(2007/02) February

Mint Ocean, I wanted to get one, but those I asked were charging S$2k++ so my mum say I move back to her place with my maid.

My mum do the cooking, then her maid do the cleaning, my maid look after baby

Mrs wong, ya loh. very expensive. initially, intend to get one, but after finding out the cny pricing, i think twice. I am now considering to get confinement catering. Think would be quite tired to look after the baby on my own and washing the clothes.

Mint Ocean, confinement catering might not be available during CNY period. You better double check.

My friend could not afford confinement nanny so what she did was get PT maid to come thrice a week to do the cleaning. Her hubby cook the confinement food for her and the rest of their meals are catered by their neighbour (they pay neighbour to cook for them).

Winnie, i guess koh HB dun really meant what he say. i am oso a father-to-be, althought i very happy that mine wifey preggie, but when i see her suffered, i see liao oso heart pain, oso regret making her preggie in the first place. but i noe how sensitive wifey can be during preggie, therefore i oso try to give her more support, be more sensitive to the word and action used.
mayb koh HB not knowing how sensitive woman can be during preggie, therefore used the wrong word or expressed his pain using the wrong way.

koh, try letting ur HB know that woman can be very sensitive during preggie. even better, ask him to log in and read. i really feel that it good for father-to-be to log in and see what woman really gone thru during preggie. now then i know y children alway stick to their mummies.
i really benefit alot from here.
but i can swear to u that ur HB dun mean what he say. trust me, i am oso a father-to-be.
when i first saw mine "little" one during scanning, i couldnt believe mine eye, nearly burst into tear.

winnie and iceblue,
first of all, a big thank you to both of you for writing in to console me... thanx a lot
just went to my gynae on wed, she suspect i have dengue fever, she said nowadays lots of MTB down with dengue... she just had one patient lost her baby due to dengue.. so she ask me to take a blood test immediately at a GP.. tomorrow going to have a second test... worried bout my baby now...
To all MTB,
please becareful wherever u go... don think vomit is just morning sickness.. as i said i vomit really seriously.. thus, it might be a symtomp of dengue.. please see a doctor if u are having fever on and off.. its not normal during pregnancy....

I might belong here too.
I also dont have MS, only sore breasts and a bitterness feeling in my mouth.

Me also gets paranoid like some of you. especially when certain symptoms like the bitterness taste disappear, i will start to worry whether my bb is ok and whether my body is producing enough HCG to support the bb.

In my 1st pregnancy, i also dont have MS, only sore breast when found that im pregnant for 8 weeks.

Koh,

U must take care and drink more water.... if really not feeling well, u must rest more.... don't care the company, now u must take care urself and baby... be confident urself, baby will be fine.

karen,
thanx a lot .. i will take care.. u too have to take care ok... but preggie are emotional.. haha.. hope only viral fever not dengue... if not got to hospitalize... haiz...still working now... scared boss sacked...

Hi Charis,

I've been here for a few days. Just reading the posting and getting to know the pple here.

So is your gynae visit tomorrow?

Hi Starlite,

If you are 8 weeks along wouldn't your EDD be in Jan instead? Think it will definitely be before chinese new year... little puppy baby then
So cute.

Hi Everyone

Just found out I am 5 plus weeks pregnant. Went for scan this morning, could see the sac, but nothing else. This is my first preg, so feeling nervous and paranoid. So far got no MS...just really bad mood swings

sunnygirl

Hi Winnie,

Now i think i only 7 weeks. The 8 weeks i mentioned is for my 1st pregnancy last time.

The last visit to my gynae, i never ask him when is my EDD, think he also forgot to tell me or maybe its still early. But i estimated to be around Feb 07 lor.

How about yourself?

Do you gals prefer doggy or piglet? Think alot of pple favour piglet these days.

Hi Sunnygirl,

Congrats. At 5wks its normal to see the sac only. Gynae said its usually around 6-8 weeks that hearbeat shd develop.

Hi Koh,

Did doc confirmed whether is it viral fever?

