(2007/07) July 2007 MTBs

<font color="ff6000">Amber</font>
Slurp &amp; burp! One tomatoe soup for me too please!

Have a great time catching up with your sister and family!

<font color="0000ff">Jillian</font>
There must be something in the water in Perak! I know several Chindians from that state up north! I LOVE Perak - Ipoh, Batu Gajah and Taiping! Beautiful towns!!! Ask your hubs!

Thanks for consoling... I think I have to invest in more eye creams!

Btw, you want to rent out your parents to LM?! Muahaha! LM needs some grandparently love man! (wt the ulterior motive so Mama can time out!)

<font color="ff0000">You say Lobang, I say Lubang!</font>
Haha! I think they mean the same think. Lubang literally means "hole".. but me thinks me should spell it the Spore way, as when read, sounds more colloquial! Lobang it is then!

<font color="0000ff">Claire</font>
Hai! So des ne...
Thanks for the info on the book, will look it up!
Great job with the dummy, by the way!

As for LM, when he gets up in the middle of the night, his cries sounds like he's in pain! Very sharp, very shrill and very loud! He settles down, only to get up half an hour later to deliver the same cries. Heartbreaking!

<font color="119911">Celeb!</font>
Didn't know you were Peranakan too! Gang-gang!
No wonder you're a hopeless Banana too!

LM has "graduated" to eating 2 full veggie Isetan cubes added with 3 tablespoons of HT Barley Cereal as his mains, followed by a cube of fruit for dessert (both mixed with some BM).

Do you think I should be increasing it? He has problems finishing it if it's not his favourite (ie pumkpin + cereal = can't feed him quick enough!),or when he's out and distracted.

Oh, a question about Cereal, girls.
Do you give cereal to your bubs as a food itself, or do you mix it with veggies/fruits etc? What's the 'protocol'?
And how much and how often to give in a day (tablespoon)?

Susu
Haha, yes, I am - well, one side of the family is anyway. Great-great-granny was Dutch with flaming red hair, and there is definitely some "suspicion" that several ancestors around her time and shortly thereafter were indigenous folk. So sadly, I cannot claim to be pure. I'm a mudblood and proud of it - ra!

Sounds like a good helping of food to me, especially since LM's quite a bit younger. I don't think you need to rush to increase the serving yet.

Cereal - Ems doesn't like rice cereal, so we don't bother with that. She takes Healthy Times barley cereal instead (just like LM!) - which is also iron-fortified - and we probably give her about 3 tbsp every two days.

Yoghurt
I keep reading how we should introduce this to our bubs as it will help increase the healthy bacteria in their systems (argh, now I sound like a Yakult ad) and prevent tummy upsets etc. Any views? Anyone tried it already? Has anyone seen a baby-friendly brand around?

<font color="0077aa">susu</font>
LM's cry is shrill? and so often.. sounds to me like either he's starving of teething! very strange!
i think the amts hes eating ssound alright..

i did rice cereal alone for almost a month thn went on to purees either fruit or veg mixed wwith rice cereal..
she wld take two cubes and abt 2tbs of cereal..
but now i kinda like just gving her pureed veggies/lentils, tofu etc

no protocol, but if my purees end up looking a bit runny, i add some rice cereal.. maybe a tsp or so!

dont increase if he isnt polishing it off... you dont want him taking less milk..

irene, howd you do the sauce for pasta? cream sauce?

yolk, sounds like Ems is getting better! cant be too careful with phlegm.. im terrified of it going to their lungs.. sneaky buggers.
is your phlegm sucker the same one i have? hard to suck?
oh! Ash just started doing fake coughs! if you start one, she'll continue!

claire, i like maidenform too.. nah, havent seen a spree or anything yet.

dinner tmr is nasi lemak! but we've got a pot of chicken curry, sambal ladies fingers, samba prawns, ikan bilis with kacang, begedil and a tomato and onion omelette.

oh, and apple crumble for dessert.

damm i already feel bigger just talking abt it!

