(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Shoes like shoo shoo shoes are more for babies learning to walk or crawlers. They have a thin sole so that bb can feel the ground when they try to walk. But for older babies, those that can stand unassisted or starting to walk, can upgrade them to shoes with soles, but still must choose soft sole. Rule of the thumb, bend the shoes backwards, if the tip can touch the end of the shoes then should be ok for tod's feet. If you go Bata, they have those Bubble Gummers which I find are quite nice & soles are soft enough too. Dun get those shoes with soles as hard as rock. No matter how much strength you use, will not bend an inch.

yo piyo,
so long no see ar(in here)...lol
of cos denise got nicer eyes than me...kekeke

hi SK,
my gal is a slow walker too bcos she's still tiptoeing (never put her in walker at all), but she managed to walk 4-5 steps towards me unassisted yday when she was distracted. So it's like when she notice she's walking then will hold on stuff or tip toe...haiz

hi superdad,
hope u & sophia is coping well...with 2 i can imagine what a handful things can be. but when they grow up, u'll find it so worthwhile.

hi augbaby,
i'm so excited by your news! 3 cm dilated liao... princess can't wait to arrive...hehe

erin,

doing part time? depends on the school you are in. some allow you to work a few days a week, some require you to work for five days. i find part time not very viable, may end up with full load but part time pay.

adjunct may be a better option.

however, for me, i may go back full time if boss allows me to be in the pm session. if not, then go adjunct.

hi augbaby,
3cm dilated? so fast. ooh... maybe ur gal's excited to see the world. do sms me when u r feeling fine after ur delivery ok? maybe can pop by to see u.

hi itsy bitsy,
thanks for your advice. will go check out bubble gummers.

hi augustmum,
i'm in the pm session but actually no difference. we have remedial on mon mornings, morning lessons on tues, meetings on wed mornings, cca on thur mornings. i'm only free on fri mornings. somemore, have departmental duties plus all the markings. maybe shd go adjunct instead.

itsy bitsy, cat, fiona..
thx..

Yup..we did wat we had done to Dickson..but it seem not really work...guess all bb hv their own chracter and behavior..

At last..we manage to "catch" her pattern..
she can sleep sound 4~5hrs w/o cranking now..and just wake up for feeding only..but she like to latch on just for some comfort(can be quite sure she is full..cos we do feed her with bottle too)..only thing is her sleeping time still not adjusted to nite time..(cos she sleep sound ard 3pm till 2am..haha faint)
Hope she can adjust tis soon..

cheers..
congrats!!
Do share photo with us.."if u hv some x'tra free time to log in here"..
hope you get more rest and sleep well too...

Augbaby..
Ya..next will be yr turn..may you go through with smooth delivery soon..

Cynthia,
Yah i had tested not pregnant. this sat will visit the gynae.

walking bare foot / with shoes,

I had been training charlotte with wearing soft shoes ever since she is able to stand and hold on furnitures to walk. i will bring her to void deck and train her to walk. now i gave her hard sole shoes, ask she like to stamp her feets i afraid that she will hurt her foot with those soft shoes so i choose those hard sole one. i bought a sandels that had squak sound for her as well so that her foot can be air. anyway my girl only will walk when i hold her.

Erin & Itsy Bitsy,

I bought FOX shoes for her.. soft sole. Cos I happen to see Baby center mention to get something they could feel more on ground & build up their confidence to walk. recently nat she dare to walk with shoes more confidently. Sometime scare she fall flat cos she v ROUGH gal wan to run instead of walk slowly & fall & forget everytime haiz..Now whenever bring her to shopping she wil prefer try to walk herself but not to sit in the pram! sian.... If walk very stable stil ok.. if not.. gosh

Cat,
Ya best to seek gynae advise. no worries la women always have this kind of menses happy come or not prob hehehe.. we stress with work la, family, kids and so many so many...

Augbb,
Must inform ah.. wait for ur good news!!

Cat,
ya..already given her pacifier..but too, she nd to choose those type tat nipple shape like lor..those normal type..she refuse to suck as well..

her gor-gor Dickson no nd tis lor..

hope you are fine after visit yr gynea..take care.
tat's why we had hard time to try out everything we can during the 1st week lor..

Brought Justin to GUG trial on Sat. Bad timing cos it was after his Shichida class and he was very cranky. The class is interesting and interactive but i think Justin is not ready yet.

