(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

i do agree that it's reasonable for moms to ask for maid.. at first i thot it's ok.. but after hearing my MIl the way she says things, i really very scared n not sure whether shd hire maid for her.. i juz can't understand why she needs to look after the bb every min.. i find it so "kua zhang".. Somemore i suggest to her that the maid stays with her from mon-fri so that the maid can help her everyday, but u noe what she says?? the maid shd follow me back home so that the maid can wake up at 5am to sweep the floor and do the hsewk for me at my own place!!!

My own mom has maid, but we never treat a maid like that.. yes, they come from kampung and tend to wake up early, but why need to ask them to wake up at 5am when u dont? Somemore can u imagine having sound made by the maid (doing the hsewk) from the living room/ kitchen etc at 5am while u r sleeping??? I find her abit slave-driver.. so i scare if i employ a maid, she will abuse her authority and give me more prob..

I suggest to her to hire part-time maid to help her to do hsewk, but she said full-time better so that the person can sweep n mop the floor twice a day!!! Sigh.. i really find her expectations are too high that i feel like not employing a maid for her as a "revenge" haha..

the more i think the more i dun feel comfortable to let her take care of the bb.. so now "debating" with my hb to c whether can hire a nanny instead.. but my hb refused.. Sigh..

KK, so good.. ur confinement over so soon?? here we r still waiting to deliver.. everyday now i am asking bb when u come out haha.

lyn,

i think i can only go this fri or saturday if my bb not out yet.. on weekdays we are very busy at work and i work at tampines.. so gotta rush back to jurong west every evening... no time to go ikea
I only come up with this idea yesterday nite else i would have gone over the weekend.

Poohy, my first lab was induced. total ard 9 hrs before my son was born. was very worried that my cervix will not dilate fast enuf cos it was really still not wide enuf even after 6 hrs. Thankfully, during the last 2 hrs, the dilation was quite fast.

some gynaes actually ask their patients go take a bathe, eat something, relax for a while before rushing to the hospital after the waterbag breaks. Dont need to go to hospital so soon. haha, but i think i will be super kang jeong if that happens. ya lor, i also heard that second labour will be faster and also earlier.

peng, wow, your mil wants maid to wake up at 5am? hee hee sounds like some life in the shao-lin-shi. think 6plus is more appropriate lah. It's advisable to let the maid have a fixed wake up time. Last time i didnt specify to my maid what time she needs to wake up bec initially she wakes up at 6 so i thought it was good. subsequently, she started waking up at 7 plus even after i have left for work!!! I hinted to her to wake up earlier but apparently, she didnt take my hint.

actually, i think sweeping and mopping the floor 2x a day is realistic lah esp if your bb is starting to crawl. opps ....nowadays, i think i have become a cleanliness freak :p ... must be the pregnancy hormones! i cannot stand dusty floors! they make me so upset

Hi poohy,
What is the reason you mentioned something like 'hope to escape latching'... (in this morning's post)?

Hi Lyn,
There are some gynae's out there who are pro-VBAC (Vaginal birth after cesearean) meaning they should be careful to take care of those who have a previous surgical wound. If you had known your gynae felt that going natural was risky for you, would you have changed gynae's becoz u prefer to try naturally?

Being a 1st timer, seek your advice how quickly are breast pads used up? Is it like 2 a day or ? How many breast pads do yall stock up before delivery?

Also, what is your recommended a place to find discounted baby products like detergents, wet ones, etc. Does chinatown (upstairs of the people's park hawker next to OG) have these sorts of baby products?

Or is there a URL link to a previous posting on this topic?

fondue, how fast the breast pads r used up depends on how good the b-pads r and how much u leak. I heard fr the ladies here that Pigeon Brand is not too bad. I used to use Mothercare b-pads and i find them lousy. For me, i'll be using Avent washable ones. I find them more comfortable.

I think it is ok to buy fr Chinatown the bb products but what pp tell me is to make sure that they r not fr Thailand. Those with Thai wordings are supposedly not so good. I donno how true it is.

