(2007/02) February

hi rachel long time no c...
u move house liao? move from pil?
me dun think can make it, got other programs... thxs for invite

cherry, noe he still w LNT. I think he learns from there but it doesn't really let him socialise w peers. It more on bonding btw parents n their kids and skills that he learn like writing, fixing stuff, sorting. he also more daring as in can hug teachers... he use to cling onto our body n wun even get down. he can sit by himself n stay there thru out listening to teacher, occasionally stealing glance on me. i find that to be achevement somehow (though other kids more advance) as u knoe how koala he is...

i really pray hard he can adapt fast to his new cc. if he adpat faster, maybe it due to LNT? hahaha but i doubt la. his character is inbuilt.

btw, any1 sat Eva airways b4? any comments?

cherry
QY is in half day.. he started sch on wed... 1.5hrs and half the class size... daddy went in with him as he is more clingy to me.. i walked off after he put his bag in and appear when lessons ended.. so far so good.. no cries.. nothing... challenge is next week onwards when he starts going to class himself..

spam spam..
3475494.jpg

kekeke i soOooOo soOoo like girls.. kekeke in the past, it's rompers, rompers, and more rompers... and it's everything kekekek

smurfy

EQ looks so much like QY and also look very much like u!!

cherish will be starting her half day cc soon and i expect her to be the last one to settle down cos of her character. now whenever she walk past her new sch, she proudly say mummy cannot go in..haha..talk only very daring.

garfield,

i also find that the weekend playgroup did not really change cherish character...after attending abt 10 classes, she is also v timid. Maybe becos i am inside, then she is v dependent on me? I cant imagine once she start cc..sure cry herself coarse. But no choice, she gotta start somewhere

Hi Rachel,

Thanks for the invite but its a little too far for me to lug 2 kiddos along. Hope you little ones will have an enjoyable birthday party.

Stella,
My Big J also clingy.. On Monday although she's returns to the same class and school as she attends last year, she refuses to enter the class end up going home after 30mins of struggling and reason out with her.. even her classmates ask her to go inshe refuses.. that's the result after 1 week of school break.. sigh..

cannot imagine next year when she attend Nursery.. they'll have term break.. which is longer then she'll cry and make noise after every term break?? *faintz*

stella/garfield
err QY oso very clingy and sticky to me during wkend classes... the teacher/s advised that it's better that the daddy accompany him and drop him off instead of me.. and it seems to work so far..

*keeping fingers crossed for next wk when he's totally alone, with 14 other kids and 2 teachers*..

sunsweet/smurfy

thats y i suspect I am the cause for her stickness..i think if there is someone with her , she will nvr grow up. She is worse when she is at my mum place, still behaving like a baby and my mum still treat her as one.

sunsweet,

this is part of the reason y i chose childcare over PAP playgrp. I am afraid of those sch holidays , esp after June/Dec, will have to start all over the crying cycle again

stella
likewise.. when QY's totally well behaved on the first day.. i started questioning myself and asked hb.. "so... QY's problem is me issit?"... anyway.. i had a good time hanging out myself.. reading papers in the school while the hb accompanied him

stella, smurfy, how true! the teacher n another parent also commented tat he behave better w daddy... i.e he can sit on his own... can u imagine the days i use to bring him n he sat on my lap thru out?? no matter how i reason... n my hb did it so easily.

this time we try 2 wks of half day, then see if maid can cope n bring him to school herself ater that, if can't will cater school bus which is whole day! no choice. guess he cry himself silly.

wkend class still got us inside so he dun cry so this one i dun dare to think...
smurfy, ya gals v cute n many ideas to dress hehe

sunsweet, ya tat is the reason y i pushing his start date later after all the CNYs and my holi, if not had to repeat again the crying, the struggling...

Hi Garfield, oh yes i've moved out into my own place! heehe.. so happy!

