(2007/01) Jan

hello!

alethea,
thanks. ya, I feel really blessed to be able to fight the odds of PCOS n get preggie again. but still dunno gender yet, gotta wait till detailed scan, hopefully can know by then.

char, JJM, lawpei, janey, poo power,
**sprinkle baby dusts to u all, catch!**
i'm sure those who's trying will hear good news from u sooner or later.

iceblue,
its great to see latest photos of bb janson. The difference now and then is his size lor... how i wish jk can eat as much! Many well wishes..

hui:
hello! thx for the dust! hehe.
by the way, don't mind i ask you.. what does PCOS stand for?

iceblue:
hello to you! nice to see your post here.

saw the pics of janson.. he's so cute and chubby!

char,
many people have asked this question. my case is described as below.

(PCOS)=Polycystic ovary syndrome (say "pah-lee-SIS-tik OH-vuh-ree SIN-drohm") is a problem in which a woman’s hormones are out of balance. Most women with PCOS grow many small cysts on their ovaries. That is why it is called polycystic ovary syndrome. The cysts are not harmful, but lead to hormone imbalances. It can cause problems with your periods and make it difficult to get pregnant.

hui
thx for sharing about it.
didn't know that this is the acronym for the syndrome. my friend also has small cysts in her ovaries. does this symptom usually make it difficult to conceive?

char,
i'm not sure abt your friend's case, but usually if there's cysts in ovaries, sometimes it tend to 'cover' or 'wrapped' or 'block' around the egg, making it difficult to fertilize. but my case already very stubborn, hardcore cysts, so u can motivate your friend by my example if it helps.

Char, you can ask your fren to go see a gynae to get a laproscopy done. I had this minimally invasive surgery (day surgery, was discharged after like 3 hrs) done in 2005 and within 6 months, I managed to conceive. What my gynae did was via the keyhole surgery, reached into my ovaries, and poked many holes (guess to puncture the cysts or something). Understood from her that the cysts would always be back, but at least there would be a window period of 6 months to 1 year that the chances of conception would improve after the surgery. Before my surgery, my menses had always been irregular, ranging anytime from 28 to 40+ days. Whenever hubby and I went on holidays (which was very often when we were still DINKs), my menses would go haywire, sometimes only arriving after 50+ days! *faint* And oh, prayers help a lot too.

Happy Niu Year to all mummies & daddies!!!!!

Being MIA for some time....only can log in once a while in midnight....new company "ban" forum discussion ;-(....Hope every1 r fine.

Zenn, nope. I vary between rice, porridge, pasta n bee hoon (which they like most). Other times, it could b potato gratin, steamed egg & tofu with meat, etc, without the staples. Why huh?

zenn,

Janson eat porridge twice a day during his meal time...

then our meal time sometime he eat rice oso...

So worked out to be 4 times a day...

hi yos! *wave*

zenn,
jk also not eating rice evry meal. his breakfast is only a glass of FM + bread. lunch/dinner-sometimes porridge or rice, or mee sua or mee etc. nowadays dunno whether he's becoming picky or not, but his intake for staple food like rice/porridge is very much lesser, he prefers to eat bread/snacks more than main meals. N if put the food he don't like inside his mouth, he'll push them out with his tongue n make a mess of everything. *hiaz*

Zenn, you should know my Matthan well. He eats EVERYTHING. He is too adventurous in food.

Especially now (CNY), he loves the CNY cookies, bak kwa and sweets. Whatever that are given to him by the relatives, he will munch them happily.

zenn,

Claire generally eats whatever my mum and I give her. Most of the time is rice for lunch and dinner, but sometimes we alternate between rice, porridge, pasta. Sometimes when she refuses to eat properly she'll eat bread instead. I consider all this kind of food to be "fillers" and interchangeable.

Oh, and of course these fillers are accompanied with meat and vege la...

hui:
kienan is very much like JK. he also spits out whatever he doens't like when i put it in his month.

zenn:
for K's meals, he rotates between having mee tai mak, kuay teow, mee sua, macaroni, and rice.. all this is with soup and fish and some sort of vege.

bbmilk:
matthan is a good eater! i wish kienan wasn't such a picky eater...

hui / alethea:
thx for the info about PCOS. will let my friend know. i think she ovulates and has her period quite regularly.. but she has had to go for some keyhole thing to burst some small cysts she had in her ovary. def agree that prayers help!

alethea:
the food you give your tots sounds quite yummy. kienan only likes pasta with cream sauce and i've got to smuggle the mushrooms into his mouth. what type of recipes do you cook with for tofu with egg, gratin, etc? can share?

