(2007/02) February

saphira

i got the easel from ikea..just to give you some opinion:

- the chalk board is different from those that we used in sch, it is so diffcult to clean off the chalk dust and the marker inks on the marker side.

- the marker side: material is also different from the normal white board. maybe that is y the difficulty to erase the marker ink.

And i could not use magnet on it. I got to use clips to secure the papers if i were to let cherish do painting.

The pros is that cherish like the chalk board alot. And she does a lot of impromptu drawings. and it also serve as a "notice board" at home

Thanks stella for the info

Sap, I will support option 1 too. I did that for myself. After CL left, I moved the cot to our room and 4 of us slept together until meimei was about 9mths old then I moved both Ashton and meimei to their room. You can see in my blog.

Saph,
I've PM-ed you my email address!
I love the little "poem" you put up - I'll post it up on my blog so I can always refer back to it

I think your Option 1 is the best since XF has been sleeping in your room all along, and this will not make her feel booted out"
Option 2 will probably cause you to be overtired since CL will be doing all the night changing of baby in the room, while Option 3 -> you'll be tired and XF will also feel booted out.

smurfy,
Don't worry, it'll just be a matter of time before QY accepts EQ.

Eh, how come your maid go cut baby's nails? Just tell her to concentrate on housework and not mess around with the baby!

Charis,
I'm still grappling how to cope with 2! Having MIL around helps though, cos she helps entertain Soph or burps David while I do the cooking.

huskie, so when are you guys moving away from Bishan? Yah having 2 is no joke huh?

smurfy, wow, your maid is really gek kiang but I guess it's better that she has initiative than none at all :p Still, I'd be pretty mad at her.

Saphira, erm, I'm not sure about sleeping arrangements cos firstly I never have CL and secondly my kids sleep independently BUT I would go for Option 1 for the first two weeks and if possible, maybe try out having XF and Baby together in the same room if you can manage? I don't feel comfortable about leaving baby with CL at night... I mean, it is a stranger with your newborn. A lot of what ifs..

chocbabe, BRAVO RYAN!!!

stella,
The Ikea easel is NOT magnetic right? My sis gave Sarah one 3 years ago, and it's not magnetic. But I bought the roll of MALA paper and use the paper on the board with the MALA coloured pens, instead of writing directly on the boards. We now use it extensively for homeschooling. It's our main board. I even use the paper both sides. Just cut the used part off when long enough, then clip it back onto the board.

Huskie,
You're doing well. Keep it up!

Catz,
We'll be moving around 2nd week Dec.

Yeah, last week was crazy after CL left! Now I'm attempting to put D on GF schedule. In fact, I told CL about GF schedule and how using it will prob make baby sleep thru earlier, and she was really interested and asked me how it works. Unfortunately she doesn't read English and I didn't have time to explain to her. She's really open to new ideas and learning for someone her age. And she was so impressed that Soph sleeps by herself too, and asked me how we trained her... told her it was thanks to GF too

Really like my CL - haha, I'd have #3 just to have her come stay with me for another 2 mths! :p

PVL, stella,
The Ikea easel sounds like fun. Think I may get one for Soph too, so she doesn't have to keep bugging me for paper all the time

PVL,
I thought you went MIA! I wanted to ask you how you cope with the cooking. What does Gabriel do when you're cooking? And what do Ben and Sarah do when you're bf?
And is it normal for the odler one to get into more mischief to get attention? Soph is currently into this "I don't want to...." phase. Don't want to take her bath, don't want to turn off TV, don't want to wear her panty etc, but luckily it's always "I want to carry my baby (David)"

Thanks mummies for your response on the sleeping arrangements

Went to see the gynae who support hypnobirthing. He signed my birth plan. But his fees was very expensive. Normally, I paid only RM80 now with this new gynae, every visits will be about RM170. Baby is a bit light weighted. At 38weeks, he is 2.65kg. One month ago he was 2.3kg. Hope baby is doing fine. Not sure why baby is on the light side as I've been in good appetite and gained 15kg.

