(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

micK , gv keira time

i am sure when she starts to be very talkative , u will wish that she stops asking u lotsa of "WHY"s

mK, so sorry... that wasn't what i meant! i thought the classes were not effective and that's why she didn't pick up much from there. coz i've been thinking whether wanna send C to GUG for weekly sessions. i don't think keira is slow per say lah... she probably speaks well in other languages (from her main caregivers) so maybe u can try talking to her more? or read to her? hehe... i thought she'll be like u mah.

caicai,
if it's for books only, then borders (with 30% + 10% discount) is cheaper. but many of the items sold on the site are multi-title sets with rucksacks, cute carry bags, and add-ons like CDs. so if you're getting these, i think the price is very reasonable on the website. borders also doesn't stock some of the titles found on the website ... hahaa, i shall surf in more detail at lunch time. want to get some multi-title sets!

michele,
hey, dun need to say sorry, coz you havent seen K for a long while now. ya, other mummies in march, who meet K often enough assures me that when K finally speak, i wld want her to stop instead. she juz refused to talk even parotting. so u can imagine how happy i am, when suddenly she can point and say the word out herself.

GUG and kinder actually helps her in her motor skill and socialising with other kids.

min,
K can do the action from A-L in a sitting. after that she will lose her concentration. and this only happen in Dec after we stop for the holidays.
she likes to take out the cards herself, so we usually play with the zoophonics cards everynight when we are back early.

yes, i haven't seen even u for a while now!! and yes, u'd really want her to keep quiet when she finally chatters on and on coz they really don't stop once they start!

i'm still thinking of what classes to send C to!

Michele,
same boat. Don't know where to send J to...

Was thinking maybe I'll meet Min and Kate on of these Weds for lunch and go for a trial at GUG. Never been there anyway... timing (4 - 6pm) isn't great (since his dinner is at 5pm) but we'll see. You interested? I can call up and try for Feb 25th. If I sign up, it'll be for "Gifted Kids" though (from age 2.5, 3:30pm - 6pm).

Just saying lah... I don't know if it's effective but like SIL says, it's nice to have someone lead in structured fun with kid. haha. (She was at JG for her two kiddos...based on (observing) her experience, wrt speech, it didn't help the more speech-inclined one to talk more or faster, but it did her her less speech-inclined one. She says it helps though... I think if we were objective about it, it probably helped but it his enunciation still isn't good.)

similarly, I sent Jesse to MyGym last year (at 14 months) to help him gain more confidence in gross motor skills. He finally did walk at 15 months and I was happy. He probably would've walked anyway at 15 months but what I'm also happy about is that he got more confident in doing physical things...though when he's climbing all over, I question my "wisdom" about being happy. He did one "package" and stopped end of last year. He still can't jump - but I'm not going to sign up for lessons so that he learns how to jump. He'll eventually get there and I'm glad it's not so soon. haha. He misses his "class" though - when driving on CTE, he'll sometimes say, "go gym, yes?" - and I might consider sending him again but not now. Why? Because he wasn't ready to participate in a group...he doesn't do anything he's supposed to do...but he has lots of fun doing his own thing. hehe. Guess I'm comfortable where he is physically, even if he's a little behind the curve. (He more than makes up for it in other ways... :p)

But ya, it's a perpetual "ding-dong" in my head on which class to sign up for. Partly, because I'd like to be entertained :p (and not clear up messes) and partly because I think Jesse might enjoy it.

PS: I tell him to keep quiet (or rather, "shut up") all the time...but at the end of the day, he's the person I talk to most (in a day)...it seems kind of sad!

PPS: I'm not surprised he's verbose... Look at my post!

Min, S/W
If the child repeats with a "dun wan" in front, that's like a sentence! Haha. E.g. Me: "Jesse, keep your toys please." Jesse: "Dun wan keep your toys please." Haha. Or Me: "Eat" Jesse: "Dun wan eat". every.single.day.

