(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

lala, true true. But there are peak and lull periods, not OT all the way.

PM, or u try govt boards? ACRA or IRAS? Just a suggestion.

PM,
Agree with Lok, u can look out for gov job..i just checked the gov job portal..MOF looking for AGD-Financial Analysts.
Job Requirements: - A Bachelor Degree in Accountancy/Banking & Finance/Economics/Engineering from a recognised University
- At least 2 years of experience working in a bank or MNCs in corporate treasury
- Good written and verbal communication skills

I agree with Lok on joining the govt board esp if you got a degree.... govt is more baby-friendly as you can take leave easily.

pm - not working today? why?

then deduct one day pay huh? (sure wont be so good give u leave/MC before u confirm! hahaha)

lala,
pay wise, i will say quite comparable to private firms, maybe slightly lesser for some..but I think gov jobs are generally more pro-family..it depends wat u want, $ or time.. :p

KLCC,
I agree ... can usually leave earlier in govt company, thus have more time with family
For most private firms, have to work OT. Sometimes the extra $ cannot compensate for the precious time lost.

pm..then y are u home today??? hmm....on leave???
ya loh...misses those time leh...hahaha..nua at mtdt's hse...looking at the green cans...hahahaha....

damned sian, my mom just called. She thinks Arin kena ear infection again...sigh. That would be twice in one month liao...sian sian sian..

My mom waiting for me to come back after work to take her to the clinic.

Ear infection are usually accompanied by a fever and some discharge from the ears. Arin had those symptoms a few weeks ago but we thought it had cleared with the antibotics. But I think the discharge dried up inside her ear and was making her uncomfortable so she may have tried to scratch with her fingers and probably caused a re-infection...sigh.

Currently no sign of fever, just some redness in her ear and she occasionally would point and tug and it and "complain" to us

I think it's probably annoying rather than painful, cos she has not cried over it.

I'm using a PD at Tiong Bahru Plaza and it only opens in the morning and evening...so no point going off earlier. Just go my mom's place for dinner first and then bring her there.

I used to work in a few gov co. Pay-wise not tat bad too..in fact some of them pay higher than my expected salary.

But really be prepared for the cultural shock lor..no internet access, even email can only send to internal staff..basically just be a zombie & take instructions from the top..no need to use brain. Everything got to wait for approval..even simply requests to get stationary also gotta fill in forms, submit approval & wait for the staff to disbatch..can take wks lor..

If u r thinking of having a relaxing job & more time wif family..then tis is the plc for u. Cos everyone likes to play 'taiji' & 1 simple job needs a few approval. So in the meantime, u just 'wait'. Most staff have been wif co for very long, so they also take their job lightly & wait for retirement. Mostly can leave on the dot. Sometimes, I'll even start preparing to leave (i.e.pack bag, go toilet) 30mins early then just wait for the clock to strike before signing out. Haha.

CHM,
At least she is not in pain ... mummy must be heartache. Am sure after taking antibiotics will be fine. What is causing the infection?

YB,
I agree. In the past I worked in a gov company too. Really good life loh... me now no such luxury liao.

lok / ep
Yea, i guess i just have to wait patiently for him to speak up... been waiting for so long sometimes bring him out, people will say 'how old is your son? 2 yrs old ah? Still not speaking yet? U never talk enough to him is it?" Wah make me damn upset lo... But on the contrary, i everyday talk to him until i begin to think i sound like a naggy old women leh, coz only me and him alone in the house last time...
But I have to admit, he quite advance in his motor skills, can run can hop can climb stairs without holding to railing... but speech wise.. cannot make it leh, until i go temple pray also..

mylvera
My smaller one is about 6 months now.. You also have a younger child?

MTDT
Actually I don't stay at Hougang, me stay at SK, looking around for good CC for my son leh, half day type. Any recommendations? Where do you stay? Wonder if Carpe Diem at Hougang is good. But troublesome coz have to take bus and I'm quite sure my DS will run up and down the aisle type.. sigh.. super active lo...