Gals regarding kids stickiness be it with parent or maid, attend childcare/sch is a good way to let them learn to be independent as well as sociable. And oso learn more things.
No doubt they will cry at first, but their adaptability is very high. Cannot accompany them during class la..If not it's useless.
In a week they will be fine.

My kids is a good example. Now Josh going 3yr old, jasper 2yr old both happily attending school aka childcare. Jasper used to be super clingy to my maid, juz like josh when he's his age. But now alot better.

smurfy, garfield,stella, i think I am also the cause for A to cry whenever I have to accompany meimei for her class and he had to stay with papa. If he doesnt see me, he can hang around on his own. But once I am around and he cant follow he will cry. Sigh, kids tend to be sticky to mummies.

rachel, we are near each other but I have another bday party on 31 dec. Thanks for the invite. I have been cheonging parties every weekends. All Ashley's friends borned in Jan. We should meet one of these days at our plc. Can ask jazzcy also since she is also quite near. Has been a long time since our thread meet up.

smurfy, EQ has such much hair!! so envy, Ashley is botak. Yes, totally agree. Ashley has a wardrobe full of clothes! So many variations. I think she dresses better than me all the time.

Hi Cherryale.. ya v long since we last met..
now my place has a lawn for the kiddos to play n run around..n we can sip tea at the patio.. still have my contact?

hello girls,
Haven't logged in for a long time... been busy with Soph in her new school and #2.

smurfy,
I used sweetestmoments.com.sg for D's first month - paid extra to swap swiss rolls for cupcakes just to try the cupcakes. They're pretty good... not too sweet.
Look at this - so lovely... but a bit too big for school birthday snack party. You can just order the indiv cupcakes without the main cake?
http://www.sweetestmoments.com.sg/cc_birthday.aspx?viewType=cupcaketree

smurfy,
The cupcakes are lovely! I actually wanted to get cupcakes, but sigh, Sop is so into tinkerbell now... she wants a tinkerbell cake, and I can't find it in Bengawan, Polar, Prima or Four Leaves. So will be spreeing birthdaydirect.com for this tinkerbell cake topper and get some halal cakeshop to make a cake with vines etc.
http://www.birthdaydirect.com/disney-tinker-bell-cake-decorating-kit-1-p-2705.html

She's doing fine in school - no crying at all, even when she started to take the schoolbus by heself to and fro school this week. She really loves the school cos I think the activities are very engaging and the teachers are very patient. Lots of singing and music which she likes.

How's QY coping? He's at Pat's Lim Ah Pin yeah?

Think jelly's litle Xi starting school this week... hope she's coping well too!

huskie
err he cried whenever the daddy leaves him there lor... but seems to settled down in 5minutes.. he's alright with taking the schoolbus back himself.. (coz he's crazy abt cars n buses n such)..actually hor.. QY refuses to tell me what happened in sch (i think he's angry that i dumped him in school lor)... but when his grandma ask him.. he can tell her what happened in school.. like what they do and eat... and i oso can guess the songs he learnt in school with what he sings whenever i come home frm work.. he seems happy n excited in the evening still... so shld be alright..

hey, how much are u being charged for 2way transport? me frm lim ah pin road to sengkang.. they r oredi charging $120 for 1 way..

yah ah -xi is in another branch right?

i oso ordered disney car and hot wheels theme for QY's birthday celebration (gonna do one in school and one for his punggol friends).. u ordered frm hua-jing right? she's inside the punggol grp and her girl oso celebrating birthday in mar

smurfy,
Good to know QY is doing ok. Don't worry lah, he's not angry with you. Soph is sometimes like that too. But once in a while when I go and pick her up by myself at school, she'd be so happy to see me, then I'll spend some time with her alone before going home to #2.

I pay $180 both ways for schoolbus. But actually 2 ways or 1 way makes not much difference according to a schoolbus uncle I called. Cos most pple do 2-way, so even if you do one way, it hard for uncle to sell the other one way to another kid, that's why there is only a very slight difference in price.