Hi Sunnygirl,

congrats! I went for my ist appointment/scan this morning too. Only managed to see the sac too. The doc says I shd be 5 weeks + 3 days... so I guess we'll be delivering about the same time

Hi Starlite,

I forgot to ask my gynae my EDD this morning too
Aiya, so silly of me. But using the online baby calendar, it seems that my EDD should be near end Feb.

Think I actually prefer doggy, cause I'm a dog person. Earlier this year when I wanted to buy a dog, hubby disallowed and told me to give birth to a doggie baby instead
Yesterday when I told him it will most probably be a piggy baby, he said then we can name him "ton ton" - it's the name of this pet piglet in an anime which we watch, NARUTO.

Hey... just wondering, is anyone else on this drug called Duphaston? My Gynae prescribed 1 weeks' worth of it to me today. Am wondering if there will be any side effects to the medication... anyone?

Winnie, is this your first child? Usually first child will come 2-3 weeks before EDD
Which means still got hope of getting doggie baby

I am also a dog person, mine confirm will be doggie baby
Actually, I'm agst buying of dogs. Adopting one that needs a new home is better
But since you are preggie now, best to shelf thoughts about a dog for the time being. They can be quite a handful when you first bring them home
Wait till your kid is older, maybe 5-7 yrs old then get one
Mine has been with me for 1.5 yrs already, cant bear to give her up. Will be keeping her at our home till she dies of old age

At the Jan 07 thread, many mtbs are given Duphaston too. It is artificial pregnancy hormone to help keep the pregnancy stable. Most of them have been given this cos they got spotting. They say it is 'an tai yao'.

Hi starlite..

Nope..I didnt see the gynae today..had a wedding to attend. Thought i'll see next week..mid week or sat..which is the only day my hubby is free..prefer to go with him lah. Anyway, my condition seemed to have stabilised..no more spotting, n cramps are reduced to really occasional slight ones. I should be 6 weeks this coming week..hope can see baby's heartbeat!

Have u gone for yr second appointment?
Heartbeat heard/seen?

Hi Winnie..

Congrats n welcome!

I was given something similar in my 1st pregnancy, called turinal..its a synthetic (artificial)hormone, I discovered. I'm opting not to take it this time. Cos I dont believe in taking synthetic hormones..I think they are not good for the body..of cos with some research done..some gynaes wont give prescribe them either..BUT some women thinks tat it helps their pregnancies..So its up to the individual.

winnie,
I taken Duphaston before, the side effects are water retention.. it is suppose to help pregnancy. sometimes u get MS too when u eat them.

Hi winnie,

I'm taking duphaston as well, it helps to sustain the pregnancy.

I'm starting to have morning sickness now, lost interest in food already. My gyne has not tell me about my EDD yet, but I refer to those pregnancy guide book it should be early Feb.

Good Morning ladies

Thanks for the warm welcome.
So far, I have started to take An mum milk powder for the extra folate and vitamins. Also have to start watching my diet. I only told my parents and in laws about the pregnancy...dun think i will tell anyone else until 3 months.

ice / pekochan / charis : Is duphaston given to everyone? My doc din give me anything..she just say dun eat raw food or overexert.

Hi Charis,

Think you can really endure on not going to see gynae. For me, im definitely the more kiasu type.

I had went for the gynae visit last tue, i shd be 6 wks plus then and gynae said can see bb's heartbeat. I was very happy to learn that bb's hb is developed cos in my last m/c, bb heartbeat was not detected at all.

But now that i learn from some gals that bb heartbeat could stop even after it has develop i start to worry again. Esp, when certain symptom like sore breast dont seems that sore anymore at times. Sometimes I hope that i have MS, at least that will tell me that my pregnancy is doing fine.

What are your symptoms now? U seems the optimistic type to me.

Icy, how abt u? When is your last menses?

Hi sunnygirl..

Congrats n welcome.

