(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

puppylove
yes u r rite - i think i will miss this cute stage next time but rite now, every time he cries n we cannot figure out wat he want, i wish this stage will pass faster and that he will grow up faster and can tell us wat he wants! haha

crystallized
hee hee. i bot the shirt fr those neighbourhood shops - cheap cheap one cos they outgrow them so fast rite? last time ethan wear oso look very 'lao hong' mah cos just born only. give your son another 3 wks and he'll grow into it real nicely!

hey ladies
i remember reading abt some of u who had lactation consultant go to your house to help u with breastfeeding. can i find out more how to do this? i wanna try again next mth after my confinemt and hopefuilly can DBF instead of EBM all the time. i just let my son suckle for a while only n now my rite nipple is a bit sore so i think i definitely got the wrong latch/position

michelle
oic! ok i will give him till full mth to fill up the shirt. yah oso bot this fr n'hood shops as i dun wanna waste money. think it cost $1.90 only.

u juz need to call up the LC. i noe of a gd one fr TMC, Mrs Wong. she is v gd. i think u shld get her help now instead of waiting. the earlier u start, the better the success rate.

crystallized
thks for the advice! do u hapen to have the tel no for ms wong or do i just call the general TMC hotline and ask fr mrs wong? sory ah got so many mrs wong how will i tell them which one i want? anywya i tot of starting only after his 1 mth old (which is next sat) cos now i oso still undergoing confinemt so cannot bathe and a lot of restrictions that's y i tot after tat then try again the DBF when i am more relaxed.

Michelle,
I had a freelancer come to my house. The one on one was very good and my hubby learnt at the same time too :) She used to work at Mt. E, and is now retired. Let me know if you would like me to PM you her contacts.

Puppylove,
My Trinity is also starting to 'fa1 pi2 qi4' and pulls away from the nipple and cries. I still haven't figured out what's the reason for this. Like yourself, I will squeeze myself to check if any milk left and there would still be some. I am just guessing the flow / volume is still not enough to satisfy her, thus she is frustrated, but i might be wrong.

I also latch my Trinity on for an hour (30 mins each side), but sometimes after this 1 hr session she still seems hungry, so I will supplement with FM lor. My hubby doesn't like me to latch her on for too long. He says that I am getting her into a bad habit of wanting to suckle and be carried all the time. :-(

hi michelle,
there is only one MRs Wong at e parentcraft centre anyway her full name is Mrs Wong Boh Boi. She is e senior parentcraft/lactation consultant and head of e parentcraft centre at TMC. But i'm not sure she got go home visit or not.
Tat time Jasmine got BF problem n someone here recommended her a freelance lactation consultant from MT E. who does home visit....maybe u can try looking back e thread... think is only 2wks ago.

anegeline
yes, i'd be very interested to contact your freelancer! can PM me her details pls? i suppose there's gonna be a charge for her services rite. hope it isnt too ex :p trinity really looks like a little angel!! so sweet... anyway i think it's natural for babies to wanna suckle so u can tell ur hubby tat u r not spoiling her! anyway she's only a bb and someday they will outgrow this and then u will regret if u didnt let her suckle when she wanted to ;)

elaine
the freelance LC u mentioned seems to be the same as the one angeline just mentioned, so i think i'll check it out
thks for your help tho!

ok.. now its time to visit the 'farm' again.. moooo

btw angeline do u know whether this LC fr mt E is a mother herself? or just someone who is professionally trained? cos i prefer someone who is a mother herself and has personal experience wif BF herself...

so quiet today. am i the only one here?!?

michelle, puppylove, crystallized,
I am 1.67cm tall, so not petite at all. Gynae said bb's HC is not going to grow that much more, but will grow harder which means more difficult during molding stage.. (actually i didn't press him on this 'cos I was a bit shocked when I found my cervix still closed), so i figured this must have to do with harder to push out anyway.. sigh..

but he didn't say my chances of VBAC is low though (like he told one of my gf before as her bb's HC was 35cm and she was 1.55cm). My tummy is still incredibly high though..

