(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Hi baby love
I have bought one yesterday,however,its negative.I don't wish to see red as I really wish to have a bb.

Glynnis

I think maybe it is too early to test? Some test kits might not be able to detect low levels of HCG (?) pregnancy hormones at early stage. I suggest you wait a few more days and test again later.. i tested positive after my menses is one week late. Previously i tested a few days before my menses was due and it was negative too.

So don't worry.. just monitor test again later. Meanwhile, just be more careful.

If you are very anxious, maybe you could visit your gynae and do a scan. The gynae should be able to advise if you are pregnant by looking at your womb.

hi baby love,

I truely appreciate your advise. I would wait for a few days more.

From your experience,do you think that changes of having bb is high?

Glynnis

wa..tough question..hahaa I'm not a gynae leh. But honestly, I think if your menses are regular and you are late by more than one week, it is quite likely you are preg. If you are late by 2-3 days, it is hard to say. Do you have the symptons of morning sickness etc? If you have them, it is more likely that you are preg.

Anyway, don't worry so much.. be patient and wait a few more days to re test.

If you can't wait, maybe you should visit your gynae for advise? :p

Baby love,

hopefull I could deliver a good new for you.

my menses normally are regular.last month it was late by 1 day.

Last 2 days, I throw out what I input to my stomach. now,still feel vomitting.

Glynnis

Yes, hope to hear good news from you real soon!

By your description, I think we should be able to hear good news from you soon. Let's keep our fingers crossed.

Hello to all MTBs, my edd 1 april. this is my 2nd pregnancy, my 1st pregnany ended with miscarriage.

Kai Ling,
I went to Dr Adrian Woodworth at his Sengkang clinc during my 1st pregnancy. My hubby and me really disappointed with him. I having staining/spotting for more than 2wks since the first visit to Dr Adrain's Clinic. Dr Adrain just simply said that 'Baby not stable, give you MultiV' and he started to show us his package leaflet and started talk about it ............. In short, I felt that he is not comforting and feel that he did not try his best to save my baby from the first visit.

Geyser,

Last nite I dreamt I had a miscarriage, saw menses flowing!!! Feel so sad and scared now, can't wait for 1sep to see my gynae... I am paranoid cos' I don't have any MS...I know it's a blessings but just can't help to worry cos read that miscarriages is more likely to happen to people with no MS...

Hi`Catherine
Thanks for the info.
so we can see the baby's heartbeat from the 6-7th wk and hear it from 12th week onwards? how amazing! and thanks for sharing your experience with Dr Adrian.

Hi Geyser
I'm really sorry to hear abt your miscarriage. Take care of yourself for this current pregnancy! Actually I have been to the SK clinic once to cfm my pregnancy. the feeling I get is that Dr Adrian seems to be rushing through the consultation and although we paid over $100 for the whole consultation, it nvr lasted more than 15 mins.. But the plus point is, the clinic is really near my house. But i guess your personal experience really make me think twice. Thanks!

Stileto,
Be positive! No worry! My friend in her 18th weeks also don't have any MS, her appetite is very good too, and most importantly her baby is very healthy.

Kai Ling,
Yes, I went to see him a few times. Everytimes, he seem very rush. Another thing that I don't like is when doing ultrascan, his nurse or he will check whether you drink alot of water first, if not can't scan the baby. So almost everytimes, I have to drink until stomach bloated with water. There's one time, I drank alot already but still not able to scan, so he ask me to drink some more and come back in another 30mins time.

hi geyser/kai ling

i am also seeing dr adrian at SK but I have delivered my baby last sept.

would like to share my personal experience with you. It is right for his nurse to ensure you drink enough water in order to scan during your early pregnancy cos baby is still very small. I remember i always drink alot of water before seeing him.
As for spotting/bleeding, I also experience that, there is nothing much he can do cos that very depend on the quality of ours egg. I personally have spotting in the 1st trimester and bleeding like period. I remember i call him and in the early morning and he advise me what to do.

Lastly, the first consulation that you guys have paid will be deduct if you took up the package during the next visit.

