(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

hi mummies, thank you so much for the encouragement! Let's hang in there together!

i felt so much better after been at work for a day without seeing them & i'm back to normal...as in missing them when i'm off to work today.

cynthia,
you really spoke my mind...i believe you felt exactly the same way i did...sometimes it's so frustrating...even the breathing felt heavier as if a rock is on our chest right?

so now i got weekend phobia syndrome...cham man!

as for lucien, not really want to scold him but the words just come out...same concept lah....if we scold hubby when we angry...also dun expect them to understand much lah....hahaha

we are heading off for a short trip this thurs till sat & bringing denise only...so lucien got to stay with my mil...and guess what? my mil said she wants to follow us & will help take care of lucien...wa liao she sure play me out one la...end up sure i handle 2 kids alone. unfortunately for her lucien got no passport so she got to stay behind to look after, or else my only chance for a 'break' will be gone. another thing i told my hubby not to torture me hor...mil's snore will keep me up all nite!!

doris,
so sorry...didn't mean to frighten you...hope you'll have a smooth delivery ok.

amy,
good suggestion but i do drive to work...and on a few occasion my mind can become blank while driving...scary hor?

Augboyz,

Guess what i told my mum i will be putting Charlotte into childcare in April, Now my dad say so far (excuse again) In fact it is just 10mins walk from my house. My mum excuse is always saying she leg pain cannot work got heart attack cannot work. I just don't care now i want to try out putting her in childcare i want her to make friends learn how to interact with people so that when my relative see her she won't be shy anymore.

Hey Crispyapple, Augboyz, don't Throw your child in the room might scare them off. I had learn from some programs what they do is put them on time out chair make them sit if they get off put them back to the chair. Talk to them why you put them on the chair. Don't have to shout or scream at them. Don't have to hit them. When both are in anger there will be more anger.

I did it to charlotte she will cry and sit there dare not move. i let her sit for 30mins and then explain to her what she had done and what she should not do, why i make her sit there. After explaining I give her a hug and speak gently at her ear telling her don't do it again, if you do it again you will sit at the time out chair No toys for her.

After that incident is much better.

The 30mins i can do alot of things while she sitting there. (hehehe)

Fiona,
Great to hear that you are better today, always make sure you at least once a week or twice a mth you get to spend time for yourself. Work is work, Family is Family, Sometimes you got to learn to let go abit. Don't push everything to yourself. Since your MIL can help to look after lucien sometimes can ask her to look after a little longer and you go for a short shopping by yourself even buy groceries or buy anything you need it does help to relax. just go and shop for an hour or two. Make sure is without the kids.

catherine, i dun usually throw him in the room lah, just ask him to stand at one corner. I used to put him at a corner when he is nottie, now i just ask him to go n stand at a corner. He will find 1 corner n stand, then cry n whine, then will be bored n kept quiet when I ignore him.

WOW 30mins on time out chair! gosh... too long right? Mine is only 2mins. And ur charlotte will guai guai sit there n dun move?

I guess all grandparents dotes on their grand children n will find reasons to prevent them fm going to school. Anyway if they find it troublesome to send/fetch their grand children, we parents just DIY lor. Abit tiring but then its our children, we cannot always rely n others. And as parents, we know wat is of best interests to our kids so dun care what other pple say lah, just do it hehehe~

Hi Fio,
Glad u r feeling better...Its never easy to take care of 2 kids....I understand coz i feel the same way as u too but worst at times coz i am always at home with them..haha...Anyway u get a gd rest for the coming trip ya and enjoy yrself...

I am selling a few boys n girls clothes from Gap...they are real...Do check them out at this thread below. If u r keen let me know...

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/2192192.html?1235546793

all the talk abt taking care of 2 kids worries me out. haven't start ttcing yet. now hb also say 1 is enuf. say worried that we won't have the strength and energy to take care of 2. haha... am still persuading him to get a maid so can try for #2.

hi catherine,
based on research, time out should not be used all the time cos it loses its effect after some time. i only got to know abt this when i attended a course. furthermore, the time limit should be approx. 1 min for 1 yr of age, ie. 2 mins of time out for our kids. then time should be taken to explain to the child what he or she did wrongly and how he/she could behave to achieve the same effects. For example, ur child screams when she's angry, u can explain that all she needs to do is to tell u why she is angry. hope this helps.