yolk, yes have given heinz yoghurt and i think mixed with strawberry meant for 4-6mths to Ash and she loves it. usually given at breakfast.

hello all

long time never post in here ;p

yolk sac, read in this forum that this brand horizon is not bad (and it's organic) but i couldnt find it anywhere. in the end, i bought baby yoplait which is for babies 6 mths &amp; up but my gal hated it! i tasted it myself and find it yucky too

<font color="0000ff">Yolk</font> Unfortunately I don't have my own pony, hb doesn't seem to share my same idea about the importance of having one
Ally has been on a couple of pony rides , most of the time she tries to eat the mane! If she wants to, she'll can start formal lessons when she's 5.
Yoghurt: We give Ally Yoplait ( i think?) that is specially for babies and come in a 6 pack. She gets one every other day.

<font color="ff0000">Susu</font> Hb is from Ipoh, I love the food there! But the pace of life is a little slow for me and I tend to get bored after 3 days.

<font color="0000ff">Amber</font> You're making me hungry! Oh yes, so who dies if its not Julia??? Alamak, I need to get my hands on season 5!!

Boobie Medicine
Does anyone own " The womanly art of breastfeeding" ? Is it any good?
I just realised that after Ally's surgery, we can attempt to bf! Not sure if its going to work but I think I'll give it a try.

harloooo!!

wah why our babies like to say "aiyaaah" hah! hear that quite often!

teething
there is an article on how to tackle teething probs ni motherhood mag march issue

cheok
wah u are not tired at all?
lucas' teething symptoms are not napping at all, and lotsa poo! causes bum to be red now.
screams alot!

gugi, jules
haa..love the samseng pics!!!

bedebe
veve doesn't look like what u describe leh. haahaa, chope ah?

gugi
chiropractic helps ah?
physiotherapy
helps when the muscles at the back is all tensed up, and the physiotherapist can massage to mobilise it before doing all the treatments lah.
also no time to go for it!

yeah, yolk, those anti-inflammatory med will just hinder bfeeding. haiz!

jillian
argh, a chip off from pelvic??
eveything will go fine for ally ya.
another thing, u are not fat at all!

nana oh dear. You mean Lucas is skipping his noon naps? Is his teeth showing yet? Lotsa poo? you must be tired! My boy's not eating and not pooing well. Er, i cheat abit la. At night i nurse him on my side, so i dozed off while nursing hahahaha, u can say i still get my sleep. Call me the short cut mama!

irene i need to ask u lobang queen, do u know if taka's coming up any sale?

tiger food jar anyone purchased this already? Is it any good? i read that it can cook food overnight or few hours. SOunds like my solution to Shayne's meal while we travel!

cheok
haiz! yes, he refuses to nap! will get angry when cleaning up his poo too. ya boy, tired, poo, eat , poo, eat! hahaah! great way catch some sleep! know what, suddenly he has 4 teeth cutting thru at the same time, and i still can see him gnawing at the sides with his spoon. so u might think shayne is teething at bottom, and u might wanna look out for the top as well

do u mean the food jar that they are selling on BP? it seems so popular, can cook by itself on the way.

re: yoghurt
not tried tat one yet but neither have a started on giving cheese either. not sure tho' as many books seem to mention letting bubs have those. on that count, like amber, i have also let Little L try Strawberries with Banana Puree and tat was a hit

<font color="0000ff">Jillian</font>
Sorry, dont' know the book but keeping fingers crossed that after Ally's surgery, you'll be able to breastfeed directly with great success!!

Ipoh - LOVE LOVE the food and Ipoh Coffee!! Yummss!

Does Ally have her own little pony at home, not real one of course!

