(2007/02) February

Koh - just nw b photocopy gal lor............ just done, gng to pack & go. Go hme eat dinner already then cont to do my rpts.

Gig - I was thinking of trying both bt then which means $55 leh, exp man!!!!!

I will try for wkend also, cos wkdays very diff to catch their timing......... Wkends @ my own time own tgt.

ok, gals, I m gng hme nw!

Everybody hv a gd & nice rest over the wkend!

Koh - one big load off ur mind, rest well, then worry abt other things nx wk!

Bye...........

giggler,

tq for the advice ..
i hope feeling stretched does not lead to stretch marks ..
ha ha .. i'm a bit paranoid over this ..

ah ger,

your research on confinement company is as good as research for the car you've bought ..
he he ..

want to update on avent reduce collic bottles ..
is actually cheaper purchasing from singapore ..
i'm waiting for sales ..
he he ...

smurfy,
for diapers, my mum told me to get mamy poko
i bought 1 pack NB one and 1 pack 3~8kg
i bought from melaka at RM 35 per pack ..
the NB one got 48 pieces ..
the 3~8kg, i bought the bigger pack and it's RM 51

Ah ger et al,
I will be trying both
. After my Taiwan trip lah. Maybe week after next, in early Dec.

Have to discuss with hb which pkg to take also.

Now trying to secure a part time cleaner.

OK. Must go already. Dinner and bath.

Have a great weekend gals!

PVL/Ah ger, so we test our trial early Dec?

ck, hahaha... you really paranoid abt your stretchmarks leh. I really bochap, only apple stretchmark cream whenever I rem.

PVL, I thot you've a part time cleaner now? Why still need to look for another one?

Finally hv time to cme in. haiz, after leaving the ofc, waited for a bus till 6+, rch hme close to 7.30pm. So late. Then I quickly bathed then eat my dinner.

Just finished my 9pm show & my laundry. Nw cme in & surf web forawhile.

Gig - no prob, I m thinking of trying in Dec also, no hurry too.

PVL - I no need to discuss w/ hb lah, he'll always doze off when I wanna tok to him.

Gig - I rem everyday, to apply the cream bt lazy. Only apply in the morning after my bath. When I cme hme & bathe again, I m cream-free!

Ck - no lah, infact car I din do much research, majoriy is hearsay then i just tell u gals only. Bt tis one is easier for me to understand, so I can ask qns myself. I din even ask anything abt the car upon booking, ha ha ha.......

gals, ask u all arh. When u do confinement, then bb slp ware? In MBR then on the bed? then hb leh?

Cos just nw I was telling mum I wanna take the cot frm my gf's hse, then she said take already dun assemble yet, cos she pantang, say dunno will affect anything or nt. She said wait till I deliver already then during my stay @ the hospital, then ask hb to assemble it.

then she added "anyway bb also wun slp in the cot mah, will slp w/ u on the bed till full mth then slp cot."

then i said "then hb slp ware?" then she said "slp nx door, the spare rm lah." Then i said huh? Slp nx door? then she said "ppl normally also do tat mah, if nt wat? Soh hum hum (cantonese, something like dirty) then hb & wife still wanna b so sticky to slp 2gether meh?

Can't stand her @ times man......... can think abt all these. I tot the more hb shld slp w/ us in the same rm, so tat when i need help, he's ard mah........ I din bother to explain much to her, cos I know I will end up quarrelling.

*fuming*

haiz, she called again then asked if my MBR has space to put bb cot, if nt hw to put bb cot in the rm? I cna't b placing @ the spare rm then hw m I gng to run abt in the middle of the night? She said during confinement must hv more rest. If I kip running up/ dwn then end up I m only rest w/ a fw hrs to slp.

Blah blah blah............

hi ah ger,

i will be placing bb in the cot. thats wat we practice in our family. they say that its easier to train bb to become independent .If not , bb might reject sleeping alone in the cot after co-sleeping with u .
plus i dont think hb sleeping in another rm is a good idea. somehow make me feel that the "bond" bet hb & wife is not there.

