(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

hihi wtan,

Either side of the palm will do.
For my case, i just place the ring against my palm and rub the ring gently and place it on my palm.The ring will start to swing by itself...
Either horizontally or in circular motion...

Sorry if my explanation is bad...

Hi Jenny, I'm getting much better. Thank you.

I found out, my scan in KKH is called the Primier Fetal Scan. Basically it includes an ultra sound scan of the nuchal trnslucency. The presence or absence of nasal bone and other strcutural abnormalities will also be evaluated during the scan. If doing only the scan it's $157.50, the acuuracy is 80-85%. If do both scans and blood test, it's $315 for bloodtest during wk 11-14. And It's $245 if blood test during wk 15-20. Accuracy is 90% for scan combined with blood test. For 100% accuracy, will have to do amniocentesis or chronic villus sampling. But that carry a small risk of (about 1%) miscarriage. Moreover, that can be rather painful for Mummy. Last year I did it. Not pain killer, they insert needle through stomach to withdraw fluid. But maybe painful for me cos gynae need to withdraw fluid from 3 places for (normally it's only 1 withdrawl) as my abay was ill then. But I felt that pain was worthwhile at least we know our bb had no chromosonal defects and his illness was caused by external virus. I'll still advocate not doing this test unless other tests show that one is in the high risk group as no point putting baby in risk. Now that the non-invasive tests can be as accurate as 90%, I think it's no harm. So I'm going for my test on 3 Apr.

Hi Vivian, I'm open to any job that comes by lor. beggars can't be choosers. I'm doing Marketing research work now, but am open to other kind of contract or part-time job like admin help in office, scretaria work, receptionist, data entry...Just to occupy time and earn some money. BB coming soon, more mouth to feed.

I know, now's the time to take good care of ourselves, that's why I resign. Not easy to let go, but then I know bb is my priority and since boss can't understand I gotta give up job.

Wow, almost cant catch up with u all.. Postings move too fast.. Anyway, the link I've posted, my aunt told me to use my chinese age & that's a lunar calendar, so cant follow the normal calendar. Haha, the only problem is I not sure when was the month I concieve(cuz b4 & during cny also got try
)..

By the way, about the triple tests, OSCAR, it's only to test whether bb got DS or not right?? Cuz I I opted out for the test for DS leh. Gynae says chances of me having DS bb will be extremely low since im 21 only. Thats y I opted out (can save $ mah.) hehehe.
I did the test for my 1st pregnancy, find it quite redundant leh, thats y now 2nd pregnancy, I didnt want to do the test.

By the way, any mummies here have loss of appetite when u got pregnant?? I got no appetite for anything when I got pregnant. See any food, I'll feel like vomiting

Wah, so many threads in just one day!
Ladies who have not MS (like me), my gynea told me it does not mean that after 1st trimester it will not come

ndar's mum, like you I have no appetite now. I used to be called the ultimate eating machine by my ex-boss, but now, I take tow hours to finish my breakfast bit by bit. Ya, the main purpose of those tests are for DS only.

hi wtan,

i used to like soupy stuff in early pregnancy, but not anymore. now i crave 4 guilty items like fried chix, fried fish, sigh, most fried items. and still no intake of veggies! i am gg crazy!

not sure if my gynae will b doing the test 4 me leh. will noe aft my gynae visit this wk.

hey ur old wives tales, i read it somewhere b4. after a while, i got confused whether mine is a son or daughter. hehehe.. so i juz 4get abt it lah. as long as baby healthy, tts utmost importance mah.

Jenny,

OH PLEASE! i dun wanna b the unlucky mummy to suffer MS 4 the rest of my pregnancy!
i wanna enjoy my pregnancy and enjoy food leh! *crossing my fingers real tight*

doggiemummy,

i hv heard of tt b4, but dun scare urself yet! if u keep thinkg abt it, it might come true. so juz enjoy ue best state now and i hope those mummies like me got MS will b able to enjoy soon and say "NO MORE MS! YIPPIE!" am so lookg fwd to tt day man...

so far i think jenny and coral hv MS like me... who else in the same league?