<font color="ff6000">Amber</font>, <font color="119911">Celeb!</font>
Thanks for the assurance on LM's solids intake. I really wish it wasn't such a delicate balance! Trying to figure it out is such a challenge for me, esp you know, with his size!

nana
Oh no! Four teeth all at once! Poor Lucas! Hope they cut through soon. I think Ems might be teething again (upper incisors, this time) but I can't see the little "pebble in the cement" bumps like the last time. However, my helper has noted that Ems' gums look a bit swollen (I suspect she might be just saying what I want to hear, though!).

cheok
Tell me more about this magic food jar! I'm gutted that I missed MsFox's BP. Maybe I should just get one via direct retail - do you know which one I should look out for?

amber
Is the Heinz yoghurt just for babies? Can I get it at the yoghurt section of most supermarkets? Haha, Ash is doing the fake coughs! Can be a bit scary for strangers sometimes cos they think the bb is unwell when really it's just their attempt to communicate. I always find myself rapidly explaining the fake cough concept, and I'm sure some people are like, 'yeah right!'

jillian/sweet
Thanks for the info! Is this available at the yoghurt section in supermarkets?

jillian
Oops sorry, did I use the wrong terminology - horse vs pony? So cool that Ally's been on pony rides!! Did she ride with you? Too cool.

TRIAL BELOW IS CANCELLED.. sorry to disappoint..

JULIA GABRIEL TRIAL CLASS
DATE: 15 Mar
Time: 9 - 1030am
CANCELLED

1) chie
2) en_hui
3) bedebe (july thread)
4) tek_koh
5) Mum@Work (May thread)
6) Joycelyn Pang (Mum@Work's frenz)
7) marcus (may baby)-ctc no:91883428
8)
9)
10)
11)

<font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">ARGHHHHHHH! vent vent vent vent! ARGHHHHH</font></font>

<font color="ff6000">screaming bb for the last 2hrs!!</font>

Ash has never done this before..
was supposed to sleep at 1pm.. screamed the whole time.. got her outta bed, gave her milk, she's happy. but cranky.
very cranky.
didnt sleep at all.. so put her down at 315pm.. and she's still screaming now!!!!!

changing her nappy was a blinking NIGHTMARE!
screaming, turning, tossing..
at one point i had her ankles and she was turning at twisting.. i was trying to hold her back, yet move with her..

Ash has two upper incisors coming thru.. one just cut thru and the other cming. whole thing is swollen as hell.

if this continues im doing dentinox and calpol.

gee.. now i know wht you guys go thru...

incessant screaming!!!!!!!

amber,
oh dear. bear with it. i think her gums are causing her pain. poor thing.

susu,
isetan cubes! which department to look for it?

yolk sac, yup i find the yoghurt all at the cheese/yoghurt section. but CS carry a wider range of brands

btw, remember sometime back u posted the pics of ice cube tray with a lid bought from isetan. may i know from which section??

yolk, if you go to the baby food section.. it's under heinz jarred stuff.. it's called erm, strawberry yoghurt dessert.
i dont think it's organic tho.. but she likes it.

i cldnt find a regular baby food brand tht carried yoghurt+fruit

im happy with it...

Leobaby
Isetan ice cube trays (with lid) can be found in their household/kitchen department. It's near all the Jap gadgets, ie peelers, etc. Each going for $2.something then.

It was <font color="119911">Yolk @ Celeb</font> who pointed me there, so credit goes to her!

<font color="ff6000">Amber</font>
OH NO! Ashley, the beacon of hope has been attacked by the blasted tooth fairy!

Amber dear... I can only offer words "Hang in there" cause there's little else you can do!
Chin up - you'll be busy tomorrow and there'll be lots of people to cuddle Ash tomorrow!

yolk
yup! so poor thing! the upper central incisors and lower lateral incisors has cut thru halfway to join in with the present 2 teeth. but really i can't see any swell before they cut thru! i only see swollen gums at the sides!

amber
yeapp!! a real nitemare to change nappy rite!! all those twist and turn while screaming!!

