(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

went shopg w hb last nite for bb's outdoor clothes (coz she cant wear her nice nice clothes anymore)...went to fox babies..wah, their clothes are sooo nice..but sooo exp..only bought 4 sets, and cost $80! I wanna faint liaoz...told myself that this is going to be the rare times i'm going to spend so much on clothes tat cant wear for long..a bit heartpain..but they are very nice..hopefully, she can wait them for a slightly longer time..hehe

Me jus finished pumping milk. Yawnz...

Garfield, is ok lah, jus try to relax. My ss also siao one, sometimes can pump abt 200ml for every 6/7hrs pump, but sometimes only 125ml... Quite sianz too.. but at times also feel tat if dun hv, i can stopped.. hubby was complaining very troublesome...

Am very tired of bf too... wish to stop but my first gal was given till 9mths with supplement from FM at times... so if this bb dun give like unfair... haiz...

Re: "Brainy Baby" by Baby Concept

Harlow mummies, wondering if you have tried the VCDs above for your babies? It's available in other titles like Peek-a-boo,laugh n learn, shapes n colors etc...saw it at kiddy palace and looks quite interesting..but dunno if it's useful?

pumping time again.

Ocean, same here. I oso bf my gal till 9mths, dat why i always tell myself must be fair to both. So Nic must oso be at least 9mths lor. But hor, 1st time more Onz. 2nd time now, like more lazy liao but really v siong.....hehe

ytahn, jete,
thanks 4 the info on the diaper clutch! think the major feature is that there is a spot for mummies to keep their wetwipes rite? hmm..may ask my mum if she can sew something similar for me..

ytahn,
there's a spree going on now for the dreambag! go check the page..

otherwise another mum is seelling hers off here: http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/1003830.html?1191680945

hehe..i obviously spend too much time browsing these things

lena,
i'm looking for nice going out clohtes too for bb! does fox have nice boy sets? we got a wedding to attend 2nd wk of nov..he'll be 2 months 2 wks then..would LOVE to have him n a nice outfit, but then i know its completely impractical to buy something when he already has so many clothes given to him..

Choco, yah u need to put the chilledd milk in a cooler bag first. if bb wants to drink, then heat it up. so need to bring alot of things. easier to go find nursing rm n latch leh.
Me using the MIM sling.

lilyn,i tink have ah..hehe..you same w mi lehz...i also bought the nice nice clothes coz we had to attend a wedding dinner last sat...so she wore on the spot..but i bought 6mth-12mths one...but it looks like can only wear for the most 3 mths..

choco,
i bring a ziplock bag...then when req, juz put the bottle and hot water inside lor...coz mi not skilled at all to nurse outside, so either i warm up my chilled EBM or i give her FM at this situations..hehe...lazy mummy...

hmm, juz got my handsfree kit n shields...duno how to use lehz...the milk juz keep dripping..alamak..

lena,
i have a really nice chateau de sable outfit that was given to us...fingers crossed that he can fit into that!

Choco,

I bring EBM out and bring warmer also, jz find a plug thn pour some water into warmer. A bit laceh lah...but still ok. Last satrday my boy school start, we brought EBM, bring the cooler to store thn bring warmer to warm it.

Last Friday I went to gynae for PAP SMEAR, bump into my friend who went to the LC at parent craft, we were chatting about supply...one of the consultant told us AngMo mothers are vry strict and stubborn, they insisted their babies must take 100% breastmilk, she told us got a french mother who consult them due to low supply, die die wnt her baby to be on breastmilk only, as her supply is super low...she refuse to substitute her baby with formula, end up her baby sturve for 3weeks and face slimming down..the consultant make so much effort to convince her to give formula, as sturvation will cause baby to be mental retarded. I pitty the baby, how I wish I could donate some EBM for him/her. Sturve for 3wks, no joke leh...poor little baby.

lena

u pour hot water into the ziplock bag? woundn't the ziplock bag melt??

adeline
wow, u bring the warmer our also.really very le chek lei....peifu peifu...

ng
my latching also very bad therefore i pump out.
hows the MIM sling? easy to use? i wan buy but scare waste money...

