(2006/12) December 2006 MTBs

Choo,
The sales girls is very nice....Show me a few sellable design and teach me what to look out for when buying maternity pant...They have a discount section on all the time....In general, they carry some foreign brands and some are design by their inhouse designer....So each design will be in limit pieces

choo, jackie,
no problem, cos i just went to the shop last fri and was talking to the sales girl so happen to know that they have a outlet at there.

Jen, i not sure wat time they open till maybe 7pm latest ba...

I'm trying to find a good confinement lady. Is it true that most of them are from Malaysia? I went for a scan last week, but baby wouldn't open legs so we couldn't see the gender. Does anyone experience this too? I'm not suffering from MS anymore but I tend to get a bit of acid reflux after a meal like if I bend over I'll feel some acid juice coming out.
I love the maternity clothes at Dune, very simple and lovely designs.

catherine,
i intend to go down after work. but be4 that meting my gf @ clarke Quay 1st. then rush down maybe after 630pm aldy lor.

snowy,
where is Dune?

jen,

maybe you try calling again cos theres only 1 person at the shop.

but raffles plc normally close ard 7 or 8pm. cos i remember once i left ard 8.30pm still got many shops open.

Hi Yukiee
I m trying very hard to 'kan kai yi dian'. Otherwise, I think I m going to get pre-natal depression.

Hi Siman
I too very scared of the delivery process. I have signed up for the Hynobirthing class wtih FourTrimesters. Hopefully, my delivery experience will not be that bad.

Siman, Doremi,
I am 1st time MTB....Was thinking of going for natural birth without epidural.....Will see how it goes during labour ba

Puay Kheng
I am not alone : ) my pain tolerance is very low so cant imagine I have to go through this. Lets pray hard that all of us will have a smooth and "painless" one. What is Hynobirthing?

siman,
tink i will choose the same option as u...taking epidural..hehe....very scare loh....

jackie,
really bow to u....i dun tink i got dat courage leh....very scary...now tik nia, oredi feel dizzy le...haha....^^

puay kheng,
i went to read very briefly on the hynobirthing..seem like very good leh...really can shorten the delivery time and ease our pain?? sound very interesting loh...^^tik can consider attending if got the time..thks for ur info...

jen,
Dune is at Paragon and Great World City. They're having some sales. I bought a white work shirt for $10 on Sunday.

juz to share
wen i gave birth to my bb son last yr i tout tt i can tahan to contraction pain til bb is born but i cant my midwife is vv experienced they put mi on drip then gave mi 'laughing gas' to release my pain but no use at all the pain still there ... i pressed bell to call for assistance midwife gave mi a injection ovr my thigh i feel betr for awhile ... but after all still pain i try to tahan the pain but realli damn painful worst than menses cramps... dh pressed bell to called for nurse ... he ask mi if i wan epi???
i told him let mi tahan for another few hour c hw ...
but end up i epidural haha ... dh scold mi for being tahan the pain for so long ....

Hi Jackie,
wow, Amino test so expensive. but all my frenz and cousin who given birth did not do any test. onyl the detail scan.

acc to one of my hubby's frenz, she also did the Amino test when she is pregancy with first kid when she is only 23yr. it is really painful.

wow, really a lot fo $$ spend and painful experience to go thru. but if no choice, can't help, as what u said, at the end of the day, when result came, it return with a postive one and one will rest assure then. then the $ will be worth spend. do eat more nutrient food, drink more water, eat more veg and fruits.

Hi Bloom,
Enfamama no lactose meh? what's abt trying those high calcium nutri brand soy milk (blue packaging) and yogut. my frenz who can't stand the milk also took them. if not, can't help, have to ask doc to give u calcium tablets or eat more food with calcium like brocooli, tofu family type.

for me, i only gain 0.3 (0.1 during each visit) only since wk 6 till recent 3rd visit - last wk during my 15 wk.

Hi Qian Hui,
oic, acc to the MOH website , NUH is much more expensive than KKH. If not for some bleeding during April, or else, I will having my check-up at polyclinic every mth. as for my first visit to KKH, paid $88.60 + $11.58(vit and folic acid via 2 mth supply) = $100+.

I thought if u all along has been folowing up in NUH (for yr case), no subsized rate for the DS test meh?fr what the nurse told me that DS test is non-subsized, she did not mention need to get refer letter fr polyclinic etc.for me, I also dun see any fixed doc for my monthly check up since I am a subsized rate person.

yup, my consultation fee is $20 cheaper than u by $1. lab (routine) test is $7 compared to polyclinci only $3. for me, I did not take up the DS test when doc ask during my third visit. so she asked me to sign the letter of acknowledgement.

what make u want to do the OSCAR test? none of my frenz and cousin did any test except the detail scan. can go polyclinc and take the blood test etc mah... I did it at KKH. my hubby also test his...

