(2007/02) February

Hi Chloe,

Im the same with u .. im 5 weeks and i conceived via IUI with Dr LC Foong also .. he's such a nice doc ..
My EDD is mid feb ... Very excited abt this also ..

Jaja, you hoping for baby dog or baby pig? heehee...you might be in the news with the first baby pig lei!

Halo Mrs Wong ...

I really got no preference .. to me it doesnt matter whether its dog / pig... boy / gal ..
Cos me and my hubby trying for a yr and half .. quite some time and we are already happy and excited that we finally succeeded ...

hi jajabings

u sound familiar, i might have seen ur posting in the TTC thread of Dr L C Foong thread. Besides urself, recently me and another gal also got preggie under him. And yes, Dr Foong is such a nice person, really grateful that we have him as our gynae.

Mrs Wong, sorry, din respond to ur previous posting cos had not been visiting this thread as it was sooooo quiet for a while. Seems to have more pple coming in now.

sotong me, when i went for my scan on tue (i am now in my 6th week), i forgot to ask about my EDD. Previously, dr mentioned Feb, but i dunno which part of Feb... Mrs Wong, i saw ur posing in Jan thread. My baby even smaller than urs! Only 3.8mm, but dr said ok. He saw another sac... No heartbeat yet, so he suspects there could more than 1 babies... Well, if got more than 1, then it will be bonues to me lor!
Going back for another scan in 2 weeks time.

Chloe, wah!! twins ar!! so exciting!

Dr also say mine ok...cos I'm v small size, so he say it's ok...later on bb will grow v fast

I'm also going back for another scan in 2 week's time

I also v sotong...first time I went for scan, forgot to take the ultrasound print out...heehee...2nd time also forgot, then my mum remember to take...heehee...
1st time i went I was onli 4 weeks, can see a small sac measuring 2mm onli....then 2 weeks later the sac is almost 6cm already! then the fetus is 4mm...heehee...

Hi Chloe,

yah ure rite .. i was previously at Dr Foong's thread. I was so happy and touched when i did the test kit on sunday. Literally crying inside the toilet .. felt silly but that was the moment which I feel very grateful to him. I went to see a chinese doc also. She has given me herbs (An Tai Yao) for the baby ... and before pregnant, i also visited her.

I have visited Dr Foong just on wed but he did not do any scan for me... He said too small cannot see anything yet.. have scheduled to go and see him on the 28th, he is going for a conference and will not be in for next week.

congrats Chloe... for the possibility of twins !!!! This si so exciting .. actualyl how long have u been trying ?

hi jajabings

i have tried for 4 years! It was a very tough period for me and husband. But the turning point was when i started seeing Dr Foong last aug. Tried IUIs and even did a laparoscopy, still cannot conceive. No choice but to go for IVF, and really glad that this time finally made it. i understand how u feel, i was trembling all over when i was tested positive for the urine test, rushed to the hospital to do the bHCG test to confirm the pregnancy.
This pregnancy is so precious to us.

The Dr L C Foong thread still very active. Come visit us when u are free.

Hi jajabings..

Yup..should be mid feb. Have not seen my gynae yet.

Hi chloe..

Congrats! 2 is double blessing..Yr profile says u are really young..what make u want to start so young? My friends also ask me why I want to have kids so young. I really like children. Also you are a teacher? Im a teacher too. U teaching which level?

Sorry..the second para about the profile is for Mrs Wong..haha..my mistake...meant to put Mrs Wong there..but jus mistyped.

Sorry chloe..I really meant..congrats cos of yr twins..then..

Next part is for Mrs Wong..hehe.

Preggie women a bit forgetful..I cant connect my thoughts so fast..Have a bit of morning sickness too..oh dear..haha.

Hi Chloe,

My heart goes to you when u say ure trembling all over for test .. i was also trembling so badly that the test kit fell on the floor .. when i saw the double lines .. but now im worried as Dr foong says on wed that he needs to do a scan inside to make sure the pregnancy is in the correct place .. im so worried for that...
hopefully its all okie ..

Hi Charis...

u have morning sickness .. ure into week 5 also ?
i dun have any symptons .. except breast pain and frequent visits to toilet and of cos, super tired .. thats abt it .. As what Dr Foong says, pregnant women funny .. u feel better when ure physically sick .. hahaha .. contradictory ..

Charis, I got married just 2 months ago
Strike during honeymoon

I'm teaching Sec sch

I'm the main caretaker for my couz's 2 boys and 1 bb gal...plus weekends I help my fren babysit her 1yr old son

Hi MrS Wong,

ure so lucky .. it isnt easy to strike when ure newly married .. i have alot of frens who are trying so damn hard to get a bb ... good for you ..

is this a teacher thread ???
ahhaa .. im not a teacher though ..

