(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

hi mummies..

sorry for not being able to catch up with the posts lately..i will try to catch up when i m back..

meanwhile..i just to say if anyone is keen in watching Ben 10 and Ben 10 Alien Force live show at Singapore Expo, i hv a mailer to get 10% off or can use Toys "R" Us Star Card members for 15% off..cheers~

Selina
Ohhhhh those are key tabs ahh. Then dun need to wait liao lah jus have to see if heng or not haha.
Can't believe we jus had our 1st Mac dinner after the thingy started cos we normally eat quite often.
Eat also cos my hubby wanna know wat the fuss is abt else he keep asking me n hw the hell I know right?..... Haha

Maid
====

Im at a loss now...recently the flood has affected my maid's home, not very serious but the water damaged her household items.

I gave her nov pay early this mth instead of end of the month and given extra $200 to help her out.Total $550.

Yesterday she cried saying her hubby fell down frm the rooftop and was hospitalised. I offer to buy ticket to let her fly back which she hesitated. On top i advance her the december pay, another $350.

Immediately she told me its not enough as she need to pay for her son's school fees. Thus december she cannot go without pay. she needs to advance every month.

she has been with me close to 2 years, from the first day she has been advancing a few months of pay because his son is hopitalised and injured his leg. I understand that all these are unexpected events but seems like we are supporting her whole family, paying school fees, hospital bills etc

should i continue like this? we paid for all her daily expenses inclding personal items, like shampoo, sanitary etc

I feel sorry for her but the money that we spend on her is good enough to support a car or a child.If we do not advance to her, is it too mean?? I have just resign from work , thinking of temp stop work oversee ted as he is going to nursery next year.

been a busy week...

babygrace, many thanks!

aspialle, I think she may be taking it for granted that you will advance her pay every month. Speak to her and said something like you would love to help her, but you also hv limited resources. Tht you are willing to help her but within reason, express that you hv been giving her advance every month for X mths since 2007. Then say no more advance. She will just hv to mannage her finances more prudently. Impt: can you mange without her? If she becomes unhappy and leave?

Alexis is having a church perf this Sat and she has rehearsals today and Wed night. There is one more perf in end Dec. I feel like a xing ma without the rewards chauffeuring her to these rehearsals and perf.

Anyone keen to send your 3 yr old to a Act 3 theatre holiday workshop? At Cairnhill, $200+.

hi jerene

initially our plan is not to continue her wp , i will take care of him since ted is going nursery full day..but felt sorry for her so can't bear to give her another blow at this moment. However did not expect her to take for granted like tat.

Yesterday she took a day off although she has no off day in contract, saying that she need to pass some old clothes to cousin who is going back to hometown. Surprisingly she did not really ask us for permission for what time she can be away. Instead she told us that she need to go off at 8.30am sharp and did not mention wat time to be back. I was quite taken aback and I was thinking to myself that I should ask her "what time you want me to wake up to get ready, mum?

Just to share from what I read from The Straits Times on Sat: -

<font color="aa00aa">Barney's World of Imagination Live Musical Show/Meet &amp; Greet</font>
Recommended for: All ages
What: The Kids' favourite purple dinosaur with no eyebrows returns this Christmas season for a show.
Where: United Square Shopping Mall
When: 2 Dec to 14 Dec (Mon-Fri: 2pm &amp; 7pm) (Sats &amp; Suns: 2pm, 5pm &amp; 7pm) No shows on Tues
Cost: Free. Spend $30 in a single receipt at the mall to take a photo with Barney and friends after the show. Bring your own camera. Photos sessions limited to 50 families each show.
Info: Call 6251-5885, or go to www.unitedsquare.com.sg

hi hi aspialle..
sorry i do not hv a maid so i do not think i can give u the better advise..but i personally feel that since now u hv just resigned then maybe u might want to consider to send the maid back for good..unless u cant manage on ur own then i guess u got to tell the maid that u hv tried ur very best to help her..esp since u mentioned that yest she just went off w/o ur acknowledgement..just my 2 cents worth..

jerene..
How's Austen? ok? wow..u sending Alexis to Act 3 holiday workshop ah..but i guess if she has speech &amp; drama experiences she will probably enjoys it..