D, timing is not too great for me either coz hb hates to be caught in traffic jams - he knocks off at 5pm so we have to get out of central areas by 5.30 latest - most erp gantries are switched on from 6pm! :p

personally, i chose to let C go for classes more to 'socialise' coz i noticed how young child who do not have much interaction with other children tend to be very selfish. C did gym classes for many months only because she is so active and there's really nowhere in my house that she can 'roam' around without me worrying (or her falling). the fact that gym classes has equipments to 'challenge' her was really secondary (in reality, i also question my own 'wisdom' coz she became really apt at climbing & doing 'stunts') - what i wanted was the safe boundaries that she could explore.

right now, she is really into 'conversations' and can go on and on and loves to read (or rather to be read to) and while i have plenty of materials for her (flashcards, books and so on), i do hope to introduce some form of 'structure' in her learning. like J, she can hardly sit still and loves to do her own thing - that's really why i am 'pondering' on which classes she should go to - montessori actually really suits her because it is 'child-guided' as opposed to 'teacher-guided' so that will definitely in my 'agenda' for her.

GUG - i've heard a lot abt it but i still doubt the effectiveness. like u highlighted, it prob helps those less speech-inclined.

actually if we listen very carefully to our li'l ones, they are usually 'relating' something to us, even if it is just made up of individual words - C just goes on and on e.g. C wear shoes, go gai gai, gong gong house, feed fish, see cat - all in one breath, full of grammatical errors but she is actually having a conversation all the time - obviously, not all the words are clearly enunciated but i get her like 95% of the time - otherwise, i just go through all the 'probabilities' until she says 'yes' which she does when i get what she is saying so yeah.. anyway, i talk to her like she's an adult and use words that i would normally use when carrying out a normal 'adult conversation' so that definitely helps to build up her vocabulary.

i'm looking at the 'positive' series of classes coz i want to learn how to help her manage her frustrations (like when she wants something and cannot get it) as opposed to just telling her 'no, you can't do it/can't have this'

i shd add that i constantly have to 'undo' my maid's bad english influence on C... listening to her sometimes make me cringe - its really hard to believe that she is a degree holder!

Michele,
have you been to any of the "positive" classes? Do they really teach emotion managemt? Think I need to attend haha.

I'm guilty of speaking singlish to Jesse! My mom speaks hokkien to him and my mil speaks mandarin.

I know they say "don't confuse" the poor kid but I can't help it..it's so fun!

Hey mummies, seems like some disc going on about classes for our children. Just wanna share my 2 cents opinion here...

Lele started attending GUG only less than 2 mths ago and I have seen so much positive outputs that I now believe that structured learning, as long as not done stressfully and reinforced regularly outside of classroom, can have GREAT effects. The greatest positive output is that his attention span is much better now.
Tho we have always known and accepted his character of being a very hands-on boy who likes to explore on his own, it is very reassuring to see a quieter, attentive side of him emerging. HB is especially certain that GUG developed his attention span. GUG taught lele that he can have fun being quiet too. I found that nowadays he will request for quiet activities such as reading, puzzles, bars etc and reject more active activities like takin walks at times when he is tired.

Imagine a boy who cannot sit still at home or in Kindermusik class (45mins lessons which he attented from 9 to 16months) to be able to sit still, completely participative and engrossed, for 2 hours a day, 2 days a week...

Not only was he able to sit still and pay attention (because he wants to, not made to), he also improved very greatly in talking. Before attending, Lele was already a very chatty boy who likes to have conversations. But after attending the lessons, he starts to pick up correct english sentences and attempted to use grammar such as "on the" which he picked up from lesson.

See, at the beginning of lesson, teachers will get children to sit by singing, "everybody sitting down on the mat". Lele sang this song many times at home but initially it was "everybody sitting down on matmat". Then he changed it to "everybody sitting down on the mat". Then he started telling me things like "lele sitting down on the floor/chair" in order to practice using "on the"...

I dunno how it works but more exposure to many complete sentences (which GUG is very big on) seem to enhance Lele"s use of eng too. For example, last time when he twas tryin to locate his toys, he will say "so-and-so, where are u hide there?" Now he says, "so-and-so, where are u hiding?" and things like "yeye sleeping" or "shushu going meet friends" when previously it was without "ing".