Hi Jenny,

Really? SGH got offer OSCAR? *sigh* too bad, I have already made an appt to TMC tomorrow for the test...

Hi coral,

Rest well. Take it as a good rest before the baby arrive and you can also take your time to find a more family-oriented company.

Hi crystallized,

Me now on/off will still have MS in the morning. Either trigger off by the toothpaste or after brushing my teeth, the water that I drink. Discover that I can't take room temp water, have to take warm water to minimise MS.

Anyone in the same situation as me? I do not have much appetite these few days, don't feel hungry at all. For the past few earlier weeks, able to eat during day time, now don't even feel like eating tea time after having my lunch. Also, my tummy don't seems like growing. Worried....

Good morning mtbs...

Hi coral,
thanks for sharing on the test from KKH. Think what my gynae suggest to me is the same as yours. I will be taking the test on my 4th mth, 15 April. Hee... since hb there, so he decided to take it later instead of my 3rd mth. coz even if it is bad news (choy.. touchwood)... we cannot do anything and will not do anything to the bb (if you know what i mean)... so might as well save a bit of money and hope for the best...
You rest well now... I try to keep a look out for you regarding your temp job...

Hi doggiemummy...
wah.. like long time never hear from you leh... how's everything? I just read abt the morning sickness thing in some books. Most likely MS should tapers down after 1st trimester as the level of hCG (the one we test using our pregnancy test kit) will decrease after 1st trimester until delivery. hCG is the one that causes MS. Some ppl are super sensitive to it, that is why some ppl got quite bad MS, while ppl like me, seems to be ok with it. But your gynae may be right... you never know... choy choy choy...
think positive..

Hi crystallized,
I am the same as you... loved all the soupy food during pregnancy and crave for fried food... it seems like suddenly all the unhealthy food tasted the best... haha... well, I tried to control myself though... keep telling myself, cannot take too much of fried food... will put on weight leh... think sometimes work... sometimes not... haha... but i still like soupy stuff, esp. those boiled for very long ones... so sometimes, i am so sick of food, i can just told my hb to buy me some soup and thats my dinner for the night...

Hi Gemini,
Dun need to be too worried abt your tummy. Mine dun show too.. until one fine day, SUDDENLY can see a slight bump... I was still wondering if is fats or bb... so yours, one fine day will have the same thing. When you forgot to check on your tummy one day, *de-ring...*, the next day, it will show...
so relax and stay happy...

Oh, and one other thing which I am quite surprised when my gynae told me last visit, is that if I am very very worried abt the bb (as we still cannot feel the bb's movement right now) but still have a long way to the next visit, I can just arrange a uscan with her to just double check on the bb... that will put the mummy at ease... very impt... I am glad that I can do that... at least my gynae understand that...
you may want to check if you can do that too.... but of coz every visit cost money lah... but sometimes, pay a bit to make yourself less worried, i think it is worth it, esp. sometimes we think too much negative things... Anyway, stay positive lah...

Hi hi babybenmen..
Hmm..okok, then never mind lahcoz me cant seem to figure it out..its ok, thks anyway for sharing this with us..thks! so is ur moving in a circular or horizontal manner? Hee..

Hi hi coral
Thks for sharing abt this with us..hmm..seems rather painful from what u have describle..but I guess will really give a peace of mind aft doing the test..for me, I will be doing a FT Scan (scan + withdrawal of blood) on 4 Apr at CAMDEN coz appts at Raffles is fully booked & also I dun want to go to TMC..do u know if we get to know the result immediately? I guess u made a right choice in resigning at ur work..since baby is ur priority & u shd take EXTRA care of urself..i m sure the baby will bring u good fortune..cheers~

Hi hi ndras mum..
Wow..u r only 21..u r so young..i guess the youngest mum we have here..i so envy u, already #2..cool! for me for a start, its more of I duno what to eat everytime when I m hungry..but aft a while, feel much better..but I have been eating non-stop..haha..

