(2006/12) December 2006 MTBs

Mbb,
thanks for ur advice, it is very useful to me.

You were saying I can bring porridge on board if i am boarding from SG but not from Perth rite?? Cos the flt from SG - Perth is 6+pm.. I will think Hazel need snack/dinner. but from Perth back to SG i think is ok. since we board the train at MN and reach sg at 6+am. hehe.

But if bassinet is to be given to me with the narrow passage way got place for the bassinet meh? I be taking SQ and i dunno if the sch holidays start and all seats will be taken up .

Jen...

U can buy sealed Pigeon instant porridge from Isetan or Kiddy Palace for $8+ per 2 packs (orange color de)...u juz nid to ask the stewardess to put the whole pack into a hot bowl of hot water (aka heatin bm like tat)...then u can juz open the package n feed Hazel or Selina...Hazel's age shld b able to eat 2 packs at a go...but test to see if they r receptive b4 u travel...btw SQ provides bb meals in the form of bottled bb food...like Heinz bb food n fruit juice...

Bloom...

I oso tink Cae looked very comfy...but in reality...itz rather squeezy for a 22mo...SQ provides Givenchy designed bb blanket wor...kekeke...n the stewardess allow u to keep it...

Jen,
bassinet designated seats are normally wider in the legroom area thus you will need to request earlier coz alot of the airline cardmembers enjoyed such seats for more legroom.
they will chop it asap even when they travel without bb/child.

do not assume that when you travel with bb/child, you will automatically be given a bassinet point seat.
it's on requuest basis n first come first serve too.
especially during sch hols, there may be alot of bb/child travelling.
one aircraft can have a max of 4/5 suchs seats only.

the same for child's meal n bb meal.
pls tell the tour agent tat you wanna request for child n bb meal coz most airline also do not auto provide (reason being some parents dun wanna give their child such meals).
they prefer to let the child have the normal pax's meal.

you can also check with SQ if they provide porridge for child's meal.
in CX, porridge is offered on request ex SG at times. depending on the menu rotation.

re: proof of preschool.
i have been doing homework.
so far the answer is NO.

Mommies, anyone of ur kids kena HFMD before? How long is it (after the appearance of the mouth ulcers) before the ucler will start drying up and the kid is ok with food again?

Cos kate kena..now rejecting food and water

hi bloom,
nat had HFMD just before she turned 1. It lasted for a week. After the fever spike, she bloomed with rashes, red spots all over. Didn't take any food for about four days since the appearance of ulcers, refused water too, in the end she became slightly dehydrated and fever only reduced when we force fed her with water through a syringe. The ulcers were there while the fever was on. When the water got into her body, everything started getting better. I suggest you force feed Kate water. Give her ice cream too, cos cold food helps numb the pain from the ulcers. I hope Kate gets well soon.

Here's a group picture of the girls when we met up in New York New York in Feb 09. It's a bit late, I know.

2305572.jpg

Fizz/Jen,
The pigeon pre-pack fish porridge has 2 packets in each box but you are supposed to mix the 2 together. So it's only 1 serving per box.

mbb,
Thanks for the info on pre-school proof.

tan sl, thanks for the info..nat did not take food for 4 days!!!! wow!!!!!!! took ur advice and fed her 2 rounds of yogurt...now she is more active...(might be the sugar inside ahahah)..thanks!

sylk, nice picture!

hwee
Ya, they've grown lots and so quickly! sometimes i wish they dun grow up so fast. :p
how've u been? Has tim started pre-nursery?

pardon for the smaller pic cos the web resize realli cant makes it the approiate sz to fir in here. hehe.
more pic can be found in my facebook. hehhehe

Jen,
hazel is such an angel. so pretty! nice photos, no wonder they are on the website... good promotion for them. hee!

bloom,
how's kate? i hope she is much better and has recovered.
nat kenna hfm again. sob. she is in so much pain with the three ulcers in her throat. so heart ache leh! has been taking cold milo, ribena, yakult, refused ice cream and yogurt.... sigh!