Hi jajabings..

Very mild though..No vommiting..jus giddy, queasiness, nausea. Other symptoms I have are painful nipples, n fatigue.

hi icy,
my EDD is first week of feb.. i think should be around ur EDD...this is your 1st or 2nd pregnancy? i am having MS so badly that i hardly eats.. even swallowing of saliva makes me neusea too.. haiz..

hi Mrs wong,

thanks for your note. actually i am not very sure bout wat actually did my gynae have measured..the ultrasound pic show a something look like a "c" shape and words: FH SEEN.. then below show the measurement 2.01cm...
maybe it could be the yolk sac.. cause i remember that when i pregnant with my 1st one at 9 weeks, he is only 1.1cm... its unbeliveable that only 5 weeks the baby can be 2cm...haha..

wish all of the mother-to-be have a smooth pregnancy!!

hi charis

i am not a teacher. no worries, it normal to be forgetful at this stage. i am like that too.
Not sure whether twins yet, got to wait for the scan after my dr comes back from his conference 2 weeks later.

jajabings, dun worry, dr also did v-scan for me. He just wants to make sure that the baby lands on the correct place (to rule out ectopic preg) and the womb lining is thick enough, and there is no bleeding inside the uterus. Btw, do u go back for progesterone jab?

Now, just rest well, and enjoy this good piece of news! Congrats!

Hi mrs wong..

Wah..newly wed..Congrats! Hmm..I was a newly wed too..when I had my first baby..but I miscarried..I got married in Nov last year..then pregnant in Jan '06..haha. After few months break and recovering from the miscarriage, I TTC again.

Yr schedule looks really busy..have to go easy a bit i believe..

I remembered I helped to baby sit my friend's son too previously when I was preggie..wah cant manage leh..I think my gynae sure tell me to rest n rest this time..cos of my previous miscarriage.

wow Mrs Wong and Charis, both of u very fertile leh.
It is good to have children early, becos when u are younger, u will have more energy to look after them. i was married when i was 26, but drag until now then get pregnant.

My MS just kicked in. Feel like vomiting but cannot vomit. Been surviving on biscuits/bread and milo for the past 2 days... My mom will be making potato soup for me tonight. Hopefully can enjoy it. Now, i very scared of the smell of food... Well, but this is a happy problem!

Hi chloe..

Haha..well u take care in meantime..Update us in time to come.

Hi koh..

U take care too..Eat smaller meals..like sandwiches..or soups if u have no appetite..at least u getting some nutrients. I also have some MS..i force myself to eat..small snacks.

Charis, I still carry my nephews and niece...plus my fren's son loves it when I carry him

Actually I believe that if you are fit pre-pregnancy, it is alright to carry on with the activities after getting pregnant...

But you got miscarriage once, so better be safe, rest well...My fren also miscarry once, but gave birth to v healthy baby gal tt's gonna turn 1 yo next month
hers was total bedrest plus weekly hormone jabs...

Chloe, try papaya soup...v yummy!!

I onli get nausea when I smell my hubby's sweat...other than that I'm quite ok...no MS yet...

Hi Chloe,

Wonder why Dr foong did not do the scan for me last wed? Cos i did the IUI in 25th May and could it be that the bb is too small and thats why he did not perform the scan for me?
Ure into 5 weeks and he can already see the sac?
hope theres no problem .. btw, whats progesterone jab?

Jaja, progesterone jab is the hormone jab to help sustain the pregnancy...
some pple don't produce enough of this hormone, tt's y sometimes might miscarry or have spotting...

jajabings

i am in my 6th week. He will not scan for u until 6th week, cos by then he will be able to see baby's heartbeat.
i am on progesterone injection twice a week to support my pregnancy. Normally for IVF MTBs, dr will make us go for the injection. u lucky if u dun have to take the jab, it is administered at the buttocks and terribly painful!

Mrs wong, i dun like papaya.
So, i think i will give it a miss. Now waiting patiently for my potato soup tonight.

hey gals

Thought should also share with all of u. Has anyone watched "March of the Penguins"? It is more than a documentary, i watched it over the weekends. It is about the mating of the penguins and how they brave the cold storms to conceive and look after their offspring. Very touching show. i think it was shown in the cinemas last year. i watched it over the VCD.

