(2007/02) February

haha cherry, no wonder u bz selling stuff

i already sold my bumbo seat... nxt will be pram, musical mobiles!, n many other toys... too many liao. but play yard i be keepin cos it look nice ley haha. like a play corner

how nice u have them to sleep together in 1 rm w/o maid!!
i dun have spare rm liao unless maid go back... haha

i rather sleep w my kids than let maid sleep w them lo.

Cherry,
Ryan is still on pull-ups... he just refuse to shit in the potty. When he wants to shit, he will take a clean diaper and ask me to put on for him.
He is also wearing diaper when he sleeps.

I've also sold alot of my baby stuff... pumps and all... Like you, hope i dun kena a 3rd one man...

hey, wanna ask you ladies, what kinda protection you all using ah?
Catz, u using pill rite? how to go about buying it ah? any side effects and all?

hey hey....

i wanna musical mobile.. playgym with music sounds... anyone???????? some toys for younger bbs... QY quite possessive with some of his fav. items.. dun think ican get the musical mobile frm him..

oh i oso got another smaller sized bb cot for my mum;s place liao

cherryale
saw ashley pics for the high tea.. looks very princess-ly and pretty in her hairband/clip

Cherry, yah lor, never spree for so long... Milkie and I are standing by for this weekend, Old Navy 15th anniversary, dunno if they will have some super duper discount. Hehe. I'll message you if they do!

Beth is using Mamypoko training pants but I"ll switch her to something cheaper once I run out since she doesnt' really wet them. V wasteful. Yah I heard cc change diaper like free.. just give them NTUC diaper can already :p

No #3 for me :p :p :p Gives me shivers..

chocbabe, I see your car everyday.. must be tiring for you. I'm using Yasmin.. you can get it from your gynae or your GP but I buy it from JB Jecki Pharmacy which is like 30-49% cheaper.

smurfy, yah older sibs are v possessive hor? End up small one play with nothing or those that the older sibling spoil liao. :p

smurfy, aiyah, u dun say earlier. I just sold off my tinylove playgym with music for $25. I hardly use it so its super duper new. Musical mobile, my batt operated one died, left with a mama&papa manual operated one. I paid more than $100 when I bought in UK but now selling for $30.

hehe, didnt know there are people reading my blog
Yah brought her to hi tea to feel how its like to be taitai
That is a headband from gymboree. I just ordered some headbands and bows from cremeparlour. U WILL love them!! Am sure EQ will look great in them too.

chocbabe, garfield, i havent sold my bumbo though i sold off the tray cos Ashley didnt like the tray. The bumbo is actually quite a waste of money. I bought it for Ashley but she didnt like it.

Garfield, playyard takes up a lot of space leh, that's why i am sooooo tempted to sell. But the kids love it, Ashton calls it his 'house'.

chocbabe, I am also thinking wat contraceptive to use. Currently its condom, anyway also not much activity, but i am super scared will kenna.

mummies, how did u all stop bfg? After about 1 week of not pumping, I still have engorged breasts. Every night during bath, I have to handexpress milk, majiam like milk bath. How to stop the production? If I dun handexpress them, the two breasts become like rock and very lumpy and painful.

CATZ, ON sale I WANT!!! Must sms me!

huskie

congrats on the arrival of ur baby boy!

cherryale,

cherish is still on diapers..only started to toilet train her recently.

so is more "shameful" than Ashton.

i have been training cherish to fall asleep alone..and my next mission will be training her to sleep alone in her own bedroom. i miss my privacy and freedom.

re: stop bfg

wat i did was to eat pork liver.. supply diminish v fast

catz

do update if there is a ON Sales..i always tot the toys can be shared.. but never tot QY soo possessive..

did i mention b4 tat whenever i tried to carry EQ, QY will try to pull her legs to get her away from me? :x

cherry
the mama and papa mobile, nice? got pic? have to go cold turkey... dun hand express it too much, otherwise ur breasts thinks it still needs milk and will continue produce.. hand express onli when u really cannot tahan...