But ultimately, you must be comfortable with him as he will be the ones with you for the next 10mths.

hi odie,

i heard that tao nan is so popular that many parents resort to volunteering work inorder to get their kids in. Hubby and I are thinking of sending our kid to our alma materhee hee, are we thinking too far already?

Geyser, the gynae can't really do anything to prevent 1st trimester miscarriage. This may sound harsh but it is the nature way of selecting the fittest. The only solution is getting over the grief and try again.
However, I must admit it will not easy to get over the fear during subsequent pregnancies. I also had a miscarriage before pregnant with my boy. Now I'm pregnant again but I still can't stop myself from worrying. I have to keep reminding myself to stay positive.

My gynae also advise me to hold urine for my subsequent checkup for abdominal scan.. if no urine then have to do vaginal scan

hi ladies, congrats! here's the table to start u gals wif... hv a smooth pregnancy to all!

<table border=1><tr><td>Nickname</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Baby #</TD><TD>Doc </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fen</TD><TD>7-Apr-07</TD><TD></TD><TD>Test </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jessie</TD><TD>2-Apr-07</TD><TD>3</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stileto</TD><TD>3-Apr-07</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ValC</TD><TD>18-Apr-07</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>WK Tan </TD></TR><TR><TD>CelC</TD><TD>3-Apr-07</TD><TD></TD><TD>SC Chew </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dragon Gal</TD><TD>2-Apr-07</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rainbow7</TD><TD></TD><TD>1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wenthena</TD><TD>6-Apr-07</TD><TD>2</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Michele Chua</TD><TD>5-Apr-07</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>YG Tan </TD></TR><TR><TD>JL</TD><TD>9-Apr-07</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Page Up</TD><TD>11-Apr-07</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>LS Lien </TD></TR><TR><TD>Baby Love</TD><TD>9-Apr-07</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Catherine Lee Sammi</TD><TD>4-Apr-07</TD><TD>3</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kai Ling</TD><TD>10-Apr-07</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Eunice</TD><TD>27-Apr-07</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Geyser</TD><TD>1-Apr-07</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

I m a mother to a 21-mths old boy, and now pregnant with no. 2. My EDD will be around 12 April. I m seeing Dr Lawrence Ang fr Thomson Women Clinic. Think a no. of MTB here r seeing docs fr there also.

Glynnis,
If u r anxious to know whether u r preggie, u can do a pregnancy test at polyclinic, their test kit shld be sensitive enuff to detect the pregnancy by now. and i think it wont cost much to do it at a polyclinic. Maybe u can try calling up the nearest polyclinic and enquire abt whether they r able to hv a positive test now and the cost b4 going down.

If u prefer to wait a while to do the test again at home, i suggest tt u use the 1st morning urine to do the test, the 1st urine in the morn will hv a higher hcg to detect early pregnancy.

All the best to u

For those mummies experiencing MS, i hv a tip to share, its really a very traditional method, dunno whether it will work for u, but it definitely works for me! I take sour plum to prevent fr throwing out. I dont hv any MS for my 1st pregnancy, but for this round, i feel nausea thru out the day, whenever i see hb, i will tell him i feel like puking, until hb ask me whether he is the one who make me feel like this ... hehehe ...

I tried many diff kind of tibits like orange peel, preserved peach, but all doesnt work, except for sour plum! And guess what? I searched on the net, and found tt sour plum is actually good for pregnancy

http://www.oh100.com/hospitle/baojian/200311/250905548.html

Thanks juju78 for creating the table. Good job!

So you will be doing the updating? Or how do we go abt updating the table ourselves?

Can you help me fill in the details:

Baby # 2
Doc Dr HK HO

THANKS!

Hi Piggymum,

Welcome! This is my 2nd pregnancy also. I have a 1 yr old daughter. I didnt hv any MS when I had my 1st bb but this time round, I have MS.

For me, i think freshly squeezed orange juice is quite effective for MS. Sour plums helps too.

hi Baby Love,
will PM u tonite on how to do the chart. the chart i formatted is at home, so will only do update tonite

in the meantime, any ladies, who wish to update their info on the chart, pls PM me &amp; title it "Apr 07 MTBs". Thanks

Hi babylove

I saw RED came this morning. So sad ;( false alarm. So happy last few day, thought Im becoming a mummy.

