(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Thks melissa

melody

dun let the bed thing worries u .. it has no scientific proof... rem your baby has passed the organ formation stage .. he/she is just gaining fats during this period ..

just ensure your bb movements has not reduced, and he/she will be ok ... dun worry !!

melody,

yalor dun worry. I also shift bed and change bedsheets during my pregnancy. I even moved table, shelves, tv console and armchair etc cos my hubby not with me have to do it myself paiseh to trouble my parents. My gal came out also so healthy! DUN WORRY!

Most importantly you have to eat well, and take good care of yourself!

ilovebabies

Now every moment also check whether she move hahaha last time when she push me so hard pain pain tell her to stop now keep tellin her move leh>>> r u sleepin why dun move.... dun knw whether she will get confuse or not
kao_confused.gif

congrats to all those who have popped! can't wait to see the pictures.

dumpty, I am still on bench too, but not due yet lah...

melissa, I just realised i didn't give all my info for you to update.

lovenest - newton
gender - boy
child # - #2

crystallised, you are welcome. I had a really hard BF journey before too, but later it got better. TBF is real hard work, but definitely worth it.

jasmine, sounds like you are doing very well at TBF! Don't worry about not being able to express as I know plenty of mums who TBF successfully but cannot achieve letdown using a pump. Actually the best way to TBF is to do complete latching all the time, as bb's suckling is the best way to clear BM from all milk ducts. Only express when you have difficulties latching (but again can be resolved thru better positioning) or when you want to increase supply or when you want to stock up (say you want to go out and someone else can take over feeding using a bottle).

melody, stretchmarks shouldn't hurt. does the pain come from the skin layer or inside? sometimes there is sharp pain because bb could have hit our nerves while moving.

It is also best to remove all jewellery before going into hospital for birth and do not wear any dark coloured nail polish.

raspberry leaf tea: i know of mummies who drink up to 4 cups a day when bb is overdue. not sure if it is any useful. but it is a traditional remedy to ease labour pains.

melissa & cereal,
all the best! jiayou!

dumpty,
me still on the bench lah!
went to c gynae today, 38wk 1day, no progress, bb not engaged, no signs of labour... dun worry, let bb decide when to come out to see the world!

To those who're breastfeeding... i've some questions... will u know whether u've emptied your breasts?
someone said here abt expressing out after bb has been fed... so tat means u know that ur breast still has milk?

so similarly at the beginning when ur milk ss is not established yet, will u know when bb has drank all tat u have? does bb stop sucking automatically or do u hv to stop bb?

heehee, one more qn: for those whose ss is already established... do u let bb latch on to one breast at a time for fixed period, eg. 15 min each... or do u empty one side completely (so bb gets to drink hindmilk) before letting bb latch on to the other breast?

puppylove, your breasts should feel very light and soft if they are emptied, as compared to when they are full with milk. at the beginning when milk supply is not yet established (i assume you mean the first week or so after birth), you won't know if bb has drank all that you have, which is why expressing after BF helps you to drain the breasts. Once you have drained the breasts, you should be able to tell how that feels like, so subsequently you will know whether there is still milk in the breasts.

will bb stop suckling automatically? it depends on bb's temperament. Some bb comfort suck (using the breasts like a pacifier) so even when there is no more milk, they may still be suckling, provided they are not hungry. If they are hungry and there is no milk (or very slow due to no or delayed letdown), then most bb will fuss or cry.

domesticgoddess,
thanks for the info! so when do u start expressing? right fr day 1 or wait for a few days? in the 1st wk or so, will it hurt to express if bb has already drank all u hv (and u dunno)??

puppylove, as for your last question, it depends on your bb's eating pattern, as in how long she usually take to eat at each BF session. some bb feed very fast, i.e. they are done after just 15 min, as compared to my son who used to feed for 45 min at each feed. If your bb feeds only for about 15 - 20 min, then it is important that you let her empty one side completely so she gets the hindmilk (which is more nutritious and filling), as compared to feeding 10 min on one side and switch to the other side, which then means she gets only the foremilk from both sides.

