(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

hi mummies...MIL woes again...
we had plans to send our maid back but have yet to find a replacement.... while hub & i were out,MIL went to tell our maid our intentions... i had the biggest shock when i reached home.

MIL even went on to tell maid that we were going away on holiday..... went on to even tell the maid how to ask us to send her back home & we had to pay the ticket back to Phil for her.

Unfortunately, this MIL has the biggest mouth but didnt expect her to tell maid all this. was fuming mad and still boiling and letting steam off here... cant understand whats is in MIL's head or even if there is anything there....
MIL could even tell maid not to ask us anything or even tell us that it was MIL who told her everything....

think i can fry an egg on my head right this moment.
sorry mummies, but i really have to let this out...

babyboy,
your MIL is STUPID or what?! no wonder ppl say there's no medicine/cure for stupidity...

or is she not happy with you guys so she purposely reveal to your maid?

or maybe like you said she's really big mouth lor...

sorry for being rude but i'm all for standing by you gal!

hi augbaby,
thanks for the invite. nice to meet up with u gals again. jazelle's always so cheery. really like her smile.

hi jasmine,
i always missed that show too even though i wanted to watch.

hi amy,
watched the video after u posted up the link but was rather bz. rae can sing pretty well hor. i haven't taught kayden any chinese songs yet. guess i must start soon.

hi babyboy,
din see ur posting for a long time. it's alright to vent ur frustration here. we're here to support one another. ai yoh, mil problems. guess it'll never end hor. i'm still having problems with her but lesser now cos i'm always at my mum's place. haha...

dun think it's stupidity. she should have known the consequences wat. ask her to pay for the maid's air ticket since she's so generous.

Augbaby,

Thats a very nice picture, sorry I couldn't make it that day, have been very busy lately, MIL hospitalized, FIL here pain there pain, my dad celebrating his 60th birthday, my hubby preparing for his US trip...aiyaya, think I need a break.

Hi augbaby,

Nice picture of the aug mummies. Jazzele looks like the pretty version of jayden.

Babyboy,

Hope you have cool off by now. It is sometimes impossible to understand why old folks will do certain absurd things, just let it pass and forget about it slowly.

Thank erin. She does like singing a lot.

Counting down to the last working day before I go on ML. Another 8 days left!!

Oh Leia,

I think i saw jadon last Friday at Takashimaya. He's in his pram happily looking at something he has in his hand that he's about to eat. His grandfather is pushing his pram. Hope I didn't recognise wrongly, as he does look really happy in the pram.

hi fiona,
to be honest, I had no idea that she was that stupid until yesterday. She is on OK terms with my hub but am only on so-so terms with her…. There were incidents that happened between the both of us so I stay clear of her. Nothing happened before she did the dumb act of opening her mouth. I kept questioning my hub if his mother was on the maid’s side. She was even stupid enough to think that the maid would not ask us if it was true. Mil has a gigantic mouth and after this incident, even her own son says that she cannot be trusted.

Sigh. I don’t know what else to say….. really angry and disturbed that she did that.

Hi erin,
Been busy at work… had already plans to arrange to send keiran to half day CC in mid nov and have the maid take care of him for the 2nd half day. Now all the plans have to be re-adjusted. So many things happened within the day – coming home to a sobbing maid, fuming mad at MIL, immediately buying a air tix for maid, rearranging/ packing keiran’s things ………. Sigh sigh.
Hopefully this will be a blessing in disguise.

babyboy,
i can understand how you feel, i almost fell out with mil over maid issues and end up i have to pick up all the pieces. just cool down and stay calm, now no choice have to do things step by step. no matter what it will pass ok?

honeyb,
wow...you sure got lots of things going on there for you, take it easy gal!

Amy,

Hahaha, must be Jadon you saw! My mom was doing her checkup at Mt E so I had to go on leave. We were killing time at Taka while waiting for her. Wasn't ard then cos was doing carpark redemption at another floor and too lazy to wheel Jadon around.

Yes, think my dad gave him chiffon cake from Bengawan Solo cos I saw the leftovers when I join them again. Aiyah, that boy, got things to eat, got things to see (ie. shopping), sure happy one.