He's a little terror in class. Poke the teacher's face, flip the teacher's story book that she's reading to the class, walk here and there, scream when he's excited, snatch other kid's toys. Basically, very daring and boh "zeng4 hu4" (no govt) attitude lah, make me so paiseh to the other parents. And partly he's tired too, so a bit over stimulated. But i heard some music they play is similar to Shichida's song.

Also, out of the 1.5 hr, got 30 min wasted leh. 1st 15 min is spent letting the kids play on the toys on the mat together, so we just sit there and watch. And then after the art activity, the kids gotta wash up, its considered break time so another 15min wasted cos parents feed the kids snacks and the teacher blow bubbles for them to play, some parents walk in walk out. The door is opened so Justin also run out of the room and I hv to play catching with the little monkey. Anyway Justin refused to put on the apron cos he hates the bib and anything over his body so he din participate.

We left 15 min b4 class ended cos Daddy thinks Justin is too tired to continue. So my $45 trial fee a bit "boh3 hua2".

My verdict is GUG is still an interesting class, but a bit too long with some wasted time, so 1 class for Justin is enuf which is Shichida. After attending BJG and GUG trial, Daddy thinks that Shichida's activities is most packed and condensed, at least do something we dun do at home. So although more expensive, we'll continue with Shichida.

Altho i wish to sign Justin for more varied classes, I think Daddy will kill me if I overload his precious son. So to maintain family harmony, I let Daddy decide on Justin's education lah.

erin,
Maybe next time we organise an August baby trip to zoo?

SuperDad,
I remember your Dickson is one of those very very guai baby! My Jay's not lo, think my Jay is much worse than your girl girl le. He slept in day time and will awake till 4-5am. That's why after my confinement lady left I almost gone mad and temper super bad that time coz not enough sleep and Jay keep wanting to be carrie
Lucky Sophia has you this SUPERDAD to help her else she must be very depress.

Cat,
Wish everything is fine with you after visit gynae.

Racoon,
Hm. . . thanks for your review on the GUG class, Piyo and I actually requested for a tril on Sat 4pm (same as Justin's trial) but was rejected coz they claimed the class was fulled. So now we still deciding if we are going to let Megan and Jay have the trial on 20 Oct or sign them up for the class straight away. sigh. . .

Crisann,
How was the GUG trial? Was Crisann enjoyed?

cocomo,

See my post on GUG trial.

Sigh....if only Justin is more settled and can sit still, i think GUG might suit him. He's just a very active boy so i think my hubby is right for us not to overload him and let him have more free play.

Justin hates flash cards, cannot even sit still to watch flash cards so I'm even struggling on that now. My fren's 1.5 yr old gal can sit thru long flash card session and even ask my fren to continue flashing when she stopped to rest. So every kid is different, mine just have pointed backside so hv to slowly experiment with different styles of teaching and learning.

Hi Racoon

Crisann also refuse to put on the apron and bib. Same as Justin....

Hi Cocomo

Crisann don't enjoy the class. Cos she wanted to walk around rather than sitting down there. She did the same thing that she has done doing BJG class. Scream, walked around and crying. She don't want to attend class.

Think I will not enrol her to any class at the moment since she can't concentrate. Hubby say will bring her to places like zoo, bird park, botanical garden to explore more to natual 1st lor....

cocomo,

Including Justin, there were 9 kids in the class. So total 18 ppls + 2 teachers, quite packed actually. When Justin was walking around the room, I have to weave thru the parents's legs to catch him. I'm not sure what's the max size of each class.

It'll be good to go for the trial b4 u decide to sign him up. But of course i know GUG very long queue one and super popular, so got slot, parents snatch loh.

Crisann,

Same sentiments. I was so paiseh and thinking all the other parents must be very relieved when we left early. When its time to keep the toys in the box, every kid did it as told. but Justin terror again and snatch the toys away.....i was soooooo paiseh.

But the teacher were nice lah, they were observing Justin and reassuring me Justin is trying to adjust and they just accomodate him.

Sigh....i hv to be more patient with Justin. Next time if u see a kid creating havoc in public, scully the parent is me ah......*touch wood touch wood*

Crisann,

Same sentiments. I was so paiseh and thinking all the other parents must be very relieved when we left early. When its time to keep the toys in the box, every kid did it as told. but Justin terror again and snatch the toys away.....i was soooooo paiseh.