Fiona,

Hehe we share the same feelings and believe alot mummies too.

Not bad, can go for a short weekend get away.. how I wish I can... was hoping to see even to go genting sometime in Apr Good friday that period.. BUT now don dare to think, cos who knows might have no chance to go again!

We all need a breather & find our own life even though have kids liao lo.. Guess we just need more understanding from parents & caregiver if possible..

Ur mil pattern alot you also know hehehe. So play safe, a pure getaway must be really a break & breather for you okie

Augboyz, Erin,

My girl will guai guai sit there until i come to her. 2mins? i think its too short leh. But i seldom use time out cause she seldom make me angry.

Becos i don't hit her or scold her and thats the only way i decipline her if she is naughty. And only once a very very bluemoon she will show her temper to me. When she is angry she will start throw all her toys around.

catherine, u r lucky... for me, every other 10mins or so zheng will do something to irritates me.

sometimes he gets into my nerves that I really feel like pulling out all my hairs...

hi catherine,
ya, 2 mins to us is like so short hor but the lecturer was saying to the kids it's pretty long liao. that's the time they need to know that they are in the wrong. haha... then the teaching part is to replace one bad behaviour with the appropriate behaviour. she says cannot just take away the wrong behaviour cos the child will react the same way if he/she is in the same situation again as they dun know any other way to behave.

anyway, ur gal is very well-behaved. mine is constantly on the move. change his activities rather often. so can get a bit pek chek. when he's angry, he will copy his teacher's reactions. he'll put his hands at the hips and then say 'kayden angry' loudly. lol.

hi cynthia,
saw the pics of ur new place. look very spacious.

hi fiona,
have an enjoyable trip.

Erin,
Kayden so interesting. Now their age like to imitate people one. Sometime nat also imitate me doing things too haha! Headache to disclipine them. That time you see her is most kuai one. At home & outside is terror..

Hehehe thanks for the compliment in FB
Ya cleaning is going to be headache for me. But guess both gals like it and nearer to my MIL so worth it lo.

Erin,

Kayden is cute ahaha he still will say out he is angry haha...

My gal might be slightly well behaved only when comes to playground she will play non stop and don't want to go home when i insist she go home she will cry and cry and cry, but of cos she cry becos she is sad so i won't scream at her i will give her a hug and tell her next week mummy will bring you there again ok? don't cry.

Cynthia,

Yah now their age like to imitate ppl so we are very careful when talking. Another way to let her imitate you in a good way is dance with her sing with her by doing action when singing and dancing is fun and i had a good laugh at charlotte when she imitates me.

u know wat my son will do during the 2 minutes? 1st 30-60secs will cry "I want mummy! i want mummy!" with tears n mucus everything... next 30secs will be sobbing.. next 30secs playing with his mucus or biting finger nails or playing with fingers....

u say lah... angry or not?

Then when times up n u go up to him, before u squat down, he put on his sad face n started to cry again....

HOW LIKE THAT!

BTH him!

Hi jasmommy and Augboyz,

Hi Fiona,
Enjoy your short trip with your hubby and Denise.

Hi Catherine,
It's not me who put my child in the room. Think you make a mistake.

Anyway, when Aden is nottie, I would just scold him and left him alone to cry. After about 1 - 2 mins, I would go and console him. He would stop by then.

Hi erin,
Think you can try for #2. To me, 1 is too lonely. My preference is at least 2. I'm an only daughter myself. So, I know how lonely it is.

A question. I'm thinking of renewing my maid's contract in September. She is concerned about how much we would increase her salary. Her current salary is $300. And that time, she has no experience. Please advice what is the market rate now.

erin,
manage to get a confinment lady from my friend... my boy is already 2 mths old... really fast... going back to work end march... think will be lot of work to follow after returning to work...

it's really tough in handling 2 kids i must said... think it will be better to try for the 2nd one so that the age gap will not be so big & when the elder one still young.. cos once have a 2nd one when the elder one is abt 2.5 yrs old or older, they will know that they will get less attention once the 2nd one is out.... JH was very clingy to me during my pregnancy & especaily when the 2nd one is out....keep wanting my attention .... luckily now she is getting better but sometime still will pretend to cry or scream to get my attention...

