(2006/11) November 2006 MTBs

yah peng,

I forgot Owen can say 1-10 in mandarin oso, I juz learnt abt it not long ago. He will oso make mistakes like N becomes M. I took out the playmat alphabets and stick them on the wall long time back, so now he knows all the alphabets and can list them by colors..

Thanks bbblush

Guess you are right. I tried out last nite when he made a big fuss, by covering his voice with "OK mummy understands".. Immediately he kept quiet to look at me, for a while. So this test confirms he was frustrated bcos we didnt know what he wants. But later he cried again bcos I actually really didn't know he wants. Tonite, I will try saying "mummy don't understand if you scream". See how..

serenemeow

u r lucky tat your mum's bilingual. My PIL and BIL oso tried to teach him both languages, so "orange" becomes "onange", and "guo qi" becomes "kok ki" (flag). I am still correcting him as I come by but sometimes if it deviates too far then I have no idea what is it he is trying to say.

strawberry

your incident reminds me of something that a friend told me before. I have a friend who has a German husband..so her son actually looks very ang-moh. My friend's mother is looking after him during weekdays. However, she can't really speak English well..thus, the English pronounciation that she taught him are rather incorrect.

So it was funny to hear an ang-moh kid pronouncing orange as "Orr-len". Her kid apparently understands his grandma's "English pronounciation" better than the standard English one.. After that, my friend insisted that her mum only speaks with her son in Mandarin which her mum speaks fluently and they'll teach him English.

Wow, our thread seems to be moving fast after our kiddos started their preschool....

Serenemeow, I din know tat your kid also attends lessons at GUG cos Zavier was attending GUG the whole of last year. Never seen u there leh. I stopped his last lesson in Dec 08 cos he was starting school this year. His lesson was the first in the morning on Sats, 9.30am by Teacher Yani. How abt yours? After attending the whole of last year, he can sing the zoophonics series A-Z and do the actions too. Eg. A - Ally Alligator A, A, A... Bubber Bear B, B, B.... Think these zoophonics really teaches him to pronounce his words correctly.

BBlush, I share the same sentiments as you re their speech. Think its the parents and caregivers who play the most impt role ultimately to develop the kids' language skills. Can see the significance when we talk to them daily. Zavier can also converse in proper sentences now and he stil constantly amazes me with his speech too. Just yesterday when his Daddy wanted to kiss him goodnite, he said in these exact words "Daddy, don't kiss me because your moustache is so dirty!" Haha..we had a good laugh aftertat cos Daddy hadn't shaved yet. Nowadays, he's speaking quite fast n sometimes sound like an adult.
There was another occasion when he wore his new crocs, Daddy said to him, "Don run too fast in this shoes" Zavier answered back "Can I march? Can I jump?" We din know how to react then.

Like Chloe, his mandarin also cannot make it (very limited), tat's why I's signing him up for mandarin speech n drama lessons at JG so that he would grow to luv the language too.

Dumbger, let me know if YMCA is good cos I have one located near my mum's place too, wondering if I should switch him there. The attraction abt this place is tat its non air-con, quite hard to find non air-con childcare these days.

Strawberry,
hahaha..my mum not really billingual lah.. english still cannot make it.. pronounciation abit off but still "bearable" hahaha... JK oso understands hokkien and speak some words out of a sudden... e.g. he will always reply "mi zai" if we ask him whether he understand certain things...

Bearyhugs,
JK oso sat class but 2pm one.. 930am almost his morning nap liao and somemore his dad not a morning person :p He's taught by Teacher Aida... his fav.. actually changed him to a billingual class but he still prefer his Teacher Aida so changed back after a term.
Yeps he oso can do the zoophonics series liao but without actions.. he too lazy to move himself around :p

bearyhugs,
heehee..ashley also says her daddy is "dirty" when my hubby kisses her..she doesn't like the moustache too =)

hahahaha.
JK doesn't like pple to come near his face.. so anybody stroke or kiss his face he will scream and scold that person...
but my hubby got one prob.. he say JK has a baby smell and he like to smell his ears... wat a weird sense of smell hahahhaha.... so everything he ask JK whether can let him smell.. JK will shout NOOOOOOOOOOOOOO... then became cranky after that...

bearyhugs
which outlet is that? ya, non-aircon is one of the main reasons too why i chose there too.
wah, i'm also amazed at zavier's speech development!! can speak full sentences already???

serenemeow
JK still has baby smell? how nice! cayden lost his baby smell long ago...sob sob.

hi all..it's friday!! and valentine's day tomorrow.. anyone going for V-day celebrations?
tomorrow my colleagues arranging a V-day gathering for some of our frens+colleagues who are single to meet up =)

yesterday Ashley was very funny..before she slept, she told me, "mummy, Ashley forgot to say good night to daddy"..then she shouted for her daddy to come in to the room to say good night..
after saying, she said "ok, daddy go outside"..

then both me and hubby said "wah..so practical one"..

bbroom,

So nice of your colleagues. Me and hubby no celebration, confine at home. But hubby bought me my favourite gift, 1 precious moment figurine that i eyeing for quite sometime...but i din buy anything for him...heehee..