Jen..ehehe... also saw these pics on facebook...
i love fb nowadays...

tan sl..oh no..where did nat kena hfmd from??? poor baby! so u r taking leave to take care of her? u must be careful urself too!

all mommies, kate had finally recovered.. given all clear by GP yesterday.. thank goodness.... at one pt hb was even saying wan to send her to H cos she refuses food intake..but thanks to tan sl, we started her on yoghurt (but now she is addicted to it and will ask for it every 15min!) :p

tan SL,
i think all babies who went their studio will get their pic posted. heheeh.

bloom,
glad to hear Kate recovered from HFMD..

hello ladies!

bloom,

i am fine.Great to hear that Kate has recovered from HFMD.must be a difficult for you.

jen,

Hazel is so pretty

I tink i am not a good mum....

Ivan will be going to sch in term 3..n he hasnt been toilet trained n learn self feed...blame it on my jie pi...

i tried several time to let him wear training pants...but no success..he didnt mind the pants to be soak in pee...tink he is so used to having diapers...he doesnt sit on potty....

I also tried to bring him to bathroom every 20mins to pee..sometime he did pee sometimes no...when i put on diaper he pee in it!!

I wanted to try cold turkey but tink if i can have a helper it might be successful...cos he wil be stamping on his urine while me trying to wipe his pee!

want to noe those whose boys are fully toilet trained,who do they wear at home now?brief? or ?

Hi Choo...

Haha...I cant advise u on tat matter...cos Cae is not toilet trained at all either...n he is not self feedin too...

My hb has been naggin A LOT at me for not toilet trainin him...now...we try to brin him to pee at the toilet bowl more often...sometimes he wil tell u AFTER he pooed...most of the time he wil not lah...but I find tat he gets all excited when he gets to flush the toilet after use...

For me...I wil take it fm there when I feel tat he is ready...unless yr boy's sch reqs tat he MUST b toilet trained...

Def NOT a yardstix of whether u r a gd mum or not based on tis...

Hi Bloom...

Glad to know that Kate is fine now...

Hi Jen...

Hee hee...Hazel looks very endearin wif her smile...gd momento of her babyhood...

When r u going Oz...did u manage to get the SIA Perth deal for %500+...

Hi Bobianah...

I find that Hannah and Sarah look quite different leh...I rem tat Sarah looked like u when she was a nb...itz gd to see tat the 2 sis get along so well yah...

Hi Sylk...

Oops...I din noe tat we hv to mix the 2 Pigeon packs of porridge together...I always gave it to Cae separately...

Fizz,

I am gg on 14 May. aiya.. too kan cheong to get the Cheap SQ deal liao. last wk Jetstar have Easter promo one pax only $201.95 lidat.. i paid $613 for SQ. sob sob. the extra money i could have buy something more meaningful. hehehehe.

Choo

Dun worry lah, beginning of toilet training is like tat one... actually JT is toilet trained by her cc, I also was very fed up cleaning up her pee at home. You are a great mum ok!

Jen
Pretty hazel!!the attractions at perth are very far from each other, so you must be prepared to prepare entertainment for the 2 girls in the car (I assume you are renting car??) But I'm sure they will enjoy themselves!

Bloom
glad to know that kate is ok liao. aiya she wants yoghurt let her eat lor.... its healthy food anyway...

Dora..
Thanks for the compliments for Hazel. hehe.

Ya i just get to knw from my frds that attaractions in perth is far lor. the thots of my holidays at perth alone makes me sian. and wishes to change location but cant do so becos we got the promo air fare from SQ. sian. not even to change date to return earlier.

thanks ladies...

just tat sometime i tink i didnt make much effort in these two aspects

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">Just rec a sms from Qianhui:she has just given birth to her second boy.weighing 4.01kg .No epidural!
</font></font>

QIANHUI!!! CONGRATZZZ!!!...(I thought I juz caught a glimpse of Ace at Parkway on Sun!!!)

Mummies...

Is anyone gifin Friso 3 to their tods...is it made in Malaysia or Netherlands huh???...my hb lor...he heard tat Friso is cheap n gd...n he wanna change...

Jen...

Cae is on Enfagrow!!!...but I live so farrrrrrrrr fm u!!!...

choo, u r not a bad mommy lah..kate is not toilet trained too..she too, will lun till i relent and put the diaper on. If i put her on toilet bowl, she will just tilt sideways and fall (so u die die must catch her else she will hit the sink or shower glass)... if his cc can help with the toilet training, why not?

dora, yest have lunch with my fren and her fren..and this fren's fren was praising JT's cc (novena branch) so much .. saying how they have enrichment program blah blah blah... ahahaha.. yes i would love to send my gal there..but no branch near my pl and hb will jump at the fees! :p that kate wants to eat one cup of yoghurt every 15min leh...

