(2006/11) November 2006 MTBs

Hi all, so long never log in here already.
I have just given birth to my 2nd baby boy few days ago. Finally everything is over. Hahaha, can close shop already.

My hair start to get messy again cause i forgotten how to take care of newborn baby already. Guess I have to start learning all over
again.

yesterday, my hubby told me that our elder boy, Lucas cried silently in the car when he was driving him back to Ah ma's house. Hubby ask him, he said he miss mummy, daddy and marcus. I have not seen Lucas for 1 week plus already, yesterday was the 1st time he saw his didi and me. Poor Fellow.

Hey peng, congrate on your 2nd preg. Boy or girl?

Tiwi, congrats! my #2 is a girl
! how come Lucas 1 week din see u?

Peng,
wow good, got a boy and and girl. Congrate.

Oh, because he is not feeling well for the pass 1week(vomit and lao sai). So my mum dare not bring him to hospital or punggol to visit me. This stomach flu virus is very infectious. Me and my mum got it from him also. I also lao sai for pass 1 week before i go give birth.

Happy Children Day to all the kids. Today Zhe Lei n all his classmates celebrate children day in appletree. They receive so many gifts n sweets n everyone is so happy.

3050233.jpg
3050234.jpg

hi Eileen

can u send me the softcopy of the pictures taken? I keep forgetting to send u the hi5 concert pictures too...

by the way mummies,

i'm gonna finish my last tube of first teeth toothpaste liao.. recently not many sprees and also can't really find the toothpaste.

Any recommendation for other brands?

bbroom,
Kenise is using oral-b toothpaste but is with fluoride since she can spit it out so I am fine wif it but at times she will purposely swallow it though.

hi garfield,
itag from leap frog is only for english book rite? my intention now is to help my son learn chinese else he cannot communicate with the grandparent.

i trying hard to get chinese book for them to learn, that's y kind of interested of that product. I saw it at carefour too, cant remember the price..

sc,
ya it for english book only.Seriously it not too late to start talking to ur kids in chinese now as their brain actually is like a sponge they will be able to absorb and as times goes by they will understand but do start it easy and when they can express in chinese then u praise them as kids love to be praise.

hi garfield,
i'm talking to both of them in chinese now, as i aware the learning environement in singapore will push them to english more, so now i try best to talk in mandarin and show them chinese book. So thot the stuff will be good to help them.

sc,
Actually it depend on urself as seriously I had no idea how much they will learn since it a book that need to be scan and basically it more like teaching them to read but if ur household seldom got ppl speak in chinese it will also be pointless to get as they simply had no idea how to learn the language since nobody communicate wif it.

Try berries for Chinese lessons...Heard not bad...They make their lessons very "alive". Uses recycle items to make into teaching items.

sc..i agreed with garfield, is best to communicate more with them in mandarin rather than introduce them to read chinese story books, listen to more chinese nursery rhymes also helps
i've only started to communicate with my boy in english once in a while at home since he has started to pick up english in school. Now he is not choosy whether i read to him in chinese or english.

hihi mummies,
no time no postings

hope all are well.. me still recovering from my stoopid chronic cough.. a month liao...

to share my experience on mandarin on the kids... speak mandarin and expose him to chinese since day one, so JK communicates in mandarin for now..
however, recently, after he starts his classes, he starts to speak english to us instead... his reasons? he says english is much easier, only abc.. chinese/mandarin very "difficult"... and he also mentioned that his friends don't understand him if he speaks mandarin... so he has to speak english... i wonder whether he know what's call "difficult" and peer pressure....
oh yah he will tend to speak english to us when we are in public.. don't ask me why... maybe is the social environment...

so for now he knows, he has to speak mandarin to the family (me, hubby, my parents, etc) and he only speak english to my maid...
now my only fear is that he may reject chinese in writings when he goes to school.. the rest should be ok...

my boy oso nov06.. i dropped by b4, but don think u all rembr me.
Same as many of your concerns, my boy only speak english n refused to reply in mandarin, even though he seem to understand.. last Sep, i started him at Berries.. not bad, he seem like to hv fun and are more receptive to mandarin now..

i think early exposure really help.
I am enroling him to a chinese speech & drama class soon, hope i will see more impreovement..

hello mummies, long time no post. How's everyone?

Tiwi, congrats on yr 2nd baby!! Think most of us are mummy of two... time flies Nouvelle just celebrate her 3rd birthday last fri n Leraine is already 14 mths, learning how to walk, compared to jie jie, she progress much slower. But Leraine talks faster, now she can call "ma ma", "pa pa", "jie jie", "nai nai", "ye ye", "ah ma", "car", "cake", "mum mum" etc...
I didn't do a birthday party for Nouvelle, just give out some goodies bags to her classmates in school. Anyway she wasn't well, keep having fever every 2 weeks, this makes me very worried. Does kids goes to childcare will get sick often?

