(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

Congrats hippo !!

yes bbwow, as wat jovial has mentioned, better give ur gynae a call or go hospital to do CTG scan...dun take the risk....

Congrats, hippo!

bbwow, I'm now at 38 weeks and bb's movements are still quite strong. I can see and feel her push out against my tummy and even her squirming more than 10 times a day. Think once you feel bb not moving so much, better call your gynae.

Congrats Hippo!!!

bbunny, my baby back liao. After 2 days of the blue light, her jaundice level dropped to 8. So the nurses say no problem already. Don't even need to sun her.

Went to see gynae yesterday for 1 week check-up. He gave me some medicine to increase my milk supply since I'm only expressing 20 - 40 ml each pump. Mummies with low milk supply can check with your gynaes too. It's called Doridone.

Remember someone asking me for my insurance contact before I delivered. Paiseh paiseh. Anyway, you can call Manfred at 90024290. Just tell him recommended by Kristy. His company can sell policies from all major insurance companies.

Btw, I have problem getting the Malay massage. The contact I had going back to Indonesia. Any mummies here have contacts who will be free to do the massage within the next 2 weeks. Need to do it before my CL leaves.

Hi mummies, anyone interested in the Babyrock slings? i held a BP last week but response not so good. But i managed to persuade the supplier to reduce the min. Qty to 6pcs! therefore the waiting period is nt so long ( if i were to collate 15orders initially).

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/990848.html?1191572065

I want to get one for myself too. Anyone keen, pls let me know ASAP (email or PM me). S$102 for each sling (retail at $120 )

<font face="comic sans ms"> Hi,
Just got back from my gynae, 2cm dilated.. gynae helped me stretched the cervix again.. she said if tonight no go into labour naturally then tomorrow morning go in to induce.. so I guess I'm next..

kris,
try calling this lady. she can arrange a massage lady for you..

Name: Mdm You
Contact no.: 63622327

<font face="comic sans ms"> unice,
hee.. told her last fri i wan to induce for a 10oct baby.. but over weekend discuss with hubby that if dilation still stands at 1cm then we shall not induce let bb decides.. then today see gynae she said 2cm dilated.. she said i can choose to wait but me and hubby feel no point lah since 2cm liao if tonight no go into labour then tomorrow induce loh.. anyway its just a few days more to EDD so not much diff also.. we also tired of waiting.. furthermore we got a HDB 2nd appt on 22oct.. hubby scared i not enuff rest before the appt.. so if bb comes out tomorrow then should be ok..

san.. all the best...
hippo...congrats..hv a good confinement..
bbunny...yalor, i also knw pic too small for viewing.. still trying to figure how to resize...will post when 'master'... haha.. thks 4 the cradle cap tips, i applied olive oil today, hopefully it'll go off gradually...
jovial...thks 4 jaudice & 'er ni' advice...

btw, wonder mummies takes how long to bottle feed bb huh? mine like taking longer & longer, after 1oz he'll doze off, then got hard time waking him to drink again, by the time finished feeding will be 30min or more! with the burping, the whole process takes nearly an hour!! v...tiring esp @nite... izzit ok to use 'M' size teats now?? i scare feed too long the milk got 'wind'...

Re: Strep B infection

Any mummies here was diagnosed with strep B infection during pregnancy? What did your gynae say? I'm starting week 37 now, and last week i tested positive for Strep B. I didn't have for my first pregnancy, now kenna for second one. Sigh. on antibiotics.. did your gynae say anything about being put on drip during delivery/labour time? i forgot to ask my gynae and she didn't mention also.. cause i heard antibiotics might not fully remove the bacteria.. worried..

<font face="comic sans ms"> I'm A Mummy,
Yes my gynae did mentioned about injecting the antibiotics into the drip during labour time.. she even wrote it into my admission letter..

tiffy, valerie,
ya lor... at this point ah, a little bit paranoid n got the watch signs of labour, so the tummyache sort of scare me a little, but after that, nothing leh...

unice, aria jo,
me so far still putting on weight. but heard abt losing weight when gonna pop. then again, really v.hard to predict when bb decides to come out. oh well!!! :D

gingerleaf,
no more having to wake up at 5am in the mornings already!! yeah! but still have some exam papers to mark which i dun mind lah, takes the mind away from the anxiety etc. but do miss the interaction with colleagues coz with them around n the buzz of work, they provide a much needed distraction n time flies faster! heehee...

kris,
thanks for the insurance contacts.

san,
have a smooth delivery... all the best!

just a little thought, is it better for babies to sleep in aircon room or just use fan? any mummies have any helpful advice/tips?