QH, congrats!!!!! so fast then 6 months have passed since you annonuced tat you is preggy with no 2... ehehehe..

fizz, welcome to friso club..now supposedly alot of supermarkts have $5 off retail price..but the staff at some branches duno anything hor...

Choo
Maybe switch to a cheaper brand of diaper which is less absorbent n less breatheable so that he will feel uncomfortable after he wets his diapers. Sometimes I think the diapers nowadays r so comfortable that the tods prefer wearing them to having to go pee pee in the toilet.

With boys it's so much easier...just have a pee pee cup close at hand in the early stages of toilet training cos they wun be able to control their bladders v well yet n will pee immediately after telling u. By the time u take him to the toilet, he would have wet his pants already. At home let him wear lose shorts which u can pull down fast...that helps to prevent accidents too

Most importantly, remember not to scold or show even the tiniest bit of negative feeling when they wet their pants and remember to praise them lots everytime they manage to pee into the potty on cue. I remember E used to get v upset when accidents happen cos he was afraid what the adults reaction wld be. He wld look at our faces to gauge our feelings. But he would be happy again once we smile, laugh and reassure him that accidents r ok, it's just pee pee. After every accident we wld also remind him to tell us earlier the next time. And he was so happy everytime we praised him when he manages to hold his pee long enough to get it into the potty. I think it really helps them build their confidence to start telling u when they want to pee. Happy toilet training everyone

choo.
thanks for the msg to us. help us congrats Qianhui.

Fizz,
can i mail the samples to u?? hehe.

bloom,
what CC is JT in? that is so well praised?

LiL,

I agreed with you totally. Kids will be scare if they suddenly pee out and on the flr. my gal cried when she cried worrying that we adult will beat her. cos my MIL beats her. but nw she managed everything. if she is on pampers she just dun inform let urine all go to pampers. but she will def inform me when she is on diaper and she want to poo poo.
Realli hv to praise them everytime they managed to urine in the potty. for my case toilet bowl. haha.
I also bring her to toilet bowl after she wakeup abt 2-3mins.. haha. sure got urine like we adults one mah. hahhaa. just wait for awhile and she peed liao. hehehe.

Hi Choo,

Wow.. Thanks for annoucing.. so fast leh u..

Hi Fizz,

Wau... That's really Ace then.. we were still shopping at Parkway..

But I dun think I see u leh.. or maybe I cannot recognise u?

Hi Bloom,

haha.. Time flies...

Bout toilet training..
Ace dun wanna wear diapers to sleep.. he prefers his underwear..

He still wet his pants occasionally, but most of the time he will tell us.. (but he doesn't speak proper English, he will just say 'umpp ummpp' then we have to ask him 'sit' or 'stand' (sit => poo, stand => urine)

Just now very funny.. he saw my pump then he took it down from the table.. then went to my bed, pulled up his shirt and tried to do 'pumping'

My Birth story..

Wakes at 9am on the 7th Apr, very very mild contractions. Thought I wanna poo only.

Was still working and playing with my pet society on facebook.. still chatting with my sis telling her that I having contractions.. Went to bath and then message her that I going to hospital at 10.33am.. Called delivery suite and told them it's 1 in 5, they were telling me if I can still control the pain? (Asking me on a scale of 1 to 10, tell me to rate the pain!!! I dunno how well I can control anyway, only told them it's very painful when there is contractions til I almost can't talk!)

Took cab and reached hospital slightly around 11pm, hubby tried to open the wheelchair for me, but alamak, he took quite some time to open it while impatient (+ painful me) walk to the lobby and sit.

Got wheeled up to delivery suite and then got a bit of show. Changed dress and urinated and got on bed liao. They were asking me what pain killer I need, I told them to chk how much I'm dilated 1st..

Then.. finally (it's ages to me actually) someone checked and tell me that I'm almost 8-9 cm dilated. I can feel my water bag leaking also..

Around 11.55am, they told me I should be able to deliver in about 1 hours (while someone pass me the laughing gas and left me to pain lor.. )

I can feel like wanting to poo, and tell the midiwife I feel like pooing/pushing.. She felt for me and tell me full already.