Not everyone is given hormone pills, which are synthetic..usually if there's spotting, or history or miscarriage then gynaes will give. But some gynae choose not to give because medically, synthetic hormones are not proven to preventing miscarriages..or to supply the body with the lack of hormones. Its basically jus guesswork..n our gynaes jus want to do something to help u know what i mean..but in reality it has not been proven to help. I've heard of several cases at the miscarriage website that they have been given hormone pills n jabs, but they still miscarried. But its a personal choice n its yr gynae's choice to give or not to give..We all hope for the best right..I guess most women will do whatever it takes to have a healthy pregnancy so therefore most women will choose to have hormones given.

Hi starlite..

I cant wait to see gynae actually..but I think I ok waiting too..cos at 6 weeks then I may see the baby's heartbeat..if i go too early I may jus see a sac.

Dont be discouraged..a beating heart is a good first step..yr baby's other organs must be doing well too for a heart to beat.

I'm trying to be optimistic..only cos of my faith in GOD..I do worry cos of my cramps. My 2 friends who are pregnant now thinks that cramps n spotting is not normal..but my gynae thinks they are..some of us also think they are normal. SO I'm not sure what is normal, n what is not..I think even a gynae wont really know..cos he doesnt experience it u see..he can only guess..only yr body knows..haha. Somebody in my church is a doctor..so she explains docs are humans too..they have the knowledge but they dont know everything. SO I dont fully put my faith in a doc. Any decision I have to make, I pray or ask for counsel first..

Anyway, i still have some MS n sore breasts. My MS all along was quite mild. Dont worry too much about symptoms ok. Some women dont have symptoms at all. Symptoms are because of the extra hormones going around in the blood..some women are jus able to take it better..usually those who are physically fit. Jus relax n enjoy the pregnancy.

Thanks Charis for your encouragement.

Yes, guess meanwhile what i can do is only to be positive and pray that everything turns out fine.
As for the symptoms, yes i do know some women dont experience any at all, but i worry becos i actually experience it and then it seems to be reducing at times, so will worry lor....aiyo i really have alot of things to worry abt. Maybe thats my nature.

You mind to tell whats your age this yr? I'm turning 32 in July.

Btw Charis, u working?

I'm working full time now but i have a very stressful job and always feel unhappy as i dont think im suitable for the job. My intention is to resign in July after getting my bonus. But now that I'm pregnant, I'm worried abt finances.

starlite, do discuss wif ur HB abt finances.
cos personally stress not good during preggie.
mine wifey oso not working since CNY due to stress but we still can get by even though we still paying for a car. just do some planning and calculation. anyway, she promise she will get back to work aft giving birth..

PS: i'm earning ard 24k per annual...

just mine 2cents of thought!

sunny ger,
nope, i dun think given to everybody. Perhaps depending on individuals, perhaps with previous m/c or spottings.

starlite,
I am also as paranoid as u. Like what u say I have no MS, and I havent had scan, it is like nothing is telling me I am preggy except the test kit. *sigh* my hb could only tell me must think +ve... so that it is better for the bb.

My last mense date was 23 apr. havent scan so dunno edd. the book says 28th Jan, but my cycle are longer so I guess should be feb.

Personally i am not working now and I am glad becos I can get stress up easily at work and it doesnt help since i am weak. I guess like what iceblue say, u have to discuss thro, i think it is just adjusting to the lifestyle with the finances. :D

Mrs Wong,
Ur EDD is 30 Jan right? I check the books, it will be 28 Jan.. heehee but then website which consider my 35 days cycle says 5 Feb.

Icy, means your O date is same as mine though your AF come 1 week earlier???

You still remember your O date?

Doc told me 30th Jan, website tell me 3 feb. That's why I'm in both threads :p

Hello gals,

1 few days din log in and so happy to see new ppl join in this thread .. and i had a fall in the bathroom ytday .. so worried .. thank god nothing's wrong .. been monitoring myself closely ... hopefully okie .. will be going to visit the gynae on wed and really looking forward to it .. at least can set my heart at ease when i see the heratbeat or the sac .. whatever ..

Hi Icy and starlite,

Like u gals, i also no MS .. not much symptoms .. onli breast pain and not so frequent tiredness .. btw, any of u gals out there got constipation or even difficulty to sleep at night although ure very tired ...