Giggler,
Nope, no help yet. I'm still doing ALL the housework myself. But I need to get one soon. I'm getting heavier and it's harder to move around and bend over. And I want to try out the part time help, otherwise, if no good, then I'm stuck. Last minute hard to find.

We'll do the food tasting in Dec then. Still have til end dec/early Jan to book if we want early bird special.

Ah ger,
As I mentioned, for me & my hb, we also believe, same as Stella, that bb must be trained to be independent. And husband and wife should sleep in our own bed. The hb/wife relationship should not change when the bb is born. Our MBR also has very little space. Definitely no place for a big cot. BB will sleep in our room in his own little bassinet for the first 4-6 wks. Then he's got a nice big cot waiting for him together with his jie-jie Sarah in the other room. He wil move in with her after that. Yes, I will be 'running' about if he cries in the night. But not every cry will bring me running. Only the 'serious' ones. Babies tend to make little noises when they sleep. We must avoid jumping up at every little squeak or movement cos we might actually disturb the bb instead of helping him. I did that with Sarah too. You get used to it. You learn to 'sleepwalk' after a while
. You learn when to respond too.
It's true, you will have less sleep once your bb is born. Until such a time as your bb can sleep through the night, which can take anything from 4 wks to 2 yrs!! First few weeks are quite bad, that's why I'll have bb sleeping in our room. Don't have to walk so far when you are still recuperating.

But at the end of the day, Ah ger, it's all a matter of your own choice. Don't let your mum 'psycho' you into doing anything you don't feel is the right thing to do. However, whatever choices you make, you have to live with the consequences in the future
. So gotta think carefully and be firm about your decisions.

My hb is also sometimes hard to talk to. He's got UHU glue eyes on the TV. If his eyes are glued to the TV, I think if a bomb drops next to him, he will also not realise it. He's even glued to the advertisements!!

Ah ger, hb still slept with bb and me during the cf mth lah. He'd woke up and carried bb to me for bf and after bf, he'd changed bb's diaper. Then I could rest more and dun need to bend too much mah. But if you want bb to sleep by himself, it's best to let him sleep in the cot from the start. My gal still with us on the same
bed till now leh.
So not sure what'll be our sleeping arrangement after bb pop.

PVL, I also have difficulty bending down these days. Ok, we'll do food tasting the first 2 weeks of Dec? Your hb sounds like my hb leh, wont move even his eyeballs once his eyes glued to the TV. Think men just cant multi-task lah. Hehehe...

gals, my mum meant during tat 1mth, if really nd to, slp on the mattress on the flr or another rm, cos if bb cries, @ least on my bed it's easier to attend to him. bt my tot is, we r doing confinement ourselves leh, if hb's nt in the rm, then who's gng to help me also?

I din tell hb abt it, he sure scream one. He always think my mum's doings & thinkings very lao gu ban.

Anyway yest I measured the cot's size in the MBR. If everything is right, it will b just nice lor. Bt then it will b the moment I open my door, the cot is just on the left, then will b against out bedframe. Which also means to say hb will hv to climb to the end to get out of the bed cos the cot will block his path. Bt no choice, I can't b leaving bb in the other rm.

2day went to shopping. haiz! Go shopping w/ men hor, always hv disagreements one! I wanted to wait for Metro's 20% sale again to buy the Avent btls bt hb said wat for wat? Just a fw $$ doesn't make a diff!!! End up we got the kiddy palace card & bought the btls lor. He arh, insisted on buying Avent, then I told him wat my colls (already mummies) advised me & he can say "if Avent is nt gd then hw cme everybody buys it?" #$%^&*( So angry.

Then arh, I wanted to buy the bb's clothes (those wrap ones), then I said buy 1 set blue 1 set white. He said white so ugly. I said nx time if hv #2 & is a gal then can wear mah. Then choose those things all want w/ blue col. I said can dun buy so focused col or nt? He said no other nice ones!

Nx time I sure go shopping myself!