<font color="0000ff">Ssuusuuuu! she's been screaming since</font> <font color="ff0000">1pm!</font> <font color="aa00aa">with a 45min break in between!</font>

the crying with no end in sight.. so horrible.. tears pouring down her face.. aiyoh.

i need some <font size="+2"><font color="ff6000">CHOCOLATE</font></font>

<font color="119911">Yolk</font>
Yoplait looks pretty good! peach &amp; pear and Vanilla &amp; banana and now they have a new apricot &amp; apple rhubarb!

<font color="0077aa">good news! Ash fell asleep!</font>
wowsers.. peace in DA HOUSE!

was going cuckoo..
it's easyy to lose your temper man.. i mean, if it went on long enough! almost snapped at helper.. whicch i never do!
sigh

halo all,

long tome no come in here (bad english), hehe.... was too bz with post natas fair bookings; too many on hand...everyday working OT till i dun hv enuff sleep...

wow...thread moving super fast; dun hv time to scan thru all ecxept js wanna ask: HOW'S EVERYONE HERE?

jillian: all the best in ally's op.

amber: keep ur head. grit ur teeth &amp; hang in there. dun know wat else to say :p

yolksac: most prob emily' upper incisors is really popping out. y u suspect ur helper is only saying things u wanna hear? maybe its true leh..keke

re: yoghurts
i seen some mummies commenting on yoghurts &amp; feeding them to our bb nw. err... izzit ok to do so? u mummies feed those adult kind of yoghurt or are there yoghurt meant for kiddos? low fat kind? opps!

cheok: I have bought the Tiger food jar that u mentioned at CK Tangs for $65. The staff told us to soak the rice overnight (to make it softer) then pour hot boiling water into the jar with the soaked rice and it would cook!! But I haven't tried it lah so no comments hehe

Oh ya, can we give our little one cheese? Feel like feeding Kaizer potato with cheese.

kth
i'm afraid of lucas not having enuff milk intake, so was advised by PD to give cheese only when lucas reaches 9 month old
wanna play safe lah. hee.
do tell us abt the food jar after u've tried ya.

hi Yvonne, it's yoghurt for bbs..

just looked it up ad Yoplait for bbs looks good! can buy frm supermarkets.. full fat! bbs need all the calories right now.

irene, i just paid deposit with foto-u..
i'm getting excited abt ideas..
i like the alphabet one.. and i think i might go for an animal suit of some sort.. like anne geddies style.
how many outfits did you use?

Susu, nice links!!

cheese.. i really dont know..
im going sooo slow with everything, havent even done porridge!

Chinese Language Resources from Amazon
My package arrived today. The MeiMei 'Dance and Learn' DVD is hilarious. MeiMei is slightly tone-deaf, I suspect, and the singing - both by her and the little kids - can be a bit cringe-worthy. Plus some of the costumes they put the little girls in are a bit suspect and the cameraman doesn't know how to frame a shot properly. But having said that, it's good that the hanyu pinyin and Chinese characters are flashed on the screen. I also like that they also read the lyrics, sans music, so the kids are exposed to the different tones. And they feature lots of little kids dancing around, doing actions etc, and Ems is riveted. I think babies like watching other little people! She won't spend 2 mins watching Baby Einstein but happily watched MeiMei for a good 20 mins.

Also received a music CD and Baby's First Words in Chinese; still reviewing them, will post reviews later.

Yoghurt
thanks amber + sweet for the tips - will go check this out at some point!

Amber
Aiyoh, that sounds bad! Poor you and Ash and Nani. She must be in a lot of discomfort to be crying for so long. That didn't really happen to Ems - she just was a little bit fussy (didn't want to play with her usual fave toys etc) and woke up every 2-3 hrs in the night. But no major crying. Never mind, hopefully, this is Ash's way of dealing with it and she'll sleep well tonight regardless. Give her a hug for me - teething = evil!!!

Leobaby
Yup, Susu, my trusty info-disseminating assistant (heh) is absolutely right, hope you find them tmrow! Do you know what time the sale starts btw?

