(2007/02) February

Catz,
You're so funny - hit hubby with your mask? That mask is the laughing gas issit?
My gynae says it's useless leh, so ask me not to bother with it at all.

garfield,
Thanks for the tips on the second stage pushing - yes, I read about this too... and it says sometimes must try to stop pushing if gynae tells us to stop pushing, in order not to tear the vagina unnecessarily?

And yes, no induction for me cos gynae says induction is painful and will cause overly forceful contractions which is not good for the old scar.

Actually I am worried about the cost too, cos this time will be at Mt E, and I heard it's really expensive. Soph's classmate's mum just gave birth there last mth, spent close to $10k, and it's a planned Csect.
Just crossing my fingers that the natural birth will go smoothly, else plus emer Csect, woah, sure exceed $10k!

Saph,
Yes, I also think about the poop thing and even pee, since now in last tri, have to pee so often.
But I think gynaes have seen enough of everything so they're probably used to it and will be quite discreet lah.

smurfy,
What is VE?

huskie
VE is vaginal examination.. the midwives/nurses/gynaes will do it to determine how many cms u r dilated.

hb just asked whether i had been taking in fenugreek quietly as he stored away 300ml (Every 5hrly pump) of milk into the fridge...hahaha... me said no and he told me to take dang gui to reduce the milk.. :x

smurfy, y yr hb wan u to reduce milk? got more is good wat!

ya huskie, will tear yr v n also hurt bb head

mt E ex!! hope you have natural birth!

Huskie,
About the laughing gas, some mummies think that it is useful. If need to can try lor.

Hope your natural delivery will be successful. Don't think so much ya? important is baby is save.

VE: really not looking foward to that. I remembered it was very very painful.

smurfy,
ya, why want to reduce milk? So precious. Cna add into QY's food too. I hope I will have as much milk as u after I delivered.

smurfy, wah you milk machine siah... BTW, forgot to say that your little girl is so adorable.. a much more feminine version of QY

Mt E is definitely expensive! Believe Milkie gave birth there both times, you can check with her since both were planned c-sect? Parking is horrendous. If your hubby is parking the whole day, go for Tangs Plaza since the entire day is capped at $15. Else Lucky Plaza for short term.

huskie, yes yes, I actually lunged at him with the mask and yanked it out of the wall.. then the contraction came and I cried like hell and then decided to finally opt for epidural after 22 hours of contractions.

Beth having high fever cos of gastric flu. This morning her temp was 40.5deg. I'm up here at the comp room for some sanity cos the two jokers are fighting every minute of the day. :p Barely slept last night.. tonight gonna be another sucky night. I need sleeeeeep!

catz, aiyo Beth so high temp! Better sponge her.

lack of sleep? me too! zz wake me up again after 2 or 3 nites of quietness

cos he slept b4 he pee last nite... so mid nite scream to go toilet n I was in a daze.

this morn too...

worst part is we let him sleep on his own bed last nite as he fall asleep liao. cos all this while he wan mei mei bed so mei mei sleep on his bed. funny rgt? then toopid hb ask me to give him sleep his own bed since he slept liao. then after the pee, he ask to sleep on mei mei bed. i told him mei mei sleepin inside liao. then he wan to cry. i no choice carry her out! damn tired!

garfield, aiyoh you can tahan so many nights of interrupted sleep?! I'm half dead liao :p Beth's fever seems OK now.. but you never know in the middle of the night what will happen.. she's still sleeping in my room.. there goes my sanctuary.. cannot watch TV, cannot do mask, cannot do exercise. Hehe... I very bad hor?

catz
sorry hor, not a feminine version... her cries are loud... very loud... if u r not inside the room or house.. one would think she is being mishandled or tortured :x.. think is 2nd child syndrome.... could be another beth in the making.. :x

high fever still can fight? well, better than in a half zombie state right? then it would be real scary.

smurfy, EQ not the only one who cries loud. both my kids are too. sometimes they cry into yr ear n u go deaf for few min...

catz, ok la. i also deprived of my sleep
n everday gotta wake up 5.30 to work. last nite told my hb to bring him toilet if he wake up. end up he wake up to scream only. n hb deep asleep cos he took med

oh last evenin i went jogging... i had been jogging once a week now... had to cut down weight... haha...

