(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Jenny,
We have been encouraging K to drink his milk from cup for quite a while but it was not consistent. Then, about 3 to 4 months ago, he suddenly asked for his milk to be served in a cup! I immediately told my mum to do the same at her place and he has been using the cup since then. I actually went out to buy similar type of cups for both home and my mum's place so that it will be the same "feel" for him at both sides.

Aspialle,
What about getting a part-time helper? That is how I have been coping from the time I am pregnant with the second one until now. Previously when with just one child, we were still doing everything on our own. Now, I still have to do some day to day housework late at night after the kids sleep, but at least for heavy cleaning and ironing, I leave it to the part-time helper.

Jen, I did not use any powder...It was a simply painful and itchy experience.

Dor, I did the blood test at the gynea b4 I get myself preg...but the fact I still caught CP, think the blood test no good leh.

Jerene, post pic of your chuncky bracelet. That's something I like and don't mind if hb give it to me over and over again. But till now he's still trying to convince me to accept iphone as xmas gift, am not sure how it'll conflict with my staff plan for blackberry, my boss not supportive of me changing to iphone leh. Think it's a gd thing to be civil servant, more chance of such flexi work arrangment, maybe I should find myself a job with the govt too.

aspialle, you maid is too much. She can't have her way for everything, don't let her bully you. Get rid of her without telling her, else I'm owrried if she might harm you. Use a part-time helper, it's a great relief.

Aspialle,
I got mine through agency, so it is actually more expensive compared to getting those "private" individuals. But I use agency for a piece of mind... especially since I get them to come and clean when I am not at home. I have no wish to do advertising for the agency so have pm-ed you instead.

aspialle, use agency as it's more reliable. For mine, I pay a one time $100 to agnency and that was about 4yrs ago, not sure if price has went up.

there is a child care centre near my place, i am quite shocked that there are so many closure dates, i heard tat mcys only approved 5 days per yr, but i saw the list, from sept to dec alone, they have confirmed 5 days closure and 6 days events. this is not whole year , only just 4 mths! for working mums, do u all have issues with childcare centre tat always closed and you need to make other arrangement ?

Thanks for the contacts, will consider.

hi mummies..
wishing everyone happy holidays!

New CEO
there's a change in CEO in my co, hence everyone starts to get busy with his arrival & departure of the previous CEO..so i was very busy at work & also at the same time, new system implemented for us wef 1 Jan..i guess next yr will be a tough yr for me..my boss will be tougher in order to get promotion..stressss..

Kiddos' sick
Both my boys are down with fever..Mav seems to hv a viral infection with the fever on-going while Brod is down with Bronchiolitis & high-fever of 40.2 degree & have to take ibuprofen to bring his fever down..do hope his fever goes away soon..also Tamiflu for the viral infection..it really pains my heart soo much this Xmas when both kids are down with fever..do hope they get well soon & remain healthy as they grow..

<font color="ff0000">Happy New Year!!</font>
So fast Year 2009 is coming to its end.

As what I'm expecting... my mum gave the gals the milk bottles, especially when it's time to sleep **argh**

aspialle,
yr maid is really too much. Like what the rest mentioned, bring her back to the agent and let the agent does the job.
Ted is older now, you can't manage him with hsework? You dun need to do every single hsework at home daily, spread it out and get a PT helper in to help in major hsework if need to. Actually it's quite manageable with the kid and hsework, if you dun do cooking. How about order tingkat? Or if you want to cook, dish up simple meals. I like to prepare 1 dish with everything in it, save time.
I got my PT cleaner in once every fortnightly since early of the year instead of weekly. Feel nothing much for her to do. I'm now thinking to stop the service and do on my own liao.

Coral,
expected lor... cos adult usually suffers more. I got it when I was 10 or 11, already buay tahan liao!