Baby is out before 12.30pm. Got him weight and he's 4.01kg.. They only commented that my size is not very big, but baby is very big.

Labour is ok, but the pain from the sewing and moving from the delivery bed to transfer bed then to ward bed, moving around, etc.. are the worst part..

Check out the very next day around noon time. Very fast, but now.. suffering at home with the bad stitches.

No confinement rules at all, bathed at least one to twice everyday, washing hair and blowing fan directly.. can't stand the stickness and heat esp when I need to breast feed and pump...

Jen...

So nice of u to offer to mail it to me...muackzzz...:p

I have PM-ed u my addy...thanx...

QH...

Wow...yr labour is very short...post some pix of yr younger boy when u r free...watz his name...

U wen Parkway...do u stay in the East...

QianHui
The nurse is right, your bb is big. :p
How come discharge so fast? aout 24hrs only?? Who did the stitching for you? MO?
Rest well and can't wait to see pic of your #2. Wat's his name?

Hi SH, Fizz, Bobianah,

Stitch is made worse by Ace when he sits on my bed and accidentaly bumped onto my backside when I lying side way!!! Pain til my tears also drop ah!!

My younger one hor.. dunno come from where wan.. funny, dun look like me or hubby..
We both double eyelid outside, his is eyelid inside (like my dad)
We both no dimples at all, but Ace and him got dimples.. (like my mum) infact this one the dimples is deeper than Ace..
Weird.. my mum even joked, this one pick from rubbish bin :p

Discharge fast good ah.. mine is C bedder, I never like hospital stay anyway..
I also dunno who did the stitching.. I can only say, she also poor thing lah, big job for her to stich me.

Anyway, as usual, I didn't hv gynae, also given birth by some midwide or new doctors ba.. they so young!

I haven decide the name yet.. I wanted short, one syllabus name starting with A actually.. but can't find.

So maybe.. Royce, or Merce, or Merc.. one syllabus and also ryhmes with Ace wan lor..

Lazy to write long names..

Qianhui,
COngrats.. Wow sey.. u still so steady leh. Anyway 2nd delivery is always faster than 1st delivery one lar. I remembered that time i gave birth to #2 i was also 8cm dilated liao. wanted Epi but no time liao. haha. doc was immed called and doc came 10mins or less bb out liao.

aiyooo ur Ace so cute want to learn pumping as u did. I think Selinna also had the same action. they just imitated what we adults does lar. my Selinna nw more funny always put on my half cup bra on top of her clothings. haha.

Your baby is unique leh. same as my 2nd one. haha. but my gal resembles her papa lar but she looks more like ang mo. my hb even query me isit his child leh. OMG.

QH,
wow, i must say you have a high threshold for pain. congratulations to you. reading your story gives me a better idea of how i should be should i be in labour. my first was supposed to be induced but ended up dilated so didn't have to, but no pain whatsoever, the good thing was i was already in the delivery suite when the contractions started to get closer. so this pregnancy will be my first where i should be expecting stuff like, show, water bag burst or contractions and all then travel to the hospital. am a little scared!
for a tiny frame like yours, 4.01 kg is really a big baby. *pat pat* you deserve all the pats on your back for being able to carry your second one till he is so big, natural no epi somemore. i'm at 38th week, baby is abt 3 kg and i am already complaining of back pains and stuff.
do take care of yourself ya. have a happy confinement!

bloom,
sigh, it was not hfm again. once again a wrong diagnosis, second time le. thank god we took her to east shore when nat didn't drink for 6 hours and i was afraid of dehydration. the doc discovered no ulcers but bad bad inflammation of the throat. gave her antibiotics and she recovered in two days. praise GOD! now i am super hesitant to return her to school. still praying about it.

Hi Jen and Tan SL..

I think hor.. the cervix dilated so fast becoz...

This vain mummy is still painting her toenails 2 days before giving birth ;p imagine me putting up my leg and painting them lor.

hehe..

Lil, that's what I canot stand abt my in laws family. The men think they have the licence to lecture/scold. So u can imagine how turn off Kate is during toilet training.

Jen..ehehe.. I will let Dora tell u herself
I hope ur hb is joking abt Hazel.. cos last time I also look angmo (fair skin, brown curly hair) so my mom got flak from ILs that she have an affair...