i used to have so much milk that whenever my son fed on one side, the other breasts will drip non-stop due to letdown, so i had to express the other side if my son only needs to feed on one side. since he fed so long at each feed, i will usually let him feed for about 20 min on each side and then switch, so it will be more comfortable for me afterwards.

puppylove, i started TBF from day 1 though there were only colostrum in the first 2 days and you would see bb's weight drop due to lack of milk. but we followed lactation consultant's advice not to give FM and just latch on completely for first 2 days, so I fed every 2 hrs to establish supply. Then on 3rd day, my milk came in and i continued latching. I remembered bad engorgeent in the early morning of day 4, my breasts almost look like a F cup!! That was when I started expressing (so i would be more comfy) and I started to get 60ml, then 120ml, then 150ml at each expression after feeding bb.

it shouldn't hurt when you express even if bb has drank all you have. But if you express and very little comes out (like 10ml after 5 min), then STOP expressing as it just means that you either have difficulty experiencing letdown or you have emptied your breasts.

Sigh.. another day has gone and I am still sitting on the bench... 37 weeks liao, no show, no contractions, no cramps... just lots of BH and loose bowel...

Cereal... jia you!!!

domesticgoddess
you are so good man. I hve difficulty in breastfeeding too. Till now breast still feel so sore even nipple didnt crack. I really feel like stopping..hahaha..but the good thing is ..even i want to stop is not easy too, cuz milk will still comes in every 4 hours, then will feel engorement.

hellobaby and domesticgoddes.. thanx for ur advice... i muz realli work harder... maybe now still tired and trying to adjust... alot of moodswings leh... feeling so low.. sigh.....

wah domesticgoddess, that's really very useful tips and info on BF!

Hehe... puppylove, domesticgoddess and Mummie of Rhys, I'm so gald to find more people on the bench now. puppylove, your situation exactly the same as mine. So I guess we just gotta wait. Actually i'm planning to ask my gynae about inducing if baby still not ready by next Thurs, which is my due date. Not sure if it is a good idea leh.

puppylove,
you are welcome. once you deliver, make full use of the services of the lactation consultants in the hospital and don't be shy. Some hospitals have nurses who are not very pro-TBF and they can be confusing and discouraging. My advice is to get a lactation consultant to see you as soon as you can, preferably let her be the one to show you how to breastfeed in the first few sessions, so you get the expert advices right from beginning and do it right.

bjiou,
i find BF the hardest part of being a mother actually, but the amount of joy and satisfaction i got from it was just so much and intense that I made myself persevere though i did have tons of problems. I kept regretting stopping eventually due to real bad episode of mastitis, but with my #2, I am determined not to give up.

Are you TBF now? how old is your bb? Dont give up! Must jia you!!! Mother's milk is the best gift we can give to our precious ones at this stage as they are really the best food which money cannot buy.

emma,
yeah, must work hard and try your very best. the moodswings are normal and very common. I used to cry at every BF sessions as i had cracked nipples since day one and my bb fed for 45 min, every 2 hrs for the first 2 weeks, then lots of other problems after 2 weeks too...

just remember that whatever low period you are feeling/going through now, is ONLY A PHASE and it WILL PASS and GET BETTER! I promise! once you passed this hardest initial stage, and when BF becomes easier for you and bb, you will only be feeling sheer joy and enjoying the special bond you have with bb whenever you are BF.
So jia you!!!

dumpty, you are welcome. Why do you want to induce if bb is not ready by your due date? do you feel any discomfort?

I am due on 30th sept, so should be 37 weeks+ and bb still not engaged either. though i feel some BH daily, there are no other signs at all.

domesticgoddess, can really feel your determination!