Wayne also very practical. After my parents send him back to our place, he will say ah gong ah ma go home.

My parents faint upon hearing that. Say he "guo he cai qiao"..hee

Wayne is slowly recovering from HFMD liao. Yty brought him to see a GP again and he says Wayne's throat quite ok liao and this morning he can use bottle to drink milk liao, and he drink a lot, 250ml.

This week and next week got to confine at home.

bbroom
Ytd my gal also very funny I told her I need to off the light and she say she help me but then upon reaching where the switch is and it beyond her reach she say "Mummy,I short.Mummy come,off the light.

I was like huh?She understand what the meaning of short.

wayne's mummy,

haha..yah.."guo he cai qiao" is really the exact meaning to it. lucky Ashley usually "cai" her daddy's "qiao" ..not mine.

hope Wayne will recover soon to return to school.

hey bearyhugs
jus to update u, i brought cayden to ymca for enrolment yday and also stayed there for him to play around with the kids for a while. so far so good for both him and me.
he was happy to run around the place and play until call him dun wan to go back. and for me, was pleased with their systems and the way they take care of the kids. so unlike Pies schoolhouse. ;)
will let u know how it goes when he starts on 2 mar! :D

Whao whao Wayne’s mummy, your HB so good still gave u surprise. Mine so far he only surprised me once, about 10 years back. He quietly placed a pretty little clock in my bedroom toilet. Later, I found out it was a package gift from buying toothpastes

Hahaha bbroom, so funny.. At first I didn’t catch Wayne’s mummy’s meaning. Until u said Ashely only “cai” her daddy’s “qiao”.

Any mummy interested in “I can read” Open house? It’s applicable for 2.5 years old and above. Heard is this Sunday 22Feb at Kovan, between 2:30 to 6pm.

dumbger,
heehee, JK's baby smell still got a little, esp at the head and hands... but he don't like pple to smell...

garfield,
brought JK to Carpe Diem Punggol last fri... he still don't take it well.. cry when he sees the gate (he knows it's sch).. sianz... walked ard the compound and really ALOT of mosquitoes.. my mum don't really like tat...
anyway the waiting list is quite long and indefinite.. perhaps will wait till 30mths then send JK to PCF nursery direct.

strawberry,
yeah me interested in the "I can read" stuffs... got any link of info? hmmm kovan sounds good near my house.. let me know more hor

mickey,
i bought the milk powder from rivervale plaza, the medical hall right at the end of the row, 1st floor.

serenemeow
heehee, i miss the bb smell leh! nx time if we all meet up for gathering i go smell him, wahahaha.

caomei
what is this "I can read" thing? good ah?

serenemeow
Oh mine think JK is very traumatisc by the previous sch and now it hard for him to accept any new sch maybe u wait for a while longer before u find him another sch.

dumbger,
hahhaaha, hope that the smell still stays till our next gathering... :p

garfield,
yeps, i think so too.. my mum again brought him to the PG surrounding this morning... now even don't wan to step into the nearby compound... sigh... but i think we must correct that lor... he already associate school equals to that particular GUG teacher.. last sat, his usual GUG teachers were on leave and there are relief teachers teaching.. he doesn't even want to sit still and follow thru.. keep on wondering ard and asking me where's his teacher aida...
so now i'm trying to enrol him into different enrichment to "breakdown" his school concept

wow amazing amazing amazing, Zavier, YH, chloe and kenise all can speak very well liao considering their age...my ger still using "sign language" and single syallbus words. only recently then i potty train her...so jialat right but was quite surprised that she only took 2 days. she knows that she cant pee or pass motion in her shorts.haha if i wear panty for her she will think its her pull up pants...then will pee...last night brought her out for dinner at least got 4 hours outside but she did not pee..reach home then she till fil that she want to pee...haha so cute though she got wear pampers but din want to pee inside...

i still havent look for a school to enrol her in...know YH is gg to the one at Blk 101 punggol but still hesitating ...worried that she will not be able to adapt...i too overprotective of her...not too good. always scared that she will fall sick easily

dun you find that time passes by so quickly...it seems not so long ago we were anticipating the arrival of our babies then slowly their progress now they already in preschool....very fast we will see them having gfs or bfs haha

anyway i am glad that they have this forum thingy..hehe take care everyone

serenemeow
But if too pushy now might have adverse effect as well since this case juz happen not long ago btw have u tried talking and explaining to JK about why send him to sch and etc?Maybe it will make him understand more.