Not only that, he started to be MUCH more vocal than he already was, often able to relate several sentences in sequence. A typical exchange goes like this, "Lele take egg. Lele crack egg on bowl. Lele take egg shell. Lele throw eggshell in dustbin. Wait for rubbish dump truck come. Throw eggshell rubbish dump."

Having said all of the above, I feel that enrichment classes are not "magic". Your child will not magically gain certain results within certain time frame if what they learnt are not reinforced at home. Attending gug had been fun for Lele but educational for me. Because of lesson, I have more ideas of how to engage him in our daily activities. Whereas previously I would not let him touch the cooking ingredients, now I will let him participate and explain each step clearly and in complete sentences. I also had more ideas of arts and crafts.

If I had let lele attend playgroups on his own, I guess he will still have a great time, but he will miss out on reinforcement outside classroom, because if I werent in classroom with him, I will not be able to reinforce what he learnt at home.And that will mean a less significant positive output .

Oh, forgot to add that Lele loves to repeat again and again the zoophonics, songs, anything, which he encountered in lessons. Think his own reinforcements and mine added together made him enjoy lesson so much more and get alot out of it.

Wow Kate, sounds like GUG is really good! My girl has gone for a trial class last year but felt that it was too "cheem" for her. Wanted to try their bilingual class last month but they got the dates all mixed up so in the end, decided to settle for JG.

Hey Cindy
Alexis finally started her lessons at JG today! supposed to start 2 weeks ago but she was sick on both Saturdays. anyway, you're right - the lesson is rather fun! alexis was transfixed by the skits! and i like the fact that they've 4 teachers in the class. but the chinese teachers do talk abit too fast. anyway, alexis has not been going for any class for quite a long time (minus the gym class she attended late last yr which only had 3 kids) so m happy to see her so engrossed!

kate
it took D about 4 months to pay attention in class. he used to be crawling arund in class

now when teacher say sit on the mat.. he can follow instruction.

or when i sing "are we sitting down for story time" he will do so. very cute!!

blueroti: Sorrie to hear u had such an awful experience with GUG
Famous schs always have screwup admin hor...wonder why.
Can be such a put off.
I would have sign Lele up for Siempi music had the admin not be so irresponsible n snobbish...sigh...
Luckily I have pleasant exp with GUG admin so far...

Actually, Lele and I did not enjoy our GUG trial at all, and I hesitated quite some time before signing him up. Plus: Lesson content very comprehensive. Minus: 2 hours might be taxing on Lele's attention span and we din like the teachers and attendees in our trial slot.

In the end I decided to sign up provided I get a different class w diff teachers cos Lele began to show more interest in learning words and was becoming expressive. So I thought I should be able to engage him better by learning a trick or 2 from GUG lessons. Turned out that the vibe and teachers of the current classes made all the diff
Very glad!

I'm sure JG is very good too since so many people say so, but locatn too inconv for me and somemore was told need to commit 3times/week? Hence I din consider. How many days does Alexis attend?

Min: D so cute! I also do some of the same things they do in class with lele at home and was surprised he will guaiguai follow. Like when keeping toys will sing the "toys away" song. Now he will even keep toys away on his own accord when not playing with them or moving to another activity. When he forgets to keep, all I have to say is, "okay, it's time to keep the toys away", start singing the tune, and he will gladly return to keep topys kekeke...

Dee/Min: wanna meet up coming wed?

Hey Blueroti,

Glad that Alexis enjoys the class too! I like the student teacher ratio too. I find that Cait is more engrossed during Chinese time cos of the skits.