fatbabe
#3 confirm boy?

smurfy,

same la, sometimes when jealousy strike zz, he will pull her legs to get her off too. he also can say he jealous. anyway noe he better ever since mei mei can play w him liao. n he knows we care for him too. take time.

u wan musical mobile? I have 2 n i just took pic last nite to start my "sale" haha. cos takin space in store rm. I have one firstfewyrs selling for $28, another one Fisherprice (jungle theme) for $35. i will post pic first. if u not keen, then i post in sale thead.

well QY could be feeling he needs to owe something, wan a sense of security so tat y he behave this way, doesn't mean he selfish. can slowly encourage him to share n praise him if he do.

catz, yasmin need to be taken everyday rgt?
chocbabe, there another procedure, I forgot the name but i might go for it, where yr gynae will insert something into yr there, n this can last u abt 2 yrs. my fren say v easy, but the cost range is abt $200 to $400? the costier the more lasting result

cherry, i stop bf naturally. due to work timing too, I had to stop pumping in ofc n slowly it get little so I just stop n it ok. anyway i dun have a wonderful supply to start with.

stella, it not shameful. zz still wear pampers, n normally he dun wet them so also waste liao mah ;p cannot keep too. though my crazy maid sun them n i discover. haha

u may say y dun i try not letting him wear, but i no guts, cos nite time i sleep like a log n he must cry then i wake up, wat if i overslept, then bed become water bed... haha

catz, i just gotta Old navy from spree... aiya if not i will join u gals. cos zz lost 2 of his jackets
so i was looking.

1) first one: firstfewyears :$28
it has 5 musics and the animal can move up and down. got a closer look of the 4 animals

3085057.jpg

3085058.jpg

2) Fisherprice (Jungle theme): $35
It has 4 music and it turns round and it has light (can be turn off when music is on) got 3 modes basically.

3085059.jpg

smurfy, i also have playgym which i hardly use too but prob is it in storerm n i dun have time to take it out ytd. only manage to took photo for these 2 after the two kids slept.

but do u really need it?

smurfy,

I be also posting the sale on sale thread. sorrie cos I not sure how fast u gotta reply. I only got today to post this. cos nxt wk my boss back
so dun think have time to post in forum.

however I just post. priority is to u first lor if there any other response noe. unless u not keen

garfield
both looks nice... which one better and in better condition? can advise? i will take that..

then hor.. playgym.. can u help me take pic or do u have any idea how it looks like,,, so i know.

hey girls,
Thanks for the encouragement

Saph,
Thank for bf write-up. I read thru it yesterday, and I think I should do fine. I can feel letdown, although when I pump, there's nothing much coming out - it's a psychological barrier between me and pump!
I think cf nanny wants me tp pump so that she can help out with feeding at night then I can rest.

garfield,
I think all pills need to be taken everyday for 28 days each mth. Yasmin is pretty good - heard from my friend it doesn't make her put on weight and gives her nice complexion!

3085646.jpg

Here's a pic of David

Yes, Soph chose the name for him. We asked her if she prefers David or Gabriel, and she chose David.

Labour Story
4 Oct, Sunday:
- 730am: Hubby bringing Soph for class and I am supposed to rest at home... luckily I got up to pee, then saw blood. Told him not to leave the house first and let me call gynae.
- Gynae called back and asked me to go to Alvernia if I prefer that hospital, since it's a Sunday