Dearest Mummies, tots and babies (those who already hv 2nd / 3rd / upcoming 4th one in tummy....haha)

Happy CNY and Gong Xi Fa Cai! Wishing all lots of laughter and good health.

WOW!!! Congrats,Hui!
Long time didn't pop by, and realised that you are also pregnant with 2nd one
Hope that it's a girl too, sweet and gentle like you

Charmaine/JJM,
I also only have one so far... Planning 2nd one only when new house arrives probably end this year.

Charm, hmmm.... good eater can be a headache too. Besides eating everything, he also eat non-stop.

Sometimes we have to hide our food from him. If refused to give him the food, he will cry bitterly as though we bully him.

haha, jk also's been eyeing the CNY goodies! He always climb up the dining table n take what he wants. N those taiwan type of muah-chee, he almost finish all already. i tried take a bite n then give him small piece, he'll cry n roll on the floor throwing tantrums! i have to keep those egg rolls in the cupboard out of his sight!

bbmilk,
mathan so cute, can be actor in drama next time.
. btw, u back from lunch gathering? how's it?

janmum,
thank you. but i not sweet n gentle, think look like my hubby with big eyes n gentle better. haha.

char,

bbmilk:
hahaha.. so cute! he will cry when you don't give him your food...

JJM:
you and me sounds like the same situation. we're also wondering when to try.. cause hoping to move to a bigger place at the end of the year. don't want to move after just giving birth. would be just nice if we move then i give birth. i.e. i can be preggie when moving.. but hopefully not heavily pregnant. so complicated rite?

Zenn

Trisha eating porridge mostly for her lunch and dinnerand sometimes will cook pasta for her too. Mostly weekends will cook something different like fried rice and bee hoon etc. She still doesn't like to chew and what I do now is not blend all the meat and vege into the porridgevbut give her unblended vege/meat and one mouth porridge ad one mouth of vege/meat to chew. think she's lazy to chew. =(

She also will spit out things she dun like and usually it's becos the food is like a solid piece, eg, a small cube of carrot, or a solid pc of apple, etc. I can't get her to chew a bite off the apple and then continue to chew and swallow that bite. I'm so sian blending everything for her! =(

Bbmilk, I'm so envious of you that Matthan is not a picky eater and eats everything! how I wish Trisha is like that! she's actually not really picky just that she doesn't want to eat solid pieces of vege/meat. but strangely, she's ok with biscuits/cakes, etc.

babymilk/hui,

Talk about CNY goodies, Claire has been stuffing herself with kueh bangkits. *faint* She even knows how to open the containers. Headache.

lawpei:
how are you doing?

so how do you feed trisha if you dine outside?
actually kienan is also very picky with his food. he doesn't like to eat meats, and will spit it out. think that he won't eat it even if i blend it for him. so far, his protein comes from fish...

sherl:
hahaha.. our kiddos are so smart yah!? they can open jars and containers already. the power of wanting to snack! i think kienan likes to eat the kueh bangkits too!

Zenn,

Janelle took porridge mostly for her dinner and brown rice for her lunch. She so far had not taken any plain rice with veg, only took fried rice. Sigh! Only like strong flavoured food and usual food. Difficult to get her to try out new food, esp. staples. Snacks, no hesitation from her usually. A very cautious/picky eater.

lawpei - high-five, Janelle not only look alike to Trisha but also have the same eating habit.

Charmaine - hee hee confusion right, no, me not moving house. No money! Hee Hee!

Charmaine - if we know we are going out, I'll prepare her porridge and bring out. Sometimes, just order pastaor fried rice outside and let her eat however much she wants lor. if not, let her eat sandwich too. Very difficult to go out lor.

she likes fish esp salmon so can also order fish and chips etc for her lor...oh, she loves to eat fries!