Choco,

Its nt leh cheh lah...its for the comfort for our baby having warm and nice EBM. Cos if I give formula, my fridge has alrdy been loaded full with EBM, scared cant finish within 48hrs, now my older boy also help to drink, we mix with formula.

lena

my bb when born was 2.9 kg. at 4 wks, she is 3.78 kg. now hv not measure her at PD yet. but i measure her using home weighing scale, she is about 4.5 kg at about 7 weeks.

as for hands free kit, you can get hwei to come down n demo to you. she very nice one

adeline: how come u dun freeze them? i will freeze the ebm after 2 days then if still got extra, then will give to my elder gal.

need to freeze to stock up my ebm store in preparation for my return to work next month. i think my bm supply will drop once i go back to work cos i will reduce the pumping and the work environment is very stresful

choco, the bag doesnt melt leh..now tat you mentioned it hor..but the water also not super super hot ah...

inu, ya..she offered to come over my place to demo..but i scare later halfway she give birth ah...coz her gynae also say anytime..so a bit paiseh and dun hv the heart to make her come down...stil tinking ah..the kit is sitting there lor...sigh..

lena

u need to make use of the kits wor..then will make ur pumping so much easier. u leak at where the super shield is? u need to tighten the handsfree string ..and hold on to the shield first ..only when the vacuum is tight..n with little milk then u can let go

jus back frm my 2d1n hotel stay yest, feel so shiok and relax after tat, really enjoy ourself w/o the bb, can do anything we 1 haha.. after reach hm, nitemare begins again argh.....

lena,
can meet 1 day hor since so near.. wen u going back work?

woof,
u can buy M size for Pet Pet liaoz.. i find tat the cutting for S abit small but yet to try the M for my bb..

lilyn,
1st jab of 6in1 is taken at wk6.

ivy,
saw the dream bags, veri tempted 2 buy leh, control control hehe..

choco,
usually i will feel tired and exhausted towards the end of the day.. i hav no time 2 take naps too..

leooh,
enci looks even more cute when "botak" hehe.. hw ur 1st yr anni "pa tuo" :p

choco,
i'm using the MIM sling too. ok lah, once u get the hang of it, it's quite easy to use. convenient too esp if u r bringing the baby out urself. the sling comes with a instruction sheet n dvd to show u how to carry the baby in various ways.

garfield,
as wat an_gal said..cutting small izzit...now my girl wears S for Nepia..so i get M for her is ok rite?

an_gal,
NTUC still having promo till end of this mth...now can get 1 pkt at $12+....will go and get a pkt and try..

anyone using desitin orginal? i used once on my girl n i dun quite like it....can xchange for 2 tubes of J&J

Inu, garfield,

I don't like the feeling of freezing EBM, the nutrients is not as gd as fresh. On the other hand, my freezer is full with food stuff like meat, fish, prawns etc...

Too bad there isn't any milk bank in Singapore, otherwise I will donate some to them, then people who needs it can go there and get it.

Choco, i like to use the sling leh, much easier than carrying with both arms. but hor, it's quite siong for our back and shoulders. If u want to buy, buy the satin one. i got a 2nd hand cotton one, material thicker more difficult to adjust the cloth.