hi wendy,

got read this article too.. i definitely will hit more than $30, cos i need to buy 9 presents for my nieces/nephews... actually also interested on the sand castle building but i see the price, think about $40??, my hb was saying, har, still so ex for learning to build sand castle??

hi aspialle,

think your maid is taking things for granted. 1 thing i cant tolerate is maid taking a day off, so i felt that your maid is climbing a bit over your head, w/o seeking your approval, and just went out. you have tried your best in helping her financially, but there should be a limit too.

tristan is down with bronchitis and was on nebuliser again today, poor thing, he was just on it a month ago... PD was mentioning whether did we went to any dusty places and she did mentioned that Ikea self pick up area is quite a dusty area, so try not to bring the kids there...

gemini...
oh, i hope Tristan is getting better..the cooling weather can also let them catch a cold more easily..Mav just started coughing &amp; having runny nose last wk..this wk seems to be Brod's turn..sigh..do hope the kids recovers soon esp for the coughing part..wah..u got to buy 9presents ah..that's a LOT!i think there's more meet &amp; greet characters sessions ard Singapore, just that i read abt that..end of the day, the shopping malls are too smart to taarget to the kids &amp; make us adults spend more in the shopping malls..

Oh dear, poor tristan.
Hope he gets well soon.

Scare the hell out of me when my AF arrived 1 week late. I cannot imagine #3.
Anyone here did a self drive up to genting before? Thought of doing one in Dec 09.

delphine

we just went genting end last month, didnt drive up but we rent a coach up with my sil family so was quite fun. think driving up not very safe cos the road is really bendy. end of year also keep raining. dont stay in genting hotel, the toilet is so old, think resort hotel is better.

Hi Shirley,
Thanks... ya i stayed in resort hotel last year and think they renovated before hence, quite new.
Actually was afraid of the winding road up..

delphine..
ya i agreed with shirley better not to self-drive up to genting during yr end or rainy season..i hvnt been genting for long time, the last i went was before i was married leh..super duper long time back..haha..wah, indeed scary on the late AF, think u must be too stressed up lately that's why late..i ever thot of tubal ligation before but the nurses at my gynae's clinic told me my gynae sure will reject me on this coz it's not the right age for me to go for this now..but i cant afford any possible "accident" now..stress..

aspialle,
from the way you described, I feel your maid is taking advantage of you. If you are quitting, then might as well let her go.

delphine,
I can understand how you feel!!!
Mine was late more than 10days, and I tell you, I was really worried till I couldn't work and had to keep to myself!! When I saw red, I really wanna scream LOL

I am not expecting to see red anytime soon since I am still nursing. I hope it stays away for a LONG time...lechye lah...

Hey I finally finalised our end of year trip - we will be going to fly into HK, stay a night in Disneyland and the other 3 nights in Macau, back on 1 Jan 2010. Wanted to stay longer but I have to attend my cousin's wedding on 2 Jan 2010...I know Starz is in Disneyland now, right? Must ask her how it went and tips...

Any moms thinking of signing their daughters for ballet?

Wendy,
Ya lor, stressed over new maid plus some events gg on in the company..
My hubby against ligation leh.. aiyo headache and I really dun wish to have #3.

jerene..
haha..i had the same thinking as u when i was still bfg Brod..but i know i m not the "fertile" type hence not possible to hv AF during that period..but i was glad that when i stopped bfg, AF only came back aft my "3rd honeymoon trip" to Japan..hehe..

delphine..
oh, i think u must try to relax urself at "that potential" period..try to relax abit,k? oh, how come ur hb against ligation? i even told hb i wanted both of us to go for it..but he said he will never do it..it's such a unfair world..why must it be we women to go for such arrangement?

jerene,

Emma has been asking for ballet classes and I've been procrastinating. I think the nearest place for us would be Crestar. I was actually thinking of looking for lessons in the CC instead, cheaper lah for a start, until she really shows interest.