But the teacher were nice lah, they were observing Justin and reassuring me Justin is trying to adjust and they just accomodate him.

Sigh....i hv to be more patient with Justin. Next time if u see a kid creating havoc in public, scully the parent is me ah......*touch wood touch wood*

Congrats.... Rest well...

Itsy-Bitsy,
Welcome to the thread.

Augbaby,
Waiting for your gd news.

Superdad,
If bb Vivian hvnt adjusted to the nite time yet, may be you can try this.... Air the pillow cover and turn it the other way round for her to sleep in the nite. Do it 2 to 3 days it should be ok after that.

Racoon,
Re: GUG. Mum from the other thread oso mentioning that the class is kind of small and pack. Kid do not have more room to roam around. She oso decided nt to go ahead.

Racoon, Crisann,
Dun worry lar... Parent who have child of their own will tolerate if others screaming or creating havoc.

Re: Walking shoe.
I bought hello kitty shoes from Kiddy palace for my DD. It have soft sole. DD ok with it lei.

Racoon/Crisann,
aiyo. . .if like that headache hor!! think piyo and I should sign Megan and Jay for the trial first?!! Let us discuss see what to do then. . ai. . ..

Racoon,
Did you encounter the same problem for Justin's shicida class?

Cocomo,
thanks will let u all know the result.

Cynthia,
let her explore and fall once then she won't do it again,

Superdad,
starting baby will dislike pacifier sure they will spit it out. my girl also dislike maybe they dunnoe how to suck or what got to hold for her if not definately will drop out.

cecelia..
thx..after "try out" all method..now she can sleep almost throughout the nite..only nd to monitor if this is fixed routine for her lor..
else..panda eyes will pop out liao..

cocomo,
ya..indeed is very "shiong" to take care bb at nite..especially when they dun sleep at nite..and dunno what's happening..tat really stress..and easily cause depression as well..
as HB..tat's wat basic we can do lor..
but at least now..all of us had out of this stage lor..hehe..

Cat,
ya..after changing with few types of pacifier...finally found one tat she like liao..
thx.

racoon
my GF who sent her kids 2 shichida n GUG b4, shared tis wif me. if u went 2 shichida 1st, u'll find GUG nothing much. watever e kids do in GUG, u can do it at home. but not 4 shichida.

i also agree wif u abt the duration of e class. gabe attended GUG b4 n we r always late cos e 1st 15mins is free play, 2 get e kids 2 relax, blah blah blah. then wif washing hands, waiting, etc. i counted b4. e actual duration of e class is 55-60mins.

itsy bitsy
welcome welcome. me rarely post nowadays cos preggie wif #3 n busy running after my 2 boys. my 2nd son, edward is one of e seniors in tis thread. EDD was 4Aug but i popped on 11jul.

hi mommies...

long time no log in lor.. no mood and no time.. keekee.. Zorian also kena fever up to 40oC and then rushes came out.. he cried constantly for almost four days and stick to me like superglue.. finally lost my cool and screamed at him last night.. felt so bad now.. any mommy got good suggestion how to tahan babies' constant crying and screaming?? dun want to scream at him anymore...

hi cheers..

Congrats!!! do posted the handsome prince photos here when u r free.. rest well..

hi superdad..

how is princess Vivian doing?? Dickson gor gor got sayang her or not??

hi augbaby..

wow.. do keep us posted when pretty princess arrive.. how is Jayden?? fully recovered already??

hi erin..

how is Kayden?? ok already?? so how is ure review today?? good??

hi Itsy-bitsy..

Welcome!!

hi catherine..

how is the review with your gynae?? i went to see my gynae two weeks ago as well.. the womb area felt painful.. lucky all is fine.. *phew*

hi kelly..

how are you?? hope all is well for u.. must take care of yourself and rest well okie..

Kris.
i had not yet seen the gynae will go on this sat.

Hey dun scream at Zorian is normal for them to keep crying when sick, maybe u want to bring him walk around so ask to attacts attentions of other things then he won't be feeling sick.

cocomo,

I already struggling to get Justin to sit still in Shichida class. But maybe he's already used to the curriculum there so he's more settled than at GUG. At Shichida, he always want to climb onto the table to see the things the sensei is hiding at her area. So i always have to pull his legs back. But the sensei will distribute the activities very fast, so constantly engaging him with new things. If he's not interested, he'll get down to walk and I sometimes go along with him.

