(2006/11) November 2006 MTBs

bbroom
I submit the birth cert, immunization cert, both parents ic. For pre-nursery is 3 teachers n nursery is 2 teachers.

This morning the apple tree aunty said yesterday Ashley want to remove her diaper in the class. All the children all gather around to look at her, hehe! She told yr mum that can let Ashley diaperless since she can tell when need to go toilet.

aiyo..she very attention seeking one..
she told me she got a new classmate called "Zhe Wei"... similar to ZL's name..

Here something to share about my glutton gal.

Yesterday we had a little conversation.

Kenise:Mummy,I want eat chocolate.
Me:Who give you?
Kenise:Teacher give me.
Me:Then?
Kenise:Then I want to eat it lah.

Another eposide happen to hubby few nite back.
My hubby cover her with a blanket

Kenise:Daddy u cannot hug me.
Hubby:I am not hugging u i am juz covering the blanket for u.
Kenise:DADDY U CANNOT HUG ME.

He very piss off as he kenna mistaken and scold by his daugther for nothing.

I realise she speak with a accent of singlish and sometime will reply with a lah which i find it funny but then a no-no as well and she really can talk back very well as well.Haiz.

garfield, Chloe also uses 'lah'. Most of the times, out of exasperation.
e.g When she asks me to sit with her, and I ignore her. Then she will say,
"Mummy, come and sit with me LAH"

She also started saying "Oh my God", "My goodness!" and "Oh Man". Very funny to hear her because she is starting to sound like me.

Your kid will sound like you, so use your words wisely

ya man...Ashley sometimes say "Wah lau"...then I told her "cannot say...who teach you?" ..she'll reply "daddy say"
so nowadays when my hubby is watching soccer or what and suddenly shouted "WL".. AShley will tell him "Daddy..cannot say..mummy, scold daddy". She'll instruct me to scold my hubby..haha.

hahaha bbroom,
that sounds like JK oso.. everytime when hubby honked or suddenly break in the midst of the traffic, JK will shot out "Wah Lau eh" immmediately as the after reaction.. learnt that from his dad :p
he oso learnt something else from me :p "Boh liao" hahahaha... didn't realise that until he repeated after i say something.... so everytime when i tell him something new, he will say... "Mama u very boh liao leh"

Just a quick update to all on JK's playgroup experience... Summary: I think i chose the wrong playgroup for JK and now made him abit tramatized to go to school....
He was terrified on his 1st day and knocked himself on his lips and bled.. somemore blue black... the teacher cannot control him and still wouldn't let me take him out from the class.. end up cried for full 2 hrs nonstop and shaking at the end of the class... maybe he's scared out of his wits, these 2 days on fever and flu... now i'm taking a step back on his playgroup thingy until he's clear of his fear ... but he still wants to go to his GUG class on the weekend to see his teacher Aida...maybe tat's a console to me still...

Peng,
he still likes to go to school but onli to his teacher Aida in GUG.. he keep telling me that.. Actualy brought him to Kiddy ABC but think the "auntie" is not as pro and caring as the Apple Tree auntie... (though I only see her once on the orientation day)...
now he don't even want to put on his uniform.. ask me to throw them away in the rubbish chute.

BTW, is Apple Tree full? I'm thinking of asking for a trial class there to see whether he likes it..

hi serene,
i think it's important to let our kids feel confident to go to school..coz they just 2 years old only.. you may wanna assess if is it only that school that JK doesn't feel comfortable.. coz it is already the 2nd month since they started school...from what you wrote, JK seems really terried..

bbroom,
actually JK just started his 1st class on Monday. 1st day already kena such things which make him so depressed over these few days... somemore don't wan to talk to me and ask me to go away.. think got a bad memory for him liao...

now i'm looking for alternatives already.. if really nothing then i will have to skip PG stage and go straight to nursery.

babyblush
Can imagine chloe say all those OH Man and etc and it so cute of her.

My gal does mimick us but then she dun really remember much especially for words except movement she had quite a gd memory and will demo whatever we do previously.