Hi Jaline, nice to meet you. Most of kids do, initially for the first year. After that, they will have the antibodies and resistance and will fall sick lesser already.

bellgal.. don worrie..pple were saying english easier to pick up ...esp schools commonly used english..
juz ensure he know the basic. ABCs & phonics... the school exposure will do tat trick.

My mum says that too...but his grandma putting pressure on me. Coz his cousins speak English and my boy cannot understand...

He knows 90% of ABC only. But phonics...mmm...never taught him before...But he does surprise me sometimes...for example, one fine day when we were watching TV, he suddenly screamed out "Elephant"!

Hi Bellgal,

I hope she will have the immunity soon cos she is in childcare since march this year...

and dun worry, my elder gal is oso more fluent in mandarin since she speaks to my in laws mandarin very often. It's until we send her to childcare centre n we let her took english lesson to brush up her english. Now she speaks english fluently and always wants to speak english in front of us but to the old people, she still speak mandarin to them...

Jaline, my boy went to cc March this year too..Same thing. gets sick every other day.

What English lessons did you let your gal attend? I am trying to find some English lessons too, but don't know which is the right one. His cc sometimes speak in mandarin too...

i never send my boy for english class, but i got him leapfrog phonics from amazon, u might wana try.. it help..my boy know all his phonics from that and his ABC.. i as a lazy mama, seldom teah him tat..
i all thumbs up for leagfrog dvd.. u might wanna consider

Hi Shannen, how are u? Din see ur post here for a long time. Not sure if u rem me. We met during our kids 1st b'day celebration.

Anyway, wish all our Nov 06 kiddos a very Happy 3rd Birthday!

some of the details I got it from spree last round:

AMazon
Leap Frog - Letter Factory ~ Leap Frog, et al. (DVD - 2003) US$8.99
Leap Frog - Talking Words Factory ~ Leapfrog (DVD - 2003) US$8.99
Total: US$17.98 x 1.48 = S$26.61

christine...hee u might hv gotten the wrong shannen bah.. coz not v active in this thread de, hence i din join any of the gathering..
but v nice to "meet" u...

very nice to know alot of mummies here are having #2 ..sure lotsa fun

Bellgal, it is an extra english lesson which the childcare centre offer, teached by ppl outside during normal school hours. I dun wanna flood her with too many "extra classes" outside school hours cos she's still young, want to let her enjoy her childhood...

Happy 3rd Birthday to all our Nov 2006 kiddos!

How are you? Long time no talk!

Need to ask for confinement lady recommendation. One of my friends is looking for one. Please PM me the contact, thanks!

Hi mummies, everyone should be bz preparing or have just finished celebrating the Nov babies' birthdays.

Need some quick advice/comments here, esp from those who have employed live-in maids. I just renewed my Indon maid for another 2 years. Work-wise, she's pretty good.

Just discovered today that she has a "BF" that she claimed she has never met before, the guy (a Malay from Sabah, working in SG) just msg-ed her one day (3 mths ago), dunno how he got her contact, and they started messaging each other since then. I only checked her phone after the messaging and phone calls started getting more frequent, and she can chat/msg till 1-2 am at nite, while waking up before 7am daily for her chores.

She has no off day, and also no free time to go out by herself. I really have no idea how did she end up with a "BF"? Apparently, this guy obtained her no. from another Indon maid, but she also did not know how this Indon maid got her no. in the 1st place.

They have exchanged "photos" of each other via sms, and I have also discovered love msgs in her phone.

I've just confiscated her phone, and will be passing her a calling card to call overseas. Local numbers I will not be passing to her at all, so dun think she can contact this "BF" anymore. Is this sufficient?

Now I am faced with a dilemma of whether to change a new maid or not. It may appear to be of no fault of hers if someone initiated contact with her in the 1st place, and her 2-yr work with me was good. I have also removed the pt of contact between her and the "BF", so hopefully things will be back to normal.

Any comments/feedback/suggestions? To keep or change?

Thanks in advance...

Just 1 question. How does she feel towards her BF? Will she have hard feelings/resentment towards you removing this link? If yes, then you have to be careful what she does when she is not in your view.

<font color="119911"><font size="+2">Hi mummies, sorry to intrude i need to get Nestle Nan 3 milk sachets urgently.
If you have or know where to get them, please kindly PM me.
My budget is 50cents per sachet. Thanks for your help! </font></font>

hi Pauline

When we brought Ashley to Japan last year, we bought the Pediasure milk sachets.That one is widely available.
If you can't find the Nestle Nan, maybe you can consider Pediasure. It tastes very much like HL milk.