You were shopping at Taka? I was there also partly bcos I wanted to buy the Fisher-Price camera for my boy cos it was like abt 66% off the usual price, and compared to other stores, it's 50% cheaper! :D

Leia,

Oh that camera, I saw too. Was so tempting Usual Price $299 and Taka selling at $100 and the same day I was at Isetan, it is selling at 179.00 So the one at Taka is really a good deal.

Amy,

I saw the camera selling for SG199 (Usual SG299!)at OG and ToysrUs. I believe they are clearing stocks now cos Fisher Price has just released a waterproof version for the year end. The waterproof version is actually cheaper than the old version (ie. the Taka one) at their online site, but no SD card slot, which I don't like. So can seriously consider the Taka deal if you're intending to get one.

HFMD

Leon has HFMD, sigh after less than 2 weeks of school. Like a gan jiong mommy i took him down to KK emergency last night cos he vomited a lot and i was worried he was dehydrated. he is overall ok, but SIGH.

is there an outbreak of hfmd at the moment?

Leia,

Jadon's having fun with the toy? I holding back because it seems a bit too complicating for 2 year plus toddler. I can recognise Jadon because of the comic strips you posted. He looks so happy.

pups,
No direct experience but my friend with kids in childcare did mention that there is an outbreak of hfmd now. Anyway nowadays it seems like whenever the weather is too cold / too hot / too irratic, there will be an outbreak. Don't worry too much.

Amy,

The camera is v easy to use and not complicating at all. Only 4 buttons - power on, delete, left and right button to view the pics. It's so easy to use that the child can end up deleting all the pics without much thought. Haha!

pups,

Sorry to hear that Leon is down with HFMD. Take care both of you!

Leia, Amy,
the camera sounds good and with the price tag at taka it's even better. is the sale still on?

pups,
hope Leon gets well soon.

re: childcare
I've decided to withdraw Denise from CC at the end of Nov(all bcos of the deposit so need give a month's notification). She's been falling sick so often till we are even more tired and busy then intended, and it has been a waste of $$ since absenting school quite often. Hope she won't catch any during the last month of school there.

Hi Fiona,

Not sure but I think it's while stock last items so it's a matter of whether the item is still available? If i'm in town today or tomorrow, I will check for you.

So, your MIL + maid will take care of Denise and Lucien? I have no plans to put rae in a childcare yet though #2 is on the way and my MIL is the only caregiver. Got to see how good/bad my MIL can cope with the 2 of them. However, if she can't cope well, I will also have no choice but to send rae to CC.

Hi fiona,
kayden has been falling sick recently too. missed 3 wks of sch last month and 1 wk this month. heard from 1 relative who's working in cc that children who attend cc tend to fall ill at the end of the yr.

hi pups,
hope leon will recover soon.

hi babyboy,
hope things will work out in the end. don't get too upset.

Pup,
HFMD case will be higher with the changes of weather. Natalie strike with that after 2mths of attending CC. Most important is give them more cold water, ice cream, sorbet, colder milk. As their throat having alot ulcer, may be suffering for them to swallow and drink too warm stuffs. Even I prepare porridge that is super super watery lo. Buy calamine lotion to ease any itches on their hand & foot. After 7days all will be fine. I have ask PD. After they got HFMD, they wont get it anymore within 6mths-1yr as they have the antibodies inside liao. Hope my info helps.

Fiona,
How often does Denise fall sick? Natalie used to fall sick every 2weeks. So is sick 2X in a month. Normally I will send her back when she don't have fever. Now she is alot better. I guess weather changes do affect them too. But somehow I am like you too, want to withdraw Natalie but I hang on lo. Seeing her sick is so tiring esp having a newborn too. Denise school need to give 1mth notice or? Natalie school need to give 2mths for End of Year withdrawl! So now I still continue her till next yr see how it goes again. Meantime what I can do is give her more fruits, drink scotts, more good soup and every 2 weeks will give her cordyceps lo cos she has been coughing and phlegmy too. Also hope she will stop falling sick. My cousin once told me if a kid keep sick for 6mths in CC, best to just withdraw, find alt ways or send 3hrs school will do.. praying Natalie wont be like this. Recently she is down with runny nose too hai

Hi Pup

Hope Leon get well soon.... Take care.

Hi Fiona & Cynthia

Crisann fall sick quite often too when she is in CC. At least once a mth kind. This time round worst, she has been sick for 2 wks liao. Haiz... Fever, cough and flu.