Just came back from gynae appt today... EDD is tomorrow, but till now baby still not engaged, no signs of contractions etc leh

Gynae says we'll give it till next Thurs, and if by next Thur no "action", then Csect in the morning at Mt. Alvernia *sigh*
Hope baby will come out before that!

Catz,
Hope Beth gets better... better separate the kids too, in case Timo gets it also?
Why did you need to induce for Timo?
Thanks for the tips on Mt. E parking - have told hubby about it and he'll take note... otherwise parking alone will kill us!

Saph,
VE is painful? Till now gynae still never check me leh... prob no signs of dilation yet!

garfield,
This part of toilet training is the worst - there was a time Soph will wake up every morn at 4 or 5am screaming to pee too.
How can you tahan such lack of sleep? And to wake up at 530am to go to work... I won't be able to take it!

huskie, aiyoh, maybe the EDD is wrong? Hope baby comes out before your schedule c-sect! Fingers and toes crossed for ya!

Beth and Timo ah, how to separate? Honestly it's love-hate relationship between them. When they're not fighting, they're each other's best playmates. For the past 2 nights, Timo has been crying at bedtime cos he misses Bethany.. she has been bunking in my room cos of the fever. Aiyah.. told him to enjoy the peace and quiet while I suffer. Haha.

On the flipside, although she's having fever, she suddenly decided to be fully potty trained (except for nights, one small dose)!!!!! After all my sweat and vomitting blood, she suddenly decides to tell us she needs to pee. FINALLY!!!!! WOOTS! Hope it's not a temporary thing.. haha.

huskie - Timo gave me a scare a couple of days before EDD by not moving (until we got to the hospital and they strapped the CTG on me and he kicked like a maniac).. when gynae scanned, she said the placenta was ageing already so if I wanted to, I could induce. After that night's scare, I just couldn't live with the guilt had he died inside or whatever so I went for it. OUCH.

garfield, me too, starting to jog.. trying to alt days but now with Miss B's fever, have to stop for the past 3 days liao.

oh catz, didn't know Timo birth like tat.
ya the kids r v close to each other whihc means they fight too. esp mine for attention. rem the other day I say mei mei will wan gor gor hug when she cry, now other way round liao. ytd G beat zz hand lightly, zz scream for mei mei to sayang him!

congrats on Beth fully potty train!!!

huskie, u rgt. I couldn't wake up this morn finally
off alarm n went on sleepin, thot it was a dream. end up not n maid knock on door. today drive like F1 driver ;p

VE ok for me cos gynae will tell u. i think bb head coming out more painful for me lor.

huh? no contractions yet? my fren EDD was ytd, n she also no sign n she went checkup gynae found she havin contractions already but no dilation.

jiayou to u 2 ok! she same as u, got C first time n this time tryin natural... all the best!

huskie,
Hope your delivery will be smooth. Going to see your bb soon. Must be excited to find out gender soon. Remember to update us! My turn will be next month. Stomach already so big. Now measuring at 36"

Potty trainning:
At the start, I would make sure i pee my daughter at 11pm when she is half asleep. I will just carry her to the toilet and automatically she will pee while still half asleep. If she pees a 11pm, it would last her till she wakes up next morning. Do try this method. Now that she can hold her urine better, she will pee before she sleeps and will last her till neaxt morning.

Fever:
remember to give coconut water. The flesh is very good too. It is a must for me if Xinfaye is not feeling well. I will dilute it with 2/3 water so that she will drink more. Whith this, she would pee at least every hour.

i am planning to get a nice gift for my daughter when bb arrived. Any suggestions? Is there anything that your child enjoyed playing with?

Sap, yr true. I make sure now zz pee b4 he sleep.

but he still will wake up to scream to get out of bed...
trying to train him to sleep thru out on his own bed...

dunno y he can auto wake up n wan to get out
he now sleep on his bed when it time to sleep. so at least half is achieve.

garfield,
Ya, it's a good sign that he is calling u to pee without wetting the bed. Try to pee him 1 time before he sleeps and 1 more time before u sleep.

Catz,
I also told gynae my suspicion that it could be late ovulation - cos we did the "deed" one week after the ovulation window period too.
I guess that's why he gave me 1 week's "grace" for baby to come out by next Thur itself?