- 8am: Reached Alvernia Labour ward, met gynae... he told me got 50% chance of going natural, otherwise emer Csect will also be in time, so I decided to try for natural. Nurse gave me enema, then gynae put on gloves... thought he was just going to do VE, then I felt slight pain, struggled with him like some pig being slaughtered... then realised he broke my waterbag. said I was 2cm dilated. Showed me what a contraction is as I was having one, and I told him I thought that was baby stretching its backside out! Apparently I've been havign this for days, but thought it was baby stretching!
- Went into delivery room where he gave me a very mild drip and explained that the mild drip should not cause very forceful contractions.
- 830am to 1215pm: Just reading newspapers in delivery ward - not much pain, just a slight backache, which midwife says it's cos baby is in posterior position and she warns me this can be quite painful birth.
- 1215pm: Backache started gettign uncomfortable, but I just remembered garfield's advice of breathing in and out.... midwife asked me if I wanted my pethdine injection now or gas mask and I said no, can still do with breathing

- 1245pm: Backache is painful and I was just begging for my injection, and kept wanting to push. Midwife did VE and said 8cm dilated and baby has moved down... something about "rim" (?).
But asked me not to push yet else cervix will end up swollen... so just keep breathing in gas.
- 1pm: Doc came and said to me calmly that I needed to be off gas mask so I can follow instructions, so I said ok. Told to push... think I pushed about 3 times, then he said "0.6". I asked him what "0.6" was, thinking how can my dilation go down to 0.6? My hubby just told me it's a technical term and ask me to concentrate on pushing. Actually doc was using a vacuum and 0.6 was the level of the vacuum. After 2 more pushes, baby's head was out and delivered at 1:26pm. Gynae's estimate of 1:30pm when hubby asked him eariler upon admission was pretty much on the dot!

Not much pain at all... more of a relief to be able to push baby out. Pain was more of the horrid backache

And recovery is so much faster... yesterday I was buying stuff at J8 already!

Wow! good to see that the thread is coming to life again!

cherryale,
Why don't u try bfeeding only when u are at home then it won't interfere your work? Bmilk is so precious. It helps build their imunity even in small quantity. Although I am only bfeeding Xinfaye once or twice a day now (morning and night). I can tell it is still benefiting her as she seldom get sick and if she does, she recovers overnight. Nothing can replace bmilk. The milk supply will slowly adjust by itself as u reduce the number of feeds.

I also believe that through bfeeding it actually helps keep their appetite up as cow's milk are harder to digest and can cause them to have bloaty feelings. Xinfaye enjoys her food very much. Here is some info on her diet:

Some of the breakfast:
1) Oatmeal (rolled oats) mix with blended nuts and seeds. U can add avariaty of things inside like dried fruits (raisins, appricot or resberry to make it sweeter)
2) Weekends we would eat at mamak stall - tosai or capati with fresh cow's milk (boiled)
3) half boiled egg with wholemeal bread
4) wholemeal bread with butter or homemade peanut butter or all natural jam
5) readbeans or greenbreans or bubur cha cha. For beans, u can use the slow cooker set it to low the night before.
6) homemade banana pancake
7) blended shakes. it can be anything from beans to barley or variaty of nuts and seeds. We are using a very good blender that can blend anything at all in hot water. just need 3 minutes and it's done. Whenever she hears the blender in action she would be very happy as she knows she's going to get something yummy and creamy to drink.

Before breakfast, I would make sure she drinks some water. Sometimes honey.

Lunch and dinner:
Mostly rice with veges and meat. She eats whatever we eat. She prefers certain food. Would prefer to finish up her fav food first before eating the others. At times she would complain if we place veges and meat together with her rice. She prefers to have them saperated so that she can eat the rice and meat first. There will be times where she stop eating leaving behind carrots, taugeh or veges she don't enjoy. I would spoonfeed her to help her finish them up. I will make sure she is not full yet before doing so. I don't encourage over eating.

Side meal:
She like to ask us for something to much. We would give her fruits, nuts, dried fruits. She loves all these especially coconut.

Night time after her 6:30pm dinner, we seldom give her food and she don't normally request for any. i would bfeed and give her water before she sleeps.

In her diet and ours, we don't use white flour. We would use rice flour or any other type.