Serenemeow
Aiyo poor JK btw why the teacher dun let u to bring JK out or console him.Cry 2 hr non stop muz have really terried him alot.

Serenemeow,

Didn't the teachers do something to pacify him. Like giving him biscuits or toys, at least let him stop crying. Wayne's teachers will pacify him if he cry when my hubby leave for work and he is ok shortly after that.

garfield

now Wayne loves to go to school. Teachers update me that he is enjoying a lot in class, Eat, play and sleep well so i think I should just let him continue at Agape. This morning he still say he want to go to school.

bbroom and babyblush,

Wayne will also imitate what I say especially "lah" and his speech is still not as good as your gals yet. But at least he is picking up a bit liao also..hee..

garfield, wayne's mum,
The teacher said that if she brought him out to me, he will be worse and cry more.. she thinks she's able to handle him...
all she did was to give him some puzzle and ask him to do while she still keeping a lookout at other kids.. the auntie oso didn't help much.. quite rough in handling...

anyway, i'm done with that school. they weren't like that when i did a visit before i enrol.. sigh...

wayne mummy
Ur effort has finally paid off wif a sweet reward ya.

serenemeow
Hmmm,sound weird to me as when my gal intially start sch 1 of the teacher take turn hug and carry her and keep sticking by her side to make her comfort in the place and if can't pacify her will feed her biscuit to make her feel more homely.

But to give puzzle to entertain a crying tods is a weird thing to do.

serenemeow...initially when they cry the teacher & auntie will take turns to hug & carry them to pacify them, then use a 'secret bag' fill with toys to distract them and it works as they will kapo to see wat inside..

allow me to "disturb"

is regarding the annual zoo membership.
last yr, there are mummies here signed up the memebership, should u wish to renew pls PM (w/ur name, email n contact#) me.
** as my HDD crashed n all the contacts are gone for good.

** the mass sign up will go ahead once hit the mini. pax to enjoy the 10% discount.

** renewal n new sign up are entitled the 10% discount.

rdgs

Peng,
at least there's a secret bag to divert their attention... sigh...
these few mornings asked JK again whether he wants to go to the PG.. he screamed and cried NO... i think he has developed the phobia of that particular PG already...
Next week I'm going to bring him to try out Carpe Diem and the PG in Punggol Plaza to test out...

Hi Serenemeow,

My son also having phobia to go Tots House PG.. This morning he woke up and cry and tell me he dont wan to go to school..feel so bad and sad to saw his crying face.. sign...

Peng,
wah chim, no idea where it is :p
running around next week to look for it...

Pieces,
actually my son likes going to sch cos he still enjoy his weekend GUG classes.. but not this particular PG... maybe had the phobia build up in him towards the teacher and the environment.. anyway now take things slowly and see how he fare again..

Hey mummies

Long time neber chat here liao. Some progress update, Owen is:

- Happy in Apple Tree playgroup, once enter the room will forget about us. When time to go home, he will join in the crowd at the exit but when he saw me/MIL, his eyes turn red
- 12.5Kg, height is about 90cm less.
- Loves to make friends especially with older kids
- Down with fever early this week also (first time after he’s been to playgroup), but fast recovery
- Picking up Singish & bad words from adults : no wan lah, kanasai, oh shit, jiat lat, oh my god, oh my goodness, whah so nine ah, one only ah
- Always say: Ah Gong sheng qi (Grandpa angry), bcos my FIL got a fierce look.
- Blows up when can’t get things done, example :
o Trying to face an open book down to form a hump for his toy car;
o can’t turn his heavy toy truck upside down to play the wheels bcos he’s using one hand,
o Can’t put the Too-Too Train back on the railway track after it goes off-track bcos his ichy hands touched it)
- When he wants to go for a walk, he will point at the door and pesters… there theRE THERE…. Until we give in.
- Eats 2.5 small Chinese bowls of brown rice porridge per meal twice a day,
- Drinks 8oz of milk 3 times a day

Plan to sign him up for the Sat class with "I can Read" at Kovan to correct away the "lah..".