Glynnis,

Don't be too upset..can always try again! Don't give up ok? Hope to hear gd news from you soon! Remember to update me if you have gd news!

Glynnis,
Don't give up!
As u mentioned previously that ur cycle is regular, so u and ur hubby try to work harder on ur fertile days!

Hi babylove,

U hv a 1 yr old daughter, so it must be quite tiring for u also, to be preggie and look after a 1-yr old. For me, after work, i practically hv no more energy left, and my little monekey is so active! Glad tt my helper is willing to stay overnite to help me out after she knows tt i i m preggie.

Glynnis,
Dont give up! I understand how u feel ... for my no.2, i tried for 8 mths b4 i strike! And the additional stress came fr hb needs to travel, there were 2 mths, hb was away during my ovulation time, and it really upset me alot. For my first pregnancy, i tried for 5 mths also, its very tiring to keep trying, but if we want to be mummy, we just hv keep going! Maybe u can try ovulation strips to help u to time ur bb-dancing days.

I hv regular menses, but its very tiring to keep trying fr day 11 to 16 every mth, so what i did was starting fr day 11, i will test with ovulation strip, if the result is negative, i wont try, until i get a positive result. This helps to cut short my no. of days of bb-dancing, it also helps to preserve a larger amt of semen, higher chance of striking.

Glynnis,

Don't give up so easily! Some of my friends also trying for a long time and they are still trying.

Since your menses are regular, I think you will succeed one day. You just have to be more patient and keep trying!

Don't lose heart ok? You are welcome to come and chat with us anytime.

Hi Geyser, piggymum &amp; babylove

Thanks for everything. However, where can I get the ovulation strip and what is cost?

We have tried very hard on my fertile days but fail.this round we failed again.

Its very tiring to try every nite, as Im exhausted after my work and I have to cope with my evening class.

Piggymum

Yes, it is very tiring for me especially when my daughter is still quite young. Especially nowadays i feel very tired all the time, I can't really find the energy and stamina to play with my daughter. I feel guilty for neglecting her.

Luckily my hubby is there to help me to take care of my daughter and do the housework. Else I really wonder how can i cope.

You have a helper to help you to take care of bb and housework? But she is not your maid is she? Part time helper?

Glynnis,

There is a bulk purchase of ovulation strips at $0.70 per strip in the BP thread, u might want to order ur strips there, or look out for other MTB who r selling away their left over OV strips. Yeah, its very tiring to keep trying. but if u hv tried for more than 1-2 yr and still doesnt strike, u might want to consider seeing a gynae to do some nece test to determine ur problem. One suggestion is to see a doc in a polyclinic first to get a referer letter to KKH for the fertility tests. After the tests r done, then u can decide whether to stick to KKH or see a private gynae outside. But i hope u wont need to go thru all these. If u hv tired less than 12 mths, just keep trying and dont give up hope. On avg, a normal fertile woman will try for abt a yr to get pregnant.

By the way, do u use lubricant during bb-dancing? If u do, beware tt some brand actually kill sperms. I think there is only one brand in the mkt tt helps to preserve the sperm, but quite costly, cant remember the brand, u might want to do a search in the forum on lubricant or go to TTC thread to find out the brand of the lubricant. Or any mummies or MTB here can help on this?

Glynnis,

No problem at all! You can always come to me if you have any problems. 'll try my best to help you.

I think you can get the ovulation strips from pharmacy, not quite sure what is the price. However, test kits are more expensive..they usually costs ard $8-10+, depending on the type and quality. I should think ovulation strips are cheaper but I'm not sure where to buy them. Mayeb you could check with the people at Pharmacy?

Babylove,

R u a working mum or a sahm? Lucky for u tt ur hb is willing to help out with the hsehold chores and taking care of ur daughter. How many mths old is ur daughter? I can imagine how tough it is for u, esp when they hv just learnt how to walk, still want to be carried sometime.