Coen's down with Chicken Pox and his situation is worse than mine. Really unexpected, dunno why his outbreak is more than mine. I think overall he's got 20-30% more blisters than me. Poor boy, hs eyes so swollen cos eyelids and eyes all have blisters, lips and mouth also lots. And he breaks almost all blisters, his nice fair face gonna have lots of holes. Very very sad to see this. When I kena, I know how to relieve the itch by rubbing or using my nails for him, he doesn't know he just try to rub his whole body and twist and turn and rub his face on anything to relieve the itch. Hopes he get well soon.

Coral,
So sorry to hear that Coen had to suffer the itch and all. But the consolation is that for babies, their skin regeneration is much faster and better than adults. Likely that these potential scars will not be obvious as he grows.

And please, don't blame yourself for this ok? You had never wanted it to happen. Take care.

Thanks pups. I really hope he wont have big holes on his face like me. Haha, you knew I would blame myself. I've been apologising to him but doubt he understand the only thing is to take good care of him. When I see him cry in frustration and kicking his legs I feel so helpess. This really makes me want to tell all mums to give their kiddos chicken pox vaccine.

happy 2010 to all mummies! Really hope that all our kiddos are blessed with good health in the new year...

hi coral,

poor coen... have to suffer the itch. but as what pups has said, babies skin will regenerate fast, so dont worry too much. and of course, dont blame yourself, u definitely dont want it to happen to him.
but even with the chicken pox vaccine, it will reduce the pox but not prevent it right?

hi pups,

think i will PM u. got some questions to ask u.
thks in advance.

sleeping together
=================
on fri nite, have tried putting the 2 kids in the same room which resulted in a disaster...
initially tristan has fallen asleep, but he rolled over and bump into tricia. then tricia was there tossing about, which resulted in eventually both kids wake up. no choice, hb wake up and make milk for them around 4am, patted tristan back to sleep which he was about to fall asleep when he hear jie jie voice, opened his eyes again. i was so angry, shouted at both of them and throw them to my hb. i was very tired (my eyes cant even open) and went back to sleep.
i think with this experience, will wait till tristan maybe when he's about 18mths or 2yrs, then try it again...

hi jenny

hahaha actually the reason is my hubby is very very particular in cleanliness and his expectation is high.

i still remember when i am heavily pregnant, i still stood on stool to use toothbrush to scrub toilet floor eapecially the lines, he expect each line be white colour. of course i use bleach or detergent to soak floor before brushing. as for housework, i need to cook, normally have to prepare 1 soup and at least 2 dishes.

i thought of part time helper, but my MIL is type that will nag if i spend $$ to get helper and did not do it myself.

i have decided to put ted on full day childcare then i have more time, i can decide to work if im bored too

Coral,
The vaccine is not absolute protection also. Did the doctor prescribe anti-itch for Coen? If you have piriton syrup previously prescribed for him for runny nose, can also use that to stop his itch.

Gemini,
Replied your mail liao.

Gemini
Actually hor must see if they are sensitive to noise when they sleep. Like for D hor once he sleep, he won't be woken by Ember's cryings unless the super loud and long cryings lah. And even if E sleeps on him, he also won't wake kind lor dead to the world unless we eat supper...hahhaa
D has a thing for food n he always zun zun wake when we eat food.
Ember on the other hand will wake very very easily esp when she hears D's voice. So the 2 of them together still okie for me cos D dun wake so many times at night.

Chickenpox vaccine my pd say 2 jabs then the chance of catching will be very slim.

coral

how is ur chicken pox? if itchy can try to boil chinese tea and wipe to those itchy areas.

i haven brought ted to chicken pox vaccine cos heard that it contains a little virus, some will have chicken pox if cannot take it..

take good care and rest well.

School
=======
today is first day i brought ted to "school", full day childcare , nursery.
hope he is doing well there...he is quite choosy on food so hope that he will change. quite worried and nervous at home, duno hw he is getting on now

Chicken pox vaccine
+++++++++++++++++++++
according to doc after vaccine migth still catch it but will be very mild. So far Char ahs been spared, hope it stay this way. Been trying to keep her away from Coen, but she'll always still his drink so...