I haven't ordered my birthdaydirect stuff yet - didn't order from huajing or anyone leh, cos not sure if in time for early Feb or not, so was thinking of spreeing myself. Sop's BD is 1st week Feb.

Yep, Xi is in the east side branch

gak,
Have you given birth yet?

Hi ladies..

Smurfy..I too want to get cupcakes for Y this time!
It's easier to eat than cake..no need to cut..hehe. So many choices out there though!

Huskie..Nice to hear from u!
Yes..Gak gave birth already!! Fatbabe too!!
I'm still waiting..
I switched to Dr. Paul Tseng TMC, by the way, pro-natural, pro-VBAC..haha.
But still have to be prepared..cos labor has to proceed well for VBAC to succeed..we can only pray..I've done my best to increase my chances..by switching gynaes..the rest I can only submit to GOD in prayer!

huskie
argghh i wanted 2 ways.. but the driver onli has one way for me~!~.. anyway it works out better this way.. that the daddy send QY to school each morning... when sop's birthday?QY doing his party at home on 6th feb.. actual day will be in school on 11feb... a few days before CNY.

charis
yep.. cupcakes seems a much better choice for our assertive toddlers now.. they each have a nice little cake for themselves kekekek.. ohhhhhh i had so much abt paul tseng.. lots of expats go to him oso.. the nurses in that clinic are still wooooo aahhhh abt him.. always sooo happy and excited if helping out in his room kekek.. very charismatic guy.. kekeke he's very pro natural as well.. to the point that he usually goes for natural tearing..

Sorry to interrupt.

I’m a new mummy turning to full-time piano teaching. Thinking whether to send your child for piano lessons? I specialise in coaching young children and teenagers. Able to teach for leisure or for preparation of ABRSM examination. Able to travel to your place to conduct the lesson. For any enquries, please sms/call me at 91230494. Thank you.

Charis,
Ah yes, saw fatbabe's handsome little tytus pic... aiyah, D is only 3 mths old now and I miss newborn babies already... hee, drooling over fatbabe's boy! Must post the pic of your little princess once you've given birth and settled down.

Is gak's a prince or princess?

Haha, smurfy is right - Paul Tseng is very charismatic... very suave too :p
Good luck for your VBAC - don't worry so much, just keep talking to baby to descend fast and give you a fast and smooth labour!

smurfy,
So weird that the uncle only has one way for QY - I think he must be quite fully booked for the going to school part. QY is in AM or PM session?

Sop's BD is on 8th, so she'll celebrate her actual BD in school and we'll prob do one with family on 6th.
You're right about toddler's assertiveness and the cupcakes... and I like the cupcakes you posted on the link. The smaller box is about just nice for her class since there are only 8 kids in her class. Maybe I'll do the cupcakes for school and tinkerbell cake for the home gathering.

rachel,
I ordered already... sorry. Maybe you can see if there are other Feb mommies who stay near you and wanna pool orders?

huskie
QY's in the am session. Yah, the driver is fully booked for going to part. Anyway, this arrangement works out better. At least hb can catch a few sentences with the teacher before dropoff. N i a getting the standard size cuppies. Coz the mini size are using swirling cream as toppings. Dun wanna the kids to eat too much cream.

Oh i got the cupcakes toppers frm the spree but is saving that to use for home celebrations.

I haven't done any planning for ashton's birthday. I guess I was too worn out after planning meimei's birthday. Will have to get him a Thomas cake for his school celebration. Today he just started first lesson at gug and I was quite amazed at how well trained he had become. He would put toys away, helped teacher, put his water bottle on the shelf, basic things that he does in cc everyday I guessed.

cherry
huh? u send Ashton to gug for wkend class? hey i got a colleague who brings her girl to GUG for daily lessons.. kekeke u may wanna think of that oPtioN :p but will be moreeeeeeee expensive than any other normal kindys .. :pPppPP

Huskie..

Gak had a princess!