junnie,

my bb takes at least 30mins to an hr to finish 70ml. Im using the Nuk premium medium size teats. Then CL commented that its quite a long feed, the other babies she looked after normally finishes in 20mins, so me and hubby stupidly go buy the Large size teat. She did finish her milk in 15mins this time, but also spilled some milk while sucking and choked a lil. Guess the flow is too fast liao, so the next day, changed back to Medium teats again.

sanbebe... I dunno wat's bb weight now. Dis fri bringing him to polyclinic for check-up will ask nurse to weigh him den see how. Yeah I did hold bb in upright position, it did help in the burping part.

junnie... dis few day gave him 2.5oz but keep crying non-stop after feed. Think not enough for him. Burping part still ok, depend on his mood. Sometimes super fast just sit him upright straight after milk he will burp. But in the middle of the night it took me more den 1/2hr to burp him.

Jovial.. tks for ur advise. But Kayden's er ni, sometimes is milk but there's time it's small white colour thingy.

Aria Jo, thanks for the contact. Will call her tomorrow.

I'm a Mummy, I also had Strep B infection during pregnancy. Took antibiotics which cleared the infection, but gynae still put me on drip during labour just to play safe. Baby came out healthy. Don't worry so much.

Garden Dreamz, you're welcome. Sorry I took so long to reply.
Anyway, I'm using fan for my baby. Don't want her to get used to air-con, coz that's what happened to my newphew. Now, he refuses to sleep with his grandparents in non-aircon room, and always run to sleep with parents. Easier to switch from fan to air-con then from air-con to fan in future, that's what I think.

CONGRATS to all new graduate mummies!

all the babies look so cute! their chubby cheeks & pinkish lips make me feel like sayang sayang them

unice, gingerleaf & garden_dreamz,

my pc down for a few days, just back from "revival" :p so happy for hippo! her baby must be a chubby baby also! hee.. just had a simple haircut, so that it will look neater... really miss my long curly hair... will have checkup tomorrow morning, hope will have good news by then... but i dun feel any indifference these few days leh, so i guess maybe my baby decides to stay a while longer inside...

san,

wow.. so u will have a 10.10 baby
all the best to your delivery!

kris,
no prob. was just curious only... the problem is that my place have a lot of mosquitoes with many upcoming apartmnets n also daytime quite hot, so cannot really open windows to ventilate so wonder if really have to resort to aircon... sigh...

dodo,
now i know why u MIA a few days! nvm, hair will always grow back. keep us posted hor...

dodo,
few days never see you, I tot u gave birth oreadi or prob in labour liao.
Whats with the haircut? Why cut ur hair? Im still keeping my hair long leh, no much diff for confinement leh. So far since the day(Thursday) I came back till now, I have oreadi washed my hair twice. Hehe.

Update: My bb got mild jaundice, now look reddish yellow, brought her down to suntan today and she cried so loud. Made me so 'mang zang'.
On a happier note, her umbilical cord finally dropped and it smells. Looks like a piece of dried longan. lol

Anyone's bb gal got the blood discharge from vagina?
I asked my CL today and she said my gal did not have any. I was surprised coz I tot all bb gals will have the bloody discharge.

thanks aria, jovial, sans & valerie for the advise.

Just came back from the CTG scan and thankfully everything is fine.
Gynae gave me 3 options. 1) Go home and monitor, 2) Stay over hospital to monitor, 3) Induce but I'm not dilated yet so it's gonna be a long process

I decided to go for Option 1. Not going to consider induce until it's nearer to my EDD.

Sans, all the best! Hope you have a 10.10 baby!

To all undergraduate mommies, jia you!

sans, all the best for for today..

garden_dreamz, think weight oso cannot predict our delivery date one lo...last night talked to one of my col, she oso said reduction in water retention nearing the delivery date oso doesnt work for her too...so think must be depending on individual la...

dodo, so excited for today`s checkup right?

when i went checkup on monday, my baby weight never gain since last monday(3.1kg)...then we got worried but gynae said its only estimation..and nearing last few weeks will not gain much..
when we came home to compare the printouts, i realise the difference is in the thigh bone length...last monday was 6.9cm....this monday was 6.5cm....only stomach circumference increased....see how rough estimation it is...
so just have to wait till next monday to see the growth of bb again lo...
hopefully bb is ok

eh dodo, garden_dreamz unice
cant wait for u all to pop and join me in motherhood.
Hehehe. SO we can suffer together! NOT ENUFF SLEEEEEEEEP! SORE NIPPLEEESSS! CRYING BABY AT NITEEE!! WEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!