I am also praying hard for baby to come out this weekend! Else kenna cut up.
Been eating lots of spicy foods these few days to try and get some contractions too.

Congrats on Ms Beth being toilet-trained!

garfield,
Yeah, I got no contractions yet, and gynae never bother to do VE too, maybe cos baby not engaged, so chances of dilation is really almost "no chance".
Can have contractions without knowing it huh?
So your friend how? Just go home and wait for dilation?
How does gynae find out she is having contractions if she's not feeling anything?

Today I did a few squats and walked a fair bit - hope can bring on some signs of labour!

Aiyoh, you very poor thing - I quite empathise with my FTWM friends, esp. those who are more hands on and look after kids themselves in the night ones. Hee, unlike my SIL - everytime she and my bro wanna go out, they'll just leave the kids overnight at my mum's :p

Saph,
You sitll measure? For this pregnancy, I've stopped measuring etc... only gynae measures my weight - I've put on 19kg so far! Nurse was trying to see where the 1kg over the last one week went to, but just kept shaking her head :p

For gift, I bought a pink skate scooter for Soph cos she's been asking for one. It's the 3-wheeler type so it's easier for beginners.

Thanks huskie for the recommendation. my daughter also seems to like that. Can consider

For delivery, maybe u can try walking more often? 15min per time. Swimming may also help.

Saph,
Yeah, actually I walk quite a bit - have been walking Soph to and from school everyday till end of 2nd tri.
Then during my last 2 mths when she is not in school, I actually walk about 15mins to the nearest shopping mall every other day with her to have breakfast and then back again... in fact, today I went out from 930am till 1130am, out of which I prob only spent 45mins sitting at the cafe and library.

Will go swimming later - hee, will look like a whale in my current state, but hiyah, no choice!

Yeah, I thought skate scooter is a good choice cos it's also soooooo BIG, then they can always remember baby bought it for them

My hubby think maybe a bed is a good idea as she recently started to sleep on the floor mattress. Wonder if she would think that I am trying to place her aside.

huskie, it good to walk alot!

my fren ah, 1st time she also dun feel contractions. so this time not surprised lo. act v weird...

her gynae check her where they tag the machine. n her contractions was every 6 min... haha

Saph,
Haha, my hubby scared of action action leh!
He doesn't wanna get blamed if anything happens :p

garfield,
Your friend's pain tolerance must be very high, every 6 mins still don't feel anything?
Just curious - why did she have to Csect for her #1?

Hello mummies!!

Huskie,
so excited for you!! hope you haf a smooth delivery..soph was c-sect yeah??...you manage to wait until now ar??

Saph,
depends on wat xinfaye likes yeah..cos she quite intellectual yeah?? last time for tyra i bought her a "costmetic playset" she loves it..and keep remembering dat its a gift from tyler..so farnee...now she oredi planning wat gift she wans to recieve from T3..

cherry,
eh i saw your thread the day you posted...but i oredi bought a mini electric plus couple of weeks ago liao...fren oso lending me her ameda..hee..

catz,
congrats on beth's daiperless!! tyler started a month ago..so far a few accidents..but he wanted to be off diaper himself..so let him be..but back in school the teachers not co-operative..they dun wan to toilet train him..so we can only do it at home...so far so good.. he dun wear daipers at night as well...

fat babe,
yeah, Soph was c-sect cos she was breeched.
Eh, not "managed" leh, but no signs of any contractions or anything leh... already 40th week now! :p

How are you doing yourself? You must be quite big too? When is your EDD?

huskie,
me now still small la...am in 26th week nia...

but i plan c-sect at 38th week...but keep having a fear that bb will come out before 38 week...cos T1 & T2 both 37th week take out liao..

ahhha...your tummy mus be very very heavy!!