Adeline, u SAHM? no need to freeze n stock up? i'm freezing them coz need to stock up for work. If there's alot of other items in ur freezer, u can buy those cooler bag $2 from Daiso n put the bottles/packets of EBM in there. If u really want to donate, u can see the below thread.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449169/964069.html?1191285044

Adeline,
i ordered 3 pairs from MIM to backup. What is the hygiene kit for? is it necessary to buy for backup too?

choco: I've been using the MIM sling for the past month, mostly when I go shopping and as a breastfeeding shield when I'm outside. My baby sleeps very soundly in it. Initially, I had some difficulties learning to use it. Fortunately, my cousin demonstrated it for me, so now its quite easy. My only regret is that I didn't get the silk version, as that's the easiest to tighten and release, and it looks good too. I'm using the cotton sateen which I purchased during the last BP. If there's another BP, I'll get a silk version.

ytanhn: I'm thinking of ordering a dreambag directly from the supplier and getting it delivered to my cousin-in-laws home in UK for my hubby to pick up when he goes there end of this month. 2nd class shipping within UK is free and there's a 15% discount for purchase of 4 dreambags...Only problem is that I'm not too sure how long 2nd class shipping takes...anyone has any idea?

today 1st day taking care of baby alone,,,,so tired, no time go toilet in the morninig, no time for lunch, no time to bath, now bb on my left arm, using another hand to online,sleepy.....

chhoco,
i will bring ebm in cooler bag, hot water in thermo flask, a bottle of water and a cup if going out...really troublesome.

Now my girl seems like very impatient when i latch her on, latch her first 5 mins, quietly suckling, but after days, will make noise, cranky.. obviously she is still not full, but how am i going to feed her if she keeps on crankying like this.. In the end i will slowly bribe her to suckle at least 15 mins...

Anyone have this problem too?

Today's thread very quiet leh.

Loh, how come no time? is ur bb very cranky whole day? Last time with my 1st bb, i oso find it v siong, but now 2nd one, i got alot more time. I will leave him to fuss for a while if i need to do my own things. Juz now, he fusses n fusses while i try to quickly finish mopping the floor. by the time i go to him, he dozz off liao. of course hv to gauge the level of his cries....some cries must attend to him immediately. dun worry, u can cope better in the nxt few days once u get used to the routine.

RC cola, my bb sometimes oso like dat. i realise sometimes it's bcoz he's too sleepy or too hungry. if he's awake n close to feeding time, i will latch him before he cries for milk. he drinks better.

Bringing my bb for jab this evening......

Jete, all the "dream bag" that i have are sleeveless too, so got to wear longsleeve top for my baby if the weather too cold.

An_gal, Dec coming so scare weather will be a bit cold for baby.

BTW, i had successfully use my littlepods sling, quite easy to use, but my baby is so unhappy inside the sling. Now, waiting for her to be 3mths then i will try other position, hope she will like it. Otherwise, the sling will have to go into the storeroom.

Ugh... bz today. Morning after feed my gal n bb, went wash cloth n cook marcoroni(1st time cooking after delivery), then give my elder one a bath.

Jus when i thot both r sleeping and log in ard 3plus (still not pumping time yet), the elder one cries and cough and suddenly merlion vomit on my master bed...
Bring her to toilet and continue vomit n her vomit choke my toilet. Give her a quick bath n bb crying too...

Went to c BB, goosh
she had a big poo cos 2 days din poo liao n it leaks n dirtied her shirt n abit of my master bed..
So quickly change n give her a bath too....

No time to change bedsheet and now feeding BB while i read up the post. She now lying on my arm while the elder one drinking her milk.. Whew...

Ng, i also very lazy now. Last time i pump at every 4-5hrs during maternity, but now is every 6-7hours. So sianz... Like me now supposed to go pumping but my bb still not finished her EBM cos she jus er ni only... So me let her rest awhile now.

Woof, i stay near the 3M factory, opposite the 2 condo there. Here got lots of cyclist.. really dun like cos they r really dangerous as they thot the walkway is their right of way. Dun noe y govt allow so many factories ard here...

Loh, i noe how u feel. But once u get used to the routine, u will b better, especially when bb start to sleep. Jia You,.

Gotta go n continue feed my bb liao. Later mus do the afternoon pump...

Ivy, hahahaha i was eyeing that too. did u see the question i posted? I dun think i will buy coz u hv to get the magic pen to use with the board and cannot get the pen from outside. so next time, if pen spoilt or wat, the board is useless leh. too ex then.