Btw Cynthia, the clinic u recommended at Bukit Timah I find quite gd. Brought her there twice liao. She is feeling much better now.

After been there than realised that actually quite a no of frd & relatives had been there and find the doc quite gd.

Thks for the recommedation.

Hi SL,
Yap. That doc is not bad and very friendly. His price also very reasonable and he able to detect problem fast too. Even though he is GP but he is able to see from Newborn to older kids! That why I rather bring Nat there lo with her flu cough problem since already 2yo, so alot of mediciation can be taken too.

pupsandcups,

sorry to hear about leon's falling sick..

fiona,
yah.. year end kids fall sick more often.. so i normally last semester, i withdraw from all playgroups.. until after CNY.. i was hesitating over sending to childcare also.. cos i fear jadelle keep falling sick leh.. and i end up more tired...

Leia,
that camera sounds good!!

Amy, Leia,
Thanks for the info.

re: childcare
yup seems like it's really very common for our kids to fall sick while attending CC, not only year end which is quite frightening and tiring for everyone in the family.

i really think we are more tired out due to the frequent outbreak and asked my mil to try and see whether she can cope with both of them with the maid's help. Think she finds it alright when i kept denise at home whole of last week, and on and off now i'll also keep her at home. In Nov will be bringing her to genting again. So really hope all this keeping away from school can minimize risk during this last month of school.

Actually Denise at this age may be more mischievious and curious, but overall she is easier to manage since she can tell us what she wants or not, and she'll listen to reasoning. just childproof the house will do.

Heard from piyo that they have HFMD outbreak in the CC and cocomo's jayden caught it. She also decided to pull Megan out of CC after we've discussed about their high rate of falling sick.

cynthia,
the frequency of denise falling sick is probably abt the same as nat bah...and i heard that if they fall sick too often it does not boost their immune system at all, in fact it will be bad for their body.

wah...need 2 mths?! mine needs only 1 mth lor so she'll attend till end of Nov.

Amy, Erin, SL, Jas,
they do learn alot of things in CC, i can see the difference in Denise as in more discipline and speaking better. however, if you have an alternative do consider sending them to school later or for just 3 hrs kinda class, at least minimise contact.

Fiona,

I think erin also said Kayden attends 1/2 day CC but also tends to fall sick. I think so long as you put a lot of kids together in a small area, especially confined area, it's very hard to prevent cross infecting even if it's just a short 1.5hr playgroup session...

Fiona,
Nat CC only year end need to give 2mths notice. Other than that will be 1mth lo.
Oh piyo also decide to withdraw Megan? I guess its really tiring having kids to keep falling sick and WE mentally & physcially also very very tired. But if since your mil can handle I think time being build back her health and maybe send her for Nursery 3hrs will do.

Ask you, Denise is frequent cough or runny nose? Nat is more on runny nose & cough depends... very scary.. scare become sinus.

I will monitor Nat again as I felt if keep sick for 6mths in CC i need to do something liao. My cousin advise me after 6mths if kids still sick in CC, must try alternative ways liao! For me I will withdraw Nat from her current school sometime next year as we finally decide to sell off our flat end of this year. So probably need to find school again in AMK lo.. sian.. but now eyes open more big liao to make sure what are the issue I need to take note in finding school.

Any good recommendation school around AMK? I am looking at Cherie Hearts near Bishan.. and also kinderland YCK. But alot told me kinderland is near forest so very prone to Mosquito! And Nat always kena bite for nothing also..

hi fiona,
ya, leia is right. kayden is attending a 3 hr playgroup and he's falling ill very often these 2 months. he was alright for the past few months until more children started joining the group.

but honestly, ya, i can see a difference in him when he's at the childcare and at home. he's more disciplined, can sit quietly and feed himself properly. he will just wanna test his limits at home especially at my parents' place.

hi everyone, happy long weekend!

I have been super MIA lately, except for occasionally coming in to take a peep. How is everyone?