In any case, she'll be starting dance lessons when she starts at NAFA in Jan. I can also gauge her interest then

<font color="ff0000">babygrace</font>
one of alexis's classmate's mom told me that Kembagnan cc has a good ballet teacher. I took alexis to observe at the russian ballet school on level 3 Katong Mall abt 2 mths ago but she ain't keen. Checked out also singapore ballet academy (fort canning) - won't take kids under 4. In any event, alexis is not keen, it is me lah...

<font color="ff0000">No more children</font>
Both hubby and I decided to stop at 2 and hubby is very keen to go for a vasectomy, he does not expect me to go for any ops or procedure, phew!

Delphine
Stress aah..........hehe

Wendy
How ironic hor if you think about it. Before we so gan chiong to get preg then now.........so scared to get preg......hahaha
Tell ur hubby lah u kanna cut 2 times liao....now its his turn to go for the sacrifice.....hehe

Jenny
I tot u tempted for #3?? Not anymore aah?.....keke

hi delphine,

oh your new maid is here liao.. no wonder headache...

hi dor,

after reading your post, ya, very true hor, for me too, as it was quite difficult for me to get pregnant...

hi jerene,

that's a very nice gesture from your hb. did tell my hb to go for ligation, but he dont want.
talking of ballet, will try not to let tricia attend. cos i hear that ballet dancers ankles (or which part of the lower leg, cant remember) will not be very nice if they stop learning ballet. my SIL did attend ballet lessons when she's younger and she told me this.

<font color="ff0000">seeing red</font>

talking of this, every month my AF has been coming 1 week later from the expected date. went for yearly checkup 2 mths ago, my gynae tell me that there are 3 big cysts (bigger one is 5cm) and this may cause my AF to be later and later each month. will be going to see him tomorrow.

Wendy,
you have to wait at least you hit 35 before gynae will perform for you. but with the lack of population, I doubt they will perform even after you hit that age.
Mine too against ligation. He just feels it's no good to do something to our bodies.

Doreen,
that scary encounter was early this year.
Oh well, maybe after I carry newborns again, the chong dong will come back again hahaha... now kena faint off liao.
Anyway, just hope not an impulse thinking. Really have to consider real hard. I just have to keep telling myself the age gap will be far and the idea will go off.
For now, I just have to try to prepare myself walking towards the sahm "goal" in another few years time. I think, I'm kinda prepared and ready when the elder one goes p.sch.

Jerene,
You trust vasectomy? Personally, I feel this risks higher than condom.

Gemini,
Talking abt AF... mine has been coming earlier each month! Just Aug, I kena on 1st and last day of the month. Super sianz...

Not that I requested hubby to go for any procedures, he volunteered! I am not sure if I trust vasectomy or not but my gynae warned that though it is supposed to be reversible, it is not 100% so. In any event, we both are too tired recently for much action...haha... See how in a few months time...when I have time to do some research.

Re ballet, yes I read before too, abt the ugly feet of a ballet dancer but they look soooo darn graceful and beautiful on stage!

Anyone has any lobang for the Avent/Philips 2-in-1 steamer/blender? I think to think abt puree soon.

Dor Dor,
ya lor.. stress and more stressful is AF is not here.. haha

Wendy,
Dun know leh, my HB will think it is a cruel thing to do leh. dun koe why he has such thinking.

Gemini,
Ya, my new maid is here. Sent back the replacement one cos simply couldnt communicate with her.

Jerene,
Me thinking of CC too for ballet course cos desiree is those shy type, dun know if she would be interested or not.

Delphine, if you want to be in control of say speed and time, drive up.. but pls do it only if you are confident of doing so. Go in the day. The vehicles are going real fast in the night. Be it the NS highway or road up to genting highland. Direction up easy, once in KL enter cheras and you can just lookout for signboard indicating genting highland. Road is winding. Travel on left and go at your comfortable speed. The drivers there wont horn you, they'll just overtake you on your right.

Personally, I prefer to drive up myself. When I take coach, I always have this fear that the driver will fall asleep. Though big coach, their speeding can be quite 'solid' one lor.