Well, we bought alot of other stuff also, like pacifiers, 1 box of breast pads, Pureen's nappy rash cream (so cheap only $2.90, I din buy Drapolene brand) then booties/ mittens. Kiddy Palace has those cheap ones (dun need exp ones anyway) like 2 pairs of mittens for $2.90 b4 10%, then 1 set of booties & mittens for $3.30 b4 less. We bought a few sets.

We also bought a clip on mini fan to b attached on the pram. Also bought the cot's mattress.

Then we headed to Mothercare, bought a pack of 7pcs short-slv rompers (gals' designs were so much nicer!!!!), $54 b4 20%, then also 1 pk of 3pcs long slv slpwear, $55 b4 less. Slpwear was so much nicer & cuter.

Oh, b4 tat we actually went to buy bath towels & handkerchiefs @ the mkt.

Wanted to buy the bath tub bt then my sis said she has a gift, so we shall c hw it is 1st. if can, then we can save some $$. Actually saw 1 tat has a board, where the bb can rest tare w/o having us to kip holding/ carrying. The board is removable & the whole thing costs $26.90, can use up to 1yr old.

Well, seems like bought quite alot, so gotta do a chk wats outstanding. Spent quite a bomb, think close to $300 already. *scary*

Bb's bath & shampoo & etc, we will wait till later stage then buy, buy so early end up noware to put. Will prob get them frm Chinatown bah......

Sorry for the delay. I have updated the BB Prep list. However I din chk some of the things, so I din amend the prices, bt anyway there are just an estimate.

Then for brands, instead of Rec'md, I change to "Brands available".

Hope tis is useful to u.

mime_msexcel.gif

Guide_to_Baby_Prep_List.xls (38.9 k)</td></tr></table></center>

hi every1, i surely have no time here.. sob sob..

how's every1 doing? jux pop in to say hi and need to off PC already.

for me still the same, getting fatter and bigger.. went to pre-natal massage, any1 went to one too? Mine is the left over package from the previous post natal massage.

hopefully later got time to pop in again.

see ya..

actually can't we use normal panties?
Disposable ones - will b as tight as normal panties meh?
then like tat hw to secure the pad?

Hello mummies... how's everyone's weekend?

Have not been staying in Singapore for weekend dunno for how long liao. This weekend hubby not around and not going back to parents' house in johor so happily stay alone in our new Clementi house for the weekend.

Yday went Orchard shopping myself. Feel great as used to throng along Orchard in the past myself but not since getting married not to say pregnant. Saw so many cute stuff for bb at Robinson (Robinson having 20% sales). Sms hubby, he said dun simply buy anything without daddy around hor. Okloh, so wait till he comes back loh. Shop all the way from Somerset to Taka from 2 to 6, in the end bot some sleeping wear for my hubby from Robinson, 3 wireless bra ($22.90 each and buy 2 get 1 free) +3 panties (3 for $15.90) and front button Winnie the Pooh sleepwear ($15.90) from Sorella at John Little and a pair of shoes from Hush Puppies. Nothing for the bb.

Today stay at home whole day except for morning grocery at ntuc. Made some pasta with curry tuna for lunch and some leftover for dinner. Hubby just sms me saying saw some good bb cot selling at RMB2000 (S$400) in Hainan. Asked him not to buy first but compare wif prices here.

Ha, hubby coming back this Tuesday! And yes, first thing we are gg to do, in fact on Tuesday evening is to go see cars at Leng Kee road. He said new Corolla is launched in China oredi. Not sure here though...

Morning all

The start of another week. Hope all of you had a good weekend.

Jas: U mean there is a new corolla to be launched in Sg soon? Oh dear, I was still thinking of buying one resale one. That's the corolla altis you r talking about rite.

PVL: Any way how to move the kids out of MBR? I'm kindda fed up with them bunking in every nite. Even the maid gets a better nite's rest than us.

Mag, that's wat my hubby heard. Will confirm after we visit the showroom this week. Let u know later k? But heard from my colleague sometimes even if they know there are new model gg to launch, they won't say one or say they dunno in case the old model not able to sell out.

Jas, u mean Robinson having 20% sale already? Strange how come they didnt send mailer leh?

