb pics.

totoro, for my bb, PD arranged next appointment in 1 month's time for regular checkup. we also have to decide then whether to take the hep b jab separately, or go for the 6 in 1. am thinking of doing the 6 in 1, so bb gets poked less. do any of you know if there are cons to the 6 in 1 jab??

miumiu, thanks for advice. i'm not sure whether i'm pumping correctly. i constantly have to massage breasts while pumping, if not hardly got anything. is it because my pump not good enuf? i'm using medela mini electric. any tips on how to pump properly?

zhen zhen, do u pump immediately aft yr bb bf? if so, dun worry tt u r not pumping anything coz bb is more efficient at emptying our breasts than any pump if they bf properly. u shld continue pumping even if u r not getting anything so as to deliver the message to yr brain tt yr bb is not getting enough and yr breasts will prod more. but it will be better if u can elicit let downs. our breasts will not be truely empty, they can prod again even aft bb has emptied. to better elicit let downs, u can try to bond with bb, think of bb when pumping, look at her etc. i find it useful to stroke downwards towards the nipple once or twice before beginning to pump too. dual pumps r better at eliciting let downs. the higher end the pump is, the better it is.

hmmm... if u can't pump anything before latching bb, then i m not so sure the reason. probably have to check for blocked ducts.

Mummies, is it true that we can only bring forward baby's full month celebration but cannot delay??? Anyone can advice?

Zhen zhen, I thought the 1 month Hep B jab is seperate from the rest anyway. I was told by my PD that there will be 1 hep B jac, 2 5 in 1 jabs, and 1 6 in 1 jab, so total 4 jabs.

Congrats to all mommies who have popped and welcome to the sleepless club! :)

hmm .. my bb jaundice dropped to 9.9 when we discharged from hospital on the 4th day. On the 7th day, went to see PD and she just looked at her and say Jaundice level ok, just need to sun for maybe 3 days.
Problem is I only managed to convince my hb to sun her on the 4th days onwards and hence was afraid that her jaundice has returned and we don't know what level was she in?
Will Jaundice level come back to a high? Does it mean that I have to go back to the PD and asked her to check since I wasn't given any follow-up?

How's the growth rate of bb? Hb seems to find that bb has not really grown although I can see that she is drinking more and more!! Any adv?

Re: injection
I am thinking of going for the 6 in 1 as well, I think it means fewer jab but the 1st jab needs to be done on the 6th week I think.

Thanks unice and junnie and other mummies.

had been a tiring first week last week when i brought baby benedict home. first he was diagnosed with jaundice. level went up to as high as 259 on the 5th day. went to polyclinic so many times until my MIL heart pain cos he kena poked so many times.

some pictures to share..
1014304.jpg

1014305.jpg

1014306.jpg

kris,
i know of people who say is taboo to do birthdays and celebrations late. just pantang. if u not pantang, then is ok to do the full month celebrations late de. i know of a doctor who did her daughter's full month celebration 3 weeks late cos of family commitments. =D

Unice,
me also have leg cramp very regularly nowadays, pain until muscles ache. sigh... did my strep B test last week or so, i think, brain nowadays can't really remember v.well, n result came out ok. now only waiting 4 bb to make his entrance into the world!

something wrong with the net earlier or something, couldn't access forum until now.

hippo, gingerleaf
so nice to hear from you! haha... ya lor, left me n unice already. once we pop, i think we will fully emphathise how its like to be in the sleepless mummy/sore nipples/crying bb club liao! :D

frosty fiona
congrats on the smooth delivery! so happy for u.

kris,
if do full mth celebrations early then cannot eat, coz still on confinement a bit like sad right? hmm.....

I got 2nd Hand Medela Electric pump for sale used only less than 5x. Comes with cooler bag so those who intend to express milk in office can carry this along.However there no more waranty. Selling @ $230 neg. Pls PM me if you are keen.

i tot if you do the 6 in 1, then you shouldnt do the 1st mth Hep B cos its included in the 6 in 1 liao. Apparently, 6 in 1 requires injection in 2/4/6 mths.

5 in 1 excludes Hep B jab, hence must go on 1/3/4/5 mth (or somethig like that).

Cannot celebrate late huh? Someone else told me cannot celebrate 1st mth early cos pantang as bb not really 1 mth yet so cannot "show" the world.

Aiyo! like that how? should i celebrate early or late... *chiat lak*

Re: injection
My understanding was the same as vicki.
I was told 6in1 need to do it on the 6th week.

1st mth ? how to calculate? 30 days or 31 days
I am thinking of doing it on the 28th Oct!
What abt mummies confinement, how many days?

For those who went tru c-section, any idea when can we start eating chicken and eggs etc!

aiyo somemore cuties pictures!!!!!
Nans, Benedict still can smile in his sleep...so cute..
totoro_bb, Kelly day 1 already look so alert liao!! i always thot babies on day 1 are blur blur,sleepy sleepy one haha

re: injections
my understanding same totoro and vicki. 6 in 1 includes hep b, 5 in 1 must take hep b jab separately. that's why i'm considering 6 in 1, so bb won't be poked so many times.

re: chicken/eggs
i had c-sec and i started eating chicken from day 1 in hospital. :p

totoro,

I ate chicken in hospital. Somemore it was their confinement menu.
Came back home, CL says NO CHICKEN, dunno what reason la. Then wasnt allowed to eat eggs for 1st week, now can eat liao.

congrats to hippo, nans & totoro!!!

nans, your bb 1st photo looks abit like beckham hairstyle...hehehe... so cute!!

to those mommies who have celebrated / intend to celebrate your bb's 1 month, so can we celebrate early or late? Don't think we can celebrate on the ACTUAL day unless it falls on weekends ma...

WOW...more mommies have popped!!! CONGRATULATIONS!! :D

Havent been able to get online again...so my presence on the forum has been erratic! :p

wah the anticipation is really killing me! now 37weeks plus (38weeks this sunday)...wondering when my darling will want to come out!!!

Re:Injections

when I went to polyclinic to get benedict's jaundice level checked, they simply asked me if i am doing the jabs there. i said yes, and they simply scheduled me down for injections a month later. they even arranged a date for me - 1 nov 07. benedict was born on 29 sept. din even ask me if i wanted 6 in 1 or 5 in 1. so do i ask them now? *blur mom*