Hi hi doggiemummy..
Ya, I agreed with what u said, no MS doesnt mean later stage wont have MS..lets cross our fingers & hope that MS wont come..LOL..heehee..**wink-wink**..

Hi hi crystallized
Oic..hmm..maybe u can try to intake more fruits if u dun think u like vege..me also find that I dun particularly like some vege..so I got to ask my mum to grind the vege for me & cook together with porridge (like babys food) then I will eat together with everything mixed..i ate this once a week..hopefully its healthier for baby..heehee..actually I didnt really read much on the old wives tales as well..coz I think its still quite early to have much signs..heehee..ya, as long as the baby is healthy, thats very impt..anyway since I love children..so its ok with me to find out later..heehee..

Hi hi Gemini..
Dun think so much..try to eat something light even if u dun feel like eating..maybe can consider drinking milk or intake some fruits? Hope u feel better..take gd care..cheers~

Hi hi Vivian..
I think if u want to opt for the testhave to do it within ur 12-14th wk, right? Hmm..i think most impt is to stay positive..this is really impt..dun think too much on the date to see baby (thou I know its really very hard) but try ur best & u will realized time passed very fast..heehee..cheers~

coral,
Great to know you are doing well. KKH will be doing every test, unlike private gynae, they let us opt. You are taking amnicentesis test? Quite dangerous leh. I know most women avoid this test unless they are over 35. You going ah?

ndra,
You are so young, no need to take OSCAR or triple test lah. Yes, they are for testing DS only.
I'm considering opting out. You know the stress waiting for test result? If the test result is negative, will have to stress till bb is born. In most cases, BBs are actually ok one.

crystallized,
You are not alone. I also eating junk food. Proper meals I can't take. I also eat a lot of fried chicken, french fries (a lot), laksa etc. And I feel very good after eating hahaa...

Gemini,
Err I saw SGH listed in the list that my gyane showed me. So should have bah.
Have you try drinking light tea? The nurse at my gynae's clinic told me light tea helps to ease MS.

2nd time mums,
Can you feel bb's movements? I think I felt the movements a few times since last week.
Also regarding cranky/superglue No.1, I heard if they will be cranky/superglue till we 4 mths preggie. If after that still continues, they will be cranky/superglue till we give birth. Dunno how true lah.

hi hi jenny..
i think if u have been 2nd time mums, u will be able to feel the baby's movement more earlier than the 1st time mum..which is very gd..hee..

Hi wtan,
My gynae told me i can take the test later. Mine is triple test + scan. They charge by the time you take the test somemore... so if you take later, e.g during 4th mth, it is cheaper than you take it during 3rd mth.
My hb decided to take the later one since the accurancy is the same. My concern is more like if I found out abt DS (touchwood..) eariler, can I do something or go thru some treatment to help, and the answer is no... so to me, early find out and late find out also means the same... Some mtbs prefer not to find out since there is no cure but to me, personally, at least it will give me more time to mentally prepare myself, coz me and hb is absolutely against abortion, esp. just becoz of bb having DS.
But then again, choy choy choy... must stay positive, 'BB is growing well and healthy!!!' hee..:D

Hi Jenny, you always never read my post properly leh. I said I did that last year. And I don't encourage people to do that unless scan or blood test show very high risk. Last year for me is no choice as bb sick so we did every test available to find our cuase of his illness. This time I'm only doing the scan and blood test.

Wtan, not too sure as this is teh first tiem I'm doing the scan. But if i remember correctly, my gynae say can know when he do the scan.

Vivian,
Hmm personally HB and I feel if bb has DS, it means maybe in our previous life, we must have owe BB something. Thats why this life, we need to pay back. Anyway, don't think too much. The test results do not mean BB is unhealthy. Most cases came out to be healthy BBs. Our BBs are all healthy and happy BBs!

Coral,
Aiyo, sorry. I always read the posting very fast keke. How did you know bb was sick that time?