Strawberry...heee seems like a lot of kids picking up singlish..as most of the time we communicate with YH in mandarin so we din face such prob loz heee..

Yesterday nite he surprise me by telling me : Mummy, 予恒两岁了...and use his fingers to show 2

Nowadays whenever he tell us to '坐坐' we ignore him, he will change his language and say 'SIT DOWN' instead, as if we dun understand him hahaha..

Others verbs he can say very clear are 吃饭了, 过马路, 牵手, 刷牙, 洗手, 睡觉,冲凉, 写字, 爸爸做工

hmmm...so far he still cannot say out the different colours leh...but he can identify and say clearly various shapes like square, circle & triangle..

Peng, strawberry

Today, I met a PRC tot also born in 06, but 4 months older. Her mandarin is so good, and she is very chatty and not afraid of strangers. I spoke to her mum (a peidu mama) for a while, and really confirm my belief that mummies are the best educators. No need for expensive enrichment classes and educational dvds etc, just need to spend a lot of time talking and teaching the child.

As for Chloe's progress, she is able to tell most colours and shapes.

She also knows the concept of time.
She told me, "Yesterday, I have a party in school." She understands and uses "5 more minutes" or "wait a while".

She still makes grammatical mistakes like "I is a girl", but she has managed to use simple past tense like "Mummy bought the toy for me."

If she wants something, she will use full sentences. She told her dad the other day, "Excuse me daddy, can I take my story books?" Her dad was stunned, because he still thinks of her as a baby.

However, her pronounciation is still not as clear. Sometimes, it seems like only I can make what she is trying to say.

She is getting better in preschool, which is good. One day, when I went to pick her up, she even told me she likes school and her classroom. Although the next day when I asked her to go to school, she told me otherwise. But definately making good progress, and I really like the teachers in CH. They have been so wonderful in reassuring the parent and child in a new environment. The children in Chloe's class are also sweet little angels now, compared to a month ago when they just arrived!

jus dropped by to say hello to everyone! quite happy to see most of u started ur kids to school! i'm starting cayden to school on 1 march, so looking forward! however, i foresee he will be one of those who will scream and cry...

btw, anyone weaned ur kid off his/her cot onto own bed and ultimately room?? i'm wan to do that but dunno how.

oh ya, for those of u who noticed, i changed to a new account, (sigh, cos moderator suspended my old one.
) but still stick to same nick.... :D

peng
wah!! Yuheng can say so many things in mandarin liao?? cayden is damn slow man...at home speak mandarin is it?
but he can say out alot of shapes (like pentagon, hexagon and octagon) and colours though...jus that he not picking up mandarin as fast as i hope. and those few words that he speak in mandarin got ang moh slang one.

babybush
am also amazed tt chloe can speak full sentences! seems like cayden is very slow in speech.

serenemeow
my fren is full of praises for Carpe Diem, her girl is now 5 yrs old and has been there for the last 3 yrs, so ya, go check that one out.

urm... i went to check out carpe diem @ jalan jurong kechil. was full of high expectation cos that's the 1st centre set up among the carpe diem chain. super un-impressed cos it was super run-down. my hubby said the children dun look happy there. anyway, we dun like what we saw there.

pass by carpe diem @ royal rd almost everyday. also dun like it there. it's like some old bungalow, not maintained, rain will drip thru the roof type. i find the school compund looks messy. this one i didnt visit, my comment purely based on what i saw when i pass by. but my colleague likes it a lot. he said got animals roaming ard, so good for children to learn abt them.

my gal, attending childcare for 3-plus months liao. every morning still cry when i say bye-bye to her. the rest of the day will be fine. then when i fetch her, she super happy one. can hold my hand & say "lorraine today cry again".

Just when I thought Wayne is coping well and enjoying himself in school, last night notice red spot on his sole and ulcer in his mouth.

I suspect he kanna HFMD and is going to bring him to pd later to confirm.