QH, wow..fast labour! so now non stop ebm again?
Or are u latching on this time? Single syllabus..Roy, Drew, Chase, John, Jon, ...eheheh

Tan SL... 38weeks liao!!! Wow..thats fast! Means u should be giving birth anytime liao
How did Nat get such bad inflammation? Is cc giving alot of fried food and not enuf water? Thank goodness the doc at East Shore gave the correct diagnosis! Sometimes really worry abt putting a child in cc..there is no way the teacher can notice things like that (not drinking enuf water, etc) with so many children...

Qianhui,
u soooo funny when u discovered urself as vain mummy.. preggy or any mommies shld still remain pretty one mah. hehe.

Ur Ace was also about 4kg when born right?? U very steady so small frame but then bb so well nourished inside ur tummy wor.
my #2 when birth oni 2.84kg.. aiyoo so small until look like kitten leh.

Bloom,
huh?? ur mom never fight back?? last time our parents generation where got "anyhow" one.. omg. ur grandparents ar... aiyo knock their head. hehe.
hb joking bah.. lucky ar.. the bld grp is the same as my hb ar.. else i jump into yellow river also maybe diff to explain myself ar. haha. Also my gal althou looks ang mo but she resemble my hb alot lor.

Say abt bld grp.. lets say both parents is O+ and A+.. come out the children will be AB+ one meh?? I dunno the bld grp correct anot lar.. but my frd's child is lidat wor.

bloom,
ya la, it was after eating 5 chicken mcnuggets during her excursion then straight away down with the bad inflammation le. sad sad... think my nat too princess le, pamper her too much le, it was actually her first encounter with chicken mcnuggets. never given her fried food. sob. it was my fault for not familiarising her with fried food.
yes, popping anytime le, but tummy still high, apparently my little girl still feels comfy in the womb, but in any case, i'm on leave le.... hee. very lazy le, cannot do without naps in the day. quite a piggy!

Tan SL,
rest rest rest now.. wait bb pop out no time to rest liao. hehehe u will be busy taking care of Nat and also feeding bb else pumping for storage liao. hehe.

Do keep us notified when u pop. take care.

Bloom,

Now ah, ya lor.. most EBM.. coz baby bites me!
Latch only like 10% of the time.. the rest mostly EBM hahah..

I think his teeth should be out even earlier than Ace one.. Coz can see the white white thin hard part.. Ace had 4 teeth at 2 mths old, by 6 mths got 10 teeth..

Jen,

Ace is only 3.2kg when out leh.. but tat time his head a bit big, so I also got bad split. This one, 4.01kg, I think is because I eat too much junk food.. KFC, McSpicy, Fries, Pastmania, Pizzas...

Vain coz hor.. I think most preggy mum will not really bother to paint toenails themselves..

Tan SL,

Your girl very good leh, mine is a naughty boy, he likes fried food like fries, KFC popcorn chicken.. Lucky he gets to eat them only when we go out.

He eats a lot, can eat 1/2 to 2/3 of a plate of chicken rice by himself..

HUH.. Qianhui.. ur son started teething sooooooo early wor. my both gal 1yr old maybe oni 4 teeth.
but does EBM reduce milk supply?? cos i thot latching will stimulate milk flow better.

which hosp u went ar? same? NUH?

Ace started teething very soon.. 4 teeth at 2 mths.. 10 teeth by 6 mths..

That time Ace out, the gum is still 'rounded' wan..

This time, just birth only and the gum is sharp wan... bites me so painful..

Jen, yes saw hazel's pic..look like ur hb... anyway now that i have grown up, i do look like my father...

QH...wah..so fast then bite ..jia lak..anyway since u can pump w/o blocking (like last time) then go ahead...really much faster :p

Tan sl..now see ur posting must quickly reply..else u pop liao canot read :p .. i think maybe nat 'heaty base' bah.. cos me and my gal also like that.. i eat the tiong bahru chwee kway (sp?) that day and kena sore throat in the afternoon liao ... my gal drank abit of hot choco (too heaty i think) and started coughing... and its not as if both of us do not eat fried food regularly...

Qianhui,
Sooo unbelievable bb at sooooo small aldy teething liao leh.
what u mean Ace gum still "rounded" wan?

wow lidat consider ur bb since grow in ur tummy at 5th mth aldy started teething liao leh. cos i thot nid abt 1 yr to have 4 teeth (estimate)..
then u better pump wait bite u very pain..