kk,
u eat snake a bit lah...after 28 days confinement u start stealing a bit of other kinds of food to eat...but avoid seafood hor.....juz in case sensitive for the wound or wat

peng,
u so fast asking ur bb to come out liowz? Me still telling bb everyday can come out anytime after 37 weeks cos me only in my 34 weeks now...haha

fondue,

oh i dun wanna latch on the baby direct cos i found it very stressful when i keep failing to do so and bb keep screaming last time in the hospital for my first child. So I was thinking of using breast pump to stimulate flow and feed the colustrum collected on spoon to my bb instead of direct latching on... wont be so stressed mah

btw,

remember someone was asking abt those glass bottles given by the hospital when we discharge that is handy for storing breastmilk... well those bottles do not come with caps... thus gotta buy... one source to buy is at the Mt A pharmarcy.... but i tried at home over the weekend and found that these bottles can actually fit any standard size caps... eg pigeon bottles cap, nuk bottles cap etc... of course not the avent one which is bigger and not the normal standard size. So i supposed u can buy the cap at kiddy palace .... any of the standard size caps will do.

celeste blur,

How to eat snake? haha.. unless i go out with hubby to somewhere farrr then nobody catch haha.. by the way, that day i steal potato chips eat :p

Fondue,

I bought tollyjoy bra pads and find them leaking very fast! I think in terms of absorbency, it is not very good. I dunno whether it is considered cheap or not. I saw at kiddy palace so bought and stick to this brand till now. Have bought around 4 boxes liao.

Tollyjoy comes in 24 pairs. And last week it is like every 2-3 hours i have to change one pair. Siong rite??

Tinkelbell,

I personally find slow cooker good leh, even before pregnancy. I use that to slowly cook my red bean soup :p And if u boil cooling soups like old melon soup, u will need to put into slow cooker to boil for at least 4 hours. Else the soup will be super cooling, no good for health
So it is good to buy one, in my opinion

Anybody have problem with NUK teats for newborn? I change the teats from medium to small liao, but the flow still very big for bb leh. My mil say pigeon bottles work better for my bb. I have these 2 free pigeon bottles that come with the steriliser. Lucky.

Thanks Tinklebell & KK for your replies on breast pads. Wow if u change every 3hrs, then u can use 8 pairs a day. Better to buy the washables i guess?

Poohy,
tho the 1st time latching on was stressful, you eventually got the hang of it later on for your kid right? What was your experience like learning to breastfeed? Any encouraging tips to share?

hi kk

I personally feel that the standard for Pariss has dropped. Last time they used to serve on-e-spot pasta, but now no more. The international buffet at Rendevous Hotel is more succulent. The crayfish is bigger than Merchant's Court. They have the herbal soup which is kept in the bamboo, yum yum.

I have been using NUK rubber teats for the newborn and it works well for my gal.

fondue,

no lah i only successfully latch my boy on 1 time at the hospital with the help of Mrs Wong. He was on partial FM at that time. After I discharged, I immediately switch to exclusive expressing. I choose to bottle feed rather than direct latch so that daddy can also play an important part in bonding with our boy. Plus, I was worried abt potential problem weaning off the breast and using it as pacifier.. thus I chose to use bottle feeding right from the start
Other than not direct latching on, I express milk every 2 hours .. each session last 45 min. This way, can get very good milk flow ...

I am suffering from mastitis again. Now there is a big red patch on one of my breasts. Also the whole body will feel very weak and you will have flu like symptoms. Anyone here has any natural remedy beside suing the hot compress? My medela mini is not working anymore. Read from the website that it is not meant for frequent user. Anyway I bought the manual one and not bad, at least not noisy and I dun have to go another room to express in the middle of the night.

hi poohy
You really very hardworking leh. I express milk about every 5-10 hours! Ha, serve me right for getting engorgement and mastitis. You mean you oso wake up in the middle of the night every 2 hours to express?

pebbles,

ya i also wake up in the middle of the night to express every 2 hours... i dun go out of the room at first (due to my stitches pain and cant walk properly) cos my boy was not disturbed by the noise created by the medela electric leh.... its white noise and supposed to be soothing to the newborn baby actually. maybe if u still wanna use your medela ... u try to see if it will disturb your bb.

Hmm u express every 5-10 hours ah.... how bout other times... u direct latch on? if u dun, sure will have engorgement wan lah... unless u r planning to stop milk flow, then use cabbage to ease the engorgement. I heard last time that the cold cabbage actually will reduce milk flow... no joke getting mastitis leh... u really better take care and go to see doc... else how to take care of bb.

I only express every 4 -8 hours and slow expand the interval when i was weaning off the bfg... i din take pills to stop the milk flow... just slowly expand the interval and endure the engorgement pain.... demand and supply kick in and soon, our body know our wishes

btw what's wrong with your medela mini? Last time, my medela mini also will konk off and wont provide suction properly at times... i will have to wash and replace the tube etc and trial and error... maybe the valve or the tube needs replacement ?

oh dear pebbles... your medela mini has konked out? Luckily you have a manual one. Last time my electric pump also had this prob after 3 week plus. It was working well and expressing lots of milk. Then one day, just decided to go on strike
The suction just reduced and it could have caused my milk supply to reduce significantly. I bought Avent manual pump later but help came a bit late cos i couldnt increase the supply no matter wat i did
This time round, i hope the same thing wont happen again.

