(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

we finally went out on a family outing today! YAY! went to ikea and had dinner..and picked up some things..yiheng was in the stroller the whole time with proud daddy pushing him along..but bub woke up halfway thru our shopping and wanted to be fed asap! had to try and soothe him whilst hubby was paying for the items then rushed to the car to latch him on..couldn't be bothered to go to the nursing room...SOOOOO glad i have the nursing shawl..very convenient to BF direct..seriously considering buying another one now as a spare..may as wellsince hubby complains still that this one is a lil see thru....good excuse! LOL!

I've just given yiheng his dreamfeed..he took 2 1/2 oz..and swaddled him in the swaddleme that i'd just received in the mail..he looks so content in it! fingers crossed that he sleeps till morning!

chatty,
just in case u r getting the dreambag, do let me know so we can try to get mininum 4pcs to entitle the 15% discount. if not, perhaps i'll source around at united square. my gal is already coming to 3mths soon, it sure be pretty fast she outgrow the dreambag.

I have the MIM sling too..but haven't tried it yet since bb is happy using the infantino one rite now..he slept in it for almost 2 hrs when we were at relatieve's place yesterday, but always wakes up with this big red imprint on the side where he's leaned against the fabric..does the MIM have this prob too? i think he'll want out of the infantino one when he gets more curious and want to check out what's happening around him, so must try to pracitce with MIM one too!

chatty,
oooo..am tempted to get the dreambag too! will u be getting it for sure? let me know if can tumpang?

oh yah regarding visits to pd, any mommy noes which are e periods we shld bring babies back to pds for e regular development checks..? i went once when bb was 4th week..n noe dat if i intend to get 6-in-1 from pd..can go back, but guess i'll probably go to GP instead..so when do we hv to go back to PDs?

choco
i either sleep late to get one more pump in or get up early, so i'll get about 6 hour of sleep. tired in the day but cannot nap, my bb is not a good napper in the day, so almost stuck to her the whole day.

woof,
i already bought 2 packs of PetPet M size last wk liao but haven use yet hee.. KS, buy n keep 1st haha..

loh,
jiayou, u can do it... soon u will get use 2 take care of bb alone.. 2day mi oso alone, had lunch oni at 3pm n is cook maggi.. however still managed 2 prepare simple dinner..

ivy,
yeah, tis few days rainy too.. cooling weather.. i like it...

lilyn,
haha my bb oso like urs, oni accept Avent pacifier, giv him Pigeon 1 he reject, i wonder why too..

leooh,
u oso went watch movie? mi too haha.. it was since 3 mths ago for my last movie before i gave birth, last wkn finally step into cinema again hehe..

ytanhn
the sleeping bag my bb is using is not the dream bag. i prefer the one she's using as they have long sleeves. with the dream bag she will have to wear long sleeves onesie, which means we have to buy a complete set of onesies for night since all her onesies are short sleeves. the sleeping bag she's wearing now is carter's, paid US$10 when we bought them. regret only buying 2 now, which we bought one or two more. if i can find a pix, i'll post it to show you how it looks like.

lilyn
if your mom can sew, it's not difficult to make one. i'm hopeless when it comes to sewing, so have to buy. i once asked my mom if she'll sew something for me, she asked me how much is the thing (to buy) and told me she'll give me the money to buy. :D if i can make one, i'll make the hole bigger, so can put in one of those wet wipe packs with plastic cover.

lena
think you cannot let go straight away, must let the suction stick first and the bottles have some milk to weigh it down.

ivy
yeah, the dream bag, the one from mama and papa, and the glo bag, all are same, without sleeves. i've been tempted to buy from the BP but just hesitating cos need to buy a whole set of onesie for night and she'll outgrow them so quickly. now the onesie she wear for the day already she outgrow so quickly, cannot imagine 2 sets of clothing at the same time, and wearing half the time. :p

ivy
interesting mat, but from 1.5yo, still got a bit of time to go. may get later on. today just spent >$100 buying one of those mat for bb to play on, better stop spending money before hubby finds out i've been having shopping spree.