Aspialle, you hb is really very MCP, think worse than my hb. ;P

Gemini, that will happen if Iut Coen and Char to sleep together either will wake the other and then the orchestra will starts.

hi dor,

think tristan same as E, he hear a bit of noise, will wake up one... whereas for tricia, onces she's fast asleep, even we talking loudly, she wont be awoken so easily...
sigh, tricia still wake up at nite, crying for daddy when he's not sleeping next to her...

hi coral,

so what's the sleeping arrangement for both kids? u sleep with Coen, wheras Char sleep with daddy or sleep alone?

Hi guys
Happy New Year! Hope 2010 been treating you well so far...

We got back from HK/Macau on New Year Day (full flight) - had loads of fun, alexis was super excited to see the Disney princesses and Mickey and gang, she kept hugging them and shaking their hands. We took tons of photos but on New Year Eve, while dining at morton's, alexis pressed a Trash All button on our camera...the only few pictures we have are those we took AFTER that dinner, and 2 5R ones I purchased in Disneyland.

The weather was quite perfect and we enjoyed our stay at the Venetian, much nicer than Disney Hollywood Hotel! We went on the gondola where the guy sang some Spanish songs and Twinkle Twinkle for alexis
We also caught Zaia (cirque du soleil), which was fabulous, as well as a pretty decent free show at the City of Dreams! Food was good, we ordered room service every morning in Macau as alexis does not want to go out till after she is fed. Not much shopping though, except I got myself a pair of Jimmy Choo! Some tops from Shanghai Tang, and the usual stuff from Disneyland.

Yesterday was Alexis's "promotion" from pre-nursery to nursery, she did well, no fuss and remembers fondly her classmates and teachers. Her class is "Turquoise Tie", last year she was in "Red Rose". School was pretty organised and offer reassurance to parents. Though we were offered a place in NAFA, we turned it down to continue with Bethesda. Plus NAFA offered us only the afternoon slot...

Coral
I hope Coen's chickenpox spiel ends soon. Luckily Char is spared. Alexis took the chicken pox vaccine sometime back, can't recalled when. When is the earliest our child can take the vaccine? 12 mths?

Sleeping arrangement
Can't wait till the kids can sleep together in one room...that would be ideal...

Jerene,
According to hubby, you can still recover those precious photos. He mentioned something about getting a software that helps in recovering of trashed files from storage cards. The information is still in the card, just shifted about so you cannot "see" it.

Sleeping arrangement
We have been trying to put K back in his room to sleep with baby K. But in the middle of the night, it is either he YELLS for us... or he will trot over and end up on our bed. Sigh.

Pups
Maybe getting a big boy toy for K might help??
Cos D has been resisting his baby cot for very long and always want to come back to our bed after afew days. So I bought him a drum which he has been asking for. N I told him the drum was a big boy gift as he was a big boy now and he gets to sleep in his own bed.
N now he no longer resist his bed and sometimes when E doesn't sleep n climbs all over us but I want D to sleep early, I will ask D to sleep in his bed. Now he will agree and go in very willingly to sleep.
Even if we let him fall asleep in our bed and we put him back in his afterwards, he won't wake in the middle of the night and jump back to our bed anymore.

Gemini, the four of us squeeze ona king si bed. bedrail, coen, me, char, hb.

Jerene, hope you can get bck those pics. I'm alwys very worried when char meddle with the cam. So Macua is nice, had the impression it's all about gambling..

Dor,
K has overcome the first step of resisting his bed. At least he is willing to go to it and sleep. Just that he still needs to see us in the middle of the night. Sleep training him is like making baby K regress in her sleep habits... now whenever he scream, she wakes up, she sees us. Previously, I think she can soothe herself back to sleep. I need a magic wand.... one which will get the kids to sleep in their room ON THEIR OWN!