Hi starlite..

I'm 25 this year. I've been working part time for a couple of months since I had the m/c in Feb..The m/c took quite a toll on my health..And now Im preggie so keeping it that way..so I dont have to worry about taking mc or getting enough rest. But since I'm teaching young kids, its still quite a stressful job, have to be on my feet most of the time, so I still have to be careful for this 1st trimester. Finances wise, we are actually quite tight..My job doesnt give me much cos its part-time..I'm doin it cos teaching is my passion. My hubby although he has a good job in the marine industry with good OT pay..but he insists wat he gets is not enough..so we have to make do. Im not planning to work after I give birth..my hubby also dont allow..we believe I should be with the children full time.

I guess u should discuss with yr hubby..see if u both can manage if u resign or jus do part-time. I guess u can as long as there's not much to pay for..usually things like car is a big investment that zaps yr expenses monthly. When baby comes, I guess there's lot of sacrifices to make..as parents we jus have to spend less..more money goes to baby.

Hi jajabings..

A fall is usually not serious..cos the baby is very much protected in the womb..unless u fell heavily on yr tummy..then have to be concerned. Anyway, still take care ok..dont fall again lah..

Thanks for all your advices.

Actually i have already discussed with my husband, he's alright with me resigning and taking a break. We had agreed that I will resign in July after getting my bonus.

Expenses will be tight with only one income and a car and kid to support. That is why im thinking twice. Also i think some pple may find it very silly to resign after knowing u are pregnant cos that means forgoing the 3 mths maternity and moreover my co. also give female employee $1800 for every pregnancy.

Sigh....I know I will be happier after resigning but now just find it hard to decide.

Now that I'm on MC, i hope i never have to go back to office again.

Hi jajabings,

Hmm...guess you have to be extra careful next time. Is your bathroom very slippery?

U are at how many weeks now? Is Wed your first gynae appt? I'm going to see my gynae on Tue which is tomorrow. A bit scare though.

Ever since realise im preggie, already have constipation problem. I have real serious consitpation problem during my 1st pregnancy, so serious until there's once i need to be admitted cos i sat in the toilet bowl for 1 hr + trying to pass motion. In the end, ended up bleeding cos i force the motion out too hard that my whole vaginal area was swollen, scary isnt it?

This morning went to pass motion after 2 days of not passing motion and my anus got some blood again.

Hi Icy,

Your menses is one week before mine leh....so does it mean now you are already 8 wks plus? When are u visiting your gynae again?

Starlite, constipation is serious problem. If you feel you are starting to have it, best to see doc FAST!!

I'm drinking fruit juices everyday to prevent constipation. Before preggie I already got constipation prob, so now will be worse. But daily fruits and fruit juices do help

Mrs Wong,

For my case, no amt of juice or fruits will help. For the last few days, I have been taking at least 2 serving of fruits everyday but still no motion for last two days and today pass out hard motion. i dont really dare to take fruit juice cos I got GD last time so I think better avoid fruit juice. But these days i feel really thirsty and always wanted to drink cold water or hot soup. Anybody having same?

Intend to get doc. to prescribe some constipation medicine tomorrow if everything is fine.

So u been to see gynae already Mrs Wong?

Hi starlite,

yah man ... will be extra extra careful in future .. dun allow myself to fall ever again .. hahaha .. i has went to see the gynae 2 weeks ago.... cos that time still early, and the doc is going away for a conference and will be back this week .. so this is my second time seeing him .. this time he will do a scan to see if the pregnancy happens in the right place .. hopefully nothing wrong .. cos i really have no symptoms one .. nothing so far ... too good to be true lor ..

I dun have constipation problem last time and dun have difficulty sleeping last time... now im having these problems .. quite disturbing .. but will tel gynae and see what he says .. so u will be going to the gynae tomorrow then .. let us know how isit ...

Starlite, if you can't take too much fruit juice, try vege juice

Celery, carrots (not too much), plus any veges you like.

I'm taking 3 servings of fruits now cos 2 servings dun work for me. Veges also 3 servings.