Yeah I also keep telling myself is mind over body eventually. I think my greatest hurdle will come from my MIL and maybe my hubby if he's gonna listen to his mum. Anyway she told me on Saturday that after 3 months we have to feed baby with FM because "BM is not nutritious!" OMG! I dare not talk back to her but I gave my husband a long and meaningful look when she said that.

domesticgoddess, I don't have any discomfort or that much pain that I cannot endure at the moment. I'm just wondering if I let baby stay inside will he grow too big for natural birth? I'm not certain but I feel my gynae is not too pro inducing. Will probably discuss the various options with him this Sat. I'm going to start on 39th week soon leh. Seems so weird no signs at all. Even sweet talk to my baby to engage also no use, his head just stays above the pelvic bones and every visit my gynae will comment "Wah still so high". Sigh... ...

sasha! OMG!! I didn't realise that you gave birth already!! Congrats...

dumpty, i can understand how you feel! Must be determined yeah... and don't be swayed by all others if you are VERY SURE you want to TBF your bb... it is rubbish/pure ignorance when someone tells you that BM is not as nutritious as the artificially formulated FM.. by the way, the composition of our BM evolves over the months to suit the needs of our bb.. isn't that amazing!!!
BM is the best foods for bb till they are 6 months and once they reach that age, yes, they need to be supplemented by solid food, especially food rich in iron as the iron suppply in their bodies (which they got from mummy while in womb) would be depleted at 6 mths. in fact bb who are TBF before 6 months, do not even need juices, glucose water and even WATER (YES, it's true) because our BM is 88% water anyway.

dumpty, from what i've read so far, it is best not to induce bb if mummy doesn't feel any discomfort. Actually according to the American College of Obsetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG), suspecting a very large bb is not a medical indication for induction. Unless you are over 42 weeks pregnant, or suffer discomforts of any sorts, then should go for induction.

BB will come out when he/she is ready. So try not to worry, ok?

what is your bb's weight now and head circumference?

domesticgoddess

i latch my baby very freq now that my express output has reduced. I am a bit worried.. thinking my milk supply has went down .. or is it that my gal has successfully emptied the breast ? my breast does feels softer after her feed, but why cant my breast produce more milk after her feed ? do we have to wait for sometimes for the milk supply to come in again ? tks ..

ilovebabies, as long as you are TBF and your gal has 8 to 10 soiled nappies a day (it means she gets enough), then your supply will meet the demand. It is possible that your gal has emptied the breasts too as she gets older, as she may now be able to feed more efficiently and also has increased appetite. Our breasts will start to produce more milk again after each feed, but it takes time to build up the supply.

Eg.. if you latch bb on every 3 hrs, 8 times a day and each time bb drinks 80ml per side, the breasts will start to produce that amount after each BF session and starts to get full (i.e. containing the amount required by bb which the body interprets as 80ml per side) when it is about time to BF again (i.e. 3 hrs later).

All bb will go thru growth spurts though, at approx 6 weeks, 3 months (some bb go thru at 4 mths) and 6 mths... during which they will need substantially more milk at each feed. During those times, your supply may not be enough to meet dd (in the first 1 or 2 days) and that is when bb will cry more. But as long as you continue to TBF and latch on more frequently than normal, your body will get the signal that it needs to produce more milk more quickly (i.e. instead of 80ml per side every 3 hrs, maybe it needs to now produce 100ml per side every 2 hrs!).

hi babes..

has anyone of u tried this tea? does it realli help in boosting milk supply? yes then i faster buy.. hehe...

domesticgoddess..

me feel so much better after i read postings here and chat with my frens on msn.. think juz need to get away from it a lil....

Haizz can't sleep.. so nervous about tomorrow night. Cereal has already checked into GlenE Hotel. Then it's going to be my turn.

I saw this graphical explanation about effacement, mucous plug and stuff and thought that I'd share. I did mention earlier that I lost my mucus plug this morning.

513569.jpg

I can't sleep too, woke up at 5am and was reading the archives that i have missed till now.

Melissa,
Good luck and all the best to you!

Dumpty,
My EDD is 3 days after you and i have no signs of labour also...you not lonely on the waiting bench la
513612.gif
My MIL have also been hinting that i should not BF for too long as she thinks FM is more nutritious, i just say 'orh...' and of course will do what i think is best which is continue BF as long as possible!

domesticgoddess,
Thanks for all the great tips!