Poohy, your Avent pump is new? mine was bought during my last pregnancy. Did u use the same brand previously? I find that it good and easy to use...only prob is that it is a bit flimsy. if u r a bit rough with it, the top cap tends to fall off
i really wonder how long this pump can last me this time.

poohy
I really salute you. Ya lor, serve me right for getting constant mastitis. Sometimes I can sleep the whole day due to the flu symptoms. I feel even tired if I let baby latch on, especially in the middle of the night, tats why I do not let baby latch on.

Think there is something wrong with the motor, it produce a weird sound.

Must really see doc? I read from books that if it got worse then see doc.

Actually even if we use cold compress, it will stop milk flow too. I have to TBF for at least another few more months, dunno how to tahan. If only we have longer maternity leave.

hi tinklebell

Ya loh, my mini electric went on strike. I have to rush out to buy a manual one that day to get a new one. I was hesistant to buy the medela manual one initially, there wasn't any other choices. Is the avent manual's suction hard?

tinklebell, pebble,

alamak sounds like the medela mini really not very reliable leh
Mine also konk off after just few weeks of use... i did use it intensively cos i express every 2 hourly. I dinno how to express... but i remember reading on the instruction manual of the medela pump tt we should express 5 min on one breast, switch to other breast for 5 min, then 10 min on the other breast again and switch back to the other... then 15 min etc... that's what i do so troublesome till i give up after a few weeks and just express and empty one side follow by the other hehee...

my manual avent pump .. i bought recently cos i fear the same konking off will repeat again... and heard good reviews of avent manual pump... tinklebell i really hope it lives up to its good name.. :p

but people like who dun wanna bfg for a long long time cant justify buying extremely good and exp pump like pump in style mah so bo bian....

i heard ameda electric pump is good too... but well... i will see how... if my avent manual pump and medela pump fails me again, and i still wanna bfg, then maybe i will buy one.

pebble, hmm just watch out for worsening of symptoms from the mastitis... heard may cause infection so must take care

pebbles,

haha, tempt me with food ya? Sigh, i think confinement food also part of the cause for my post natal blues

Dunno leh, seems like bb choke easily using NUK teats. And moreover she very greedy, like to drink her milk very fast when she is real hungry :p

pebbles, Avent's suction is ok, not too hard. I thought the let down was pretty good. only prob, like i say is that the set is a bit flimsy. U r smart u go and buy a new one immediately. Previously i thought i could let the motor rest for a few days. Proved to be a disaster.
So, it's advisable to get 2 pumps for standby if we r expressing rather than latching?

Poohy, i also had latching prob like u previously. I donno if it is bec we never let our bbs latch on fr day 1? mine was bottled fed fr day 1 and when i latch him on, he was v frustrated when he couldnt "catch" the right position quickly. stressful right? anyway, i hope my girl is not so impatient. i'll still try latching first cos no need to sterilise bottles mah.

tinklebell,

For my case, i only latch on my girl at TMC when she is first borned *because kena pushed by midwife TERRIBLY MAD WITH HER*. Then one whole week i never latch on liao, after discharge because my wound still hurts.

One week later which was last week, i latch on my girl and she is ok with it

This week i find it much better because my right side no longer sore

So it is not really the time factor. We'll all make it

KK, your gg very guai hor. mine boy didnt like to latch. he got very agitated when he couldnt get the right position. fr the day i start latching him, i kind of can read his character. haha! true enuf, he grew up to be bad tempered and impatient

Hi Ladies, talking abt BFg liao ... so excited ... I'm lookg forward 2 latchg d bb on, but w my Csec wounds, I guess it'll be challenging.

Medela Mini Electric:
Gosh, so much complaints, I also bought one, it's still in the box. Should I open to try it if it works?

kite,
chose PD liao - Dr Ong EK. Not sure will change later cos I remembered earlier in the thread, someone mentioned he's rather ex. I weighed 56.5kg last week. Gog to see doc on Thurs again ... final one before D-DAY!!!