Went to Ikea to get the easel last weekend but out of stock
The easel that my friend got from Ikea is magnetic. Saw he attaching the magnets on it too.

Huskie,
Added u in my blog. Wow! How did u train Soph sleeps by herself? Do share.

huskie, ooh, that's really soon. So your hubby will be handling all the packing?

Wow, your CL is unusually open to western ideas. A lot of CLs are those 'tia lang kong' kind of women whom I absolutely HATE.

PVL, you're still around! Doing lots of farming on FB I see. Hehe.

Saphira, I think you'll be pointed toward the Gina Ford method.. same for me, huskie and milkie. Hehe.

Saph,
Hee, yes, Catz is right... it's all thanks to Ms Gina Ford that Soph was trained into a routine and sleeping by herself at 7mths... and she's a happier baby since

Thanks for adding me to your blog - I just skimmed trhu just now cos 2 kids were fighting for my attention!

Hey, don't worry about baby's weight - gynae's estimate is a plus minus 450g, that's what my gynae told me. What's most impt is baby is healthy and you have a good rest and confinement so baby can gain weight once out

Catz,
Yep, hubby will do most of the packing and unpacking, but as of now, we haven't found a unit near my MIL's yet... most prop agents are horrid to deal with!

Yes, I love my CL - she's a gem! She also doesn't watch TV (saw my friend's one watching TV when baby is sleeping). When D is sleeping, she'd be reading Chinese papers or magazines. She even made me read an article in Chinese about bf - that bm produced at different times of the day have different effects on baby... night ones make baby sleepy while day ones makes baby active. And she can cook up so many variations of food, not always the usual kind. And she washes my kitchen floor every evening cos all the frying makes it oily. And she eats only steamed veges herself.
She just called this afternoon asking how me and baby are
I'll probably take her out for dinner one of these days.

huskie, erms, wait, I thought you already found a new place hence the moving date of December? Property agents do suck in general. Wow, your CL is one in a million.. better than most and probably better than MILs. Haha.

PVL, ahhhh that explains it! Didn't put you down to being addicted to FB games sort! ;)

PVL,
Hee, I also thought you were into games

Catz,
I just found a place today
Not that near to my MIL's place, but good enough... walkable for my tough Nazi MIL!

Oh yes, did I also say that my CL is very encouraging? When I told her my ss could be low in the evenings, she'd tell me to just latch the baby and supply will come... instead of quickly asking me to buy FM.

long LONG time no see!

hoped everyone's doing great!!

Saphira
bb's coming anytime soon?
do take care & hv a smooth safe delivery

do share with us ur hypnobirthing experience ya!

huskie
oh so u not renting the place at the condo?
where's the other place u found?
hey u're doing a gd job with 2 kids..
i dunno if i can handle anot! LoL

oh pvl, u got a little helper for yr farm... so was it Sarah who add me to her farm? haha

shhh me still waiting for one crop to be harvested... tat y I still not asleep...

today took leave and brought them for photo shoot again. this time w studio loft. more nicer photos... will post soon on my blog n hopefully FB

garfield, u took the studioloft package? how much is it? I will try them once Ashley can walk. Didnt like my recent PS pics.

Hey mummies, any recommendations where to stay in Malacca? Going in Dec with inlaws, maid, grandma etc.

also, which loose powder will u recommend? I am using skII foundation but looking to touch up during noon time. Makeup guru aka catz, any recommendation?

Last qn, where can i get nice white dress preferably in silk for Ashley's birthday? I have searched I thik the entire singapore plus gymboree, ralph lauren etc but cant find anything..think its the wrong season lah

GOOD MORNING MOMMIES!!

Hi cherryale

i'm using YSL loose powder, v good coverage..
no need to use liquid foundation underneath
After moisturizer, i conceal with concealer then the loose powder..