I think I am just going to take long walks these 2 days to see if it helps at all..

wahaha.. michelle, ethan has such big eyes and such boyish looks. Love his thick black hair.. does he resemble you or hb?

Angeline, Trinity looks different here from the previous pic you posted already.. so sweet..

Mummies, thanks for the FM information. My baby still wouldn't take the FM, but fortunately my BM amount has caught up.
For those who had a hard time increasing BM supply, my gynae gave me a prescription called "domperidone". It helped establishing my BM a lot. I took it for 5 days, now I don't have to take it any more. Hope it can be of help for some mummies here.

Our babies will be one month old soon. I'm not local, so what are the common ways parents celebrate the date here? How are you gonna do it? I have my colleagues asking me for red eggs, but I don't have any idea about it at all...

domesticgoddess
the thick hair is take after me one (hubby going bald oredi haha) but in terms of facial features he looks more like the hubby

anyway for ur height i think u shd be able to VBAC cos i'm 1.63 and my son's HC was 33cm at birth - stll mng to push him out in about 5-6 tries. so dun worry too much ok? the key is to try and relax as much as possible! easier said than done, i know ;) yes, do try to walk more these few days. i think it helps a lot cos my labour was relatively short too (4 hrs) as i think i did a fair amt of wakling during my pregnancy

meganmom
for my son's 1st mth, we're just inviting some frens and relatives over to our place and catered some food. we'll be preparing some red eggs for the relatives to take home (my frens probably arent gonna want any!) and also some glutinous rice (this aparently is a hokkien tradition). i think that's abt it for us ... simple, like i said

michelle
juz PM-ed u her contact alrdy.
wah made me so envious! ur confinement ending soon! me only completed 1 wk.

domesticgoddess
we r abt the same height, so 35cm HC shldnt b a prob 4 u. juz spend more time coaxing ur baby now & during labour. i find tt it really works wonders 4 me.
take walks but dun overexert ok? muz rest oso.

michelle,
next week will be your bb's first month hor? how fast time flies!

domesticgoddess,
wow you're really something. still can decide to wait har. i think your EDD is what it is - estimated. maybe you're a little earlier than you thought thus no harm waiting lah. if you cannot tahan walking, you can always sit in front of the 'puter and answer our questions hehehee.

puppylove,
yeah that happens to me a few times at night. when i had that happening to me the first night, i was so stressed and worried. like you i will squeeze my nipple to see if my milk is coming out or not and it is. so i simply latch her again. it happened three times and finally when i think she had enough, she simply went to sleep. feeding resumes normal after that. i suppose it's not reflux, maybe bb is just tired, she wants to suckle only and not really wanting the milk? that's what i assumed.

538131.png

melissa
yes, our bb hv the same birthday i remember! so how r u celerbating your bb's 1st mth?

crystallized
thks for the info! dun worry.. actually time flies u know. i oso cannot believe i hv only 1 more wk to go! when i 1st started my confinemt, i wondered if i could last 1 mth, but looks like i can make it afer all so hang in there yah!

<font color="0000ff">crystallized</font>
oh, when i say my bb pulls away fr nipple, i mean she does it a few times during a feed. She'll drink 5min, pulls away and cries, I latch her on again and she does it willingly. Then maybe 5min later, she does it again...

<font color="0000ff">angeline</font>
Ur Trinity too? hmm... u may be right... maybe got milk but the flow is not there. When i express, i also notice there'll be a short period when no milk will flow out. Then i'll try to massage or stop the expressing for a few seconds and continue again. Maybe my Trinity was too impatient to wait for the flow to resume.

So far, 1-hr seems to satisfy her. Once she starts falling asleep on the nipple, i'll stop and lay her to sleep. But at nights, she usually wwants to be carried till she falls asleep b4 i can put her down.
I dun plan to supplement w FM yet. Will go for DBF as long as possible.