SL/pups,
Congrates!!!

Can't remember if I have ever posted my girl's photo here. Here she is. . . very fast now my #2 already 7mth liao. ;p
2217642.jpg

cocomo
she is so sweet!
thanks - i have no idea no feeling whether i am having a girl or boy. dont wanna outwardly hope anything also, just hope healthy.
so far my only preg symptom is hungry MUST eat, cannot wait. and sleep more than usual.

SL
Pai seh i dunno how to access my PM anymore! :S can email her number to [email protected]

THANK U

thanks again. i had a good chance to sleep while in Genting during the weekend.

cocomo,
wa liao this pic she smile till so cute leh..

if you all see cocomo's gal in person, you'll find her even cuter & can't resist carrying her haha...petite & super gal lor

Ya i must agree wif fio, shervalle is v cute n sweet n smily...hee hee...

Fio,
i am sure u manage to get a gd rest during the trip...;) Denise is v cute...i juz kinda cut jaz hair like denise fringe..straight...hee hee...Btw jay miss denise...heehee...kept on asking to go find her...

like to check wif u ah, wat do u usually feed yr toddler for lunch nowadays ah? Jay is v picky wif food n i sometimes feed him adult food alr like chicken rice etc n bread...but like not so healthy leh...plus he hates porridge...

Mummies wif 2nd bb, wat do u feed yr young ones too ah...also dunno wat to feed jazzele..coz she lately hates cereal liao..n dun wanna eat...dunno wat to feed her...also she dun reali fancy porridge...sigh...stress out wif food lately...

hi augbaby,

Over the weekend, I will cook stock and freeze in batches. Then, on weekday, my mil will use it to cook macaroni/noodles/pasta/rice with 1 vegetable + 1 meat (fish/beef/pork. Since she's taking care of 2 kids on her own so she really don't have much time to cook anything too fanciful.

Jaz is like 16months plus, right? There's lots of stuff that she can already eat. How's her chewing, if it's ok then she probably can eat whatever you are cooking for Jay.

Augbaby,
Jaz over 1 yr, maybe you wanna try Macroni, mee sua, pasta.

For Nat I less strict now lo especially if go out. I let her eat anything from outside but less outside soup cos got high salt n msg. At home gave her macroni, mee sua, fried noodles ( like hokkien mee type but is less oil, less salt type), fried rice, claypot rice, stir fry asparagus with egg, mashed potato with egg yolk. sometime i just see what I have & add on. Once awhile I do gave her fried chicken wing. If not salmon grill, chicken grill with some sauce.

I like to cook more chicken soup or broth to store and sometime whenever I stir fry vege or anything I just use that to add on. This way the dish taste ok without adding any sugar n salt lo.

Guess amy is sharing the same as mine too. Sometime when kids are more older, try to give them more & don restrict too much. Bit of salt is ok to taste too.

Hi augbaby,
For Aden, I'm not that strict with his food anymore. If outside, so long as the dish is not too salty, I would let him grab a bite.

At home, I would cook more fanciful food for him during weekend cos weekday he always eat porridge with Mei Mei so that my MIL no need to cook different varieties for both kids. E.g of food I cook on weekends are macaroni soup, noodle soup, pasta, 1 pot rice (meaning I stir fry chopped chicken meat, toufu and carrots, then all put inside rice cooker to cook with rice). I even got cook dishes for him to go along with white rice, e.g. steam fish, yong dou fu soup (he need soup to go along with rice, otherwise too dry and this is the most simple soup), stir fry vege and etc. These dishes, I got put a little bit of salt and oil.

As for Avelyn, who is 15 months old, she is ok with her usual porridge, so I still continue giving. Except sometimes, just give her some of Kor Kor's rice or macaroni to taste for fun only.

As for her breakfast, she also no longer like bb cereal, so I gave her instant oatmeal instead. She's ok with it. In the instant oatmeal, I got put very very little of condensed milk so that got bit of taste.