Good morning mummies.

Gak and huskie,
Which book should I get on sleep training. Don't think I will have time to read up as I am still busy reading up the hypnobirthing book. Care to share some points :p

Ya bb will be out anytime. Next friday is my 40th weeks.

Huskie,
Happy shifting
May I know how much did your bb weight at birth?

Saphira
u can borrow the GF books from Library

i oso heard from mommies here abt this sleep training but i wasn't v active on it cuz i trained so hard but when i go work everything back to square one & even worst!
cuz my mom no discipline at all...will let Ad sleep at 1-2am! & she'll still dragged him up at 7am to go child care!
now i'm off work i trained him to sleep at 10.30pm
sometimes he sleeps earlier if he's tired

i hoped i can looked after both myself so they can hv better sleeping & eating habits!

Sap, both my kids slept thru pretty early, Ashton at 7weeks and Ashley at 6 weeks. I was using GF book. Hypnobirthing sounds really cool, hope u will have an easy time giving birth, do update us!!

gak, i have only tried the YSL concealer (the one that comes in a pen), didnt know their loose powder is good too, thanks for the recommendation, will go and check it out

cherryale
this YSL loose powder was recommended by my colleague too..i tried it & like it but their compact not so gd
& i was using their pen concealer too but sometimes quite difficult to buy cuz always OOS so now i'm using biothem concealer

cherry,
We like to stay at the Equatorial, Equator Club room. We tried to book for Dec also, but apparently no more room for the dates we want. You can also try Holiday Inn, it's relatively new, about 2 years.

garfield, Catz,
Sometimes it's me, many a time it's Sarah
. I don't have so much time, so she tends my farms/restaurant/aquarium for me.

Saph,
Labour has always been really long and painful for me, even without Oxytocin induction (ie, all natural). I doubt hypnobirthing will work for me. I know of friends whose labours are so easy. Just some practically painless contractions, discomfort only, then 'plop' baby comes out. Wish it could be that easy for me. Not in my case
. I think it varies from person to person. Wishing you the best in your delivery. I'm sure you can do it. Hope the hypno works for you.

Saph, I believe much has been discussed here about gf sleep training. Actually I'd focus more on sleep training since birth takes less than 24 hours whereas sleep deprivation can be a chronic thing.

gak, it's tough when you're not the main caregiver la. Hey you're flying right? Or have I gotten my plot wrong again? ;)

cherry, I'm using all mineral powders leh. But I used to like Chanel powders. Ysl I've never tried. You can always look at makeupalley product reviews too.

Huskie, yay you found a place! So youll sell off bishan?

Pvl, so nice to have an assistant farmer!!

Thank you PVL for your well wishes
Farming sounds really fun especially to the kids. Wish I have the land to do so. Can tell that xinfaye is really bored at home.

Catz
yup!
yes i was flying that's y hv to leave the care of Ad totally to my mom
& my hubby's always nagging at me the way my mom looks after him
so now i tell him to choose $$ or bringing up of kids by me..keke

Saphira
hmmm...actually i'm oso not too sure which book i read cuz i took quite a few but nv finish reading ;P
no time to read! keke so i juz follow some of the methods the mommies discuss here
but i oso forgot liao
gotta check with them again..

so gak, u SAHM liao?

tat good, I wish I be one soon... but then I still wanna my spending power ;p

cherry, ya ytd took liao. turn out nicer than TP one. but then they dun really knows how to make my kids smile unlike foto-u 1. but then I like their props. when they ask my kids to smile, zz trys to but mei doesn't really understand and sometimes she just freak out as they touch her... hahaha. For David at foto-u, we act do something like raising zz up n he laugh n then he took the shot so most of the times is smiling n laughing lo.

overall, still not too bad la, but I pay $399 for 20 min. I took their xmas package for $199, include 3 touchup photos, i think 12 xmas cards with those 3 photos, then the softcopies of the 3 and card.$200 is for all photos back in CD.