<font color="0000ff">melissa</font>
hmm... like u say, i guess bb can be just tired, tatz why a bit cranky. Yup, my girl usually pulls away at the 1st breast and settles down by the 2nd breast. I suppose I shldn't worry abt this behaviour cos she's otherwise feeding well.

michelle,
i have no idea. maybe no celebration lah since my family is not the "celebratory" kind hehe. maybe just have a simple dinner among ourselves. i want to buy a cake for my officemates but i hate my boss, don't want to give her anything. so i'm still thinking what to do. how about you?

puppylove
my baby if pulls away fr my nipple, wun wanna latch on again usually at the same feed. v hard to coax him unless i try diaper chgg. luckily most times it works.

melissa
we'll be catering food at our place and inviting some relative and frens over lor. cos its the 1st grandchild for my in laws mah so i think definitely they wanna celebrate one

crystallized
haha dunno how to make time fly leh.. but in 3 wks' time, u'll know wat i'm tokking about cos it'll be almost the end of ur confinemt! anywy wat made me stay sane was the 'pit stops' i had in between, like i can wash my hair and bathe once a wk. if i cannot do this at all, i dun think i can last until today man...

angeline
you're rite abt the milk flow - it stops after a while then resumes again (i express milk tat's y can see oso). i suspect this is 1 of the reasons y my son doesnt like to DBF cos of the momentary stop in flow. bottle flow so consistent - who dun like rite?!?

btw, anyone knows whether there is such a thing as overheating the EBM? will it destroy any properties in the EBM, just like if we freeze it then the antibodies will be destroyed?

michelle
same like u, now i am counting down to the days i can wash hair. i hope can tahan to wash only once a wk. and i juz had piping hot soup, my hair all wet now! ARGH!
i was actually gonna wait till tues but it seems like now i will hv to wash tmrw. Smelly smelly liao, and i need to bring my bb to pd for follow up tmrw.

oh man, when am i gonna rch 3 wks?

i think yes leh, overheating will cause antibodies to b destroyed easily, thus cannot heat till over certain temp mah. but i dunno wats the correct temp though. hope some mummies can help.

michelle, overheating FM or EBM will destroy a lot of the goodness in the milk. Actually EBM should only be warmed up to about 37 deg cel, which is the temperature a latched on bb is getting. FM should not be heated to over 40 deg cel (for most brands anyway) as a lof of vitamins are destroyed by high heat.

edksd, I'm using Nepia too and simply luv it! Besides the indicator, it's also very soft and must be comfy on bbs

domesticgoddess,
I think u shd be able to VBAC too as I'm only 1.57 and my bb's HC at 35cm. However, I do have epitosamy...ehh...forgot how to spell...

Michelle,
I've just PMed you her contact details, she charges $80 an hour and yes she is also a mummy but her kids are already in their 30s I think.

DG,
Babies do grow so quickly don't they. We try a take a few pictures of her every single day so as to hold on to these precious moments. It's amazing how different she already looks as compared to the photos we took when we were still in the hospital.

Megan,
Thanks for the tip, I'll try to get that from the pharmacy too. So you just have to take it short term and its effect is long term yah? Unlike Fenugreek where we continue taking in order to maintain its effect?
BTW, where are you from?

I have a problem and hope you can give me some advice...my bb girl have been crying during feeding time since friday, really making me crazy

BB was given EBM and FM since came home from hospital last week. Few days ago, I started DBF and supplement with FM as my milk supply was not enough (she was hungry again in less than an hour after BF). It all went well for 2 days, and then all of a sudden she rejected FM and refused to latch-on! We gave her Infacol (for wind)and apply Ru-Yi-Yiu, doesn't seem to work. Yesterday we brought her to PD but couldn't detect anything wrong with her. He suspect that bb either has colic or doesn't like FM / prefer BM or has nipple confusion. There's nothing can be done, bb will drink milk when she is hungry. True enough, but i have to see her cry so hard and can't do anything....very heart-ache and can't help but cry with her also...