Kate,
We only attend JG once a week leh...maybe they changed the syllabus/schedule liao. There's also 4 times a week which my nephew is attending.

cindy/blueroti , i brot my sonny to trial class at JG last week.
but dunno issi due to the long break we had( we stopped GUG lesson since last Oct ) , he was abit shy and whenever the teachers said bye bye or put the stuff away , zac will cry out loud ( pretty embarrassing)
+ i think he mite not hv understood the chinese lessons too coz he gv a confused look during the chinese session.
hmm , was thinking if there is a JG English lesson for us to join ....

kate , good to hear that lele benefitted frm his GUG classes .
i guess another reason for him to absorb info so fast mite be the additional RB training u gv him at home , that wld be another factor as to why he is progressing so fast . i mean it is pretty amazing for a boy who is not even 2 yrs old and he can string a sentence!!! for most of our babies here , they r still babbling 2 syllable sentences etc .
comparing GUG and JG , i preferred the JG lesson due to 2hr session ( the GUG we attended previously = 1.5hr) , + GUG ratio was not as good as JG + classrm size at united sq is small + cramped etc.

but at the end of the day , my main purpose in joining a class is for zac to socialize with other babies , 1 trial lesson at the JG hasnt really shown this yet ;(
there wasnt even an intro at the beginning of the class

kate,

I'm not free this weds... 18th or 25th?

Michele,
you wanna try GUG trial? Or have you tried before? I don't know if can "trial" then lah but check with you before I call... or Kate and Min can help us ask on Wed.

Though I'll say that I'm more interested in sending him for the 2.5 yr old program (when he's of age) then to start right away. These few months a bit busy lah...

caicai,
I'm (still) thinking of sending Jesse to playgroup for the benefits of "socialization". I think he needs to kenna bullied before he can learn how to share. For now, he's the big bully. :p

D , i think hor , u are the bully rather than jesse ! he looks angellic and was well behaved !
micK , i will call to ask them later . dilemma now , dunno go GUG (suntec) or JG

D, i dun mind going for GUG's trial.

i went for OSCAR test today and got relatively good results so i'm happy. Dr brought forward my EDD and tells me that i'm expecting a boy. hopefully, he is right!

Born on national day is good.. why not? I heard from my m'sia colleague for those who born on national day,
they entitle to lots of benefits. Not sure for sporean..

michele,
someone in my secondary school was born on national day. the mum decided to name him 国宝 (guo bao - national treasure)

dlim,
your husband gave us a ride to west coast on friday. was very nice of him since it was raining that evening. we actually took more than 1 hour to get from school to my mum's place in bukit batok because of the rain and jam.

michele,
boy means you can start buying new bb products already! by the way, are you still using the ergo carrier? i dunno if we need to stop using it by a certain time (maybe when the belt doesn't fit anymore)?

sanwich,
U r welcome!
He mentioned to me last fri too. Is yr hubby working near by?

Jayden finally stop crying since we dropped him off last wk. Today he was happily playing with the rest of the toddlers b4 we left.

s/w, yes! I'd be happy to start spending $$$ on the li'l prince if my OB confirms the gender next week! :p

and yes I am still using the ergo but much less. i feel quite breathless nowadays so i rarely carry C.

dlim,
yes he works nearby - at a lab in NUS. our arrangement is usually i bring kaizer to school, and he fetch kaizer home from school. i will cab in the morning, while they take the shuttle bus home in the evening. we're quite reluctant to get a car, since both of us can technically walk/take shuttle buses to work. but it's really getting harder nowadays w/out a car. plus, if we really want to get a car in time for the second kid, then i have to consider starting driving lessons too.

remember that time we were discussing abt the 50% rebate in school fees from recommending a friend to the school? i think maybe by jayden's enrollment the school didnt have the promotion already, cos didnt hear miss lim telling me abt the rebate

s/w
I have a fren working at a lab at NUH...

Mich,
okay confirm which Weds better to meet up then I'll call to see if we can do a trial.

So cool...Nat'l day baby...or 8/8/ lor
Or 1/8...

sandwich,
Both of u working so near to each other plus u staying at dover. So conveinent! If u think getting a car is convenient
then u can consider to buy one. At least u dont have to spend so much on cab fees & rushing to work everyday.

If Im not wrong, during orientation day miss lim still mentioned to me abt the rebate thing. I believe its still going on,
maybe u want to check with her this evening.