haha gingerleaf u very cute lei...

out of the list u just listed down, i m most scared abt the crying baby at nite....i worry i do not know how to pacify him to quieten down lei....
must try ourselves then we will know how xin ku it is to be mummies

unice,
trust me, the onli way to shut the baby up is to offer him the teat or the nipple. Okay la, thats for my bb la. Guess what, my baby is so greedy I cannot keep up with her demand! Now I have to try and supplement her at nite with FM. I feel miserable abt having to feed her FM tho, but my CL comforted me by telling me, that its not I dun have enuff, infact I have alot, its just that baby is drinking alot more. Cant wait for my nipple to heal, so I can latch her on and solve all the probs. So all pls remember to seek lactation consultant's help when in hospital! Preferbaly get help for the 1st latch on.
Later have to go Giant to buy milk powder liao. She oso ask me to buy stout, so she can add to bb's bath. Claims that bb will become "bai bai hua hua". LOL

Hi gingerleaf,

My gal did not have any bloody discharge so far, only while discharge which the PD says it's ok.
She is 12 days old today!

Unice,
Regarding crying bb at nite, I have a taste of it last night! Not sure what happened to her, she just slept for a while and then will start crying! MIL wake up and insist on giving milk but I don't think she is hungry at all! Then suggested that she hold her while I go to sleep! Hiaz, I don't want that to be a habit as after the confinement, it'll just be me alone and I still need to work!!

Am wondering, is it possible that when bb sleep, sometimes they will make some noises and if someone is constantly by their side and sayang them, it will become a habit?? I suspect that my gal got that habit as FIL will always sit by her side in the day time doing that.. so end up, night time she no longer can sleep without pple sayang her ......

bbwoes...good to hear that all is alrite....keep monitoring at home k...

no worries junnie...hehe...me rem..coz i just finished my class with mrs wong and she was talking about it...hehe...
hope baby's cradle cap is getting better...

sans...all the best...waiting to see pics of ur baby

gingerleaf..u so cute lah....describe until like that...haha...but i agree with the lack of sleep and sore breasts part...haha....better enjoy my last few days of er ren shi jie and late wakeups...haha..

dodo..any sign of 10.10 baby??

Hi gingerleaf,

You are not alone as I am supplementing with FM as well. And the bigger problem I have is that I don't really have support from HB and PIL on BF. As bb will cry when she latch on due to slower flow or lesser demand, they felt that I am torturing her and hence will immediately offered FM for her. Am kind of depress as I would end up pumping but guess due to the frequency, my supply did not increased at all! And it doesn't help whenever I want to pump, they will keep on telling me to rest and yet I have to ensure that the breastpump and equipment are washed and sterilized! So by the time I get everything ready and start to pump, it's time for bb to wake up again! Now, I am praying hard that bb don't be turn off latching as after the confinement and once I'm alone again, I gonna insist on bb latching on..........

totoro,
maybe u can try to be firm with them? Tell them u wanna latch bb in the day, then at nite feed FM?
Try to rope hubby in to help u wash the pump n sterilized them?
Dun be stress k. Coz being unhappy and stress will affect bm supply. Mrs wong always say must stay happy and positive then can see good results.

totoro,
re: baby crying at night, few days back my baby kept waking up in the middle of the night and cry, normally an hr after feed. I was feeding 50ml back then. Cry and cry n cry, was really very frustrated. Cannot be hungry ma, coz just fed, CL keep insisting she is hungry, but I doubted her. How can baby get hungry so fast! But after trial & error and increasing of feed, now she dun cry so much. Cry only to get attention for milk, once feed her the required amt(which is 70+ml now), she goes back to sleep.

dear all..

have good news and bad news when i saw gynea last nite...

bad news is the strep-B test result shows I have the bactery..

the good news.. Tks God, Doc said water bag level still ok.. no need to deliver much early.. bb oso gaining weight to 2.7kg..

Junnie,
tks 4 ur concern.. yup.. try not so worried... at least bb still okay and gaining weight..

Yoko,
that's okay.. we r willing to hear you.. I feel so sorry to hear that.. Juz try to keep ur emotion down and ur mood steady k.. It's not good for baby.. remember.. happy mummy = happy baby.. when u r upset bb oso can feel.. cheers

i have 2 more wks to go.. am also feel scared and not ready yet... somemore coz i will get induced.. try to prepare my mental.. :p
btw, have u done prepare ur hosp bag? better do if u haven't..

Sanbebe,
tks for ur info. I will hunt for it :p

Gingerleaf,
Cute cute baby.. so chubby.. agree wif unice, seems like ur princess were dreaming of milk..