My helper helps me to do some simple hsework and look after my son together with my mother during wkdays. But since she knows tt i m pregnanct, she voulunteer to stay overnite at my place fr mon-wed, my mum will take over on thur-fri nite. On Sat and Sun, my helper is not arnd, so hb will help with taking care of my son, he already took over some task like bathing my son, and putting him into sarong. Can u imagine my son still want to sleep in sarong during day time! The sarong is getting too small for him and i m afraid he is too heavy for it also, dunno how to help him kick the habit

Piggymun

We don't use lubricant during bb-dancing. Im afraid that Im unable to get pregnant. You are right, I've to go for a check.

Glynnis,

Dont be too disheartened at the moment. I hv negative thots also when i was trying for mths and see no result. All the funny thots just occured to me. however, if u hv tried for less than 1 yr, i suggest tt u read up on the internet for all the possible ways of getting pregnant first b4 u go for any checkup, coz the fertility test is not cheap, and it adds stress to u and ur hb.

One of the reason for diff in getting pregnant is due to the woman hving not enuff cervix mucus. Mucus is needed to help the sperm to survive in the uterus. Using lubricant is one of the method, but u must use the right brand. there r other ways to improve ur cervix mucus like taking grapefruit juice (if i remmeber correctly) and some cough medicine (but must beware of the ingredients in the cough mixure). I suggest tt u do a search in the internet or at the babycentre to see how u can increase ur chance of getting pregnant, try it out for 2-3 mths, if u still dont see results, then consider consulting a gynea.

All the best!

Piggymum

I'm a working mom. How abt u? My daughter is 12mths+. She is learning to walk now but only a few steps. We still need to carry her when we go out.

You are lucky to have a nice helper. I must say your helper is very nice and understanding to stay overnight to help out when she knows you are preg. Difficult to find ppl like that.

My hubby is very gd in taking care of my daughter. He does everything.. he is much better than me when it comes to taking care of bb. I'm not very gd at taking care of my daughter...i'm stil trying my best...hehee

Wow..ur son stll sleeps in sarong? I think it is time for you to help him kick the habit. Don't think the sarong can withstand his weight when he gets older.

Maybe you can try to pat him to sleep on the bed? My daughter sleeps in sarong during daytime only. She is not so dependent on sarong cos we only introduce her to sarong when she is 6mths old. hehehe

Babylove,

I m a working mum also, feel so tired after work. U r very lucky tt ur hb can take good care of ur girl. My hb used to leave most of the child caring to me during wkend, but since i m preggie, he help out here and there.

Yeah, i m very lucky to hv a very good helper. She dotes on my son also, and my son loves her too, so no problem hving her taking care of my son at nite. Like u, i feel quite guilty tt i m no longer so invloved with playing with my son at nite and during wkends, my helper and my hb take over the playing part. I just sit down there and hug him whenever he run to me.

Cant pat him to sleep on mattress leh, whenever he is sleeping on a mattress, he will start jumping on it and do a free fall, i m so scared tt he will hit me unintentionally. B4 i m preggie, i let my son sleep together with me on the bed at nite, but he is such a monkey on my bed tt once i know i m preggie, i hv to get him off my bed

Since ur daughter still need carrying, i suggest tt u let ur hb carry her, its not too good for preggie to carry heavy stuff, so try not to carry ur girl too often.

My son only manage to walk properly at 15 mths, tt's one of the reason why i delay my TTCing until my son has learnt how to walk.

baby love,
dun worry abt the chart. it's very easy to pick up

glynnis,
my fren jus ordered BP for OPKs &amp; HPTs... u can email her @ [email protected]... not sure how much she charge though... u can always chk wif her. OPK strips frm USA r definitely much much cheaper than OPKs frm SG pharmacies...
the lubricant dat is sperm-friendly currently in the local mkt is pre-seed (6pcs for $39.90). maybe u wld like to join the ladies in ttc thread to ask more qns?

juju78,
Yeah, u r right, its called pre-seed! I finally recall the brand after u mentioned it

Glynnis,
If u hv found out more abt the lubricant and u think u would like to try it out, u might want to join the drugstore BP. I almost wanted to buy the preseed, and i was looking for cheaper alternatives in getting it, during then i found out tt drugstore sell preseed, and they were hving discount during then. But u must factor in the shipping cost and see whether its cheaper to get it thru BP or just get it locally. I think a pharmacy at Takashimaya sells pre-seed.

Can I contribute something?