Good to hear that your kids are sleeping in their own bed
Can't wait for that to happen for me one day. Now at least Xinfaye is willing to sleep on the floor mattress instead of the cot that is attached to our bed. We will be shifting early next year to a new house, by then I will be able to get her a proper bed in her own room.

Would love to check out your blog too. Can PM me the link?

Wow! so many mummies selling off bb stuff. I wish I can buy from u all.

Congrats Huskie!
3085754.gif

David is so sweet and adorable. How heavy is he? Give him a big big kiss for me. Your birth is so easy considering this is your 1st time natural birth. Very encouraging. I hope mine will be like yours too. Did u have any episotiomy or pethdine injection? So good that u don't have to suffer even after delivery.

Saph,
Pray hard enough and I am sure yours will be as smooth!
I was praying so hard for baby to come out on weekend so that hubby will be around and I don't have to be so stressed, and this little baby really came out on a Sunday.
Then in delivery ward me and hubby were praying for a fast and smooth delivery.

He was 2.895kg, and as of yesterday was 3kg, so PD says he is definitely getting enough milk.

Yep, the injection I was begging for was pethidine
and yep, had an episiotomy, but doesn't hurt much, maybe cos gynae is so experienced

Huskie,
You are really blessed! Okay I will pray hard. How heavy did your gynae bb was belfore delivery? i wonder how accurate is the computer readings.

Good to hear you are providing enough bmilk. So happy. How's your feeding schedule like in bfeeding? Do share.

Saph,
Gynae says computer readings have a plus/minus 450g variation, so no point keep weighing baby.
At 38weeks, baby was 2.6kg last weighed.
Born on 4 Oct 2.895kg
And then as of discharge 6 Oct 2.82kg

Feeding schedule is about 3hrly during day but 2hrly during night. Still at transitional milk stage now
Mature milk shoudl be coming in soon.

Keep up the good work Huskie. So u do latch on 2 hourly at night? Work hard now and later you will have abundance of milk

huskie, congrats! ya it good to share your good story to encourage/ motivate others

it wasn't so bad rgt? wat impt is the recovery after tat, really easy. I could get out of bed the very first few hours. no pain. of cos b4 tat is diff story. but i rather have few hrs of pain then few wks of nursing.

anyway sometimes bb is not in correct position like yr first, then bo pian so David was co-operative too. David looks v cute n chubby face
he so funny, putting his hand on his cheek...

ya my fren also takin yasmin n she recommend to me too, as she say wun put on weight. cos i worry of forgetting to eat the pills!~ n puttin on weight too.

smurfy, i was so excited for huskie tat i forgot to reply u! paiseh

ok which is good ah? I really dun know... ah depends on yr pref, u prefer with light or u prefer more music?

both is just as entertaining... act the 1st one is more newer but then the "sticks" are detachable so can be removed quite easily. i prefer attached one as I dun wan to fix it back when it came out accidentally or by child play ;p

playgym if i not wrong i got 2 but i need to rem... my memory fail always... i take pic first bah.

huskie,
baby david is very handsome & cute!!! congrats on the smooth delivery....wah admiration!!

smurfy,
T3 confirm boy...had many discussion...and dunno wat to name him yet..
tylenol(given by bestfren)since i am addicted to panadol... typhoon, tycoon...

garfield,
yah...wanna start wif TY...if girl so much easier...cos i got a ready name liao...boy...still thinking..ekkek....

huskie, congrats! Your delivery and recovery was so good. I also found my second delivery and recovery to be much easier. In fact it was relatively painless after delivery, my gynae stitches were done v well and i could move about easily.

sap, wow, xinfaye is really eating v v well. How I envy. She must be v dong shi too, hopefully my ashley will be like xinfaye. Ashton is too fussy with food and he refused to eat veg unless we cook in the porridge.

my blog is http://ashtonnashley.blogspot.com/
can share with me yours?