Oh Paul Tseng gd looking huh..hehehe..Heard a lot of gd comments abt him on looks..besides his pro-natural stance.
So far, he has been warm and encouraging..he accepted my birth plan at least.

Anyway I'm jus a week away frm my EDD!!

I finally got a PT helper and made arrangements fr my confinement!

smurfy, GUG is not convenient for us leh, quite out of the way from home and to work. Did your colleague feel that the kindy is good? I didnt have a choice cos Ashley attends GUG on weekend and during that time, Ashton has nothing to do and my hb is sick and tired of him going to see toys. So, put him in class to occupy him.

Will you be putting QY for full day once he is used to it? cos their enrichment programs are only available to extended and full day classes. Its quite a good way to free up weekends if they are learning the music, speech and drama and swimming during weekdays. I am so looking forward to weekends where hb and I can do our own things rather than accompanying them for classes.

the sbcc pds left to set up another clinic and I had a super hard time trying to get through the line! In the end got to call the medical centre to assist to make an appt. Can't believe it, so many big names left.

u refering to EK Ong? kekeke yah i know he's leaving? but other PDs in SBCC as well??? u mean they are forming another clinic themselves? i tot he's just setting up his own clinic...

cherryale
the colleague feel that the kid is more confident as well.. but for that price to pay and yah... the location is not convenient at all..

u thinking of letting ashton join the branch in lim ah pin issit? yes, i will let QY join extended half day or full day next year when he's more ready... most probably extended half day ? full day hor, even if ur child dun sleep during their nap time.. he must lie down quietly on the mattress leh.. one of the mummies told me.. i will have to check whether extended half day needs to get the kids to nap or not... but then again, if extended half day (till 3pm) subsidy is onli $150... and full day subsidy (till 530pm) is $300 given that the time factor is only 2hrs different, i might just give in to temptation..

smurfy, not sure about EK ong but yy yip, ngiam, william yip are all with another clinic on the 3rd floor.

I see, so your colleague feels that its worth the money
One thing I noticed is that the teachers at GUG will get every kid to go up to answer a question, so maybe they become more confident when they talk to others since they are used to being in front of a group of people?

extended half day dun have to sleep. I was told its meant for kids who do not need afternoon nap. But if I move A there, I will prob take full day cos I need him to be occupied somewhere else so that maid can take care of meimei in peace. But my mil feels that by next yr he should be ok, and prefers me to send him for those 3hrs nursery type of classes then he can come home earlier. No problem for the kids to lie down quietly on the mattress, A also does that in cc now. They somehow become more manageable in front of the teachers although they are little monsters at home.

I am supposed to visit Pats and another kindy nearby but havent found time to take leave with hb to visit. Got to do it soon.

EQ not drinking milk again..

was a struggle to feed her last nite..
e.g. last feed was 4pm... fed her again at 830pm.. dun wanna... struggle... struggle.. completed feed at 1045pm... this morning maid fed her at 530am.. another struggle.. onli drank 80ml out of the regular 220ml....

kekeke got the go-ahead to buy FM this evening.. wonder issit coz of my milk (coz i just started fenugreek last weekend), is she teething, does she wants solid, or she wants to be deity..

maybe she is teething. Generally when Ashley is teething she can go without milk and food. Why need to buy FM? Will it make a difference?

mummies, what is the height of your toddler now? I think A is shorter than his peers, going to measure his height tomorrow when I am at the pd.

Hope everyone is doing well.

cherryale,
I think Xinfaye is on the short side too. She is 90cm plus plus. Do let me know how tall is you boy.

I will be going back to work in 2 weeks time. I have some queries regarding breastfeeding and breast milk storage. Hope mummies here can help out.

Here are some of my queries:

1) I will be going back to work in 2 weeks time. I am wondering if I need to get another sterilizer to be placed in the office as I will be pumping during working hours. I used to sterilize all the pump equipments and bottles every time before use when I was having my 1st child. A friend told me she would just keep her pumping equipments in the fridge (placed in a container) after every pumping session without washing. Is it okay to do so? What is the standard practice and you advice?