Wei Kuan & emoments,
First time i heard about Raspberry Leaf Tea, going to buy also, now only 2 weeks to EDD...hope still not too late for it to take effect - strengthen the uterus for labour

I went checkup again yesterday (last sat check was done my gynea's partner as my gynea was on holiday) with my gynae and guess what? Both gynae has different views! First one thought i should be induced soon cos signs of placenta aging, the later said let's wait another week and he don't think placenta is aging leh! Even their measurement of bb's femur also big difference...very confusing! Anyway, i'm happy with what my gynae said and hopefully can wait for natural labour
513613.gif

domesticgoddess, thanx for all the tips and advice. In that case, I'll just let baby decide when he is ready
My baby weighs 3kg on Saturday @ 38weeks 2 days. Not sure about the head circumference though.

Melissa, today is your turn going off the bench! Lots of good luck and congrats! Jia You

Cherrie, sounds like we same same stuck on the bench still ;) And having MIL who are not so pro-BF too! Let's wait for natural birth together

dumpty, my edd is 1 day a/f urs... same as u no sign yet except tightening of stomach at times... me also tinkin of induce or c-sect on edd. heard from my another friend that uses the same gynae that he will encourage mummy to induce if by edd bb still dun wan to come out

Now everydae tellin my bb to choose her own birthday if not mummy will choose it for her on the edd heheheh....

Just some updated news, Weikuan is in delivery room this morning liao... but so far not sure what is going on... so only waiting for more good news liao...

domesticgoddess,
Just realised that our EDD are the same. Me same same as you... no labour sign AT ALL... but my bb is much bigger. 3.2kg @ 37wks liao... Gynae suggested induce if this sat still no sign leh.. she scared bb too big later cannot natural... I also dun know... keep waiting and waiting... sigh... I also dun want induced or c-sect...

dumpty,
i personally prefer to wait for natural labour unless there're medical reasons to induce (eg. aging placenta or bb in distress). I'm giving my girl more time.. cos i can feel her trying to move downwards.
Try to walk more as gravity helps. Ya, do discuss ur concerns w ur gynae and update us after ur visit k!

btw, is it true tat if bb is not engaged, gynae can't induce? cos bb may need assisted delivery or worse, emergency c-sect??

domesticgoddess,
i'm definitely encouraged by you to persevere w BF!!
thanks for sharing ur experience n advice!

Hi Hi...

I have been MIA for soooo long (do you all still remember me??) There are so many new comers to this thread, i am a bit lost.

Puppylove, I remember you have the same EDD as me, I have no signs of labour yet too =( I haven't started my maternity leave yet, when are you starting yours?

To the rest of the mummies who have given birth, congrats! Envy envy.. I wonder when's my turn.. What are the signs to look out for? Recently I have more clean or white discharge (can't tell the colour on my pantyliner), but that's it. Don't even feel any BH contractions.. Baby is quite big already, around 3.1kg at week 37+... I guess I have been eating too much.. heehee...

smiley,
heheh, hv been wondering where u r!
yup, both our EDD on 25 Sept. I'll be on leave fr next Mon onwards... plus the annual leave i've to clear by this year n the 2-day childcare leave we hv, i'll be on leave for the rest of the year.
When do u plan to go on leave? your bb is bigger than mine at 37+.. My girl was 2.7kg then.

Puppylove, I don't know yet.. My gynae advised me on my last visit that I need not go on maternity leave so early, I am still working now and I still have meetings scheduled for next week! heehee.... I also haven't told my boss how many days of annual leave I will be taking.

Recently I have more vaginal discharge, i wonder whether that's the so called macus plug I read in this forum.

E-ling

actually can .. drink DOM after the last feed at nite ... then abt 2 hrs later, u can BF your bb again.

Smiley

u r back !! hahaa tot u popped secretly haah !

Got sms from littlepony last nite .. she's still in hospital, gonna discharged today. She is trying to latch bb on and has asked the nurse to supplement her bb with FM since her milk supply has not kicked in yet.

Domesticgoddess ... thanks !! this morning was haywire .. haha bb was sleeping then I was expressing my milk ... then when I am almost done (have expressed 150ML oredi) she cried for milk !! when I latch her on, i can feel she cant suck anything from my breasts cos it feels real soft oredi ... poor gal ..