My gynae mentioned that lubricants dun interfere with TTCing leh...I asked this qn last yr before i got preggie coz i was using lubricants (KY)..and with a retroverted uterus, i still managed to get preggie on the first attempt.

Just to share my experience.

Hi Babylove,

You daughter born on Aug'05 too?? My boy also born on that yr and month. I am 8 wks pregnant now. This is my 2nd pregnancy too. EDD will be on 1 April 07.

pre-seed is avai @ Taka B2 jap pharmacy &amp; Isetan Scotts pharmacy, i guess.

jeddie,
no idea leh... dat's the info abt lubricants which i gathered frm ttc-ing frens &amp; my ex-gynae

Jeddie,

A gynae i consulted said the opp leh ... b4 i was preggie with my no.1, i tried for 5 mths to no avail, so i went to KKH infertility ctr for consulation, the gynae there told me tt i shldnt use lubricant coz it will kill sperm or prevent them fr swimming to the egg ... however, i was not aware tt i already conceived, coz menses not due yet. 2 weeks later, menses still didnt come, and i tested positive, i was so happy, it proved tt the gynae's words r wrong! so i thot its ok to use lubricant. I was using Astroglide during then.

For my 2nd ttcing, i tried to look for Astroglide coz tt's the lubricant proven to be ok, at least to me, but it was no longer avail in the mkt. So i bought KY. but i tried for 7 mths still no result, so i stopped using the KY lubricant (and thinking of whether i shld get pre-seed), and i managed to conceive after i stopped using KY lubricant.

So i really dunno whether lubricant really play a part in TTCing. If someone tried for serveral mths with lubricant still no results, then maybe shld try not to use it, or use pre-seed.

Thanks for all of your contribution. I would try looking at Taka B2 and Isetan Scotts pharmacy. Hope is help when my mensus ends this month.

piggymum

Hmm..I haven start to TTC yet. For sure I need to use lubricant, so will keep using KY for the time being.

Agreed with you on the last part : if have been using KY but no results on TTCing, then should change brand or stop using to see the effects.

Wouldn't mind trying pre-seed if its better than KY. haha.

Piggymunm,

It's gd that your hubby helps you out now that u are preg. Some guys couldnt handle bb at all. hehehe

My daughter sleeps on the bed with us. But she doesnt really toss and turn too much though it is getting a bit squeezy. I think i will try to put her back into her playpen soon. But she cant sleep well in her playpen. Guess she prefers the security of sleeping with her parents on the bed..heee

Ya, you are right..i think i wont carry her so much now.. cos i am starting to have backaches liao. Dunno why this time round I'm starting to hv water retention. Think it's a bit too early to have water retention leh. Hmmm

Anyway to reduce water retention?

cmy

Yes, my daughter is born in aug 05. *shake hands*

So we are in the same boat again.. nice to know u! Are u a working mom or sahm?

Babylove,

My son also doesnt like to sleep in playpen, i used to put him on the mattress tt put besides my bed, but he will wake up at nite and cried, its very disruptive to my sleep to wake up at nite and sleep on the flr together with him, so i put him on the bed with me. We hv a single bed which can be dismantled and assembled, so we assembled the single bed next to our double bed, hb will sleep in the single bed, so tt we hv enuff space for all 3 to sleep comfortably. And now i m preggie, my son will hv to sleep in another rm with my helper or my mother during wkdays and with my hb during wkends.

And now i m thinking of dismantling the single bed, since my son no longer sleeping with us. so tt we can hv more space in the main bedrm. Moreover i will need the space for the playpen when my no.2 arrives.

Do u hv a single bed at home? If u do, maybe u can try out my method so tt 3 of u can sleep comfortably. I really regretted not buying a king size bed.

How does water retention look like? I didnt experience any water retention during my 1st pregnancy. Is it feet swollen? I heard tt for cases like tt, try not to eat salty food. If ur feet r tired, put a pillow below ur feet when u sleep at nite.

Remember to check with ur gynae in ur next visit, i m sure he can give u more advice.

Jeddie,

I m not sure whether pre-seed is better than KY in terms on function. But i m very sure tt it is definitely much more exp! KY is really cheap, if it works for u, then no need to buy pre-seed lah ;)