sunbloom
no idea how to make your bb take to bottle.... how about trying diff teats? i read in the book to find a teat as similar to your nip as possible.

chatty
i think it's true. i started off latching on but my letdown was very slow and bb was impatient. she'll let go and end up latching on incorrectly, which means sore and cracked nipples for me. i switched to expressing and feeding by bottles. now and then when i let her latch on, she'll still latch on and take bottles.

but the bf-ing book i've read and the bf-ing class all said not to do both and to introduce bottles after 6w.

chatty/ivy/ytanhn
this is what i'm currently using. my girl loves it.

sleep bag

i've seen product similar to the dreambag in robinsons (mama and papa brand) and mothercare (globag i think it's called). you can check it out before deciding on the dreambag. not sure abt the prices though.

nining
i called tai sing (sp?) abt the combi chair, know what they told me? go buy it at kiddy palace or isetan!

jete,
haha happy shopping ah..

so fast 1am soon.. now everyday like fighting with time.. argh... gona feed my little one and slp liaoz.. nite nite everybody..

thanks for the recommendations and reviews, we bought the combi chair on sunday. brought my sis along to buy from isetan since she has the card, hoping for 10% off but in the end no 10%, she got points out of it, and they also throw in a free gift. combi toys to hook on to stroller.

today bought a bumper playmat through a friend. for rubbery foam mats, those things are expensive! i wasn't sure if i should get one since it's pricey but the price was good so i caved.

Leooh, gd to call to cxl appt if u cfm not going, then they can slot other people in.

btw i took the 6-in-1 jab instead, the nurse explained coz there's lesser jabs n doc says the improved version only small percentage will get fever. I oso gave him the rotavirus oral vacin. total bill close to $800! But it covers all jabs up to 18mth with chicken pox vacin too.

Jete, i got the bumper mat too at hm, i got the world map design. ex but nice, my elder gal still plays on it or sits on it while watching tv.
to me, it's worth buying.

pumping now again.....PD says v gd to feed excess to my elder gal too. so pump and get more.

Oh my left wrist is getting painful at the joint area. haiz...i had the same prob with both wrists last time with my elder gal and had to go for visits to the sinseh regularly. i think this time will be worse with Nic's weight!

jete,
that is so weird.. i bought it in early aug directly from taising.. n the auntie that sell to me was helpful too. was the price at isetan the same as in the taising brochure?

I will order a sling from MIM today. Am thinking of getting the cotten material but worry it will be too hot, anyone bot it? any advice please.

ocean,
yr description of stopping the time is so apt! I have the same feeling too....sometimes really so tired..and wish can zzz...hehhe

jete

i have bought the bumper mat too. bought the yellow bear design from the last BP, since world map is discontinued. i also asked myself why buy it..since bb since so young. but thinking got discount, buy it first then say. bt now i realised i have a prob putting it on the flr. cos my doggie will want to go there n play heee..then my mum will cry out in horror say cannot..aiya headache.

lilyn and jete,

i stopped the dream feed, what i do now is wait for her to wake up. she will normally sleep at 730 or 8 pm, then she will wake up at 12 30 am for feed. the dream feed dun seem to work on her le.

fox bb clothes are so nice..and very fashionable heee

BB abt the MIM sling, i heard that the satin ones are cooler compared to teh cotton ones. i hv the satin one, but my girl still perspire if i put her there too long. nowadays she prefer to be on bb bjourn.

inu, is the bjourn good? meaning she will always be in a upright not craddle position rite? Am thinking to get both actually. OK will get the satin one and hope it can last. Thanks

yup personally i think it good. she like to sleep in it and can sleep for up to 3 hrs while we shop.

thanks for advice. i thk my baby prefer latching also becos of body warmth n the cuddling. told my hb to feed him, abit difficult too but i thk it will takes time.