Koh, can you pls update for me. 26 weeks 4 days, baby's weight is 1352grams.Thanks!

over the weekend I went to test drive Subaru R2. Its a 4-door small little car, only 600cc but enough as a second car for me. Very cute, targeted at ladies. If I put 10k downpayment, and take 10yrs loan for the remaining, I only pay $300 plus per mth. Not bad, plus petrol is minimal. Much cheaper than taking cab. BUT they dun have the color I want, so still thinking about it.

morning to all........

Jas - Robinson having 20%?????????? Hmm......... bt I've bought most of the stuff already. maybe go &amp; compare prices on bb's bathing necessities instead vs Chinatown's prices.

Jas - tats gd! Ur hb is coming back 2mr.......... U can start shopping for bb's stuff lor...... As for cot, I think Kiddy Palace might b cheaper, I think I saw $300+ ones. Then I think IKEA also selling @ $299. Bt then Ikea's mattress' sizes always abit funny one, so perhaps you shld ask wats the mattress size b4 deciding, if nt u can't get it outside. I bought the cot mattress @ Kiddy only $ 39.90 for 27 x 52", smaller ones I think even cheaper.

Wah, gng to c car also arh......... hope to hear new updates frm u yeah!

Cherry - wow! Ur bb is big wor........ bt gd lah, strong &amp; healthy. Tis morning I was telling bb, hopefully we can get to c gynae 2day....... if I dun hear anything frm them means still cfm.

Ah ger, baby's head is big, thigh bone is long etc. Overall, gynae said baby is on the bigger side. Gynae will let me know at 36weeks if I can try for natural birth,if not got to c-section. I put on 2 kg and out of which 600+grams went to baby. In total I have put on 7kg.

Ah ger, my MBR is as small as yours. If I put the cot in my MBR, I wont able to open my wardrobes door. Sigh I find Avent good leh, whats wrong with Avent bottles? Wow, seems like youve got most of bbs stuff liao. I used disp panties during my cf cos didnt want to trouble my mom to wash panties for me since we cant touch water. Also we may have lochia and it can be quite messy. They have disp panties for preg which is much bigger in size. Aiyo so sian that your gynae still cant cfm appt with you hor?

bitbit, hows the pre-natal massage?

Sunsweet, TMCs disp panties quite ex and sounds gd hor? I saw cotton disp panties selling at $8.90 for 10 pcs. But not sure if theyre as gd as TMCs.

Jas, you can walk for so long? 2-6pm??? Not tired meh?

mag, I feel that its even more difficult to get the kids out of our bed as they grow older leh.

cherryale, wow you didnt put on much wt and bb still so big size! Good for you

Hi Cherry............. Oh...... 2day hopefully I can hv my appt then I know hw big is bb le. I m already 28wks+...... &amp; I wanted so much for an update.

Head big arh? Hb said tat time during detail scan, he also felt bb's head is big leh.

Thigh bone long meaning tall???

Ah ger, hope u can see baby today. My appt supposed to be tomorrow but changed to last sat cos hb on reservist these two weeks. Every visit gynae will measure head, circumference of head, stomach and thigh bone. So you will know if your baby's head is big or not. My baby's measurement are all in the 28 weeks 6 days range. Then he will have a chart to measure the proportion of head to body. So far, my baby's head to body proportion is normal which means he is generally bigger. But I think their growth in second tri is the fastest then slow down a little in third tri. Gynae said on average, baby will gain 500grams every 4 weeks. As to whether tall or not, prob wouldnt know, but prob means longer legs?

Gig - cos my gf said during her preg, she did research on btls/ teats. Avent btls r big, nx time when i wanna let bb learn to hold the btl may b abit diff. Teats - NUK's teats are closer to mum's nipples, so it's recm &amp; bb will like them more. It was said to b proven.

I tested the teats @ Kiddy tat day. Pigeon's new teats are softer, NUK I din test cos no sample. Avent's are slightly harder. So nt sure if bb will like it. My coll's gal also din like Avent's teats, end up she changed to Pigeon's. Heng can change cos some brands only support their own teats.