JJM - at least Janelle takes rice for a meal. if I give her plain rice with side dish vege/meat, think I'll take hours to feed! I think her problem is that after chewing for long time when she wants to swallow, it's all pretty dried up in her mouth then diff to swallow so she dun like. So I always urge her to chew chew chew then hurry up swallow.

thanks all mummies for sharing! estelle also rotates btw soupy stuff, porridge, fried rice/bee hoon & sometimes rice + fish & soup but not so frequent for latter as she dun eat alot if plain rice & dish. in fact she likes soupy stuff most. the reason y i asked cos during cny i prepared noodles soup for her & my hb's aunty commented that this stage should give her rice so that it's more filling. realised old ppl believes in giving rice or make sure they r full whereas i prefer she have a balance diet.

sherl/bbmilk/hui, high five! estelle loves prawn crackers & fishball. she will pretend to stand next to us at coffee table & helped herself w/o asking n she will eat non stop until we stop her!! she also always helped herself wif our packet drinks. v stress meh, we ve to quickly finish it or less her wif just little bit

alethea, estelle used to take egg & potato but now she dun like anymore (except for fries!)

lawpei, estelle also! she can chew & swallow whatever she likes & split out the one she dislike! estelle also LOVES fries haha i wonder if there r any kids who dun like fries!

zenn,

Trisha also likes junk food like keropok lah, chips, fries, etc. Recently we started letting her drink yakult and she simply loves it. Been gulping it down at one time but when I made her drink water or juice, have to beg, coax, "scold" her to drink sometimes.

I think old pple thinks rice is more filling but then I agree with you lor, I rather she have a balanced diet and if she's hungry, she'll ask for food right? anyway, Trisha never show/tell me she's hungry one leh, very strange. Only when like way past her mealtime then I feed her, she eats quite fast. Are your toddlers like that too?

another qn: Do your toddlers take a long time to chew and swallow or sometimes, simply keep the food in mouth and dun chew at all?

lawpei/zenn,

The only thing that makes sense to me is that rice is more filling than porridge, but actually that is because porridge digest faster I think? I feel that the rest of the staples is interchangeable. Actually I dunnoe why some people (esp the old people, LOL) are so obsessed with keeping children full. I agree with lawpei that when children are hungry they will ask for food.

lawpei,
Claire doesn't tell me she's hungry, but sometimes she will ask me for food like bread (and not snacks la, which she will ask for at anytime of the day, LOL). This sometimes happens wheh she eats very little during her main meals.

Yes, Claire sometimes takes a long time to chew and swallow, but when she's really hungry, she empties out her mouth very fast.

zenn,
same here! the older generation all say give jk rice, give jk rice, eat more, eat more! they also likes to give jk things he seems interested in eating.... good thing is jk will say 'dun want' and dodge when he's full. jk also loves fries! at times when he dun seem to eat his lunch or dinner, i'd give him what he wants to eat, which are consider 'junk food' & NOT nutritious at all. i feel guilty abt that, but i also give, coz i dun bear to see him go hungry.

bbmilk,
are the bros malcolm n matthan so loving always? how nice. i remember i used to fight alot with my siblings when i was young. hahaha... i won't be joining lunch, u all go ahead. difficult to bring jk out myself with a belly.

bbmilk:
your boys look so cute!

this is the kidz rainforest at the zoo right? i can recognise the background.. haha.

JJM:
oh no! yeps, mistaken identity.. haha. didn't realise that one is jan_mum and one is janmum. sorry pai seh..
are you the one who stays near the alexandra area? and also have one toddler so far only?

lawpei - hee hee, my apologies, the brown rice that my MIL prepares for my girl is grinded and cooked like cereal, so actually not rice, but very healthy.

charmaine - no problem, no, I lives in Sengkang. yes, only 1 little girl so far.

hihi...

JJM, does ur gal takes the grinded brown rice as a meal? sometimes estelle still takes that & i wonder issit enough for their age as a meal? usually i will give wif veg.

lawpei, estelle seldoms ask for food when hungry. but we try to stick to her routine. think few times we gave her late n she asked for bread.

generally estelle dun chew v long but she takes quite awhile each meal + she must swallow B4 we can feed her again

bbmilk, the bro so sweet! next mon cant join u gal. ve fun!

hui, glad that jk is settling well. i caught estelle pat pat her classmate when her classmate cried. suddenly she seems like a big gal to me heee

Qn : how much rice/porridge is ur little one taking? estelle is taking 2.5 tablespoon of uncook rice for porridge and only 2 to 3 (most of the time only 2 tablespoon of cooked rice).