Actually, not sure if she's too young for instant oatmeal. Mummies, please comment if you know.

Hi Cynthia,

Yap. Same thought as yours. With pre-prepared stock, it adds flavour to whatever needs to be cooked without adding salt and don't have to cook vegetables too long. Plus, it's so convenient, like us adult cooking instant noodles.

Hi Cyn n Amy n Crispyapple,
Ya i let jay n jaz try all that u all suggested liao..but they get sick of them v easily leh....now i gotta crack my brain to come out wif new items leh...wah...Anyway ah, i juz recently add jaz food wif some light n dark soya sauce...do u think its ok ah? coz she is v picky wif her food n now dun eat bland food wif no seasoning leh...so at my wits end liao...for me i boil stock everyday to cook for them n dun freeze since i am at hm everyday..but they like sianz too liao leh...

hi augbaby,

Naughthy J&J....
So, is there any particular vegetable or meat that J&J like? Have you tried just sandwich for a meal, sushi, fried rice ? Otherwise, sounds like you need to do bento to attract their interest in food.

Augbaby,

Adding some light & dark soya sauce is ok. I do that after nat turn 1 yr old too. Sometime can try not to restrict too much in case they may turn out picky eater. I am quite heng nat eat whatever goes into her mouth & nic at e moment is ok with her cereal and porridge & fruits too.

Don't get over stress too yeah.

hi mommies

talking about food, leon is also quite a fussed eater. any of your tods still take porridge daily? cos that is what leon takes, the same porridge he has been taking since he was a year old. other foods, he will try, but he will never finish a meal's worth of it. even french fries, anything. the only thing he clearly loves is chocolates. fruits wise, mainly watermelon. the school also told me he is a fussed eater. wattodo.

augbb
my advise is also to just let them eat anything already. hopefully will find something that will interest their taste buds.

I think i am the strict mummy here,

Charlotte is a fussy eater she will refuse to eat if the food she taste test once is not nice.

So no choice got to coax her to eat no matter how. I will make sure she eat at least half of the bowl even she don't like to eat. Don't want her to have a habit of chosing food.

So whatever food she refuse to eat got to use force one sometimes i use drink to coax her, like ribena or orange juice. when she want to drink i'll put food in her mouth. guess what she will puke it out if she don't want to eat the food anymore.

So far charlotte already eat whatever i give her at home or outside. Hor fun, Kuey tiao, beehoon soup, cai tao kuey, donuts, pancakes chicken rice, duck rice and many more. but will be very careful and test the food first b4 giving to her to check is it salty or to plain. Sweet stuff also not much maybe once a while or once a day like cake and drinks.

catherine, u n me same same. but i dun coax zheng with drink, i give verbal warning hehehe~ i told him if he dun like it he still have to swallow the on in his mouth. Strictly no spitting of food.

U r more adventurous then me, I haven give zheng cai tao kuey yet n fried kuey teow only a bit.

pupsandcups, my son only eats porridge when he is at my mum's place. My mum still think he cannot eat too "hard" stuffs so will cook porridge with fish, carrots, tomato, sweet potatoe, green veggie etc.

Cynthia, u sure adding soy sauce is ok for kids? Wun it be unhealthy n making them developing a love for salty things thus rejecting any food tt taste bland to them? So far I dun add tt into zheng's meals, all are natural flavor :p

Augboyz,
I add very little like for plain porridge once a while if i lazy to cook broth haha. Normally I will cook broth and use it for porridge & soup base lo. More healthy. If we bring our kids out and happen really have to eat outside food also contains all these. Minimum will do since they are all turning 3, IMO lor.

That why Nat now she don care whether is it too sweet or too salty or too plain, she will take anything. Maybe I just intro here n there so she is not a picky eater. Sometime I do my own baking at home & let her have taste of cupcakes, own bread.

Imagine if our kids are going to childcare. The food in school will also have adding flavouring. So how much can we control? School give pandan chiffon, other types of cakes, bread with cheap margarine & add some sugar with it too..