Yeah, infact yest when I ticked "Ok" @ the "Done" column, I realised I hv quite abit of stuff bought, except bb's bathing stuff &amp; mine. So nw w/ my updated list, I know exactly wat are the outstanding stuff I need to get.

Gig - my concept of disposable panties are those loose types. Then can't support the pad leh.

As for appt - I dunno lah, they say if dun hear frm them by Mon morning means cfm lor..... I m trying to call them bt line's engaged.

Oh, my coll was telling me, dun use hospital's provided pads cos they charge leh, it's nt in the pkg. Is it true???? Cos she said her fren's was charged, outside u buy a pack maybe say $10+, bt hospital charged dunno hw many times more.

Gig - tat day when I went shopping, I think I spend almost whole day walking leh, went to JW @ 12+, then after tat went Kiddy/ Mothercare &amp; shop, till abt 5+ 6pm also. Then stopped @ Swensens for dinner. Bt very shiok lor. Ha ha ha... Haben bn shopping like tat for a long time.

Cherryale and ah ger, i also never received their mailer on this 20% sales thingy. But think the sale only for the weekend. Some items on top of 20%, got additional 20% for Robinson card holder! I didn't get many things though as afraid too heavy to carry myself plus hubby doesn't want me to buy bb stuff without him. Anyway they always have sales most of the weekend. I also cut out a $10 John Little coupon from Saturday newspaper. The Sorella wireless bra very cheap! Buy 2 get 1 free. So average only $15 per piece, and they are very comfy too.

Dunno hubby gg to stay for how long this time plus he might be too busy to go shopping wif me. Basically other than go to car showroom and shop for bb stuff, we also need to get a computer table. Plus weekend we go back JB. Really doubt how much we can do for his trip back this time. Sigh...

Ah ger, wat time the car showrooms along Leng Kee road open until to ha? Hubby only reach airport tomorrow 5.20pm. Afraid by the time we put down luggage at home and rush there oredi close liao...

Cherry - I also hope I can c my bb lor......... it's bn 1mth le.

Yeah gynae will measure bt then I dun rem he told me, he just say everything is gd &amp; etc......

Yeah, I read abt the 500g thing also...... bt 3rd tri they will grow slower in length bt more on wt.

Sunsweet - oh, till 19th only arh? Then nvm lah, cos I din JL on sale, cos I tot usually when Robinson on sale, JL also will hv sale.

Then I shall wait till Dec lor, no hurry liao.

hi ah ger,
dun worry abt head big or not...my coll's gynae told her her bb's head is so much bigger but hor, when she deliver, its ok...i mean still proportion lah...so, dun worry too much, bb's body will grow very fast too

Cheeryale, u bb is big but u only put on 7kg! So good!

Hei, today me gg to see gynae. Last Sunday was JB gynae and this week is my Toa Payoh gynae. My current arrangement wif both gynaes are once per month and later more frequent for JB gynae. Spore one will be more weeks like once every 6 weeks. Frankly speaking, i prefer the Spore one than the JB one. But bo pian, most likely will give birth in JB.

Gig, like ah ger, i find it very shiok to shop last Sat. Haven't been doing so for so long. Quite tiring though. Initially want to go back only after the Xmas light up, but by 6 think enuf shopping liao so left Orchard. Carry 3 big bags of stuff and inside the train no seat.
Managed to drag myself homelah eventually. Just move slower loh.

ah ger, good that u have got majority of things oredi. My fren also gave me a list of things to buy for bb. Total 70 items! I see also faint especially I may need to get 2 sets for JB and Spore. So far haven't got anything yet lei except for 1 bb cot and 2 strollers from my brother.

Jas - I think these showrooms usually open till 7pm bah. The las time when we book our car was bcos my gf, &amp; she's the one who's closing the doors, ended we left @ 8+.

Jas - yeah it will b 2 late, I sugg u go 2mr instead. Then 2day jus let ur hb rest then catch up w/ u &amp; bb mah.