Lala,

Don't really know what's the cause...usually could be becoz water got into the ear while bathing or something or her hands got bacteria and she happened to rub. Thanks for the concern

Hi YB,

The gov agencues you worked for sounded 'interesting' and rather archaic. I wonder if there are any more gov agencies out there that are like this. Or put it this way, there are always government agency that are like this or pte sector companies that function like the gov agency u described, vice versa. Ultimately, for job seekers out there, keep your options open cos the job market is not optimistic.

For govt section, not all are no internet access etc. Must understand that this are all the security measure. As working in the govt sector meaning u are holding information that could be very impt to spore total development.

Infact, for those with alot of experience, i have no doubt that the govt sector are willing to pay u for the amt u ask for. They need ur expertise in the outside world.

PM, go and try the govt sector. They have bonus payout a few times each year.

Lok,
which petrol station? My side have two leh. The one near my blk or opp my block? They have admin post? hahaha...

Mrs T,
dun ever get upset by others comments. My boy doesnt speak too. His speech is pretty slow but like urs they have very good motor skill.
U mean u didnt bring him out cos he dun want to talk?

Hong,
In gov sector, they will analyse ur position & access wherether internet or email access is necessary. Not everyone will get the access unless u need it for work.

Lok,
i think i also know which co u work for....but i know very tough to get in...my brother went for interview and so many rounds and its like 6 vying for 1 post..

Hong : agree! Internet access in gov sector r granted based on the job requirements not by position..in fact, think most officers (be it senior or junior) are given access....i would say that most public sector are now gear towards positive cultures, most bonus payout are tied in with performance, which means that gone are the days whereby ppl take jobs lightly & wait for the golden handshake..
anyway, working in either private/public sector will hv it pros & cons..it really depend v much wat u wanna achieve in yr life and yr comfort zones..

Hong i agree - Nowadays alot of companies are more lax on internet access...they even treat MSN as a form of easy communication...YB which govt sector u used to work..still so rigid in thinking? Think can hint us the company then we can all think twice before applying to that company :p

Like KLCC mentioned, it is due to job requirements and also the security aspect of the work. KLCC right???

hong,

If i didn't remember wrongly, it's the one on your side (not opp) with the manual carwash.

mezzo,

Dunno whether u got the right company but 6 vying for 1 is not so bad already
My company uses MSN for communication (but internal only, cannot chat with u all)

Lok - Mezzo got the co right. :p her bro is one of the 6 :p

Mrs T - oh, u stay in SK where? why go until hougang for CC? SK have alot of CC right? which part of SK? PM is also in SK... her boy is in shekinah montessori. 2 more are going to character montssori in SK in july also.

Govt - I agree tat some govt agencies still v strict on emails/internet. like MINDEF loh... no cam hp etc. but for good reasons as really security at stake. Other govt agencies - even jr officers are given access esp nowadays... unless the position really dun need any usage of internet/email. (maybe like cleaning auntie! hahaha)

klcc - oh ya hor.... they also getting hi tech liao. :p

I was told tat some cleaners now hv a PDA... once they clean that area/toilet - they hv to report via their PDA so tat HQ noes how much is "cleaned" liao. Dun pray pray ok! hahhah :p

actually dun say govt agencies are strict in internet etc. most banks also very strict mah. have emails access lah... but majority of the "famous websites" are banned.... then ur PC - all those Adrive, dvd rom (if hv) and even USB drive are block as they need to avoid pple d/l info into their thumbdrive.

MT,

I'm super impressed!! U r so shen tong guang da, even know where the mummies' sibling are going for interviews!

lok - hahhaha... no lah. we chatted on MSN last nite mah. :p but she also posted earlier tat her bro is going for it mah. :p

MTDT,
Yes, I agree with you!!! Me working in bank, thus no access to yahoo email, famous website and USB drive
Quite inconvenient esp when need to bring work home to do.