I guess my $350 which gov give will be used up soon and need to deduct the bills from my salary liao since I'm using CSC card. but not every items can deducted esp those non-standard drugs like mulit-vit.

now doc said I dun need to eat folic acid which is only required for the first 3 mth only. I still left a few tablets but finish it up. she gives me another 2 mths supply of obimin.

I have told my hubby that during delivery, got to deduct his medisave for the payment. already used my medisave to pay for my hosiptalisation liao during apr.

Hi Good Morning

Logging in to say Hi before i get down to work :D.

Went for bloodtest on Monday, still can't really tell if its a boy or girl. Gynae said not that clear leh....and usually clearest on the 5th month. So have to wait till detailed scan

Saw you gals talking about epidural, i gave birth to my girl without epidural, just with the laughing gas and the jab on my lab. Must always remind ourselves to relax during delivery, so that muscle relaxes.

gd morning!!

today is my first day without anti-vomit pill.. hope i will do fine... :p last night went to PIL's place for dinner.. FIL asked if i still vomitting.. told him "no".. in the end, "splash" out my dinner at 11pm.. :p most violent vomit ever experienced.. my poor mom.. (staying at mom's place.. hubby overseas) got to clean up the whole toilet.. :p dunnoe isit bcoz i'm pantang or spinach doesn't digest well.. heee~ :p

btw, any mom taking any other supplements than folic acid? my gynae onli gave me folic acid.. nothing else leh.. no iron pills, no multivit etc...

jackie,

yeah! found someone who doesn't intend to haf epidural during delivery. i oso dun want. main reason is bcos o e side effects. we already suffer during our pregy liao, i dun wanna cont to haf backaches or headaches after giving birth. once n 4 all, end e misery. my fren still cannot straighten up her bk immediately when she stands up, her boy 1 yr old liao. plus, i tot all mummies dun haf epidural last time so shld be alrite.

i'm under dr lawrence ang. heard most o his patients went thru delivery w/o epidural. he's v encouraging bt it.

girls,

ask u all sthg. since i might haf 2 go 4 c-section n u can choose 2 haf GA or LA. LA wld allow u to be conscious while they're cutting ur stomach but u can c bb rite after it comes out.

i always tot LA is kinda scary but i'm not supposed to feel e pain of cos... still....my hubby tot there's nothing scary bt it leh...

wld u all go 4 LA or GA?

shihui

i am on calcium, fish oil, multivit and folic. think your gynae didn't give you much cos he's worried you may vomit it all out, just my guess...because by right in the second semester, we should be loading in all the vits already.

all the best to your non-anti-vomit-pill day!

morning everyone...

lots of new mummies in the thread huh? welcome welcome...
...had a busy busy time reading thru yesterday's posts...

went to see my gynae yday to do my triple test...doc said will call if anything's up... if not they won't... hiaz... will be anxiously waiting..and still can't see the sex of my bb... the legs was crossed and the doc can't see

btw, just to let u gals know....

i had some discharge yellowish/brownish from my breasts for the last few days... notice the stains on my bra... my gynae said it's normal and i should not massage it as it will make it worse (swell more) ... but i scratch my breast so much tat i had slight infection (very itchy, especially at night)... so now got to apply medication lor...

Hi Shihui,

I am on fish oil, calcium and iron pills. I stop my folic acid couple of weeks ago... now i add vit c myself as i keep coming down with cold...

forgot to ask my gynae if it's ok... hopefully it is lor...

kimi,

same here, i still hope to go without epidural.. but keeping the option open lah.. coz i faint when in pain.. :p

if really need to go C-sec, i prefer GA... i can't imagine the feeling of knife on my tummy without pain... so scary.. got enough of it aft extraction of wisdom teeth under LA.. :p but if u use LA, u can see bb immediately leh... n i think there won't be any vomit or nausea feeling tt usually accompany GA.. my mom told me tt she felt nausea n vomit aft she woke up fr her GA for the whole day.. quite a torture to vomit with wound to take care of...

maybe with hubby ard to support, u will be more couragous to undergo it with LA if u need c-sec..
he can help distract u... hee~

Calynn, kermit..

maybe i will ask her if i need any other supplement.. my gynae most impt concern for me now is whether i'm keeping any food down anot.. :p everytime ask if i'm eating well anot.. :p next visit will be detailed scan in aug.. so excited..
shd noe gender by then.. heee~

vit c shd be fine bah.. as long as dun overdose can liao..

shihui,

i kept asking if hubby dare to be inside when they cut open my tummy...he ee ee or or, kept saying he afraid of blood! then i asked wld he cut e umbilical cord, he oso nv give direct answer! hiyah!

then he said: ok lor, i go inside stand at one corner. then i knocked his head n said he's supposed 2 be by my side 2 encourage me! ha ha...