at first wanna take abt 18 photos back, but no pt cos it will cost $135, so pay $65 more to get all shots.

anyway my feedback is they rather friendly but at times make us feel like they out for business nia. cos when our PS just finish, they act ask us to move ALL our things away to their ofc area there. I mean it was done quite rush, n I was carrying G. they shld prob say it more tactfully lo.

then got 1 time I was trying to make zz more cherry more spontaneous (as he was rather stiff) (hb thot they could have settle them down first since we r early). I went over n make zz touch the back drop. then the photographer say in a hush manner not to touch n spoilt it as zz poke it actually. then say me like I shouldn't have let him. I mean ya I know but it was unintentionally lo. then zz touch again n she ask me to see my son.

i think it the way they say tat make me feel like v business oriented. anyway, luckily photos turn out nice. will post on FB. except for they never give 100% smiles lor.

I saw yrs at FB. looks quite nice ley. how much u pay? Aston was smiling away.

garfield
yup SAHM now

my hubby & i was discussing abt me staying home till #2 is older like 2-3yo then i'll go back to work..
i oso prefer be financially independent..but sometimes juz need to sacrifies leh
where did u go for ur photo shoot?
me oso quite tempted
dunno shld do now or wait for #2 to be older 1st..

garfield, hmm, similar feedback from my friend who used them but the photos turned out well too. Guess they are just not too friendly people. Ashton looks ok in the pics but not ashley, anyway, the photographer also dun really know how to handle kids esp since we have 2, a bit difficult to coordinate. He said Ashton needs to guide meimei..come on, he is so young, how to guide??

catz, u are still on all mineral? i am still using the blusher but i think i cant really take the powder..another thing, it gets really messy each time i use them. How do u minimize the mess? or is it me?

PVL, opps, no more rooms there?? which dates were u planning?

ya cherry, my hb also felt David was the best. cos he took the effort to build rapport w zz first. as u knoe kids mah. u have to make frens w them then they feel comfy.

he act understand kids more so prob tat y all the photos taken r smiley. n he act took effort to wait a while after each cries cos he say the photo wun turn out nice if their face too red from crying.

or maybe it just 1 kid so easy. cos now with 2 kids, they fight for the toys. then sometimes they wanted one toy but they refuse cos it not xmas theme mah. then my kids cried... damn jialat n paiseh.

gak, I think it's better to be a SAHM too, esp when they're young and impressionable. Same lah, I used to spend my entire salary on shopping.. now aiyah, so pathetic :p

cherry, yes I am all mineral
Messy meh? Just tap the required amt (or less than u need and then top up) into the screw on cap, swirl your brush neatly inside and brush on. Hate fiddling around with liquid foundations.. and cake foundations cause a lot of clogged pores although they give very good coverage. It's minerals for me all the way

My sis did with Sean Lau.. fantastic props. He's pricey but wah his photos are in a league of their own.

I may be starting part-time work end of this month.. something from 10am - 4pm.. I chose this timing cos I don't want to be travelling during peak time and plus I still get to spend time with the kids. Just want to get my feet back into the working game.. opportunity came up unexpectedly.

Saph,
I didn't buy this book, cos I couldn't find it in the bookstores, so just borrowed it from library. I only got the Contented Little Baby book and the Toddler one. But I remember some guidelines such as trying to let kid take afternoon nap by himself first, then slowly incorporate the night one in. If baby cries in the room alone, go in and comfort/pat him and reassure him that you are here, but once he calms down, leave the room. If he cries again, this time wait a little longer e.g. 7 mins instead of 5 mins then go into room and do the same. Just keep repeating this.
Another tip is go into the room in the morning to wake baby up before he wakes up, so that he doesn't wake up to an empty room and knows you are there for him when he wakes up.
After one week like that, Soph was OK sleeping in own room.