The detailed scan show that he has water in his lungs and stomach. All tests show hb and i to be healthy and bb to have no chromosonal defects. It was only during post moterm that they discovered he was attacked by chicken pox like virus (although we foudn out that I'm immune to chicken pox). And I remembered my boss had Shingles (don't know how to spell)that Monday and on Saturday we found bb to be sick. So sad lor. And poor bb, he had internal bleeding ing his lungs and throat, good thing now he's in heaven not suffering anymore.

Hi Vivian, at first I wanted to take test later as my hb travelling but gynae told me it's more accurate in terms of the measurement if we do earlier, so that's why I'm doing it when I'm 12wks 2days.

coral,
I see. You reminded me leh, my colleague also kena shingles when I was preggie with my gal and he still came into office. But read in Internet that it won't spread like chicken pox. Anyway his immediate supervisor "ordered" him to go home cos I was preggie and was about to deliver in 1 to 2 mths time.

Hi hi vivian..
Oic..i get what u meant, also I think its cheaper for u to go for the triple test at the later stage as compared to the scan done betw the 12-14th wk..like I got 2nd thots in taking the FT Scan (I think also known as OSCAR scan)..bcoz we met up with a ex-colleague who is a mother of 2, she personally thinks that I dun have to go for such test..for her bcoz she said shes considered to have a age when shes preggy with her 1st boy..so she went for the triple test then..her boy is abt 2yr + now I think..so I m thinking if I shd really go for the test...confuse..

Hi hi coral..
Hmm..then in this case, maybe u will get to know the result early..me now having 2nd thots of doing the scan..duno if I shd go for it anot..dun think so much abt the past since now u r pretty stable..maybe can talk to baby & ask baby to be healthy..

hi hi Jenny..
what's this "shingles" abt? seems to be very serious..i found something from the internet abt this (http://www.state.sd.us/doh/Pubs/shingles.htm) but trying to figure out what is this..hmm..

Hi Jenny,
I agree to you and your hb's thinking too... soemtimes, all these are fated one lor... Just have to accept it... recently just saw a documentary on ChU/Ch8 abt children having problems in walking, learning skills etc... so sad... tears came down when i was watching the show. My hb tried to stop me from watching the show... Sometimes, I really 'bei fu' those parents who have kids that are sick, and yet they tried to support them as much as possible even they know that it is a lifetime thing and it is going to be tough... very 'wei da'...
Then again, all our bbs will be healthy lah... hee...

Hi coral,
Sorry abt your bb... this is better than he lives and suffers all the time i guess...
Dun worry too much, this time your bb will be happy and healthy...

As for the test, my gynae like very confident that everything will be ok... so she give us the option when we taking the test... doesn't matter to me lah... just hope the bb is ok...

These people very scary one hor.. got contagious illness liao still go to work... I got one colleague also like that... he suspected he got chicken pox liao, whole face got little dots liao, still refused to go see doctor... insisted to stay in office... never spare a thot for those who haven kanna chicken pox... very bad...

Now I can only pray hard hard that i wun get coz i haven got it and din get the vaccine jabs... regreted... should have took the vaccine jabs...

Hi Jenny,

Thanks! Will take note of people around me!
Cause i didnt know about this illness until u ladies mentioned about it....
So scary!

Vivian,
In that case, try to avoid crowded places to reduce the % of kena. Ya, some ppl really buay zi dong. Especially those virus that will spread. For goodness sake, take MC and stay at home to rest lah. What's the use of getting own health sick?

My aunt in law kena chicken pox when she was preggie with my cousin. Think she kena during her 3rd trimester. Lucky my cousin was born healthy.

Hi MTBs,

I think there is a problem with the website just now, not able to post.