The sensei will also use flashcard songs or the video to catch the kids' attention if she realised everyone is fidgeting. But its a packed 90 min and the class starts on time.

So i already struggling with him at 1 class, cannot tahan another one. But can tell Justin quite happy at Shichida cos he's always trying to catch the sensei's attention and he does participate at some activities and always look forward to his sticker reward at the end of the class.

Actually at GUG, can also tell he like the activities and want to interact that's why he so kaypoh in everything. But i think I'll respect Daddy's decision lah.

Kelly,

Quite true leh. I'm quite impressed with Shichida's teaching materials, all custom made to the child's learning. Similarly, I can also make them myself but lazy lah.

We got there early so as to let Justin familiarise and warm up to the surrounding. But who knows, take soo long then start class. By the time after the 1st 15 min free play, Justin's patience a bit wear out plus he tired too.

Maybe when Justin is older and has longer attention span, then can consider.

Kris,

Ustand u must be very fed up liao. Me too sometimes lost my cool at Justin and shouted at him or beat his backside.....and then will regret big time later and kept sayang him.

Now when I know i'm losing my cool with his crying or tantrums, i try to step away or let someone else take over. If not i scared i angry and beat his backside and hurt him emotionally.

Its true he also feeling very uncomfortable with his fever that's why cry more. Quite poor thing, sick and dunno how to tell u in words that's why cry cry.

U take care and hope Zorian get well soon

hmm,

catherine.. u seems to subscribe to the older folks' beliefs quite abit yah?

Just curious, do they all work for you with charlotte?? cos, most of PD say no walkers, wear soft soled shoes.. and try BF and avoid pacifier n dun give chinese medication etc blah blah blah....

Sometimes i wonder if our MIL think we are so leh chey hahaha

thanks...will sure sms some of the mummies when i am popping and ask them post here..but hor u must visit me n princess when i am still in hospital hor...esp HoneyB...hee hee

Hi Kris,
Hope Zorian is getting well soon..and u too..do take care..
U may wanna try with changing hands fr u to daddy and to whoever available at home...
(tat's wat i did when dickson cranky last time)

ya..Dickson do jealous abt Vivian, if i carry her..while e maid is carry dickson..he will make noise as want me to carry lor..but sometime he do show like sayang vivian lor..(kissing her on chin and face, when ask to lor)..
Guess overall shd be alright.

SuperDad,

Dickson still small after all, sure will get jealous a bit, but sure be alright like what u said. U are our model dad here.

When i carried my fren's daughter, Justin make noise and climbed to me and pushed the gal away very hard. Very possessive of me. I wonder how am i going to handle this if i hv a second one.

JAs,

PD says no walkers i never put my girl in walkers but she still not walking yet so it does not proof that with or without walker the baby can walk faster.

Don't think PD say no Pacifier, for what i know is baby need to suck if we dun give pacifier they will suck their tumb or suck other things or suck our breast.. like my ger i only give her pacifier when she is sleeping other then that she is sucking her bean pillow.
Chinese medication is a no might be to heaty for baby.

Some old Folks things they say can be trust i belief they had walk through it themselve. but not all can be trust lar. I only belief that as long as charlotte is healthy her growth will be normal no matter fast or slow.

For wearing soft shoes i only feel that is more suitable for when our baby just started to stand with support and we training them to walk.
I let charlotte wear slightly hard sole becos she now can walk when holding on things but not without support lar. and outside i prefer to let her wear shoes with sole so as when she stamping her feet or she might step on something uneven she won't hurt her foot.Soft shoe can be slippery on certain surface be cos there is no sole on it. my ger she nearly slip off wearing soft shoe at home. Unless u letting ur baby only walk around corridors the soft shoes ok lar..

hi Catherine, racoon, cecelia, Superdad...

thanks.. his fever is gone but still have rashes.. today he super stick to his grandparents.. when we reached home at night, he superstick to me and daddy..

i try to move away whenever i had enough of his crying.. but whenever we passed hands, he cried even more and kept on looking at me or pointing at the door which i exit.. so not much choice.. when he is sicked, he everything also dun want.. just stick to me and cry and cry and scream and scream.. so dun know wat he wants.. sigh.. now trying my best to lengthen my patient bit by bit lor... felt so bad and terrible after screaming at him.. so today just let him stick to me and sayang him....

hi racoon..