as for bfg, hmm, u are tempting me. I know the benefits of bfg, ashley even though is in constant contact with the brother and he is always having RN, cough etc since he is in cc, she doesnt catch it at all. Even if she does show signs of slight RN, it stops after a short while within a day. But i am not sure if I can still latch on or if she wants to latch. Did u latch on xinfaye all along or expressed the milk?

smurfy, grab the mobiles from garfield. super good deal. I like the first few yrs ones. as for playgym, do u really need it cos i hardly open it up for Ashley, just kept it in the bag, think i prob opened up to let her play not more than 3 times.

chocbabe,

thanks..i went to google...tyro sounds v man...but its a girl's name...hee...

i think tydeus oso a greek character...some hero as well...but hubby dun like...so now still stuck..i tot quite classic...

but they say sound like tidiest

Saph,
Yeah, now I latch on about 2 to 3 hourly, depending on whether when D wakes up to feed. He's quite a good suckler, except that he's now a very sleepy cos of his jaundice.
I tried pumping, but hee, once I see the machine, I have no letdown leh. Only managed to pump out a few drops, but when he latches, I can feel the milk flow. Need to get over this psycholoical barrier of the machine!

garfield,
Yes, it really wasn't so bad. More of a relief rather than pain to have the baby out and not pressing on my bowels!
During the pain, I did like what you told me - leave the gas mask and pethidine till the last when I really cannot stand the pain anymore... it really worked

cherry,
I think it really makes a difference to have an experienced gynae huh?
My friend's stitches were painful for a week, then when she called up gynae, gynae said it must have been sewn too tight! And then unstitched her a bit.

fatbabe,

So excited for you too - 3 kids!
I told hubby I want another one since this pregnancy, birth and confinement is so enjoyable... he looked shocked and said he wanna stop at 2.
Heee, must find a way to fake an "accident" :p

huskie, wow, straight after the second one, u are thinking of a 3rd, our nation needs more people like u!! Good, then we will not become a minority in our own country. the other day I was telling my colleague in the lift that suddenly i felt that i was in Phillipines cos the entire elevator was full of filos.

am so happy for my cousin, she is preggie with #2! hopefully her second pregnancy is easier.

cherry, ya too many foreigners here fighting w us. act some jobs singaporeans can do... furthermore it not tat they r paid lesser. v unfair

huskie, u thinkin of 3rd one? wow! thx u for making me happy... haha glad u act benefit from my advice haha. well it work for me so I just let others know.

now i got another infant car seat to sell... have not take any pic yet. smurfy, me forgotten to take the gym over the wkend... maybe tonite

Re jobs to foreigners: I read that some employers don't want to employ local men (esp. in mainly male dominated jobs like engineers) cos they have to serve NS!

garfield,
Yeah, I kept telling myself garfield, jelly can do it... so can I!

Alamak, I just bought a car seat for d, if not I would have gladly bought from you!

cherry,
I also hope your cousin's pregnancy will be easier... usually it would be with #2 anyway, cos more relaxed.

Charis,
Thanks. I also hope your VBAC will be smooth.
But must remind you that if for certain reasons still have to csect, don't be too disappointed... it's just a means for baby to come out that's all.
When I saw blood that morning, I was prepared for Csect already... juts didn't expect gynae to say I can try for VBAC with a 50% chance of success.

cherryale,
can PM me your email address so that I can add you as a viewer to my blog?

I only latch her on without pumping. Hope u will continue bfeeding. A little is better than nothing

huskie, it okie. i very slow... ytd, too tired to do anything... so end up never take any pic... haha. i had to sell off my stuff liao... v messy...

garfield, I'm still procrastinating.. NEED TO SELL STUFF!!

huskie, I'm really impressed with your VBAC! Way to go! David looks like you huh! Cutie pie.. I think he'll be a good eater, from the sounds of things.
Is Sophie OK with the new addition?

Where's jelly these days? In China already?

Going to Penang next week. WAHHHOOOOO.. Going to baptise the new Hard Rock Hotel

hey skinny babe,

went to google names beginning with TY for you.

