(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Atinarin, one thing about hot water flask ... don't get the cheap ones. They don't keep the water hot one. Very fast will become cold. Get reliable brands like Tiger or the elephant one that starts with "Z". Mine's the latter and I've been using it since my gal's time ... almost 3 years liao.

Pinkyi, you can say I actually tried to put him into a routine cos I won't give him milk till at least 4 am though sometimes he started to ek ek ek at 3 am. I will pat him to sleep a while more before feeding him.

Hi <font color="0000ff">pinkyj</font>..
Sometimes just plain crankiness... they cry without any reason.. just try to soothe them.. it's not that we have done something wrong or wat...

blueskye, my gal wont lor.. she will start to wail if she dun get her milk.. then she has the habit of not finishin her milk.. she's 7 weeks old as of today.. by rite shld be drinkin abt 120-150mls... but nowadays i make only 100-110mls.. and she wont finish lor.. will drink abt 80-90.. any mommies bb also like tat?

Do you all have the "green monster" in you? When my maid carry my boy, he always look at her so innocently ... so cute ... then when I carry him, he don't always look at me ... sometimes like to turn here turn there. Now I hate to see my maid carry him. Always ask her to put him back in the crib or I will take over the carrying.

ya.. the vacuum flask i got is the elephant brand wan.. zo.. something.. a good brand!

emily, yalor.. really plain crankiness... i very scared when she's like tat..

Hi <font color="0000ff">pinkyj</font>..
Try to talk to ur baby when she is cranky..

I always do that.. I will tell my boy "Why always cry-cry? Tell mummy what u wan.. U wan walk-walk, carry-carry, milk-milk or wat..." Use ur finger to tickle her chin when u talk to her... see if this works for u..

Mummies out there....

Have u started seeing your baby's first little grin OR heard his first "Ah-goo-goo"?

I have been waiting. I read in the book that baby will start to smile and coo from 6th to 8th weeks.

emily, yup i do tat also.. then she always like to 'smoother' herself on my chest.... ahhaha.. then she always choose her timin to be cranky.. like when i can sit down for a meal or when i need to do something.. or when i tot i can rest while she sleeps...

yup yup.. her first goo goo was 1 or 2 weeks ago... she still smiles.. she also grin when she looks at her mobile... but i think its reflex.. but when i play with her hands.. she will open her mouth... like 'O' shape.. like tryin to smile...

My boy already can smile when I was 32 weeks pregnant cos his smiling was captured on my 4D scan ... haha.
And yes, he still smiles now ... sometimes in his sleep also. But no "ah-goo-goo" yet.

on diapers, i can't even assess which diapers is better coz my boy poos quite frequently! its damn tiring, at night, have to wake up to change diapers coz he poo poo few times as well !!

when poo poo, u guys change immediately rite ? at nite, i so tired, feel like dun wan to help him change... kekeeke

Em, my boy utter so much noise that i don't know which is which...haahaa! But he's quite smiley when he's not cranky lah, also can smile in his sleep, can wink wink too with 1 eye and raise his eyebrow. Aiyooh...there he goes again...ek ek ek liao.....argggh!

pillow, there was once where i change my gal's diaper 3 times within 10 mins!!! so pek cek but yet its so funny lor.. ahaha..

Jus checking, does yr bb wants to be carried all the time? Mine seems to be, & only wants to be carried so tat he can fall asleep..but once u try to put him down, he starts to cry..wail again..& the vicious cycle starts..to soothe & carry & jiggle him to sleep...sighz..

sometimes my gal also like tat.. so far she only fell asleep on her own once.. the rest of the time we have to carry her, only when she fall asleep liao then put her down..

btw, re: diapers
I'm letting my bb using Nepia & pet pet ones... i prefer nepia ones cos they are pretty soft..as for petpet, find tat the material is slightly more rough..jus tat its cheap & easily obtainable from NTUC.. hehe

sounds like its a common baby phase huh? ihope i can stay sane for these mths.. haha.. cos bb's cries & crankiness can sometimes drive me nuts... i'm trying my best to be patient... :p jus hope bb will be better when hes older...

btw, can i check how many meals ur bb is taking each day? cos my bb demands for milk abt every 2hr+, be it EBM or FM...so i think he needs abt 10-11 meals per day which i think its v siong! Is this normal? bb is 1mth old now..