Tinklebell:
Yap Yap Yap, me next on the list, but too bad, it's Csec, so no huffing & puffing scene to share ... sigh! Your boy so "you xin ge" ah ... it also means he will be a fast-worker in the future too!

kk:
Stay positive!!! My aunt had clashes with her MIL during confinement too and developed serious post-natal blues. Ignore her, cos no matter what she says or how much she try to discourage you, your darling bb will sure love you more and naturally be drawn to you! Btw, how many glass bottles did you collect from the nursery before you discharged?

pebbles:
Wat's the name of your massage lady? In case, she turns out to be mine too!!! Arghh!!! Thot you have Csection right? Can do massage meh?

Confinement Lady:
Anyone know how many angbao to packet for the CL? She told me I need to give her 2, the day she starts, the day she ends ...

Sterilising Tablets:
Anyone using tablets instead of boiling and electric steriliser?

Hi carebear,
When is your C-section? I am also going for C-section due to my medical history... I was quite sad and disappointed initially cos I wanted natural birth.. HOw come you need C-section?

Carebear,

Wah your CL so thick-skinned one meh? Actually states upfront that you need to give her 2 ang baos. For mine, she didnt mention anything, but guess i will give her a token at the start then depending on her service, give her another at the end.

hi carebear29
This massage lady can only speak a few English words. She will bring a box of jamu stuff. Is yours the same lady? I am very very upset with the big oil patch on my pebble flooring every time I enter my bedroom. I have natural delivery
When Doc threatened me that he had to do Csection soon as bb heartrates was dipping, I freaked out and pushed even harder.
Some people push a few times, bb easily pop out leh. I pushed like one ah xiao.

Ya mini electric should work. I read from medela website that it is only suitable to use a few times a week.

wow.. so many postings today...

carebear, so good.. u r going to deliver soon?? envy.. i oso feel like giving birth soon.. can't take it anymore..

carebear n pebbles, can tell me ur massage lady name? tks alot

celeste, i oso like u n 34 wks.. but dr said 34 wks shd be fine...cos i am having lots of pain, really wish to get over n be done with it..

Duffy,

Im having the yellowish discharge problem same too, no infection. Was put on oral medication twice but couldnt clear olso dunno how.

Re. express milk bag you can get it from Robinsons or Bugis Seiyu. Bugis Seiyu carries The First Few Year brand (blue color packaging). Going at S$19 for a pack of 20 packets. Medela is more expensive.

BTW, should we pour the milk from these express milk bags into the milk bottle? When pouring the milk into the bottle, would it introduce air bubbles? If yes, wouldnt that promote colic?

KK,

Wah, the menu sounds very chiam for me can treat confinement period as a diet regime liao! Haha.

Re. Kitchen, doesnt your MIL cleans up the kitchen after every cook?

BTW, how is your first month celebration preparation coming along?

Lyn,

I did my baby gal refuses to move much during one weekend (week 30 I tink). I paranoid rush to hospital and was strapped to the CGR to monitor her heartbeats luckily she was fine and was told to monitor her movement for a week

5 June was the EDD for my baby gal I think its the same for MOAP too

I visited John Tee today and my baby gal sprung a huge surprise on me! She puts on 1 kg within the last two weeks hehe, Im so happy, cos that means I can have a normal delivery was initially told that I have to opt for the knife if she is less than 2.5kg (doc fears that she might have difficulties when coming thru the birth canal). John estimated her to be a 2.8kg baby. Hehe Ill have her in my arms within the next two to three weeks!

Celeste,

Hey, Kiddy Palace does have a nice range of Winnie the Pooh receiving blanket

I brought most of the towels from Aussions kid range. The quality is good.

Okipoki,

Yea, better alert your gynae Pebbles was saying that v.discharge triggers early labour.

Pebbles,

Did you hire a CL?

Carebear,

My agent said that we should give CL a red packet once only on her last day of work.

Is anyone using Medela Pump in Style Advance? I am thinking of buying one yet at the same time I am unsure if I will be successful in breastfeeding.

Hi Peng,
My massage lady is Auntie Rohaya. Me counting down to next Fri (19 May) too and Dr YC told me to be prep to pop anytime, but do also hope bb can stay a little longer, pp say bb will be healthier as he stays closer to full term, mine is full 37wks next Fri, so a little worried too.

Hi hi lyn,
my bb boy is too well-fed ... haha ... no lah! He's considered over-sized for teeny mummy, Dr said he can't fit thru my cervix, take 4 eg: now his head has turned down but won't be able to engage (I can feel him at my pelvic when I walk so uncomfortable), so gotta go Csec lor. Dun wanna bb go thru unnecessary stress and me end up with perm tear at u-noe-whr. I read ur conditions, it's definitely wise to go by Csec, pls don't feel bad, dear! We need 2 do what best for bb & ourselves now.