Ocean, how old ur elder one? yah can imagine how siong it is to be managing 2. dat's why i left my 18mths gal with my mum on weekdays. will be sending her to playgroup next mth so mum can focus on newborn.

i depressed. supposed to goto work soon. baby reject bottle all the way. rather go hungry than to take bottle

help...

hi sunbloom

i am facing the same problem too. my baby has been rejecting the bottles!! so stress. try to force him n he twist n turned his head n make so much noise n then cry.. he was ok with bottle till one week ago, he suddenly reject it. why? anybody has got this problem? can advise?

adeline: yah, i know frozen ebm will have less nutrients as compared to fresh ebm but my frozen ebm is just a back up in case my supply dip after i return to work. i still let my bb drink fresh ebm and will only let bb drink frozen ebm when frozen ebm is due for expired. i only keep frozen ebm for 3 months so will rotate my frozen stash so as to keep up with my frozen stock

woof: i think M size Petpet shld fit your bb now.

Ocean,
wah, u v siong ler, got 2 to take care. No helper. Can't imagine the things tt u went through today,u must be v tired!!! Take care.

Finally bb sleeping at 4+ and i quickily go wash bottles, prepare dinner, and take nap for an hr. Raining day so nice to sleep.

cin,
I have that probs and still do sometimes. It is nipple confusion.. So I get hubby to do the bottle feeding, and I will do direct latch.. If I have no choice have to do bottle with him, I will sing a song he is most familiar with when bottle feeding.. and usually he wwill settle down and start suckling.. do u have a song that ur baby is familiar with, such as song u sing when you're expecting him, or during his first few weeks? he will remember that..
My sis' baby was also like that, so my sis sang also to him song she always listened to when expecting her son..

Hi Ivy, the aqua doodle mat sounds interesting...my only reservation is that one won't be able to keep really nice drawings, and it sounds like there's only one colour from the description...in fact, it's probably similar in function to the magnetic doodle boards, and seems really expensive too.

Welcome back Sunbloom! Its been a long time since we heard from u. Sounds like your baby likes being with you so much that he's taking sometime to adapt to drinking from a bottle. Nining's suggestion sounds good, so why not try it?

Nipple confusion: I'm just wondering, from what I've observed from friends and my own baby, it seems like babies who were introduced to both breast and bottles at the beginning tend not to experience any nipple confusion...wonder if that's indeed the case...

Ng, my elder one is 2yr plus, going 3 next year. She like to carry lots of things and put them in watever bags or plastic bag she can get. U left ur elder one with ur mum? R u working or SAHM? Yah loh.. very xiong to take care of 2 kids alone.. So when i go back work, i really wonder if my mum can handle...

Loh, i more or less can handle, except lunch is a problem cos i dun cook. Today i cook cos hubby buy some minced meat n put for me to cook for lunch. Then elder gal very difficult to feed her eating cos always dun like to eat.
At times really feel so tired especially not enough sleep.
yawn.gif
And today really is worst... one vomit and one big poo....

Thus, really re-thinking abt bf, but i noe i will b guilty if i stop lor. Hmmm today raining... wish i can sleep too. Hehee...

Chatty, mayb u r right abt nipple confusion. Cos my elder and the BB now dun hv the problem of this (touchwood). Had latch on BB as well as bottle-feed them since Day 1. So even if i change treats from NUK to Pigeon, it seems ok. My elder one tat time still got use Avent and Pur treat too.

Sunbloom, mayb u try with other treat too and Nining's suggestion is good cos when BB c u, the thought is to suck from nipple.

Cin, my bb recently will drink abit of milk, maybe abt 1-2oz, then reject the bottle and cry and get angry. When give her the bottle, she will cry again. This also apply when i latch her on. So i will sing twinkle twinkle little star and ABC to her. She seemed to calm down n continue drinking. But i really scared of her merlion vomit...