*mich*
congrats!! you have 好 in your family now!

s/w
you can stil ergo Kai? betta not carry him so much since you are still in you 1st tri:p

nowadays i try not to use ergo but let D walk with me.. coz at 11 kg .. its a tad too heavy oredi.
only when i step into supermarket or shops then i need to carry coz this fellow just go bersek at ransacking things.. i'm so afraid that one fine day we may be accidentally caught shoplifting coz D always take things w/o my knowledge!

D
i'm sure there is trial at GUG.

actually wkday class ratio is only abt 7-8 kids. not as cramp as wkend class. and 2 hrs long with 20min mandarin lesson.

and they provide snacks and water during break.

Halo Kate
alexis attends the Sat class and it's only once a week! think i will "peng san" if it's thrice a week! it's 2 hr/session. we go to the evans road branch and i like the place. it's more spacious than the one at forum. there's supposed to be swimming lesson and sand play but coz' it was drizzlng last Sat so we went to the playground instead.

Hi Cindy
yeah, i have to say the chinese teachers are more animated! in fact the teachers from the class next to mine were really loud and their class seems to be more fun! i was standing outside the class so i could hear them and see the chinese teachers getting dressed for the skits.

hi caicai
i was at last sat's class, what abt u? anyway dun worry too much, m sure your boy will settle down soon once he gets used to it. JG has english classes too.

dlim, i was thinking of going to that fair even before i found out abt #2...

wondering if anyone thinking of twin strollers like me? i'm contemplating on selling my aprica for the phil & ted stroller which comes with a twin kit.

blueroti , i attended last sat class 4.30pm

approached GUG for trial class( they dun pick up calls , but will respond to emails) , they said this week class is full .

next week ok . but i dunno whether to continue with JG or go GUG -bilingual

i've just rejected my boss' offer for an office trip to NZ in end march-early apr. argh, that was a very very very hard decision to make! but at the end of the day, i think i'll prefer to take a personal family trip with kaizer before his 2nd b-day. hope i won't regret the decision.

help . .. any of ur toddler has different color poo? Jboy having diarrheao for past few days and his poo is usually watery and mustard color. But occasionally, his poo is dark dark brown. Like last nite, his poo was yellowish and tis morn, it became dark dark brown. ..

do i hv to worry?

Okie dokes.

Michele,
I signed us up for Trial at GUG on 18th at 4pm. It's $50 nett.

Just to let you know, they are having a promotion for Trial at Suntec ($26.75). Timings are Tues/Thurs, 9 - 11 or 11 - 1pm. I can't make it for those (at least I don't want to drive in rush hour lah...or maybe I could..hmmm...can send HB to work, can take KPE...haha.)

Anyway, what do you feel about it? If wanna change, I can always call them back. Otherwise, it's confirmed at United Sq.

S/w
What a sacrifice!!! I'd have a very hard time making that decision too! Though if my HB gets a biz trip, he knows we'll just pack up and follow him...get free lodging and do our own thing :p

Michele,
Twin stroller are great if you foresee a lot of walking around, otherwise, it is a lot more cumbersome (even if you drive everywhere). I'm not pregnant, but in a moment of inspiration :p, I did think of getting the attachment (board) so J could stand behind while I push, afterall, he's so into pushing strollers...

coold,

Jesse's poop's colour/consistency etc depends on what he eats.
I see (and clean all shades). Think I'd only worry if I see blood or if he had the runs for too long (worry about dehydration). Otherwise, should be okay lah.

D, i'm fine with either venues/timings - the more impt thing is which venue has better teachers! so its until 5.30? :p

the problem with twin strollers is that they tend to be really heavy! my aprica is less than 4kg but the phil & ted one is more than 10kg! will be a headache when we have to lift up the stroller (with 2 kids inside!) - seeing that there's still some way to go for stroller/wheelchair convenience! talking about going around, i have no idea how i am going to move around with 2 kids in the future! i prob have to bring the maid everywhere then if my hb is not around!

cool_D, C's poop also varies in consistency but i'd suggest that you monitor for a few more days coz if too loose, must suggest that something doesn't agree with his stomach.