2) I have now over 100 packs of frozen milk (each about 4oz to 5oz) in the freezer. Just few days ago. The fridge was left not properly shut. After discovering the the incident, I did a test on the milk packs. It was still icy but not frozen hard. Could I still keep the affected frozen milk for 3 months?

3) Thawing frozen milk. What would be the best way to thaw breast milk so that the nutrients will not diminish as much. I have gathered 3 types of thawing. Which would be the best?
a) Thaw frozen milk in the refrigerator for 24 hours. Consume the thawed milk within the next 24 hours.
b) Place frozen milk in running water till the milk defrost.
c) Thaw and use milk within 24 hours.

I have tried thawing frozen milk and the milk could not fully defrost within 24 hours .Is it best to wait till it is fully defrost in the fridge before consuming withing the next 24 hours? I've heard from a source that says that as long as there is some crystal ice in the milk, you don't count the next 24 hours of consuming it. Consume within the 24 hours only after it is fully melted.

4) If I have a pack of 5oz of thawed milk, could I split it into 2 sessions of feeding?

5) My 3 year old rejects the frozen milk because of its smell and taste. I still breast feed her. Is there any way I could feed her the access frozen milk to avoid wastage?

6) My mother in-law commented that she would not have enough time to warm the milk once baby is hungry. Which would be a better choice to preserve the quality or nutrients in breast milk?
a) leave refrigerated milk in room temperature 1/2 hour before warming and feeding. This way the milk will take less time to warm up.
b) pre warm refrigerated milk and leave at room temperature before baby wants milk.
c) warm breast milk straight from the refrigerator. And consume immedietly

7) Are there any ways to tell when the breast milk is spoilt?

8) How long can I leave warmed breast milk at room temperature?

9) How long can I leave refrigerated milk (not warmed yet) in room temperature?

10) Milk needs to be transfered from refrigerator to freezer within how many days?

11) Can I give my access frozen milk to a baby that is going to be born in end of April, 2010?

12)Do u keep Firday's expressed milk to be consumed next Monday?

sap, I read from the health book, 50percentile of 36mths boy is slightly more than 95cm. I think A is definitely not 95cm but i shall measure tomorrow. It is slightly different for girl,I think.

1) For my #2, I did not sterilize my pump although I pumped 3 times in office. I washed with the detergent meant for washing milkbottles each time after pumping or if in a hurry, I will use the medela pump wipes. I read from Medela website, the breast pump only need to be sterilised once a day.

2) It happened to me once too, but the milkbags were still frozen. I continue to use the frozen milk but I do try the milk before giving to baby to make sure that it has not gone bad. However, I replace the milkbag once they are more than 1.5mths. Typically if there are excess, I will throw away cos it turned very fishy after that.

3)I practised option a

4)Yes, as long as you split the thawed milk in the begining and not after the baby had touched the milk. But I will feed the balance at the next feed.

5)My #1 refused frozen milk even when he was a baby, so cant share on this.

6)I practised option c. Usually the thaw milk in refrigerator will still have some ice crystals even though it has been inside for 24hours, so will take out and warm it before feeding.

7) No experience on this.

8)I will have it for 1 hr, starting from the time I feed the baby.

9) I never leave milk (any type) in room temp for more than 1 hour

10) I transfer within the next day

11) Hmm, I didnt do this but my friend who has extra every day gave her nephew fresh bm everyday.

12) No

hey ladies!!...
busy wif tytus no time to log in....today celebrated tyler's 3rd birthday and i remember...our todds are 3!!!.....

happy birthday in advance to all 3yos!..

smurfy,
you BF quite long liao hor?? did your supply drop coz going bk to work??....i cannot keep upto tytus milk demands...so i went straight to taking motilium..hahahah...so far haven seen any effect...