K is very into Pooh and friends and we bought him the big piglet bolster (his own choice) which he can use only on his bed. Cannot bring to our bed.

today is second day for ted to nursery. he was sitting down at the lift lobby crying, does not want to go to school, no matter hw hard i try. in the end i have to carry him by force and hand him over to teacher,haiz hope he can adapt fast, his first day is ok when he goes in but i think he hates going to school becos he cannot do whatever he likes ....a lot of changes to his lifestyle

hi coral,

wah, 4 of u squeeze into 1 king-sized bed? i can imagine must be the poor daddy and mummy who cant even turn yourself about...
my hb will never agree to this arrangement cos he's afraid he will roll over/squash the kids...

hi aspialle,

need to give ted more time to adjust himself to school which is a new environment...some kids take a month for this adjustment...

Gemini,
Oh you put the kids side by side? Separate them, so they won't roll over each other.
Put them separate at 2 sides of yr bed mah.

aspialle,
You should ask yr hb to do himself then he will know how "easy" it is to do. Say easy than do.
Be careful with too much scrubbing on the lines, which will result in wear and tear and after some years, your unit below will kena water leakage w/o you knowing. I just kena hor, and had to redo the tiles. It was so dusty during the reno. And still gotta observe for a month.
What's the difference in hiring a maid and a pt cleaner? Still gotta pay what?

Coral,
are you seeing chinese physician or western doctor for your chicken pox? Forgot to tell you chinese medicine works better.

pups,
Kaelen yelled, while Jaslyn nagged. There's one night last mth, she woke up at 2am and insisted to sleep with hb and me. We refused, and ended, she nagged and cried for 2 hours from 2am to 4am. Even Jolene got up and scolded her for distrubing ppl's sleep. Of cos, we never let her join us, if not there will be next time. Just that the 3 of us gotta bear the noise she made.

Jerene,
Looks like you had a great time. Hope you manage to recover the pics. I know how it feels... just a week ago, Jolene pressed on format function and all my pics were gone.

hi jenny,

because of the 2 kids, we went to another bedroom where's there just a super single divan bed. the 2 kids sleep on mattress on the floor with their daddy. i sleep on the bed. hahaha... i was telling my hb since both kids want u, so u sleep with them loh...

Happy New Year!!
Think most of us busy with our little tots gg for their nursery class this year.
For desiree, hmm.. 1st day a bit reluctant cos change of school but eventually still went in with my rewards promised to her after school.
And since then, she just enjoy sch and will report to me what has she been doing in the school.
Last time when she is in playgroup/pre-nursery, she will just answer "colour colour" whenever I asked what has she been doing in school.
Now, she will tell me whole lot of activties she has done in school.
Glad that she like it and continue this way...

Aspialle,
Give ted more time esp is his first time in sch with friends and teachers.
It is a phase that I believe every parents went through.

Jerene,
Great job Alexis. Guess it would be easy since she has started pre-nursery and am sure she is looking forward to sch reopens.

DEar mommies!
Wow see alot mommies worring about their babies going cc hehe and i am one of them who keep worrying also!

thankfully kat is willing to attend together with kim and in fact kat is the one pushing kim to sch daily.!
and kat is enjoying every bits in school i suppose..
But when she see us during evening time, she gets all excited! run to us and give us big hugs and kisses... hehee..

today is 3rd day and still doing good. hope it stays this way.

Gemini,
I see haha... perhaps next time when you try again, don't let the kids sleep next to each other. Maybe adults in the middle, so kids sleep at each side, or place the mattress like a L shape, then sandwich bolster in between?

Sch
===
This year, my gals's kindergarten has arranged Pre-N and Nursery to start sch on Mon. The old kids eg. K1 and K2 will only start sch today, so that the younger kids have more time to settle down. I find this arrangement very good, cos all the teachers were deploy to settle with these newly joined kids especially Pre-N kids, and not so chaos at sch.
But as previous years, Pre-N kids only need to attend 1.5 hours for the 1st 3 days, while Nursery will continue for full session.

