(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Hi duffybuff,
how much was your 2nd hepB jab at the poly?
what time of the day did you go & how long did you wait in the queue?
thx

MTDT,

re: Neogarden
the cereal prawn and orh nee are very good and popular with guests. if u ordering from them, ask for a bigger drink container.. my guests didn't have enuff to drink

Okipoki,

Im ordering from Mums Kitchen for tomorrow buffet. The service is good. I took their full month celebration package and top up a few items. One of the mummies in this thread told me that the food portion is not as generous as other caterer so you might want to order more.

Fondue,

Re. Polyclinic

Do call up and make an appt first as the waiting time is shorter than walk-in waiting time.

Re. EBM
Sigh, my milk supply has dipped. I stopped expressing for a week becos of medication and when I started expressing again, can only managed 20ml.

Re. Burping Position
What's the correct buring position? Is it stroking upwards or stroking downwards?

missk:
a friend gave me the pillow. so I don't know how much it cost.

my baby is 20days old.

last nite, breast engorged. so jialat. pump also nothing come out. slowly massage only a bit come out. only this morning then better able to pump more out
hi mummies - any suggestion to overcome the situation.

fondue: thanks for the advice.

my power at 9 to 10 olock position. hee hee try to up it but painful la.

do you drink the fish papaya soup everyday?
I have drinking different kind of soup although I dont'know wat it is. jus drink watever place in front of me.

does red date longan drink helps?

Cookiemz,

Initially, I had thought of taking up the 6-in-1 with KKH. But Dr. Sam told me that polyclinics are offering 5-in-1 too and it might be more convienent for me. So, I took my baby girl to the polyclinic yesterday and administered HepB 2nd dose ... and will go back to polyclinic in two months time for the 5-in-1 package. We only have to pay 295 dollars in polyclinics as compared to 450 in KKH.

Information on 4-in-1 and 5-in-1 package extracted from Polyclinic leaflet.

What are the combination vaccines available?
A: 5 in 1 vaccine is now available offering protection against Diphtheria, Pertussis, Tetanus, Polio and Hamophilus influenza type b in a single injection. This vaccine also contains the new DTPa (Diptheria Tetanus and acellular Pertussis).

4-in-1 vaccine offers protection against Diptheria, acellular Pertusis, Tetanus and Haemophilus influenzae type b. For this combination vaccine, the Polio vaccine is given orally.

Sunflower,
Yep! 4-in-1 costs you S$260 whereas 5-in-1 costs you S$294.70. I didn't wait long cos' I made an appt in advance. Call 63553000 to make an appt.

It's better to opt for the 5-in-1 vaccine cos the polio vaccine are administered by jab. If given orally, it might not be as effective as baby might not digest fully.

paula,

did you bring baby kelly to Dr Sam for routine checkup? i took up the KKH package.. was told that it includes growth assessment by the PD at all 3 visits (2/4/6 months). i had thought of bringing her to polyclinic for the jabs, but it is usually very crowded with all kinds of pple and queue quite long sometimes, so gave up the idea.

Cookiemz,
Yes, I did. Her next checkup is due in 3-months time. Actually the nurses and docs in polyclinics also do growth assessment too. I waited no more than 20 minutes in the polyclinic. If you make an appt and is not late, the waiting time is no longer than 30 minutes.

Cookiemz,
The reason why we have to continue visiting Dr. Sam is because my baby has a cyst in her abodmen wall ... that's why requires constant monitoring. If not, polyclinics would do well for us.

paula,

i see.. coz when i tried to book an appt with the PDs at KKH, i was told that they only see babies which need followup subsequent to discharge or with medical condition. maybe i will try the polyclinic for the jabs after 6 months.

hope your baby is doing fine

sunflower,

maybe you have some blocked ducts which is preventing you from pumping all the milk out. keep massaging the hard lumps when pumping and also try tweaking your nipple (in the same way you would open the combination lock on a safe) to clear the openings before u start.

actually i still feel that latching the baby on is the best way to clear engorgement, they are the best pumps around

my CL said the longan red date tea helps to boost milk supply, pig trotters, lotus root soup also good. i'm still drinking the red date tea daily even though i'm out of confinement

For those mummies who already celebrated their babies full-month, any advise on full-month cakes to order?

Saw the Precious Moment package from Choz, seem quite nice but a bit exp. For those who had ordered from them, any comments on their cakes and tarts? Also anyone had ordered their marble cake?

Also any suggestions on other bakeries for nice full-month cakes?

Many Thanks. :>

Hi do yr bb have pimple like white dot on face? my gal have it around the mouth, how to clear har?

Paula, me also considering between poly 5in1 n KKH 6in1...btw the price is for the whole package izit? etc..i pay first round sub visit no need pay ya?

Hi Tinklebell

i ordered my 1st month gifts from My Treasure Box and am very please with the service.
Helen from My Treasure Box told me they are coming up with new items and one if it is a sorta like a tin filled with "goodies" and on the tin itself is a personalized wrapper, you can asked helen to email you a pic if you like.
I customized my gift and helen is very helpful to offer her suggestions within my budget. =)

Sunshine,

I ordered the Blessings package from Choz and the tarts tasted really good. Our business associates and relatives like it very much.