Joshmummy,
wish ur bb Jerric's jaundice will go down and get better soon..

Zhen zhen,
Congrats on ur newborn princess.. n tks for sharing..

Hippo18,
Congratz on ur princess Adrienne!!! how is ur butt pain now? hope it's gone oredi..

Wen-wen,
All the best!!

I'm A Mummy,
I tested positive for Strep-B as well. I did web search, it said that it is very common and a very rare case can cause a life-threatening to newborn. am worried too.. dun wan to pass tis bacteries to my bb..
If m not wrong.. my gynea said will give me antibiotics 1 week before delivery.. will ask him for more detail next coming tue..

Bbwow,
good to hear ur CTG scan results is ok. Last time my bb very quiet till my gynea send me for the CTG... But then bb back to normal when was monitored.. I think it is bcoz i kept telling him dun make mummy's worried.. told him that nid to go for the test coz he's very quiet..
Do talk more to ur baby.. I think it helps with bb's mood/growth too.. hmm.. I guess so..

eufrasia,
just saw your posting. good, your gynae will be giving you antibitiocs.. cos my collegue also tested +ve for strep B for her 2nd one and her gynae didn't do anything. So, after she deliver her baby, her baby girl caught meningitis and was admitted to ICU cos of high fever! we went to the hospital to visit her. her baby girl so poor thing.. with all the drips all poking her... then her 3rd one came along and again she contracted strep B and she did her research and this time round she insisted her gynae to give her antibiotics eventhough they say not necessary. Her 3rd one didn't get meningitis..

Eufrasia,
did u asked dr adrian to do the test for u? or he did it automatically?
cos he didnt do it on me...but i asked him abt it...so he said next monday he will do a strep B test for me...
how long to know the results?

Aria jo,
o dear.. i'm sorry to hear your colleague's 2nd bb.. poor thing...
btw, did her gynea put her on drip during labour?

after reading info abt Strep-B.. hubby told me to go for c-sec to play safe.. but the thing is m scared going under op.. (my dad passed away 3 days after an abdomen op.. it was pain to see his conditions..)

oso read somewhere that it takes 6-9 mts for uterus not the tummy to recover..
and from my personal view, it doesn't feel alright if i go under c-sec.. seems that it's not a complete process having a bb..

on the other hand, my MIL oredi tried to find a good day for the bb to be born, have the date and time..
when told my gynea abt tis.. he said can be induced if wan to deliver in that day.. but nid to go for c-sec if wan an exact timing..
lucky thing hubby left me the choice.. no nid to go for c-sec if i'm not ok..
ILs said the exact day & timing is for our bb's own good.. believe it or not..
abit thinking to go for c-sec but still afraid..

anyway.. tks for hearing my tot..

Unice,
i asked him abt the test, he said he will do the test on the next visit. the result will come out abt few days i guess.. coz doc only told me tis tue thou i went to see him last fri... (did the test on thurs)

been MIA for quite sometime. delivered my baby, benedict tng, on 29 sept at 3.42kg, 50cm.

so many things happened. aso dunno where to start. just to update a little first..maybe when have more time will update again..

thanks Eufrasia....
hope the test is not painful etc...

nans, congrats!! post pict soon...
haha, too many updates...by the time u finish reading, ur baby wake up for the next feed liao

eufrasia,
didn't ask her abt the drip but i tot all mother will be given the drip??

i think no need to go for c-sec bah... my collegue just took the antibiotics to clear the bacteria and she went for natural birth after that for her 3rd one.. no problem leh.. i also don't want c-sec bcos the scar is so long! and of course the bill also more ex lah..hehe...

gingerleaf, my girl dun have bloody discharge, just white discharge, which PD says is normal.

totoro, do try and get your bb to latch on as much as possible. bb suckling is the best thing to stimulate milk flow!

i'm also supplementing with FM, and i noticed that after i started supplementing, my girl's getting a bit lazy. will cry when she first latches on as it's a lot harder work to suck from breast than bottle. what i do is calm her down by talking to her and as she sucks, i also massage the breast so that she gets milk faster. so far, have managed to settle her down by doing that. perhaps you might want to give it a try?

anyway, hang in there ok. it must be really tough not to have any support from your family. i have support, and i'm already feeling quite depressed, cos milk flow not coming in well and cannot really keep up with baby's demand. BF is a lot harder than i imagined!

Hey gals, just to share this bit of info which I found really interesting.