Hi Ocean: Your little girl is so cute! Its nice to watch children play as they grow up. : )...I also had a problem with lunch, as caring for the baby leaves me no time to cook. Fortunately, I managed to find a place that has tingkat for both lunch and dinner: House of Catering. The food is not bad, and it really solves my problem.
http://www.houseofcatering.com/tingkat.htm

Re Teats: like u, I've been using both bottle and direct BF since week 2. I even use a variety of teats which are of varying shapes, sizes and softness - Playtex, Avent and Nuk during the day, as I have different sorts of bottles. So far no problem. According to my CL, all the babies she's worked with in the last 20 years have no problems using all sorts of teats if they are introduced early enough...if not, then its a matter of training them...

Anyone knows where to buy mosquito net to be installed on baby cot? lately a lot of mosquitos in my house.. So heart pain to see baby been bit.

Brought Nic to PD today. Leooh, we finally decided to go to the PD at Yishun, Dr Foo is gd leh, very detailed and explain things clearly. Says Nic is v responsive n alert. But at 6wks+, he doubled his birth weight!!! A hefty 6.3kg now, fainz....have to reduce his intake liao. tough boy coz on tbf, latch most of the time.
Here's to share his smiley pic......
1008342.jpg
1008343.jpg

chatty,
i read in baby whisperer that its best to introduce bottle early if wanna mix direct latch and bottle feed*i think 4 wks n below* but it may also be the kind of teat used that is an issue..my friend changed the teat she used and bb was then ok with it. my boy has issues with different types of pacifiers too..only knows how to use the avent one, not the pigeon or NUK ones..nipple confusion maybe? who knows...

dou dou,
we just bought those mosquito zappers from courts..u can try it! think mozzie net would be too warm..

Sunbloom/Cin, dun be sad, my bb's rejecting the bottle too, though he was ok during confinement days leh. Always play with the teat n push it out, then cry loud loud. Checked with PD juz now, she says:
1) Feed him the bottle when he's in a blurry state. eg, when he juz wakes up from sleep and is feeding time. Try with 1 bottle feed daily and consistently.
2) Get someone else to feed so that they wun smell the breastmilk on us and wants to latch.
Let's try hard together k. I'm pumping now, hb is trying to feed. Yesterday, it took him 1hr to finish 3oz.

Ocean, me working, ML ending early Nov liao. Initially planning to leave both with mum but now think it's better to send elder gal to childcare. bb will leave with my mum. otherwise going to be tough for her coz no maid. Mum doesn't like the idea though coz more prone to illness if send for childcare loh.

rc cola,
could it be gas? i know for my bub its usually gas..burp him for about 5 mins, then he's ok already..also, check his diaper..my boy will often poo halfway during the feed and get very squirmy..cannot concentrate on eating and pooing together!

Ng,
WOW! nic is a big boy! isn't it unusal for TBF babies to gain so quickly? he looks SO CUTE!!!

first day back at parents place,so tired but happy

but hubby in philipines liao.3 weeks...so long!missing him sob sob

an_gal

haha u really enjoyed ya!i enjoyed the pa tuo too.but halfway thru the movie i wanted to go home and check on my baby already.in the end still did lunch and dinner,and shop la.really like pa tuo times...

woof

she looks like her daddy more...hopefully she'll look more like a girl when she grows older;-)

Ng

maybe i should go to the yishun PD too,let me settle in then think again.btw if i decide not to go kinderclinic anymore,do i have to call to cancel the appointment?(sounds like a stupid question right?)..Nic is very good looking leh!ya my gal is very chubby!my sis said she most prob exceed 6.3 at 6 weeks liao,oh no!

chatty,an-Gal

thanks;-)

choco

i have the MIM sling but still not confident of using it.baby seems to be buried inside,i must be doing something wrong!if you want to buy,get someone to teach u and u master it first..