TIGER FOOD JAR read this thread http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449169/1252493.html?1203395919

kth from the thread, it works. My friend told me not bother to buy any other brand but this. YOU BOUGHT IT FOR $65???!!! TAKA selling at $69!

irene my dear lUBANG queen, do you know if tangs is coming up any sales? hahhahahaa...

What tooth <font color="ff0000">fairy</font> we should call her tooth <font color="ff0000">monster</font>!!

Yolk: the Yoplait baby yoghurt is baby size but Ally usually can't finish one on her own so I end up sharing with her. Problem is while she may need the full fat yoghurt, I definitely don't!
Your review of Meimei Dance and Learn DVD was hilarious.

Yvonne: Long time no see! How's Rachel?

Amber: Poor girl, Ash must really be in a lot of discomfort for her to be crying like that. Poor you as well! Hope you got your well-deserved chocolate.

SUsu: Thanks for sharing those sites.

cheok - Tiger Food Jar
thanks for posting the link - informative! so we have to get the model they talked about (Tiger Food Jar MCW-P090/0.9l) or will other models work too?

will reply to other posts later - gotta deal with the bedtime routine now!

amber ive got no CHOC-O-LATE to give you but can i give you some <font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">CHEOK-CO-LATE</font></font> hugs? Ok lame lame i know..i know...

yolk hahahaha i love your review on the dvd la! hahahahaha...oh now i realised its a dvd ah? Im looking more for a book with CDs (so that i dont get the pronounciation wrong!). Something more like these books http://www.asianparent.com/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWPROD&amp;ProdID=162 I wrote to the supplier, apparantly some of their books are shipped here. But cannot find them lei. ANyone see these books can give me a shout-out?

re:tiger jar yup, i think it must be this particular model. THey have other ones but it serve more like thermo flask. I do think there are other brands out there with the same function but friend said Tiger brand is the best.

<font color="0077aa">cheok! very sweet of you!</font>
Ash is in bed asleep..

how nice..

hb and i gotta have dins and rush for church meeting!

i will definitely be praying for all the sick bbs, tired SPGs, mums with backaches and little Ally's op.

<font color="aa00aa">Jilian, the person who dies is</font> <font color="ff0000">GINA!</font>

Ems is in a "I wannna play" mood, so I've left her in her cot in the dark to self-entertain. She's not crying though - which is progress in itself. Her bedtime has been messed up this week because she takes longer naps during the day (I think being ill makes her less energetic during the day).

cheok
Thanks for the info. So in theory, if we go out at 9am, we can put some uncooked rice into the jar together with boiling water and at noon, presto - there will be porridge? What's the advantage of this over just cooking the porridge beforehand and putting in cooked porridge (besides the fact that we don't have to do the cooking beforehand, that is)? Sorry, very blur abt this! Haha your cheokcolate joke really cracked me up, oh so so lame, woman! Haven't seen those board books yet, but I'll keep a look out for them. I've told my helper she needs to learn the Ba Luo Bo (Pull the Carrot) song by next week - just for fun lah!

YOLK
your description of the chinese dvd made me chuckle! So typical <font color="ff0000">Cheeeena</font> production lah!

<font color="0000ff">YOGURT</font>
OK I have a good thing to share about this yogurt thingy which I have been making and eating &amp; <font color="ff0000">loooving</font>. Its called Easiyo &amp; you can get it from Phoon Huat. http://www.easiyo.com/
Its cheaper than the supermarket ones BUT whats more important is <font color="aa00aa">ITS FRESH!! TONNES OF GOOD BACTERIA THATS STILL VIBRANT &amp; ALIVE!</font> compared to the supermarkets ones that have been made long long long b4 we get to consume them. The taste: LOVELY and v creamy. They even have the ORGANIC version too which really is ALOT cheaper than the Horizon Organic ones from COld Storage. Making it is incredibly easy. If you can boil water, u can make it.

Made these Cheesecake Cupcakes today for my HB coz its our Wedding anniversary. AM proud to say it turn out <font color="aa00aa">YUMMY!!</font>....slurp!!!