Saphira...
1) I sterilise equipmnt once a day only...another great way is to use sterilising tablets...can last 24 hours

6)
c) warm breast milk straight from the refrigerator. And consume immedietly

7) i sniff them out if i suspect kept more than 2 days in the fridge..i ever smelt one like sugar cane...dump that bottle immediately?

8) i keep warmed BM at most 3 hours (usually 2 hrs) at room temperature?

9)

10) Milk needs to be transfered from refrigerator to freezer within 2 days.

11)

12)no..my supply not dat good...so usually within a day or 2...will finish...

fat babe
me bf for 5.5mths liao.. supply did not drop after going to work or after the biz trips.. it only drop in dec due to festive occassions.. took quite alot of leaves durign that period n more time out.. less committed to pumping.. :p now can just meet to her demands.. using frozen milk if i am not able to :/

oi.. u shld be more consistent in pumping out the milk.. then can do it..
.. i pump like every 3hrly during the first month k?

smurfy,
i pumped about 900ml /day(7 x 120ml 3.5hrly) since 2nd week..which is more than enuff..then the supply stagnate and tytus going thru gwth spurt...but these 3 days not sure if because of the 3 motilum i haf taken...me pumpin slightly more than 1 litre per day...he still need to be supplement wif 1 feed of FM per day wor...

i will try to be more consistent wif pumpin....when u intending to BF till?? wats the normal EBM we shd yield per day ar??

fat babe~!~!~
well done!!!! i think u pumped out the same quantity as i do now.. usually after 2 -3mths..or after they double their birthweight, their intake will reduce or they dunn wanna so much milk.. so dun worry too much.. just continue with ur 3.5hrly until one week before u start work... get into a schedule that will fit into ur pumping session in office. i am lucky that EQ is those who dun really like milk.. soooo i still have sufficient for her all these while.. not enough.. will take the Frozen EBM :p me bf until i buay tahan lor.. now pumping 4x per day.. thankfully she turns 6mths now... starting semi solids today ... about how much milk ur body yield out right.. i would say it's a very much individual bb issue.. QY'S time, he drank lots of EBM before he turns solids.. and i managed to pump a lot as well.. EQ's time.. she dun like milk.. so somehow my body oso dun pump out so much.. it's very much phycological leh.. i would say.. though both are on EBM.. just tell urself u can do it.. and after u establish ur supply.. stop taking that mo... it's still a chemical after all.

smurfy,
ohhh...ok ok...i stopped the motilium oredi...only take 3 to stimulate an increase..because i dun wan him to take in too much FM as well...if based on tyra's standard..confirm not enuff...dat milkzilla drinks 180ml at about 4 months 8 times a day...but tyler drink lesser....i dunno how much tytus will drink after long...juz hope dat i can pump enuff for him...FM juz for nights...wahahhhaa.....honestly i oso dunno if i can perservere till 6th month...cos hor...4 month is oredi a feat for me...wif all the restriction..going out..etc etc...its such a hassel to bring a pump out...going bk to opic oso another problem which i dun wan to tink abt for now...hee...eh at least you haf "back up frozen milk"...

hi ladies, how r all of u? me v v bz these days n also planning my trip to Taiwan...

how r all yr kids at school?

BFing topic? haaa I out of it n somewhat thankful haaa... I wonder how did I perserve last time.

fat babe
ehh which pump u using? me using freestyle.. u know.. on weekdays.. i just pump inside hb's car while he drives n pack the milk in the fridge to go container.. kekekeke.. at least that means i can stay outside for a longer period of time.. ehh i was oso complaininf frm day 1.. oso dunno how can i preserve till 6mth this time round..

introducing solids
paging for sunsweet n jas~!~!~

u girls were the ones who woke up early to steam, blend n puree the foods right? i wanna ask u hor... can i steam, blend things like sweet potatoe, spinach, veges.. and such in the morning for the maid to feed bb in the afternoon.. haiz.. dun really trust her to do the cooking yet..