karin
Ya time really fly very fast and how I miss the day when i dun need to reason wif my gal on the sharing issue almost everyday.

garfield,
yah already reasoned out with him... he says he want to stay at home instead of sch... we did tell him the pros of sch, i.e. frens, learning, being clever, etc... then he will shoot back to us.. 不会就不会, 笨就笨, 不要紧. 娃娃(himself)很聪明了.
do u think i should vomit blood?

garfield,
hahahaha, he's logic is far ahead from a 3yr old kid... I'm dealing with a kid of 3yrs old with XX yr old thinking...

yeps, you are right.. we need to have the soft approach with him since young.. no point fighting with him, even with cane oso no use... he will just ignore u for days until he's ok.. he really did that (ignore me for 2 full days at least) when i brought him to his 1st day PG...

serenemeow
He 1 very got xin ge kid wor maybe u try ignore him for days becoz of this and see how his reaction.

As no kid can stand being ignore even my gal 5 min of ignorance she will cry like hell when she want my attention lah.

serenemeow

yr boy so clever...how come he can speak so well? true you might want to vomit blood but to think of it...he is really a very smart boy...never know of any toddler at this age can say this kind of thing. real smart

wah, JK is not jus speak well hor...shows he can think intelligently leh! i'm really impressed!

think it'll be a long well before my boy can reach that level!

hahahaha mummies,
thanx for your compliments...
sometimes I really wish he's still the baby whom I can "manipulate"... now really cannot "kid talk" to him...

only me and my mum really understand his "talent"... not even his father. he onli get to realise that these few days when he has more time with JK (cos maid just arrived last week)... JK outspoken him until hubby has no choice and ask me for help...

i think nowadays the kids are really much smarter.. impressive with what they can reply.. I guess those pre-natal vitamin pills really help

Hi Dumbger,
“I can Read” is a centre which offers a range of unique reading and child-centered activities that stimulate the child’s perception of the world and develop language, for 2.5 years old onwards. It is supported by Australian registered psychologists* and the creators of the I Can Read System. Classes are kept small, between 5 to 8 for kids, and the end results are to develop oral communication skills, stimulate the imagination and develop problem-solving skills using language. But it is very costly, about $500 for for 3 mths, 2 hourly per week only. Heard it is always packed so must be something really good.

Serenemeow,
Guess JK dun need that liao, he can speak so well.. haha Owen’s speech is always overcome by emotions. He gets very worked up when his THEREs are not heard, but he just doesn’t want to speak in simple sentence. We are very tired of repeating the right words to him..

Strawberry,
JK still need.. he only speak well in Mandarin.. his ang mo... *Shake head*... onli know the items' names if u test him but don't know how to construct sentence yet..
he has enuff mandarin exposure at home liao so thinking of putting him some english class

there's one @ rivervale mall which is even nearer to me.. perhaps will drop by there to take a look

Hi Karin,
Long time din hear frm u. How's your little one?

Hi Dumbger,
I jus realized that the presch near my hse is not YMCA but YWCA. They are non air con though n its in a big bunglow kind. I may jus decide to let Zavier stick to learning vision first for this year since I've invested so much on his uniforms. 3 different designs n 2 sets each - total 6 sets. Each set cost a hefty 25 bucks!

Serenemeow, zavier is complete opposite from JK. He's jus not interested in Mandarin. I started him on JG speech and drama Mandarin last weekend. He din seem interested n din want to converse in Mandarin at all. Last weekend, they learnt the owl (mao tou ying), then he came back n kept insisting mao tou ying is cat;
Me: "Zavier, Mao tou ying is owl."
Zavier: "No Mummy, mao tou ying is cat because got mao." then he goes meow.... haha..

Another night when my junior was suckling his fist, Zavier told his brother "Didi, don suck your hand. Wait, Daddy would bring you to kitchen and beat you!" The kitchen is always the place where we disciplined Zavier, tat's why.