An update on the OSCAR test that I have did this am, the scan shows that the thickness of my baby is ok, within the normal range. But in order for the scan to be more clearer, your bladder have to be full as the baby is still small. Lucky thing, the baby is in the correct position for the technologist to locate the neck area. My blood sample was also taken. As for the results which 1 or 2 days later will know, but it will be faxed to my gynae so it depends on whether my gynae nurses will call me or during my next visit 2 weeks later. The whole procedure takes about 45 mins.

The OSCAR test at TMC costs $312.90 (incl. 5% GST).

Hi Jenny,

I can't take tea. Too "liang" for me. Even before my pregnancy, can only take 1 cup per day only.

Hi Wendy,

Thks. Normally, I will try to drink milk, eat cheese during 3-4pm even I don't feel hungry. Try to force myself to eat something light.

As for whether you want to do the scan, it's up to u and your HB to decide. If you have decided to go go thro' the whole pregnancy, then you can forget about the test, since you have decided to accept the baby regardless of what may the result is.

For my case, I want to have an assurance earlier due to my condition (though it can't be detected by any tests) till the baby is born. But I wanted to reduce unnecessary worries in the later stage. Buy an "an xin" loh.

I need to do an detailed scan on the functional organs during my 20th week to ensure that the baby is growing normally (which you gals will also be doing). I think this is the scan that I will be worrying most. Cos epilespy can cause damage to the brain/nerves system.

Thanks ladies. Ya, I'm staying postive. This time I very kiasu, check for all sort of immunity before getting preg. My mum got chicken pox one week before delivering me, so I'm born with natural immunity to chicken pox.
My gynae told me to avoid young children as he say young children are more likely to carry virus that are not common to adults so more likely for our body to start reacting if we come across those. But he say anyway, no where is safe unless he can keep me in a vaccum. So just gotta relax and be more careful.

Hi Jenny, thanks, a lady form the forum alert me about that posting, I'll prob PM the lady later.

hi hi ladies..
thks for sharing abt this virus..i guess everyone got to take gd care of urself..esp at this period of time..

hi hi Gemini..
thks for sharing with us abt the procedures..thks for letting us know that we need to have a full bladder..heehee..i guess it's gd that u get to have peace at heart aft doing the scan..oh, the test at TMC also doesnt seem any much cheaper as compared to Camden or Raffles, if i decided to go for the test, then i will most likely be paying for abt $350 or so..hmm, will discuss it out with hubby & see hw..if not, tmrw go & check with gynae again if want to go & do the test anot..do keep us posted on ur results..u can talk to baby & tell baby to help heal u & grow together with u healthly..it might works..stay positive! cheers~

Hi Wendy

Remember me, jovia, from Oct 05 brides forum? So great to see you here in this threat as I am surfing around... so u r going to have a bb in same month as your 1st anniversary!

I just tested positive last week, now is only in my 4th week I think? So will be in the other thread under Nov 06

You know anyone else in Oct 05 bride also pregnant as well?

gemini!

hi-5! in early pregnancy, i cant take water tt is room temp, so in ofc i hv to keep adding warm water to my alrdy cooled off water so i can stomach it better. i realised it helps to keep wind away as well. there were a few times when i woke up, i drank water, immed i puke coz the water had turned into room temp & was a bit chilled. so now i hv gotten used to drinking warm water though i hated tt v much in the past! hehe

hey dun worry! we r in the same league. hunger pangs nvr hits me. i dun feel hungry anymore. but i noe i muz eat, else the wind will come & find me and the pain is unbearable. so when my tummy starts churning or i feel funny signals, i quickly start searchg 4 small snacks to munch. usually it helps.

dun worry, my tummy oso not growing much. we r not supposed to gain much weight at this time, esp when we got MS.

vivian,
yah same lor. tried to psycho myself tt fried stuff unhealthy 4 me & baby but usually i give in coz it beats than not eatg anything at all rite? juz try to limit. anyway i am alrdy consuming at half my usual meal size liao, so hope i am ok.

yah i find my appetite at dinner the worst! sometimes i juz eat 1 or 2 mouthful of food and thats it. i cant stomach anymore. and this period i feel v nausea aft dinner. usually end up puking at least once. and dunno wat i vomit. usually so sour i end up dun dare to vomit anymore.