Haha, mummies here all worried about another bb? Just the ther day hb was teasing me as I was packing my maternity clothes to give away, he asked are you sure you won't get preg again. Well, I do love kids, but I'm selfish too I want some me time. SO no #3 for now unless I have enuf to be a SAHM then I'll consider. But we've yet to decide on the best preventive measure. I'm no no to op for now...Good thing is we're also too busy &amp; tired for much axn.

Jerene, will it be conveninent for me to drop by on one fo teh wkend to collect the tics? Think can always get it form your helper even if you're not in right?

I would love to see Char doing ballet, and she's very een too cos she always pester my cousin who's a dancer to teach her, but this lazy mummy just don't like the idea of bringing her for extra lessons on wkends.
I envy my cousin who got a scholarship to do ballet in UK, it was one of my passion too, but practical me give up dancing for studies. Dancing time is the happiest time for me.

Jlyn,
Thanks for the advice. will take note in near future.
sad to say not gg ahead as plan as rooms are fully booked in Dec in Genting. Didnt expect they are still as popular as before.

jerene..
wah..it's soo nice of ur hb to want to go for vasectomy..my hb Will NOT agree to it..even i had went under the knife twice..

dor..
ya, indeed that time stress bcoz not preggy but now it's the other way round..even if i sponsor for him to do so, he wont..that's how "kind" he is hor..

jen..
oh, i must hit 35 then gynae will perform ligation on me ah..icic..i didnt know abt this leh...but i thot i ask nurse 1st then nurse told me not possible that gynae will do for me..

delphine..
ok la..at least he will feel cruel rather than encouraging u to do that leh..

coral..
maybe u wait till the 2 kiddos are older than see how ba..maybe by then u hv a diff set of thinking liao..see hw things goes along the way if u r keeping an open mind for #3..

Wendy, Jen, I also didn't know there's a age criteria for litigation...

Wendy, I have the heart but not the energy to have more kids. ;p

coral...
that's y i suggested maybe a few yrs later when both the kiddos are a little older then see hw things goes..at least u r keeping ur options open for time being too..

Coral
Can, I will set aside the tixs for you or Roy to collect. When do you think you will come? Still have my addy?

Fox/Pumpkin Patch Sale at 105 Tampines Road
My damage at the sale was $80, relatively mild, there are many people so I would suggest not bringing your child if someone can look after him or her for you. Place is air-con. They accept cc and cash, do remember to bring the coupon which gives an extra $5 off for every $60 spent, easy to hit with all that lovely baju. Free parking but only one lot left when I got there at about 1pm. No place selling drinks around so best bring your own bottle, it was a hot day and I was quite thirsty after the 'exertion'.

Stupid Weak Tooth
I had some pistachios and chipped my front tooth, have to go to the dentist tomorrow, damn damn damn, hope I don't sound like I lisp now! Darn!!

Wendy, in a ay I'm keeping option open as I do not think I want to go for any irreversible procedure.

Jerene, ouch, hope the chip isn't a big one. You took time off work to shop? I'm not sure if hb will bring me there on Sun also, by then the good stuff might be all gone. If I'm to collect tics it'll be Sat or Sun afternoon say 2-3pm, but time really flex. Still remember where your place is. That time I msg the agent no. you gave me of the house outside yours but no reply, think all these agents earning lots so not really keen on biz. ;p

Coral
Sitting pretty in the dentist's chair for an hour set me back by $120 :{ Hubby so worried that he made me buy tons of calcium supplement to support my breastfeeding. Not serious, just ugly, first time this happened to me. I keep aside sso baby prom tixs for you, will inform my helpers tomorrow so they know to pass to you when you come this weekend. I am on leave this and next week
The house that I told you about on La Salle Street sold eventually for 2.35, asking was 2.5. Now renovation is on-going.

Anyone has a Santa Claus costume my 4.5 months old son can wear that I can borrow from before 12 December, return by 15 Dec?

Coral, I do, drink the anlene high calcium milk (4X the amt of calcium of normal milk) plus take calcium tablets. Maybe should increase intake...