Zorian also like that.. whenever he see me crying other babies, he will push his way into my arms and shake his hands.. like telling me i cannot carrying other babies beside him.. haahaa..

hi superdad..

must also carry dickson also lor.. take turn.. so he wont feel neglect.. afterall, he still small mah..

Hi, itsy bitsy

my gal started to walk a few weeks back but not so stable lei... sometime will fall lor... but she prefers to crawl than walk lor.. will only walk if i hold her hands.. but after walking for some distance, she will hold on to my leg asking me to carry her.....

Hi, piyo
had not receive it too.....

Hi, cheers
Congrat to u ....

hi mummies n superdad,
re: jealousy
kayden's also very jealous. if we pretend that we're patting his favourite toy, the chipmunk, he'll come and take it away from us. i pretended giving the chipmunk his milk bottle when he refused to drink. guess what? he took the bottle away from the chipmunk and threw it on the floor. so bad tempered rite? he then finished the whole bottle of milk after that.

hi kris,
glad zorian's fever is down. think they will be supersticky after a bout of illness. kayden also very sticky to me, my hb and my daddy nowsadays. can't leave his sight. like superglue like that. no choice la, can only comfort them at this point of time.

met up with supervisor and vp liao. heng ah, review is ok la. made me worry so much.

hi piyo and cocomo,
i'm having 2nd thoughts abt GUG after seeing the comments made. guess might be opting for a trial at tumbletots and if it's good, then sign him up then.

cocomo,
sure! let's arrange an outing to the zoo when the babies are feeling better. so scared we'll spread the virus to the other kids.

Kris,
glad that zorian's fever is down, don't be to hush on him ok. he might be cranky but just be more patient, when baby feeling unwell they dunnoe how to speak out but only to cry. he needs mummy the most.

Previously my ger was down with flu she also damn cranky only want me to carry, when hubby or MIL carry she will cry like mad. only me and my mum she allow to carry. But becos my hubby dun have the patient so i just sent her back to my mum

good morning mommies,

have a happy mid autumn festival and reunion dinner this evening!

any mommies bringing their BB anywhere to "Ti Deng Long"?

i will bw going to my mom's place for dinner after work, so maybe will bring my girl to the nearby CC, not sure if they hv any function there tonite.. but surely there will be many kids, and hope to let BB mingle abit.. she loves to see many kor kors and jie jies... =)

hi erin..

glad the review is good.. so now can relax lor.. ganbatte...

hi erin and catherine..

yeah lor.. trying to tahan him.. usually carry him he wont cry.. but those days dun know why carry still cry and scream.. dun even want his daddy.. so not much choice lor.. sigh.. still feel bad over tat...

Hi Kris

Hope Zorian get well soon.

Hi Mummies & Daddy

Crisann also get jealous easily. Me or my mum carry other children she will cry and wanted us to carry her. If we heart her toy, she will snatch away.

Hi, Leobbsmom & mummies

had started Lantern festival celebration yesterday night.... hee hee hee... went to buy paper lantern & also those sparkling light (yan huo sticks).... in the end, JIa Hui burnt her lantern by dropping it on the floor so give her another without the candle & in the end, she tore it apart..... still got some more left for tonight

Hi,Crisann, erin & mummies * daddy

Jia Hui also get jeolous easily lor.... daddy was talking to me on the mattress on the floor, when she saw that she will crawl in between us & use her legs to kick her daddy .... so funny lor....or she will scream at her daddy....

hi to augbaby - and prob will hear good news of the little one's arrival soon!

hi jesline - hehe, I din buy my girl a lantern cos I figured she's too young to play with fire!
But I did let her taste some of the mooncake skin last night... and she purposely open her mouth so big and tried to bite an extra big bite to get more of the lotus filling!

Hi Jesline & SK

I didn't buy her any lantern but my mum brought her one. And Crisann choice the lantern herself. Also did let her try the snow skin mooncake. She did the same thing bite a big piece. Whenever we give her thing to eat, she will sure bite a big piece....

Hi, Sk & Crisann

i bought a barney lantern for her cos she loves Barney & when brought her there, she keeps pointing at the Barney lor... mil bought her a Ultraman lantern too....when she heard the music, she will start to dance lor....

also let her try the snow skin mooncake from Raffles place but she dont like it after a few bites...

Hi Jesline

For Crisann is eating none stop. But don't dare to give her too much as scare it hard for her to digest.

She love to it everything that we eat except for her porridge.