Currently i try to pump milk for her, but the amount expressed has dropped compared to last time before i started DBF...only able to get 35ml after pumping and manual express by hand for 1 1/2 hour! I wanted to DBF but PD advise i should not do so cos my BM supply not enough. So now can't DBF and have little EBM, very depressed.

crystalllzed
well if u really need to hv first wash to get all the grit out of your hair, go ahead! cos after tat u will feel much better and can last at least a wk until the next wash. i really hate eating confinemt food too. everytime eat oredi will sweat a lot then the head gets itchy and smelly - sickening feeling!

DG
thks for the info on heating up EBM. my inlaws are the old generation so they always like to make until warm warm then give the EBM to my son and tat's wat prompted me to ask the qn. so if it shd be 37 deg, it means when we test the liquid on our hand, it shd feel neither hot nor cold rite since our body temp is 36.9deg? i hv to tell my hubby to tell them not to be so kiasi liao else wat the pt of giving EBM if all the antibodies are gone rite?!?

cherrie
sorry to hear about ur bb - my heart goes out to u cos i know how heart-wrenching it is to hear ur bb cry like there's no tmr. anyway if the PD has advised u to stop DBF for a while, then perhaps tat's the best course of action for now. and if your EBM is not enuf now, just supp wif FM first till u hv enuf EBM. this way, u know for sure bb is getting enuf milk. i dunno if this will work, but hv u considered changing the teat of the milk bottle like maybe to another brand? i know my son can tell the diff between latex and silicone teats - he refuses to suck fr the silicone one cos its too hard! so maybe if u change the teat to some other brand she might be willing to suck again and u can continue feeding her FM. i'm using NUK latex teats for wide-necked bottles and i find them pretty gd!

anyway this is just a suggestion i hv ... not sure whether it'll work. but hang in there ok! cos this is just a passing phase (altho it might feel like yrs) and ur bb will be alrite in no time

btw does anyone hv any gd idea how to ensure we dun over/underheat the EBM besides the "testing a few drops on the back of our hand" method? is it accurate to go by time, like 1 min in hot water ?

Angeline, my doc gave me 2 weeks' prescription. Take 1 pill each time 4 times a day. It's unbelievably cheap - 56 tabs for only S$2 something. According to expert on this, 2 weeks should be enough to establish the milk supply. When you feel the supply enough, then you can reduce the intake to 3 times a day and then 2 and then 1 and then none. This was what I did. I found my breast hard with BM only after I took the second pill - work quite fast. But once you stop taking the drug, and later you find your BM amount reduces, you can start to increase the dose again. So on and so forth until the supply is satisfactory. I was told someone took the drug up until baby turns 4 months old. For myself, I still think not to take it is the best long run solution. After all it's a drug although only minimal amount will get into the milk. For short period it's OK. Hope it can be of help to you.

I'm a Chinese and I stayed in US for the last 10+ years.

hi elanie, ever since ur bb was discharged w jaundice level 8.3, did u ever go back to visit PD yet? i think my bb's jaundice oso came back but duno what level, so still a bit yellow. this wed going to PD for the hepB 2nd jab. maybe PD can advise whether the jaundice serious or not.

Megan,
For my bb's 1st month celebration, i ordered cakes from Choz Confectionery and then have them delivered to my office. Got a colleague to help me to distribute on my behalf.
The package from Choz comprises of a cake, 2 red eggs, 2 ang ku kuehs, 2 glut rice, 2 fruit tart.