Sch
===============
D's sch start them in 2 batches so D starts today.
Good for me cos I have more time to prepare myself.....haha
Actually didn't wanna go into class with D 1 cos he knows I cannot go in with him. Then all parents went in lor so I tot okie go in and see hw. Then jialat super sticky to me lor keep coming to me, wanna sit with me, dun wanna hold ppl's hand........sigh
Hope it gets better tml.

Gemini
I am afraid my hubby will squash Ember!!.....hahaha
I used to be the 1 to block the kids. Then cos D is old enough to defend himself, I sleep between the kids with hubby next to D.
Even now I must sleep between hubby n E to defend her.
When hubby looks after sleeping kids while I bath hor I must still open the door to throw something at him or shout for him to wake to tend the kids if they wake 1 lor.
So whenever he tells Ember he sleep with her tonite, I will tell Ember later her Papa will squash her she must shout louder....haha

Jenny
Yah I agree cannot relent cos will have next time 1. My hubby super lazy lor and sometimes he will not put D back to his bed. But now I die die also will make him put D back. N even when D says he wants to sleep in our bed like last night, I always give him a choice. Either he gets out and sleep with our dog or he sleep in his own bed........hahaha

Adeline
Good for you that Kat respond so well to sch.
I won't be worried abt D at all 2 mths ago. But cos he recently changed pattern..............sigh
Super worried lor cos I know sure cry and he is so stubborn I dunno hw long he will cry. N I can't do disappearing acts cos I know it will make it worse.

Doreen,
wasted, you should have stay far from the class if Damien is ok. Just peek occasionally. Try again tomorrow bah.
No choice, Jaslyn is very "cunning" de. She plays prank, I must play prank also. You know hor, on days when she doesn't want to go home, she fakes sleeping during her afternoon nap!

yesterday already told maid we are not renewing her, to my surprise she got everything arranged. her contract has no off day but sometimes we allow her to go on off, so she took the time to go agency during off day to check abt transfer procedures. she wanted to find foreigner employer and at least $400 per mth with at least one rest day. nw she is drawing $350, no rest day.

today she told me she need to go down agency to fill appln form, asked for $20 as she always remit all her money. she went from 9am till ard 3pm then come back. Evening, she received a call, told me she needed to go down again to agency tomorrow. there is an american family offering her $450 with 2 rest days.duno if its true....

scared that everyday she ask to go out saying to agency...

Gemini, my hb ued to be bad but after these 3 yrs of training he's good, won't squash the kids, anyway he sleep beside Char who's capable of defending her turf. And yes, I can't move at all, only shift whenever Coen wants milk or when Cahr wants to hold my elbow. Haiz, when will I hv my bed back? But then I'm happy with this arrnagement when they're this young, very often i detect high fever etc fast with them beside me.

jen my chicken pox long over.

Happy new year ladies!
It was a good start as I manage to get lele back her old sleeping habit. My hubby does not need to sleep with her in the room. My husband has been sleeping with her since her night terror episode but I realize she doesn't sleep well as she kept peeping to see if my hubby is around. I also think she is now of age to understand me better so I started her on a chant. "lele sleep in lele room papa mama sleep in papa mama room and kor kor sleep in kor kor room" I even brought her to see zac sleep in the room. It is like brainwashing. On the second day, she repeated the chant after me and went to her cot without fuss. She didint cry the whole night. Hope this continues. I am overjoyed cos we can have our night back. I think have to be firmed and also timing.

Coral
hope u have a speedy recovery!

Shipping from Australia
anyone has shipped bulky items from Australia? Which company shipping cost the lowest? I am going Sydney this weekend thinking of buying bed and bookshelves from there but scared can't being back and may need to ship back. Wanna do some research before going.