Congrats to huskie! Nameless baby boy was delivered on 4th Oct at 1.26pm, 2.895kg
NATURAL DELIVERY! WOOHOO!!

fatbabe, I really peifu that you are going for the 3rd one
Plan C-sect? Ouccchhhhh..

ohigosh!!...

congrats to huskie!!! just as you were saying..bb heard you!! you oso another "hao" zi

catz,
i haf to do a plan c-sect..bobian..2 tie c-sect liao...and i dun haf intention to go natural..

huskie, congrats!

i was in bintan for last few days so didn't reply yr post... haha

my fren ah, she didn't feel pain at all... dunno y. gynae also puzzled. for her 1st, she didn't feel pain evenw hen she was induced. then gynae break her water bag. she still didn't feel pain. then even ask to go home, gynae told her "yr contractions graph off the chart liao!" then she bo pian c-sect lor.

this second she emerg c-sect. still haven't tok to her yet. guess it the same prob as b4. no pain n no dilation.

hello girls,
I am back!

Now just trying to bf baby - I can feel like breasts quite full, and when bf one side, can feel tingling/letdown on the other side... plus can see colostrum dripping out from the other side... but cf nanny "hinted" to me I got not enough milk when baby woke up every 2 hrs... think she was tired out too!

Labour:
- Baby stirring now... update another time!

huskie,
I read it is normal to feed every 2 hours. must work hard for the 1st month to build up good supply of milk.

Some tips I've gathered:
1) While latching on one side, pump on the other side at the same time. Is a way of telling the brain u have twins to feed. The brain will adjust the supply accordingly.

2) When baby finished sucking (either 1 or 2 sides), pump and access milk or u can wait 1 hour later (bear in mind that the hind milk will come in droplets form and not spraying form - pump and squeeze till no more drips). If there is another let down (a tinggling sensation), milk will come out as fountain again

3) When pumping, it's better to squeeze of massage the breast to yeild more milk. For me, because supply is always at the border line, I have to squeeze every single time when I pump, else I won't have enough for baby.

4) Be positive and relax. Keep telling yourself milk is coming and is enough. Negative thoughts and worries will reduce milk supply.

5) Drinking hot drinks or soup before pumping can help stimulate milk. Drink lots of warm water.

6) Hot tower placed on breast will help relieve engourgement and stimulate milk.

7) Do not drag feedings else u are telling the brain u don't need so much milk. This is how mummies who decided to stop bfeeding do. They will drag the feeding time hourly till no more milk.

8) Always empty your breast fully each feed or pump. It's very important cause u are telling the brain u really need the milk till the very last drop. When I latch my baby, I do not need to squeeze my breasts as bb's suction is the best in stimulating milk. It is the most relaxing method for me in breastfeeding. When the breast is empty, u will feel your breast very light and feels saggy.

9) When u are in the hospital, learn all the 3 technicques of latching on. Craddle hold, football hold and lying down position. All these 3 postions will come in handy when we have engourgements. <font color="0077aa">Aim baby's chin towards the lump. This way it will clear the blockage.</font>

10) After pumping or latching, no need to clean the nipples till next feed. squeeze a little breast milk (not too much, just apply thin layer) and apply it on the nipple. Air it till dry to avoid nipple sourness or problems. Breast milk heals wounds on the nipple if leave to dry. Time to time, u'll need to clean the nipple with olive oil or nipple cream to remove any recedue blockage on the nipple. Apply cream or oil on a facial cotton and wipe the nipples.

11) During the 1st month, it’s normal that baby need to latch on 1-2 hours apart. They will be times where bb will sleep 2-3 or even 4 hours in a streach. If bb sleeping this long, we have to pump out the milk.

12) How do u know if bb is drinking or just treating the nipple like a pacifier?

- if u can see bb gulping in rhythym, bb is drinking. If bb is not drinking, it’s just light or shallow suckling. If bb fell asleep half way, tickle the ear or lower lip or the top of the feet. If still sleeping, try changinf bb’s diaper to stimulate bb again.

13) If u experience any problems in nursing, call the lactation consultant for advice. There was one time I had a very painful ulcer on the nipple. The lactation consultant adviced me to break the ulcer with a sterilized niddle. Believe it or not, it works.

14) latching bb corectly is very important: http://www.ameda.com/community/videos.aspx

Here are some more tips:

1)Bb’s early hungry signs: bb smacking lips or putting or rubbing her hands on her mouth. Don’t feed only when bb cries, may result in getting sore nipples if latch on a crying bb. Watch out for this early signs to achieve more relaxing latching.

2)Skin to skin contact can calm a bb.

How to know if bb is getting enough milk? - after the 3 or 4th days

- bb would have 3-7 stools (2.5cm or bigger in 24 hours.