Hi Chloe,

I see what u mean .. i guess im worrying too much .. twice a week ... for how long do u need the injection ? but i guess whatever the dr makes u go through .. u will find it worthwhile .. afterall, its been hard work ...

potato soup sounds good !!! yum yum ...

hi jajabings

Got to jab until 12th week. oh no, by then think buttock tear already. heehee... but i agree with u, it is all worthwhile.

heehee... i like chestnut soup a lot too. Maybe should ask my mom to make chestnut soup tomm.

Chloe, twice a week! self-jab at home or must go to doc?

ya, they usually dun scan until 6weeks, but for me he did a scan cos I got breast lump b4, so he scan to check if got fibroids or any other thing or not...I got cyst in my ovary, but dc said it's normal and it is the cyst tt is supplying my hormones to support the pregnancy...

Chloe, chestnut is cooling, if can dun eat will be better...cos chinese say cooling foods will cause miscarriage...

U ask your mum see if she will say cannot eat or not...cos I asked my mum to make water chestnut drink for me, she dun allow me to take...she say 1-2 sip can, but not whole cup...

erh... Mrs wong, i meant chestnut (li4 zi3), u know those which u see pple roast in sand? i think u must have mistaken it as water chestnut, the one which we make to drink to cool down?

i will need to go to the clinic for the jab, hubby will drive me there early in the morning before he goes to work. my dr also said the same thing about the cyst. i have them in my ovaries now as well, and like wat ur dr said, they produce the hormones that are needed for the pregnancy. So, not to worry.

hi chloe..

just to check, how did u determine whether u need to take the jab or not?

the reason i am asking is becos i got bleeding last sat, i went to see gynae and he gave me a HCG jab. Cannot scan anything yet and gynae says if preg not healthy, the jab also cannot help.

i am now keeping my fingers crossed until i finish my hormone pills.

Stella, pregnancy not healthy? Did he try scanning outside the uterus?

Chloe, I tot chestnuts are also cooling?

My fren asked for self-jab cos she dun drive and they stay quite far from the clinic...her hubby will jab for her in the butt...

mrs wong,

wat do u mean by scanning outside the uterus? u mean etopic pregnancy? yes i have checked, it is not that.

preg not healthy means cannot develop lor...nevertheless i am still holding to hope.

hi stella

i conceive under IVF, as such, my dr puts me on progesterone jabs to support the pregnancy which tends to be less stable cos it is not natural.

Did u do a bHCG test? u dr should know whether ur HCG level is normal from the test result. Dun worry too much about the bleeding. i had bleeding last week too, three times somemore. i was also very worried like u, rushed to the clinic and my dr did a v-scan for me. Lucky for me, the blood came from my cervix, not uterus. Some women like me have sensitive cervix. During pregnancy, the body experiences a lot of hormone changes and if the cervix is sensitive, it tends to bleed a little.

HCG is another hormones to support pregnancy. i had them after my embryo transfer. Do take plenty of bed rest and dun exert urself. No carrying of heavy stuff and when u pass motion, dun push too hard cos u are using ur abdominal muscles.

Stella, u say cannot scan anything yet...How many weeks are you?

Cos when I was 4-5 weeks, the scan could not see the sac clearly...it was just a small dot on the screen...

Must wait till 6 weeks or later then can see the fetus, plus heartbeat....

mrs wong, thought chestnut is heaty? Some pple say their nose bleed and get sorethroat is they eat too many roasted chestnut... anyway, will heed ur advise to check with my mom
Thanks for alerting me.

stella, me same as mrs wong. When i bleeded last week, i was in my 5th week. Dr did vaginal scan for me, and i also saw 1 black dot, embedded in my womb lining... when u did the blood test to confirm pregnancy, wat was ur bHCG reading?

oh jajabings, just in case u are confused. Dr foong did v-scan for me when i in week 5 becos i got bleeding. If he feels that u should be fine and have no signs of miscarriages, he will normally only do a scan on week 6.

mrs wong..

haiz.. i dun even get to see any small dots, which is supposed to be for pregnancies.

i should be in week4 or 5 already,

chloe,

my hcg level was 1244 as of last sat test.

hi stella

Which day after ovulation did u take the HCG test? Did u take a second reading after 2 days? It is supposed to double.

chloe,

i did not take the test again.

the first test was taken only when i confirmed my pregnancy. anyway, wat i can do now is to pray for my bb.

stella

true, listen to ur body. If feel something is not right, dun hesitate to see ur dr. Dun worry too much ok? Remember, try to have plenty of bed rest and dun over exert urself, esp abdominal muscles. Everything will be ok. take care.

Hi Chloe,

Thanks for ure assurance .. maybe i should just take things easy for now .. and dun keep worrying for nothing .. do let us noe if its really twins ?!!
this si so exciting .. when u going back to Dr foong again ?