My CL told me that the brand of "Ru Yi" oil I got for baby is wrong. She said the one I got is too strong and is too "minty/hiam" for baby. She instructed me to get the other brand which have got 2 Mandarin Oranges as logo. The one I got initially is a Chinese Sail Boat Logo.
And I tot there is only one type of "Ru Yi" oil!

hi all after almost a month after bb is out haha ok here is my birth story

I have appt on 11/09 at noon time as gyane os busy with all the C sect

12pm see gynae and check already 3cm open so i ask DR Wong how? can last how long she say maybe today lastest should be 13/09 for me ... so since this is my 2nd bb i am scare bb will come out after midnight which is 12/09 but i die die also DUN WANT THAT DATE "same as my BIL!!!!!!!!!!" so ok i tell DR Wong ok today i want him to come out by today CANNOT have the birth date 12/09 I WANT 11/09 so was ask to admit imme but haha request to go for luch so have to come back by 2pm

1pm having lunch and ice cream before admition and confinement haha got to enjoy 1st

2.30pm go to labour ward but they are all so busy so sit at 1 side to just wait

3.00pm got a bed in the labour ward was ask to change go toilet and poo ... request to have a bath after poo wow all seen so nice ###########

3.30pm hear some noise between nurses and also some black faces **** ok ok Midwife R came and wanted to give me my drip and draw blood etc saw her taking the biggest needle am so shock cos i have a small hand i ask if can use a smaller one but she says she wants to draw blood and that will be faster !!! any way the needle cannot go in and got jam 1/2 way and its super duper painful ok and whole vain and hand was swollen aiyo and the labour ward is super super duper HOT man no air at all ... but she sie sie also want to draw blood from the swell ... what can i do right ...after that she got to reject me so thati can put on my drip ... so she ask another sister G to come and do for me saying i am scare la this and that and also they are both no happy with one another lor ... but this sister at least better la

4.00pm Dr Wong came to check me and i am 4cm liao so she break my water bag and say will see me again in the evening

4.30-5.30 Was so HOT in the Labour ward and also felt Nothing no pain to me as least .. so bored nothing to do i cannot sleep as per normal

5.30 got a vistor haha ok ok its Lynn from stermcord so doing all my paper work for the the stermcord thingy etc etc at least can feel something but still ok la but my CTG all go heywire keke bb heartbeat become 50 70 120 30 etc but i dun care la cos i know its becos of my movement anyway i also call esther too so that she can have the discount thingy too so MTB you all can also tell them my name la haha so that i can also have discount mah

6.00pm Dr Wong came again she saw me very busy with things that i am not purpose to do haha doing paper work ... she ask me so how was it i look at her so happy cos at 5.00pm i wanted to call her liao cos i felt nothing mah and i want to give birth by today i tell her ohh nothing how how how den she said ya i can see u are ok and dun look like you are in labour anyway she check me again ohh guess what i am already 6cm liao yeah ... with not very pain to me la so she ask me not to take epi but i WANT man so have to ask for it Immd if not by 7cm cannot take liao

7.00pm Dr Chew came with Midwife R and give me epi wow pain la he is skilless man same as the Midwife R

7-8.15pm feeling so bored and HOT no TV no Air COn peng

8.15pm finally got a free delivery room for me so got AIR CON got TV liao yeah ... they check VE for me ohh still 6cm ohh ... panic man

9.00pm nurses are all busy and also perparing for my bb to come so i request to do a VE ok still 7cm and also one side open only !!! was ask to turn to my right but ask to call them if i feel like pooing

9.30pm feel like pooing hmm was thinking i must be crazy liao haha

9.45pm really feel like pooing so tell myself to time and also if i got that feeling 5 more times den i call for the nurses as i know that they are very busy

9.50pm i call for nurse and check ok ready to give birth liao they call for Dr Wong and also i start to push a bit still cannot see baby's head hmm

10.10pm Dr Wong came so ask to push etc ... so i was pushing and after a while i was pushing breathing & also burping non stop aiyo peng

10.30pm still cannot Dr Wong ask 2 midwife to push my tummy for me to help me and i push & breath & burp

10.45pm ask if i want water so ok i drank and vomited

11.00pm ohh was telling myself must come out soon man going to be tomolo liao but am thinking of 1109 timing too but how i know abt after a good push bb was out at 1106

12.00am was push to the Ward to rest for the day

ok the end haha so long right

Hi mummies, helping sharon post.

<font size="+2">Sharon Yeo's Prince, Carlson Lee Zi Yang</font>

1012269.jpg

Carlson mins after birth! Notice the blue black thingy on his right cheeks?

1012270.jpg

The blue black mark found on Carlson's cheek, but have since cleared up.