- Should gain 170g (6 ounces) per week or 28g (1ounce) a day.

- Minimum 113 - 142g (4-5 ounces) per week

- Bfeed 8-12 times in 24 hours. (during the 1st month) - this is a guide for stimulating supply.

- Cluster feeding can happen in the evening.

if you have time, do listen to these audio:
http://www.ameda.com/breastfeeding/elibrary/podcasts.aspx

Hope these tips helps.

wow Sap, v detailed! can be an expert!

huskie, take yr time to settle down. how little sop coping? dun give up on bf, ignore yr cf lady comment. u can do it!

imagine u can cope w/o epi liao!~ congrats!
so nothing is too diff

Garfield,
I am determined to do better in bfeeding this time. I was struggling so much the 1st time as i didn't have enough knowledge. This time I make sure i do my homework. Ha ha!

Huskie,
hahaha we wan pictures!! what's his name??

Saphira,
how long did you managed to BF for xinfaye?...

your write up v detailed le...but i think the max i can go is full BF for 4 months le....cos i lazy..end up ss always taper...and once taper..i wun bother to get it up..

so do you pump as well?? or jus full latching??

fat_babe,
I am still BF Xinfaye. Now mostly only before she sleeps. When I asked her "is there any milk?" she would say "just a little bit.

I fully bfeed and pump milk for xinfaye till she is almost 2 years old. Stop pumping when she is about 1year, 7 months. Would bfeed her only when i am at home.

Till today, i don't give her any formula.

garfield,
Sometimes she takes fresh milk from the mamak stalls (boiled) in the weekend. She takes oatmeal with mixture of nuts and seeds (blended) almost every for breakfast. We believe in giving her a healthy and balanced diet everyday as there are also calcium in other food

hi mummies, sorry i have been MIA for a while. Actually i was clearing my maternity leave in the mth of sept, training the new maid and came back to work this week.

huskie, congrats!!

babe, no prob, cos the last time u said u may want to take over my freestyle mah, so thot of letting u know. In fact, if u take it, i will give special price
Anyway, i sold the pump already.

sap, i sold the pump cos I have just stopped bfg. Ashley is 9mths old already and really v tough for me to continue while working. Always have to excuse myself to go and pump, then when we have mtgs at hotels, i always have to get the PA to ask the hotel to prep a room for me to pump milk etc. A lot of work and trouble for myself and others. I have been selling lots of baby stuff too, got rid of the pump, playgym, swim tub etc. Next to go is the exersaucer, playyard once Ashley outgrows it. Then my house will look more like a house and less of a childcare centre

Sap, xinfaye eating v well. Can share with me a typical breakfast, lunch, tea, dinner plan? I wish Ashton can eat all these. He is v v fussy.

Catz, wow, congrats on Beth being fully potty trained. Ashton is terrible he has regressed. He is prob the only one in this thread still wearing diaper. Shameful

My kids have been sleeping on their own (shared a room) for 1 week. Finally hb and I can have our privacy after so long. Really happy to see the kids sleeping in their respective bed, us in our room and the new maid in her own room at the yard.

cherry, waaaah super long time no see! No wonder.. you've been busy selling off stuff! I should get my butt cracking. Timo's stuff went to my nephew but Bethany's stuff is still hanging around. I still put on training pants for Bethany when we go out and during naps/sleep *just in case* cos the last thing I want is a stinky pee-soaked mattress/pillow! Haha. Congrats on putting the 2 kids into their own room.. I really dont understand how people can cosleep cos I need my rest!

huskie, hang in there.. I think this cf lady just wants to shake leg :p

huskie, yes, ignore wat the CL said, you definitely have milk!

catz, yah, i missed u leh, super long never go your plc collect stuff and chat chat
Haha, ashton's clothes all went to my nephew too. I am left with lots of Ashley clothes that she outgrew even though its only 9 months, the clothes that she cant wear has filled up 1 chest of drawer. Dun know wat to do with it. Also 2 big bags of maternity clothes. Wat is the brand of training pants that beth is using? Ashton is using momy poko but i let the cc use diaper cos the rate that they change diaper is amazing as if it is free.

u know, i better dun have #3 cos if I do, then i have to buy all baby stuff again.