1294892.jpg

<font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">SUSU</font></font>
Eh babe you poor thing lah..but you know what..it really sound like teething coz R went through exactly the same phase! And then miraculously one fine day, 2 teeth popped out OVERNIGHT! So hang in there Sista!

<font color="119911">MY BAD??</font>
Aiyo I still dun get it lah! Wha kinda slang is that man! Eh its like a younger generation thing is it?!?! F***! I know I am old but now I feel like I am living in another universe!!

<font color="aa00aa">Yolk @ Celeb!</font>
hey I like your new Nick. Stick with it!!! Hey hows Ems?? Hope she is better...

<font color="ff0000">NOSE SUCTION THINGY</font>
eh I may be paranoid but I was happily sucking when R fell ill in Dec after our trip to (damn) HK...AND <font color="0000ff">I think it made me ill!!</font>. The rational is: I am SUCKING in the virus/bacteria <font color="ff0000">DIRECTLY</font> into my lungs lah! BUT being mum is great..you will rather brave being ill than to let your little one suffer yeah?

bcube
Wow they look good!! What did you do for the topping in the end? Ems is fine, still coughing a bit though. ARGH and she won't sleep. One hour of PU/PD and I gave up. She doesn't want milk, she doesn't want to be carried, she doesn't want to go to sleep in her cot. So I took her out and she's cheerful as anything in the living room. Argh.

<font color="0000ff">AMBER</font>
oh poor you &amp; Ash! Soothe her and give her a big hug from me lah..the poor gal must be really really in discomfort as she is usually such a good baby!

And you menu for your family's dinner sounds YUMMY! *Hint Hint!!

<font color="ff0000">Yolk</font>
Thanks! I made my Fresh Strawberry Jam for topping and sliced up the Korean strawberries as garnish. I am rather proud of it considering this is my FIRST attempt at making cheesecake!!

Eh Ems sounds like she wanna be a chinese baby like LM! HAHAH!!

R has been ETREMELY good today thoughh. She woke at 7am and didnt wanna sleep untill at 1015, I decided WHAT THE HECK! and brought her to my room and nursed her to sleep. She fell aslepp in a min..and stay asleep for a good 2 hours! B<font color="ff0000">BUT</font> the AMAZING part was, she woke from her nap and did not cry like what she usually does. I heard some slight sounds coming from the baby monitor and thought I will check on her. To my amusement, I found her sitting in a corner of her cot happily playing with her toys! HAHAH.....<font color="0000ff">SUSU</font> soldier on for LM. The 1st days when I cold-turkey R off BM for her bedtime was HORRID but it got exponentially better AND she goes to bed without much fuss these days! Now my aim is to tackle the night nursing!

ohh...gonna go Long beach for CRABS <font color="ff0000">CRABS</font> <font size="+2"><font color="aa00aa">CRABS!!!</font></font> Not exactly ROMANTIC but I DONT CARE! I just want my CRABS! Rahahaha! Catch you gals tmr!

<font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">HAPPY ANNIVERSARY BCUBE!</font></font>

WAHHH cupcakes are gorgeous!!
how you do the fresh jam? hee gold foil.. heee so nice!
like your chutney!! (which hb polished off!)
ur hb must be so proud..

<font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">I KNOW WHO'S GETTING SOME ACTION TONIGHT!</font></font>

<font size="+1"><font color="aa00aa">Phoooon Huuuuuuaaat!</font></font>
HE THE MAN!

yolk, i feel ya! sista! HUGZ
ive just come out of Ash's room.. whole day's a mess
cldnt go to church meeting..hb came home late and tired and Ash woke up after an hr screaming. and she doesnt want any milk.. just to be carried!
i'm so tired.. i just wana curl up in bed with a MILO

eh bcube, where you get your cream cheese?

<font size="+1"><font color="0077aa">Bcube, you and me same!!</font></font>
last anniversary i asked to go to RED HOUSE for CRABS!!

my fav!

we had LOBSTER &amp; CRABS!!

blissssss

have a nice time babe!