HI guys thanks for helping to try bring back the photos, hubby tried the link and he discovered the photos can only be recovered if NO OTHER photos were taken after that Delete All function was pressed, so too late...sigh...

Shirley, dunno abt shipping but be sure to enjoy your holiday! I love Sydney. And Melbourne. And Gold Coast. Even their quieter neighbours, Perth and Darwin, I like! haha...

Aspialle, when does maid contract ends? And poor Ted! But I am sure it is a matter of time before he loves going to school

Selina, does Cortina carry Patek Philippe models? Can you get staff price?

Dor, finally you start Damien on school...is Ember still going Julia Gabriel? I wanna start austen prob when he is ten mths old.

Jen, when is reno ending?

Coral, our firm renewed the lease for another 3 yrs so we are staying put, what about yours? Firm up the new place already? BTW my part time work schedule will start in April 2010. Looking fwd...

Delphine,
That is so nice! I am still waiting for the day K is willing to tell me about what he does in school. Teacher feedback that he is doing ok in school but he seems not to want to tell me anything. He did say he doesn't like school but just cannot/don't want to tell me why....

Is there any reason why you changed school for Desiree?

Pups,
Her ex school only have classes from playgroup to nursery and it is located near my mum's block.
Since I have already shifted to my own house, might as well enrol her to PCF below my block. It is very much more convenient.

Jerene
E is not in any classes at all. Yes I know very kelian 2nd child but really no extra cash for her to go classes. And heng she has D to learn from and so far doesn't give me any worries......hehehe

Jenny
sigh yah lor but I worry he will bian pattern n cry again when he sees all the parent in class but me not around.
Tml hopefully he does what he say lah I told him I will just stay at the back of the class n he's not suppose to come find me.

There is this girl in the class without her parent n she is super cool abt it. Teacher explained cos she was with them in N1 so she is very familiar with the place. Abit too cool u know until I was like....hmmmm she really very cool leh like no feeling like that leh.
She doesn't talk n she jus do stuff that they are supposed to do. So the teacher sometimes use her as example when she's telling us stuff. Like hw they are supposed to wipe the table, the girl jus eat then do it herself lor very auto..see liao like wahhhhhhh....hahaha.

Delphine
so nice Desiree tells u what she does in sch. I'm sure D will only say abit when I keep asking....haha

Coral,
oh ya hor, blur me, 2 wks+ liao

aspialle,
your maid really cunning. This kind of person better let her goes off soon.

Jerene,
ended, minor repairs 1st to see how situation is.
I remember Selina mentioned if buying thr staff price, they have to engrave the staff name, so staff can't re-sell.

Doreen,
maybe dun stay behind the class, but stay outside the class to check on him constantly. If he fusses, then you go in.
Becos after the orientation, all parents can't stay, the kids will get "shock" on the 1st few days when parents aren't ard/seen.
Actually it depends on the kid also. When I sent Jaslyn to sch on Mon, I saw one of the teachers brought a Nursery boy out and heard her saying "oh you miss your Pre-N class is it? Don't cry... I bring you to see your Pre-N class..." and she really brought her to see the Pre-N class haha...

Dor,
Dun worry, damien will tell you what has he been doing school soon.
Its seems to me that he is adapting well. Maybe it's just us who have the separation anxiety. haha....

Jen, it's ok, time flies

Jerene, I'm going to view another office in the vicinity today, current landlord would confirm only sometime next week, but we have quite a few options now, so looks like I can still work in the same area
So you're not going TPY anymore...

Delphine, so nice that Desiree is happy in school. Cahr starts to share a little about school, but her eyes still get red when I say goodbye. And she'll hold back her tears and tell me wo bu ku. Aiyo, super heartache for me.

Coral,
Wow, C is quite a tough gal ya, I can understand the pain when desiree first started her playgroup, I just have to ignore her crying and screaming.