Then sounds like you're doing a better job than me.I drink milk when hb remembers to buy for me and I take 3mths to finish 1 mth supply of calcium pills.;P But since I do eat lotsa cheese i think it should be fine. My fil &amp; mil are funny, they say I must have lotsa clacium so both my kids' teeth came out fast.

sorry for not being able to catch up with the postings..i will try to find time to read up soon..

meanwhile..i cant believe why Brod just VOMITTED out a stem of vege while HB was feeding him medication due to his cough &amp; runny nose..

it was really to my great shock, i was shocked &amp; speechless at that very moment when HB told me he "caught a stem of vegetable from Brod's mouth" into the cup of water he wanted to feed him..

bcoz i cant understand why Brod at this age is being fed a stem of vegetable..he has only 2.5 lower bottom teeth..

a check with MIL found out that 3rd SIL (who has no kid &amp; NO experience handling young kids) fed him 2 spoons of macaroni this afternoon..

i was really really upset..i cant understand why MIL will let someone with no knowledge in taking care of young kids fed such a young kid a stem of vegetable..

can mummies here pls tell me how u will react when u got to know ur kid VOMMITED out a stem of vege?

Wendy
I will make my hubby tell his family off.
Is she the 1 on the FB saga that time??

I think anyone who can think would know not to feed babies with chunky food. She should feel ashamed of herself. Poor you.....get ur hubby to settle with his family K. U try not to get involved cos no matter what Brod is in their hands.

dor,
BINGO! she's the one on the saga lo..u know what..last night we called her, she nver pick up, only this morn she txt HB saying sorry she no kids, i dont get it..if no kids, then why feed my kid?

even if no kids u meant it's soo hard to think abt feeding such food to a kid at such tender age meh? it's soo hard meh??

even aft she attemps a few mouthful to Brod, MIL then remembered to remind her not to feed the vege but she nver own up that she has did leh..till Brod VOMMITED out then we got to knw the truth..u see la?!

1st thing that came into my mind was, y didnt MIL supervise this SIL what she scoop to feed Brod..then when i asked why she didnt finely chopped the vege, she told HB the macaroni wasnt meant to feed Brod but for her own lunch!!

if this is a bad accident, then who is to answer to me? it's not like she can give birth to another kid to "return" me, right?

i just felt this SIL is not sincere in saying sorry, cnt she retn call to apologise? knowing that her actions will cause me to be angry with MIL who's taking care of my son..

the best part is she read my Facebook's posting on my feet injury due to a glass bottle that slipped &amp; fell to the ground before breaking into pieces..althou the wound hurts, my heart HURTS more than anything seeing the stem of vege...argh!!!

School
---------------
I am mighty pissed with my sister.
Last sat, D jus had his nursery orientation n it went well with him going off with his class happily.

Then....my sis asked us out for shopping n took only 2 of her 3 kids as the 3rd 1 had sch camp.
So I explained to D why his 2nd cousin was not around, cos he went to sch.
N D asked why korkor went to sch.
My sis replied saying that, "Kor kor went to sch BECOS he did not finis his HOMEWORK so he has to go to sch."
I was really not happy hearing that and reminded her that D has not yet started sch so dun scare him off and homework is not in his near future.
but my dear sis still continued n purposely still told D that he should do his homework next time so he dun have to go back to sch to do homework. If he doesn't do his homework he will have to go back to sch to finis it.

I am really really really pissed lor. For 1 I have been making it positive for D to like sch and he has shown that my efforts seem to work. Then comes this....what if it somehow makes it permanent into D's little mind n he starts to associate homework and sch to dislike??

I really dun understand why my own sister always do this kind of thing. Someone who also has kids and kids who have problems with sch n hates sch. I would assume she should know how hard it is......so she's making sure i go into the same path as her?? darn angry.....
I have already distanced ourselves from her as I do not want her kids to influence and affect my kids much and she will tend to do this kind of irritating thing once in awhile (remember smacking my tummy when i was newly preg with E). N the 1 time in a few weeks that I meet her she has to make me regret going.

Arghhhhhh.......seems that I can do without some family................

dor,
wah, why ur sis make such comments even aft u told her not to..i think for time being, maybe just meet when neccessary ba..esp when u r making efforts to "fine-tune" D's mindset now to get him ready for sch..hopefully D will forget abt her remarks very soon..maybe got to try to reward him when things gets better..