Updates for Ryan

- Happily attending half day program 3 times a week.
- seems to be starting to test my limits more and be very notti= prob terrible 2s.
- hooked on tv
- still picky with food but not losing any weight

Mummy update
- still staying at home
- weekly playdates
- working parttime only

Pups
I think there is a rise in HFM lately, my galfriends kid got it last week n there were 3 other cases at her school.

she even seen parents tring to sneak their kids back to school. cuz they cant take leave etc.

she ended up keeping her kid away from school for almost 2 weeks. better safe then go back suay suay get it again.
her hubby very angry with the school, but school also say its hard when parents are also irresponsible.

hope ur boy gets well soon. poor thing.

Re Childcare:
i notice my boy didnt fall sick so often compared to other kids. but he did get some runny nose a few times, but he seems to be getting stronger and fights it off pretty fast.

however, maybe something to share, if the school has smaller classes or less kids enrolled, i think the chance of catching sickness is less. i notice kids going to big schools with many kids tend to get more sick or even HFM. esp if they take naps together in aircon rooms. try to get those who split them up for naps esp big kids from younger ones.

just a thot

augustmum,
I am looking into that school too. But I called to ask for a view in school, the in charge is always busy and when i gotta chance to talk to her on the phone, she only ask for my number and say will return my call to arrange BUT yet been 1 week no even a single call... make mi kinda pissed off lo.

Hi butter8,
Ya long time didnt hear from you. Do agree with you if the class is smaller the less frequent of getting sick is there. Natalie school is those neighbourhood without aircon she also kena HFMD. But what PD told me, after they kena, mostly wont kena liao as they have getting immune to it.

Last time I used to thought parents don do their part to isolate their kids whenever fall sick and even HFMD need 2 weeks instead of they just keep at home for 1week. BUT come to realisation, not all parents are like me (SAHM) or even have PILs to help out. THey need to work and cant keep taking leave. I think sending to CC is just a risk everyday. Only have to wait till they are older and other plans to be make too. I used to be super panaroid, but now start to "open up" after sending Nat to full day cc liao ahahaha

butter8,
How are you and handsome ryan? He sure getting more handsome now.

Pup,
Has leon getting betta now?

Cynthia,
When my boy's CC get the first HFMD, the parent of the boy dun even noe it is the disease until the teacher discover it during shower time cos the kids buttock got rashes.

Hi mummies here..
hope you all still remember me...
just have a grant through here..notice that most of our kids fall sick easily, especially when they attended CC or any other classes, my 2 kids same here, fall sick when just 3 wks in CC, although is just a half day class.

One of my frenz introduce this 100% nordic cod liver oil to me..after just trying out for few wks, dickson flu & cough improved, and so far so good, both my kids love to eat this, perhaps you'll mummies can try it too..
here is the web site:
http://www.pluslife.com.sg/products/childrens_dha_cod_liver_oil.html
1827734.gif

hi everybody!
long time no log in as i cut down on internet as my eyes easily blurred nowadays. hope everyone's doing fine.

hi superdad,
wat a coincidence. i jus ordered this product from www.iherb.com to try out. I used Fiona's code above to entitle for $5 discount. Thanks Fiona.

Anyone keen to order can also use my referral code MAG215.

hi mummies & daddy(ies)!
Would love to give my boy all this supplements & vitamins…but the moment he sees liquid on a spoon be it coloured or flavoured, he uses his hands to cover his mouth and starts to struggle with us.

Anyone has a solution to trick him into taking it ‘willingly’? I’ve tried gummies too, but nothing seem to work.

Moreover, he is starting CC next week….been forcing it down him every now & then….. really worried on his first day of school and trying my best to keep my anxiety to myself so that he doesn’t sense anything….. how silly right? Sigh.

Anyone can advise?

Leia,

Bought the camera..kekeke but going to keep it until Christmas then give my girl as present.

Hello SL,

Jayden (my nephew) is also going through the easy to fall sick phase since starting CC. Heard from my sis's MIL abt Crisann going through similar phase, hopefully this phase will pass quickly.

Poor Megan and jayden, no wonder no posting from piyo and cocomo. They must be really very busy.

child falling sick in CC,
ya i know as long as there's contact will still get it but maybe minimise a bit lor...ijust sent denise back for a week and guess what, she caught something again. it was only a slight cough which we hear occasionally but can suddenly have fever last nite...haiz. so i'm keeping her at home again...

and i'm also sick today, very drowsy the whole day. funny thing is Denise is so active and demand my attention while i have to attend to Lucien eventhough i'm not well...that's the prob when i stay at home, sick but mil will still leave both of them to me...sian

cj,
no prob. i'm also giving the same product to Denise.

hi all mummies , i thinking of getting a saving plan for my son , anyone got good plan to recommend ? pls pm me ok =) thank !