och,

here's a v late reply cos i dun log on everyday. erm, i tink my tummy is indeed a bit bigger w my fibroid. but i tink bb growing oso. last time can only feel a pear-shaped fibroid. now it's one whole big lump! dunno which is bb, which is fibroid liao!

whew! there's no degeneration yet!

shihui,

btw, then i tink u better consult ur doc leh! if too painful faint liao how to push? if halfway then use epidural they still charge e same so my fren always say it's a waste o money.

funny hor! natural birth w/o epidural so painful n c-section w LA nt painful but i tink i'm still more scared o c-section w LA.

i'm oso on multivit, folic n fish oil (optional). no calcium pills leh but nowadays can feel some o my joints cracking. like mini sprains like tt.. getting weak liao...

shihui,
tink hor, dat time when i thot i'm over my ms leow so i happily told my mum dat i dun vomit leow when she asked me how was i...dat nite after dinner, i bcome merlion...really vomit alot than usual...haha...i tik very padang loh..haha...hence hor, now pple asked me, i only said "tik over leow kua"..haha...^^

my gynae told me to avoid those too acidic food like lemon, orange, etc and tried to avoid fried and oily food cos will cause indigestion. err..i kinda noti loh...din really take in all advice so hor, vomit .... dat time, tink only one thing cure my mc...err...ie...coke..haha...but it's not good lah. whenever i drank coke, i feel very good..haha....now i tried not to drink so much leow, not good mah.. :p

kimi,

haha.. i thot he very on one when u mentioned he tot there's nothing scary abt operation under LA.. :p

u tell him he sees more if he stay at one side.. if he stays beside u, he can focus on ur face, grab ur hand etc... if he stay one side, he will be looking at the overall pic... meaning he will see tummy opening up, blood etc... hahaha.. :p den he will guai guai stay beside u liao... heee~ :p

doremi,
my gynae oso tell me to avoid oily food.. but aft i preg, i dun need avoid one.. auto dun like oily food liao.. :p oso hates sour things.. so all the lemon, orange etc out oso.. :p

i oso heard somewhere tt coke helps leh.. but i din take leh.. i taking riberna, glucose drinks n H2O occassionally when i feel like vomitting.. somehow helps a little...

kimi,
i agree wif shihui loh..haha....tink my hb same like ur hb de. i ever asked him whether he dare to go in the delivery room wif me when i delivers..he olso scare scare..haha....then he olso said wanna stay at one corner..haha...then hor, i told my hb wat shihui wrote too..saying staying in corner can view the whole view...but my hb rather tall, he said..sekali no matter where he stands, he still can c the whole view..haha...^^

but hor, tink i may not wan my hb to b in the deliver room lah..dunnoe y feel very awkward...haha...sekali, c his face, i more scare..haha....^^

hi everyone! welcome to the new mtbs.

wah, I on MC 2 days so much reading to catch up. I been down with a very bad cough and cold...take medicine oso worry, but, bo bian, have to take. I trust that doctor prescribe medicine is safe la.

I'm thinking of having bb without epidural, but hb say i so scared of pain, sure need one. haha!

hi kimi, my gynae is Dr Ang too
I go to his clinic at Sembawang Plaza. How about you ? My next appt will be 4th August, after my detailed scan. How many weeks are you in now ?

deardar,
I went for DS tst at KKH called NT scan ar.. it is combined with serum screening so i no nid do twice. very exp cost me $380 with bld test.

Geri,
u realli brave leh. i also hope i can go w/o epi but i scare leh. i low threshold of pain leh. menses cramp enuf to kill me liao leh.. i duno how leh. i very scare. my colick today gg for admission for labour. she oni can opt for c-section cos she din dilate leh. 0cm leh.. how to induce? take longer time & longer hrs of pain oni.. poor her.

Shuihui,
i think not u pantang if u are not PT pax. is ur bb PT perhaps. ehhe. Nxt time pple ask u whether u merlion anot say thanks to bb so far so good. maybe bb wont bully u lar... dun immed say NO MORE or DUN HAVE Liao.. ahha.
Y ur gynae no presecibe u Multivit? maybe scare u still MS isit? vomit out waste of med & money... i been eating Multivit Obimin since wk 13 and calcium supplement alt day. i din take fish oil cos i am vegan. I stopped folic acid aldy.

Jen,
fish oil is very good for baby leh.. for the brain esp... wasted you vegetarian.. then you must get food which are similiar to those nutritions from fish.

Cos i have friends comparing their baby with taking fish oil and without..
her second child she took the fish oil since her 2nd trimester.. now her baby know how to tose and turn her head. Whereas her first child she took the fish oil only at last trimester and her baby abit slower and when comes to turning her head she need help to turn for her if not she will be struggling.