1) Tyrell
2) Tyrus - royalty/ monach/ king
3) Tyson

Happy name choosing!

You still seeing CH Koh for this pregnancy?

catz, thot u sold off all baby stuff already?

garfield, u selling off infant car seat? I am changing my maxicosi too, need to find another car seat for my gal ideally those from infant to 4yrs type. Any recommendations?

sap, i will pm u my email. Okie, i shall try and see if Ashley is keen to latch. If only u are based in Singapore, I like your parenting ways and am amazed that although you are a working mum, xinfaye is so advanced and obedient.

Hi Cherryale,
Added u into my blog. Not much pictures to see as I only get to do some write up in office as I am normally very busy at home

Blushing at the compliments u made. I also have my mil to thank for helping me take care of Xinfaye when I am working

Good to hear u are lathing on again!!
U can do it when ever u are at home.

Would like to ask for advice. is it save for our toddlers to use Booster Seat now since they are coming to 3 years old? Car seats are so expensive.

cherry,

hmm i no recommendation. but i would recommend to sit rear facing seat as long as u can if u have n she sitting.

y u wan to change maxicosi? it can sit from 9 mth rgt?

Catz,
You're going to Penang yourself with the kids? Flying there I suppose?

Yes, after Soph, it's a relief that David seems to be a good eater - so far 80-100ml of milk will only last him about 2.5hrs.
Soph is taking well to him... she LOVES the pink skate scooter that he "bought" for her, and "sayang" him all the time. I just feel bad that I haven't spent as much individual time with her since he came along... although I try to read to her while bf.

PVL,

cherry,
I think Britax has a few that are infant to 4yrs type that can be rear facing. I bought the Britax Safe N Sound which is very comfy. Think Robinsons got sale this weekend... can check it out.

Saph,
Personally I wouldn't use booster for our tods now yet... I saw some scary videos on youtube and decided I'll let the kids stick with the 5-pt harness car seat for as long as possible.

sap, my hb has been asking me to change to booster seat but I refused. Now we are not sure how to put in two car seats and still have to fit in the maid. Currently its easy cos i can remove the maxicosi then maid can go in first, sit in the middle then we buckle up the maxicosi.

huskie, how much did u pay for the Britax safe n sound?

garfield, my maxicosi is the infant type, prob can use till end of yr, then I want to change to those that can be used for both rear and front. Ashley's legs are sticking out so much and she looks uncomfortable in the maxicosi now.

cherry,
it's $499 bef discount, so after the robinsons 20% disc plus rebate, abt $380.
i rem jelly is using the same one too in case u need feedback, cos i haven't really used it much since still on cf, but it def looks comfy and soph sort of sat in it and likes it too.

garfield,
Yeah, I try to remind myself that things will get better

cherry,

ic

act zz now sitting on booster seat liao. n he like it so much so dun think he will wan to change liao. act i prefer rear facing as more safe but my both kids dun like...

now i will let G sit on masicosi one which zz use to sit. i selling the nearly "new" mothercare rear facing seat.

chocbabe, PVL
hee..thanks for the suggestions...i like tyrell..but its v close to tyler...so thinking the older folks will mix it up..

ohh..i haf actually shortlisted a few..
1)tytus (fr titus)
2)tydeus
3)tyrus (sounds nice from chocbabe)

tyra seems to like tytus alot...

ladies can help me poll?!?!?!?!

chocbabe,
nope..me not seeing CHkoh...his waiting time too long le...i found his "stand in" doc though...dr phua in hougang...nearer to my place...and the nurses are 3 times frenlier...chargers are more reasonable!

skinny babe,

tyrus sounds nice...
tydeus sounds funny... hmmm

paging for smurfy!
gal, u still wanna the mobile n gym? cos I got a few buyers keen... let me know by end of today can? I wish to clear my space asap. Thanks...