I also ordered gift boxes from Babybliss. My colleagues received the boxes on Wednesday and all of them liked what they saw and the goodies tasted good too.

Zita27,

Your baby might have heat rashes. Its quite common I applied Xue Hua Kao on her face it helps.

Yes, the price is for the whole package. Half of what we are expected to pay in KKH.

hi fondue,
the 2 hep B jab at polyclinic is free.. cos it was inclusive/ paid for in my kkh package. that's what the poly told me.

missk,
i oso hv 2 beansprout pillow, you can try checking out the posting/ thread in the marketplace.i ordered mine from there.

zita,
think the dots are caused by milk.. my bb oso hv a few but it will disappear after a while.

sunshine,
i oso ordered from chocz.. oso blessings package. good comments as well.

sol1dful
Yes, Helen emailed me the tin box but the customised package i wanted was a bit beyond my budget....so in the end i ordered fr Sweet Surprises. Will be receiving them next Thurs.

Sunshine/ duffy/ Paula,
I also ordered from Choz for my relatives but i ordered Lovely Duet and Angel Face Chocolate Cake.
Blessing package is delicious too! Their tarts r v nice.
BTW, did they use the metallic blue boxes? The sales rep told me that they no longer have the brown boxes and r using the metallic blue boxes until new design is out. Wonder nice or not.

Thanks for the info on Choz!

Ya lor, wonder when will the new design be out. Tinklebell, when will you be receiving the cakes from Choz? Can tell us is the metallic blue box nice when you receive them? Thanks.

Btw, need to place the order how days in advance?

Hi Good Morning,

This thread is pretty quiet these days hor. Guess all the mummies are very busy their babies. ;>

Sorry... got 1 qn on the Choz cakes again. ;p

Anyone tried Choz marble cake? Heard some much of their fruit tarts but not sure anyone tried their marble cakes? Any comment? cos thinking of ordering the Perfect Partners; combination of tarts and marble cake. Understand from them that their cakes will be made the day before so not sure will it be fresh and taste nice. But the tarts are made on the actual day.

Sunshine,
mine is from Choz too.. my friend claims that the fruit tarts not very nice. but the marble cake and the kuei kuei is very nice. hope this can help u ;)

sunshine,
u are not alone... well, my days are spent sleeping & pumping. thus not much time to login as my gynae said that i shld rest more.

hahaha... sleeping and pumping! :p

then me is sleeping and latching...
but really bored at home... one more week to go for me!!!

one more week for me too ;)
guess tomorrow will be even quieter..

anyone knows if we can colour or perm our hair when we are breastfeeding? is it safe?

hey sunflower I am also wondering if we can do that. Anyway, I have already booked an appointment to rebond my hair this Wednesday. I am going to try out this new salon at Hougang Mall owned by Michelle Chia and Mark Lee. They are offering a 49% discount. After discount very cheap leh! hehehe

I wish I have the time to sleep. My stupid school demands that I hand in my assignment before my confinement is even over. I wish I can slap the program director. He said I will have no prob completing the assignment. Being a guy, what does he even know about life of a mom of hving a new born child? I really wish I can slap him!

#$&*&*(^&^*(##

wow... 49% discount. sounds good leh! hougang mall huh? i also wish to go for a good haircut & colour my hair.

will affect BF? dunno leh... hmmmm...

exercise - not sure, but i am doing malay massage now. comfy and hopefully can "reduce" my tummy.

hidora - aiyoh... stupid man!

hidora,

ya lor, he's really horrible. dun he noe mommy can get very stress up during confinement; with so many confinement rules to follow and baby to take care, it can be more stressful than other days.

MTDT & sunflower,
so envy... i still got 2 weeks to endure leh. sigh... really cannot tahan liow.

MTDT, Sunshine,

Maybe cos he's an aussie, dunno what's confinement. But he must definitely not be a father, else wouldn't he know how tired a woman would be with all the day/ night feeds? And constantly caring for a new born whenever he cries, and that's like majority of the time!

Either that, he's an MCP, throw everything to his poor wife and dun give a damn..

I'hv been sitting so much that my back is aching.. the more I think the more angry I am.

Angry angry angry!!!!

Hi Paula,
I was also on medication for 1wk+, I continued to express the BM to maintain the "demand", but din give them to my boy. But dun be discouraged, just continue to express regularly, drink more liquid, and voila ... it will be back.

Hi kite,
Decided to get d stroller & carseat after bb is 3mths old when his neck stiffen up, there'll be more choices, then only to look out for those for NB infants. You won't believe it, but I have returned to work last week, working alternate days ... and clear the rest of maternity leaves slowly.

missk: let us know the results!
which level is the salon located at?
thinking of going to my regular salon to do my hair. but if HM is good, can go and try. ;p

sunshine/ missk,
hee hee ... i am interested to go for rebonding too :p i also went after 1 mth confinement during my first pregnancy... should be ok. only thing is that if u sit for >3hr, the breasts feel engorged.... hopefully the stylist can do a good and fast job. Go during weekday where there r less pp.
Cant wait to get rid of my curly hair.

hidora,
dont be angry... i suppose ang mo wont know what is confinement. my office pp also keep calling me abt work last week. hiaz... dont even have time to rest.