So I guess mix here n there & intro to prevent been a picky eater bah.. Guess all mummies have their own ways of cooking style too

hi cynthia, outside food of coz we cannot control. What i mean is adding soy sauce to porridge, i mean like plain porridge with soy sauce. Maybe its me, coz soy sauce to me is very salty even if add a teeny weeny bit.

so far i try not to force leon to eat anything, although sometimes i bribe him haha.
but i remb being forcefed veges as a child and it really left a bad memory for me.
i think encourage as much as we can, but if they don like, also don force.

augbb
my kids (including S) gets macaroni, porridge or oatmeal on 3wk days for lunch. i bring them out once a wk to ikea. they love it. e other day can b bread, sandwiches, croissants, buns, etc. no helper liao so a bit more "chin-chai".

e macaroni n porridge r cooked wif stock. e usual veg are pumpkin, carrots, broccoli & cauliflower. i used 2 add minced pork but now i dun. they r mostly vegetarians at lunchtime, carnivores at dinnertime.

been busy with the kids.. am enjoying my ML mostly. but jadelle been having cough for almost 2 weeks. PIL so worried.. cos her cough only morning & night.. middle of night will get blocked nose and mucous in throat.. and cos she dunno how to spit it out, she end up vomitting almost every night.. really merlion.

see GP then PD. all say her lungs are clear, is sensitive airways to stuff, so produce alot of mucous especially when ly down/ at night. ask me to clean bedsheets often to get rid of dust mites.. and give nasal decongestants and cough medicine which targets decongestion.

but this means she will continue to cough with phlegm? how to get rid? PIL say her lungs are "cold", need to warm up her lungs first..

hi jasmommy, zheng also have such symptons but he knows how to spit out so its better. He had cough n flu for a mth plus n only bad cough (sometimes merlion) at night or real early like 3-4am. GP gave him some med to ease the airway etc n it gets better but if he dun take it mucus n phlegm will come back.

U bought him to see chinese sinsei, gave him powder to drink (mixed in milk) and 2 dosage later he is ok, no more mucus n phlegm. Chinese sinsei say he is very heaty.

kelly,

i salute u..no helper and still can go out with the kids.. i now with 2, i almost going nuts liaoz.. jadelle keep screaming for my attention, when i am busy with ashton, she beg for attention from grandma./ daddy.. and can tell me she dun want me.. this hurts..

and ashton, he, like jadelle last time, is addicted to my breast!!

my MIL say my children all so difficult one.. i think iz due to direct latching.. the bonding makes it harder for other caregivers to take over..

my new maid iz ok, but jadelle like u warned me, dun want her.. so she help me with ashton.. but when ashton wants his addiction - my breast, he really damn fierce..

now me so tired manz.. with latching & pumping & jadelle being attention seeking and coughing & vomitting at night..

and i think i will lose my job. boss hinted i not productive cos on ML. will likely lose my job after protection period iz over in july..

Jas,
If your boss felt that you are not productive due to ML then he is not a good boss. ML is given to you for your newborn & performance is judge accordingly before you go ML & also after you go back how will it reflect. If he is taking this as an excuse to ask you go, it will be too unfair.

Jadelle need time for her didi. Beginning stage is tough. Sometime can last for min 1month. Maybe when Jade see you latch didi she start jealous which is normal. For me Natalie was like this towards nicole for a start which last less than 3mths or so. Now they are bonded closely inseparable makes mi more tired. Just keep assuring Jade you love her you will pay attention to her spare bit time for her to play whenever you can. Take time, slowly dun stress ok.

Try bring Jadelle to chinese sinseh if it helps?
Sometime certain stuffs PD may not be able to help.

thks cyn..

economy bad, co will make excuse lah. to cut off staff. see how lah..

which chinese sinseh? i so kan tang type. totally at a loss where to go? eu yang sang tcm clinic?

Jas,

Like you say economy bad, company will make some lousy excuse to layoff staffs, so don't feel bad too, take it as an opportunity to be a home maker for the time being.

I've been so busy lately, hubby headed back to the US to work for the next 2 months, I'm alone here again and Hannah is down with fever and flu for the 3rd time in 2 months, don't know what's wrong and she's not even in school yet...think its the weather?? Guess its time to seek TCM already, seems like PD's drugs is making her body weak...