Ah ger, my gal managed to hold Avent bottle herself when she was just 3-4mths old leh. So shouldnt be a prob. But for teats, I ever heard that my fren got to change from Avent to Pigeon cos her gal doesnt like. Its true that hosp charge higher for pad and diaper leh. Thats why I packed my own pads and diaper in my hosp bag. HahahaK I cant walk that long nowadays with my gal with me. You go and see your scan, the measurements shd be on the scan.

cherryale, your bb is on the bigger side. For my case, all parts of bb are normal size.

Jas, no one gave up seat for you though you carried shopping bags with your tummy? Not all things are necc to buy so dun worry.

ah ger, closed at 7pm ha? So early... My hubby can't wait to do all these shopping right after he's back as he find his time here very short and limited. Like last time, he touched down 4 plus, went back Clementi put his luggage then 6pm meet me at Bugis where we go Sim Lim to buy computers. If 2m no time go showroom, maybe we go buy bb stuff or computer table.

It's so good to have technology. My hubby bot a webcam in China yday. So yday evening we both on internet and he can see me and i can see him. We just leave the computers on meanwhile do our own stuff. When miss each other, can see from the computer.

Since last week dunno why my bomb shelter cannot open lei. Tried many times from last week till this morning still can't open. Shd i call HDB to ask for assistance?

you all been shopping...

another month b4 i'll be back... can't wait.

Probably have to wait till then b4 i can get a car liao. No one to do the paperwork for me...

Ah ger: don't worry abt size la. More important is the health...

Doggy - I worry head too big can't do natural arh then hv to c-sect. I dun want c-sect, so yucky + I can't do massage.

Doggy - it was after much homewk like deciding &amp; asking ard wat r the things I hv/ gng to b given to me, then go out one. Hb always say I sugg go out c bb stuff end up nv do my homewk, so 1 shot, we did everything then buy lor. Cos we dun like to make so many trips to &amp; fro. besides no car, can't b cabbing always. So we chose a shopping centre w/ most of the shops inside then can buy once &amp; for all. *nd planning* ha ha ha.....

Yeah - me also gng to c gynae! I called up they say so far nothing so I can go ahea d&amp; apply leave!

Jas - shiok right? Bt $$ also very shiong. Ha ha ha........ Oh we even bought this Sea Horse 3 fold mattress to put on our extra bed.
So whoever is coming to our hse wanna hv some rest can slp tare.

Mum counted for me - total those wrap infront clothes, my niece has like 10+ 20 pcs to pass to me. Then mum is passing me a stack of cloth diapers to wrap bb.
+ some more booties &amp; mittens. :p

Gig, sadly, none gave up their seats to me last Saturday. It's only half way then i got a seat. Ya, went thru the list, some items may not be of urgency to get.

Btw ask u gals, anyone getting beansprout shell pillow? Know where can we get one?

Gig - as for the btls, tats y I dare nt buy extra teats, I will do a test 1st. We hv NTUC dwnstairs also, so buying Pigeon's teats &amp; etc shld nt b a prob.

As for pad - my gf was telling me our normal pads are infact more absorbent then the sanitary ones. Then sanitary ones are very thick leh, we may nt get used to them esp for those who hv bn using tampons instead of pads.

Jas - I would say u go buy bb stuff 1st cos dept stores close 9+pm so u wun b so rush. Then 2mr then go &amp; c car.

Jas - hw cme bomb shelter can't open? it's the door or u hv another covered door? U can try calling them, &amp; arrange for them to go dwn. Will ur hb b @ hme 2mr day time? If so, then u call nw to arrange for them to cme dwn 2mr.

ah ger,
wats the basic things to get? me have been drowned with all the work and weekend is still working for me and got totalling no time to go see see look look!!!

Jas, so poor thing, no one gave up seat for you?? Didnt know people can be so insensitive. I am so upset that I missed the Robinson's sale..wanted to get the breast pump and baby cot from them.

Ah ger, my colleague also recommended Nuk. do you know whether the Avent breast pump is compatible with Nuk's bottle? Or can I replace the Avent teat with Nuk's teat? I heard that Avent stuff is not compatible with other brands. Not sure if true.