Haiz! he is going to miss school for 2 weeks again. This morning he still says his teacher name and says he want to go swimming pool as last Friday they have waterplay and he likes it a lot.

dumbger, twendy,
I'm going to bring JK to the Carpe Diem which is at Punggol end.. my neighbour's kids is there and she's also full of priaises.. only down side is that there are many mosquitoes, every morning, the kids are "treated" with insect repellent b4 class.

Just an update on his 1st lesson in GUG after his PG experience... he happily went to GUG on sat and enjoyed the singing and story telling.. but he still cried when he didn't see me in his sight.. Have alerted his teacher on his case... To my surprise the teacher really very caring, as and when JK starts his "crying" and ask for me, the teacher will call him to sit with her and he will stop....

JK also converse in mandarin..
I'm proud to say he's speaking very fluently now, like normal adults... but he's getting more stubborn and rebellious, always wanting to challenge me. e.g.
Yesterday, we went to my grandma house for dinner and before we go he told me this (exact words)...
JK: 娃娃不要去太婆家. (he call himself 娃娃)
me: 为什么不要?
me: 因为娃娃不喜欢.(如果)我去我就要哭.
What he meant is that he challenging me.. if I "force" him to go, he will cry at my grandma's place...

Here's wat his comments after we came back.(exact words again)
JK: 娃娃在太婆家哭
me: 对啊,为什么哭? 有什么好哭?
JK: 对啊,去太婆家很开心,不用哭.不是好行为.

really have no way with him... his thoughts are too mature for me to catch up sometimes...

nowadays he also tries to create his own versionenglish and makes me laugh upside down...
His english grammar/sentence construction is retricting of using simple words like this, there, where, how... but his english vocab is comparable to his chinese ones... yestday again he's teaching his Elmo to read.. took out a book on diggers and start ranting... " this cement mixer go there, this digger roll there"

I thinking of also sending him to some phonics class for his english.. he has no probs in mandarin liao... sometimes even better than me..

wayne's mummy,
hope Wayne is ok..take care yah.

nowadays Ashley likes to ask the "who, where,what" questions..sometimes when we see a passerby, she asks me "mummy, where is that aunty going?"...aiyo..how i know..?

but i agree with serene that it's harder to negotiate with them lately.
Sometimes I'll tell Ashley that I'll take certain things for her later...recently she has been saying "mummy, go now..not later"
cannot buy time liao..heehee

i'll usually try to do it faster also .otherwise I foresee I get the same response from her when I ask her to do things also.

serenemeow
Pama gal Hayley is also in carpe diem but i forgot which liao only noe tat it at punggol.

My gal also in carpe diem but at jurong west anyway if i were to recommend tis sch it is great but it all depend on the branch itself cos it a franchise thingy.

My gal has outing almost every mth and the frequency is 1-2 mth once(depnd on the sch itself) and every yr they got yr end concert so we can see how they perform on stage(every branch has it).

garfield,
thanx... was thinking of bring my son this fri to check out.. will follow my neighbour to go :p
another thing to worry cos they have to go by sch bus... so not sure whether my son ok to take bus alone or not :p

heehee.. i have been seeing Pama at GUG every sat.. but she don't recognise me liao :p

Happy New Year mummies...kekeke..though its the last day..havent had time to chat and all for so long....been busy with work and all..sending Ashton to Tothouse behind my mum's place..signed him up for june class since now alot of kids seem to be sick..he too...wah..all the kids can say so many words oredi..mine hor..mummy lazy nvr teach...better wake up liao..kekekeke...

whao peng, serenemeow

YH & JK so fast can converse in mandarin even. Owen can only says "zhe bian xia qiu" (go down from here), or "na bian nah" (there lah). YH can even says and shows his fingers that he is 2 years old, that's something I have given up in teaching Owen to do. But I have started to repeat Chinese words corresponding to the English words that he knew whenever we passed by those physical items, like double-decker bus, dust bin... One plus point is that he can identify shapes with colors, by saying yellow square, red heart, purple triangle, etc..

bblush,

Chloe is able to put her requests in words, that's something very difficult for Owen. He will point and there there there only, have been correcting him until I'm giving up.