Mrs T, don't need to get upset. but boy don't speak much as well. Though he can say words but he cannot put them into use, as in form sentences and tell me what he wants. I would say his motor skills are not fantastically good too. I bring him to the gymboree here (US), the ang mo kids here are very advance, can recognise colours, climb here n there, and most are girls. My boy always slower then them lor... He should be in Level 5 next month, but doesn't look ready at all to advance to next stage. Probably have to wait a 2-3 months at least then can advance. I always tell myself don't be affected, babies develop at different stage, comparing only make me stress and in the end affect him. As long as the doc say he is developing well. Sometimes I wonder is it me to have caused all these, like nv talk and play and expose him to different things.

Mummies who send their kids to playgroup or childcare, when u first send him/her there, how do u cope when he/she has seperation anxiety? how long does it take for him/her to get used to it?

I am trying to send Elliot to some playschool here as I doubt I'll be able to handle 2 when the baby arrives. Very new to this, so wanna prep myself mentally and emotionally... help me...

Mrs T,

let the kids grow up at their own pace. my #1 oso can't speak much. Banana = Bana. I jz leave him as it is. I want him to have a happy childhood than to be stress lor. hence I dun intend to send him for any playgroup or smtg like that till he 3 yrs old.

long time never post....tiring last tri....keep wanting to sleep...zzzz.

MY,
K took 2 weeks to adjust. Before we send him to school, we keep talking to him about it - toys, frens, etc. psyche him up for it. Then reach school, say bye bye, tell him we'll be right back and pass him to teachers.

1st week - cry every time we drop him off and pick him up. But he's ok in between.

2nd week - cry only when i drop him off. happy to see me when i pick him up.

3rd week onwards - happily walk in and dun even say bye bye to me! hahaha.

K took a 1 mth break coz he keep falling sick. just started CC again this week and cries when i drop him off.

Just have to be "heng xin" a bit and turn ard and leave when they cry. They will adapt very quickly.

misaryeo,
For the 1st day of PG, I stayed wif Kay in the class. On the 2nd day, I just dropped her off at the door. But I stayed behind & listen behind close doors. Although Kay did cry, but it was only for awhile. The teacher will use distraction method & Kay will quiet down. Then I left. From 3rd day onwards, I just drop Kay at door & left. If I dun see her crying, then I dun feel that bad. Haha...I'm hard hearted lah. Kay took abt 1 mth to get used to PG. But she only cried when I dropped her off in the morn. Now, she dun even look back & say bye bye to me in the morn. When I go pick her up from class, she also dun bother to say halo to me. Just walk off, talking to herself & jumping around while the other kids ran to hug their guardians. Sigh.

mrs T
my #2 oso very slow in speech...he dun speak as many words as compared to some kids here...haiz...some even speak in few syllabus liao...but mine still foreign language...but he do know how to address ppl..like uncle auntie...the common one lah...if he wants to tell u something or wants u to do something for him..he will speak abit and mostly actions...

one improvement for ian..hahaha...he went pacifier-free for 5 days liao!!!!!

dsii,

great job for ian!!! J still sucks his fingers but thankfully he will most willingly take it out whenever i ask him to.

mylvera,

hi-5! J also says banana as bana. My theory is that he thinks the correct way is to drop the "na" cos i had this habit of saying ball ball, milk milk so he automatically deduce that the 2nd "na" is redundant!

NANA is better than BABABA..hee..
My ger also like to condense her sentence..i.e
"Galang Guni, mai4 tiao mei4 mei4" will become "Ga Ga Ni Ni, mei mei mei" ha...
dsii : How you manage to "jie" his pacifier? You hide it or??

Dsii / Yunma,
Charisse also started with nana ... only these few days then she says banana

Dsii,
Charisse still sucks her pacifier, mostly when she wants to zz ... don't know how to "jie" leh ... you give us some tips on how does Ian do it.