Perhaps you like to order from there for your colleagues and friends???

www.chozconfectionery.com

hey can i ask - if i'm oredi inviting my frens and colleagues to my place for the full mth party, do i still need to distribute cakes in the office ah?

michelle, I don't think overheating destroy the antibodies, but it does destroy some vitamins, especially vitamin B and C. But I am very sure that freezing destroy the antibodies..though EBM (without antibodies) will still be better than FM.

yes, the best way to test is to drip a few drops onto the fleshy part of our hand between our thumb and wrist as that is the most sensitive part of our body. It should feel neither hot nor cold.. remember bb have very sensitive mouth/tongue so even slightly hotter temperature can burn their delicate mouth/lips/tongue.

michelle, crystallized, chocolat, thanks for your reassurance re. my VBAC chances. Hopefully bb is coming out really soon now. The mucous plug was out today and i had a dull lower backache and slight cramps-like feeling in lower abdomen. No regular contractions yet. I did tons of walking during pregnancy too as I took my boy out almost everyday throughout the first 8 months.

cherrie, there are too many possible reasons to rule out now, so if you want to TBF, I suggest you just latch your bb on as regularly and for as long as she wants to get your BM supply up. She is only 2 weeks old, so it is possible she has nipple confusion. She will suckle when she is hungry, i know it is heartwrenching, but look at it long term, and you will see the results within a few days.

However, if you feel better to supplement her with FM, then perhaps change the brand, but you will need to express at regular intervals to increase your BM supply.

Do scroll back to our previous posts of the past 2 weeks. There were lots of posts on this issue.
Cheer up and try to relax as your mood will affect your BM supply.

May I know who is your PD?

michelle, thanks for the suggestion. i'm using NUK latex teats also. Yeah...the last few days really feel like years! Hope it's just a short passing phase la...

domesticgoddess, my PD is Dr. Simon Ng from Babies and Children Specialist Clinic at MAH. He was recommended by my gynae. Maybe i was too stressful so the EBM dropped, will try to relax.

I'm thinking of changing the FM brand, currently i'm using Similac. Any suggestion on what brand to get? or just any brand?

I'm also taking Fanugreek since saturday after reading the past postings, hope the effect will kick in soon...

it's dignus.sg

it's selling 14.7 per pkt. for free delivery, hv to buy min. 4 pkts. but their delivery is 2-5 days.

or u can call nepia co. at 6226 2650. it's selling 15 per pkt. oso purchase min 4 pkts for free delivery. if u call before 12nn, they'll deliver by the next day.

where do u buy normally? and how much? 15+ right?

Hi, I'm new to this thread. Gave birth to a 3kg baby girl on 30 Sep, hence also a Sep mum. Would like to join you all in the future discussions

Wondering if any of you has contacts for a massage lady? Can email me at [email protected] . Thx in advance.

hi edksd

is the nepia diapers really good ?
cos have been usin PAMPERS and want to do a switch. tried fitti before but realise it it thicker than PAMPERS so tot not so airy for my gal.

btw my gal is abt 3.8kg now .. so shld still use NEPIA newborn or S size ?

let me know .. tks !

any mother wnat to purchase avent uno breast pump, JL having sale, $279 + free cooler bag, 3x nappy wipe n the avent magic cup.

Thanks Megan,
I'll continue with Fenugreek and diligent pumping for this week and see how things progress. If supply is still far from ideal then I might try this pill.

domesticgoddess, you still around ah? I think you baby loves being with you alot leh. That's why want to wait

michelle, your ethan really looks cute and alert! So fast ah? You say he is 5 weeks old already?

puppylove and crystallized, I face the same problem of baby pulling away and fretting after latching for 5 min. Same as you, I though no milk and squeeze but my milk still come out in strong spurts. Now what I did is that when he does that, I'll try to burp him and see if he'll "calm down" abit and continue to latch him on or let him sleep after that. Seems to be much better already.

sunny03sunny, welcome welcome!

Btw, did any of you use your baby's first month's hair for a scholar brush? Any lobang? I heard of this www.taimaobi.com when I was at MAH but wonder if anyone of you ordered from them and how's the quality and service?

All mummies who are BF'g, jia you jia you! Must give support to each other.

dumpty
thks for your complimts
ethan is only 3 wks old actually. his full mth celebration is taking place this sat, which means my confinemt will be over too!!! hooray!!