Wiselyn, yes ... of cos we have to thank God for our little ones. Whether they are guai or notti, clever or not so clever, it's still a gift from God!

baby just turned one month today. can't believe one month ago i was wincing and walking around in pain coz of the contractions! ask me now how the pain was and i totally forgot how they felt liao..

my girl will smile when she's about to fall asleep.. usually we say her 'angel friends' are playing with her
so far with heard her chuckle three times, but also when she's about to fall asleep.

nowadays she's much more attentive, like when we talk to her she will frown (maybe wondering what we're blabbering about) and when we move to the left/right her eyes will follow. can't wait to hear her first respond to our babytalks heh.

i think most of us would have cried at least once since baby is born.. i think it's natural. if it's not because our babies cant stop crying, it's coz of our other half's antics and what nots.

like last night i was super#(&)(!@ at hubby for coming home late coz he met up with his friends after work. when he came home i didnt talk to him and totally ignored him.. also coz i feel he's paying more attention to his newer baby (the car, HRMPH) than us (me and our daughter). but i very soft lah, he talk nice2 to me i will soften up and not be so angry at him already. haiyah.

Hi <font color="0000ff">Voice</font>..
Yeah, my boy too makes a lot of noise when he sleep, but dunno how to say Ah-Goo-Goo yet... he can smile, chuckle and cry during his sleep (I think he must be dreaming or wat)..

Sometimes he open one eye during his sleep and grin.. I think he is sub-conscious.. When he is awake, he dun really smile, no matter how I try to persuade him..

Hi <font color="0000ff">charsiew</font>..

I tried to stop "assisting" my baby to sleep by carrying him, rocking him etc... Only when he is cranky..

At night (8pm), I just put him in his cot, dim the light and let him sleep on his own.. Most of the time, he can fall to sleep on his own..

In the afternoon, sometimes he needs to be carried and pat to sleep... I will carry and pat for a short while... Before he falls to sleep, I will put him back... I read in the book that baby can actually self-soothe to sleep.. if we continue to assist them by carrying, rocking, using a pacifier etc, they will be dependent on us to get asleep.. Its not easy, but I am trying my best to let my baby sleep on his own..

loopedbusrides... guys are like tat one. When we 1st changed cars, my HB was either busying washing the car himself (he say others washing - not clean!!) or he will be at some forum exchanging car tips or visiting some workshop to fix something on the car!!!

I was like aiyo!! N he even went for the Lancer Club meet-up (luckily only 1 time!!!) (and yup... we driver a Lancer too - the previous model - smiley face model)

And guess wat - he met one of my good frens there (whose part of the meet-up organiser!!)

Has your HB went for the Lancer meet-up also?

hi Pinky, i really hope so..
cos i hv tried to stall his feeding intervals but invain, cos hes practically screaming for milk, i hv no choice to give him his prize les he take in more air/wind & become so bloated & colicky... sometimes he puke milk too...so im jus worried whether hes being overfed...hmm...

hi Emily, how i envy u...
at least ur bb can self soothe to sleep...mines seem abit "yang orh"/pampered, still needs to be hugged!& carried so that he wont keep screaming for attention. sometimes i jus let him cry..& pat on his back or shoulders to quieten him..but after few mins, he din stop so i hv to carry him to soothe him...

rely hope this is jus a growing phase & bb will better behave when hes older.. haha :p

Hi <font color="0000ff">charsiew</font>..
I have to discipline him now before he goes to infant care.. I dun think the teacher there and pat every babies.. If he dun self-soothe, he will suffer in the infant care..