Now worse, he will scream his lungs out to get something, if we didn't respond to his "there.." or if he can't have something done. When he burst into screams and cries, he will come to me, expecting carry. I dunno wats the better way to handle leh, tried ignoring him, his cries worsen. I ever quickly carry him & talk, but he didn't seems to learn.. haiz

dumbger, chloe has been sleeping on a queen-sized bed in her own room for more than a year now.

We moved her out of her cot very early on, as she did not really like being confined by the railings. You can entice Cayden to sleep on a bed by letting him choose his own bed(esp those in sports' car shape), and also putting some of his favourite toys on the bed.

I tot you put Cayden in Little Skool House? Maybe I'm mistaken.

serenemeow, JK's mandarin is really good. Chloe's mandarin is very limited because I hardly use it with her. My MIL even commented that her zai jian (goodbye) sounds very ang moh.

Caydens mummy, I use Select for tingkat dinners before. Very yummy, but a bit more pricy.

strawberry
I think the reason why Owen screams is because he feels that you can't understand him, so he is frustrated. Try to calm him down by speaking in a calm voice, and tell him that you cannot understand him if he screams.

For children who are not speaking well yet, I would recommend teaching them to sign. I have tried that with Chloe since she's 7 months old. It lessens their frustration when they are understood.

dumbger..yah most of the time converse mandarin at home with him
since turning 2 yrs he been sleeping on the floor, he just dun one confine in the cot liao.

strawberry...hahaha the 2 yr old thing i also teach until vomit but i stop for quite sometime..continue teaching Owen he will surprise u one day like YH heee..I'm not so worry YH's english as he can say quite a lot of singular though not in sentence. Last few days I 'tested' out his ability in recognising animals, fruit etc he pass loz hahaha...so far he can also count in mandarin & english from 1-10 & recognising certain alphabets, he likes to make silly mistakes like saying 'M' as 'Z' & 'Y' as 'V', I have a ABC playmat which all the alphabet can be removed one, for him to learn & play.

babyblush, strawberry,
I owe my mum a big time cos it's her who has trained JK to his current speech fluency, be it english or mandarin. sad to say i really didn't spend too much time with him since I have been travelling around last year...
But one thing i must concur, we need to talk alot to the kids, even though he may not understand or reply... cos such "talking" actually stimulates them and help them to grasp the language faster.. tat's what my mum practice since JK is born.

garfield,
thanx for your info... BTW do you know whether Hayley is full day CC or 3hrs class type?

pauline,
i'm ordering the tingkat catering from YLS.
So far so good..not too saltish..the portion also quite big.

but my mum cooks separately for Ashley..she'll boil soup (for all) and cook fish and other items for Ashley. Somehow the catering food will sure have MSG and salt..so may not be too suitable for the kids.

one more thing you may wanna note is the delivery time. It's rather early..around 3.30 - 4pm for my mum's area...we usually heat the food up before we have dinner around 8pm.

serenewmeow, twendy
oops to the Carpe Diem at jurong kechil and royal...my fren recommend that one is at Punggol though, so serenemeow, u can breathe a slight sigh of relief! :D but abt the mosquitoes...the school shld do something abt it leh...(read AEDES!!)...u can't jus rely on insect repellent leh.

babyblush
i waitlisted him for little skoolhouse, but the i've been waitlisted for almost 9 mths liao. so gave up. now i've enrolled him half day for MYMCA at AMK, walking distance from MIL's house.

ya i was thinking to buy a mickey mouse bed for him (he loves MM clubhouse!) but i've this problem...i got no space to put his bed in my room, and i dun think i can move him immediately to his own room right?

serenemeow
If i remember correctly she should be in full day class.

dumbger
Actually most ppl would recommend comment about those resort type carpe diem but seldom ppl praise about those HDB 1 leh but honestly for my gal sch i am very happy wif their service and the 1 policy tat they uphold is price guaranteen so the price will remain the same from the day they joined till they finish the whole period they were there.