Fiona,
Do take care... sometime sian part is like this. We sick we half dead BUT kids can be super hyper... and when we need help, mil can just dump to us though we superb...

Babyboy,
Maybe you can try coax into drinking. By forcing they will be mroe rejecting. Last time Natalie also hate take anything colour from spoon & even her medicine! Now whenever she take medicine, i will give her plain biscuit or bit pieces of cereal/cornflakes/honey star as a reward. Last time she don't like scott's but whenever I try make music sing & dance and act drinking scott will grow big big now she willingly open her mouth. As for Vitamin Gummies bear, I coax her by singing too & hold the bear dancing and put inside her mouth and tell her sweet sweet one nice nice. Need alot patience though sometime we run out of patience! But the effect of patience is good cos about 1week later Natalie is most willingly to take all these liao. Now after 3month in CC after contracting all nonsense diseaase like cough,flu, HFMD, she seems bit better except sometime runny nose

Re : speaking

Hi all mummies , can all ur DS/DD speak in sentances ? Mine have not , he only speak 2 words - 3 words like - No More , Sit Down , Buy Car Car , Tiger , Monkey , Uncle .... something like that .... is he ok ?

Sorry Babyboy,
just notice that the chewable cod liver oil gel is for 3 yrs old and above kids, might not suitable for our kids yet..

Hi WhiteLady,

Think it's ok. Aden is also speaking very limited vocab. I just let him be so long as he got increase his own vocab list at his own pace.

He can't even count 1 - 10 properly. A - Z, he still can't recognise.

Hi Superdad,

Aden is also taking nordic cod liver oil for quite some time. Just started Avelyn on this too. It does seems to help cos' my kids haven't fall sick for some time already....

Whitelady.
Shouldnt be a problem even only 3words. Sometime Natalie also like this, very limited. I jsut let her grow by her own pace. Other than that I just speak to her more and try to get her involve in my daily activities whether household or outside lo. Sometime they can just forget how to say out when they find it familiar. Don't worry. You could be out of surprise when they can be so super talkative as time goes

Whitelady,
Charlotte also have limited words not to worry they will get to speak more slowly,
Charlotte will say hello, hi, bye bye, Please,no more, finish, silly, angry, happy, sad, bored, shy, She still using one word but i am not worry, just try to read with him more he will learn after you teach him. Introduce him more books read with him sitting on ur laps.

As i had been doing that with charlotte so now everytime she will take a book and sit on my lap and ask me to read for her. I also use her fingers to point at the words i am reading and now she also will point once i start reading.

Just a quick note. I am planning to bring my gal to this workshop held at the National Museum. They need a minimum of 8 pairs (mum + tod) to start.

Details: Museum Toddlers
Co-developed with early childhood educators of Toybox Edu-Tainment

First in Singapore, the National Museum of Singapore’s Museum Toddlers programme provides a play-based learning experience for children 2 to 4 years old.

Using key artefacts from the Museum's collection, the programme focuses on the process of exploring and interacting, asking questions and using the power of imagination. The programme is designed for toddlers to lead the way, reminding the parent or carer how to play, while the adults provide security, encouragement and suppirt for the toddlers to participate in the programme freely.

<u>Cost:</u>
$25 per workshop (1 toddler + 1 adult)
Fees includes entry to Singapore History Gallery &amp; Singapore Living Galleries.

<u>Schedule for 2008</u>
Every other Sunday from April to December
1.30pm to 2.30pm and 3pm to 4pm

They have different theme for different Sundays. But I am looking at <u>9 Nov - Photography Gallery, the 1.30 - 2.30 slot</u>.

This is the 1st time I am attending so I do not know how it is conducted. Interested mummies pls PM me.

hi all mummies ,

thank for ur reply =) ya , shall let him be at his own pace . Last night , he suddenly call"daddy" , cos normally he call "dada" , haha ... so cute . But for A-Z , he dont know them , for 1-10 , he can only count 1 n 2 =(