Steffi,
Me don't noe "hang qing", so since she asked, better give, we're definitely required their full assistance & coop, aren't we?

Haha, pebbles, good push! Our massage lady is diff. You must have love pebbles a lot, your nick and flooring are both "pebbles"!

kk,
wow, so fast...your baby gonna be full month liao....time flies.....

poohy,
ya, esp when the kid is hyperactive, very tedious for mum/mil loh....even us, being young also may not have the energy to catch up with their hyper-ness....

lyn,
I don't monitor my baby's movements as in counting no. of movements....my gynae says as long as I can feel his movements, it's ok....coz baby may be active some days and inactive some other days.....

celeste,
recieving blanket not a neccessary item...use nappy cloth also can...in fact, I prefer nappy cloth coz june is so hot....nappy cloth more cooling....

re: kitchen

ya, I agree that kitchen is woman's territory loh....sometimes, the thought of my mil gonna "take over" my kitchen soon upset me loh....can't imagine now I dun have full control over my fridge, plates, etc.....*sob* *sob*

fondue,
every mummy is different, so hard to say how many breast pads one will need...it depends on how's the milk supply and the rate of leaking....anyway, these are easily available so in the event that u run out of pads, can always get your hubby to buy for u

as for where to get cheap stuff....I normally like to wait for sale....sometimes, those big departmental stores when on sale can offer better deal than those shops at chinatown etc....

Hi carebear,
Thank you very much for the link

hee... My gynae also told me it's not the first time I going through operation... But the pain I suffered last time really scares me. My gynae told me for caesearean he will give me painkiller on the drip this time. Cos the last time, they gave me that till I cried for many hours and painkiller jabs no use.

okasan,
My gynae asked me to count my baby's movement for 10 hours a day with a counter. If it decreased by 50%, gotta go for CTG. Not easy...

For the kitchen, really gotta be one ear in, one ear out... :p My mum used to complain this and that everytime she comes to my house till I was so pissed off. hahaha... till one day, I told her if she dun like, she dun have to complain, just do whatever she likes... kekeke... she even complained my WMF knife not sharp and lousy... One of my pot has two burnt handles... I really gotta close one eye, and one ear in and one ear out... hahaha.. Gotta practice... :p If not, I sure post-natal depression...

lyn,
is there any reason why your gynae ask u to monitor baby's movements? coz he scare u may be due anytime and baby in distress?

so far, my mum and mil never say anything abt my kitchen....but I just feel sad coz I will soon lose my territory to my mil when she comes over to stay....I'm not so worry abt hearing complaints abt my kitchen items...but rather coz now, I know I have no control over how things are placed in the fridge/cabinet...what food are stored in the fridge, etc....

okasan,

For my case, now it has become so bad that i dun even dare to step into the kitchen. That nite my hubby was so angry and he asked my mil how come she used our lovers' cup to hold sesame oil HAHA!

Lyn,

Ur mum really same as my mum leh.. so particular about kitchen. Everytime she come, she will complain about the design of the sink. Then she will check my pots and pans. Once she see the pot black, she will automatically scrub them. If handle loose, she will take screwdriver and screw them tight. Whenever she comes, first thing is run into the kitchen, and nowhere else haha.. she is not interested in other things.

carebear,

Recovery for caesarian still not so bad for me i would say. Just need extra care and dun overexert urself. My wound pain goes off after a week. This week i can do more things like walk as per normal, bend down pick up things. But i still dun dare to squat down lah, dunno can or not, so i dun take the risk :p

U going for caesarian??

Paula,

Yup, my mil cleans up everytime she cooks. But it is still in a mess lor. On the drying rack, everytime i can see around 10 plates on it. Aiyoh, i still cannot get used to it. When only me and hubby around, there are only at the most 4 plates on the drying rack which i would keep into the cupboard immediately after they are dried. Then only 3 pots around. Now dunno become how many on the tabletop liao. ARRGGHH! I can't imagine the mess i got to clear up after confinement.

carebear,

Dr Ong EK is a good PD. A very friendly guy. But his charges can be expensive judging from how famous he is. BB going for vaccination again on 23 May. See how much he is charging this time round :p

Paula,

First mth celebrations... have just selected the design for my chocolates. Waiting for confirmation

As for the rest, no progress yet.. haha.. will wait till end of the week.

kk,
after confinement then restore back your kitchen...at least u can still have a chance to restore back...my kitchen gonna be someone's territory liao for god-know-how-long....*LOL*

kk,
coz my mil coming over to stay permanently after I deliver mah...she willl take care of my baby when I go back to work....