Actually, during the 1st 2 or 3 weeks, my mum tends to pamper him a lot. She was helping during my confinement then. She will rock him and pat him till he is asleep, then put him down.

I have some difficulty initially. My baby keep tossing around, and cannot get into sleep. I still dun carry him, but I tried to talk to him "Sleep, sleep, boy...", and I caress him, touch his hair and lightly pat his shoulder. Slowly, he get used to it liao..

Anyway, not all the time he is well-behaved and can self-soothe.. If he is cranky, I still need to carry him and pat him..

Sigh, me getting stressed over breast milk now ... seems like my EBM collection instead of increasing, has been decreasing these days with my boy's increased appetite!

On average I am pumping only about 100ml for each of his 3 hourly feeding. So I have to use my frozen "EBM collection" to supplement the balance 50-60ml. At this rate if my supply don't go up, my collection may run "dry". So stressed ...

emily, my gal usually fall asleep aft she drinks.. then even when we burp her she'll still continue to sleep.. then sometimes the moment we put her down her eyes will be wide open!! ahahha.. think my cl rock her too much liao... she always carry her the moment she ek ek ek.. tryin to break the habit...

My baby now at 8 weeks can smile at me when i talk to her. Say Ah Goo...Ah Put... Boo...Coo...etc... She loves me touching her nose and chin and my hubby and I will always say Nose nose where and she sometimes reply Ah put.. which makes us forget all the frustration we had earlier...

Mummies who are furstraated with ur babies..Do persist on... u will be rewarded with their smile and toking as time goes by...

Next week I have to go bac and work already... soon going to miss her liao so treasure now that u can see ur baby everyday growing...

puppygal.. yalor.. sometimes i'm so frustrated wit my gal but when i see her smile... aiyoh.. everything jus melt away...

re: diapers

Most of you like Mamy Poko. Is it really good? Cos I had a sample pack and it leaked terribly within 2-3 hours! Just started trying Huggies Ultra a couple of days ago. Pretty ok so far.

How is Nepia? I have heard some good reviews for it. Where to find it?

there was one day, when we tried Drypers, Mamy poko and Pampers. all leaked. then i realise why. coz the person who put on the diaper (my hubby) is the PROBLEM. hahaha when i change, no problem. but when he change, leaked.

sorry to intrude this thread but i need some help.... hw do u all ease pelvic pain?? i have this pelvic pain since 2week ago.. and i m in my 22weeks now..

Hi <font color="0000ff">pillow</font>..
Hee hee... u r funny.. sometimes baby moves too much during nappy change, it is difficult to secure the diaper properly...

cheryl,

for nepia newborn, u need to order direct from them and they will deliver to your place...clara is using nepia..although not as good as pampers..but not too bad...soft and comfy...

if you need their contact let me know.

pillow,

so the poblem is your hubby ah...haha lucky clement is a good daddy..can take good care of clara..her first diaper change at home is done by daddy...her first bath at home also done by daddy...hee hee

Talking about bath, I've never bath my gal or boy before at least during their first 3 months. Heeee
Very scared to handle them esp when their neck still not stable.

Hi <font color="0000ff">Wiselyn</font>..

Clement is a good daddy! Lucky u

I do all the feeding, nappy change and bathing.. Still dun haf confidence in my HB yet.. I reluctantly let him do the feeding if he wants...

Finally... POP (army term) already. :)

Shotbyfau,
Your hubby is one nice guy... :) Can still be so sweet and talk to you nicely.

Hi <font color="0000ff">puppygal</font>..
So fast back to work? I thought its 12 weeks?
I start to worry that I will miss my baby terribly when I go to work.

Now, I spend all my time with my baby and I enjoy every moment of it.

emily,

u shd let ur hubby learn, i am sure he will be able to do a good job....if you never let him try..he will never learn, i am sure he will be able to do it..