been feeling sleepy n tired all the time. but i have 6 hrs of sleep every nite shd be ok rite?now my knuckles, wrists, ankles n knees feel achy. do u all have this prob? is it due to us bathing during confinement n causes wind to go in?now really regret not taking good care of myself during confinement.

last qn, i realise my milk seems to be very watery recently. does watery milk means less nutrients?

jete,
yeah, i usually last feed bb abt 12+ to 1+ so he will usually wake up for his next feed around 5+ to 7am depending hw long he want to slp hee.. tis is a schedule i fix 4 him..

btw, the bumper playmat is realli ex.. mayb i not working now.. so to mi consider ex haha..

yesterdae was a nitemare for us....my bb didnt really sleep in the day (on & off)n i thot she is able to sleep well at nite..but y'day nite, she sleeps for abt half to 1 hr den starts kicking in bed....carry her den ok, put her down, she starts kicking not long after..usuallt at nite, she can sleep straight 3-4hrs but dunno watz wrong y'day....make me so frustrated tat i feel like stranggling her....

hey woof,

that's what we found out too. sometimes Isaac sleeps a lot in the day we thought at night sure wun sleep, but he sleeps fine. then when he dun sleep we thought he sure tired out at night, then like what happened to you, he was so cranky and difficult to get to sleep!

pst

woof, pst..
discovered the same thing about Yiheng too..he needs to sleep well during the daytime to sleep well during the nite..otherwise super cranky..think they get overtired..

An_gal,
SO envious of ur bb's long stretch of sleep! how'd u get him on this schedule? p/s is he on formula or breastmillk?

Cin,
i'm achy too! esp on my wrist joints (thot mayb cuz of bb's weight) but sometimes on my knees, and arms too...i was terrible during confinement n didnt follow any of the rules..hopeing this isn't my retribution! eekk!

inu,
thats a pretty long stretch of sleep already..how old is ur bb now? can't remember if ur feeding her formula or BM..and is it direct latch or bottle? my boy only latches for 10-15 mins during the nite feeds...and if i feed my little one at 6 and 8..he'll tend to wake up sometime around 12..but if i give him the dreamfeed, he'll wake around 2-ish..dunno if its just cuz he's still young(almost 6 weeks) and tummy capacity is small.. or if he's just wanting to suckle at nite

Ng,

brought BB for his 6 in 1 jab today. And at 6weeks, he is weighing 6.4kg! Since doc say that he is not overweight, i guess will latch as per normal.

cin

i also ach all over. but i did not relate back to confirment wor.

i thought is cos of the extra 'exercise' that we are doing.
bending to pick baby up lah, puting him down hence the back ache. sometime i put him on my chest, then i will use my stomach muscle to pull myself up hence the stomach ache. then carry baby lah, hence the hand ache. my wrist also pain cos i use my wrist to pat my bb buttock

dun think too much lah..i believe once ur body get used to these 'exercise' u will feel better

hi choco n lilyn

so u have the same prob too?i thought i am the only one. my mum asked me to "bu" {take tonic) but i dun dare cos 1st i m afraid of heatiness n 2nd my baby had jaundice b4 so i try not to take any chinese herbs. maybe we need to exercise. but i thk i have some wind in my knuckles cos its really stiff n sore. now all my rings cannot be worn n i need to resize it later.

hey ladies
dun laugh at me ok? i went to register my son for the pre nursery 2010 intake. i thought i was being kiasu but to my horror all the morning classes r already taken up n i have no choice but to confirm the afternoon class while waitlist for the morning class. looks like other mummies r more kiasu than me. i was thking then what abt those year end babies? does not mean by then they will not have any place to go? therefore remember to register your babies now if u want them to go to those good nurseries n kindergardens.

I am also aching all the time, my knees and back feel the worst.. Will sauna help? I tried long hot bath, only helped a while, then the pain all come back after pumping/latching/ bathing baby..