Zenn

for porridge, she takes about 2.5-3 tablespoon uncooked too and I add in a small plate of veg and a small piece of meat. Veg and meat blended after steamed and mix into the porridge to feed her. all this make up a bowl.

For rice, it depends on her appetite lor.

wonder how long you girls take to feed rice to your toddlers? for trisha she takes 15 mins or less for porridge meals but for rice or anything that requires chewing, she'll take more than an hour....I very keksim when I feed her rice, have to be super patient! =(

Zenn, for porridge and rice (both cooked) Deszi usually takes 3/4 full of our normal rice bowl.

Lawpei, for Deszi usually within 20 mins max...longer than that I will not continue feeding her cos the food too cold le. For food that requires chewing, I usually cut smaller so that it's easier for her.

Zenn,

I think Claire takes between 1/2 of our normal rice bowl, plus meat/vege.

lawpei,
Claire depends, usually between 20 to 30 min, faster if she is very hungry. I deal with the warm food problem by serving half portions at a go, the other half leave in the pot, so stay warmer longer. Nowadays she got a lot of pattern, sometimes reject this food, sometimes reject that food, sometimes want the food to be in bigger pieces, sometimes want me to cut smaller. Haiz, it's really a pain feeding her; life was so much easier when she was younger!

sherl, wakakakka you finally 'appeared'.

Leaving food in the pot is not an option for me especially if I pack food back from outside. *lazy mom* And I figured if she is not interested to eat, there is no point following her everywhere or sit and watch her walk around and come back to you every 5 mins or so for a mouthful of food. I will just follow up with a bottle of milk so that she dun gets hungry. My max is 30 mins, same as for egan. If he dun finish by 30 mins, I will throw but for his case, no milk. If he is hungry too bad, he has got to learn this.

Aqua,

yeah, same here, I don't like to follow her everywhere also. If she doesn't eat at all then after a while I throw le. Later when she is hungry she will come back for something.

good afternoon!

estelle got hives again. this is the 5th time within 2wks. pd suggested no seafood (including fish) for a mth. at the same time, he is making appt for allergy test. not sure if she can sit thro for the test tho.

sherl, i remember claire was allergy to egg when young right? how did u deal with it?

aqu & sherl, des & claire eating pretty well. for plain rice + dish, estelle oni eat miserable 2 tablespoon n take longer to finish.

lawpei, estelle ave takes 20-30mins to finish but at times she takes up close to an hr to finish too. nowadays, if she shows sign of not interested after 30mins, i will stop but sometimes she still want to eat but eat v slow! -faint-

icy, hows rachel? back to cc?

Zenn,

Ya, Rachel went back to CC. as usual cry in the morning.

still have nightmares but not as bad le. ever since yesterday i brought her to a temple & pray. thanks to mymelody. she recommended me the place.

zenn,

is her allergy food-related or is it something in her environment that is causing it?

I just avoided egg lor, delayed introducing until she was around 10-11 months I think. And egg white only after 15 months or something... I also cannot remember le. But luckily she grew out of the allergy.

zenn,
think so long as estelle's weight is acceptable, shouldn't be quite worried abt how much she can take rice/porridge. prob she more 'angmoh', likes potatoes etc leh... jk also sometimes eat very little rice/porridge, think if he doesn't really like the food, he'll eat less, but he will ask for bread/doughnut etc to fill his stomach when hungry.

does estelle's hives appear only recently? then r u able to tell what she eats lately? think besides shellfish, eggs, how abt peanuts?? CNY got lots of these, peanuts can cause allergy too.

icy,
rachel still haven't settled down yet? i noticed jk will only start to cry if he sees me linger ard... now i know after i drop him, when teacher asks him to go wash hands, i quickly leave, else if he sees me hanging ard longer, he'll start to cry. now he's ok already.

aqua,
u managed to get the wet wipes? i couldn't see the brand sweet cheeks anymore. but saw watson got kodomo wet wipes 70pcs pack for sale at $1.95. re-bought them to try, find it not too bad too. worth grabbing coz now for $1.95 deals, buy 10 get 1 free.

hui,

more or less settle down le. but she cannot see me lah. see me she will cry. i observed her from far b4. when i m not ard she is ok. her usual self.

aqua,
i saw the sweet cheeks wipes at jurong east ntuc.