wtan,
i am tryg to consume at least 2 servings of fruits a day, though i noe its v insufficent lor. but i am avoiding all the too sweet fruits like honeydew nowadays. used to take it daily coz the fruits we can get fr fruit stalls quite limited. until the sweet taste lingers whole day in my tongue, i avoided those fd wif strong taste nowadays. usually i take kiwi or apples lor. sigh. now i am tryg to take in salads coz this is the only form i can take veggies.

salad dressings like Thousand Islands safe 4 us anot? any ladies aware?

Jenny,
hehehe, found my partner in "crime" i oso feel gd aft eatg those huilty food. hahahaha...

gals....
bf still can get preg....but slim chance...some pple can preg without weaning...some need to nite wean to preg..some even need to fully wean...and is ok to bf thru preg....cos i m still doing it....now still no scientific proven that bf will cause the young ones inside to be unhealthy....

coral...
hw cme dun lun lun abit...then get the maternity leave then quit...but sometimes really not easy to work till end of full term without able to take leave to rest....take care alrite....i m sure this time preg would be a smooth one...

jenny
with more experience i guess bfeeding would be a better experince ...usu second child delivery would be better than the first..then u would be able to breastfeed the little one longer....

today very angry....the cleaning aunty in my co. came to my cubicle and ask me is it me having menses then make till whole toilet bowl n floor bloody....*fume*

hi hi Jovia|Ger..
very nice to see u ard here..haha..welcome to join us..hmm..i m very poor in the calculation of EDD, do u think ur EDD will be in Oct 06? i dun think there's any Oct 05 brides here..so far..not that i know of..coz, i didnt ask so far..heehee..i think u shd start making appt to see a gynae now..ya, i m also looking forward to celebrate the birth of our 1st bb & also our 1st yr wedding anniversary together this Oct 06..hee..

hi hi crystallized..
it's gd to hear that u r still eating even thou u dun feel hungry..coz it's impt lor..must eat proper meals at least..nice to hear that u r eating at least 2 servings of fruits..i really feel very guilty leh..me hardly eat fruits..okok, will try to intake some fruits as much as possible..heehee..as for salad..i m not sure abt whether if we can intake thousand island sauce leh..maybe also dun eat too much raw vege..cooked ones are better..i think..

morning ladies

<font color="ff6000">jenny</font>
You've got mail!

<font color="ff6000">angeline</font>
aiyo, why that auntie like that ask u? are you the only female in the company or just so happen that you are the only female around?

fruits
I like to eat fruits nowadays.. esp watery ones like grapes, watermelon(only hv it once a while), etc. Just saw mentioned of kiwi... maybe I shall have that later .. keke..

chihiro
cos my co. few ladies oni....then i m the youngest among the rest...so tot i young dun knw how to maintain!!!....when my tummy shows...she sure will ask...preg ar?...the i make sure i fake fake say..yeah ...preg...few mths liao...emphasize...haa..

doggiemummy
how are u?...is everything stabilised alr?....

vivian
yeah good weather...
traffic also good..
nearly fell asleep while driving..
u gals knw of any thing for the seatbelt so that it wun tie ard the tummy?...is really making me uncomfy...

but it still tighten ard there...making me wan to puke...greeat to hear u are fine now.....

chihiro
they say try to avoid banana watermelon n orange...cos they cause our little one to be phelgmy when they are born....

Hi Angeline,
I have the same problem abt seatbelts too...
Hb just bought new car... seatbelt super tight...
Keep complaining to him and ask him to get those belt clips so that I can clip on the belt and not so tight... but he keep saying, "then what is the use of the seat belt... not safe not safe..." until now still dun do anything...

Think one day, i dun care abt him liao... just buy myself...

You can check out on the seatbelt clips (selling in NTUC and a lot of other places). Or I think I saw some taxi uncles use those clothe pegs and clip on the belt to make it loose.