I've already seen the gynae 3 times
Saw my baby's heartbeat 2 weeks ago, tomorrow is my next appt
Hopefully tomorrow can see baby waving to me

Thanks for your feedback on duphaston. I've started on it for 3 days now... seems to cause a little MS. I didn't have MS until the last few days, so I don't know if it's caused by the pills or was the MS starting anyway.

Agree with Charis that it's better to go without these synthetic hormones if possible. Though it's prescribed by the gynae, it still makes me feel uneasy to be on any drug. Think I'll stop taking it since my spotting has stopped.

Starlite, have you tried prune juice? and some light excercise like swimming..I find that some light excercise helps constipation due to the increased circulation in the body.Alternatively, one of my frens who suffered from constipation suggested "digging" it out..

JaJa: do be careful...

I find that I get tired and sleepy really easily now. Anyone feel the same way? so far no MS, but lots of heartburn and burping..very xin ku

Mrs Wong, so you are in 8 wks plus now? Do u have any pregnancy symptoms? Is this your 1st pregnancy? Btw, who is your gynae?

I have also seen my gynae 3 times so far, each time it cost me at least $200 with the blood test and jab, aiyo me going broke soon.

Jajabings, how abt u? u how many weeks now? Having no symptoms is scary i know.

For me i feel tired very easily and actually sleep quite easily leh.

Hi winnie..

As long as u r comfortable with yr decision..but do let yr gynae know yr decision..so he can monitor u.

My decision is also very personal..n Im letting my gynae know that I dont want any synthetic hormones..I will jus do the conventional..which is rest n rest lots of it..with prayer too.

Yes..hormone pills can cause MS..for yr info..cos i got MS too when I took the pills in my first pregnancy..it didnt help my pregnancy anyway, I still miscarried.

Anyway, its personal choice ladies. I'm not here to influence anyone or be 'spoilsport'..cos with one m/c, Im jus more careful in this sense.

Hey sunny girl..

Hmm..I dont suggest digging it out..haha...can tear the anus..cos piles to come out leh..

Starlite..Anyway, constipation is common during pregnancy..try out those things the ladies suggest here..think prune juice is good n drink lots of water..Anyway, if its painful, u can try putting some aloe vera gel at the anus area. Maybe yr doc can give u something also..

Hi Starlite,

I should be in my 7 weeks aldy ... and my gynae is Dr LC Foong in gleneagles .. he is a specialist in fertility and i conceived though him .. hes a nice doc but on the expensive side i think .. i feel my waistline expanding aldy .. feels my waist getting thicker .. die lah .. i think i will be fat fat preggie woman kind ..

Starlite, I'm in my 8 week now
My first pregnancy

Symptoms: extreme hunger (always eating non-stop), food cravings, sore nipples (to the extend I cant sleep), nausea when smel hubby's sweat, tender breasts, BIGGER breasts....

I'm seeing Dr Woo Bit Hwa at Northern Hope, Punggol Plaza. I signed his antenatal package from 1st visit to save $$.

Cos I calculated, each visit is S$150-S$200. Assume is S$200, 4 visits is S$800 already. My package is S$800 from 1st visit till birth. So I already got back the value of the package I paid

From week 8 till birth, still got alot of visits
weeks 8, 12, 16, 20, 24, 28, 32, 34, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40 (assuming you pop at week 40). That's like 13 visits!! S$200 x 13 = S$2600!!!

wah..if have to pay so much, my hubby will tell me not to see gynae, just wait till the day tt need to give birth then go hospital...

Hi starlite..

Well, shouldnt be..not so early..if so means putting on more weight than should. But my 1st pregnancy..I put on weight fast..almost 4 kg in a month..cant wear my pants..I realise no need to eat more so soon. Anyway, I lost the weight after the m/c..

So now, Im watching my weight..dont want to put on any weight until 2nd trimester..Furthermore, now with MS, my appetite is not so good too..Im totally off chips, coffee, chocolate..so its a good start. Exercise wise..Im holding off till towards end of 1st trimester.