Serenemeow...YH same as JK...maybe u can converse more with him in english which i try doing it now :p Rivermale got 'i can read' hur? i din know that..my hubby even want YH to learn 3rd language...faintz...ang moh still 'cannot swim' now thinking of 3rd language..

caomei
wah, $500 for 3 mths and only 2 hrs...siong leh! how i save up for number 2 like that. is there a website or anything abt this?

bearyhugs
haha, i also invested in 3 sets of uniforms and 3 sets of PE t-shirts for cayden from another school...me worst! i didn't even managed to use it cos before he can start YMCA called me to say got place liao!! so i'm now stuck with that 6 sets of school clothes. :p

ya dumbger.. tats why hv to consider if it's really neccessary. Some kids are good in speech and so parents can save that professional costs.. like bearyhug's Zavier, bbroom's Ashley and BBlush's Chloe.. they speak well and picking up fast.. so can imagine how much they save.. hahaha

peng, u oso interested ah? Good then, both u and serenemeow can partner YU & JK liao. But I am not sure if the openhouse is only at Kovan or all centres..

Eileen,
this morning my mum went to JCC. They're closed for enrolment liao...wah..you are lucky to enrol earlier. gotta wait till end of next week to know if they still have vacancies..

called Gracefield's also. On the contrary, they said registration will only start in October..

how's ZL in class? Ashley told me yesterday that ZL didn't cry =)

so sleepy today...Ashley woke up at 4am to ask me to bring her to toilet to pee ...*yawn*..
so far her toilet training has been good.. she doesn't wanna pee in diapers anymore..I've been bringing her to public toilet.
my first attempt was a squatting toilet at Railmall "Ah Mei" prata store. the toilet was wet loh..faint..had to carry her, take out shoes, take out pullup pant..then can pee... *Shack*

Peng,
JK can understand simple English and words.. he just couldn't put them into sentences like he did for mandarin. tat's y thinking of putting him to "I can read" for some english speaking environment..
hahaha tried speaking english at home to him.. he will just laugh and run away...

JK's current 3rd language is hokkien same as Owen :p hahahaha and his 4th is korean... cos sometimes he will repeat after me when i try to revive my korean during my free time. :p

bbroom
Thought they said the enrolment start from late feb to early march? Maybe because they have pre-nursery class so most of the seats taken by them next yr. Hope Ashley can go to same nursery with Zhe Lei, hehe!

ZL yesterday said good bye to me when sent him to class but today cried when I left the room, faint! The teacher said nowadays they don't want to play toys anymore. So she giving them more activities to do.

Long time no talk...
So fast most of our kids can talk so well. Same as YH n JK, Nouvelle can speak mandarin n hokkien well, english still very "broken", can understand wat we converse to her but she can't reply much... maybe becos she interact with her grandparents more often that's y her mandarin is much better than english.
Just a little update on Nouvelle, she gg to childcare finally at Cherie Hearts end feb, putting her to full day so that mil can take care of Leraine with ease. She has been very naughty, like to bully her mei mei, copy watever we say/action including scolding, love to sing n dance with Barney and recently like to beat ppls. She really can make us cry n laugh....

btw, when we going to have a gathering? It's been a long time since we last met...

Maybe we can consider do a pinic gathering at botanic garden so the kids can play bubble and kick ball.

What ur think of it?

Eileen,
Ashley has been enjoying her school..but everyday when I asked her what song she learnt, her answers will be 1) Good morning to you.... 2) Goodbye to you... 3) Apple...A-P-P-L-E apple! 4) 1,2,3,4,5,6,7...wo de peng you...

no more new songs leh... but if she's happy there, i'm ok with what she learns =)

Jaline,
ya man..the last time we had gathering was Dec 2007 at GouMa's place... been a long while..

Bbgal,
Me on for the gathering at Jacobs Ballas Gardens. Count us in!
How abt 8th Mar, Sunday, 9.30 or 10am? Anyone else who wants to suggest alternative timings, pls put it down.

Though Zavier is quite advanced in his speech, he doesn't perform in front of strangers. Whenever we get him to call Uncle or Aunty in the lift, he would say nicely if in good mood. Else, he would be extremely cheeky n start saying nonsense like, "Hello, Ah ta, ta ta, da da" some kind of baby talk. There was once an Indian lady came into the lift, he exclaimed "Mummy, she's black." Oh my god, I don know where to hide my face.

i've one indoor suggestion. yesterday I passed by Shokudo at Raffles City B1. They have a corner with slide and some toys.. if we have a small group gathering, that place may be good. the kids can play on their own..and everyone can choose what they want to eat..

they open at 11.30am..we can probably meet for lunch...

how abt this sunday? let's make it fast...hee hee

here's the suggestion:-

Gathering on 22 Feb 09

Option 1 - Jacobs Ballas Gardens, time: 9.30-10am
or
Option 2 - Shokudo at Raffles City, time: 11.30am
bbroom suggest Shokudo as there's slide and toys and low chairs for kids... everyone can choose wat they wanna eat... kids can eat chawanmushi

Sounds good? which one u gals prefer, kindly reply soon