Wow, next week is your 40th week! Hope you have a fast labour and smooth delivery!

Catz,
What will you be doing for pt work? So good that you can get pt work... I also wish to work pt when both kids start going to school.

Maclaren recall no biggie since it only happens when you're folding up the pram and the kid's fingers get caught inside.

huskie, chocbabe, hubby agreed.. cos it's only part-time and I told them I will go off whenever husband comes back for home leave. I will send the kids to school then only go to work.. will be back before they even wake up from their naps. Hence the timing is agreeable since I don't spend much time in peak hour traffic and it's only a half day flexi thing. Ideally I wouldn't start until hubby is back but the opportunity came up and I thought I'd just try it out. Can quit as and when I don't feel comfortable. The kids will be mainly with my parents - helper will assist. Anyway it's basically only for lunch and putting them down for nap. After that I will be back already.

catz, i think its really a good idea to start with part time and decide wat to do next. Esp since the hours are flexi.

Sean Lau - i heard its also a home studio. I get mixed comments about sean lau. some said its always the same stuff such as the flower pot etc. One of my colleagues arranged a BP for her thread with sean lau for her #1, in fact i think he used their pics now as advert. She was very pleased and so far all other friends who went were equally happy.

PVL, we are looking at the weekend of 19-20, I think the rooms are still available. I will prob get 1 room for equator club and another deluxe room for my maid.

cherry,
Oh good for you. I'm sure you'll have a great time.

Catz,
Wow, you're going back to work! Don't spend all your salary on shoes and bags!! Hehehehe!
We just spent a bomb on new aircons for the whole house cos our compressor died and it's not worth repairing. Going to install Inverter, as well as a new a/c for the living room, which never had a/c previously. Thank God for 0% installments. Don't feel the pinch so much.

yo ladies,

garfield,
super sorry...me haven had the time to go collect the stroller from you yet..paiseh paiseh....

hee...will go see your studioloft photos later...eh...they are nice...but i oso tink v pricey if wanna take more pics back...

catz,
yeah i love the sean lau's pics!! they lok like anne geddes pics...so i v v tempted to try....but by the time i found him..tyler so old liao..not cute...

you going to do part time?? i think its a good idea...i mean you wun spend excessive time at work..

huskie,
me oso moving liao...but end feb...when #3 is about 2 months old...but me moving 1 bus stop away...

you moving away to where??

<font color="119911"><font size="+2">Hi mummies! Sorry to intrude, i need to get Nestle Nan 3 milk sachets urgently.
If you have or know where to get them, please kindly PM me.
My budget is 50cents per sachet. Thanks for your help! </font></font>

skinny babe,

i totally forgotten too! so it ok! just email or sms me... do u have my no?

argh I have been trying 2 dasy to DL to FB n fail... will try again tonite!

Catz,
It's good that your pt job is so flexi!

fat babe,
I'm moving to Bt Panjang. How come you're just moving to another palce one bus stop away? Is it nearer to your mum's?

Saph,
Forgot to reply you - David was 2.6kg at 37weeks last estimated, then born at 2.895kg at 40+ weeks. Don't worry so much about estimated weight - they put on weight very quickly in the first month if you get sufficient rest and have enough bm ss. He was 4.5kg by first month, which kind of shocked me, cos with Soph, weight gain was really slow, maybe cos I dodn't have a proper cf and rest.
Now that my CL is gone, D's weight gain will probably be slower from now onwards :p

huskie,
err...actually we put our house up for sale...for the "fun" of it...end up really sold...so we calculated...bought a bigger place...

bigger space for the kids to run..hehehe....its now 1 bus stop further from my mum...

but in any case, my mum dunno how to take care of kids...so stay near her oso no use..

waaahh bukit panjang is now like duper duper far from bishan!!....you got profit from selling bishan yah??...

but you are nearer to many of our feb mummies..living in the west..think giggler, ah gal &amp; mag all staying there..